Anyone think Celtic will go through. Some stadium. Almost like Tincastle

22-02-2018, 06:05 PM

Be some achievement if they do

SuperAllyMcleod
22-02-2018, 06:06 PM

I was getting vibes of Hamilton with the raised stands next to the pitch [emoji4]

I hope the tic go through - keep them occupied for another few weeks.

22-02-2018, 06:08 PM
1-0 Zenit.

22-02-2018, 06:08 PM
1-0 Zenit.

Shame.

22-02-2018, 06:09 PM
1 0 Zenit. Poor goal to lose

22-02-2018, 06:09 PM
Pleasing.

22-02-2018, 06:10 PM
What was the Celtic centre half doing with his elbow at the goal?

22-02-2018, 06:12 PM
That could have been a red for the Zenit boy

22-02-2018, 06:13 PM
'Browny' miles off the pace here.

22-02-2018, 06:19 PM
How bad is the Celtic centre half.

22-02-2018, 06:19 PM
Is this online anywhere?

22-02-2018, 06:20 PM
Bt sport

22-02-2018, 06:22 PM
'Browny' miles off the pace here.

Standard in european games IMO.

22-02-2018, 06:28 PM
2-0

Good goalkeeping there.

Dodgy keeper.....

22-02-2018, 06:29 PM
Goal keeper should have done better

NthCarolinaHibs
Keeper selt the pies there....

Good goalkeeping there.

Yer man Brown sleeping as well.

Wish we had a goalie as good as that.

Not.....

22-02-2018, 06:30 PM
Better having Doris Day in goal than him.

DavidDavidGray
That’s really poor from De Vries

This is going to be 4 or 5 now

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

That doesn't really change a huge amount for Celtic in that 1 goal is still enough as it stands.

They'll ship 4 or more here though imo.

22-02-2018, 06:31 PM
Celtic going backwards these days .............. worrying! ............... not.:greengrin

22-02-2018, 06:33 PM
Brendan Rodgers gets away with murder.

22-02-2018, 06:33 PM
Celtic going backwards these days .............. worrying! ............... not.:greengrin

Bit worried that they will come calling for Neil Lennon again tho

22-02-2018, 06:34 PM
The simple solution for the keeper is to change his name to Mark Oxley and that howler will be forgotten by half time

22-02-2018, 06:35 PM
Is Levien made a comeback a guy called craig****oo playing tonight

22-02-2018, 06:41 PM
Efe would walk into the Celtic team

22-02-2018, 06:43 PM

He’s not their player. Tough.

22-02-2018, 06:43 PM

He'd probably prefer to do a backflip than walk.

22-02-2018, 06:44 PM
He’s not their player. Tough.

I know but they got rid of him and replaced him with that pish

22-02-2018, 06:45 PM
Bit worried that they will come calling for Neil Lennon again tho

Nah, St. Brenda can do no wrong. He’s there for as long as he wants to be. Mind you does he not have a record of walking out on clubs, or have I invented that?

Hibs4185
22-02-2018, 06:45 PM
If there was an award for most passes in your own half then Celtic would win it.

22-02-2018, 06:48 PM
I know but they got rid of him and replaced him with that pish

I don’t think Rodgers is very effective at constructing a defence from GK onwards. Tierney is only player in there I like immensely.

Wull
22-02-2018, 06:52 PM
Celtic loads o possession but zero ideas :aok:

22-02-2018, 06:55 PM
Celtic loads o possession but zero ideas :aok:

They need a player like Scott Allan.

22-02-2018, 07:07 PM
It hasn’t been Doris’ day.😂😂😂😂

22-02-2018, 07:11 PM
Did Celtic just drag that Ajier out the boozer pre match and ask if he fancied a game?

22-02-2018, 07:11 PM
What is Griffith’s current injury? I think they’re missing him.

22-02-2018, 07:15 PM
Am i right in thinking De Vries turned Hibs down when he was at Dunfermline?

22-02-2018, 07:19 PM
Game over.

Farcical defending again.

22-02-2018, 07:20 PM
I love Lustic That bad it’s painful

22-02-2018, 07:22 PM
Was that a whole 45 seconds before Sinclairs 1st theatrical fall?

guthrie01
Celtics defence has been so poor this game, Tierney included

Love everything about Lennon, however his statement regarding celtic going all the way if they bet zenit was absolute nonsense. Celtic were always going to get put out tonight.

DavidDavidGray
22-02-2018, 07:23 PM
Lustig making the mistake is pleasing. Absolutely despise him

22-02-2018, 07:23 PM
A couple of domestic games already when they have played this badly. Utterly dire this side representing Scotland in Europe. Continue to perform like this and they will be caught domestically too. Aberdeen have to fancy their chances come Sunday then it’s all to play for

22-02-2018, 07:25 PM
Amazing what happens when a team goes out to have a go at Celtic. They can't handle it. 2 goals in half an hour for us in the ER game and 4 for Hearts shows that even SPL sides can take the game to them.

It'll be interesting to see if Aberdeen and Rangers can manage results against them in the next week or two.

guthrie01
22-02-2018, 07:25 PM
A couple of domestic games already when they have played this badly. Utterly dire this side representing Scotland in Europe. Continue to perform like this and they will be caught domestically too. Aberdeen have to fancy their chances come Sunday then it’s all to play for

Aberdeen turning up against the OF ?

