View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 1 (Simon Murray) v Willem II 3 FT

12-01-2018, 11:54 AM
I see kick off has been delayed until 1.15pm, but team news should be up soon
Expect a strong line up to begin with

12-01-2018, 12:06 PM
Hibs team to play Willem II: Marciano, Gray, McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, McGeouch, Bartley, Slivka, McGinn, Shaw, S Murray.

Subs Bain, Dabrowski, Porteous, Fontaine, Stirling, F Murray

No Stokes??

12-01-2018, 12:09 PM
Hibs team to play Willem II: Marciano, Gray, McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, McGeouch, Bartley, Slivka, McGinn, Shaw, S Murray.

No Stokes??

No McClaren either.

12-01-2018, 12:09 PM
Why the emphasis on Stokes.No Ambrose,Boyle or Barker.

12-01-2018, 12:10 PM

No Stokes??

Stokes played on Wednesday

Why the emphasis on Stokes.No Ambrose,Boyle or Barker.

No agenda...was just first I noticed...

Stokes played on Wednesday

Cheers...

12-01-2018, 12:12 PM
That team looks terrible. Lennon’s 4 hour absence having a catastrophic effect on the mighty Hibs already.

w pilton hibby
12-01-2018, 12:12 PM

No Stokes??

Two keepers on the bench?

12-01-2018, 12:13 PM
No agenda...was just first I noticed...
Didn’t mean to sound accusatory.

12-01-2018, 12:15 PM
Great to see Gray starting....could do with him back fully fit

Green Badger
12-01-2018, 12:38 PM
Great to see Gray starting....could do with him back fully fit

Agreed, a fully fit David Gray back to form would be great. Fingers crossed.

rodhibs55
12-01-2018, 12:41 PM
Agreed, a fully fit David Gray back to form would be great. Fingers crossed.

Will you please refer to him by his correct title - Sir David

12-01-2018, 12:44 PM
Diamond in midfield? Stange line up, but it's all about the the fitness!

12-01-2018, 12:50 PM
I heard that MacLaren, Stokes, Barker & Boyle went out on the skite as soon as Neil Lennon got the taxi to the airport and ended up paggering with some Hibs boys in a local brothel over the loyalty scheme issue. Apparently the club couldn't make bail as Simon Murray's move to Turkey hasn't gone through on time.

12-01-2018, 12:53 PM
Is Efe injured?

12-01-2018, 12:55 PM
I heard that MacLaren, Stokes, Barker & Boyle went out on the skite as soon as Neil Lennon got the taxi to the airport and ended up paggering with some Hibs boys in a local brothel over the loyalty scheme issue. Apparently the club couldn't make bail as Simon Murray's move to Turkey hasn't gone through on time.

You do know this will now be confirmed as true over on sickbag or whatever it is called.

12-01-2018, 12:55 PM
Is Efe injured?

Apparently he was at a Nigerian Celtc supporters' do in Abuja last night and missed his flight back this morning.

hibbie02
12-01-2018, 12:56 PM

12-01-2018, 01:09 PM
Lennon there yet? 😂

12-01-2018, 01:12 PM
Apparently he was at a Nigerian Celtc supporters' do in Abuja last night and missed his flight back this morning.

12-01-2018, 01:16 PM

Heard Bain was there too.

12-01-2018, 01:21 PM
I thought Maclaren would be a cert for getting a run out today.

12-01-2018, 01:23 PM

My ITK buddy, who is stuck in the year 2001, tells me the party was run by Russel Latapy, with Dwight Yorke, Brian Lara and Katie Price/Jordan :cb

woodyhfc4892
12-01-2018, 01:27 PM
Gray off injured already apparently

Off the bar
12-01-2018, 01:27 PM
Hibernian FC‏Verified account @HibsOfficial (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) 22s22 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/951807689490862086)

10’ | #HIBS (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HIBS?src=hash) 0-0 TWE David Gray is subbed off for Ryan Porteous after going down off the ball. Worrying for the Hibs skipper.

ooft just what we didn't need

12-01-2018, 01:31 PM
We badly need a right back.

