View Full Version : Rubbish Badges

24-01-2018, 03:26 PM
Inspired by the Leeds thread what are the worst football badges out there?

I'll start with Aberdeen and Burton Albion:

24-01-2018, 03:33 PM
Man City 1997-2016, the 3 stars mean literally nothing, they just saw other clubs had stars so they wanted some. :rolleyes:

http://mcivta.com/wp0001/wp-content/uploads/2003/03/mcfc2-badge.jpeg

24-01-2018, 03:38 PM
They've had a few good ones down the years but I don't like this Scunny one.

There is however none more embarrassing than Sevco's, displaying all the wee stars that used to belong to the now defunct Glasgow rangers as even those ones didn't officially have the same status as the ones they were hijacking.

24-01-2018, 03:42 PM
http://i67.tinypic.com/rjl0xx.png

24-01-2018, 03:48 PM
https://i.pinimg.com/originals/af/49/19/af4919d343254778cff2cfe4b2cd3257.jpg

Aim Here
24-01-2018, 03:58 PM
I dunno why Berwick felt that a bear/tree hybrid was the way to go.

The two dragons have decidedly unfierce facial features into the bargain.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/c/ce/BerwickRangersLarge.png/200px-BerwickRangersLarge.png

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berwick_Rangers_F.C.#/media/File:BerwickRangersLarge.pnghttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berwick_Rangers_F.C.#/media/File:BerwickRangersLarge.png

24-01-2018, 04:03 PM
Killies is a shocker. Partridgesque

Bournemouth's looks like a 1980s ladies hair salon or shampoo logo

OsloHibs
24-01-2018, 04:05 PM
I didn't like the old hibs one when it got changed in the 90s. So happy it got changed again!

hibbie02
24-01-2018, 04:05 PM
Yams! :greengrin

Aim Here
24-01-2018, 04:08 PM
Yams! :greengrin

Nah. Not only is it actually pretty decent for a club crest (notwithstanding whose crest it is), but it's socially acceptable to spit on it in the middle of the street. Couldn't ask for a better one in that regard!

Tomsk
24-01-2018, 04:09 PM

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/c/ce/BerwickRangersLarge.png/200px-BerwickRangersLarge.png

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berwick_Rangers_F.C.#/media/File:BerwickRangersLarge.pnghttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berwick_Rangers_F.C.#/media/File:BerwickRangersLarge.png

They are not dragons. They are heraldic lions. I am guessing the lion rampant represents Scotland and the lion passant represents England as befits Berwick's border history.

The badge is a bit of a dog's dinner -- I will give you that.

24-01-2018, 04:11 PM

The Bear/tree motif is in the burgh coat of arms and the t 'LIONS' represent the torrid history of the burgh changing hands between Scottish (Rampant Lion) and English (Lion passant)

JDHibs
24-01-2018, 04:11 PM

Im guessing the bear symbolises the age old question,

Does a bear **** in the woods?

24-01-2018, 04:13 PM
For some reason known only to them Iraqi club Al Sinaa FC decided just to nick Motherwells badge ! They have updated it more recently and now have nicked the Olympic rings !! lol

https://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/6/2/1243960388067/Motherwell-badge-001.jpg

24-01-2018, 04:20 PM
Does this owl really need to be so confrontational?

https://www.quantumprofilesystems.com/img/news/oldham-logo.jpg

24-01-2018, 04:24 PM
The Bear/tree motif is in the burgh coat of arms and the t 'LIONS' represent the torrid history of the burgh changing hands between Scottish (Rampant Lion) and English (Lion passant)

The bear is wotjek, a bear that polish soldiers brought over to Hilton airfield with them during ww2

RoslinInstHibby
Lincoln City is the worst badge

Tomsk
They are not dragons. They are heraldic lions. I am guessing the lion rampant represents Scotland and the lion passant represents England as befits Berwick's border history.

With the aid of Google I found that the bear chained to a tree is an image representing the town of Berwick on Tweed and Berwickshire, being a symbol used on their coats of arms.