22-02-2018, 07:26 PM

I just can't see anyone amassing 10 more points than Celtic in the run in.

They were there to be got at this season as they have stagnated big time. This might look like an opportunity missed this time next season.

blaikie
22-02-2018, 07:27 PM
Rodgers is tactically inept, I’m sure when Lennon was at that mob his European record was better.

22-02-2018, 07:28 PM
It’s easy to laugh at Celtic but I do feel a bit sorry for them, what with the obvious disadvantage in terms of budget compared to their opponents

... 🤣

22-02-2018, 07:29 PM
Can't believe that sub. Forrest is the one player who has actually shown a bit heart for them.

Rodgers is clueless.

22-02-2018, 07:29 PM
Rodgers is tactically inept, I’m sure when Lennon was at that mob his European record was better.Subs Forrest, the only player doing anything positive... :faf:

22-02-2018, 07:30 PM
Has a Scottish side ever been horsed as much in Europe in one season than Celtic?

highland hibbee
22-02-2018, 07:30 PM
His Manager should send him to the barbers and get tat ridiculous hairstyle chopped. Guaranteed his form will then improve. As my old man would have said....

22-02-2018, 07:31 PM
Rodgers is tactically inept, I’m sure when Lennon was at that mob his European record was better.

Don't be ridiculous, only 3 weeks ago i read on here that Lennon was a fraud.

22-02-2018, 07:32 PM
I love Lustic That bad it’s painful

Really? I hate the ****. 2 goals in the league cup and a goal line clearance in injury time in the league, that was painful.

22-02-2018, 07:34 PM
It’s easy to laugh at Celtic but I do feel a bit sorry for them, what with the obvious disadvantage in terms of budget compared to their opponents

... 🤣

......... not to forget the lack of domestic competition. :rolleyes:

blaikie
22-02-2018, 07:35 PM
Don't be ridiculous, only 3 weeks ago i read on here that Lennon was a fraud.

Not from me you haven’t!

The rubbish wrote on here about Lennon at points last season and this season have been ridiculous, he’s the best manager in the league without a doubt.

22-02-2018, 07:35 PM
Celtic had the opportunity to seriously strengthen in the January window and slept through it. I'm finding it difficult to be sympathetic.....

22-02-2018, 07:37 PM
Not from me you haven’t!

The rubbish wrote on here about Lennon at points last season and this season have been ridiculous, he’s the best manager in the league without a doubt.

:greengrin :agree:

blaikie
22-02-2018, 07:38 PM
Subs Forrest, the only player doing anything positive... :faf:

Yep, whilst there playing a man short with Dembele still on the park!

Only saving grace for that Celtic team is that they are relatively young and can only improve.

22-02-2018, 07:40 PM
......... not to forget the lack of domestic competition. :rolleyes:

:agree: We share the shame ... and think it's only right we (assisted ably by the media) sell our best players to them for a pittance to help ease their pain. Hibs have the best midfield in the SPFL and tonight shows how inept their equivalent payers on 5 times the wages are just not up to the job.

22-02-2018, 07:41 PM
Really? I hate the ****. 2 goals in the league cup and a goal line clearance in injury time in the league, that was painful.

Meant biggest cheat diver fraud that’s why l love he ‘s getting toyed with tonight

22-02-2018, 07:42 PM
Denbele is utter pish. How much?

Crying shame we went out the cup just before turning a corner. Celtc look vulnerable now and we have the beating of everyone else.

vercol36
Sigh...Celtic are going to take McGinn and McGeough aren't they? I mean...they certainly need to.

22-02-2018, 07:43 PM
Love everything about Lennon, however his statement regarding celtic going all the way if they bet zenit was absolute nonsense. Celtic were always going to get put out tonight.

Lennon talking out of his erchie or at best his heart. Certainly not his brain.

22-02-2018, 07:43 PM
Leigh Griffiths is twice the player he is. If Griffiths was from anywhere but Scotland he’d be the one being linked with £20m+ moves to the Premier League

blaikie
22-02-2018, 07:45 PM
Sigh...Celtic are going to take McGinn and McGeough aren't they? I mean...they certainly need to.

I’d be worried about them coming in for Rocky

22-02-2018, 07:48 PM
Yep, whilst there playing a man short with Dembele still on the park!

Only saving grace for that Celtic team is that they are relatively young and can only improve.

That ... and, going by the media hacks .... the return and signing of Scott Allan, McGeough and John McGinn.

Celtic have riches beyond our dreams by still think parochially and gauge their level of success against the likes of Motherwell and Aberdeen. As long as they do, they'll continue to lose 3-0 to very average European opposition like Zenit. Shown up tonight.

22-02-2018, 07:51 PM

Majorly over-rated. Lucky if Celtic can shift him on for a couple of mil.

xyz23jc
22-02-2018, 07:55 PM
Majorly over-rated. Lucky if Celtic can shift him on for a couple of mil.

Pleasing! :greengrin

22-02-2018, 07:58 PM

Mcginn maybe but mcgeoch not and as Scott Allan couldn't get near the squad then highly unlikely. Tonight result makes absolutely no difference where our players will be come the summer.

Sauzee16
22-02-2018, 08:02 PM
A poor night for Irish football. Delighted they are out.

22-02-2018, 08:08 PM
Mcginn maybe but mcgeoch not and as Scott Allan couldn't get near the squad then highly unlikely. Tonight result makes absolutely no difference where our players will be come the summer.

