View Full Version : Hi-Jack-ed

24-01-2018, 12:13 AM
Loads of kerfuffle in the news (Daily Express, etc.) about "Sturgeon Snubs Queen" and the like.
Seems like it's yesterday's news regurgitated and put out as new for political point scoring.
If so, it's quite pathetic really.

This from the Belfast Telegraph
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/uk/scottish-government-denies-flag-change-36524420.html

24-01-2018, 06:10 AM
Loads of kerfuffle in the news (Daily Express, etc.) about "Sturgeon Snubs Queen" and the like.
Seems like it's yesterday's news regurgitated and put out as new for political point scoring.
If so, it's quite pathetic really.

This from the Belfast Telegraph
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/uk/scottish-government-denies-flag-change-36524420.html

It's all over the MSM this morning, and even quoted on the BBC "News".

It's fake news unfortunately, as it's been the practice to fly the Lion Rampant from government buildings on royal occasions since 2010. No change in policy or practice since then.

You'd think the bastion of impartiality would have fact checked the story, before running with the Torygraph/Express/Daily Heil, fake news.

I wonder if these guys will have anything to say about it. :rolleyes:

https://t.co/BlEZPSKvhu

24-01-2018, 09:46 AM
http://thenational.scot/news/15893477.Alex_Salmond_reveals__The_Queen_herself_a pproved_changing_union_flag_policy___eight_years_a go/

Alex Salmond says the flags were changed by him after consultation with the Queen at Balmoral in 2010.
If the National were to employ the Torygraph/Express ethics their headline could be "Queen in Secret Deal With Separatists"

The idea that fake news is a new thing is just a joke. It's been pumped out for years by the propagandaists called the media. This must be one of their most pathic efforts yet.

24-01-2018, 12:58 PM
Regardless of where people sit on the constitutional question, the fact that three national newspapers have seemingly coordinated their headlines and inflamed a host of critical politicians to wade in on something which (and this is the important part) - was not even accurate in the first place - should worry people.

The facts appear to be:

1. The protocol was changed in 2010, but the guidance was not physically updated to this year
2. The protocol was changed following a meeting between the former FM and the Queen that year
3. Nicola Sturgeon has not changed the guidance, pulled down the flag or disrespected the royals - (though this last point, I'm not sure is necessarily a case for the defence)
4. The Royal Standard is the Royal Flag in Scotland - it is the one flown over Holyrood and is the most appropriate one.

Too late, though - like the myth of straight bananas and square strawberries, this will be the stuff of bristling dinner party conversation and people will think they are talking from an informed standpoint, when in fact, it's complete nonsense.

24-01-2018, 02:40 PM
I can't believe I know this pish, but the Queen's Royal Standard in Scotland is supposed to be flown at Holyrood or Balmoral if she's in:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/e/e0/Royal_Standard_of_the_United_Kingdom_%28in_Scotlan d%29.svg/250px-Royal_Standard_of_the_United_Kingdom_%28in_Scotlan d%29.svg.png

The Lion Rampant is the Royal Banner of Scotland and flies when she's oot.

Personally I think we should tear down the flags and nationalise both.

Thing about this story is it's come from the Telegraph who obviously think everyone will be horrified but actually only ueber-yoons will care, most nats will quietly think, "good", and the vast bulk of folk will be "meh".

I couldn't gaf but although I recognise it's trivial and self-indulgent, I am looking forward to not seeing that bloody great Rangers flag flying from the castle post-Indy. :wink:

24-01-2018, 03:02 PM
I can't believe I know this pish, but the Queen's Royal Standard in Scotland is supposed to be flown at Holyrood or Balmoral if she's in:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/e/e0/Royal_Standard_of_the_United_Kingdom_%28in_Scotlan d%29.svg/250px-Royal_Standard_of_the_United_Kingdom_%28in_Scotlan d%29.svg.png

Thing about this story is it's come from the Telegraph who obviously think everyone will be horrified but actually only ueber-yoons will care, most nats will quietly think, "good", and the vast bulk of folk will be "meh".

