View Full Version : Trial players who have gone on to be a success

09-01-2018, 02:03 PM
I used to get a bit excited when I heard that Hibs had a mystery player on trial.

After years of disappointment either because nothing comes of the trial or because even if the player is signed, they turn out to be mediocre at best.

Apart from Russell Latapy who was one of the finest players I've ever seen in a Hibs shirt, I can't readily remember any other trialists who became important to the first team.

I'm happy to accept that may be more to do with my memory than the trial system, but have there been many other successful trialists?

09-01-2018, 02:03 PM
I used to get a bit excited when I heard that Hibs had a mystery player on trial.

After years of disappointment either because nothing comes of the trial or because even if the player is signed, they turn out to be mediocre at best.

Apart from Russell Latapy who was one of the finest players I've ever seen in a Hibs shirt, I can't readily remember any other trialists who became important to the first team.

I'm happy to accept that may be more to do with my memory than the trial system, but have there been many others?

Boozy

09-01-2018, 02:12 PM
Boozy

Good one.

That was Tony Mowbray who also signed David Murphy after trial.

This is good for the memory :greengrin

09-01-2018, 02:14 PM
Tam Mcmanus did a good blog about trials. Was quite interesting and seeing it from a players perspective it really isn’t a good way of finding players.

Chip shop Joe
09-01-2018, 02:16 PM
Leigh Wisnae bad!

sauzee=legend
09-01-2018, 02:17 PM
Gary O’connor Has always done well after a trial..... a trial in court 😂

09-01-2018, 02:25 PM
Leigh Wisnae bad!

He was never a Hibs trialists, was he?

I thought we got him on loan from Wolves and he went straight into the team. :confused:

09-01-2018, 02:36 PM
Ally McLeod.

... And Ivan Sproule.

MacGruber
09-01-2018, 02:49 PM
Latapy

09-01-2018, 02:54 PM
Ally McLeod.

... And Ivan Sproule.

Ivan Sproule definitely, well remembered, but are you sure AM was a trialist?

I thought he was a super player, but although he was out injured for ages at the start of his time with us, I thought Turnbull signed him directly from Southampton.

Isak Refvic was on trial along with his countryman Svein Mathison. Refvic was the most successful at Hibs but Mathison could play football.

09-01-2018, 02:55 PM
Latapy

Did you read the OP?

No need to answer that :wink:

09-01-2018, 02:56 PM
Philippe Morais was also on trial

09-01-2018, 02:57 PM
Franck sauzee surely?

09-01-2018, 02:57 PM
Philippe Morais was also on trial

Was he a success at Hibs?

09-01-2018, 02:58 PM
As difficult as it is to imagine now, but didn’t The Murph look poor on his debut as a trialist?

One of my all time favourite players.

09-01-2018, 02:59 PM
Was Russell Latapy not a trialist?

09-01-2018, 03:00 PM
Was Russell Latapy not a trialist?

Did you read the OP?

No need to answer that :wink: (mark II)

09-01-2018, 03:04 PM
I remember when Hibs played Malcolm Robertson as A. Trialist against Dundee at ER, much to the bemusement of the crowd. He went on to play something like 5 games for us.

09-01-2018, 03:05 PM
How about Ronnie Rosenthal? Trialist at Hibs success in the first team at Liverpool. I'm probably the only person here who actually witnessed his trial but that's another story...

09-01-2018, 03:18 PM
Ivan Sproule definitely, well remembered, but are you sure AM was a trialist?

I thought he was a super player, but although he was out injured for ages at the start of his time with us, I thought Turnbull signed him directly from Southampton.

Isak Refvic was on trial along with his countryman Svein Mathison. Refvic was the most successful at Hibs but Mathison could play football.

McLeod definitely was. Unless our own John Campbells book, In Colours Green and White, is talking pish (sacrilege?...) Dec 1982 vs Dundee reserves.

09-01-2018, 03:23 PM
He never signed for us but pretty sure Mark Kerr (now Falkirk, ex Dundee Utd, Aberdeen, Dunfermline) played a pre-season game as a trialist for us. Think it was just before he eventually signed for Utd. cant recall dates though.