Habits die hard and Celtic are no different to Sevco. Taking 3 players from Hibs will make their fans feel better, so they probably will. Weaken other clubs and be the Billy Big Baws of Scottish football.

Then the media are shocked and appalled when Celtic get found out in Europe :violin:

22-02-2018, 08:08 PM
Goodness knows what the score would have been if Zenit were fully match fit following the winter break.

😁

22-02-2018, 08:09 PM

Couldn't agree more.

22-02-2018, 08:09 PM
Get in, just seen the score. Bye, bye Europe 😂 Shame they weren’t roasted but I’ll take the fact they are out.

22-02-2018, 08:13 PM
Great to see Stubbsie on TV. Legend.

Would love to see him back as Hibs manager, when Lennon moves on :thumbsup:

22-02-2018, 08:16 PM
I don't think there was a man in the entire nation of Russia less interested about the game tonight than Dembele appeared to be at times. I concede that he was isolated with that daft 5-4-1 Diamond formation he seemed to be playing but I've never seen someone stroll through a game when a bit of urgency was required.

22-02-2018, 08:25 PM
Delighted with that. Get it up them.

renato
22-02-2018, 08:25 PM
Atalanta 1-0 up against Dortmund already, they’re having a wonderful EL campaign so far, giant slayers. If it stays like this then they’re through.

Ilicic again looks fantastic, you could tell how classy he was for Maribor.

22-02-2018, 08:26 PM
I presume we still get a payment for them qualifying from the group sections?

22-02-2018, 08:26 PM
Always nice to see Celtic getting their ***** handed to them. They seem to think they are far better than they actually are, talking about going to Russia and getting a result. Was never ever going to happen. They aren't good enough for that level of football.

22-02-2018, 08:28 PM
Glad they are out.

Less money they get the better. Less opportunity to pillage other SPL clubs.

22-02-2018, 08:28 PM
Arsenal game getting interesting :greengrin

Sauzee16
22-02-2018, 08:29 PM
Arsenal game getting interesting :greengrin

Wow 2 down already. I

22-02-2018, 08:34 PM
Squeaky bums at Arsenal then :faf:

SwedishHibee (?) will be pulling his drawers down right now lol.......

SideBurns
22-02-2018, 08:35 PM
I find this apparent outpouring of joy in the result a bit sad. When I were a lad, I wanted all the Scottish teams to do well in Europe apart from the Huns, who have always been a special case. I realise I might have ignited another "2 cheeks of the same arse" debate; plenty Hibbies still seem to hold to that view, despite events of recent years and personal experience which contradicts it, which is strange. I'm not gutted Celtic are out but I'd preferred they'd gone through.

Sauzee16
22-02-2018, 08:42 PM

Let's hope they aren't at the game then.

22-02-2018, 08:47 PM

Hope he ‘s not in Ikea

22-02-2018, 08:49 PM
I find this apparent outpouring of joy in the result a bit sad. When I were a lad, I wanted all the Scottish teams to do well in Europe apart from the Huns, who have always been a special case. I realise I might have ignited another "2 cheeks of the same arse" debate; plenty Hibbies still seem to hold to that view, despite events of recent years and personal experience which contradicts it, which is strange. I'm not gutted Celtic are out but I'd preferred they'd gone through.

Totally agree. Doesn’t matter which team it is Scottish teams need to be doing better in Europe.

22-02-2018, 08:49 PM
Celtic failed to strengthen at centre half last summer and Gordon has covered up for a lot of poor play.Without him their defence is very ordinary .

22-02-2018, 08:55 PM

Ditto.
The saddest bit is that I actually predicted Celtic losing 3-0.
Their record in away games in Europe is abysmal.

22-02-2018, 09:00 PM
Agree

22-02-2018, 09:09 PM

i want hibs to do well in Europe and give a good account of themselves. I couldn't care less what Celtic, Rangers, hearts, Aberdeen, st.johnstone or anyone else do. I find it funny seeing hearts, Celtic and Rangers losing any game of football whether it's Europe or domestically. They're historically our 3 biggest rivals, I don't see why any hibs fan would "want them to do well"

22-02-2018, 09:11 PM
I find this apparent outpouring of joy in the result a bit sad. When I were a lad, I wanted all the Scottish teams to do well in Europe apart from the Huns, who have always been a special case. I realise I might have ignited another "2 cheeks of the same arse" debate; plenty Hibbies still seem to hold to that view, despite events of recent years and personal experience which contradicts it, which is strange. I'm not gutted Celtic are out but I'd preferred they'd gone through.:agree: I also have a few genuine friends that support them, not just outwith the Glasgow area glory hunters. bad for Scottish football.

22-02-2018, 09:13 PM

The day Celtic stop cherry-picking the cream of the competition in Scotland for buttons (just because they can), and start treating the league with respect is the day I'll start to cheer Celtic on in Europe. Its their choice.

For decades, they and Sevco have systematically plundered and weakened competition in Scotland for their own ends - all the while looking for any escape route into the land of milk and honey down South. They deserve nothing from us, and everything they get.

22-02-2018, 09:15 PM
The day Celtic stop cherry-picking the cream of the competition in Scotland for buttons (just because they can), and start treating the league with respect is the day I'll start to cheer Celtic on in Europe. Its their choice.