I couldn't gaf but although I recognise it's trivial and self-indulgent, I am looking forward to not seeing that bloody great Rangers flag flying from the castle post-Indy. :wink:

You may well be right, DMS. I thought the lion rampant was the Queen's own Scottish flag so technically only she could use it, but I may be wrong. Re. Holyrood, it was my understanding the lion rampant was flown when she was in residence however, your definitions sound more likely.

I look forward to the retractions in the MSM tomorrow. :rolleyes:

Can't believe how quiet this thread is :whistle:

24-01-2018, 07:00 PM
Regardless of where people sit on the constitutional question, the fact that three national newspapers have seemingly coordinated their headlines and inflamed a host of critical politicians to wade in on something which (and this is the important part) - was not even accurate in the first place - should worry people.

The facts appear to be:

1. The protocol was changed in 2010, but the guidance was not physically updated to this year
2. The protocol was changed following a meeting between the former FM and the Queen that year
3. Nicola Sturgeon has not changed the guidance, pulled down the flag or disrespected the royals - (though this last point, I'm not sure is necessarily a case for the defence)
4. The Royal Standard is the Royal Flag in Scotland - it is the one flown over Holyrood and is the most appropriate one.

Too late, though - like the myth of straight bananas and square strawberries, this will be the stuff of bristling dinner party conversation and people will think they are talking from an informed standpoint, when in fact, it's complete nonsense.

The most worrying thing about this whole farce, is that the,First Minister, tweeted her response to the Telegraph at 23.06 last night, telling them the story was not correct. She then tweeted the Daily Mail at 23.32 telling them their story was simply untrue.

I was still watching the BBC at 8am this morning in the main news on Breakfast telling everyone, how Nicola Sturgeon has removed the Union Flag from buildings.

They had been broadcasting the story without having the gumption to ask our FM.

I suppose we're to expect this type of propaganda from the BRITISH Broadcasting Corp, we don't need to like it though.

Impartial, MY ARSE.

24-01-2018, 07:01 PM
You may well be right, DMS. I thought the lion rampant was the Queen's own Scottish flag so technically only she could use it, but I may be wrong. Re. Holyrood, it was my understanding the lion rampant was flown when she was in residence however, your definitions sound more likely.

They're all eating their crispy haggis. :wink:

24-01-2018, 07:07 PM
If I think something's wrong, I'll call it, no matter which side it is right, left or centre.
This news fabrication stinks and it's not the first time these tactics have been used.
I fail to understand how the British populus can be so gullible.

speedy_gonzales
24-01-2018, 07:27 PM
There's nothing quite like a flag debate on a Football forum, I've read the links here and read various articles online but I seem to be either missing the point or not understanding the uproar.
Alex Salmond says he spoke to the Queen back in 2010 and that was when the practice changed. I've not seen anything to confirm that's when the written protocol changed. Official guidance has now just come out reflecting the practice and this IS actually in writing.
We still recognise the Queen/State visits by flying the Scottish Royal Standard as opposed to,,,, what? Who, apart from certain elements within the media and right wing politicos is actually complaining?
If I was a member of the foil hat wearing brigade I'd be digging through all the news to see what I've missed as this non-story is just flannel,,,,

24-01-2018, 07:53 PM
There's nothing quite like a flag debate on a Football forum, I've read the links here and read various articles online but I seem to be either missing the point or not understanding the uproar.
Alex Salmond says he spoke to the Queen back in 2010 and that was when the practice changed. I've not seen anything to confirm that's when the written protocol changed. Official guidance has now just come out reflecting the practice and this IS actually in writing.
We still recognise the Queen/State visits by flying the Scottish Royal Standard as opposed to,,,, what? Who, apart from certain elements within the media and right wing politicos is actually complaining?
If I was a member of the foil hat wearing brigade I'd be digging through all the news to see what I've missed as this non-story is just flannel,,,,

https://t.co/6vJm1cIyJM

Maybe a wee dig into the dealings at the Scotland office who've had a rather large increase in Staff since Fluffy took charge. :aok:

25-01-2018, 08:42 AM

I can't quite believe you know this pish either!

As to the bit in bold, you're dead-on. It's the kind of manufactured 5hite you get in both the Telegraph and the National - ie stuff that's written for their core readership to keep them buying what they want to read for self-confirmation bias. And they're not the only ones, all papers are the same in that regard. I doubt the Telegraph think everyone will be horrified, they'll be perfectly happy as long as their own readers are horrified.

Personally I detest pretty much all 'news' papers. Can't believe anyone takes any of them seriously anymore.

26-01-2018, 09:31 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-42830255

26-01-2018, 11:15 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-42830255

I think there should be a law that retractions and apologies should be in the same location and fonts as the false accusations. Just guessing here, is the DM apology buried somewhere among the horoscopes and sudoku boxes?

Haven't seen it but someone told me the Express hasn't apologised but is accusing Sturgeon of twisting the story for political gain. If true (that the Express are taking this stance), well, I'll leave it to you to make up your own mind.

26-01-2018, 03:06 PM
The thing that really shows how important this flag business is is that the actual thing they're moaning about, the union jack flying less on govt buildings, has been happening since 2010 and none of the ******* even noticed. :rolleyes:

26-01-2018, 05:11 PM
The thing that really shows how important this flag business is is that the actual thing they're moaning about, the union jack flying less on govt buildings, has been happening since 2010 and none of the ******* even noticed. :rolleyes:

Kind of typical for flag debates to be honest.

What inane drivel from the likes of the Express.

xyz23jc
26-01-2018, 05:54 PM

Dunno about that one mate, everywhere I look in Edinburgh these days there's that f**** flying! :sick:

27-01-2018, 07:15 AM
As the Daily Heil have made an apology on the Flag issue, I'm sure Colonel Ruth, and her side kicks will be forthcoming with theirs, or will they?

Joyous British nationalism in full flow.

Express and Telegraph, next, or it's off to IPSO. :aok:

https://t.co/f8mThVcNv3

27-01-2018, 11:31 AM
As the Daily Heil have made an apology on the Flag issue, I'm sure Colonel Ruth, and her side kicks will be forthcoming with theirs, or will they?

Joyous British nationalism in full flow.

Express and Telegraph, next, or it's off to IPSO. :aok:

https://t.co/f8mThVcNv3

The Herald seems hell bent on keeping the pot boiling by asking why it took so long to implement the change. :rolleyes:

And, when is an apology not really an apology?
Read Iain Dale's effort. What a joke it is.
The return comments are worth a read too.

http://www.iaindale.com/posts/2018/01/26/nicola-sturgeon-an-apology

02-02-2018, 06:43 AM

Legally there are only about 4 people in Scotland entitled to fly the Lion Rampant, of which Lizzy is one, the others being her representatives in Scotland. It is a fact that when you wave it about at Hampden or Murrayfield you are technically breaking the law.

It is also a fact that in order to fly a Saltire from your bedroom window or on a flagpole in your garden you must get planning permission ... that's right, even the peoples flag doesn't belong to the people ... as any club ordered to remove it from their badge by the 'Lord Lyon' can tell you.

Time we had a new flag IMO ..... I always thought purple was a far more Scottish colour than blue anyway, that would be nice :greengrin

02-02-2018, 06:52 PM
Legally there are only about 4 people in Scotland entitled to fly the Lion Rampant, of which Lizzy is one, the others being her representatives in Scotland. It is a fact that when you wave it about at Hampden or Murrayfield you are technically breaking the law.

It is also a fact that in order to fly a Saltire from your bedroom window or on a flagpole in your garden you must get planning permission ... that's right, even the peoples flag doesn't belong to the people ... as any club ordered to remove it from their badge by the 'Lord Lyon' can tell you.

Time we had a new flag IMO ..... I always thought purple was a far more Scottish colour than blue anyway, that would be nice :greengrin

:agree: Blood doesn't show on a purple flag. That is blood that's in varicose veins. :wink: