View Full Version : Scott Bain

30-01-2018, 08:29 PM
Celtic have made a shock move for Dundee’s on-loan Hibs keeper Scott Bain in bid to solve their goalkeeping crisis

Ardenttwo
30-01-2018, 08:32 PM
Celtic have made a shock move for Dundee’s on-loan Hibs keeper Scott Bain in bid to solve their goalkeeping crisis

i was just waiting on this happening. Hope it’s a no but as he is still officially a Dundee player can we say no

GillyHibee
30-01-2018, 08:33 PM
i was just waiting on this happening. Hope it’s a no but as he is still officially a Dundee player can we say no

Not sure if we would have a clause in the contract signed to stop this - after all, if they offer the right kind of money, dundee will defo sell.

30-01-2018, 08:35 PM

Hibs would have to agree to terminate the loan agreement. So technically yes we could say no.

30-01-2018, 08:36 PM

Had a feeling they would go in for him

30-01-2018, 08:38 PM
Not sure if we would have a clause in the contract signed to stop this - after all, if they offer the right kind of money, dundee will defo sell.

They're paying money for him

Fuzzywuzzy
30-01-2018, 08:38 PM
'Bain’s out of contract in the summer and has yet to appear for Neil Lennon’s side.

It’s understood the Hibees are prepared to end their agreement with the highly rated keeper to allow Celtic to attempt to reach a deal with the Dens Park outfit.

The Hoops desperately need to bring in cover following Craig Gordon’s knee ligament injury suffered in last weekend’s win over Hibs.'

Pass the lube

30-01-2018, 08:41 PM
Hibs should say no we need cover in goals as well.

30-01-2018, 08:42 PM

He’s Dundee’s player though
I presume they’ve covered themselves, with an option to bring him back if required

murray26
Surely we’ll be looking for compensation as this leaves us short.. maybe we’ll get a player on loan from Celtic to smoothie the way.. you get nothing for nothing in this game..

Lee Marvin
This makes absolutely ZERO sense for hibs. I'm calling bullsh/t on this one

30-01-2018, 08:48 PM
Give us Griffiths on loan in return, then we'll talk!!!

30-01-2018, 08:48 PM
Tell them to bolt, we got him first!

30-01-2018, 08:52 PM
http://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2018/01/30/report-celtic-make-approach-for-scott-bain/

30-01-2018, 08:54 PM
They should end scott allan loan at Dundee and we can have him!
Strange that dundee can still sell bain when he is on loan until the end of his contract. Good keeper too, so a real shame there.

30-01-2018, 08:54 PM
Surely Hibs tell them to **** off. Arrogant ****s

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

30-01-2018, 08:55 PM
Hibs would have to agree to terminate the loan agreement. So technically yes we could say no.

Maybe we don't have that power would totally depend on the agreement. Maybe we could get someone from Dundee in return.

30-01-2018, 08:57 PM
Maybe we don't have that power would totally depend on the agreement. Maybe we could get someone from Dundee in return.

Maybe we could just play him tomorrow and **** it right up 😁

Ilovehibs
30-01-2018, 08:59 PM
http://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2018/01/30/report-celtic-make-approach-for-scott-bain/

Reading that has annoyed me. Why are we 'willing to end our loan agreement' so that Bain can sign for them?

Tell them to get tae.

30-01-2018, 09:00 PM

In that case we should sign Scott Allan who’s on loan at Dundee from Celtic 😁

30-01-2018, 09:02 PM

Can he play in goals

30-01-2018, 09:02 PM
Maybe we could just play him tomorrow and **** it right up 😁

Sounds to me like this is definitely happening given how unusual it all sounds.

30-01-2018, 09:03 PM
Can he play in goals

Yeah sure

30-01-2018, 09:03 PM
If Beadle was still alive I would be expecting him to turn up shortly.

Ilovehibs
30-01-2018, 09:04 PM

Would take that but still disappointed to lose Bain.

Surely Hibs tell them to **** off. Arrogant ****s

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

We don’t have to.

Nobody would be forcing hibs to do anything here. If we agreed to this it will be because we’re satisfied we’re being compensated enough to make it worthwhile for us.

Give us Scott Allan and we'll talk.

Maybe Dundeehave agreed to take Stokes if we release a Bain for Celtic.

Not good at all.

30-01-2018, 09:05 PM
Bain is registeted with Hibs. Hibs would need to cancel that registration before 11pm tomorrow night for this to have any chance of happening. A loan contract is a loan contract in the Premiership unlike the Championship or a develpment loan. There is cash in this for us but another keeper has to be found first.

Ardenttwo
30-01-2018, 09:05 PM

Caley 0 Dundee 1 (Scott Allan)

30-01-2018, 09:06 PM
Celtic pay Dundee £100k and they cut Allans loan deal short, we agree to let Bain go if we can have Allan on loan until the end of the season, we sign a free agent keeper next week.