12-01-2018, 01:32 PM
Hibernian FC‏Verified account @HibsOfficial (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) 22s22 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/951807689490862086)

10’ | #HIBS (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HIBS?src=hash) 0-0 TWE David Gray is subbed off for Ryan Porteous after going down off the ball. Worrying for the Hibs skipper.

ooft just what we didn't need

Seems like there was no-onenear him either.

https://twitter.com/CCP_sport/status/951808249212358657

Still, I've had a hunch for a while that Porteous would step in. Dangerous going forward from set pieces, and solid (if sometimes over zealous) at the back. A star in the making..

12-01-2018, 01:33 PM
Nightmare Gray injured again.

12-01-2018, 01:33 PM
Is Willem II not just another name for King Billy?

12-01-2018, 01:35 PM
This is a nightmare we seriously need to look at getting a right back in on loan...

Sad news for SDG

12-01-2018, 01:36 PM

Not sure who the fitba team is named after, but this Willem II was King Billy's Dad:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_II,_Prince_of_Orange

This one was Dutch king in Victorian times:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_II_of_the_Netherlands

Edit: it's the 2nd one.

12-01-2018, 01:38 PM
Not sure who the fitba team is named after, but this Willem II was King Billy's Dad:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_II,_Prince_of_Orange

This one was Dutch king in Victorian times:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_II_of_the_Netherlands

It is the Victorian one that the Club is named after. Both were William of Orange.

12-01-2018, 01:40 PM
This is a nightmare we seriously need to look at getting a right back in on loan...

Sad news for SDG

Why not permanent?

12-01-2018, 01:41 PM
Not good that Gray appears to be injured again. Especially with Whittaker nowhere to be seen.

12-01-2018, 01:44 PM
Why not permanent?

We already have two contracted.

Despite their injury problems I don't think we will do a permanent deal at this time of the season.

12-01-2018, 01:50 PM

No Stokes??

Or Swanson.

12-01-2018, 02:00 PM
We don’t know how serious the injury is so let’s not jump to conclusions.

Hope he’s ok as we’re only another injury away from a crisis in that position.

Souter96Mac
12-01-2018, 02:03 PM
Diarra could do a job at right back

andrew70
12-01-2018, 02:04 PM

Depends, think we are better with 3 at the back anyway.

Boyle can play RWB

12-01-2018, 02:06 PM
Murray has a goal chalked off for offside (it was Shaw who was offside before you all start...:na na:)
Then Shaw & Murray (and Murray again) have efforts cleared off the line
Half time nil nil

12-01-2018, 02:09 PM
Murray and Shaw linking up very well according to people at the game.

12-01-2018, 02:09 PM
Where are the periscope broadcasters when you need them?

12-01-2018, 02:10 PM

I wouldn't panic. We have SDG, Whittaker, Efe & Porteous who can play right back or switch to a back 3 & play Boyle as a WB. We're a fair bit away from a crisis.

Ireallywasthere
12-01-2018, 02:10 PM

Looked bad, probably be out for a good few weeks

12-01-2018, 02:14 PM
I wouldn't panic. We have SDG, Whittaker, Efe & Porteous who can play right back or switch to a back 3 & play Boyle as a WB. We're a fair bit away from a crisis.

SDG and Whitty haven't been fit this season. So we have NO fit RB.

12-01-2018, 02:16 PM

That would only leave us with Efe and Porteus if we want to play four at the back.

I would feel a bit nervous going into the derby with three at the back and Boyle as he’s more about attacking than defending.

Point taken though and I’ll worry about it when it happens.

12-01-2018, 02:18 PM
Who is the development teams right back at the minute?

12-01-2018, 02:20 PM
McGregor can also play there.

I'd quite like to see a back 4 of Hanlon - Porteous - McGregor - Ambrose.

Or chuck Fonts in for Porteous.

Souter96Mac
12-01-2018, 02:20 PM
Bit unfair Willem have a two goal headstart..

