05-02-2018, 07:32 PM
Ivan and it’s probably not even close.

Barker

Ivan.

No chance. He's coming up for 37 :wink:.

05-02-2018, 07:33 PM
Given his hamstring is currently knackered, Ivan's mum would win a race with Brandon...... :greengrin

05-02-2018, 07:34 PM
Oh Ivan definitely.

Ask them to dribble round cones half way up witha. Ball at their foot and it’s Barker.

But Ivan for raw pace... and greatness :)

05-02-2018, 07:34 PM
Efe. At a canter.

05-02-2018, 07:35 PM
Has to be Barker. Ivan is a bit long in the tooth now and a squirrel's legs are too short...

05-02-2018, 07:36 PM
Given his hamstring is currently knackered, Ivan's mum would win a race with Brandon...... :greengrin

So the answer is Squirrel :aok:

05-02-2018, 07:39 PM
Barker v Squirrel v Ivan. Who wins?

Darryl Green. (Fastest man in the NFL - in full gear 80s redskin)

Always thought that at the end of preseason we should have a superstars type session showcasing the teams fitness. If you cant relate kids lols up Brian Jack ;)

https://youtu.be/Ch_OawiLG6s

https://youtu.be/BnByR2dqcoA

#MakeItHappen

05-02-2018, 07:44 PM
100 metre sprints count for nowt in football , or George McNeil would have been another Pele. :greengrin

Its the 10, 20 or even 30 metre dashes that break defences.

Lawrie Reilly once said he was the slowest man at Easter Road over 100 yards, but the fastest over 10 and that's what was his greatest asset.

05-02-2018, 07:46 PM
Reminds me of the time I emailed Hibs when I was drunk and asked how fast Ivan could run 100m, never did get a response

Nevi_SOL
05-02-2018, 07:47 PM
Reminds me of the time I emailed Hibs when I was drunk and asked how fast Ivan could run 100m, never did get a response

😂😂 that’s quality

05-02-2018, 07:50 PM

Barker over 100, Ivan over 40

05-02-2018, 07:52 PM
Alan O'Brien

Kevvy1875
05-02-2018, 07:57 PM
100 metre sprints count for nowt in football , or George McNeil would have been another Pele. :greengrin

Lawrie Reilly once said he was the slowest man at Easter Road over 100 yards, but the fastest over 10 and that's what was his greatest asset.

Very true....

I believe a certain Craig Levein was at one point the fastest man in scottish football and he defenitely wasnt another Pele!

Bukta#8
05-02-2018, 07:57 PM
Alan O'Brien

Only on his motorbike though 🛵

05-02-2018, 07:58 PM
Very true....

I believe a certain Craig Levein was at one point the fastest man in scottish football and he defenitely wasnt another Pele!

Aye to the bog

Kevvy1875
05-02-2018, 07:59 PM
Aye to the bog

On his Nimbus 2000 :aok:

05-02-2018, 08:00 PM

Correct.

05-02-2018, 08:02 PM
Ivan's the fastest player I've seen. And I include Kris Killen in that.

05-02-2018, 08:22 PM

George McNeil - :greengrin:aok:

05-02-2018, 08:23 PM
Barker over 100, Ivan over 40

05-02-2018, 08:28 PM
Arthur "Nijinsky" Duncan

05-02-2018, 08:35 PM
So the answer is Squirrel :aok:

By the time he'd stopped halfway through for his second pint Ivan would have long overtaken him.

05-02-2018, 08:49 PM

Lineker was the same but he was lightning over less than 5 yards. Just enough for him to nip in ahead of his markers.

05-02-2018, 09:06 PM

Might be even first 5 yards that are important. That is more than enough to get space for a killer pass, win a loose ball or score a goal. I'd say Ivan over the 100m but it would be interesting to see who is quickest off the very short distances.

05-02-2018, 09:12 PM
Who won the dash oot the fire exit door

Stan the Man
05-02-2018, 09:53 PM
Sure Gareth Evans would have a space on the blocks in this race.

Clerie Green
05-02-2018, 09:56 PM
Arthur "Nijinsky" Duncan

Absolutely

05-02-2018, 11:09 PM

George McNeill was a world class sprinter
The Andy Murray of sprinting

vuefrom1875
05-02-2018, 11:14 PM

Arthur Duncan 😀

05-02-2018, 11:42 PM
Didier Agathe?

Years ago I heard Darren Campbell on the radio talking about how many young footballers were actually faster than some of the up and coming track athletes but they turned their backs on athletics because football paid so much more than athletics did. Justin Hoyte who went through the Arsenal youth academy was apparently much faster than Campbell and his peers when they were in the junior ranks.

To answer the OP, over 100m Sproule every time.

05-02-2018, 11:46 PM
Hurtado would wipe the floor with those donkeys.

05-02-2018, 11:54 PM
Hurtado would wipe the floor with those donkeys.

You certainly couldnae stop him!!!

21sMay
06-02-2018, 09:15 AM
de la Cruz could shift . agathe was also very quick.
Ivan is definetly the quickest I've seen love though

06-02-2018, 09:24 AM
Arthur "Nijinsky" Duncan

Thank you Kato. And he wasn't wearing those wee slipper things they wear nowadays.

