View Full Version : NHC Liverpool v Everton FA Cup Third Round BBC 1

05-01-2018, 07:30 PM
Just about to start.

I like Everton but I like Liverpool. Fight.

05-01-2018, 07:33 PM
Andrew Robertson starts, vin dijk starts with Matip, looks like poor old Lovren is on his way out.

05-01-2018, 07:34 PM
That Everton team has very limited attacking options, can't see anything but a Liverpool win.

05-01-2018, 07:37 PM
Mon the scourers.

05-01-2018, 07:39 PM
Two crap teams.

Come on Derby County!

05-01-2018, 07:46 PM
Anyone who plays against a team managed by Big Sam, is good for me

05-01-2018, 07:48 PM
Cmon the Scouse team (Everton)

05-01-2018, 07:50 PM
Anyone who plays against a team managed by Big Sam, is good for meAgree. It's a problem for me as I like Everton normally. Money's on Liverpool though. Just business.

05-01-2018, 07:50 PM
Klopp's facial mannerisms in the prematch interview were bonkers even for him.

05-01-2018, 07:54 PM
Can certainly put on a show down Liverpool way, full house & great atmosphere.

05-01-2018, 07:55 PM
Guy with a Virgil Van Dyke scarf.

Football is ****ed.

05-01-2018, 08:00 PM
Would love to see the Toffees do it tonight, can't really see it happening though,but you never know.

05-01-2018, 08:02 PM
Full blooded challenge from Rooney there!

05-01-2018, 08:02 PM

for derbies, big games and European nights yeah...

for a run of the mill league game against Southampton or Bournemouth it’s not good at all and many kopites would say the same.

overrated, like the rest of the premiership circus

05-01-2018, 08:04 PM

Yea fantastic atmosphre.

05-01-2018, 08:06 PM
Liverpool getting all the decisions.

Predictable.

05-01-2018, 08:12 PM
Liverpool getting all the decisions.

Predictable.

Correct, never a booking for Rooney!

05-01-2018, 08:14 PM

for a run of the mill league game against Southampton or Bournemouth it’s not good at all and many kopites would say the same.

Sounds like easter road tbh

05-01-2018, 08:16 PM
Andy Robertson having a very good game.

05-01-2018, 08:21 PM
Pretty scrappy stuff so far

Gregor
05-01-2018, 08:21 PM
Guy with a Virgil Van Dyke scarf.

Football is ****ed.

Aye, says the man with a David Van Zanten scarf ;)

05-01-2018, 08:22 PM

Overrated, n more than the top leagues in Spain, Germany or Italy, as to being a circus nope some fantastic footballers plying their trade down there.

05-01-2018, 08:22 PM
Half an hour gone and the balls hardly been in either box.

05-01-2018, 08:23 PM
Everton been the more potent team so far, Liverpool midfield is non existent.

Andy Robertson playing well for Liverpool though.

05-01-2018, 08:23 PM
Half an hour gone and the balls hardly been in either box.

English football in a nutshell IMO

05-01-2018, 08:25 PM
Sounds like easter road tbh

True but that’s the point. Anfield is virtually the same as every other ground. Yet the media and Liverpool day trippers make out like it’s the bombonera.

Anyway, I still think SOL beats YNWA all hands down :greengrin

andy1875
05-01-2018, 08:26 PM
Everton to nick this I reckon.....

Bolasie getting a few balls in from the right.

05-01-2018, 08:27 PM
Overrated, n more than the top leagues in Spain, Germany or Italy, as to being a circus nope some fantastic footballers plying their trade down there.

The quality of footballers in the English top flight is not in doubt

05-01-2018, 08:30 PM
Tug on the shirt but what a ludicrous way to go down. Looked like he had been shot.

05-01-2018, 08:30 PM
Penalty Liverpool 1-0

05-01-2018, 08:31 PM
Another decision to Liverpool. Never a pen!

