PDA

View Full Version : Derby psychology

SirDavidsNapper
20-01-2018, 10:18 AM
Hearts haven't beaten Hibs in so long. Is that something the manager will use in his briefings to players? That no matter what Hearts do, if Hibs play to their strengths they wont beat us? If i was a manager i'd be using it as a psychological tool to get in the players heads and create that derby confidence.

NAE NOOKIE
20-01-2018, 05:40 PM
In derby matches unbeaten runs don't count for much IMO .... every one is different. Having said that there's no doubt that our players know they can go to the PBS and get a result. Since the last derby the Yams have lost Walker and will be without Laugherty, on the plus side for them will be the return of wonderkid Cochrane and the inclusion of Naismith, who in spite of talk of him being past it is a positive addition for them from a psychological POV. You then have the unknown quantity of the new guy at left back .... he cant be bad if he has a contract at Man Utd, but the derby is a far cry from the English central league north or whatever he is used to playing in.

From our POV we have a new striker the Yams will have no first hand knowledge of, Barker available to play and a striker in Oli Shaw with something to prove after being denied the winner in the last game by Mr Magoo. The unknowable is how has the Stokes saga affected the dressing room, if at all. If Stokes does play will he finally rise to the occasion in a big game? ..... If he was to it could make all the difference.

I think the psychology is evenly balanced on both sides for this one.

Vini1875
20-01-2018, 06:59 PM
I would be saying too many draws, we must show them we are better by winning, we are better so let's show it. They only try to stop us playing, because they know if they try to much us for football we will win. We're better and we have to prove it.

GreenNWhiteArmy
20-01-2018, 07:04 PM