The man who played at left-back behind him wasn't any slowcoach either.

NthCarolinaHibs
06-02-2018, 09:28 AM
Alf Tupper....and still had time for the chippy...

06-02-2018, 09:44 AM
I'd say that Barker's ball control makes him a more effective speed merchant than the other two. It'll be interesting to see if playing with a penalty box striker (MacLaren) brings out the best in squirrel, both by having a target man to aim for and also by potentially having more space due to the defenders having more to cope with.

cmcd
06-02-2018, 10:49 AM
Thank you Kato. And he wasn't wearing those wee slipper things they wear nowadays.

Correct Doddie Duncan was a flying machine and Shades could shift

06-02-2018, 11:34 AM

No probs, Arthur was faster the George McNeil on his day. Would beat Ivan, Barker and Boyle no bother.

From reputation Joe Baker was no slouch in youth.

Hibs also had a player in the 30's Arthur Milne who my Ol' Grandpa described as "faster than a greyhound".

06-02-2018, 11:51 AM
No probs, Arthur was faster the George McNeil on his day. Would beat Ivan, Barker and Boyle no bother.

From reputation Joe Baker was no slouch in youth.

Hibs also had a player in the 30's Arthur Milne who my Ol' Grandpa described as "faster than a greyhound".

Mcneil horsed Duncan in head to head at half time during Pat stanton testimonial

06-02-2018, 12:10 PM
Mcneil horsed Duncan in head to head at half time during Pat stanton testimonial

A few years earlier Duncan beat him at Meadowbank. As I said "on his day".

TelaStella
06-02-2018, 05:56 PM
Ivan. Don't think I've ever seen a player like that, used to love watching him.

inglisavhibs
06-02-2018, 06:56 PM

A few years earlier Duncan beat him at Meadowbank. As I said "on his day".

George was way faster than Arthur and ran close to 10sec dead for 100m. Arthur was fast but would need a wee start to get near George!!!! Kenny Thomson who played for Dunfermline was also a trained athlete and was very quick. Sprinting 100m is a whole lot different to the shorter runs required for football.

06-02-2018, 07:01 PM
George was way faster than Arthur and ran close to 10sec dead for 100m. Arthur was fast but would need a wee start to get near George!!!! Kenny Thomson who played for Dunfermline was also a trained athlete and was very quick. Sprinting 100m is a whole lot different to the shorter runs required for football.

Wasn’t George the fastest man on the planet over 110 yards?

06-02-2018, 07:06 PM
Alan O'Brien would beat them all. Only problem is he could only run in a straight line with no obstacles to impede him.

06-02-2018, 07:53 PM
It's a shame George could never compete in the ranked amateur competitions, wouldn't be a problem today. I think he held the record for 110 yards pro-sprint from a Powderhall meet. I have a distinct memory of Arthur beating him at a meet at Meadowbank, early 70's. Big EEN headline. Don't know the circs but Arthur was placed ahead of him at least once. If it's the marbles playing up, fair do's.

06-02-2018, 07:56 PM
Sure Gareth Evans would have a space on the blocks in this race.

Evans was fast, while a lot of people forget that Keith Wright had plenty of pace in his early years with Hibs.

I'm told Joe Baker was pretty quick too.

06-02-2018, 08:01 PM
Keith Wright had plenty of pace in his early years with Hibs.

Very quick when even younger with Dundee, did all Tommy Coyne's running for him.

06-02-2018, 08:23 PM
Very quick when even younger with Dundee, did all Tommy Coyne's running or him.

It's still one of my biggest regrets - that Hibs didn't reunite Wright and Coyne at ER They were amazing together at Dundee.

06-02-2018, 08:38 PM
It's still one of my biggest regrets - that Hibs didn't reunite Wright and Coyne at ER They were amazing together at Dundee.

It’s one of my regrets that we didn’t sign Keith a few years earlier than we did. He was great at Hibs but I think he was even better at Dundee.

inglisavhibs
06-02-2018, 08:45 PM
Wasn’t George the fastest man on the planet over 110 yards?
He wasn't allowed to run amateur as he had been a professional footballer. He ran in some challenges against the best Americans and was arguably the fastest man on the planet around 1971.

inglisavhibs
06-02-2018, 08:46 PM
It's a shame George could never compete in the ranked amateur competitions, wouldn't be a problem today. I think he held the record for 110 yards pro-sprint from a Powderhall meet. I have a distinct memory of Arthur beating him at a meet at Meadowbank, early 70's. Big EEN headline. Don't know the circs but Arthur was placed ahead of him at least once. If it's the marbles playing up, fair do's.
it would have been a handicapped race.

06-02-2018, 08:49 PM
Yes but didn’t want a argument

06-02-2018, 08:51 PM
it would have been a handicapped race.

:aok: good call - sounds right. Didn't he have a spell as Hibs sprint coach? Seem to remember him warming up near the east taking a few of the players through drills and chatting with punters.

06-02-2018, 10:29 PM

Heard that Celtc tried to sign them as a pair, only to be put off by Dundee's asking price so they settled for Coyne on his own.