View Full Version : Unusual things that you like

25-01-2018, 02:01 PM
I've just been in B&Q.

I've no idea as to why, but I really like the smell of that place.

In fact, I'm still sitting in their car park so I think I'll pop back in for another ming at it.

(Also to buy a specialist bulb, the price of which I previously balked at.)

Alfiembra
25-01-2018, 02:21 PM
Can't say I've noticed a particular pong in B&Q but I can remember back to old hardware shops that as soon as you went into them there was a distinctive smell to them, maybe parrafin or paint or a mix of the two. I can recall going into Gray's on George Street, loved the smell of that place.

25-01-2018, 02:29 PM
Fire lighters. I just love the smell of them and really have to stop myself biting into them.

Being scared, I sometimes worry myself at the sort of thing I do to get my fear kick.

25-01-2018, 02:30 PM
Can't say I've noticed a particular pong in B&Q but I can remember back to old hardware shops that as soon as you went into them there was a distinctive smell to them, maybe parrafin or paint or a mix of the two. I can recall going into Gray's on George Street, loved the smell of that place.

Gray's always smelt of stale pish and talcum powder.

25-01-2018, 03:40 PM
I'm not a 'flower' person or in any way greenfingered however, I love when all those daffodils bloom in the road verges in the early Spring. It cheers me up no end.

25-01-2018, 04:57 PM
I'm not a 'flower' person or in any way greenfingered however, I love when all those daffodils bloom in the road verges in the early Spring. It cheers me up no end.

Nice. You should visit Orkney in Spring.

The locals have planted millions of them.

25-01-2018, 05:01 PM
The smell of aeroplane fuel, love it

25-01-2018, 05:04 PM
I'm a real anti smoker, but i love the smell of the matches lighting and the smell of a pipe. :confused:

25-01-2018, 05:38 PM

Aye me too, cos it means I'm going on holiday!

25-01-2018, 06:00 PM
Aye me too, cos it means I'm going on holiday!

Means I'm at work. Minging stuff 😆

25-01-2018, 06:06 PM

You'd love being at a Grand Prix.

25-01-2018, 06:15 PM
I really weirdly enjoy emptying and re-filling the dishwasher.

25-01-2018, 07:08 PM
I really weirdly enjoy emptying and re-filling the dishwasher.

That's a good one.

I like filling ours. Emptying, not so much.

25-01-2018, 07:43 PM
I've no interest in finances, big money or the like but, I like to sit and count the £2 coins I save in a tin box.

25-01-2018, 10:29 PM
I like pulling the yellow heads off dandelions.

I'm actually fastidious about it and I feel a great sense of defeat/failure should one of the weedy blighters go on to develop its seed head.

26-01-2018, 09:53 AM
On the smells theme, I remember being addicted to the smell of the Speedway at Meadowbank when I was a kid.

26-01-2018, 10:03 AM
Deconstructing beer mats. There's nothing to beat peeling off a perfect intact layer. I can't leave them alone. :rolleyes:

pollution
26-01-2018, 11:27 AM
I love the smell of marker pens and post it notes

26-01-2018, 11:29 AM
Tightly laced up shoes/boots. Re- tie mines regularly throughout the day. Always have a good tie up before KO because if I'm feeling good then so will the team, but loose laces will be replicated by loose play on the park. Fact.

Jay
26-01-2018, 11:37 AM
I've just been in B&Q.

In fact, I'm still sitting in their car park so I think I'll pop back in for another ming at it.

You were thinkng of going back int B&Q for a smell of the place? :crazy:

There are many times i question my own sanity but i just log on to dotnet and im fine again :greengrin

26-01-2018, 11:39 AM

Are you a Microsoft Trainer?

patch1875
26-01-2018, 03:31 PM
Breaking up an oxo cube with my fingers.

26-01-2018, 04:03 PM
You were thinkng of going back int B&Q for a smell of the place? :crazy:

There are many times i question my own sanity but i just log on to dotnet and im fine again :greengrin

I wouldn't really have gone back in for a sniff. I did go back for the bulbs, though, and took the opportunity ...

26-01-2018, 04:05 PM

Yes, that is satisfying as long as you get it all in one go.

If a large gf e, uncrushed bit falls into the jug, it's a disappointment.

speedy_gonzales
26-01-2018, 04:06 PM

I can't post the link from my phone but have you seen the "proper" way to do it?
Apparently you carefully unfold the tucked in foil wraps, gently press/massage the cube until it breaks up (it now resembles a foil pillow), then you tear a corner and pour out!?!
Allegedly that's how they were designed!

Now I'm at a PC, edited to add this YouTube link (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuX9IUkmN-8)

Jay
26-01-2018, 04:37 PM

I wouldn't really have gone back in for a sniff. I did go back for the bulbs, though, and took the opportunity ...

To sniff!! Your just weird :greengrin

26-01-2018, 04:38 PM
I can't post the link from my phone but have you seen the "proper" way to do it?
Apparently you carefully unfold the tucked in foil wraps, gently press/massage the cube until it breaks up (it now resembles a foil pillow), then you tear a corner and pour out!?!
Allegedly that's how they were designed!

Oh yeh! Tell me now!!! :rolleyes:

26-01-2018, 05:43 PM
putting on fresh or even better, new socks.

26-01-2018, 05:48 PM
Burning and scraping old paint off wood with a heat gun and a scraper. Very satisfying as it blisters and then scrapes off in a big long strip.

26-01-2018, 05:49 PM
I've just been in B&Q.

Light bulb or flower bulb? (That's fork handles-esque) :wink:

26-01-2018, 06:04 PM
Light bulb or flower bulb? (That's fork handles-esque) :wink:

It was the electrical kind.