09-01-2018, 03:29 PM
Kevin Harper? ( Though not sure he was on trial first).

09-01-2018, 03:32 PM
McLeod definitely was. Unless our own John Campbells book, In Colours Green and White, is talking pish (sacrilege?...) Dec 1982 vs Dundee reserves.

It’s true, he played a reserve game as a trialist to prove his fitness I reckon. Info came from a Hibs programme at the time. Ally went on to be a cracking signing for Hibs 👍

09-01-2018, 03:33 PM

Nice one.

09-01-2018, 03:43 PM
It’s true, he played a reserve game as a trialist to prove his fitness I reckon. Info came from a Hibs programme at the time. Ally went on to be a cracking signing for Hibs 👍

See, your books get read:wink:

hibee316
09-01-2018, 03:44 PM
Russell Latapy.

09-01-2018, 03:45 PM
See, your books get read:wink:

I know and I’m grateful for that :faf:

09-01-2018, 04:02 PM
Didn't Ian Murray come to ER & knock on the door asking for a trial, after having been released by Arabs?

09-01-2018, 04:08 PM
Lussell Ratapy

09-01-2018, 04:29 PM
I know and I’m grateful for that :faf:

I enjoyed your books JB

Pity the last one never made it to print as I was looking forward to it

Who retains rights to manuscript?

I would be prepared to buy a copy of manuscript from you for price of book

Craigmount Hibs
09-01-2018, 04:42 PM
Didier Agathe. Our mistake was playing him in the first team when he was on a 3 month trial....

hibbycraig
09-01-2018, 04:47 PM
Can't believe noone has mentioned Russel latapy yet.

09-01-2018, 04:48 PM
Can't believe noone has mentioned Russel latapy yet.
You mean apart from the OP and McGruber?

09-01-2018, 04:52 PM
Also I don't think anyone's mentioned Latapy.

09-01-2018, 04:52 PM
You mean apart from the OP and McGruber?

I don't think the OP was ever on trial at Hibs, were you Radge? :confused: Not sure about McGruber, but I think Latapy might have been. :wink:

09-01-2018, 04:55 PM

Ally was a real class act although many Hibs fans will beg to differ!

jst1875
09-01-2018, 05:00 PM
zemmama ?

09-01-2018, 05:07 PM
zemmama ?

Latapy?

09-01-2018, 05:12 PM
Can anyone tell me the name of the wee fud who let the Club down so badly when he went out on the piss with Dwight Yorke only a few hours before a game. I believe he was suspended by the Club and subsequently missed a Cup Final or something?

Can't quite place him at the moment but I think he was a trialist?

09-01-2018, 05:15 PM

I would say he was, and he’s still playing at a decent level

CropleyisGod
09-01-2018, 05:17 PM

Ally was a real class act although many Hibs fans will beg to differ!

Super Ally was one of my heroes. Best memory: midweek game circa 1977(?) vs The **** at Tinycastle, delayed New Year’s Day game. He was just back from injury (would have missed the original) and did his usual ‘hiding’ act. They pummelled is for 85 minutes (or so it seemed like). Ally finally decided to play. Picked up ball about 25-30 yards out and smashed into the roof of the net :-))

09-01-2018, 05:18 PM
That wee guy who scored an absolute cracker versus Hearts when we thumped them 6-2.

IlDiavola
09-01-2018, 05:18 PM
Latapy?

09-01-2018, 05:25 PM
Abdessalam Benjelloun trained with Hibs for several weeks during the early part of 2006, while Hibs assessed whether to sign him from his hometown club Maghreb Fez.

I think Latapy was a trialist as well

IlDiavola
09-01-2018, 05:27 PM
Abdessalam Benjelloun trained with Hibs for several weeks during the early part of 2006, while Hibs assessed whether to sign him from his hometown club Maghreb Fez.

I think Latapy was a trialist as well

Forgot about him.

09-01-2018, 05:31 PM
Claros was a trialist. We weren’t successful as a club then, obviously, but he was a good player.

