View Full Version : NHC Wigan v Man.C. F.A Cup

19-02-2018, 08:39 PM
Wigan holding Man.C. so far and have had a few good breakaways. Hope I’m not giving them the kiss of death. :greengrin

19-02-2018, 08:41 PM
Killie v Hearts on BBC one is a good game.

Lafferty has just been sent off.

19-02-2018, 08:44 PM
Red card for Delph.

andybev1
19-02-2018, 08:45 PM
man c. a man down - that throws the cat among the pidgeons. was it a red?

19-02-2018, 08:45 PM
Delph sent off. City down to 10 men.

19-02-2018, 08:47 PM
Am I allowed to disagree with the BBC panel and say that that was a reckless challenge by Delph and was a red card.

19-02-2018, 08:48 PM
Am I allowed to disagree with the BBC panel and say that that was a reckless challenge by Delph and was a red card.

I agree. Thought it was a definite red.

19-02-2018, 08:49 PM
Agree

Red card for me too.

Killie v Hearts on BBC one is a good game.

Lafferty has just been sent off.

🙄

19-02-2018, 08:50 PM
I agree. Thought it was a definite red.

I cannot see how they think this wasn't a straight red. That was a potentially leg breaking challenge for me.

Rocky

It's a red every day of the week in my view - he's just lucky the studs up foot didn't make contact.

Toldo123
Red card. Was at straight leg tackle

Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk

19-02-2018, 08:52 PM
Ugly scenes with the two managers in the tunnel going in at half time. Going to be a good second half.

19-02-2018, 08:52 PM

Yeah, red for me.

19-02-2018, 08:55 PM

Straight red. BBC panel mostly blethers, tonight is no exception:wink:

19-02-2018, 08:56 PM
Stonewall red for me. I really wonder what players and coaches see when they argue in the face of that type of evidence.

19-02-2018, 08:57 PM
Presumably someone had a word in the ref's headset. He had the yellow card out at first and switched it to red.

Are they using VAR?

19-02-2018, 08:58 PM
not a red imo, no wonder man city manager not happy, the referee had the yellow card out and was writing on the back of the card then puts it away and produces a red instead ? ridiculous

DavidDavidGray
19-02-2018, 08:59 PM
Straight red for me aswell. Such a reckless challenge.

gaz1875
19-02-2018, 08:59 PM
Reckless tackle all day long, straight red no doubts.

19-02-2018, 09:01 PM
So many people saying it was reckless, reckless isn’t a red card.

19-02-2018, 09:03 PM
The boy summarising is a blether. There was a challenge earlier on Aguero and he was saying it wasn’t even a foul as he played the ball. Yes he did he then proceeded to raise his leg up to thigh height as he followed through on him.

19-02-2018, 09:04 PM
So many people saying it was reckless, reckless isn’t a red card.

He was high and studs showing, red every day of the week for me.

19-02-2018, 09:06 PM
not a red imo, no wonder man city manager not happy, the referee had the yellow card out and was writing on the back of the card then puts it away and produces a red instead ? ridiculous
Can the ref not change his mind??

19-02-2018, 09:12 PM
Can the ref not change his mind??

no

especially not when i have money on a man city win

19-02-2018, 09:13 PM
He was high and studs showing, red every day of the week for me.

Like that tackle there that was only yellow then? Only higher...

19-02-2018, 09:15 PM
no especially not when i have money on a man city win

Ah right!! 🙈

19-02-2018, 09:17 PM
Ugly scenes with the two managers in the tunnel going in at half time. Going to be a good second half.
Speaking of ugly scenes, Jay Fulton who came on for Wigan in the first half is the son of a certain Stevie Fulton.

19-02-2018, 09:18 PM
Straight red for me 100%

19-02-2018, 09:19 PM
Like that tackle there that was only yellow then? Only higher...

If you think that then fair enough fella, clearly not many on this thread agree with you. The two tackles were nothing in comparison as far as Im concerned.

19-02-2018, 09:26 PM
Jay Fulton booked for an ugly challenge.

Hee-hee.

19-02-2018, 09:32 PM
. Finish

19-02-2018, 09:32 PM
Wigan defending well but looked better against an 11 man Man C. team.

andybev1
19-02-2018, 09:33 PM
OMG:hyper

19-02-2018, 09:33 PM
If you think that then fair enough fella, clearly not many on this thread agree with you. The two tackles were nothing in comparison as far as Im concerned.

I’m not saying they were, however you said it was a red due to being ‘high and studs showing’ - that tackle was even higher with studs showing. The only question is about excessive force, for me he went in to win the ball, not excessively, it can be a foul, the reday seem it reckless, and give a yellow like he was going to, but I don’t think you can say he used excessive force.

19-02-2018, 09:35 PM
In for an exciting last 10 minutes. Can see City scoring. Maybe even two.