05-01-2018, 08:32 PM
I know that in today’s game that is considered a penalty, but I really despair watching stuff like that. Watching as a neutral it’s spoiled the game for me.

05-01-2018, 08:33 PM
Players going down like that to win penalties is one reason that I'm losing interest in the sport.

05-01-2018, 08:33 PM
So you can’t even raise your arms and touch your opponents chest without a penalty being awarded. It wasn’t even a tug!

Everton should walk off the park.

05-01-2018, 08:34 PM
I know that in today’s game that is considered a penalty, but I really despair watching stuff like that. Watching as a neutral it’s spoiled the game for me.

Agree

05-01-2018, 08:35 PM
Brutal push on Firminho into the crowd!

So you can’t even raise your arms and touch your opponents chest without a penalty being awarded. It wasn’t even a tug!

Everton should walk off the park.

The thing is when it’s a corner the players are pushing and pulling ten times worse than that and nothing is done.

Firminho has said something and the ref must’ve heard.

05-01-2018, 08:37 PM
Holgate lucky to avoid a booking for that shove

05-01-2018, 08:38 PM
What is that guy thinking pushing Firminho like that? That really could have caused a pretty serious injury.

Holgate lucky to avoid a booking for that shove

Should have been off.

What is that guy thinking pushing Firminho like that? That really could have caused a pretty serious injury.

I can't believe he didn't get booked.

05-01-2018, 08:39 PM

Soft really soft.

05-01-2018, 08:40 PM
Are there Everton fans in the Liverpool end or is that the half and half scarf brigade?

Robertson is class, real class.

Did Firmino spit at Holgate? Watching on Iplayer and pictures not great.

Another decision to Liverpool. Never a pen!

Theatrical fall but he was definitely impeded. Penalty is correct.

05-01-2018, 08:41 PM
Clear pen and Everton could have been down to ten for that push.

05-01-2018, 08:41 PM
Did Firmino spit at Holgate? Watching on player and pictures not great.

Nope.

05-01-2018, 08:45 PM
Are there Everton fans in the Liverpool end or is that the half and half scarf brigade?

Looks like everton fans especially in home end closest to everton fans

05-01-2018, 08:47 PM
It was a soft penalty. If someone grabbed me like that in the street I would very much doubt that I would end up in a heap on the pavement.

05-01-2018, 08:47 PM
Lords of empty seats on the Liverpool end

Fuzzywuzzy
05-01-2018, 08:48 PM
Looked like he called him a 'puta' and possibly something racial?

05-01-2018, 08:49 PM

Agreed. Fact the Liverpool player went down like a sack of spuds is not the issue, the Everton defender impeded him with his arms = pen. You don't have to hit the ground for it to be a pen.

Stupid, dangerous push by the same defender, should have been at least a yellow, if not red, He knew what he was doing = dangerous.

05-01-2018, 08:50 PM

After the push he definitely calls him 'La puta madre' which is a pretty big insult in Spanish and Portuguese culture. I'll let google translate do the work.

An Allardyce team looking to kick and niggle their way through a game? whoda thunk it? disappointing to see Everton play as they are.

It was a soft penalty. If someone grabbed me like that in the street I would very much doubt that I would end up in a heap on the pavement.

He grabbed him and impeded him. Nothing soft about it. Just wish they were given like that at Corners.

05-01-2018, 08:51 PM
Lords of empty seats on the Liverpool end

In fairness, is a knight game.

05-01-2018, 08:53 PM
Theatrical fall but he was definitely impeded. Penalty is correct.
I totally agree, he impedes him by stopping his forward movement by using an arm and hand. It’s a free kick anywhere else on the park so has to be a pen, it’s against the rules! He went down like he’d been shot but had he stayed on his feet he wouldn’t have got it given. I’ve no interest in who wins this BTW.

yonder1875
05-01-2018, 08:55 PM

That means bitch in Spanish.

