View Full Version : 1957/58

19-02-2018, 02:27 PM
That's the last time Hibs had a higher average attendance.

In fact, apart from 1 occasion, our current average is more than our previous 25 years highest crowds.

We're already guaranteed a top 6 finish, so depending on who we get at home, our average could top 18000.

It really is astonishing.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/club_records_league_attendance.php

19-02-2018, 02:36 PM
Wow, 1980/1981 Easter Road was dead.

19-02-2018, 02:41 PM

Before my time. Relegated in 79/80 season. Assume playing in the lower division affected the average.

19-02-2018, 02:41 PM

You’re not a true fan unless you are one of the 1000~ who had a ST in 1890.

Nevi_SOL
19-02-2018, 02:42 PM
We should be guaranteed The Rangers and Celtic at home 👌🏼

19-02-2018, 02:45 PM
Quite remarkable given that there were probably a few 40k+ crowd games back in that season

19-02-2018, 02:46 PM

Sure my great grandad did

19-02-2018, 02:46 PM
Amazing stats. The thing that sticks out is the lowest attendance, 15,500 people are still turning out for the most unglamorous league tie...which means the stadium is never less than 75% full these days. Compare with previous seasons.

19-02-2018, 02:47 PM

We were all too pissed to care :greengrin

Our lowest crowd this year is higher than any other years average, apart from 72/73, going back to 1962.

We're getting over 6000 a week more than 2010 when the new East Stand was built.

How much extra income does that give us?

Does anyone know what the average income per fan Hibs is?

19-02-2018, 02:50 PM
We should finish with a higher average than Hearts despite them including the Murrayfield attendances with 15k away fans. Will be a be the highest Edinburgh average in a long time.

Sergio sledge
19-02-2018, 02:59 PM
Does anyone know what the average income per fan Hibs is?

Did Petrie not say at an AGM a few years ago that the average ticket cost £12 per game, taking into account season tickets (kids, students, OAP's, disabled and full price), concessions, hospitality etc.? This might have been before the new East was built when tickets for the old East were cheaper.

Daydreamer
19-02-2018, 03:00 PM
As someone has mentioned on another thread we might not get The Rangers at home again as they will have played all Celtic. Aberdeen, Hibs, Hearts and Killie at home twice before the split meaning a couple of the teams might have to go to Ipox three times. SPFL what a crew which will probably impact slightly on the average attendance

DavieRoy
19-02-2018, 03:02 PM

I wouldn’t be so sure. As it stands, Rangers are due all 5 games away from home after the split, that is with Kilmarnock in it. The maximum they can have is 3, they won’t change the Celtic game, so two out of the 4 other games will have to switch, depending on what we have had and are due, I would say there is a good chance of us going back to Ibrox.

19-02-2018, 03:09 PM
Did Petrie not say at an AGM a few years ago that the average ticket cost £12 per game, taking into account season tickets (kids, students, OAP's, disabled and full price), concessions, hospitality etc.? This might have been before the new East was built when tickets for the old East were cheaper.

I did a rough calculation using £15 as the average.

6000 X £15 = 90000 per week. Multiply that by 19 home games gives you £1.71m

That's extra income!

Last season, in the championship remember, our average was about 4000 higher than in 2010. Using the same back of tag packet calculation, the extra income from attendances was £1.14m.

19-02-2018, 03:11 PM

Sadly there's only Johnnyboy left.

19-02-2018, 03:11 PM
I wouldn’t be so sure. As it stands, Rangers are due all 5 games away from home after the split, that is with Kilmarnock in it. The maximum they can have is 3, they won’t change the Celtic game, so two out of the 4 other games will have to switch, depending on what we have had and are due, I would say there is a good chance of us going back to Ibrox.
I’d love to know how they’d come to the decision of who has to play there three times. Imo it should be done by drawing balls out of a hat. It’s an absolute disgrace if Celtic get preferential treatment over the rest of us.

DavieRoy
19-02-2018, 03:15 PM
There is a seeding system based on last season’s final positions, that would mean Kilmarnock and Hibernian but there may be teams who need an extra away game to balance out the 19 and 19.

I personally like the split when it works, I understand the odd anomaly and sometimes it goes against you but this is ridiculous when it has to be so manufactured. After three years in the Championship, I would happily go back to a 10 team league for the Premiership. Too much dross at the bottom. Have a best versus best mentality rather than adding weaker teams. At least we would have the fixtures sorted from day one.