Wee Effen Bee
09-01-2018, 05:52 PM
Is everyone forgetting Russell Latapy? 10 mins at Brechin before McLeish pulled him off and then offered him a contract. Obviously we couldn’t afford a signing on fee at the time.🙀

09-01-2018, 05:55 PM
I don't think the OP was ever on trial at Hibs, were you Radge? :confused: Not sure about McGruber, but I think Latapy might have been. :wink:

I got lifted a couple of times but never went to trial.

09-01-2018, 06:01 PM
Is everyone forgetting Russell Latapy? 10 mins at Brechin before McLeish pulled him off and then offered him a contract. Obviously we couldn’t afford a signing on fee at the time.🙀

No wonder he signed most players just get a drink

09-01-2018, 06:03 PM

I so want to be accepted in the dotnet clique that I'll even join in when folk are ripping the pish out of me! :greengrin

IlDiavola
09-01-2018, 06:05 PM

:dummytit: :dizzy:

IlDiavola
09-01-2018, 06:06 PM

Good shout.

The forgotten man.

09-01-2018, 06:09 PM
David Murphy. One of the best Hibs left backs I’ve seen.

BonnieFitbaTeam
09-01-2018, 06:13 PM
Boozy

What's he doing now?

09-01-2018, 06:43 PM
Claros was a trialist. We weren’t successful as a club then, obviously, but he was a good player.Was he?

He signed on loan and played a week later, don't think he was ever on trial.

09-01-2018, 06:46 PM
Was he?

He signed on loan and played a week later, don't think he was ever on trial.

Was on trial at Rangers I think before we got him.

greenlad
09-01-2018, 06:48 PM
One of Stubbs first preseason games was midweek away to Dunfermline, 2 right backs playing as trialist. Sure the first one was some guy from Cardiff who I thought looked the part.

http://www.dafc.co.uk/fixture.php?SID=&D=2014-07-15&ID=790

His replacement was some guy Gray who'd been kicking around at Burton Albion. I thought he looked sluggish,unfit and uninspiring.

Which proves what I know.....

09-01-2018, 06:48 PM
What's he doing now?

The last I heard he was 1st team coach at Hamilton.

09-01-2018, 06:50 PM

Sure is

Clarence
09-01-2018, 08:51 PM
Did we not have one of Dwight Yorke's pals on trial once?

09-01-2018, 09:30 PM
Oh my sides! I need to have a health break from the sparkling wit on this thread.

jane_says
09-01-2018, 09:44 PM
Boozy

Is the story about Mowbray hooking him at half time in his trial true? So nobody could pinch him? Heard it a few times and always wondered.
Was one of my favourite ever players, the unbeatable derby and ibrox win were particular highlights

09-01-2018, 09:46 PM
Is the story about Mowbray hooking him at half time in his trial true? So nobody could pinch him? Heard it a few times and always wondered.
Was one of my favourite ever players, the unbeatable derby and ibrox win were particular highlights

Haven’t heard that story, but possibly true if Mowbray wanted him signed up before anyone else could nab him
Fantastic talent, sadly career ended too early for our liking

09-01-2018, 10:50 PM

We had half the T&T national team at one time.

09-01-2018, 10:54 PM

The story's true but was long before Mowbray, was McLeish.

09-01-2018, 11:07 PM
The story's true but was long before Mowbray, was McLeish.

Back to yer bed. You're getting your Boozys and your Latapdancers mixed up.

09-01-2018, 11:11 PM
Latapy was on trial right?

DickieDastardly
09-01-2018, 11:13 PM
How about Ronnie Rosenthal? Trialist at Hibs success in the first team at Liverpool. I'm probably the only person here who actually witnessed his trial but that's another story...
Damn, I was going to mention him, scored a hatrick did he not?

09-01-2018, 11:16 PM
Haven’t heard that story, but possibly true if Mowbray wanted him signed up before anyone else could nab him
Fantastic talent, sadly career ended too early for our liking

"Like finding a diamond in the sand" said Mowbray at the time. How true was that?

10-01-2018, 08:14 AM
Think Stuart Lovell was on trail to prove fitness after a bad injury with reading. Always liked him as a player.

10-01-2018, 10:28 AM
Think Stuart Lovell was on trail to prove fitness after a bad injury with reading. Always liked him as a player.