For decades, they and Sevco have systematically plundered and weakened competition in Scotland for their own ends - all the while looking for any escape route into the land of milk and honey down South. They deserve nothing from us, and everything they get.

And complaining about the lack of competition in our league

renato
22-02-2018, 09:19 PM
Atalanta are bossing Dortmund here, Ilicic on fire. Marco Reus coming on for Dortmund now.

22-02-2018, 09:19 PM
Police officer dead after clashes between Bilbao and Spartak fans

22-02-2018, 09:27 PM

This discussion has been done to death on here but needless to say i'm delighted they are out. They don't even want to represent this country and fans of the host team would be forgiven for not realising they were playing a Scottish team.

To hell with them.

22-02-2018, 09:32 PM

Unfortunately for all the other teams and cities left in the round of 16, there are still three Russian clubs left in the draw.

Weir07
22-02-2018, 09:33 PM
i want hibs to do well in Europe and give a good account of themselves. I couldn't care less what Celtic, Rangers, hearts, Aberdeen, st.johnstone or anyone else do. I find it funny seeing hearts, Celtic and Rangers losing any game of football whether it's Europe or domestically. They're historically our 3 biggest rivals, I don't see why any hibs fan would "want them to do well"

My thoughts exactly!

The head says that I should support all Scottish teams in Europe, to help our coefficient and people's perception of our league, heart says that football is tribal and you never wish your biggest rivals well.

Maybe a bit small minded but that's what football does to you I suppose!

22-02-2018, 09:42 PM
Totally agree. Doesn’t matter which team it is Scottish teams need to be doing better in Europe.

Scottish teams that aren't Celtic need to be doing better in Europe, the fake hysteria in the Scottish media over Celtic in Europe is getting boring. If Aberdeen or (dare I say it) Hibs made it to a group stage it would be something to celebrate and get behind.

22-02-2018, 09:50 PM
Even to beat Arsenal on the night whilst going out, is a ridiculous achievement for Ostersunds. A truly amazing story.

22-02-2018, 09:51 PM
My thoughts exactly!

The head says that I should support all Scottish teams in Europe, to help our coefficient and people's perception of our league, heart says that football is tribal and you never wish your biggest rivals well.

Maybe a bit small minded but that's what football does to you I suppose!

Pretty much my thoughts. Our coefficient is poor, but we still get 4 European places which is still quite a lot. You enter the competition quite early, but you still get your trip at the end of the day.

22-02-2018, 09:54 PM
Has a Scottish side ever been horsed as much in Europe in one season than Celtic?

Check the record books..

22-02-2018, 09:56 PM
Scottish teams that aren't Celtic need to be doing better in Europe, the fake hysteria in the Scottish media over Celtic in Europe is getting boring. If Aberdeen or (dare I say it) Hibs made it to a group stage it would be something to celebrate and get behind.

And the media's cue to start the sell-off of our top talent to Celtic, Sevco and anyone else they can rustle up.

22-02-2018, 09:57 PM
This discussion has been done to death on here but needless to say i'm delighted they are out. They don't even want to represent this country and fans of the host team would be forgiven for not realising they were playing a Scottish team.

To hell with them.

Although some of their fans may see them as Irish rather than Scots I feel it is a bit Hunnish to accuse the club of that.

Sauzee16
22-02-2018, 10:03 PM

Nah they couldn't give a fk about Scotland nor Scottish football. Less money they make the better.

22-02-2018, 10:03 PM

22-02-2018, 10:13 PM

Agree with all of that. They couldn't give a flying one about any other team in Scotland so why should we want anything but failure for them

22-02-2018, 10:17 PM
This better for Scottish football if they went through is utter crap. Long term they will just get better and better but because we all get a little slice of a huge pie we should want them to go through? Ram it, I want Hibs competing In Europe couldn’t care less for Celtic or The Rangers and they are both horrible clubs.

22-02-2018, 10:32 PM
Although some of their fans may see them as Irish rather than Scots I feel it is a bit Hunnish to accuse the club of that.

Have you ever listened to the songs played over the tannoy at Parkhead?

22-02-2018, 10:35 PM
Another 2COTSA debate :faint:

22-02-2018, 10:36 PM
This better for Scottish football if they went through is utter crap. Long term they will just get better and better but because we all get a little slice of a huge pie we should want them to go through? Ram it, I want Hibs competing In Europe couldn’t care less for Celtic or The Rangers and they are both horrible clubs.

It’s not even remotely true either. The next step up the ladder is 2 champions league places and we are absolutely miles away from that place. I hope they get pumped time after time after time. Only thing that will help Hibs long term is our own teams ranking. If we win a tie or two we will slowly get more favourable draws due to better seeding.

22-02-2018, 10:41 PM
Delighted the Tims were brought back to Earth with a resounding crash tonight. Far too long have they bullishly crowed about how great they are - some of their arrogant fans even said without a hint of embarrassment that they must be amongst the favourites to win the Europa League!

Celtc progressing tonight would have benefited Celtc and their bank accounts alone. Gave them more spending power, and continued their capability to rape all other clubs in Scotland when it comes to their own talent. So long as the financial gap continues to be stretched, Celtc will pish all over the Scottish league for years to come, so forgive me for not rooting on them to continue widening that gap. I'm aware they're going to pish all over the league for the foreseeable anyway, but I'll NEVER cheer on them or their bigoted cousins in Europe.