19-02-2018, 03:31 PM
Going back to Ibrox is probably a good thing we’ll hammer them there.

Also if this happens then it’s a good excuse to drop the Rangers tickets at ER. I mean if we’re no getting to play them there twice what’s the point of allowing 3,000 odd huns in to watch Hibs play them only there once a season as there’s more chance Hibs fans will want to see this game and actually buy tickets for the away end.

19-02-2018, 03:43 PM
If you remove the distorting effects of the OF and Hearts crowds in the 70's it really hammers home the level of support this current team is getting at ER. Amazing stats, special times.

Sergio sledge
19-02-2018, 03:46 PM
There is a seeding system based on last season’s final positions, that would mean Kilmarnock and Hibernian but there may be teams who need an extra away game to balance out the 19 and 19.

I personally like the split when it works, I understand the odd anomaly and sometimes it goes against you but this is ridiculous when it has to be so manufactured. After three years in the Championship, I would happily go back to a 10 team league for the Premiership. Too much dross at the bottom. Have a best versus best mentality rather than adding weaker teams. At least we would have the fixtures sorted from day one.

Aberdeen and Kilmarnock would both be due 2 home games and three away to make it 19 home and 19 away, so the simple thing would be to switch their games with Rangers to Ibrox, that way everyone has 19 home and 19 away. However I can't see Aberdeen being too happy with having to play Rangers at Ibrox 3 times, especially if they are still level on points or there about, so I'd anticipate one of either Hearts or us having to go to Ibrox again. Based on both ours and Rangers home form vs away form, that wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing....

19-02-2018, 03:51 PM
Sadly there's only Johnnyboy left.

😂😂😂🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

19-02-2018, 04:08 PM
Edinburgh population is expected to grow by more than 25% over the next 20 years to 600,000. There is plenty room to grow our attendances even more. Luckily we have room to fill in the corners when we need it.

Barman Stanton
19-02-2018, 04:27 PM
I'm mostly surprised how low the average crowd was in the 70s. Shows how amazing the crowds are now.

19-02-2018, 04:28 PM
We should finish with a higher average than Hearts despite them including the Murrayfield attendances with 15k away fans. Will be a be the highest Edinburgh average in a long time.

I’m sure they had more than that. 14k against the Huns, 7k against the sheep when normally combined they’d be lucky to get 5k.

Rocky
19-02-2018, 04:44 PM
Undoubtedly great figures but worth bearing in mind that we've changed the way we count (not sure if this season or last) to reflect tickets sold rather than bums on seats

19-02-2018, 04:49 PM
I’m very sceptical about these figures.Where did they come from,particularly the 50s,60s and 70s?The club never issued attendance figures and newspapers used to have a rough guess.

Earlydelivery
19-02-2018, 04:50 PM
I'm mostly surprised how low the average crowd was in the 70s. Shows how amazing the crowds are now.
Me too . How can that 70s side only manage 17k average. Unbelievable.

19-02-2018, 05:02 PM
I’m very sceptical about these figures.Where did they come from,particularly the 50s,60s and 70s?The club never issued attendance figures and newspapers used to have a rough guess.

The owner of that website is a guy called Bobby Sinnet. I think he's a Hibs supporter so maybe he has contacts in the club.

I was sure that attendances were announced in the 70s though.

19-02-2018, 05:07 PM
Edinburgh population is expected to grow by more than 25% over the next 20 years to 600,000. There is plenty room to grow our attendances even more. Luckily we have room to fill in the corners when we need it.

19-02-2018, 05:36 PM

I just posted on another thread that that was the season I started going to almost every home game. I went to my first game only a year and a half earlier and, apart from the George Best debut and games against the OF, our home support numbered around 5k.

The attendances didn't really start picking up until the late 80s.

19-02-2018, 05:40 PM

So was 1984 Easter Road going by this pic (click for bigger)

Some cracking pics in that gallery (https://www.scotsman.com/image-gallery/in-pictures-the-evolution-of-easter-road-1-4692113/4692114) :agree:

Argylehibby
19-02-2018, 05:41 PM
I’d love to know how they’d come to the decision of who has to play there three times. Imo it should be done by drawing balls out of a hat. It’s an absolute disgrace if Celtic get preferential treatment over the rest of us.

Its based on last seasons league position. Killie and us will have been expected to finish bottom 6 and I would expect be the teams to be back at Ibrox taking the place of the 2 that were top 6 last time but bottom 6 this time.