12-01-2018, 02:22 PM
1-0 Hibs. Murray

1 0 Simon murray

Maybe HeartsNil should've thought of a better name.

12-01-2018, 02:23 PM

I made it eleven. Thank **** for that.

12-01-2018, 02:23 PM
SDG and Whitty haven't been fit this season. So we have NO fit RB.

McGregor's played RB many times before so that's another option. The fact is though with the formations most team's play nowadays you rarely need a specialist right back. We're usually up against 1 forward, which is why IMO we often have plenty possession playing with a back 4 but don't know what to do with it against a packed midfield & defence. I could see us going for a utility player who could fill in at RB, doubt we'll spend money on a one position player.

12-01-2018, 02:25 PM
Who is the development teams right back at the minute?

Callum Donaldson, only 18, and out on loan
The New Zealand lad we signed, is out injured for the season

12-01-2018, 02:25 PM
McGregor's played RB many times before so that's another option. The fact is though with the formations most team's play nowadays you rarely need a specialist right back. We're usually up against 1 forward, which is why IMO we often have plenty possession playing with a back 4 but don't know what to do with it against a packed midfield & defence. I could see us going for a utility player who could fill in at RB, doubt we'll spend money on a one position player.

Especially if porteous slots in and we décidé we had the solution all along

Firestarter
12-01-2018, 02:26 PM

We do need an actual proper right back. It has been a massive weakness this season. It's not good having Daz or Ambrose filling out there, it's not their positions and if shows when they play.

Off the bar
12-01-2018, 02:27 PM
description of the goal

47' | #HIBS (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HIBS?src=hash) 1-0 WIL McGeouch finds McGinn with a fantastic cross ball, and his first time cutback is fired home from Murray!

12-01-2018, 02:29 PM
What a player Simon Murray is.

12-01-2018, 02:31 PM

Just added to his value :hmmm:

12-01-2018, 02:33 PM
Just added to his value :hmmm:

you cannot add to priceless.....

12-01-2018, 02:34 PM
Has things to learn and I hope he learns it all with Hibs.

12-01-2018, 02:34 PM
We do need an actual proper right back. It has been a massive weakness this season. It's not good having Daz or Ambrose filling out there, it's not their positions and if shows when they play.

In what way has it been "a massive weakness"?. Apart from the Aberdeen fiasco I don't recall any opposition running riot down the left wing, scoring or providing goals from that position. It's a genuine question.

12-01-2018, 02:36 PM
In what way has it been "a massive weakness"?. Apart from the Aberdeen fiasco I don't recall any opposition running riot down the left wing, scoring or providing goals from that position. It's a genuine question.

Cough! Hamilton?

12-01-2018, 02:38 PM
See Hearts are maintaining their fantastic disciplinary record, two yellow cards already in their "friendly"

Firestarter
12-01-2018, 02:39 PM

There's been various games this season people have ripped into Whittaker. Ambrose is also a complete bombscare there and now people are suggesting moving Daz there. We are weak in that area at the moment. That weak Whits was playing there whilst injured and natural centre halfs have been asked to play there. If David Gray is injured we need cover in that area from a proper RB.

Aim Here
See Hearts are maintaining their fantastic disciplinary record, two yellow cards already in their "friendly"

Just two yellows IS friendly, by Hearts standards.

Clean sheet record gone too. :greengrin

who they playing?

12-01-2018, 02:41 PM
who they playing?

Vittese

who they playing?

Vitesse.

Vitesse

Edit: if you look at that name enough it stops looking like a word.

1-1 Hibs

Don't you just love him, never gives up and scores goals. I like the description of this one. :agree:

Off the bar
12-01-2018, 02:42 PM
Simon Murray and Darren McGregor come off for Deivydas Matulevicius and Ben Stirling. Ben slots into right back with Ryan Porteous moving to centre half.

When was the last time our RB got up to put in a decent cross , cut back? No matter what it would be foolish to keep going without a proper RB.

Souter96Mac
So it's now Hibs 1 Willem III? Ffs hibs

12-01-2018, 02:43 PM
Big Dave getting a dbl.

Off the bar
12-01-2018, 02:44 PM
Liam Fontaine replaces Paul Hanlon.

12-01-2018, 02:44 PM
There's been various games this season people have ripped into Whittaker. Ambrose is also a complete bombscare there and now people are suggesting moving Daz there. We are weak in that area at the moment. That weak Whits was playing there whilst injured and natural centre halfs have been asked to play there. If David Gray is injured we need cover in that area from a proper RB.

Ambrose is anything but a bombscare at full back. Quite comfortable whenever I’ve seen him there.

12-01-2018, 02:45 PM
What’s going on?

Is it 1-1, 1-3 or still 1-0?

Eaststand
Murray has a goal chalked off for offside (it was Shaw who was offside before you all start...:na na:)
Then Shaw & Murray (and Murray again) have efforts cleared off the line
Half time nil nil

Roughly how many Hibbies on the crowd bud ?

Ambrose is a better right back than Gray imo.

12-01-2018, 02:46 PM

Thats just silly.

12-01-2018, 02:46 PM
What’s going on?

Is it 1-1, 1-3 or still 1-0?

Unfortunately its 1-1

12-01-2018, 02:48 PM
Ambrose is anything but a bombscare at full back. Quite comfortable whenever I’ve seen him there.

He'd be comfortable on the ball in any part of the pitch, he's cool as ****. I'd no go so far as to call him a bombscare at full back, but he's not the best positionally when he's played out there.

12-01-2018, 02:49 PM

Aye maybe on Fifa for the Playstation, no in real life though.

12-01-2018, 02:49 PM
1-2 now

12-01-2018, 02:50 PM
Hibs 1 Willem2 2

12-01-2018, 02:51 PM
This is because Lennon isn't there

I’m a big fan of Efe at right back.

Efe has been one of our best players this season except for Aberdeen Away.

When was the last time our RB got up to put in a decent cross , cut back? No matter what it would be foolish to keep going without a proper RB.

There's a big difference between our full back not being enough attack minded, which I agree is not great, & our full back being a massive weakness. I was looking at it from the defensive perspective which I'm sure is what the OP intended. We will miss SDG there's no doubt but I'm not sure there will be many options available to replace him.

1-3

1-3

Clerie Green

No your thinking of FKB I

12-01-2018, 02:52 PM

Lennon out.

It is now :greengrin

It is now

12-01-2018, 02:53 PM
TO be fair, looks like it was a decent workout and all the subs have killed us a bit.

12-01-2018, 02:53 PM

Of course it is

12-01-2018, 02:54 PM
TO be fair, looks like it was a decent workout and all the subs have killed us a bit.

Thats basically our reserve team now.

My thoughts as well

Ambrose is not a right back. He does look comfortable trapped up against the line in possession. He like to be able to go either way and he can’t do that out wide.
We need a proper right back. Gray is struggling to keep himself fit and Whittaker is getting skinned every time he plays there.

hibbie02
Substitutions working out well I see!

12-01-2018, 02:55 PM
I long for the day this Hibs team doesn't leak goals like a sieve.

Our goals against record this season is pitiful

12-01-2018, 02:56 PM

You realise we conceded 3 goals pretty quick after making about 5 subs?

Firestarter
12-01-2018, 02:57 PM

Aberdeen, his last match there in the first half he was anything but comfortable as he's not been in other matches either. Centre half, yes. Right back maybe in the championship.

12-01-2018, 02:58 PM

Our goals against record this season is pitifulcalm doon it's a bloo#y friendly And we made about 5 subs in 5 mins

tartanhibee
Lucky we never played their first team

No it isn't but don't let that stop you making stuff up.

hibbie02

You mean like last season where we had the best defensive record in Europe about half way through the season?

12-01-2018, 02:59 PM

We've conceded three goals more than the team in 2nd, two more than Rangers in 3rd, and have the 5th best defence in the league - so you're being way over the top, really.

Souter96Mac
oops. looks like I jinxed it! Sorry

Lucky they never played ours.

Gordy M

They werent doing too hot against our first team before the subs??

12-01-2018, 03:00 PM
Aberdeen, his last match there in the first half he was anything but comfortable as he's not been in other matches either. Centre half, yes. Right back maybe in the championship.He played right back in derby so Aberdeen away wasnt his last at RB mate.

12-01-2018, 03:00 PM
Of course it is
https://imgur.com/download/mLlXl2H

12-01-2018, 03:01 PM
They werent doing too hot against our first team before the subs??No even our 1st team really missing at least 4 in Stokes, Barker, Boyle and Ambrose add Gray to that after 10 mins

He played right back in derby so Aberdeen away wasnt his last at RB mate.

Played there against Killiie as well and looked ok unless I’m imagining things.

tartanhibee
It was a play on their name tbh I’ll get my coat.

12-01-2018, 03:02 PM

Without seeing the game we were 1-0 up without our first team

We put on a load of youth players as subs

It’s annoying to lose any game but that’s the point of a friendly

12-01-2018, 03:02 PM
Played there against Killiie as well and looked ok unless I’m imagining things.So he did mate I couldn't remember if he had or we were a back 3

12-01-2018, 03:03 PM
It was a play on their name tbh I’ll get my coat.

HibernianJK
12-01-2018, 03:04 PM
Sorry but just don’t get the point of the winter break. It’s bascially a free week before a normal week of training then a difficult game on the Saturday?

We've conceded three goals more than the team in 2nd, two more than Rangers in 3rd, and have the 5th best defence in the league - so you're being way over the top, really.

Maybe or maybe those teams defensive records are utter pap also. Which they are.

Maybe a more telling comparison would be against Celtic?

With the amount of possession we have most games, we should have better than the 5th best record.

We never look like keeping a clean sheet and have given away loads of cheap cheap goals

If we were losing goals to worldies, then fair enough.

IMO many of the goals we lose are avoidable and many of these borne out of defensive errors

Thats just silly.

Yeah so silly that Ambrose played there last season when Gray was dropped. Gray has been poor for a year or so now, Ambrose is better.

12-01-2018, 03:06 PM
Maybe or maybe those teams defensive records are utter pap also. Which they are.

We never look like keeping a clean sheet and have given away loads of cheap cheap goals

IMO many of the goals we lose are avoidable and many of these borne out of defensive errors

Apart from the ten games in which we have?

12-01-2018, 03:06 PM

With the amount of possession we have most games, we should have better than the 5th best record.

IMO many of the goals we lose are avoidable and many of these borne out of defensive errorsU do realise u r comparing us with Celtic right?? Hardly a fair comparison. Oh and we kept a clean sheet at Tiny Tynie in our 2nd last game before break

12-01-2018, 03:08 PM
Apart from the ten games in which we have?

Really

10 league games?

or

How many league games and how many cup games against lower league teams?

if its 10 league games I am wrong and happy to admit it.

But you cant tell me that we haven't given away far more bad goals than we ought to have?

Firestarter
12-01-2018, 03:10 PM
Played there against Killiie as well and looked ok unless I’m imagining things.

Was three at the back against Killie. He did have a nice header in that game though and a decent run in the first half if I remember right.

12-01-2018, 03:12 PM
Really

10 league games?

or

How many league games and how many cup games against lower league teams?

if its 10 league games I am wrong and happy to admit it.

But you cant tell me that we haven't given away far more bad goals than we ought to have?

Five in each tournament. You might find it helpful to know these things before criticising the lack of them. At one point we kept three clean sheets in a week.

Most goals that every team concedes are bad goals, and we are no different. Your criticism is way over the top though.

EDIT: I forgot that Arbroath scored against us, so four in the league cup:duck:

12-01-2018, 03:12 PM
U do realise u r comparing us with Celtic right?? Hardly a fair comparison. Oh and we kept a clean sheet at Tiny Tynie in our 2nd last game before break

Why is it not a fair comparison?

If that's what we aspire to be then it is entirely relevant.

I don't expect us to beat it or match it but it shows how far we are away

Its difficult to concede if they don't have a shot on target, but I accept that could be because the defence did their job.