22-02-2018, 10:53 PM
Delighted the Tims were brought back to Earth with a resounding crash tonight. Far too long have they bullishly crowed about how great they are - some of their arrogant fans even said without a hint of embarrassment that they must be amongst the favourites to win the Europa League!

Celtc progressing tonight would have benefited Celtc and their bank accounts alone. Gave them more spending power, and continued their capability to rape all other clubs in Scotland when it comes to their own talent. So long as the financial gap continues to be stretched, Celtc will pish all over the Scottish league for years to come, so forgive me for not rooting on them to continue widening that gap. I'm aware they're going to pish all over the league for the foreseeable anyway, but I'll NEVER cheer on them or their bigoted cousins in Europe.

Amen to that brother.

22-02-2018, 10:55 PM
It’s not even remotely true either. The next step up the ladder is 2 champions league places and we are absolutely miles away from that place. I hope they get pumped time after time after time. Only thing that will help Hibs long term is our own teams ranking. If we win a tie or two we will slowly get more favourable draws due to better seeding.

Couldn’t agree more 👍🏼

22-02-2018, 11:11 PM
Glad they got pumped

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

majorhibs
23-02-2018, 12:36 AM
Nae time to read all previous, watching them last week in Spain wi nae volume, I continually thought how precarious their position was, a 1-0 at home, goal but far from convincing, away tie to come in hostile environment etc! Later, seeing & hearing Scottish “press” & “commentary” ye’d think they were world beaters. Same wi Sutton the night. Pretty much every one of these “press” “TV” are too blinded by being total wishful thinking hopefull(less) blinkered unobjective supporters of both cheeks, that they just can’t or won’t report it as it is! Last weeks result for tic was not good, very precarious in fact, but the meant to be media made it out to be huge. Half time against a team just finished 3 months winter break, mega millions squad, Mancini manager, going back to Russia for 2nd leg, but they were all euphoric at the huge 1-0 win! Media, who support both cheeks, do this all the time! Try watching objectively, with the volume off, thinking neutrally ya biased trumpets, see what neutrals see, & maybe you won’t lead yourselves & your not sharpest tools into a frenzy of expectation when in reality even with your half of all the glory hunters throughout Scotland & Ireland N&S, are just not good enough. But main point, virtually EVERY media source you read/watch/hear about 2 cheeks are unable to be objective because they are so desperate as supporters & have the teams they support do well. Hahaha.

23-02-2018, 12:56 AM

He's an animal and made a shocking challenge on Ambrose in the LC Semi

23-02-2018, 01:05 AM

Nothing more to add to that post, you've said it all :agree:

SideBurns
23-02-2018, 03:03 AM

"...the Tims..." - you and others make valid points about the increasing financial disparity every time Celtic go further in Europe. I see that, although the gap is already so wide that I don't think that it makes a significant difference, and like it or not they're the only team presently with any chance of helping our already poor co-efficient. But, when you start your argument with "..the Tims..", you immediately damage your credibility - that is Hunnish language when used disparagingly. I regard myself as a 'Tim'. Hibbies come from various backgrounds, and should be respectful of that fact when speaking to each other.

23-02-2018, 06:33 AM
"...the Tims..." - you and others make valid points about the increasing financial disparity every time Celtic go further in Europe. I see that, although the gap is already so wide that I don't think that it makes a significant difference, and like it or not they're the only team presently with any chance of helping our already poor co-efficient. But, when you start your argument with "..the Tims..", you immediately damage your credibility - that is Hunnish language when used disparagingly. I regard myself as a 'Tim'. Hibbies come from various backgrounds, and should be respectful of that fact when speaking to each other.

You surely can't have a go at the posters credability for saying "tims" then go on to say "hunnish"? You regard yourself as a Celtic fan? The term has nothing to do with irish Catholics

SideBurns
23-02-2018, 07:21 AM
You surely can't have a go at the posters credability for saying "tims" then go on to say "hunnish"? You regard yourself as a Celtic fan? The term has nothing to do with irish Catholics

'Tim' is the shortened version of 'Tim Malloy' which has always been used as a slang term for Irish Catholics, or those of that origin, not Celtic fans. I know lots of 'Tims' who don't support Celtic (or Hibs for that matter). Using it in a derogatory fashion is something I'd expect from Huns or Diet Huns - and no, I have no problem with that description of TRFC fans, or the wannabees amongst the Hearts support. No Hibbies i know (regardless of background) use the term when speaking negatively about Celtic. I have had plenty cause to have a dash at Celtic, but never linking it to their Irish origins. I'll leave it at that, as I'm in danger of getting angry and cannae be bothered (especially since there is little or nothing to get angry about at the moment, when things are going so well for us, on and off the park).

23-02-2018, 07:35 AM
Amen to that brother.

Oh dear! How aulds yer granny? :greengrin

23-02-2018, 07:40 AM
'Tim' is the shortened version of 'Tim Malloy' which has always been used as a slang term for Irish Catholics, or those of that origin, not Celtic fans. I know lots of 'Tims' who don't support Celtic (or Hibs for that matter). Using it in a derogatory fashion is something I'd expect from Huns or Diet Huns - and no, I have no problem with that description of TRFC fans, or the wannabees amongst the Hearts support. No Hibbies i know (regardless of background) use the term when speaking negatively about Celtic. I have had plenty cause to have a dash at Celtic, but never linking it to their Irish origins. I'll leave it at that, as I'm in danger of getting angry and cannae be bothered (especially since there is little or nothing to get angry about at the moment, when things are going so well for us, on and off the park).