19-02-2018, 09:36 PM
1-0 Wigan

19-02-2018, 09:36 PM
Will Griggs on 🔥

19-02-2018, 09:39 PM
I’m not saying they were, however you said it was a red due to being ‘high and studs showing’ - that tackle was even higher with studs showing. The only question is about excessive force, for me he went in to win the ball, not excessively, it can be a foul, the reday seem it reckless, and give a yellow like he was going to, but I don’t think you can say he used excessive force.

Sorry mate just disagree with you. Left the ground, studs up, high (as in above the ball) red every day of the week for me. We clearly arent going to agree.

19-02-2018, 09:40 PM
This’ll be some feat if they hold on. It’s relentless.

19-02-2018, 09:44 PM
Loved Kyle Walker’s dummy in the lead up to the goal.

19-02-2018, 09:48 PM
Full time 1-0 Wigan

19-02-2018, 09:48 PM
Great stuff :thumbsup:

19-02-2018, 09:49 PM
Brilliant. The FA Cup delivers every year.

Disgraceful scenes.

Funny old game football. Blackpool won 2-0 at Wigan last week and now they KO City. Well done Wigan, great effort.

Wigan fans must have been goaded or is it just exuberance?

Barbaric scenes.

#Exuberance

19-02-2018, 09:50 PM
Mass riots on the pitch at the end. Set the Glasga polis on tae them.......

I don’t know why but I have an irrational dislike for Kyle Walker so I’m cheesing right now.

Why aren’t the BBC pundits commenting on these disgusting scenes at the end?

Disgusting scenes. Goading. Taunting. Thankfully the City fans are showing restraint.

Lineker just called them Wigan Town!

19-02-2018, 09:51 PM
Think I just saw Lee Wallace get punched.

Good on Wigan.:thumbsup:

Disgraceful scenes!!!!!!

Johnny Clash
Stadium DJ playing Oasis ‘WonderwAll’ at end just to rub it in!

Talk about smash and grab ! City battered them even with 10 men WOW !

19-02-2018, 09:52 PM
Stadium DJ playing Oasis ‘WonderwAll’ at end just to rub it in!

Goading.

Truly horrific scenes in Wigan just now. Fans on the pitch celebrating a major victory. Utterly despicable and hope they are all arrested :thumbsup:

Why aren't the Man City fans coming onto the pitch to protect their players 'as any fans would'

Surely dawn raids and a one year investigation will follow

19-02-2018, 09:53 PM
Pep Guardiola and his family were all assaulted or spat on. Wigan should be banned from Europe.

19-02-2018, 09:53 PM

Naw ye didnae. He's busy writing doon names with his crayon so he can grass them up tae the polis.....

19-02-2018, 09:56 PM
Looks like City fans have indeed reacted.

19-02-2018, 09:57 PM
Will Jabba make a statement about these disgraceful scenes of exhuberence and celebration?

19-02-2018, 09:57 PM
The referee is a clown, Wigan players shoved him around and he changed the card from yellow to red ! utter walloper.

19-02-2018, 09:58 PM
The referee is a clown, Wigan players shoved him around and he changed the card from yellow to red ! utter walloper.

Dry. Yer. Eyes.

19-02-2018, 09:59 PM
Aguero skelped a wigan fan haha.

19-02-2018, 09:59 PM
Trouble with Aguero and a fan too. Maybe the jokes were told a bit too soon.

19-02-2018, 10:00 PM
Expect a statement from The Rangers.

19-02-2018, 10:00 PM
I eagerly await the national outrage at cold hard video evidence of Aguero being assaulted by a Wigan fan. I fully expect a 3 year campaign by the Daily Ranger to get justice for Aguero and City.

19-02-2018, 10:01 PM
The cops are standing watching the Man. C. louts throwing projectiles but doing sod all about it.

19-02-2018, 10:02 PM
I eagerly await the national outrage at cold hard video evidence of Aguero being assaulted by a Wigan fan. I fully expect a 3 year campaign by the Daily Ranger to get justice for Aguero and City.

I think it would be fair to disqualify Wigan and just award the cup to City.

19-02-2018, 10:02 PM
Go on the Wigan!

19-02-2018, 10:05 PM
Truly horrific scenes in Wigan just now. Fans on the pitch celebrating a major victory. Utterly despicable and hope they are all arrested :thumbsup:

Absolutely

I'm waiting on Chick Dungs report about every player being assaulted :thumbsup:

19-02-2018, 10:07 PM
Not being reported on BBC website. Just'disappointing'scenes of advertising hoarding being thrown at stewards. Nothing bout pitch invasion.

19-02-2018, 10:14 PM

Red card every day of the week.

19-02-2018, 10:16 PM
So the quadruple can't be bought after all. 🤣

19-02-2018, 10:18 PM
Absolutely love seeing the City fans and players raging. Well played Wigan, soft spot for them through family connections.

