View Full Version : BBC Alba

Delboy4
31-01-2018, 10:19 PM
Watching the game now and there is no way 15,000 at the game, they must be counting season books even though they haven’t turned up.

Great score boys!

31-01-2018, 10:33 PM
Counted tickets sold rather than bums on seats for the past 2 seasons.

31-01-2018, 10:34 PM
Watching the game now and there is no way 15,000 at the game, they must be counting season books even though they haven’t turned up.

Great score boys!

We thought the attendance was about 14000

31-01-2018, 10:38 PM
It was baltic!

31-01-2018, 10:44 PM
I was in the west lower, the east looked very well packed, would have thought about 7,000 in there, and the north wasn't too shabby. no idea about the west, but 15,000 actually seemed lower than what i had expected tbh.

murray26
31-01-2018, 10:44 PM
Why do people get so obsessed by how many people were at the game.. we’ve clearly counting tickets sold.. other clubs have been doing it for years.. Hearts is your classic case..

31-01-2018, 10:50 PM

Great score boys!

Pretty quiet as well.

NthCarolinaHibs
31-01-2018, 11:05 PM
We thought the attendance was about 14000 Don't even think that many there tonight..

31-01-2018, 11:17 PM
No chance there was over 15000 there tonight. Not even close.

31-01-2018, 11:37 PM
No chance there was over 15000 there tonight. Not even close.

Just switched it on and the crowd looks pretty good, especially given how many games we're playing in a fortnight. Not so long ago we'd have got 8 or 9k for such a fixture.

31-01-2018, 11:42 PM
It was baltic!

No way was it baltic. Quite mild considering.

31-01-2018, 11:44 PM
It was baltic!

I was covered in thermal and still freezing

31-01-2018, 11:45 PM
Just switched it on and the crowd looks pretty good, especially given how many games we're playing in a fortnight. Not so long ago we'd have got 8 or 9k for such a fixture.

I'm not saying it wasn't a good crowd, I'm just saying it wasn't 15000 and I would stand by that.

31-01-2018, 11:46 PM

It was Baltic, and I don’t generally feel the cold

Mantis Toboggan
31-01-2018, 11:47 PM
I'm not saying it wasn't a good crowd, I'm just saying it wasn't 15000 and I would stand by that.

I dunno. East and West looked pretty full to me and that's the bulk of the ground.

31-01-2018, 11:49 PM

Don't think anyone is claiming there were 15,000 people present at the game.

31-01-2018, 11:51 PM
Don't think anyone is claiming there were 15,000 people present at the game.

Apart from the match announcer?

31-01-2018, 11:54 PM
Annoying Alba picture quality is so poor.

01-02-2018, 12:02 AM
Annoying Alba picture quality is so poor.
Just happy Alba cover some of our games. Even though I haven't a Scooby doo what the commentators saying :greengrin

01-02-2018, 12:15 AM

Considering what..?......if I had deemed to go,I would've frozen my whatsits off.

Credit to the near 16,000 who went. :top marks

01-02-2018, 12:18 AM
Just happy Alba cover some of our games. Even though I haven't a Scooby doo what the commentators saying :greengrin

Would've been 3-0 if it wasn't for the pesky kids.:greengrin

houstonhibbee
01-02-2018, 05:45 AM
Considering what..?......if I had deemed to go,I would've frozen my whatsits off.

official att was 15,800 approx. East looked pretty full on TV. Probably around 14,000 a good estimate of actual attendance. Generally about 10% of season ticket holders dont turn up, maybe a bit more last night. 15,800 paying customers and 14,000 attendance still excellent.

01-02-2018, 06:50 AM

Considering we had snow in the morning and I thought that the forecast was for more snow. I wasn't even wearing thermals. :greengrin

01-02-2018, 06:50 AM
So....Hibs win a very tough game 2-1 and Im very happy. Then.....I come on here to read this thread and folk are complaning about the crowd (15.5k midweek), the weather, being too quiet and the picture quality on Alba. Crikey.

01-02-2018, 07:24 AM
So....Hibs win a very tough game 2-1 and Im very happy. Then.....I come on here to read this thread and folk are complaning about the crowd (15.5k midweek), the weather, being too quiet and the picture quality on Alba. Crikey.

And you are surprised?

01-02-2018, 07:58 AM
1. It's Scotland in January. It's going to be cold.
2. Two or three seasons ago we would be getting 8-9k for an evening game vs Motherwell.
3. Alba is a gaelic channel.

I think that covers it:aok:

01-02-2018, 08:02 AM
I was in the west lower, the east looked very well packed, would have thought about 7,000 in there, and the north wasn't too shabby. no idea about the west, but 15,000 actually seemed lower than what i had expected tbh.

The West looked pretty full from FF

01-02-2018, 12:15 PM

J-C, Billy and I were well cauld last night so I will qualify my comment by saying it was baltic at the game for men aged between 56 and 59 :wink:
I was right hame after the game and sitting wi a cup o tea and a plain chocolate Kit-kat watching the match on Alba by 10:05pm.

01-02-2018, 12:27 PM
Apart from the match announcer?

The match announcer also repeatedly described Tottenham winning a home game v Man Utd as a 'shock'.

Callyballybe
01-02-2018, 12:47 PM
J-C, Billy and I were well cauld last night so I will qualify my comment by saying it was baltic at the game for men aged between 56 and 59 :wink:
I was right hame after the game and sitting wi a cup o tea and a plain chocolate Kit-kat watching the match on Alba by 10:05pm.

It was baltic, for all ages! No need to qualify. ❄❄

Callyballybe
01-02-2018, 12:48 PM
The match announcer also repeatedly described Tottenham winning a home game v Man Utd as a 'shock'.

Noticed this as well but thought I'd mis-heard him. Was a strange one. 🤔

01-02-2018, 12:57 PM

And Chelsea getting beat 3-0 at home by Bournemouth was barely mentioned :greengrin

01-02-2018, 01:02 PM
Caught up at end of first half on arrival home, and enjoyed their coverage. Good features at half time that are a lot more engaging than pundits who have high opinions of themselves droning on for 15 minutes. More power to Alba's elbow I say.

01-02-2018, 01:02 PM
1. It's Scotland in January. It's going to be cold.
2. Two or three seasons ago we would be getting 8-9k for an evening game vs Motherwell.
3. Alba is a gaelic channel.

I think that covers it:aok:

In the early 70s we got 7000 (+ a few) for a midweek game against Airdrie. The win put us top of the league.
Ahhhh, the good old days. :wink:

01-02-2018, 02:53 PM

I heard him announce this as I was making my way down the FF stairs, nearly made me lose my footing. The vicious *******.

01-02-2018, 02:56 PM
Caught up at end of first half on arrival home, and enjoyed their coverage. Good features at half time that are a lot more engaging than pundits who have high opinions of themselves droning on for 15 minutes. More power to Alba's elbow I say.

Apart from their football and rugby coverage, there are some really good programs on Alba and you don't have to be a Gaelic speaker to enjoy them.

01-02-2018, 05:39 PM
Watched the game on Alba in full this morning and their half time feature on Siobhan Hunter's goal from the Womens Cup Final, in English, was great. Alba give us something SKY and BT dont, supports the "lesser" clubs and Ladies game and after a wee while you pick up certain phrases from Ali and Callum

01-02-2018, 05:45 PM
nice wee piece on siobhan hunter's goal in the cup final v glasgow at HT on alba last night

this yin >> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZgMsbLfIRe4

01-02-2018, 06:23 PM

Apart from their football and rugby coverage, there are some really good programs on Alba and you don't have to be a Gaelic speaker to enjoy them.