I just refer to Celtic as Celtic myself, or the other half the ugly sisters. I simply wanted you lot to lose as I’m a hibs fan and have zero interest in how far Celtic go. I don’t like yous or The Rangers (not you as in a person) I feel the less money you lot get the better for everyone else regardless of how far away you already are. For me everything in Scottish football has to go past Celtic or The Rangers it’s incredible the **** the rest of us put up with.

23-02-2018, 07:41 AM
Maybe I'm missing something but i thought every team in the league gets £400k if they had got through? Odd that we think we don't need that?

23-02-2018, 07:46 AM
I just refer to Celtic as Celtic myself, or the other half the ugly sisters. I simply wanted you lot to lose as I’m a hibs fan and have zero interest in how far Celtic go. I don’t like yous or The Rangers (not you as in a person) I feel the less money you lot get the better for everyone else regardless of how far away you already are. For me everything in Scottish football has to go past Celtic or The Rangers it’s incredible the **** the rest of us put up with.

Why are you referring to him as if he was a Celtc supporter??? Just wondering.....

23-02-2018, 07:47 AM
Maybe I'm missing something but i thought every team in the league gets £400k if they had got through? Odd that we think we don't need that?

I’d rather Hibs got into Europe than hoping Celtic go through. Also I’m sure that’s not what every club gets it’s alot lower than that is it not?

23-02-2018, 07:49 AM
Why are you referring to him as if he was a Celtc supporter??? Just wondering.....

I thought he was? If not I apologise I’m not long up 😁

23-02-2018, 07:50 AM
I thought he was? If not I apologise I’m not long up 😁

I think you need to read his post again :greengrin

23-02-2018, 07:52 AM
I think you need to read his post again :greengrin

I think I need a strong coffee... Apologies SideBurns if you are still reading this thread 👍🏼

23-02-2018, 07:54 AM
Just me that doesn’t really care either way?

I’ll always find it funny seeing rantic or hearts get beat but if they’d won I’d have enjoyed the benefits it may have brought.

23-02-2018, 08:10 AM

Net result we are no better off than any of our competitors in this league and a lot more poorer than the rich one. It’s like all the kids in the class being given a sweety and the rich kid been given the rest of the packet. Would rather not have one. Sod Celtic!

23-02-2018, 08:20 AM
Net result we are no better off than any of our competitors in this league and a lot more poorer than the rich one. It’s like all the kids in the class being given a sweety and the rich kid been given the rest of the packet. Would rather not have one. Sod Celtic!

Correct, it’s not like it is helping us pull away from the rest so what’s the point? I hope they get pumped silly in every game in Europe.

23-02-2018, 08:39 AM
You surely can't have a go at the posters credability for saying "tims" then go on to say "hunnish"? You regard yourself as a Celtic fan? The term has nothing to do with irish CatholicsIt has.

The Tim Malloys were a gang in the East End of Glasgow. They were the Catholic equivalent of the Billy Boys.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

23-02-2018, 08:42 AM
Well, as a Scot I'm naturally unhappy that our representatives are no longer in Europe. I can't understand anyone not feeling that way apart from the most bigoted of Rangers fans.

Old-fashioned I suppose.

AndyM_1875
23-02-2018, 08:51 AM
Personally I couldn't care less about Celtic getting pinged out. A fat bloated club, drunk on money and power, full of its own self importance and with some of the most cringey fans around. So they got beat? Meh.....

Whilst I don't have the "hope they get pumped" view I have with Rangers and Herz but as far as wishing them well goes I reserve that for the likes of Aberdeen, Dundee United (back in the day), Motherwell or St Johnstone.

23-02-2018, 10:27 AM

I'll take that under advisement - if you're offended by my use of the word Tim, I do apologise and I'll endeavour to avoid using it on here (as you're not the first to pull me up for it).

But some context. I come from a mixed family - on the one side, is a family of passionate Celtic fans (our surname is synonymous with one of their more legendary players and of Irish Catholic orgin). On the other side is a family that are died-in-the-wool Rangers fans - my grandfather was a Grand Master of the Masonic Lodge, and my uncle was a member of the Orange Lodge (until he saw sense later on in life and actually married a lovely catholic girl in my aunt). With those dynamics, you might understand why I never elected to pin my colours to any side (in terms of either religion or football).

The Rangers side of my family take significant exception to the word hun. I know there's some crafty debate around the reasons people use it - some people suddenly become experts in word etymology, and will give you a history lesson on Iranian and Persian linguistics, and come around to the hun horde of savages and barbarians. And I do believe some people innocently use the term in that way. But there's a large group of people out there that know full well they use it as a sectarian slur - to completely deny its application as a sectarian word is either willful ignorance or a bare-faced lie. On the other side of that divide, my uncles (ST holders at Parkhead, who travel every week) refer to themselves and their own supporters as Tims. It's a term that's been reappropriated (much in the same way that they've reappropriated fenian) as an affectionate term for their 'green gang' of Celtic fans. Now you're quite correct that I wasn't using it affectionately, but my usage I don't view as sectarian. I've always used it as a slight against their faux-Irish diaspora that they peddle so hard. I am aware of the historical connotations of the Tim Malloys, but my usage of it is sod all to do with any religious affilitation (again, I hate all religion equally!).