19-02-2018, 05:56 PM
There has been a huge increase in the number of girls and women attending games in the past 10 - 15 years. For me that is the main reason for the increase.

19-02-2018, 06:02 PM
The owner of that website is a guy called Bobby Sinnet. I think he's a Hibs supporter so maybe he has contacts in the club.

I was sure that attendances were announced in the 70s though.

Bobby is the rather well informed man behind this.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B009NY1WNI/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

He knows his onions.

19-02-2018, 06:12 PM

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B009NY1WNI/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

He knows his onions.

👍

19-02-2018, 06:12 PM

I was sure that attendances were announced in the 70s though.They were.

But my Dad always used to scoff at them. Football was a cash business in those days, so there was plenty scope for understating attendances.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

19-02-2018, 06:13 PM

We should be.

19-02-2018, 06:14 PM
There has been a huge increase in the number of girls and women attending games in the past 10 - 15 years. For me that is the main reason for the increase.

Aye, but it's not all bad news.

19-02-2018, 06:28 PM
They were.

But my Dad always used to scoff at them. Football was a cash business in those days, so there was plenty scope for understating attendances.

In the old days there was the mythical? turnstile 32 where the bag of takings went straight to the board room for Mr.Swan.

19-02-2018, 06:42 PM
In the old days there was the mythical? turnstile 32 where the bag of takings went straight to the board room for Mr.Swan.Yup.

He taught Sir Tom and Rod all they know. [emoji48]

19-02-2018, 07:17 PM
I did a rough calculation using £15 as the average.

6000 X £15 = 90000 per week. Multiply that by 19 home games gives you £1.71m

That's extra income!

Last season, in the championship remember, our average was about 4000 higher than in 2010. Using the same back of tag packet calculation, the extra income from attendances was £1.14m.

Average ticket price was £17 including students /concs a few years back, you're probably not far off with £15.

19-02-2018, 07:23 PM
Don't I know it, I was one of the few regulars.:agree:

19-02-2018, 07:30 PM

Me too, I also went a full season I think under Miller home and away and we failed to win a single game away from home.

19-02-2018, 07:39 PM
Me too, I also went a full season I think under Miller home and away and we failed to win a single game away from home.
Don't knock it you & I must have some real street cred based on those days.

19-02-2018, 07:41 PM

Didn't we eventually win at Raith Rovers?

19-02-2018, 07:46 PM

There's a piccy story in the Scotsman of how Easter Road developed from that period. Some of the crowds are massive, some pretty sparse. There's one image the caption says is from a derby in May '66 which looks to have a crowd of about 3 or 4k, but the opposition are playing in all white, so I have my doubts :greengrin

https://www.scotsman.com/image-gallery/in-pictures-the-evolution-of-easter-road-1-4692113/4692114/img14691967

19-02-2018, 07:54 PM
So was 1984 Easter Road going by this pic (click for bigger)

Some cracking pics in that gallery (https://www.scotsman.com/image-gallery/in-pictures-the-evolution-of-easter-road-1-4692113/4692114) :agree:

Didn't see page 2 before I posted a link... Forgive me, I'm old :greengrin

19-02-2018, 08:03 PM
Didn't we eventually win at Raith Rovers?

Maybe my memory has gone but if we did it was the last or second d last game of the season.
Happy days :greengrin

19-02-2018, 08:28 PM

That was my first year going to home games on my own aged 12/13. Traveled to with my uncle and I don't think I missed a league game home or away that year.

19-02-2018, 08:30 PM
Average ticket price was £17 including students /concs a few years back, you're probably not far off with £15.

I suspect as the average gate goes up so will the average ticket price as the £25 kids FF seasons will not effect the average price as greatly.

19-02-2018, 08:36 PM
I suspect as the average gate goes up so will the average ticket price as the £25 kids FF seasons will not effect the average price as greatly.

Yes, I thought that too.

We'll be closer to an extra £2m in additional gate receipts in that case.

19-02-2018, 08:36 PM
As a side to this thread in 1954/55 we averaged 22,825, our highest gate 43,000 but our lowest recorded as 875. Anyone know the story behind the 875 gate, I presume it would be a match rearranged for a midweek afternoon???

19-02-2018, 08:38 PM
Yes, I thought that too.

We'll be closer to an extra £2m in additional gate receipts in that case.