05-01-2018, 08:57 PM
Agreed. Fact the Liverpool player went down like a sack of spuds is not the issue, the Everton defender impeded him with his arms = pen. You don't have to hit the ground for it to be a pen.

Stupid, dangerous push by the same defender, should have been at least a yellow, if not red, He knew what he was doing = dangerous.

“Impeded with his arms”

Ach away. 😀

05-01-2018, 08:58 PM
After the push he definitely calls him 'La puta madre' which is a pretty big insult in Spanish and Portuguese culture. I'll let google translate do the work.

Would Holgate who is from Doncaster understand it?

05-01-2018, 08:58 PM
That means bitch in Spanish.

And piss heid in Scots.

05-01-2018, 09:00 PM

Probably not. It was after the push so doesn't explain that anyway.

It's the equivalent of us calling someone the C word. He was obviously furious and with justification.

05-01-2018, 09:01 PM

:agree: After that cowardly and needless push which could potentially have caused an injury given where he fell I'd have been calling him a lot more than a female Spanish dog, if that is indeed what he said.

05-01-2018, 09:01 PM
Everton adopting Levein tactics, can't cope with the better team so leave the boot in at every opportunity.

Can never rule out Liverpool gifting them a goal though

05-01-2018, 09:03 PM
:agree: After that cowardly and needless push which could potentially have caused an injury given where he fell I'd have been calling him a lot more than a female Spanish dog, if that is indeed what he said.

It's worse than calling someone a bitch. It's about the worst insult you can throw at someone in that culture. It roughly translates as 'your mothers a whore'.

As I said above he's rightly angry and has lashed out verbally, I'd do the same.

05-01-2018, 09:05 PM
It's worse than calling someone a bitch. It's about the worst insult you can throw at someone in that culture. It roughly translates as 'your mothers a whore'.

As I said above he's rightly angry and has lashed out verbally, I'd do the same.

:agree:Fully understand the context, probably less injurious than the act itself and Holgate wouldn't be too be badly "hurt" unless he was of the culture and understood it in the first place. Erse would have done for me:wink:

05-01-2018, 09:08 PM

Did he call him a Jambo?

05-01-2018, 09:08 PM
Any reason why Man U v Derby is on tonight, can’t see it on TV anywhere

05-01-2018, 09:10 PM
Did he call him a Jambo?

No one deserves that.

05-01-2018, 09:10 PM
Any reason why Man U v Derby is on tonight, can’t see it on TV anywhere

Because both city and utd were drawn at home. Man u not on tv in the 3rd round of the cup for the first time something like 20 years

05-01-2018, 09:14 PM
Because both city and utd were drawn at home. Man u not on tv in the 3rd round of the cup for the first time something like 20 years

Thanks, just wondered

05-01-2018, 09:18 PM
Does anyone else rate the Ox? Everytime I watch him I'm impressed, dunno why he gets such a hard time.

05-01-2018, 09:19 PM
Did I hear the commentator correctly earlier and did he say Everton haven't won at Anfield this century?

05-01-2018, 09:20 PM
1-1.

There will be Everton fans in the home end. It's a relatively long standing thing from when it was a "friendly" derby.

05-01-2018, 09:20 PM
Did I hear the commentator correctly earlier and did he say Everton haven't won at Anfield this century?

1999 I think was the last time they won there

05-01-2018, 09:21 PM
Scenes!

Great goal. About 5 seconds after I criticised Jagielka for taking the extra touch.

That's a brilliant breakaway. Can't argue with that.

05-01-2018, 09:22 PM
Good goal, does this go to a replay, if it ends 1-1

05-01-2018, 09:23 PM
Great to see the Everton fans going old school mental. Seats have largely taken that away.

05-01-2018, 09:24 PM
Yes! Go on the Toffees!

05-01-2018, 09:27 PM
Great goal. About 5 seconds after I criticised Jagielka for taking the extra touch.