19-02-2018, 10:19 PM
Josh Windass on twitter saying fans shouldn’t be on pitch 👀

19-02-2018, 10:30 PM
So the quadruple can't be bought after all. 🤣

Well Liverpool or Manchester United couldn’t buy their way to one when they were spending more than anyone else in the country so I’m not sure why you think City would.

19-02-2018, 10:35 PM
Great to see results like this. Really can't be bothered with teams like city, Chelsea etc who throw money about. City play fantastic football to watch but still can't be doing with the club. Great to see them getting beat by teams like Wigan.

19-02-2018, 10:45 PM
Great to see results like this. Really can't be bothered with teams like city, Chelsea etc who throw money about. City play fantastic football to watch but still can't be doing with the club. Great to see them getting beat by teams like Wigan.

City, Chelsea etc, yet conveniently don’t mention Liverpool or United... That league is full of money so of course clubs are going to throw it about. Standard argument when clubs waste what they spend and are jealous of those who spend it well.

19-02-2018, 10:47 PM
Well Liverpool or Manchester United couldn’t buy their way to one when they were spending more than anyone else in the country so I’m not sure why you think City would.

That didn't take long for a bite.🤣

Quadruple never been mentioned so much in my lifetime until Citeh came along and took spending to a level never seen before.
A fantastic result tonight for Wigan against the bottomless pit of cash club.

19-02-2018, 10:49 PM
That didn't take long for a bite.🤣

Quadruple never been mentioned so much in my lifetime until Citeh came along and took spending to a level never seen before.

With a tv deal that is far bigger than it has ever been. I mean it’s not like Liverpool spend £75m on single players or united spend £100m on a player they binned a few years earlier.

19-02-2018, 10:51 PM
With a tv deal that is far bigger than it has ever been. I mean it’s not like Liverpool spend £75m on single players or united spend £100m on a player they binned a few years earlier.

🤣 It's tough when tbey lose eh.

19-02-2018, 10:54 PM
https://twitter.com/RCorless33/status/965715973654401025

19-02-2018, 10:55 PM
🤣 It's tough when tbey lose eh.

I don’t like English football in the slightest, but find it really amusing seeing how deluded you are regards Liverpool every week. Spent a fortune and still miles from winning anything worthwhile. Keep crying over successful sides however.

I actually have a couple of mates who support Liverpool and they’re exactly the same as you, must be hard going from a top side to an English also-ran.

19-02-2018, 11:00 PM
City, Chelsea etc, yet conveniently don’t mention Liverpool or United... That league is full of money so of course clubs are going to throw it about. Standard argument when clubs waste what they spend and are jealous of those who spend it well.

I didn't conveniently leave anyone out. If you were to check back my posts you'll see I have Evertonian tendencies since 1977 and a certain Andy King winner. City and Chelsea spend money given to them by individuals. Liverpool and Utd do spend big but this has been built on having fan bases that city and Chelsea will never have. The money spent in England is ridiculous and frankly obscene but city are taking it to new levels

19-02-2018, 11:03 PM
I don’t like English football in the slightest, but find it really amusing seeing how deluded you are regards Liverpool every week. Spent a fortune and still miles from winning anything worthwhile. Keep crying over successful sides however.

I actually have a couple of mates who support Liverpool and they’re exactly the same as you, must be hard going from a top side to an English also-ran.

I'm not deluded in the least, no it's not hard going at all. In my lifetime I have personaly seen Liverpool win every single domestic trophy and European ones too. Anything I see them win now is a bonus. Liverpool are still a top side in English football just not at the pinnacle. I find it hilarious when folk come out with comments like yours to be honest. I would follow Liverpool no matter how far they slip.

Hibs and Liverpool trust me to pick a Scottish also ran too, nae luck eh.

19-02-2018, 11:08 PM
https://twitter.com/RCorless33/status/965715973654401025

'Sorry, that page doesn’t exist!'

19-02-2018, 11:10 PM

Man Utd didn't bin Paul Pogba, he refused to sign a new contract and left for Juve.

19-02-2018, 11:12 PM
I didn't conveniently leave anyone out. If you were to check back my posts you'll see I have Evertonian tendencies since 1977 and a certain Andy King winner. City and Chelsea spend money given to them by individuals. Liverpool and Utd do spend big but this has been built on having fan bases that city and Chelsea will never have. The money spent in England is ridiculous and frankly obscene but city are taking it to new levels

And Chelsea took it to new levels before, and United before that, in fact united are up there again now. If you want to succeed you need to spend money, and wisely. Regardless of how wealth is gained, you can’t slate one club for ‘buying success’ while saying it’s fine for another to do so because of where the money came from. I suppose the Glazers didn’t put any money into United eh,

19-02-2018, 11:17 PM
Fifa Uefa to blame. They killed football as a competitive sport.