Nil by Mouth do agree with you that it's passively used as a sectarian term, in spite of any reappropriation that Celtic fans have done, so I'll avoid usage of it on here incase it offends any of our Irish Catholic followers :aok:

But I still absolutely ****ing hate Celtc FC, and I'm still delighted they're out of Europe :greengrin

Sauzee16
23-02-2018, 11:11 AM

Takeit up your pals at Celtic then https://youtu.be/tgraNfRzAGs here's a wee example.

23-02-2018, 11:12 AM
I'll take that under advisement - if you're offended by my use of the word Tim, I do apologise and I'll endeavour to avoid using it on here (as you're not the first to pull me up for it).

But some context. I come from a mixed family - on the one side, is a family of passionate Celtic fans (our surname is synonymous with one of their more legendary players and of Irish Catholic orgin). On the other side is a family that are died-in-the-wool Rangers fans - my grandfather was a Grand Master of the Masonic Lodge, and my uncle was a member of the Orange Lodge (until he saw sense later on in life and actually married a lovely catholic girl in my aunt). With those dynamics, you might understand why I never elected to pin my colours to any side (in terms of either religion or football).

The Rangers side of my family take significant exception to the word hun. I know there's some crafty debate around the reasons people use it - some people suddenly become experts in word etymology, and will give you a history lesson on Iranian and Persian linguistics, and come around to the hun horde of savages and barbarians. And I do believe some people innocently use the term in that way. But there's a large group of people out there that know full well they use it as a sectarian slur - to completely deny its application as a sectarian word is either willful ignorance or a bare-faced lie. On the other side of that divide, my uncles (ST holders at Parkhead, who travel every week) refer to themselves and their own supporters as Tims. It's a term that's been reappropriated (much in the same way that they've reappropriated fenian) as an affectionate term for their 'green gang' of Celtic fans. Now you're quite correct that I wasn't using it affectionately, but my usage I don't view as sectarian. I've always used it as a slight against their faux-Irish diaspora that they peddle so hard. I am aware of the historical connotations of the Tim Malloys, but my usage of it is sod all to do with any religious affilitation (again, I hate all religion equally!).

Nil by Mouth do agree with you that it's passively used as a sectarian term, in spite of any reappropriation that Celtic fans have done, so I'll avoid usage of it on here incase it offends any of our Irish Catholic followers :aok:

But I still absolutely ****ing hate Celtc FC, and I'm still delighted they're out of Europe :greengrin

I feel like you’re being given a raw deal here.

As nil by mouth would argue that tim is sectarian so too would they argue that Hun is sectarian.

So for the poster to pull you up because using tim is Hunnish behaviour and sectarian, unless I am missing something, that is pretty ironic.

‘Hunnish behaviour’ = sectarian

23-02-2018, 11:29 AM
I’m susceptible to wishing Scottish clubs well in Europe as we need to improve our game's standing and this is one way to do that.

However this is a long way from actively supporting them and I am not at all bothered that Celtc got pumped.

It might deflate Brendan’s ego a little but only temporarily. I doubt he will learn from it.

23-02-2018, 11:35 AM
It has.
The Tim Malloys were a gang in the East End of Glasgow. They were the Catholic equivalent of the Billy Boys.

My name is lapsedhibee and I would like to publicly apologise for not covering my ears when some Hibs fans were like :singing: "Am no a billy am a tim" in the 1960s.

23-02-2018, 12:03 PM

I think it's entirely possible to be happy enough if they get through but also find it hilariously funny when they lose a game and it's a big outcry about the state of Scottish football bla bla bla.

23-02-2018, 12:08 PM

Was very emotional last night, yes!!
If you had told me 3 years ago that I would be standing in a ground watching Hibs win the SC, then watching Ostersunds beat Arsenal away- I wouldn't have even took an 100 million bet!!!

Life can be very beautiful and miracles do happen.
Seriously, it doesn't get any better than this.. Well maybe, Sweden winning the World cup!!!!!!!!

23-02-2018, 12:32 PM
Arsenal get Gattusos AC Milan... very tough assignment.

23-02-2018, 12:40 PM

It's not a term I ever use... but a Celtic fan used it to describe himself to me last week when I asked if he was a Hibby. He replied "naw am I f***, I'm a Tim through and through".. something along those lines.

I don't know the history or the ins and outs of it's appropriateness but I know some of them are happy to refer to themselves as Tims, whereas I can't think Huns will ever refer to themselves as.. well.. Huns.

Sauzee16
23-02-2018, 12:47 PM
Arsenal get Gattusos AC Milan... very tough assignment.

Milan are brutal as is Rino at managing. Comes with the glamour of a top name but shouldnhammer them. Great draw.

Sauzee16
23-02-2018, 12:49 PM
It's not a term I ever use... but a Celtic fan used it to describe himself to me last week when I asked if he was a Hibby. He replied "naw am I f***, I'm a Tim through and through".. something along those lines.

I don't know the history or the ins and outs of it's appropriateness but I know some of them are happy to refer to themselves as Tims, whereas I can't think Huns will ever refer to themselves as.. well.. Huns.

Yep, see the tiny tims post where I posted the video from. Celtic apologist comes to mind unfortunately.