Sorted.

30-01-2018, 09:08 PM
Celtic pay Dundee £100k and they cut Allans loan deal short, we agree to let Bain go if we can have Allan on loan until the end of the season, we sign a free agent keeper next week.

Sorted.

Is it in our hands though PB

30-01-2018, 09:08 PM
Pity Conrad is under contract.

I'd have him back in a heartbeat.

30-01-2018, 09:10 PM
Is it in our hands though PB

I've no idea but if the above, slightly tongue in cheek, scenario came to pass I'd be happy enough.

Fwiw I did hear a whisper at the weekend that we had spoken to a free agent keeper, I dismissed it but this maybe means it makes sense.

30-01-2018, 09:11 PM
Look tell them to **** off end of.

Ardenttwo
30-01-2018, 09:11 PM
Tell them to bolt, we got him first!

Not a chance in hell that Lennon will tell his beloved Smeltic to bolt

30-01-2018, 09:13 PM
I've no idea but if the above, slightly tongue in cheek, scenario came to pass I'd be happy enough.

Fwiw I did hear a whisper at the weekend that we had spoken to a free agent keeper, I dismissed it but this maybe means it makes sense.

Things move fast in football
Bain would be a cheap option for them, but they’ve plenty of money not to go down that route
I’d have thought Dundee would have covered themselves with the loan, in case one of their keepers got injured

30-01-2018, 09:20 PM

Utter nonsense

30-01-2018, 09:23 PM
I cant see this happening, we don't have a back up keeper who's fit apart from the young lad, and Bain would surely be going to the smellies as back up to Doris? :confused:

30-01-2018, 09:23 PM

That is right up there as the biggest load of pish spouted on here. And with all of the things going on at the moment that takes some doing

30-01-2018, 09:28 PM
Celtic should be told to get to F for there cheek.

30-01-2018, 09:31 PM
I think SFA registration rules may defeat this. Whilst it is possible for a player to be registeted with up to three different clubs during a one year period they may only play for two different clubs. Bain has already been named in the squad and has played for Dundee this season early on too so looks like they may not be able sign him AND play him

30-01-2018, 09:32 PM

Pro-forma posting klaxon alert

30-01-2018, 09:33 PM
We should play Bain tomorrow night then as I'm sure that would mean he couldn't then play for anyone else this season as I think a player can only play for two clubs in the same season.

Unless that rule's been scrapped.

Eaststand

Sorted.

That would be a decent outcome

That is right up there as the biggest load of pish spouted on here. And with all of the things going on at the moment that takes some doing

It really is and it really does.

allmodcons
30-01-2018, 09:35 PM

Beyond embarrassing.

30-01-2018, 09:38 PM
We should play Bain tomorrow night then as I'm sure that would mean he couldn't then play for anyone else this season as I think a player can only play for two clubs in the same season.

Unless that rule's been scrapped.

That would be marvelous.

30-01-2018, 09:40 PM
I think SFA registration rules may defeat this. Whilst it is possible for a player to be registeted with up to three different clubs during a one year period they may only play for two different clubs. Bain has already been named in the squad and has played for Dundee this season early on too so looks like they may not be able sign him AND play him

I'm pretty sure he would need to actually play for us in order for that rule to come into play. Just like the rule surrounding cup competitions, a player is only cup tied if they actually play a match, they are not cup tied if they are an unused substitute.

30-01-2018, 10:09 PM
Scottish football, you couldn't make it up😱

30-01-2018, 10:16 PM
Bring him on when we’re 3-0 up tomorrow night for the last 10 seconds. **** Celtic and **** dundee who didn’t even want the lad.

30-01-2018, 10:18 PM
If thiis happens then i think that pretty much sums up this window for hibs.

capitals_finest
30-01-2018, 10:36 PM

Aye ok then :aok:

30-01-2018, 10:39 PM
If thiis happens then i think that pretty much sums up this window for hibs.

In what way, if this was to happen, was out of control. He is Dundee’s player, and they controlled his destiny

30-01-2018, 10:40 PM
In what way, if this was to happen, was out of control. He is Dundee’s player, and they controlled his destiny

Do they Billy, i was under the impression he is our player until the summer? :confused:

30-01-2018, 10:41 PM
Do they Billy, i was under the impression he is our player until the summer? :confused:

Who knows

30-01-2018, 10:43 PM
They should end scott allan loan at Dundee and we can have him!
Strange that dundee can still sell bain when he is on loan until the end of his contract. Good keeper too, so a real shame there.

Please god no, unless there is some kind of talented waster quota that we need to fulfil?