How many shots period did they manage? Should we be afraid of this free scoring Hearts team who have bombarded their opponents goal relentlessly all season?

I don't ****ing think so!

MikeyS
12-01-2018, 03:14 PM
Aberdeen, his last match there in the first half he was anything but comfortable as he's not been in other matches either. Centre half, yes. Right back maybe in the championship.

thought he struggled getting forward against sevco too. He just doesn’t look natural running with the ball. Solid enough defensively but he’s just not suited to the attacking side we require from full backs nowadays.

ive only seen the lad a few times but the Dundee rb looks a player; Kerr I think he’s called. No sure of his situation though.

12-01-2018, 03:16 PM

Its difficult to concede if they don't have a shot on target, but I accept that could be because the defence did their job.

How many shots period did they manage? Should we be afraid of this free scoring Hearts team who have bombarded their opponents goal relentlessly all season?

I don't ****ing think so!Away and have a sit down in a darkened room mate...u getting yourself into a bit of a state over very little

HibernianJK
12-01-2018, 03:17 PM

Why the **** would Celtic be a better comparison? We are first season back in the PL but let’s assess ourselves against a team miles a head quality wise and monetary wise.

12-01-2018, 03:21 PM
Five in each tournament. You might find it helpful to know these things before criticising the lack of them. At one point we kept three clean sheets in a week.

Most goals that every team concedes are bad goals, and we are no different. Your criticism is way over the top though.

Thanks for that info

I apologise for not having that info, but its not something I carry around with me or If I am honest can be bothered checking up.

I still think we lose far too many goals and I would hazard a guess that that run you speak of was many weeks ago.

I think our defensive performance has deteriorated markedly as the season has gone on.

I don't agree that most goals a team concedes are necessarily bad goals for a defence and would have no problem as I said if they were worldies and unavoidable.

I think many of the goals we concede are eminently avoidable and there have been some very poor goals amongst them.

Coupled with a team that doesn't score enough from its possession and a midfield almost devoid of goals it is a toxic mix and the poor goals conceded are as much a reason why we aren't further up the table as the lack of gaols bemoaned by many

The Leith Dutch
12-01-2018, 03:28 PM

I don't ****ing think so!

I think the point is with reference to you calling our defence "pitiful".
Not matching a team conceding significantly less than a goal a game and conceding a little over a goal a game ourselves isn't pitiful.

Sure most would agree that we'd all like a better defence but it's far from pitiful - we get punished hard in terms of goals scored against us per chance and that costs us points due to not scoring enough goals.

Also think it's not where our attentions should be focussed - to concede significantly fewer goals would require either defenders of a calibre we can't afford or to set the team up defensively and even then I'm not convinced we'd see a major improvement. What we need to do is increase our own goals tally given the chances we have.

12-01-2018, 03:53 PM
for mr Hibs were the better team in the first Half. Was impressed by getting bodies into the box but then again we never scored on chances made. Second half Hibs doing good until the substitutions and then the Dutch where back into it. Though the did make one or two chances for a goal in the period up to substitutions.

For me man of the match was between Big Marv and Dylan, both looked good composed and strong in the tackle. Slivka was good on the right and looked like he was a new signing with a point to prove.

However their number 14 is a player, if Dylan does go and Hibs could afford him I’d certainly see him being a hit at Easter Road without a doubt, if we could sign him. Composed passes the ball forward then is actually trying to run past his on player to get ball back.
Did the simple and easy things without any bother and did the harder things too. Don’t know his name or price bracket but think this player would go on to have a very good career in the uk. Disclaimer yes it’s only a friendly and would need to be assessed against harder challenges etc but he’d do well I think. Also he’s not the tallest but he plays football on the deck which is a good trait in my book.

12-01-2018, 04:08 PM
They average about 12k at their games and will have access to more tv money than us so doubtful we can prize anyone away from them.