Leigh Griffiths' wages for 2018/19 covered :agree:

19-02-2018, 08:39 PM
Leigh Griffiths' wages for 2018/19 covered :agree:

19-02-2018, 08:54 PM
As a side to this thread in 1954/55 we averaged 22,825, our highest gate 43,000 but our lowest recorded as 875. Anyone know the story behind the 875 gate, I presume it would be a match rearranged for a midweek afternoon???
Think it was a midweek,afternoon game against Stirling Albion.

19-02-2018, 10:54 PM
There's a piccy story in the Scotsman of how Easter Road developed from that period. Some of the crowds are massive, some pretty sparse. There's one image the caption says is from a derby in May '66 which looks to have a crowd of about 3 or 4k, but the opposition are playing in all white, so I have my doubts :greengrin

https://www.scotsman.com/image-gallery/in-pictures-the-evolution-of-easter-road-1-4692113/4692114/img14691967

That game was the East of Scotland Shield final, after the season had finished, hence the wee crowd!

19-02-2018, 11:38 PM
I remember a game in the mid-eighties, probably Morton when me and my mate took our youngest boys. they were about 10 or 11, and my mate's boy says ;you got any matches Da? what you wantin' matches fur?!!!!! . his reply was, we're buildin' a Bo'nie. they had gathered auld bits of wood around the back of the top East terracing. needed to heat themselves up as there was nae crowd to get a heat amongst. clever lads.

wallpaperman
20-02-2018, 07:32 PM

Yeah me too, I had just turned 11, though had been a regular at homes games for a couple of years with my Dad, 80/81 was the year we went to loads of away games, my Dad no doubt feeling it was a bit safer as there was loads of bother in the years before at Easter Road at certain times.

Although it looks from the stats that home crowds were low, I have vivid recollections of some really big away crowds, no doubt buoyed by winning regularly.

I remember going to Stirling at their old ground, 1st away game of the season I think, after losing at home to Raith the week before, there was a tremendous Hibs support. Peter Cormack scored in a 2-0 win.

Trips to Firs Park to play East Stirling in a dire 1-1 draw, and a trip to Berwick on either New Years Day or the day after when that lad broke his leg after a minute and never played again.

Also big game at Starks Park to play Raith in what I think was Alan Sneddon's debut. Raith were maybe top just above Hibs, and I'm sure there must have been close to 10k there, half Hibs fans, but it was a tame 2-0 defeat and a big Hibs support disappointed.

Even got to the cup game at Ibrox, my Dad had got some tickets for the main stand from someone at his work, so sat quietly amongst the Huns but cheered when Jackie Mac pulled a goal back. Think I got off with it as I was just a young lad, my Dad was probably crapping it.

20-02-2018, 07:47 PM
Yeah me too, I had just turned 11, though had been a regular at homes games for a couple of years with my Dad, 80/81 was the year we went to loads of away games, my Dad no doubt feeling it was a bit safer as there was loads of bother in the years before at Easter Road at certain times.

Although it looks from the stats that home crowds were low, I have vivid recollections of some really big away crowds, no doubt buoyed by winning regularly.

I remember going to Stirling at their old ground, 1st away game of the season I think, after losing at home to Raith the week before, there was a tremendous Hibs support. Peter Cormack scored in a 2-0 win.

Trips to Firs Park to play East Stirling in a dire 1-1 draw, and a trip to Berwick on either New Years Day or the day after when that lad broke his leg after a minute and never played again.

Also big game at Starks Park to play Raith in what I think was Alan Sneddon's debut. Raith were maybe top just above Hibs, and I'm sure there must have been close to 10k there, half Hibs fans, but it was a tame 2-0 defeat and a big Hibs support disappointed.

Even got to the cup game at Ibrox, my Dad had got some tickets for the main stand from someone at his work, so sat quietly amongst the Huns but cheered when Jackie Mac pulled a goal back. Think I got off with it as I was just a young lad, my Dad was probably crapping it.
Ah yes those were the days:agree:

20-02-2018, 08:24 PM

Although 73 was my first game as a 4 year old and I attended a few games each year, the season before that was when I started going regularly home and away. The game at Firs Park was the game the linesman was hit on the head by a beer can thrown from the Hibs end. The Raith game was ASs debut and I think, without checking, he gave away a pen and may have scored an OG? Those were tough times to be a Hibby, especially coming from a town like Alloa where it's 60% hun, 35% tic, 5% others. Made is tough though and makes days like 210516 even sweeter. This is surely up there with late40s/50s and early 70s as one of the best times to be a Hibby. Long may it continue and unlike those periods we need to sustain this and build for the future

20-02-2018, 08:35 PM

He knows his onions.

..... and co-author of this book as well.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hibernian-FC-This-Day-History/dp/178531078X

20-02-2018, 09:14 PM

Good memories. The relegation season 79/80 was my first going home and away. I loved the First Division season that followed and remember the game at Annfield clearly. Was great to see the great Georgie Boy making a surprise return to the Hibees later that season which a lot of people seem to forget. We were handed tickets for the stand at Shielfield by the driver of the team bus and saw poor Ian Hendry break his leg right in front of us. Raith were a pain in the erse that season but it was a good day when we beat them at the end of the season at ER and celebrated on the pitch after lifting the title.

20-02-2018, 09:21 PM
Good memories. The relegation season 79/80 was my first going home and away. I loved the First Division season that followed and remember the game at Annfield clearly. Was great to see the great Georgie Boy making a surprise return to the Hibees later that season which a lot of people seem to forget. We were handed tickets for the stand at Shielfield by the driver of the team bus and saw poor Ian Hendry break his leg right in front of us. Raith were a pain in the erse that season but it was a good day when we beat them at the end of the season at ER and celebrated on the pitch after lifting the title.

I always seemed to recall the Raith game when we won the league being played in front of a massive crowd but it was apparently only 8,071! There was a decent Raith support as well. We were all chanting for Bertie Auld to make an appearance at the end but he'd buggered off to Spain! Wish he'd stayed there...

21-02-2018, 06:44 PM

Think we won the New Year game at Berwick 2-0. I spewed my ring all day :greengrin. Hi AUBENAS. The Ian Hendry break was at Berwick later on in the month.
Had some great away trips that season, Ayr, Dunfermline and Dundee midweek were highlights. That game at Annfield was great and I don't remember Peter Cormack appearing much afterwards.
I also remember a sorry midweek defeat at Boghead.
We went on to steamroller the league and the Rovers game at ER when we lifted the title was the feature game on Sportscene that night. I watched it reeking somewhere in Stockbridge. By 18 I had a problem.
And that Scottish cup game at Ibrox was the last one I'd missed (family wedding) until Leeann destroyed the points scheme and I missed Tynie 2017. But I've probably mentioned that already......

21-02-2018, 06:47 PM
I always seemed to recall the Raith game when we won the league being played in front of a massive crowd but it was apparently only 8,071! There was a decent Raith support as well. We were all chanting for Bertie Auld to make an appearance at the end but he'd buggered off to Spain! Wish he'd stayed there...

The Main Terracing seemed packed and pre-castration at that. Hard to recall that the rest of the ground was largely empty!

Cardinal Hibernian
21-02-2018, 07:27 PM
Think we won the New Year game at Berwick 2-0. I spewed my ring all day :greengrin. Hi AUBENAS. The Ian Hendry break was at Berwick later on in the month.
Had some great away trips that season, Ayr, Dunfermline and Dundee midweek were highlights. That game at Annfield was great and I don't remember Peter Cormack appearing much afterwards.
I also remember a sorry midweek defeat at Boghead.
We went on to steamroller the league and the Rovers game at ER when we lifted the title was the feature game on Sportscene that night. I watched it reeking somewhere in Stockbridge. By 18 I had a problem.
And that Scottish cup game at Ibrox was the last one I'd missed (family wedding) until Leeann destroyed the points scheme and I missed Tynie 2017. But I've probably mentioned that already......I think it was actually Scotsport rather than Sportscence. For a couple of seasons in the early 1980s the Saturday night highlights slot alternated between BBC Scotland and STV.

There is some footage on YouTube with Arthur Montford as the anchor man and it has the commentary of Jock Brown before he jumped to the BBC shortly before Scotsport bit the dust completely.

21-02-2018, 07:38 PM
[QUOTE=Iggy Pope;5322297]The Main Terracing seemed packed and pre-castration at that. Hard to recall that the rest of the ground was largely empty![/
Was that done on medical advice and was it painful?

21-02-2018, 07:43 PM
[QUOTE=Iggy Pope;5322297]The Main Terracing seemed packed and pre-castration at that. Hard to recall that the rest of the ground was largely empty![/
Was that done on medical advice and was it painful?