30-01-2018, 10:45 PM
Who knows

He's on loan to us, and signed a 6 month loan which effectively makes him our player until the summer, when i think he's out of contract but might be wrong on that?

Dundee cant recall him unless they have a clause in the loan deal, i suppose we will find out but i cant see us leaving ourselves short, just to help them out, its not 1888. :greengrin

30-01-2018, 10:53 PM
Shirley if Celtic want to pay a fee for Bain it will go to us? We have him for 6 months then he is out of contract.

30-01-2018, 10:54 PM
Aberdeen to come in with a counter bid?

30-01-2018, 10:55 PM
Dundee must have a recall clause or they are bloody idiots. Bain like every other Scottish player never turn the chance to sign for the Old Firm. Bain will be thinking if I get a chance and do well then I’ll get another contract from them and might have a chance to be there No1. But even if it’s just temporary the mindset of Scottish players is they would rather be a sub for Celtic than Hibs

30-01-2018, 11:00 PM
Any fee would go to Dundee.

We would have to agree for his loan to be terminated, which I would be stunned at.

We are not here to do favours for Celtic.

Unless Dundee give us one of their best players in return it’s a no.

30-01-2018, 11:02 PM
What the f@£k ..money talks all the time, that club absolutely rule Scottish football why dont.they look for a better option down south or is it typical of them to strip all of scottish football of any player they fancy taking even for a 5 month loan. If they are such big shots spend some of their cash, another situation when scottish clubs roll over and support their dominance of scottish football....and.meantime we end up short typical ....

30-01-2018, 11:04 PM
Dundee must have a recall clause or they are bloody idiots. Bain like every other Scottish player never turn the chance to sign for the Old Firm. Bain will be thinking if I get a chance and do well then I’ll get another contract from them and might have a chance to be there No1. But even if it’s just temporary the mindset of Scottish players is they would rather be a sub for Celtic than Hibs

Why would they have a recall clause on a 6 month loan?

He could not be recalled to play for them, its not a development loan and not an emergency loan as HFC are a Premiership club.

You can only have three registrations within a one year period. If Dundee recalled him his registration with us would have to be cancelled and he would have to reregister with Du dee before he could be registered with Celtic making 4 registrations in a month never mibd a year.

Rodgers on Sportsound did not confirm a move and only said "his name has been mentioned, agents make lots of suggestions at this time"

30-01-2018, 11:07 PM
Can we send him back and sign big Conrad please

30-01-2018, 11:07 PM
Any fee would go to Dundee.

We would have to agree for his loan to be terminated, which I would be stunned at.

We are not here to do favours for Celtic.

Unless Dundee give us one of their best players in return it’s a no.

Celtic could have sealed the deal if the hadn't punted Henderson :greengrin

They are talking to Motherwell about buying their keeper now.

30-01-2018, 11:09 PM
If Scott Bain actually wants to play for Celtic all he needs to do is call in sick tomorrow. Playing him only works if he feels we are his best option. Pissing him off means he may not try if he does play.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Iceman1875
30-01-2018, 11:25 PM
Never in my life have I heard of this scenario. I can’t see it happening but I’ll be majorly disappointed at Hibs if it does.

30-01-2018, 11:33 PM
If Beadle was still alive I would be expecting him to turn up shortly.

Irrelevant reply to the thread but here’s my equally irrelevant response.
Beadle died 10 years ago today. I know this because so did my old man.

30-01-2018, 11:56 PM
Sounds like Hibs could use this as leverage....

31-01-2018, 12:23 AM
Please god no, unless there is some kind of talented waster quota that we need to fulfil?

Well we do have a new vacancy...

31-01-2018, 08:50 AM
I've always wondered this, but do grown men actually call them Smelltic in real life?

31-01-2018, 08:53 AM
I've always wondered this, but do grown men actually call them Smelltic in real life?

Yup. The same ones that call Hearts Yams

31-01-2018, 08:59 AM

My mates and I always called them "the smellies", out loud, in real life. People outwith our group understood no problem.

No. No one uses the word yams either.

Shirley if Celtic want to pay a fee for Bain it will go to us? We have him for 6 months then he is out of contract.

Lol, you at the wind up?

31-01-2018, 09:00 AM
Never in my life have I heard of this scenario. I can’t see it happening but I’ll be majorly disappointed at Hibs if it does.

Why would Hibs deny Bain the chance to SIGNIFICANTLY increase his earnings.

At the end of the day, Dundee could cancel Bain's registration and this would render our loan void.

If he wants to go to Cellic and Cellic want him then it will happen.

vuefrom1875
31-01-2018, 09:14 AM

In other words, tell them "to go forth and multiply"

31-01-2018, 09:17 AM
If I'm Scott Bain I'm thinking "Sit on Hibs bench or start for Celtic and earn a good wedge of cash". If I was Bain and we were playing silly buggers with this I'd tell them to go **** themselves.