20-02-2018, 01:44 AM
I've backed Wigan 4 times this season on my fixed odds coupon and they've let me down each time, despite being top. And they were getting beat at home by really pish teams too. Results like this just make me laugh, probably because I didn't put a coupon on tonight.

20-02-2018, 06:11 AM
Trouble with Aguero and a fan too. Maybe the jokes were told a bit too soon.

At least there’s evidence of this (caught by the tv cameras)

Not just wild accusations splattered on the front and back pages of a national newspaper

20-02-2018, 07:08 AM
I'm waiting for Traynor's statement before jumping to conclusions.

20-02-2018, 07:10 AM
And Chelsea took it to new levels before, and United before that, in fact united are up there again now. If you want to succeed you need to spend money, and wisely. Regardless of how wealth is gained, you can’t slate one club for ‘buying success’ while saying it’s fine for another to do so because of where the money came from. I suppose the Glazers didn’t put any money into United eh,

i can’t stand united but the glazers actually didn’t put money into them. They bought the club with the help of banks and hedge funds, debts that they have gradually paid down with the club’s own money (and they still owe around £300million). They essentially made the fans (both the local match going ones and their army of armchair sheep around the world buying the latest tat with a united crest on it) buy the club for them. similarly the vast sums that united have spent on players since have been generated by the club itself (which the glazers admittedly made more profitable through more aggressive marketing, merchandising and sponsorship), and the massive tv deals. Now you might say that it’s still a case of the glazers putting money in by virtue of the fact it’s their money because they own the club, but there’s a difference between them and the likes of chelsea/city in my opinion. United are essentially rich because of who they are, their name, brand and massive global support going back to 1958. They’re still a vile club at times regardless.

anyway that’s my two pence worth. The top flight in England as a whole is rich beyond my comprehension and I try not to concern myself too much with it.

20-02-2018, 07:31 AM
Net spending of key rivals since 2010/11
Man City - £718.05m

Man United - £540.05m

Chelsea - £351.8m

Arsenal - £179.8m

Spurs - A remarkable £20.5m profit

In simple terms, Sheikh Mansour-backed Man City’s net spend on players is almost four and half times that of FGS at Liverpool. At Man United the Glazers are spending three and a third times more, despite servicing the huge debt they used to help buy the club. Chelsea and Abramovich are spending more than double.

Liverpool not doing too bad considering.

With regard to last night, we all love to see a big team turned over in the cup unless it's a team you follow of course.

20-02-2018, 07:53 AM
It's just brilliant to see that every so often a smaller sides can have their day in the sun. In Scotland we have won approx 3% of the available major trophies in our history so we fall into that category as well.

It's irrelevant whether a club has always been a big club and is wealthier 'organically' or has spent money from a rich owner to get to the top table. Every so often it's nice to see them taken down a peg or 2.

20-02-2018, 08:50 AM
I think we can expect a £10m bid for SJM now.

20-02-2018, 09:31 AM
I think we can expect a £10m bid for SJM now.

He can do better than Wigan

20-02-2018, 11:01 AM

The Glazers are a funny one but I agree with your general point.

For years, teams like Liverpool and Manchester United have had an elevated status because glory hunters who have nothing to do with either city have ensured their income is above that of others.

I think it’s bloody hilarious what City and Chelsea have done. All these Scottish Liverpool fans and African Arsenal supporters looking down their noses at the way others are funded while they were smugly looking down on them a few years ago because they were “small”. 😂

Personally, I wish Tottenham nothing but the best as out of all the top clubs, they have done things more organically. They’ve produced the spine of the English team and how much did it cost them?

20-02-2018, 03:11 PM
Well looks like Man City are doing a new club and complaining about players being verbally abused. At least their fans didn't "protect" the players.

Always a good way to deflect a defeat.

angus hibby
20-02-2018, 10:33 PM
Wonder how long it will take the local constabulary to investigate this??

20-02-2018, 10:40 PM
At the other end of the scale the Oyston family made well in excess of 120 million out of Blackpool FC and their adventure to the Premier League and reinvested 5p ...... their time is very much coming to an end though having been flogged through he courts in the last few months.

Hibs is about more than money. It should always be that way.

21-02-2018, 01:06 PM
With regard to last night, we all love to see a big team turned over in the cup unless it's a team you follow of course.

And as a City fan (and Hibs for that) a kick in the chackers has been routine over the years :greengrin

Congrats to Wigan.. played out their skins.

21-02-2018, 01:11 PM
At the other end of the scale the Oyston family made well in excess of 120 million out of Blackpool FC and their adventure to the Premier League and reinvested 5p ...... their time is very much coming to an end though having been flogged through he courts in the last few months.

Hibs is about more than money. It should always be that way.

I think you're being very kind to the Oyston family saying they reinvested a whole 5p :wink: