View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Aberdeen
17-02-2018, 04:17 PM
17:06
Lennon 'could not be more delighted'FT: Hibernian 2-0 Aberdeen
Hibs head coach Neil Lennon on BBC Radio Scotland: "I thought we were outstanding against a very good side who came into the game in real form.
"I could not be more delighted.
"I was delighted for Martin Boyle, who has had a wee mental block against Aberdeen because he is an Aberdeen boy, but he was excellent and got his goal.
"We are in good form and they played some great football and it is a wee bonus for us.
"We are in a good place just now and we just need to maintain that now."
17-02-2018, 04:20 PM
McInnes full of praise for Hibs.
Delboy4
17-02-2018, 04:20 PM
Derek McInnes
👏👏👏👏👏
murray26
17-02-2018, 04:22 PM
Fair play to mcInnes there.. told it how it was you wouldn’t get Levein being so honest.. bit of class.. as a side note how gutted does willie miller sound..
17-02-2018, 04:24 PM
McInnes full of praise for Hibs.
One of the most frank assessments I have heard.
Hibs thoroughly deserved it.
Glad to get in at half time 0 - 0
Was 2- 0 but they murdered us.
Was 2- 0 but lucky it was only 2.
Hibs were very good.
Hibs won all the 50-50s
Willie Miller...'Hibs midfield were magnificent' , Hibs defence were very good', 'Second half Teams were streets apart'
17-02-2018, 04:25 PM
First half I thought it was going to be the usual story against them. Nothing in the game but we didn’t really do enough.
Second half I thought we were outstanding. Could have picked a number of players as MOTM. Scott Allan could turn a good team in to a very good team though.
17-02-2018, 04:28 PM
Clicked on this thead for the firsy time and for the first half everyone keepa saying how bad or inefective boyle is. Night and day second half! Thought he was great 2nd half today. Well done boyler
17-02-2018, 04:36 PM
Best performance in years. Outstanding. Every single player.
17-02-2018, 04:40 PM
An incredible result and performance, absolutely gutted that I missed it.
There midfield will rightly get all of the credit but keeping a clean sheet today is also a brilliant achievement.
Such a feel good factor at the club right now, it genuinely can't wait until the next game.
Well done all the players and especially Neil Lennon.
17-02-2018, 04:42 PM
Fair play to mcInnes there.. told it how it was you wouldn’t get Levein being so honest.. bit of class.. as a side note how gutted does willie miller sound..
Edinburgh festival of footballHibernian 2-0 Aberdeen
https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/64/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2016/11/5/d131d83a-3a6b-4ff8-824c-d8a5140bca64.jpg
Willie Miller
Former Scotland defender on BBC Sportsound
They are in party mood here at Easter Road. A sensational second-half performance
17-02-2018, 04:43 PM
Fair play to McInnes :thumbsup:
Posted at 17:30
Hibs 'murdered' Dons - McInnesFT: Hibernian 2-0 Aberdeen
Aberdeen manager Derek McInnes tells BBC Scotland: "Even though the score was 2-0, I thought we got murdered today.
"The player who took responsibility was in a green and white shirt. They won more tackles, they were brighter, had a better appetite than us.
"You can sometimes accept when you haven't played well but you still see us taking responsibility for it.
"I didn't think we did that enough, which is unusual for us. We were lucky to get away with two.
17-02-2018, 04:46 PM
That second half performance was different class
McGregor, McGinn and Alan were amazing but my personal favourite was Efe.
Hibs4185
17-02-2018, 04:52 PM
That second half performance was different class
McGregor, McGinn and Alan were amazing but my personal favourite was Efe.
Efe set the tone from the start. Winning the ball and driving forward with skill and pace. My MOTM and a Sauzee-esque performance.
17-02-2018, 04:59 PM
That 2nd half was the finest display from a Hibs-team that I've seen in many a year - entire team gets my MOM !. My sincere thanks and gratitude to Neil Lennon and the players for an immensely enjoyable afternoon - the time just flew past !
17-02-2018, 05:04 PM
Glory Glory, I have to say I never gave us much of a hope of many points from the last few games but I am proved wellmwrong. Lennons signings looking excellent
12/15 for Dundee, motherwell, Celtic, hibs, Aberdeen is excellent
And I'm surprised!
17-02-2018, 05:23 PM
12/15 for Dundee, motherwell, Celtic, hibs, Aberdeen is excellent
And I'm surprised!
Did we win the game against ourselves?
:-)
Straight back to work buzzin, superb win and the best I've seen them play all season. Great balance to the team, midfield so creative, 2 clever intelligent forwards and a solid back 3, definitely 3-5-2 is the way forward for us. I thought Boyle played well as a wingback, possibly a future regular position for him. :thumbsup:
17-02-2018, 05:30 PM
2 going on 5 or 6 :agree:
Fuzzywuzzy
17-02-2018, 05:40 PM
What did shay logan go over to the east for at full time?
17-02-2018, 05:44 PM
Hahaha I wrote huns! Probably my mistake but I will claim it was autocorrect!
17-02-2018, 05:44 PM
Ranjurs are deid... and we own the new mob :greengrin
17-02-2018, 05:46 PM
Hahaha I meant Dundee! Probably my mistake but I will claim it was autocorrect!
No you never... get oot the pub :greengrin:greengrin
hibee62
17-02-2018, 05:46 PM
What did shay logan go over to the east for at full time?
Don’t know what it was, and it seemed friendly enough from afar, but I think it was Nicky Maynard not Logan.
17-02-2018, 05:47 PM
Good first half performance and an absolutely outstanding second half performance. Take a bow every single player.
17-02-2018, 05:48 PM
No you never... get oot the pub :greengrin:greengrin
Point taken
17-02-2018, 05:50 PM
Cup final win aside, that is as good as it gets!
17-02-2018, 05:52 PM
Lots to be impressed with today mostly in the second half. The shape of the team works at last. The work rate was outstanding from the 10 outfield player. Dylan was so busy. McGinn strong and Allen that wee bit sparkle. After a poor first half Boyler went into overdrive and was great in the second half. Daz, Paul and Efe were all excellent in different ways and Rocky looked super confident although never had much to do. The front two deserve special mention, even though both are capable of better in possession. To me their endless running both got in the faces of the Dons defenders and also gave Scott A something to hit. I can't recall a time where we had a pair of hard working forwards both on and off the ball. Lewis was also good today not putting a foot wrong. A real team performance and such a contrast to the away game where it was almost the exact opposite.
I'm quick to criticise Lennon but I also like to give credit where it's due. The winter signings all look decent and in Scott A it looks like he may have found the missing piece of the jigsaw in terms of our formation. Those were Lennon's main weaknesses for me and he seems to have worked both out. Amazing to think that after that Derby defeat we would be looking back at the winter break as something that really helped the club. A very impressive run of 4 wins out of 5 and such a fine second half performance today following a gutsy win at Ibrox. Well done the players and management.
17-02-2018, 05:53 PM
Don’t know what it was, and it seemed friendly enough from afar, but I think it was Nicky Maynard not Logan.
Definitely Maynard looked like one of his mates was in the crowd as wasn't anywhere near that part of the pitch.
17-02-2018, 05:56 PM
I wonder what NL said at half time? Hibs blew them away in that second half. Totally dominated them. Should have been a 4 or 5 nil.
Every single Hibs player was right on his game.
Fuzzywuzzy
17-02-2018, 06:15 PM
Ah ok. I thought i saw number 2
17-02-2018, 06:21 PM
How did McLean not get a second yellow card with that tackle on McGeough ?.......****ing bottle merchant
17-02-2018, 06:21 PM
Just watching it on Alba. How did Kenny McLean stay on the park? Blatant second yellow.
17-02-2018, 06:26 PM
How did McLean not get a second yellow card with that tackle on McGeough ?.......****ing bottle merchant Just watched that on Alba. It is even worse than what I thought at the game. Dallas was decent today but he bottled that.
Green Badger
17-02-2018, 06:29 PM
Just watching it on Alba. How did Kenny McLean stay on the park? Blatant second yellow.
No idea, definite yellow for that tackle. Should have been off.
17-02-2018, 06:36 PM
Thought this was a sell out? Watching just now and there's loads of empty seats.
17-02-2018, 06:36 PM
Thought this was a sell out? Watching just now and there's loads of empty seats.
Lots of big sections in the east
The Leith Dutch
17-02-2018, 06:42 PM
I wonder what NL said at half time? Hibs blew them away in that second half. Totally dominated them. Should have been a 4 or 5 nil.
Every single Hibs player was right on his game.
Would love to know that.
I noticed we were back on a good way before Aberdeen. I normally associate a late return to the field with a good half time talk but what the hell do I know? Whatever he said that was a cracking second 45.
17-02-2018, 06:47 PM
I wonder what NL said at half time?
Probably just explained the history of what Hibs 'kicking down the slope' meant.
17-02-2018, 06:54 PM
McLean had a look of resignation on his face when he committed the foul and was as surprised as anyone in the ground he didn't get a second yellow I'd say.
17-02-2018, 06:58 PM
Outstanding today. That starting eleven played like a settled side who know each other inside out.
17-02-2018, 06:59 PM
Every game I've been to this season, the quoted attendance didn't match up with the big gaps I saw at the game.
It's everybody's choice, of course, whether they want to attend or not but there must have been 2-3,000 empty seats in the home end today.
p.s. Not a complaint, just an observation.
17-02-2018, 07:03 PM
Every game I've been to this season, the quoted attendance didn't match up with the big gaps I saw at the game.
It's everybody's choice, of course, whether they want to attend or not but there must have been 2-3,000 empty seats in the home end today.
The quoted attendance is for the number of tickets sold for the game and not those in attendance.
Most weeks I would agree with you but no danger was there 2000 to 3000 seats not filled in the home stands today.
17-02-2018, 07:05 PM
The quoted attendance is for the number of tickets sold for the game and not those in attendance.
Most weeks I would agree with you but no danger was there 2000 to 3000 seats not filled in the home stands today.
I have some photos I could post, if you like :wink:
17-02-2018, 07:07 PM
Agree. Other that FF lower there wasn’t too much empty.
17-02-2018, 07:10 PM
No danger was there 2-3000, empty seats when the game kicked off. If you have pics it must have been with 5 mins to go or 5 mins before k.o. Place was packed out!
17-02-2018, 07:15 PM
I have some photos I could post, if you like :wink:
Aye post them and lets count the empty seats.
For info 2000 empty seats would equate to half the FF and 3000 would equate to half the east.
No danger that many empty seats
17-02-2018, 07:31 PM
The East was by far the emptiest stand from what I could see. Let's not bother too much about attendences. They are excellent, leave it at that.
17-02-2018, 07:33 PM
No danger was there 2-3000, empty seats when the game kicked off. If you have pics it must have been with 5 mins to go or 5 mins before k.o. Place was packed out!
These were taken thirty minutes into the first half. If the number of empty seats was repeated in the West Stand, I'd have said that was a couple of thousand easily.
17-02-2018, 07:38 PM
2,000 seats in the three home stands equates to 1 in every 8 seats being empty. That was easily the case, have a look at the photos.
As I said, it's entirely up to the people who buy the tickets if they don't go to the game but there's no point pretending the home stands were anywhere near full. I enjoyed the game immensely and the atmosphere was still really good.
17-02-2018, 07:39 PM
The East was by far the emptiest stand from what I could see. Let's not bother too much about attendences. They are excellent, leave it at that.
Wasn't having a go so apologies if it came across a bit arsey. When the club post "game sold out" then some, like myself, won't bother trying to get along. Don't think there were 2-3000 empty seats but there was a lot in the east. Don't understand it.
17-02-2018, 07:44 PM
2,000 seats in the three home stands equates to 1 in every 8 seats being empty. That was easily the case, have a look at the photos.
As I said, it's entirely up to the people who buy the tickets if they don't go to the game but there's no point pretending the home stands were anywhere near full. I enjoyed the game immensely and the atmosphere was still really good.
Sorry I know you weren’t having a go by the way, looking at the pics I’d say just under 2,000 no more. More than I thought when I was at the game to be fair.
17-02-2018, 07:51 PM
These were taken thirty minutes into the first half. If the number of empty seats was repeated in the West Stand, I'd have said that was a couple of thousand easily.
That only looks about 5-600 at most for me. The West looked more or less full from where I am in the FF.
17-02-2018, 07:54 PM
Sorry I know you weren’t having a go by the way, looking at the pics I’d say just under 2,000 no more. More than I thought when I was at the game to be fair.
Anyway, very good attendance and fantastic result. I'm sure we all agree on that
17-02-2018, 08:04 PM
Main Stand is pretty much full so that's 6500 accounted for. About 2800 in the FF, 5500 in the East and probably 3000+ in the South.
I'd have thought comfortably between 17.5k and 18k.
Lets just say its a lot more than use to attend at times in the 1980s core 8000 in those days.
17-02-2018, 08:10 PM
Lets just say its a lot more than use to attend at times in the 1980s core 8000 in those days.
Don’t forget we were getting 8-9000 in the first Championship season under Stubbsy.
18-02-2018, 08:19 AM
Fair play to McInnes :thumbsup:
Posted at 17:30
Hibs 'murdered' Dons - McInnesFT: Hibernian 2-0 Aberdeen
Aberdeen manager Derek McInnes tells BBC Scotland: "Even though the score was 2-0, I thought we got murdered today.
"The player who took responsibility was in a green and white shirt. They won more tackles, they were brighter, had a better appetite than us.
"You can sometimes accept when you haven't played well but you still see us taking responsibility for it.
"I didn't think we did that enough, which is unusual for us. We were lucky to get away with two.
He's a decent bloke McInnes hence the reason he knocked back sevco. Also quoted Lennon saying how bad we played at Pittodrie. I'm sure Potter would have come up with a million excuses for being outplayed like that. Too many managers insult fans intelligence after a battering. Jack Ross was also very good after St mirren got pumped by livi and accepted they were outplayed. Refreshing to see. BTW yesterday even more impressive given all the players we were missing.
18-02-2018, 09:30 AM
Wasn't having a go so apologies if it came across a bit arsey. When the club post "game sold out" then some, like myself, won't bother trying to get along. Don't think there were 2-3000 empty seats but there was a lot in the east. Don't understand it.
You don't try coz you think its sold out? odd.
18-02-2018, 09:40 AM
Just as a matter of interest where, and when, did the club post "game sold out"?
I would always give the ticket office a quick call if you want a ticket for the match if in any doubt.
18-02-2018, 09:44 AM
Outstanding today. That starting eleven played like a settled side who know each other inside out.
All the guys seemed at ease with Scott Allan in the team. With the excellent link up play and running of kamberi and mclaren we look like a machine going forward. Just superb to watch and both forwards not fully fit. Should be a cracking end to the season. Take each game as it comes but we should be looking at picking up points in every game and let's see where it takes us. I hope we can play like that on Mar 9th.
18-02-2018, 09:49 AM
Just as a matter of interest where, and when, did the club post "game sold out"?
I would always give the ticket office a quick call if you want a ticket for the match if in any doubt.
They didn't...
18-02-2018, 10:22 AM
Two great wins on the bounce. I will be even more delighted once we’ve put a team or two to the sword that sit in. The last two the opposition have had a go at times in the match and left space in the middle of the park for Scott Allan to exploit. He won’t get that in most games and will undoubtably he booted from bix to box.
18-02-2018, 10:24 AM
They didn't...
They did...
https://twitter.com/hibsofficial/status/964851966600937472
18-02-2018, 11:00 AM
You don't try coz you think its sold out? odd.
They didn't...
I work weekends and find it hard to get along. I take some annual leave, rarely, to get to a game but sometimes don't know till very late on if it can be covered.
As for "They didn't" post it was sold out I suggest you check the clubs official Twitter page. They state the game was "officially sold out."
18-02-2018, 11:04 AM
Thanks. I will definitely do this in the future rather than believe the official Twitter page. :aok:
18-02-2018, 11:15 AM
I dont get the people on here who seem surprised that there are empty seats dotted about the home stands. The club have stated previously that roughly ten per cent of season ticket holders dont attend every home match,bigger matches will be less There are many reasons for people not using their season ticket for any given home match and the same logic can be applied to every club up and down the country. It almost feels as if some people cant help but knock our own support at times . The game sold out and some season ticket holders couldnt make it , just get over it and try appreciating the support we have , instead of banging on about a situation every other club worldwide experiences.
18-02-2018, 11:17 AM
I dont get the people on here who seem surprised that there are empty seats dotted about the home stands. The club have stated previously that roughly ten per cent of season ticket holders dont attend every home match,bigger matches will be less There are many reasons for people not using their season ticket for any given home match and the same logic can be applied to every club up and down the country. It almost feels as if some people cant help but knock our own support at times . The game sold out and some season ticket holders couldnt make it , just get over it and try appreciating the support we have , instead of banging on about a situation every other club worldwide experiences.
Looks like we didn’t sell tickets in section 31?
18-02-2018, 11:20 AM
Looks like we didn’t sell tickets in section 31?
I wad referring to the 3 home stands where season tickets are sold
18-02-2018, 11:27 AM
I wad referring to the 3 home stands where season tickets are sold
I know you were, but was just wondering why we didn’t sell in this section ?
18-02-2018, 11:39 AM
[QUOTE=Billy Whizz;5319635]I know you were, but was just wondering why we didn’t sell in this section ?
Not sure why , i wondered wether hibs had used that section to make good the damaged seats elsewhere in the stand from the old firms visit. There were lots of damaged seats , so maybe a stop gap fix?
18-02-2018, 11:39 AM
Off topic but suday mail got us on 38 pionts
I sit in the East and it looked fairly packed to me, remember people move around all during the match for toilets, getting food etc, so it really can be misleading when pics are taken, big Gary who sits next to me didn't come back after the half time break, many reasons for seats being empty.
18-02-2018, 12:14 PM
I’am going off my heid or has the sunday mail printed the league tables from 3 weeks ago
18-02-2018, 01:08 PM
Also it is a school holidays so plenty of hibby families will be away in sunnier climates. If your away for a week, which most people do, then you would have missed the dons game.