31-01-2018, 09:17 AM
Celtic have just bid £375k for Motherwell Trevor Carson. Maybe it's all Bo.llox

31-01-2018, 09:21 AM
Hopefully Celtic sign Carson today and Motherwell are forced to play their second choice keeper (no idea who that is).

31-01-2018, 09:22 AM
Why would Hibs deny Bain the chance to SIGNIFICANTLY increase his earnings.

At the end of the day, Dundee could cancel Bain's registration and this would render our loan void.

If he wants to go to Cellic and Cellic want him then it will happen.

Only if there is a clause in the contract saying Dundee can recall him. If there's not then it's entirely up to us.

timewilltell
31-01-2018, 09:48 AM
Hopefully Celtic sign Carson today and Motherwell are forced to play their second choice keeper (no idea who that is).

Motherwell reject new bid of £375k from Celtic for Carson.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42872223

31-01-2018, 09:54 AM

Madness. He's no worth half of that.

31-01-2018, 10:06 AM
Motherwell clearly trying to call cellick's bluff and/or get more cash for him, realising they are kind of desperate. Quite right too.

31-01-2018, 11:30 AM

I see there are reports that Hartlepool are due 40%. Which could be enough to stop them being liquidated.

31-01-2018, 01:00 PM
Madness. He's no worth half of that.
Only in your opinion. Celtc's opinion is that he is worth that, hence the new bid.

31-01-2018, 01:08 PM

You have justified your username with that comment.

31-01-2018, 01:09 PM
Lol, you at the wind up?

No. We hold all the cards. Dundee cannot recall him.

He is loaned to us until his contract is up. While strictly speaking we cannot sell him we effective own him until he is free agent. So if Dundee want to do a deal we can demand part of the money/Scott Alan/ free pies for our fans next game at Dundee etc.

Hibs07p
31-01-2018, 01:39 PM
If Celtic buy Bain, they would own his contract. I don't know if there is a binding contract that can't be changed regarding Bains' registration without Hibs consent. Celtc own Scott Allans' contract, could that loan be recalled without Dundees permission. If all parties willing, an agreement could be made quite easily.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

31-01-2018, 01:46 PM
Only in your opinion. Celtc's opinion is that he is worth that, hence the new bid.

Aye, well obviously it's my opinion. He's no more than a half decent keeper, if we were getting him, even for free, I'd be unimpressed. I'm no going to write "in my opinion" after every post though. That would be annoying, in my opinion.

31-01-2018, 02:33 PM
The Dundee Triangle ? The central belt/tayside triangle ?

we need a name for this proposed 3 ways swap

31-01-2018, 06:47 PM
Anyone know if we're signing another goalkeeper tonight?

The whole point of bringing Bain in was because Marciano is our only fit senior goalkeeper after Laidlaw got a long term injury. If anything happens to Marciano, we're currently looking at playing Kevin Dabrowski in goal with someone probably from the under 19s on the bench.

31-01-2018, 08:45 PM
Turns up at Celtic Park in his hibs gear lol

Time For Heroes
31-01-2018, 09:18 PM

Couldn't make it up 😂😂😂

31-01-2018, 11:34 PM
I heard at the game tonight that Bain has agreed to come back to us in the Summer. If true, it makes this transfer triangle all the more strange.

31-01-2018, 11:38 PM
I heard at the game tonight that Bain has agreed to come back to us in the Summer. If true, it makes this transfer triangle all the more strange.

So he's signing for Celtic on loan until the end of the season, when he then joins us permanently? Nice.

01-02-2018, 12:50 AM

I saw that as well. He’s never played a game for us and he was here for about a week, but for some reason I really like him :greengrin

01-02-2018, 12:59 AM
Thanks for your efforts Scott. The way you sat on the bench for the last couple of weeks was extremely impressive. Not many players can sit there in the way that you did.

01-02-2018, 01:04 AM

Heard that too. Brilliant. Was all geared up to be on the bench. He's made a difference to rocky that's for sure. See you in the summer. Cheers.

01-02-2018, 01:06 AM
Thanks for your efforts Scott. The way you sat on the bench for the last couple of weeks was extremely impressive. Not many players can sit there in the way that you did.
Agreed and don’t forget he was absolutely brilliant in the warm up.

01-02-2018, 01:53 AM
What a legend, not even a goal conceded during g his time as a hibs GK

01-02-2018, 02:32 PM

At Celtic on loan till the summer.
Has been at Hibs and will have made pals with players and staff, trained using our facilities.
Hibs coaching staff will have an opinion on his abilities.
Similarly they will form an opinion about Bell in the next few months.
Might get the choice of both in the summer if Celtic don't offer Bain an extended contract.