Just as well I wasn't buying knockers.

26-01-2018, 06:21 PM
I've just had raw mince on bread rolls, sprinkled with salt and pepper and raw garlic. I suppose some might find that unusual. :dunno:

26-01-2018, 06:24 PM
I like to go to bed at night with my socks on then take them off about an hour or so later. Try it, it’s one of the most satisfying feelings ever.

26-01-2018, 06:26 PM
I like Motorway service stations.

Not sure why.

26-01-2018, 06:44 PM

Not sure why.

Many decades ago some of them had proper restaurants in them. Over the bridge so you could watch the traffic below as you ate.

26-01-2018, 06:54 PM
The cold side of the pillow

26-01-2018, 06:56 PM
There's a kind of daylight that you get especially in Scotland, where you have a bank of dark, black rain cloud right up beside sunshine. It creates daylight beneath it that is just different but gorgeous, you can spot it straight away. The best examples I've ever seen were in the Trossachs, I think it shows better on hilly ground.

26-01-2018, 07:31 PM
Getting up at the weekend around 7am and having me time for a couple of hours while wife and son sleep, love it.

26-01-2018, 07:47 PM

Me too, also the smell of Chlorine as I walk into an indoor swimming pool

26-01-2018, 07:56 PM
Getting up at the weekend around 7am and having me time for a couple of hours while wife and son sleep, love it.

Agree with this.

In fact it's not unusual for me to get up at 2 or 3am on a Saturday in the summer, go a walk in the hills or up a mountain and be back in the house in time for a family brunch.

I love getting up early and feeling like I can see an infinite day stretching out in front of me.

26-01-2018, 08:04 PM
Agree with this.

In fact it's not unusual for me to get up at 2 or 3am on a Saturday in the summer, go a walk in the hills or up a mountain and be back in the house in time for a family brunch.

I love getting up early and feeling like I can see an infinite day stretching out in front of me.

That sounds magic.......[emoji106]

26-01-2018, 08:09 PM
That sounds magic.......[emoji106]

It's great.

One of the best parts is passing other people as you finish your walk who are just starting theirs. There's a satisfaction in feeling like you have had the scenery and landscape all to yourself for a short time.

26-01-2018, 08:54 PM

Not sure why.

If you use the toilets in the MOTO near Stirling on the M9 you'd change your mind quickly.

26-01-2018, 09:29 PM
Cheese and jam together.

26-01-2018, 09:31 PM

Who lies longest wins in this household.

26-01-2018, 09:59 PM
Agree with this.

You've probably bumped into a few folk on here on their way home. :greengrin

26-01-2018, 10:43 PM
I've just had raw mince on bread rolls, sprinkled with salt and pepper and raw garlic. I suppose some might find that unusual. :dunno:

Not for me my friend. I was lucky enough to have lived in the same house as my grandmother when I was growing up. She was Greek but absolutely fluent in the food of what I considered at the time to be European. Latterly I realised lots of it was North African, but it was good all the same.

27-01-2018, 08:10 AM

You need to add a few capers to the tartare :drool:

27-01-2018, 08:33 AM
If you use the toilets in the MOTO near Stirling on the M9 you'd change your mind quickly.

To be fair, the toilets in about 90% of them are pretty rank.

That's not really the bit that I like.

Many years ago my mate used to work in the Burger King in Stirling services. If you popped in he'd make you "creations" that weren't on the menu with all the different burgers, buns, sauces etc. I stayed in Dundee at the time (I knew him from Uni - he went home every weekend to work) and it was a good stop-off in the car when I was driving to Hibs games in Glasgow.

hibs#1
27-01-2018, 08:37 AM
To be fair, the toilets in about 90% of them are pretty rank.

That's not really the bit that I like.

Many years ago my mate used to work in the Burger King in Stirling services. If you popped in he'd make you "creations" that weren't on the menu with all the different burgers, buns, sauces etc. I stayed in Dundee at the time (I knew him from Uni - he went home every weekend to work) and it was a good stop-off in the car when I was driving to Hibs games in Glasgow.

Hope you you got a bank loan before you went.

Alfiembra
27-01-2018, 09:55 AM
Cheese and jam together.

Not quite the same but a similar/odd mix, I like French toast sprinkled with sugar.

27-01-2018, 10:00 AM
Cheese and jam together.

Is that unusual?

My father in law likes Christmas cake and cheese, marzipan, icing and all.

Jay
27-01-2018, 10:04 AM
Cheese and jam together.

I eat bowls of chopped up cheese and beetroot and sometimes i throw in a tin of tuna. :)

27-01-2018, 10:09 AM
Marmite and butter on cream crackers.

27-01-2018, 10:55 AM
Grangemouth oil refinery.

Great to look at at night, and that smell...

27-01-2018, 11:52 AM

Not sure about eating raw mince, but i love the smell of mince when browning it.

Not sure if this is 'unusual' but i like to drop bbq chedders into carrot and corriander soup. Fancy bbq croutons i guess haha

27-01-2018, 02:24 PM
You need to add a few capers to the tartare :drool:

This is pork mince.

27-01-2018, 05:43 PM
This is pork mince.

Oh oh.

That I wouldn't eat.

I contracted Hepatitis E from undercooked Pork. Not fatal, but very unpleasant.

27-01-2018, 05:59 PM

Like that myself very tasty, always known it as Mett since I was first tempted by a german colleague.

28-01-2018, 08:35 AM
Going to Asda early on a Sunday morning and getting the weekly shop over and done with by 8:30am.

There’s almost a peacefulness about the place that’s the exact opposite of the mood if you go in the middle of the afternoon.

28-01-2018, 10:20 AM
Like that myself very tasty, always known it as Mett since I was first tempted by a german colleague.

In Berlin they've started calling it "Bricklayer's Sushi".

28-01-2018, 10:24 AM
Oh oh.

That I wouldn't eat.

It has to be fresh. When we get management out from the UK I always order this as a snack during negotiations, there's nothing like the sight of a bunch of Teutonic unionists slapping lumps of raw meat on their bread to intimidate the opposition :greengrin

Mixu62
29-01-2018, 02:38 AM
2nd hand book shops. They have a real quiet to them that you no longer get at commercial book stores. And a pretty unique smell too!

29-01-2018, 04:20 PM
Going to Asda early on a Sunday morning and getting the weekly shop over and done with by 8:30am.

There’s almost a peacefulness about the place that’s the exact opposite of the mood if you go in the middle of the afternoon.

Could be a day trip early next Sunday for hundreds of netters now that you've let the cat out the bag. :greengrin
Which Asda do we meet? :wink:

wpj
29-01-2018, 06:24 PM

I loved it when I lived in Germany, had it for breakfast often.
Cheese and jam? I like chilli jam with Coldcut and cheese. There are some lovely rosemary jams for cold lamb too

29-01-2018, 06:33 PM
Could be a day trip early next Sunday for hundreds of netters now that you've let the cat out the bag. :greengrin
Which Asda do we meet? :wink:

I could tell you but I’d need to kill you.

Not sure that really works on an Internet forum when I think about it so I’ll maybe just keep that info to myself.

30-01-2018, 07:15 AM
Bonjela, love the stuff.

hibs#1
30-01-2018, 08:19 AM
Bonjela, love the stuff.

Me too. Don't know why but it tastes good and numbs your gums which is strange sensation.

speedy_gonzales
30-01-2018, 09:09 AM
Me too. Don't know why but it tastes good and numbs your gums which is strange sensation.
Yeah, knew a chap who'd put it on his "chap", this was before Durex brought out a similar gel product called "tingle",,,,
When he told us in the pub it was a case of a moments awkward silence, bemusement then much ridiculing.

30-01-2018, 09:10 AM

I think you're confusing Bonjela with Absinthe! :wink:

30-01-2018, 12:12 PM
Pouring a packet of crisps into soup (typically Heinz tomato, oxtail or chicken).

Haven't had cereal for a long time but always loved the crumbs at the bottom of a packet of frosties and coco pops.

Burnt tattie scones.

Cheap imitations of coca cola.

Smelling permanent markers, petrol, and de-icer.

30-01-2018, 12:26 PM
Drinking the vinegar in a jar of beetroot :yum yum:

hibs#1
30-01-2018, 02:33 PM
Yeah, knew a chap who'd put it on his "chap", this was before Durex brought out a similar gel product called "tingle",,,,
When he told us in the pub it was a case of a moments awkward silence, bemusement then much ridiculing.

😂 don't think I'd take it that far right enough.

Jay
30-01-2018, 02:36 PM
Drinking the vinegar in a jar of beetroot :yum yum:

Me too!

Alfiembra
30-01-2018, 09:04 PM
Lea and Perrins in tomato soup

30-01-2018, 09:07 PM
Lea and Perrins in tomato soupNot that weird - just a hot, alcohol - free bloody mary.

30-01-2018, 09:23 PM
Unfolding a paperclip, then cleaning in my ear with it.

30-01-2018, 10:19 PM

I like cleaning my ears using cotton buds.

31-01-2018, 11:28 AM

Handy things those paperclips - I use the same method for cleaning the s***e out the erse of my phone. :agree:

Mixu62
11-02-2018, 10:16 PM
Handy things those paperclips - I use the same method for cleaning the s***e out the erse of my phone. :agree:

I'm so glad you ended that sentence with "of my phone".

12-02-2018, 08:53 AM
Oh oh.

That I wouldn't eat.

Tobias Funke
12-02-2018, 12:10 PM

I have found myself doing this a lot recently, highly recommended!

Just to add my own oddity to the discussion, my favourite baked potato filling is tuna mayo AND baked beans. Don't think I have ever had someone agree that its an acceptable combo!

12-02-2018, 03:42 PM

Bugger off! :hilarious

I meant it's not a deadly illness as you well know.

12-02-2018, 07:32 PM
Piccalilli straight from the jar.

13-02-2018, 11:53 AM
I'm so glad you ended that sentence with "of my phone".

Me too now you mention it :greengrin

13-02-2018, 03:29 PM
Getting a brand new book and opening near the middle to smell the pages

13-02-2018, 07:21 PM
This sounds weird but I like getting up early mid-week when I've got a day off work so I'm awake at the time I'd normally be starting work which gives me the satisfaction of knowing I'll not be working and can spend the day doing what I want.

I always feel a day off is wasted by having a long lie.

14-02-2018, 12:24 AM
I find that Judith bird that does the weather strangely attractive.

04-03-2018, 03:44 PM
When the odd sock I take off the clothes horse makes a pair with one I've put aside previously.

04-03-2018, 08:20 PM
I like cleaning my ears using cotton buds.

I have developed a mild obsession with this and do it every day after my shower. I know it's not good for me and some wax is good but I can't help it.

04-03-2018, 08:23 PM
When I lie on the couch on my right hand side I like to have my left hand in the air as if I'm reaching for the ceiling.

I'm aware it's weird behaviour but I find it inexplicably relaxing. I've started to drift off like this before and woken with a start when my arm relaxes and crashes into my side.

05-03-2018, 08:20 AM
Page 3 of 4, but page 4 won't load.

Weird.

Edit: now fixed.

05-03-2018, 09:15 AM
Page 3 of 4, but page 4 won't load.

Weird.

Edit: now fixed.

I had that too! I clicked to page 4 and #3 loaded again and started getting de ja vu with the comments.

05-03-2018, 01:47 PM
Ironing - no idea why though. :dunno:

05-03-2018, 05:12 PM
Ironing - no idea why though. :dunno:

I wish I liked it.

You should set up an ironing business. Loads to be made.

05-03-2018, 06:41 PM
When I lie on the couch on my right hand side I like to have my left hand in the air as if I'm reaching for the ceiling.

I'm aware it's weird behaviour but I find it inexplicably relaxing. I've started to drift off like this before and woken with a start when my arm relaxes and crashes into my side.

Hahaha I do this, and my dad. No idea why either :greengrin

i rub my feet together when lying in bed, whether I’m reading or watching tv or falling asleep, I do it without even thinking about it.

I also tuck the bottom of the duvet under my feet, have done since being a toddler, and struggle to get to sleep or even feel comfortable if I don’t do it. Drives the mrs nuts, but I genuinely sleep better and feel far more comfortable.

05-03-2018, 08:38 PM
Hahaha I do this, and my dad. No idea why either :greengrin

i rub my feet together when lying in bed, whether I’m reading or watching tv or falling asleep, I do it without even thinking about it.

I also tuck the bottom of the duvet under my feet, have done since being a toddler, and struggle to get to sleep or even feel comfortable if I don’t do it. Drives the mrs nuts, but I genuinely sleep better and feel far more comfortable.

Reminds of my old man who used to sit with his right hand on his left shoulder under his jersey. I never thought about it at all till I found myself unconciously doing the exact same thing.

05-03-2018, 09:36 PM
Going to get petrol in Tesco and associating the pump number with the appropriate Turnbull's Tornado.

I seem to use pump 9, Alan Gordon quite a lot and there are some I hardly ever get unless it's busy and I have to fill the car up from the other side....I was really pleased to get John Brownlie a few weeks ago :greengrin

Galahibby
05-03-2018, 09:49 PM
Lea and Perrins in tomato soup

And some Tabasco (other hot sauces are available)

06-03-2018, 09:32 PM
Going to get petrol in Tesco and associating the pump number with the appropriate Turnbull's Tornado.

I seem to use pump 9, Alan Gordon quite a lot and there are some I hardly ever get unless it's busy and I have to fill the car up from the other side....I was really pleased to get John Brownlie a few weeks ago :greengrin

That's brilliant :greengrin

07-03-2018, 10:34 PM
Sneezing.

Not just any old sneeze, although they are enjoyable in their own right, I refer to sneezes which threaten not to materialise.

There's a real joy when, after tactically looking up at the sun or up a strong light, you succeed in violently blowing forth, as it were.

I suppose that's not all that unusual.

Maybe missing a sneeze would qualify as a pet peeve instead, but I'll leave it here.

12-03-2018, 10:08 AM
Eating the skin part of a baked potato.

12-03-2018, 10:37 AM
Eating the skin part of a baked potato.

is that an unusual thing?

12-03-2018, 10:39 AM

Definitely not.

Unless the tattie was microwaved so the skin is soggy and minging & not crispy like it is when finished off in the oven.

12-03-2018, 11:12 AM
I like Wotsits...but I really like them when they’ve gone a bit soft.

12-03-2018, 12:08 PM

It is if you're a person that doesn't. :cb

12-03-2018, 01:12 PM
Cold toast with cold butter and jam. Maybe not that unusual but my Mrs tells me its wrong and weird. :greengrin

12-03-2018, 01:32 PM
Hungover poos.

12-03-2018, 01:50 PM
Hungover poos.

How do you know that your poo has got a hangover?

12-03-2018, 01:55 PM
Hungover poos.

Aw aye, you can't beat a post wild night Turkish Delight!! You can still smell the alcohol and they are usually of a decent proportion that you have to phone ahead to Seafield to give them a pre warning that its bombs away at your end!!

Jay
12-03-2018, 02:01 PM
Aw aye, you can't beat a post wild night Turkish Delight!! You can still smell the alcohol and they are usually of a decent proportion that you have to phone ahead to Seafield to give them a pre warning that its bombs away at your end!!

Omg :faint:

pollution
12-03-2018, 04:29 PM
Hungover poos.

I never have a hangover so I can't imagine what you're talking about....

12-03-2018, 05:44 PM
Hungover poos.

Thread killer :sick:

12-03-2018, 09:41 PM
How do you know that your poo has got a hangover?

The smell?

13-03-2018, 12:56 PM

Jay
13-03-2018, 01:01 PM
I like Wotsits...but I really like them when they’ve gone a bit soft.

I like chewy monster munch :agree:

13-03-2018, 01:29 PM
When I was young, my ma used to mix a tin of tomato soup with a tin of lentil soup.
Souperb, btw.

13-03-2018, 02:01 PM
When I was young, my ma used to mix a tin of tomato soup with a tin of lentil soup.
Souperb, btw.

I half fill the Tomato soup can with milk and add it to the soup. Plenty ground black pepper with grated parmesan cheese (the real stuff) not the rubbish you get in the ambient aisle in the supermarkets. Fanbloodytastic!

Oh, and it has to Baxters Tomato soup as well.

13-03-2018, 03:23 PM
Pizza with no cheese.

Just pizza dough with tomato base, nduja and red onion,a thin base baked crispy.......delicious

13-03-2018, 03:27 PM
Pizza with no cheese.

Just pizza dough with tomato base, nduja and red onion,a thin base baked crispy.......delicious

I've got a mate from Italy out here who's got a proper oven, imports that AA strength flour etc. Basically, takes pizza really seriously.

I could eat the pizza bases he makes with a bit of garlic infused olive oil on top until I had to be removed from the premises by helicopter.

Absolutely delicious.

13-03-2018, 10:22 PM
Pizza with no cheese.

Agree with this. Thin, crispy base, no cheese, just the sauce and some fresh basil. Very nice.

14-03-2018, 09:39 AM
I've got a mate from Italy out here who's got a proper oven, imports that AA strength flour etc. Basically, takes pizza really seriously.

I could eat the pizza bases he makes with a bit of garlic infused olive oil on top until I had to be removed from the premises by helicopter.

Absolutely delicious.
My local takeaway does something like that. They call it focaccia formagio, it comes with a container of tomato pizza topping.

14-03-2018, 10:52 AM
Pizza with no cheese.

Or even without the tomato base. Anchovies, capers, basil and olive oil. Lovely.

Still prefer my pizza smothered with cheeses.

pollution
14-03-2018, 11:53 AM
Pizza with no cheese.

This is called a ' pizza bianca ' ie a white pizza and can be delicious. Sometimes I think that the cheese can mask the other flavours.

My favourite is a tomato sauce - not too much - with thinly sliced garlic, anchovies and onion!

14-03-2018, 12:01 PM
This is called a ' pizza bianca ' ie a white pizza and can be delicious. Sometimes I think that the cheese can mask the other flavours.

My favourite is a tomato sauce - not too much - with thinly sliced garlic, anchovies and onion!

No mate pizza Bianca or white pizza is without tomato sauce not cheese. Unless you are talking in Rome where it is basically plain dough sprinkled with coarse salt.

Rattler
14-03-2018, 12:58 PM
We've been to the east coast of Italy a couple of times and our favourite is the thin pizza base with sliced potato, olive oil and rosemary. Fantastic!!

pollution
14-03-2018, 04:53 PM
[QUOTE=Scouse Hibby;5343357]No mate pizza Bianca or white pizza is without tomato sauce not cheese. Unless you are talking in Rome where it is basically plain dough sprinkled with coarse salt.[/QUOT

Good point! It was by Stazione Termini where it is rectangular and sold by length.

14-03-2018, 06:52 PM
Frying up a fishcake and squashing it in a buttered roll. :drool:

14-03-2018, 08:32 PM

Never tried this. I love a fish cake so will give that a go. No frying though, oven for me.

14-03-2018, 08:48 PM

I do something similar. Some bars here are open all night and once in a while I stagger out after sunrise and after all the kebab shops have shut up shop. When I get home I like to fry myself some fish fingers and then squash them between 2 slices of toast with lashings of mayonnaise and ketchup. I'm never quite as close to divorce as I am when the Mrs gets up to see the devastation I leave behind me in the kitchen. The inevitable hangover is the least of my worries.

14-03-2018, 09:12 PM

Been doing that for years, very decent.

14-03-2018, 09:28 PM
I do something similar. Some bars here are open all night and once in a while I stagger out after sunrise and after all the kebab shops have shut up shop. When I get home I like to fry myself some fish fingers and then squash them between 2 slices of toast with lashings of mayonnaise and ketchup. I'm never quite as close to divorce as I am when the Mrs gets up to see the devastation I leave behind me in the kitchen. The inevitable hangover is the least of my worries.

To be honest, ****faced cooking is fraught with real danger. A simple "well at least I didn't burn the place down" should placate the good lady no?

My preferred danger meal in this situation is cheese and chorizo on toast or 2 beef empañadas from the life saving 24hr bakery.

14-03-2018, 09:53 PM
I have to admit I do have a fondness for all things chilli. Fresh chillies/chilli sauce/chilli flakes etc and have a tendency to add one of the above to many things I eat. In fact last week my son referred to me as half man/half chilli 😂

pollution
26-03-2018, 04:52 PM
I love the roe that you sometimes find on cooked pink prawns.

Little bubbles of salt!

beensaidbefore
26-03-2018, 07:35 PM
I love the roe that you sometimes find on cooked pink prawns.

Little bubbles of salt!

Worked in a place that sold Moreton Bay bugs! Don't sound that nice and don't look much better, but the amount of roe they had was unreal. Looked like salmon pearls. The other chef used to just eat them straight off the thing! Not for me, but apparently delicious.

30-03-2018, 10:44 AM
Washing my porridge pot, after it's been soaked.

30-03-2018, 10:48 AM

Is that a euphemism?

30-03-2018, 11:25 AM
Is that a euphemism?

It is and it isn't.

30-03-2018, 01:22 PM

I hope you wash your spurtle as well (euphanism or not :greengrin).

30-03-2018, 03:50 PM
I hope you wash your spurtle as well (euphanism or not :greengrin).

Thanks for your concern.

However, I have a self cleaning spurtle.

30-03-2018, 07:21 PM
Drinking Worcestershire sauce out the bottle. Pouring salt into my hand and eating it, sometimes both at the same time.

Jay
30-03-2018, 08:20 PM
Drinking Worcestershire sauce out the bottle. Pouring salt into my hand and eating it, sometimes both at the same time.

Thats mega weird. I drink beetroot vinegar straight out the jar :agree:

30-03-2018, 08:22 PM
Thats mega weird. I drink beetroot vinegar straight out the jar :agree:

I also put butter on digestive biscuits then put them on a roll.

30-03-2018, 09:31 PM
Oh I love that stuff. My favourite drink is a Bloody Mary with loads of Worcestershire sauce, with an even bigger dose of vodka.

30-03-2018, 09:35 PM
Oh I love that stuff. My favourite drink is a Bloody Mary with loads of Worcestershire sauce, with an even bigger dose of vodka.

Being a pro Anglo Scot i like to top my bloody mary up with half a can of irn bru.

Seriously for a second much prefer my bloody marys virgin ie no vodka as it adds absolutely nothing to the taste IMO.

30-03-2018, 09:47 PM
Sticking a couple of tattie scones in the toaster until they’re warm & then buttering one side of each.

Smashing.

31-03-2018, 07:26 AM
Cheese and T's - a triangle of darylee "cheese" sandwiched between 2 richtea biscuits. Delightful.

Jay
31-03-2018, 07:35 AM
I also put butter on digestive biscuits then put them on a roll.

No you dont, thats not a thing! You cant have a biscuit roll :crazy:

31-03-2018, 10:30 AM
Anchovy cream cracker sandwich

pollution
31-03-2018, 11:22 AM

Anchovies in a roast beef sandwich. The sort from a tin, not the silver kind.

31-03-2018, 11:26 AM

Butter and anchovies only?

31-03-2018, 11:42 AM

Yeah

31-03-2018, 12:26 PM

That sounds nice.

I'm going to give it a try. I love anchovies, quite often use a few as the base of a sauce, gives a really nice saltiness.

wpj
31-03-2018, 05:05 PM
That sounds nice.

I'm going to give it a try. I love anchovies, quite often use a few as the base of a sauce, gives a really nice saltiness.

Really nice blended with a tomato sauce with garlic. Also lovely studded into lamb with garlic and rosemary.

31-03-2018, 05:09 PM

Like Gentleman’s Relish?

I’m rather fond of anchovies - especially in a Trapanese pesto. The very essence of Sicily.

01-04-2018, 03:57 PM
No you dont, thats not a thing! You cant have a biscuit roll :crazy:

Sure you can! Give it a try.

Jay
01-04-2018, 04:44 PM
Sure you can! Give it a try.

I'll pass. Too busy eating the gin and tonic flavoured easter egg my children gave me, its a bit weird :greengrin

01-04-2018, 05:01 PM
I'll pass. Too busy eating the gin and tonic flavoured easter egg my children gave me, its a bit weird :greengrin

Sounds minging!

Jay
01-04-2018, 05:40 PM
Sounds minging!

Its different :agree:

02-04-2018, 10:15 AM
This might sound Pervy :greengrin

I like the sound of pinging knicker elastic :cb
Not snapping elastic but that ping when the missus puts on her stockings or knickers .

I hope I've explained that well :hilarious

02-04-2018, 10:30 AM
This might sound Pervy :greengrin

I like the sound of pinging knicker elastic :cb
Not snapping elastic but that ping when the missus puts on her stockings or knickers .

I hope I've explained that well :hilarious

Is this you trying to break the cross dressing gently to us......who's really putting them on when they ping? 😁

02-04-2018, 10:32 AM
Is this you trying to break the cross dressing gently to us......who's really putting them on when they ping? 😁

Behind closed doors and that :greengrin

04-04-2018, 02:46 PM
You know those little biscotti you get at the side of your coffee?

If I don't eat it at the time, I like to keep it in my coat or jacket pocket for ages, and eventually, it will have broken into crumbs which I then pour into my gob. 😁

15-05-2018, 10:40 AM
I like to squeeze the last morsel out of a tube of toothpaste before I discard it.
Also take delight in popping bubble wrap bubbles.

Stranraer
18-05-2018, 01:09 PM
it's not a smell but I used to follow the Nigerian football team religiously. I earned the nickname Taribo after Taribo West and even sprayed my hair green when I was small and round.

18-05-2018, 04:07 PM
Just finished mince onions carrots and mashed tatties, with a sprinkling of curry powder over the top. :drool:

19-05-2018, 10:28 AM
Just finished mince onions carrots and mashed tatties, with a sprinkling of curry powder over the top. :drool:

I heard you were a bit of a hothead :greengrin

27-05-2018, 09:21 PM
I love lawn sprinklers. We're seed a new lawn at home and bought a £3 sprinkler today and I sat and watched it for hours. The ticking sound it makes is very satisfying, and its such a simple but effective piece of engineering.

30-05-2018, 01:47 PM
When you've added milk into your tea and it's far too pale so you squeeze the tea bag against the side of the cup and dark brown tea comes out and mixes/gradually darkens the rest of your brew.

31-05-2018, 11:18 AM
I'm starting to like Richard Madeley and I know I shouldn't.

His dismissal of the Minister of Defence was excellent.

Basically it was all about Madeley - but still.

01-06-2018, 07:19 PM
Tearing up junk mail and sending them back to the sender in their pre-paid envelopes.
Even better when you mix the bits up with other junk mail.

Oh well, that's how I manage to get through my day :wink:

18-08-2018, 08:29 PM
Currently sitting eating pickled eggs with Worcestershire sauce and some salt. Yum.

Jay
18-08-2018, 09:35 PM
Currently sitting eating pickled eggs with Worcestershire sauce and some salt. Yum.

Well thats disgusting :dizzy:

18-08-2018, 10:11 PM

It probably is to some to be fair. :greengrin

18-08-2018, 10:18 PM

It probably is to some to be fair. :greengrin

Lea+Perrins adds something to most dishes

18-08-2018, 10:50 PM
Lea+Perrins adds something to most dishes

Agree, I love the stuff and can drink it on its own. :greengrin

18-08-2018, 11:09 PM

Maybe too far for me. I like Angostura bitters in a glass of sparkling or still water. Slightly different taste, but still savoury/umami and excellent for an upset stomach and possibly a wee bit of a help as a hangover cure

19-08-2018, 08:07 AM

That sounds similar to something they do over here. Pickled eggs halved, scoop out the hardened yoke with a teaspoon and squirt some mild mustard into the cavity then replace the yolk. Delicious.

Jay
19-08-2018, 09:26 AM

Well thats disgusting :greengrin

19-08-2018, 09:54 AM
Well thats disgusting :greengrin

Nah, lovey.:greengrin. Can lead to indigestion though.

pollution
19-08-2018, 11:36 AM
Nah, lovey.:greengrin. Can lead to indigestion though.

Pickled eggs always do. I like mine with celery salt.

19-08-2018, 11:40 AM
Pickled eggs always do. I like mine with celery salt.

Try this.

https://www.thespruceeats.com/german-pickled-eggs-soleier-recipe-1447396

pollution
19-08-2018, 05:20 PM
I will give it a go!

19-08-2018, 06:10 PM

Is that unusual?

I love lea & perrins, have on chips, scotch eggs, pork pies, and almost any cold snack food.

19-08-2018, 07:37 PM
Is that unusual?

I love lea & perrins, have on chips, scotch eggs, pork pies, and almost any cold snack food.

L+P goes in every soup I make, any tomato-based sauce, anything that goes in the slow cooker

19-08-2018, 10:06 PM
McVities Digestives. I could eat a whole pack. Good with cheese too.

19-08-2018, 10:13 PM

Is it really that unusual to like mcvities digestives???
I must be a weirdo then!

19-08-2018, 10:14 PM

Put butter on them.

20-08-2018, 03:58 PM
Put butter on them.I love two with butter between.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

pollution
24-08-2018, 04:25 PM
I love the texture and slightly off taste of whelks served with Franks chili sauce.

24-08-2018, 05:34 PM
I love two with butter between.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Long long time since I done this but I had ice cream between 2 when I couldn’t find and wafers in the cupboard.

24-08-2018, 06:03 PM
Long long time since I done this but I had ice cream between 2 when I couldn’t find and wagers in the cupboard.

Bet you didn't 😉

24-08-2018, 06:50 PM
Bet you didn't 😉

25-08-2018, 06:40 AM
Put butter on them.

Peanut butter on them.
The TV snack of champions.

25-08-2018, 07:27 AM
Butter a roll, put on gold star brown sauce then put it in the microwave to melt the butter in and warm it up, then eat it like a chip roll without the chips

pollution
25-08-2018, 11:28 AM
Butter a roll, put on gold star brown sauce then put it in the microwave to melt the butter in and warm it up, then eat it like a chip roll without the chips

That takes the ( unbuttered ) biscuit!

Bangkok Hibby
30-08-2018, 04:31 PM
Gray's always smelt of stale pish and talcum powder.

That's cos it was staffed by old men and blue rinsed women. I worked there as a 17 year old many years ago. I'm sure David Croft (TV producer and writer must have been in there and thought "I can make a comedy out of this"
Then along came "Are you being served" :wink:

09-09-2018, 12:26 PM
The Fiat 500.

I’m not talking about the souped up ones or the bigger ones, I’m talking about the girly ones in pastel colours.

About 95% of the are driven by females in this country but when I was in Spain, I noticed that they were more popular with guys. Maybe it tells you something about our cultures.

Personally, I love the design.

09-09-2018, 01:51 PM
The Fiat 500.

I’m not talking about the souped up ones or the bigger ones, I’m talking about the girly ones in pastel colours.

About 95% of the are driven by females in this country but when I was in Spain, I noticed that they were more popular with guys. Maybe it tells you something about our cultures.

Personally, I love the design.

I hate them, I've found its usually ditsy young lassies that can't drive properly that have them in the UK.

09-09-2018, 01:55 PM
I hate them, I've found its usually ditsy young lassies that can't drive properly that have them in the UK.

Putting to one side the generalisation - Is it perhaps the drivers that should annoy you more than the car type?

09-09-2018, 02:03 PM
Putting to one side the generalisation - Is it perhaps the drivers that should annoy you more than the car type?

Yes the drivers annoy me as well but I also hate the design and look of them. :greengrin

speedy_gonzales
09-09-2018, 02:38 PM
The Fiat 500.

I booked a flight/villa/car package holiday for 7 people with Thomson/TUI 2 years ago. I knew I'd be getting 2 economy cars for our party so phoned up more than once to either upgrade the vehicles or change the rental to a large people carrier. Offshore call centres being what they are, I didn't get anywhere so reluctantly resigned myself to the fact that I'd have to chance it once we landed.
We ended up getting 2 Fiat 500's with no other alternatives.
It was a hell of a challenge getting 7 passengers with associated luggage in but we somehow managed it.
The cars themselves were alright, I wouldn't rush out to buy one myself, I think the chassis was made out of plastic!

Bangkok Hibby
09-09-2018, 03:49 PM
Peanut butter and Marmite on toast

09-09-2018, 04:28 PM
Yes the drivers annoy me as well but I also hate the design and look of them. :greengrin

[emoji3]. Fair enough !

09-09-2018, 04:49 PM
Peanut butter and Marmite on toast

My Mrs introduced me to peanut butter and melted cheese on toast. Delightful

28-09-2018, 01:43 PM
Fife-orientated ones since I'm home and enjoying them:

Red pudding supper from the chippy

Bean and Potato pies, on a roll with ketchup.

:yum yum:

28-09-2018, 02:15 PM
A day out to Darlington!

28-09-2018, 06:20 PM
Fife-orientated ones since I'm home and enjoying them:

Red pudding supper from the chippy

Bean and Potato pies, on a roll with ketchup.

:yum yum:

Love them, the Anstruther fish bar does great red puddings, get one of them to accompany my fish supper.

28-09-2018, 08:39 PM
Love them, the Anstruther fish bar does great red puddings, get one of them to accompany my fish supper.

I was very disappointed to find out just how local to central-east Scotland it is - can't seem to get it anywhere in Edinburgh and was given some weird knock off in Aberdeen.

05-10-2018, 10:26 AM
I was very disappointed to find out just how local to central-east Scotland it is - can't seem to get it anywhere in Edinburgh and was given some weird knock off in Aberdeen.

Yeah you won't find red pudding in chippys in Edinburgh unfortunately, the Aberdeen ones are terrible, the best ones are in Fife, Sauros fish bar in Abbey View Dunfermline are decent as well as the Brig Chippy on Linburn rd too.

05-10-2018, 12:15 PM

Excuse my ignorance but what's a red pudding ? Was at the Anstruther chippy last weekend but stuck to the fish & chips (which was excellent)

05-10-2018, 01:51 PM
Excuse my ignorance but what's a red pudding ? Was at the Anstruther chippy last weekend but stuck to the fish & chips (which was excellent)

It's basically a mix of pork, fat, and spices and it's bloomin delightful. :greengrin

Looks wise, it's a red version of white/black puddings.

05-10-2018, 05:53 PM
Are red puddings a Fife thing?

My Dad is a Fifer and he always wanted a red pudding supper from the chip shop. He always used to send me in for them, and I've had to have a few conversations with brusque chippy workers where they are not on offer.

05-10-2018, 06:39 PM

My Dad is a Fifer and he always wanted a red pudding supper from the chip shop. He always used to send me in for them, and I've had to have a few conversations with brusque chippy workers where they are not on offer.East of Scotland and maybe NE of England.

05-10-2018, 09:24 PM
East of Scotland and maybe NE of England.

Never seen them in NE England, Fife and Perthshire for the real deal. Grampian region for a poor imitation.

05-10-2018, 09:25 PM

My Dad is a Fifer and he always wanted a red pudding supper from the chip shop. He always used to send me in for them, and I've had to have a few conversations with brusque chippy workers where they are not on offer.

Predominately, yes.

22-10-2018, 03:20 PM
Scampi Fries. Yum.

22-10-2018, 04:31 PM
Peanut butter on toast is amazing.

Bangkok Hibby
22-10-2018, 04:56 PM

Peanut butter and marmite on toast is even better :agree:

22-10-2018, 06:36 PM

Peanut butter and banana on toast is the food of god's.

23-10-2018, 09:54 PM
Peanut butter on digestive biscuits

24-10-2018, 05:41 PM
The smell of turps and boot polish

beensaidbefore
24-10-2018, 05:56 PM

I know what you mean. I also like the smell of a permanent marker.

Jay
24-10-2018, 06:03 PM

I know what you mean. I also like the smell of a permanent marker.

Yup and i used to like the wee tins of germolene cream too :greengrin

24-10-2018, 06:32 PM
Yup and i used to like the wee tins of germolene cream too :greengrinAnd Windolene 😆

Jay
24-10-2018, 06:43 PM
And Windolene 😆

:agree: although im thinking we are giving our ages away :greengrin

24-10-2018, 06:50 PM
:agree: although im thinking we are giving our ages away :greengrinTrue, although my Wife did think I was a bit too keen to polish my boots and clean the windows every couple of days 😆

Jay
24-10-2018, 08:29 PM
True, although my Wife did think I was a bit too keen to polish my boots and clean the windows every couple of days 😆

:hilarious if my ex had washed the windaes and polished some boots he may not be my ex :wink:

24-10-2018, 08:33 PM
Yup and i used to like the wee tins of germolene cream too :greengrin

Is germoline the stuff that smells like root beer?
I used to like that smell along with tcp.
I mind you used to get bubble gum at shop opposite abbey hill landrete that tasted of germoline, at least wthat's what I thought it did 25 years ago.

24-10-2018, 08:39 PM

:agree: And fire lighters.

24-10-2018, 08:50 PM
:agree: And fire lighters.oh yes, firelighters too 😆

Lemonade
29-10-2018, 10:34 PM
Just had roasted pumpkin seeds and they were amazing .
One batch roasted with castor sugar and cinnamon which tasted like honey roast peanuts.
The other batch was roasted with paprika and spices.

I was really surprised at how tasty they were.

30-10-2018, 06:38 PM
Tripe (never in milk - heathens) and potted heid which seems a rarity nowadays.

30-10-2018, 06:56 PM

My old man laps up both of those.

30-10-2018, 07:51 PM

Love tripe, never had it without milk.
My nana used to add some carnation milk, lovely.

31-10-2018, 10:31 AM
Coming on to Hibs.net and checking the Dug-out a few times a day specifically to read about strangers and their pet peeves, and the things they like, haven't tried, or only tried once. That can't be normal. :confused:

pollution
31-10-2018, 11:39 AM
My old man laps up both of those.

Potted heid is a very acquired taste. I buy it occasionally and am reminded it is a very very acquired taste.

Like brawn, it should be eaten with a pickled gherkin to enhance the visceral taste.

31-10-2018, 11:40 AM
Mustard. I have several jars with murky-looking contents. People bring me them back from holiday. I like French ones best but I'm "keen" on all types.
Wee mustard-based quip there.

01-11-2018, 12:13 PM
A wee shot of grapefruit juice in a Weißbier.