23-02-2018, 12:53 PM
Milan are brutal as is Rino at managing. Comes with the glamour of a top name but shouldnhammer them. Great draw.

:confused: You must have missed the last month or so. Won 6 Draw 2 Lost 0 in serie a since the turn of the year and Gattuso seems to be doing better than anyone expected. They will play both Rome clubs in a week before the Arsenal game. Their big problems are off the pitch.

23-02-2018, 02:33 PM

No we are given 400k.....400k that can be used to do essential work around the stadium, go towards the new training pitch. Its madness to not want extra income into the club no matter what any other clubs are doing.

23-02-2018, 03:14 PM
I would have liked to see them progress, always had a soft spot for them and see nothing wrong in wishing them well in Europe.

23-02-2018, 03:20 PM
I would have liked to see them progress, always had a soft spot for them and see nothing wrong in wishing them well in Europe.

Is this because of the Liverpool connection Scouse? Can’t say I’ve ever had a soft spot for Celtic being a Hibs fan. But I know most Liverpool fans when picking a Scottish side pick Celtic!

23-02-2018, 03:30 PM
No we are given 400k.....400k that can be used to do essential work around the stadium, go towards the new training pitch. Its madness to not want extra income into the club no matter what any other clubs are doing.
Exactly right and whatever Rod Petrie's critics think about him, I'm grateful for his ability to separate the emotion from the business side of running Hibs and glad he is with us. Fans (for the most part) can't see past the emotion of supporting Hibs.....

23-02-2018, 03:46 PM
Is this because of the Liverpool connection Scouse? Can’t say I’ve ever had a soft spot for Celtic being a Hibs fan. But I know most Liverpool fans when picking a Scottish side pick Celtic!

Yeah TC, as a kid when Dalglish signed for Liverpool I became more aware of Celtic and began to follow them with interest.

23-02-2018, 04:07 PM

Yeah TC, as a kid when Dalglish signed for Liverpool I became more aware of Celtic and began to follow them with interest.

I knew there was a reason why I dislike Liverpool! :greengrin

23-02-2018, 05:40 PM

Ah right, thought it would be something like that. 👍🏼

23-02-2018, 06:06 PM
Celtc & Rangers would be off like a shot without a backwards glance if the English leagues would have them. Any benefit Scottish football gets from them is is a by-product rather than any genuine care they have for Scottish football outwith themselves.

I don’t get particularly worked up either way, but don’t wish either any luck in Europe.

SideBurns
23-02-2018, 06:31 PM
I think I need a strong coffee... Apologies SideBurns if you are still reading this thread 👍🏼

No problem at all TC - I took myself out of the forum for the duration of the working day as I was aware I was getting wound up and needed to cool down a bit (a couple of pints at lunchtime did the trick)!

SideBurns
23-02-2018, 06:48 PM

Nae bother Sylar. I can now see how your very mixed background gives you a somewhat unique insight into the situation, and accept that you didn't mean to use the description in a sectarian fashion. Still don't agree that calling Sevco fans 'Huns' is sectarian though - if it wasn't for their bigoted history of hatred for and discrimination against Catholics, they would be just like any other team. The day that changes is the day I'll stop calling them 'Huns'. As for Celtic - as the song goes, "If it wisnae for the Hibees you'd be Huns". Never let them forget!

23-02-2018, 06:53 PM
Milan are brutal as is Rino at managing. Comes with the glamour of a top name but shouldnhammer them. Great draw.I think you are in for a shock mate, Milan have been very good recently.

23-02-2018, 08:18 PM

Just reading the Spanish police arrested a Spartak fan in Bilbao last night who is suspected of putting that England fan into a coma at the Marseille riots in 2016. Faces fifteen years in jail in France.

renato
23-02-2018, 08:57 PM
:confused: You must have missed the last month or so. Won 6 Draw 2 Lost 0 in serie a since the turn of the year and Gattuso seems to be doing better than anyone expected. They will play both Rome clubs in a week before the Arsenal game. Their big problems are off the pitch.

Exactly. Wonderful draw, both teams will fancy it and I might even be able to squeeze a trip down to the Emirates too.

Get in, mon the Meelan!

23-02-2018, 08:58 PM
Exactly. Wonderful draw, both teams will fancy it and I might even be able to squeeze a trip down to the Emirates too.

Get in, mon the Meelan!

I think Arsenal will fancy it more , Heavy favourites

renato
23-02-2018, 09:00 PM
I think Arsenal will fancy it more , Heavy favourites

Keep your money in your pocket there chief :greengrin

I’m as surprised as anyone at how well Milan are doing lately, let’s hope Wenger has the same attitude as you as they’ll get a wee shock :greengrin

50/50.

23-02-2018, 09:02 PM
Keep your money in your pocket there chief :greengrin

I’m as surprised as anyone at how well Milan are doing lately, let’s hope Wenger has the same attitude as you as they’ll get a wee shock :greengrin

50/50.

Ken me :greengrin Whatever i predict the opposite happens :hilarious

renato
23-02-2018, 09:08 PM
Ken me :greengrin Whatever i predict the opposite happens :hilarious

Haha, feel like that myself lately! Will be some game though, two heavyweights..

23-02-2018, 09:12 PM
Haha, feel like that myself lately! Will be some game though, two heavyweights..

Be looking forward to those 2 games massively