View Full Version : Burlin' in his grave?

22-01-2018, 11:37 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/news/theresa-may-hosts-burns-supper-in-downing-street-1-4668945

"Wee, sleekit, cowrin, tim'rous beastie, O, what a panic's in thy breastie!" would seem appropriate on the night. :wink:

It will be followed by a screening of Braveheart, no doubt. :cool2:

23-01-2018, 07:29 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/news/theresa-may-hosts-burns-supper-in-downing-street-1-4668945

"Wee, sleekit, cowrin, tim'rous beastie, O, what a panic's in thy breastie!" would seem appropriate on the night. :wink:

Any unionists on here got a burns poem praising the union? Asking for a pal. 😊

23-01-2018, 07:35 AM

What a load of tits!! Kind of like the Guardian’s take on the night.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/gallery/2018/jan/22/the-big-burns-supper-in-pictures

23-01-2018, 08:53 AM
Any unionists on here got a burns poem praising the union? Asking for a pal. 😊

Not a "unionist" myself - whatever that is, but how about ...

“Does Haughty Gaul Invasion Threat?”

http://www.aforceforgood.org.uk/precious/rburns1 (http://www.aforceforgood.org.uk/precious/rburns1)

Perhaps worth a read ? - Something tells me your pal probably won't be impressed though? :greengrin

23-01-2018, 09:31 AM

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/gallery/2018/jan/22/the-big-burns-supper-in-pictures

That's not my cup of tea however, art is art. Who am I to judge?

Btw Colr, does the 'load of tits' refer to the OP or the attendees at no. 10? :dunno: :greengrin

"Burlin' in his grave" indeed......
https://www.thecanary.co/uk/2018/01/23/theresa-mays-latest-dinner-speech-gone-like-cup-cold-sick-tweets/

23-01-2018, 04:16 PM

“....combines comedy, contortion and absurdism.”

Anyway, enough about the SNP cheerleaders, I wonder how the article describes Bendy Bendini.
;-)

23-01-2018, 05:01 PM
May decides to hold a Burns supper in number 10 last night, and demotes the haggis to a crispy starter. They canny even get the guest list correct.

pish up in a brewery springs to mind.

https://t.co/GGXvXZuahz

23-01-2018, 06:06 PM
The menu reads well to me, modern dishes using a lot of Scottish produce prepared by a Scottish chef. Maybe not traditional but my reaction is ultimately so what?

Worth remembering it was the Scottish Government who gave the chef in question an official title with a remit to promote Scottish ingredients.

23-01-2018, 06:10 PM
They do a haggis starter at the Longniddry Inn. Unionist bawbags.

23-01-2018, 06:14 PM

Barburrito are doing a special of haggis burritos and a can of Irn Bru as a Burns special. Conspiracy.

23-01-2018, 06:18 PM

You have done it now, expect protests at the Longniddry Inn (ignored by the BBC of course) tomorrow by outraged Nationalists.

Maybe wee dug ginger or whatever he is called can write a blog on it? Blogs always work.

23-01-2018, 06:34 PM

Haggis baws.

23-01-2018, 07:09 PM
There's tae be nae reciting ae tae a moose
In the English commons hoose
The bard may well hae had a greet
At the menu fae Downing Street
All the meat wisnae barry
Oan a rambling menu fae a chef ca'd Gary
Nae modern twists fur a laddie like me
Tradition only, tartan and twee.

23-01-2018, 07:52 PM
There's tae be nae recoting ae tae a moose

[emoji23][emoji23]

23-01-2018, 07:57 PM
There's tae be nae recoting ae tae a moose

Awa ye go, ya fearty cheil
Jist gro sum baws an mak em squeal
Or doff yer cap tae thone who keep ye
Aroond the yolk o Theresa's breastie.

A nations blood runs through yer veins
Ye wudnae think, fi yer last refrain
Thall cum a day, ye need sum help
Ye'll huv sold yer soul, fur an ermine pelt.

24-01-2018, 08:47 AM
I always source my haggis locally.

Grants tinned haggis from Iceland.

25-01-2018, 08:47 AM

Lynch mob. Now.

25-01-2018, 08:50 AM
Absolutely hate Burns suppers.

Love haggis, neeps and tatties though.

25-01-2018, 09:59 AM
Absolutely hate Burns suppers.

Love haggis, neeps and tatties though.

Yep, the sight of middle and upper class ****witts prancing around like something from a shortbread tin and breaking their tongues whilst trying to recite poetry in a language that is as alien to them as Mandarin and whose meaning is so contradictory different from their own values that it would have had Burns roaring with laughter if he was alive to witness it. The elites in our society didn't take long to dilute the message of Burns and turn him into a celebrated carnival side show, they had to because his message was dangerous to them.

25-01-2018, 11:32 AM
Yep, the sight of middle and upper class ****witts prancing around like something from a shortbread tin and breaking their tongues whilst trying to recite poetry in a language that is as alien to them as Mandarin and whose meaning is so contradictory different from their own values that it would have had Burns roaring with laughter if he was alive to witness it. The elites in our society didn't take long to dilute the message of Burns and turn him into a celebrated carnival side show, they had to because his message was dangerous to them.

Burns and hundreds of others.

The biggest sales of NWA in the US were to middle class white kids, David Cameron said his favourite song was 'The Eton Rifles', Banksy is now consumed and intellectualised by the very people he was lampooning when he painted Che Guevara on Portobello Road....

25-01-2018, 11:55 AM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/society/middle-class-english-people-acting-a-bit-scottish-20160125105612

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
25-01-2018, 02:38 PM

Thats pretty harsh.

Were all jock tamson's bairns...?

25-01-2018, 03:14 PM
Burns and hundreds of others.

The biggest sales of NWA in the US were to middle class white kids, David Cameron said his favourite song was 'The Eton Rifles', Banksy is now consumed and intellectualised by the very people he was lampooning when he painted Che Guevara on Portobello Road....

Had to google Banksy to find out who he was.
Must have been a Hibby.
Take a look at this .....

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
25-01-2018, 04:01 PM
Had to google Banksy to find out who he was.
Must have been a Hibby.
Take a look at this .....

25-01-2018, 04:04 PM
Thats pretty harsh.

Were all jock tamson's bairns...?

What's Jock Tamson's bairns got to do with it? I stand by my point that Burns would have roared with laughter at the sight of many a Burns supper.

25-01-2018, 04:40 PM
What's Jock Tamson's bairns got to do with it? I stand by my point that Burns would have roared with laughter at the sight of many a Burns supper.
He would see the parallel, I'm sure. :wink:

There sat auld Nick, in shape o' beast;
Atowzie tyke, black, grim, and large, to gie them music was his charge:
Coffins stood round, like open presses, That shaw'd the dead in their last dresses;
And by some develish cantraip slight, Each in its cauld hand held a light.--
By which heroic Tam was able To note upon the haly table,
A murders's banes in gibbet-airns; Twa span-lang, wee, unchristen'd bairns;
A thief, new-cutted frae a rape, Wi' his last gasp his gab did gape;
Five tomahawks, wi blude red-rusted; Five scymitars, wi' murder crusted;
A garter, which a babe had strangled; A knife, a father's throat had mangled,
Whom his ain son o' life bereft, The gray hairs yet stack to the heft;
Wi' mair o' horrible and awfu', Which even to name was be unlawfu'.
Three lawyers' tongues, turn'd inside out, Wi' lies seam'd like a beggar's clout;
Three priests' hearts, rotten, black as muck, Lay stinking, vile in every neuk.
Scre'd the pipes and gart them skirl, Till roof and rafters a' did dirl.

The Pointer
25-01-2018, 05:09 PM

It would have borne more of a resemblance to a night out in the Presidents Club, albeit without the black ties and penguin suits.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
25-01-2018, 06:39 PM

I would have thought hed be one of those middle class dandies, getting drunk, trying to be accepted into 'polite society' and eyeing up the waitresses...

25-01-2018, 10:05 PM
I would have thought hed be one of those middle class dandies, getting drunk, trying to be accepted into 'polite society' and eyeing up the waitresses...

Like you said in your previous reply before you edited it out "I think you've misunderstood him". :wink:

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
25-01-2018, 10:48 PM
Like you said in your previous reply before you edited it out "I think you've misunderstood him". :wink:

Maybe...!