You live and learn.

andybev1
24-01-2018, 04:27 PM

Woolfsburgs W badge is just so boring and the one before is just ?

Tomsk
24-01-2018, 04:28 PM

It looks severely browned off. Which given Oldham's recent run of good luck should surprise no one.

24-01-2018, 04:30 PM
The bear is wotjek, a bear that polish soldiers brought over to Hilton airfield with them during ww2

No it's not Berwick Upon Tweed had a chained bear to a tree as a coat of arms long before the 2nd World War.

24-01-2018, 04:32 PM

https://www.quantumprofilesystems.com/img/news/oldham-logo.jpgWhat is it with owls and football clubs?

FFS they'll eventually be financing clubs, it's the beginning of the end, especially if the owls are starting to have attitude.

24-01-2018, 04:32 PM
Lincoln City is the worst badge

The new one is, believe it or not, an improvement on the old one.

24-01-2018, 04:35 PM
What is it with owls and football clubs?

FFS they'll eventually be financing clubs, it's the beginning of the end, especially if the owls are starting to have attitude.

Chill.... it'll be a hoot......

24-01-2018, 04:46 PM
Man City 1997-2016, the 3 stars mean literally nothing, they just saw other clubs had stars so they wanted some. :rolleyes:

Agree I find the three stars absolutely pathetic, this is what their marketing blurb said on launch...

"Manchester City Football Club would like to announce that they have commissioned a new crest to replace the round badge that has only existed since 1974. The new club crest is based on elements from the original "Arms of the City of Manchester", the crest which is still used by Manchester City PLC today and worn on the team shirt for all Wembley occasions. It retains the original shield set against an eagle taken from the Badge of the City of Manchester, dating from 1957, also originally found on the City of Manchester Crest, on the ribbon flowing from the knight's helmet. Below the shield is the new club motto "Superbia In Proelio", a Latin phrase translating to "Pride in Battle". The three stars above the eagle constitute a design element that relate a more continental feel to the design.

for "a more continental design" Read "Like a team that has won stuff"

Renfrew_Hibby
24-01-2018, 04:47 PM

Woolfsburgs W badge is just so boring and the one before is just ?

Is Hamburgs badge not the flag of the Port of Hamburg, the most important in Germany?
Always liked it, even if the huns get on with them.

24-01-2018, 05:12 PM
No it's not Berwick Upon Tweed had a chained bear to a tree as a coat of arms long before the 2nd World War.

Oops! My mistake

andybev1
24-01-2018, 05:31 PM
Is Hamburgs badge not the flag of the Port of Hamburg, the most important in Germany?
Always liked it, even if the huns get on with them.
I was not aware mate. I suppose if you know the history it makes sense, I just seen the design and was not impressed.

EDIT: I just checked and the port of Hamburg have a castle with an anchor on their flag but there is an article saying that the badge is a nod to its maritime tradition.

I actually meant to put the Napoli badge up which is just an N also.

24-01-2018, 05:34 PM
Oops! My mistake

No worries :greengrin

heid the baw
24-01-2018, 06:01 PM
It looks severely browned off. Which given Oldham's recent run of good luck should surprise no one.

Irritable Owl Syndrome

24-01-2018, 06:04 PM
What is it with owls and football clubs?

I think you'll find that they're far too wise to finance football clubs, and will restrict their activities to appearing on badges and being nicknames.

And quite possibly selling plastic replicas of themselves to the most stupid of Hearts fans.

I've actually just spent the past half hour finding out why Coventry have an elephant on their badge.

Who is it that has squirrels? I thought it was Dunfermline but that appears to be wrong.

24-01-2018, 06:07 PM
I think you'll find that they're far too wise to finance football clubs, and will restrict their activities to appearing on badges and being nicknames.

And quite possibly selling plastic replicas of themselves to the most stupid of Hearts fans.

I've actually just spent the past half hour finding out why Coventry have an elephant on their badge.

Who is it that has squirrels? I thought it was Dunfermline but that appears to be wrong.
Kilmarnock?