A book fell on his foot? :dunno: :wink:

BonnieFitbaTeam
10-01-2018, 01:31 PM

Cool, ta.

I met a French football agent at a 'do' on Hogmanay and he was asking, so now I can tell him :aok:

pentlando
10-01-2018, 01:36 PM
Didier Agathe did that well on his month long Hibs trial that we never seen him again.

10-01-2018, 02:26 PM
A book fell on his foot? :dunno: :wink:

🤓🤓

proud_and_green
10-01-2018, 02:37 PM
Was Mixu not technically a trialist to begin with

10-01-2018, 05:01 PM

Morrais was a great player .......... of the Nightclub-Bouncer-Banjo I believe :greengrin

heidtheba
10-01-2018, 05:27 PM
Interesting thread. I suppose it's a matter of perspective and the true test of how successful our trialist picking has been is whether anyone we trialled, and rejected, went on to be big names at other clubs at a similar or higher level. Obvious to say I know, but a triallist who hasn't been selected (and did he haww in their career elsewhere) is a successful trial for the club...

beensaidbefore
10-01-2018, 05:27 PM
Didn't Ian Murray come to ER & knock on the door asking for a trial, after having been released by Arabs?

Don't think he was released. Iirc he was offered a family holiday to Euro Disney as an incentive to sign for us.

crash
10-01-2018, 05:37 PM

Certainly wasn't 1982, Super Ally joined Hibs in 1974.

barcahibs
10-01-2018, 05:53 PM
Benji?

I mind loads of talk on here at the time about some mysterious triallist who was scoring wonder goals at training sessions but who was struggling to get match fit. There was real hype going about - which kind of fell flat on his debut when he still clearly wasn't match fit.

Had his issues but over the piece i think you have to class him as a success?

There was some Trinidadian as well wasn't there? Russ somebody... No wait... Tony Rougier! that was it.

10-01-2018, 06:06 PM
Certainly wasn't 1982, Super Ally joined Hibs in 1974.

Indeed and left in 1982

10-01-2018, 11:03 PM
Kujabi

10-01-2018, 11:06 PM
Kujabi

The free kick specialist !

caithnesshibee
11-01-2018, 02:21 AM
Remember the desperate days of Juha Riippa and Thorsten Schmugge! One hit wonders, if you could call them that!

11-01-2018, 05:04 AM
The free kick specialist !

The blind mans Roberto Carlos.

11-01-2018, 05:43 AM
No it was Brian Lara’s drinking pal.

monarch
11-01-2018, 01:09 PM
I'm sure Fraser Forster had trials with Hibs. HE was let go presumably because of the high level of goalkeeping talent on our books in the recent past. :confused:

11-01-2018, 05:37 PM
Remember the desperate days of Juha Riippa and Thorsten Schmugge! One hit wonders, if you could call them that!

I thought Riippa actually looked decent in his one and only appearance at Tynecastle - pretty brave of Jocky Scott to drop a trialist into a Derby but we were down to bare bones at the back if I recall correctly!

11-01-2018, 05:40 PM
Who was the guy we got from Monaco, I think he was German? Was apparently worth £millions, saw him play pre season at Stirling and thought it must have been millions of Lira!!

11-01-2018, 05:42 PM
Who was the guy we got from Monaco, I think he was German? Was apparently worth £millions, saw him play pre season at Stirling and thought it must have been millions of Lira!!

Torben Joneleit(sp)? Yeah he was an exciting one who we never really saw any of. Shame.

11-01-2018, 05:44 PM
Torben Joneleit(sp)? Yeah he was an exciting one who we never really saw any of. Shame.

That's the boy. Came with a big reputation, never really did anything. Can remember when he signed being quite excited then saw him play and was disappointed.

12-01-2018, 10:26 AM
Damn, I was going to mention him, scored a hatrick did he not?

Aach it was a long time ago - 1989. Can't remember but he looked pretty good. It was v the now defunct Rangers at Jordanhill College.

12-01-2018, 12:07 PM
Not strictly related to the thread topic but I see that Chris Humphrey has just been loaned to the National League:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42664517

Made a vital contribution when fit with us last year, but seems that we were right to let him go.