The big boys at the back of the bus did it to him. :wink:

21-02-2018, 08:12 PM

Hard to believe the figure of only 8K at that game, I was in Centre Stand and recall people dropping down to the enclosure to get onto the pitch at the end.

21-02-2018, 09:05 PM
The Main Terracing seemed packed and pre-castration at that. Hard to recall that the rest of the ground was largely empty!

I take it you mean pre-segregation? :greengrin It wasn't.. I started going to matches regularly that season and I've never been to ER without segregation . It was a decent crowd compared to the rest of the season when attendances were often well below 5k.

21-02-2018, 09:14 PM
I take it you mean pre-segregation? :greengrin It wasn't.. I started going to matches regularly that season and I've never been to ER without segregation . It was a decent crowd compared to the rest of the season when attendances were often well below 5k.

Was certainly pre-reduction in size of East.

21-02-2018, 09:17 PM
Was certainly pre-reduction in size of East.

Yeah, that was about 5-6 years later.

22-02-2018, 06:43 AM

I think Iggy means before the top tier got lopped off....1984 or 85.

22-02-2018, 06:48 AM
I think Iggy means before the top tier got lopped off....1984 or 85.

That's exactly what I meant.....

22-02-2018, 08:44 AM

was just talking with my son about that year and making same comment :flag:

22-02-2018, 08:51 AM
Surprised to see our average in 92/93 being only 8.7k. Remember it seemed like a massive crowd every week back then as a youngster. Was this maybe partly due to building work starting behind the goals?

22-02-2018, 09:00 AM

Like you, I don't think a lot of these figures will be entirely accurate. The ones from the first 50 years or so are clearly 'guesstimates' and while those from the late 1940s onwards do seem to be quite specific, it was a lot harder to know just how many people were in the ground back then. My dad recalls queues stretching up Easter Road in the 50s as well as people climbing into the ground and jumping over the turnstyles which used to just be waist high (something I saw still going on in the early 80s!) as well as lifting kids in for free. I've also heard stories of less than scrupulous turnstyle operators pocketing cash rather than registering the numbers passing into the ground plus directors siphoning off some of the cash etc so I think that up until as recently as the 90s 'official' crowd figures were rather haphazard.

What's undeniably true is that the Scottish Cup win, coupled with the way the club is now run, has resulted in average crowds these days which would have been impossible to imagine just a few years back.

22-02-2018, 09:44 AM
Surprised to see our average in 92/93 being only 8.7k. Remember it seemed like a massive crowd every week back then as a youngster. Was this maybe partly due to building work starting behind the goals?

The building of the ff and south stands didn't begin until towards the end of the 94/95 season. The cowshed was always quite sparsely populated in those days and apart from the visits of rantic hearts and dons, away supports were often small. Still seems low though and like you I remember it being busier than that. Maybe a few particularly low midweek crowds bringing the average down?

Wakeyhibee
23-02-2018, 03:12 PM

Remember that too, was on the upper reaches of the old East Terrace that day. Crowds that season were poor and IIRC that was the first game Hibs re-opened the East as it was closed for most of the season to save on costs. I was on the pitch at the end of the game and took home some ER turf along with lots of others that day:greengrin it was televised for Sportscene/Scotsport, the gantry had cameras, but sadly I can't find any footage on youtube. 8000 - 10,000 wouldn't be far off if I'm honest

23-02-2018, 06:31 PM
Remember that too, was on the upper reaches of the old East Terrace that day. Crowds that season were poor and IIRC that was the first game Hibs re-opened the East as it was closed for most of the season to save on costs. I was on the pitch at the end of the game and took home some ER turf along with lots of others that day:greengrin it was televised for Sportscene/Scotsport, the gantry had cameras, but sadly I can't find any footage on youtube. 8000 - 10,000 wouldn't be far off if I'm honest

I really don't think that bit is right. Certainly not the whole season, maybe individual midweek games?
I've got a scrapbook somewhere, must dig it out.

23-02-2018, 06:45 PM
I really don't think that bit is right. Certainly not the whole season, maybe individual midweek games?
I've got a scrapbook somewhere, must dig it out.

I stood on the East every game that season so it’s definitely not right.

23-02-2018, 06:50 PM
That was my first year going to home games on my own aged 12/13. Traveled to with my uncle and I don't think I missed a league game home or away that year.

I started going on my own the year before, but 80/81 was when I started going to practically every game (I was 14). Even though the home crowds were so poor, we actually had a decent size travelling support.

Away games were easily more enjoyable, as the atmosphere was really usually good.

23-02-2018, 07:07 PM
80/81 Edit.
Wakes might have a point.
I'll load some scrapbook photos later.

Stirling Alb away was our first win away in 17months. No away wins in 79/80 and only one point. That was at champions Aberdeen and we were already managerless and relegated.

Home Wins v Well and Berwick quickly followed with crowds of 4390 and 4000. Nice round figures.

5304 watched Best in his comeback in a 2-1 win away to Dundee. I remember being on the end of sectarian abuse by an old fart that night.

Terry Wilson signs via Appeals Tribunal.....

Willie Ormond quits 17/11/80.

Two days later Bertie Auld was in.

First win of any sort in the month of November since 1975. 1-0 v Dinfermline.

Simons auld man signed Dec 1980, debut v Stirling Alb 27th Dec, 3-0 win

Jan 10th 1980 top of the table clash at Starks sees a 0-2 loss before a 10,000 capacity crowd.

Victories over Falkirk (rammy in the changing rooms, Piegaterammy) and Dunfermline in the cup before an unfortunate loss at Ibrox.

4 and 5 goal wins over Hamilton and Dunfermline in February.

March 29th away win at Ayr and nearly there.

Clydebank battered at ER assures promotion followed by the Raith game clincher.

Magical season :greengrin:greengrin

23-02-2018, 07:32 PM
Here's the Open Day 1980 poster I wrapped my scrapbook in. Wish I'd kept it mint.

Eddie sacking followed by Willie Ormond quitting and a pic of Bertie getting the gig.
Sorry if they're upside down......Neanderthal man.

23-02-2018, 07:35 PM
George Best gets an award at the club from Maude, stars in a win at Dundee, Gary Murray signs.

23-02-2018, 07:38 PM
10,000 at Starks, Falkirk misbehave at ER (no ****), Tribunal decide fee for Terry Wilson.

23-02-2018, 07:39 PM
W O was snookered with drink shame because he was a really great guy

23-02-2018, 07:42 PM
Bukta quit (that was in pre season), players in the bath after promotion, clincher v Raith.

23-02-2018, 07:50 PM
Simons auld fellah with the flag....

23-02-2018, 07:51 PM
Terry Wilson big baws fifer but a complete arse poor signing

23-02-2018, 07:53 PM
Terry Wilson big baws fifer but a complete arse poor signing
I don't remember him at all. How long did he stay with us?

23-02-2018, 07:55 PM
I don't remember him at all. How long did he stay with us?

Not certain he even played a full league game and IIRC we had to shell £30k for a player we thought we were getting for nowt.

23-02-2018, 07:56 PM
Not a full sesson a grade A twat

23-02-2018, 07:57 PM
[QUOTE=weecounty hibby;5322337]

The big boys at the back of the bus did it to him. :wink:

23-02-2018, 09:01 PM
Not certain he even played a full league game and IIRC we had to shell £30k for a player we thought we were getting for nowt.

He scored on his debut and none of the players went to congratulate him. I asked Gordon Rae about it in Jinglin Geordies and he said it was because Wilson was basically a wee shight :greengrin

http://www.ihibs.co.uk/hibs/player.php?playerid=6257

Cardinal Hibernian
23-02-2018, 09:24 PM
Remember that too, was on the upper reaches of the old East Terrace that day. Crowds that season were poor and IIRC that was the first game Hibs re-opened the East as it was closed for most of the season to save on costs. I was on the pitch at the end of the game and took home some ER turf along with lots of others that day:greengrin it was televised for Sportscene/Scotsport, the gantry had cameras, but sadly I can't find any footage on youtube. 8000 - 10,000 wouldn't be far off if I'm honestJust simply put 'Raith Rovers Hibs 1981' as as a search into YouTube and it is the first video that appears.

The January game at Stark's Park was closer to 15 000 - decrepit old stadium - stone ash terracing with wooden sleepers on the terracing - it was rammed full in all all parts and supporters were still piling in even after the kick off was delayed by 15 minutes.

Wakeyhibee
24-02-2018, 10:00 AM
Just simply put 'Raith Rovers Hibs 1981' as as a search into YouTube and it is the first video that appears.

The January game at Stark's Park was closer to 15 000 - decrepit old stadium - stone ash terracing with wooden sleepers on the terracing - it was rammed full in all all parts and supporters were still piling in even after the kick off was delayed by 15 minutes.

Thank you I did search some years back