24-01-2018, 06:09 PM

Next up - Dunfermline and squirrels.☺
Agree. How about red plastic coo's?

Heavily involved in financing at least one big club so maybe there's one on a badge somewhere.

24-01-2018, 06:09 PM

The bear and tree thing goes back several hundred years, the tree is a wych elm, which gives you bear-wych, which over time becomes Berwick.

The lions passant are arguably leopards, rather than lions, though it's arguable that the original intention was that the two were interchangeable. I remember it coming up on QI once, when Frank Skinner was a guest, the suggestion being that his hit with Baddiel should have been "Three Leopards on a Shirt"

24-01-2018, 06:12 PM
Bournemouth's looks like a 1980s ladies hair salon or shampoo logo

Very similar to Atlanta
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/6/66/AtalantaBC.svg/385px-AtalantaBC.svg.png

Tomsk
24-01-2018, 06:34 PM
The bear and tree thing goes back several hundred years, the tree is a wych elm, which gives you bear-wych, which over time becomes Berwick.

The lions passant are arguably leopards, rather than lions, though it's arguable that the original intention was that the two were interchangeable. I remember it coming up on QI once, when Frank Skinner was a guest, the suggestion being that his hit with Baddiel should have been "Three Leopards on their Chest"

It's a complete education here. :greengrin

24-01-2018, 06:37 PM
Irritable Owl Syndrome
:greengrin :top marks

24-01-2018, 06:40 PM
It's a complete education here. :greengrin

Just the facts ma'am :greengrin

24-01-2018, 06:42 PM
Im guessing the bear symbolises the age old question,

Does a bear **** in the woods?

The answer is yes, when the bear is asked for his opinion on the badge.

stu in nottingham
24-01-2018, 06:51 PM

There's a guy that visits my local who has Manchester City crests tattooed all over his head - the old crest. Understand the club were considering offering to fund changing the crests for him and similar fans.

Here is is.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/09/19/17/1442680126261_lc_galleryImage_MANCHESTER_ENGLAND_S EPTEM.JPG

24-01-2018, 06:59 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180124/a7cf4ca75153ac860d987f9ddc78d570.jpg

Newell’s Old Boys...

24-01-2018, 09:12 PM
Initially I thought the Newell badge was a comment on the Man City fan

24-01-2018, 09:57 PM

Ooo Roger Palmer..

The Pointer
24-01-2018, 10:01 PM
There's a guy that visits my local who has Manchester City crests tattooed all over his head - the old crest. Understand the club were considering offering to fund changing the crests for him and similar fans.

Here is is.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/09/19/17/1442680126261_lc_galleryImage_MANCHESTER_ENGLAND_S EPTEM.JPG

I wouldn't let my laddie near my head with his crayons.

Mixu62
24-01-2018, 10:24 PM

Who is it that has squirrels? I thought it was Dunfermline but that appears to be wrong.[/QUOTE]

Dumarton also have an elephant, no idea why.

24-01-2018, 11:16 PM
Nottingham Forest have a boring badge. It's so 1970s.

BH Hibs
25-01-2018, 12:27 AM
Iuventus new badge is fairly crap.

25-01-2018, 12:36 AM
For some reason known only to them Iraqi club Al Sinaa FC decided just to nick Motherwells badge ! They have updated it more recently and now have nicked the Olympic rings !! lol

https://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/6/2/1243960388067/Motherwell-badge-001.jpg

No doubt their local derby is ‘the Motherwell of all battles.’

25-01-2018, 01:03 AM

Dumarton also have an elephant, no idea why.

Squirrels are Killie.

I’ve always liked the Slavia Prague badge. Simple and it confuses the hell out of me with the star being upside down.

https://www.proslavisty.cz/images/produkty/151170A-A61-dres-slavia-2017-18-domaci/151170A-A61_2.jpg

cheltenhamhibee
25-01-2018, 02:34 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.whoateallthepies.tv %2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2013%2F02%2Fglass-rabbits.png&imgrefurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.whoateallthepies.tv%2Fl ists%2F157950%2F25-of-the-best-club-badges-in-asian-football.html&docid=BQQVBEl6vevlkM&tbnid=1uoer-byli25mM%3A&vet=10ahUKEwitjebHifLYAhUsD8AKHWvVAIM4ZBAzCFYoUTBR ..i&w=195&h=240&bih=568&biw=1215&q=worst%20football%20badges&ved=0ahUKEwitjebHifLYAhUsD8AKHWvVAIM4ZBAzCFYoUTBR&iact=mrc&uact=8

This is hideous

wpj
25-01-2018, 04:26 AM
I wouldn't let my laddie near my head with his crayons.

Arguably he'd do a better job!

jakedance
25-01-2018, 06:49 AM

And?

jax67
25-01-2018, 07:07 AM

If you’ve ever been to an Oldham game, you’ll know that scowl.😝

25-01-2018, 08:42 AM
And?

He forgot.

25-01-2018, 09:25 AM

That's fantastic. He does look pretty hard.

25-01-2018, 09:28 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.whoateallthepies.tv %2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2013%2F02%2Fglass-rabbits.png&imgrefurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.whoateallthepies.tv%2Fl ists%2F157950%2F25-of-the-best-club-badges-in-asian-football.html&docid=BQQVBEl6vevlkM&tbnid=1uoer-byli25mM%3A&vet=10ahUKEwitjebHifLYAhUsD8AKHWvVAIM4ZBAzCFYoUTBR ..i&w=195&h=240&bih=568&biw=1215&q=worst%20football%20badges&ved=0ahUKEwitjebHifLYAhUsD8AKHWvVAIM4ZBAzCFYoUTBR&iact=mrc&uact=8

This is hideous

It really is.

-Jonesy-
25-01-2018, 10:45 AM
Hearts New Badge (https://twitter.com/thehibeesfamily/status/956451616554700800)

25-01-2018, 12:38 PM
Hearts New Badge (https://twitter.com/thehibeesfamily/status/956451616554700800)Very good.

Just had to explain the poppy collection tin to a west ham fan I've shown this to. Incredulous at the story. Thinks I'm making it up so is checking it himself. Spreads the word☺

25-01-2018, 01:37 PM
Ooo Roger Palmer..

This Dons one is no bad!!

25-01-2018, 01:46 PM
Inspired by the Leeds thread what are the worst football badges out there?

I'll start with Aberdeen and Burton Albion:

I agree it isn't the best but that's been the basis of the Burton crest since the 1950s at least.
Seems to me that the ****tiest of crests are a modern phenomenon (ours excepted, natch :wink:)

25-01-2018, 01:51 PM
Moooooo!

25-01-2018, 01:52 PM
And?

From the Coventry city coat of arms.

Why does Coventry have an elephant on it's coat of arms? Because in medieval times elephants were associated with dragon-slaying, and Coventry is thought to have been the birthplace of St George, he who slew the dragon.

The elephant is also seen on the coat of arms as a beast so strong that he can carry a tower - Coventry's castle - full of armed men, and also as a symbol of Christ's redemption of the human race.

They love elephants in Coventry, and even have a leisure centre built in the shape of one.

25-01-2018, 01:54 PM
FC Hamburg

Gott im himmel!

stu in nottingham
25-01-2018, 02:05 PM
Nottingham Forest have a boring badge. It's so 1970s.

I couldn't agree more. If I recall, back in the 1970s the club had a competition to design a new badge and received thousands of entries. The winner looks like it was designed by a twelve year-old (and maybe was). It doesn't even manage a capital 'E'.

Compare with this copy of the previous one which I think was nice - especially when Joe Baker wore it on his chest.

https://thebeautifulhistory.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/nottinghamforesttoffs.jpg

Edit: Check the runners-up!

http://i.imgur.com/C5VMg2q.png

25-01-2018, 03:26 PM
I think all of my references for what is good, tasteful and right on football is everything that was in the Panini 86 sticker album. It was when I got to know clubs, strips, badges, players etc.