12-01-2018, 04:08 PM
None of Boyle, Barker, McLaren and Swanson have had a kick in either of the two friendlies which I find a bit strange, especially with Swanson needing game time and McLaren not having kicked a ball in anger for months. Unless we have arranged a bounce game for next week I cant believe NL will play McLaren from the start in the derby without 90 minutes under his belt.

Nice to see Simon Murray get a goal though.

12-01-2018, 04:18 PM
We are poor at the back and have been for weeks now.

We also don’t create and score enough. That’s why the wind dried up before the break and why we won’t win many unless it’s sorted quickly.

Hearts don’t concede many so it’s worrying for next week.

The Leith Dutch
12-01-2018, 04:20 PM
None of Boyle, Barker, McLaren and Swanson have had a kick in either of the two friendlies which I find a bit strange, especially with Swanson needing game time and McLaren not having kicked a ball in anger for months. Unless we have arranged a bounce game for next week I cant believe NL will play McLaren from the start in the derby without 90 minutes under his belt.

Totally agree.

It's quite interesting reading the Naismith thread (definitely won't be match fit for the derby as hasn't played for months) versus the McLaren thread where people have him straight in the Hibs team ;)

Totally with you on thinking it's strange that neither Swanson or McLaren got a run out - not been following but is McLaren with them in Portugal?

12-01-2018, 04:49 PM

We also don’t create and score enough. That’s why the wind dried up before the break and why we won’t win many unless it’s sorted quickly.

Not bad for a team sitting 4th

Some folks expectations for our first season back up are unreal.

12-01-2018, 05:00 PM

"We don't create or score enough". We do create enough, it's just we don't have someone up top who's putting the chances away which is why MaClaren was signed.

hearts conceded to us last month and conceded today. They're not juventus ffs

12-01-2018, 05:08 PM
Why did Maclaren get no game time ?

12-01-2018, 05:09 PM
Why did Maclaren get no game time ?

Slight knock apparently.

12-01-2018, 05:10 PM
Not bad for a team sitting 4th

Some folks expectations for our first season back up are unreal.

Its not so much even how many you score or how many you concede, its how they match up to the games you've played. Having a look at Bundesliga 2 when we signed McLaren the goals for and against for about 70% of the league is pretty close, Darmstadt's match up pretty well compared to over half the league and yet they are 3rd bottom.

Look at Motherwell, they are 10 points behind us with a game in hand, but they have only scored 5 less and conceded 3 more which isn't a huge margin over 20 and 21 games respectively.

12-01-2018, 05:10 PM
Slight knock apparently.

12-01-2018, 05:12 PM
Its not so much even how many you score or how many you concede, its how they match up to the games you've played. Having a look at Bundesliga 2 when we signed McLaren the goals for and against for about 70% of the league is pretty close, Darmstadt's match up pretty well compared to over half the league and yet they are 3rd bottom.

Look at Motherwell, they are 10 points behind us with a game in hand, but they have only scored 5 less and conceded 3 more which isn't a huge margin over 20 and 21 games respectively.

So are you agreeing or disagreeing with me? 😂😂

12-01-2018, 05:14 PM
You do know this will now be confirmed as true over on sickbag or whatever it is called.https://www.facebook.com/groups/442071502471897/permalink/1752651268080574/

12-01-2018, 05:29 PM
Were pitiful at the back and dont score nearly enough goals. Relegation fodder right?

12-01-2018, 05:31 PM
Were pitiful at the back and dont score nearly enough goals. Relegation fodder right?
Aye and it's Petrie's fault anaw........:grr:

12-01-2018, 05:32 PM
Slight knock apparently.

It's traditional, anyone we sign in the January transfer window is either not match fit, already injured, or will suffer an early injury.

See you in May.

12-01-2018, 05:56 PM

McLaren played in the second half of the first game.

13-01-2018, 02:02 PM
McLaren played in the second half of the first game.

I stand corrected if that's the case. How come he didn't score :confused:

13-01-2018, 03:43 PM

Not sure if you are joking but Lennon was at the game

13-01-2018, 10:20 PM
How many Hibs fans made the trip?
Seen some good pics on twitter, even a little exuberance.