The clubs that were in the Premier League then (yes, even Coventry and Luton) are the clubs that I still think of as being the main clubs.

I think that Forest badge is a thing of beauty. I love the old Sheffield Wednesday and Newcastle ones, the dodgy 60s/70s versions all seem to be my favourites.

I love the WBA strip with the "no smoking" logo on the front.

25-01-2018, 05:15 PM
I think all of my references for what is good, tasteful and right on football is everything that was in the Panini 86 sticker album. It was when I got to know clubs, strips, badges, players etc.

The clubs that were in the Premier League then (yes, even Coventry and Luton) are the clubs that I still think of as being the main clubs.

Just to be a pedant, can I point out that The Premier league didn't actually start until 1992. Can I suggest you do what I do and only ever use the term "Top Flight". :wink:

25-01-2018, 05:18 PM
Just to be a pedant, can I point out that The Premier league didn't actually start until 1992. Can I suggest you do what I do and only ever use the term "Top Flight". :wink:

Outstanding pedantry.

Top Flight it is.

I didn't want to confuse the younglings with references to the "First Division".

25-01-2018, 05:49 PM

I think that Forest badge is a thing of beauty. I love the old Sheffield Wednesday and Newcastle ones, the dodgy 60s/70s versions all seem to be my favourites.

I love the WBA strip with the "no smoking" logo on the front.

I go back to Munich 74 and Football 75 when stickers were stickers mate. Carlisle were a big club with a honking kit and Zaire was still a something.

25-01-2018, 06:00 PM
Outstanding pedantry.

Top Flight it is.

I didn't want to confuse the younglings with references to the "First Division".

No need to worry about younglings on Hibs.net, this is a football forum, the under 30's are all busy sending each other pictures of their own bottoms on facetube, instagrab and whatsup ! You can communicate on here safe in the knowledge that the majority of posters on here still believe that Asa Hartford is the most talented player at Man City.

25-01-2018, 06:09 PM
No need to worry about younglings on Hibs.net, this is a football forum, the under 30's are all busy sending each other pictures of their own bottoms on facetube, instagrab and whatsup ! You can communicate on here safe in the knowledge that the majority of posters on here still believe that Asa Hartford is the most talented player at Man City.

Better than Colin Bell. No kwestion peeps.

25-01-2018, 06:11 PM
A heart felt tale indeed and only has one obvious hole in it.........

25-01-2018, 06:13 PM

Very good. :greengrin

25-01-2018, 06:25 PM

https://nestaquin.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/ken.jpg

25-01-2018, 08:19 PM

The lions passant are arguably leopards, rather than lions, though it's arguable that the original intention was that the two were interchangeable. I remember it coming up on QI once, when Frank Skinner was a guest, the suggestion being that his hit with Baddiel should have been "Three Leopards on a Shirt"

Interesting. There are many towns where there are several versions of how the name was derived.
This is what Wiki says.....

The name "Berwick" is of Old English origin, and is derived from the term bere-wīc, combining bere, meaning "barley", and wīc, referring to a farm or settlement. "Berwick" thus means "barley village" or "barley farm".

While both derivations sound plausable, I would go with the latter more on the strengths of the many other "wick" towns. I wouldn't have thought they all surrounded by elms.
Just my opinion, mind you.

jakedance
25-01-2018, 10:16 PM
From the Coventry city coat of arms.

Why does Coventry have an elephant on it's coat of arms? Because in medieval times elephants were associated with dragon-slaying, and Coventry is thought to have been the birthplace of St George, he who slew the dragon.

The elephant is also seen on the coat of arms as a beast so strong that he can carry a tower - Coventry's castle - full of armed men, and also as a symbol of Christ's redemption of the human race.

They love elephants in Coventry, and even have a leisure centre built in the shape of one.

Delivered the goods. Interesting too. Thanks.

25-01-2018, 10:26 PM

Reminds me of Mick McCarthy.