Love that move love that goal, just love it.

05-01-2018, 09:28 PM
How is Gomez not booked there? Yellow every day of the week.

05-01-2018, 09:29 PM
How is Gomez not booked there? Yellow every day of the week.

Ridiculous double standards.

05-01-2018, 09:31 PM
They say football is a working class game but how many English gentlemen with double barrelled names are on the park now?

05-01-2018, 09:33 PM
They say football is a working class game but how many English gentlemen with double barrelled names are on the park now?

Because only posh people have double barrelled names?

gaz1875
05-01-2018, 09:33 PM
Does anyone else rate the Ox? Everytime I watch him I'm impressed, dunno why he gets such a hard time.

I think he is poor especially for....35 million :faf: cue a goal now I said that.

05-01-2018, 09:34 PM
Need a wee goal from Liverpool, wee double was pool BTTS & TNS -2, they are winning 0-4.

Firestarter
05-01-2018, 09:35 PM
Mon the tofffees.

05-01-2018, 09:37 PM
Keeper nightmare.

Goal!!!! Pool

2-1 van dyke

Hulk1875
05-01-2018, 09:38 PM
Was gonna say earlier van dijk be good player for first goal or anytime

05-01-2018, 09:38 PM
Need a wee goal from Liverpool, wee double was pool BTTS & TNS -2, they are winning 0-4.

Theres your goal. 2-1

05-01-2018, 09:39 PM

Stop being so bloody miserable on here
How much😎

05-01-2018, 09:41 PM
Really enjoyed this. Proper game.

05-01-2018, 09:41 PM

It's a cultural thing, it started becoming more common in the mid-Nineties for couples to double-barrel when they married. Their children are now the young footballers.

05-01-2018, 09:42 PM
Keeper has had a rush of blood there.

05-01-2018, 09:45 PM
Robertson my man of the match, just like every time I see him play. With Tierney we have no worries at full back for Scotland for a few years.

05-01-2018, 09:46 PM
How greedy is that?

05-01-2018, 09:47 PM
Robertson my man of the match, just like every time I see him play. With Tierney we have no worries at full back for Scotland for a few years.

Played extremely well.

jagielka the only one who has come close to him in performance

He’s done really well but Van Dyke has strolled it and a goal to boot.

The one position we have some truly world class players for Scotland.

05-01-2018, 09:48 PM
16 derbies undefeated for Liverpool

He really needed his move away from Arsenal, same as Kieran Gibbs.

It's a fantastic place to play exquisite football, but if you're not starting or featuring regularly then you will stagnate (albeit playing League Cup games and dead-rubber Euro games in a sterile but somewhat similar mode to the first team).

Calum Chambers will probably be the next, though Wenger does have a habit of hanging onto players for years, even when they're clearly not going to help Arsenal win a title.

Stop being so bloody miserable on here
How much😎

FT. 2-1

£70 richer, will probably lose it tomorrow. :greengrin

05-01-2018, 09:49 PM
Yaaas get in, another win over tbe blue ******. Very pleasing.

05-01-2018, 09:49 PM
Great game. Passion a plenty, the result meant a lot both on and off the park.

CorrieHibs
05-01-2018, 09:50 PM
Yasss!! VVD already a hero! 16 in a row.

gaz1875
05-01-2018, 09:50 PM

He was really good, tenacious, very fast and not scared to take the ball.

05-01-2018, 09:52 PM
Keeper has had a rush of blood there.

Never getting thsre, did a supermaaannn.

05-01-2018, 09:54 PM
It's a cultural thing, it started becoming more common in the mid-Nineties for couples to double-barrel when they married. Their children are now the young footballers.

Really? :hmmm:

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/footballburp.com/news/all-footballers-to-have-double-barrelled-surnames-by-2025-pledge-tories/amp/

05-01-2018, 09:55 PM
Really? :hmmm:

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/footballburp.com/news/all-footballers-to-have-double-barrelled-surnames-by-2025-pledge-tories/amp/

05-01-2018, 10:03 PM

First time they've beaten the Toffees at Anfield in the FA Cup though, is it not?

05-01-2018, 10:04 PM
First time they've beaten the Toffees at Anfield in the FA Cup though, is it not?

Yeah, beat them in two finals though ;-)

05-01-2018, 10:05 PM
Two pluses. Robertson played well and Pickford is hopefully Ingurlund number 1 for years to come.

05-01-2018, 10:10 PM

Robertson is a class act. Tierney is a good player dont get me wrong but Robertson is the better of the two. Tierney needs a move from Celtic to move his career forward, one is doing it week in week out against top players and top sides the other is doing well against the likes of Ross County, Partick and Hearts (with the greatest of respect to Ross County and Partick). That might rankle with a few but I bet its crossed Tierneys mind.

05-01-2018, 10:22 PM

It’s quite frustrating that our two genuinely top class players both play at left back.

05-01-2018, 10:22 PM
Yeah, beat them in two finals though ;-)

Both in the late 80s though, when as we all know, Everton were in a transitional period. :-)

05-01-2018, 10:25 PM
Robertson is a class act. Tierney is a good player dont get me wrong but Robertson is the better of the two. Tierney needs a move from Celtic to move his career forward, one is doing it week in week out against top players and top sides the other is doing well against the likes of Ross County, Partick and Hearts (with the greatest of respect to Ross County and Partick). That might rankle with a few but I bet its crossed Tierneys mind.
I think Tierney is the better of the two. The lad has got everything it needs to be a top defender. I’d love him to move to Germany or Spain.

05-01-2018, 10:28 PM
Both in the late 80s though, when as we all know, Everton were in a transitional period. :-)

Yeah 86 when they were runners up and then won the league the following season :-)

05-01-2018, 10:40 PM
I think Tierney is the better of the two. The lad has got everything it needs to be a top defender. I’d love him to move to Germany or Spain.

I see what you mean Tierney clearly has what it takes to be very good but one is starting for Celtic the other starting for Liverpool. No question who I'd choose out of the two to play right now.

Both fantastic prospects for Scotland and I'd like to see them played together one as a left mid.

05-01-2018, 10:42 PM
Yeah, form tends to be erratic during those transitional periods. :-)

05-01-2018, 10:46 PM
Great match tonight. Everton played a more expansive game than I expected! If Bolasie had passed to his right instead of blasting it might have been a draw.

Fair play to the Reds though. They've got a defence to reckon with now VVD is on board.

05-01-2018, 10:49 PM

And a good result for the :devil:s also tonight. :cb

05-01-2018, 10:51 PM

Are Man Utd not showing interest in Tierney.

05-01-2018, 10:58 PM
Annoyingly enough Barry Douglas is also a cracking left back going great guns for wolves having won the league in poland and the cup in turkey.

Not quite on the level of Tierney and Robertson but still a smashing player nd some set piece on him.

05-01-2018, 11:00 PM
Lewis is the best obviously.

05-01-2018, 11:18 PM

Top tier of one of the stands looked empty.

05-01-2018, 11:23 PM

The modern phenomena of hospitality.

It was full.

05-01-2018, 11:25 PM

Full house sell out.

cad
06-01-2018, 09:55 AM
Are Man Utd not showing interest in Tierney.

Sort off the hacks got a rumour he was a big Manc supporter and added 2+2 and got a few quotes what did happen was Arsenal offered 8 million I think it was last Jan and Celtic declined

cad
06-01-2018, 10:00 AM
Thought it was going to a replay if I honest then

https://twitter.com/liverblokelfc/status/949427131204931586

06-01-2018, 10:00 AM
The midweek games (Arsenal v Chelsea, Spurs v West Ham, Liverpool v Everton) have been very entertaining this week.

Still beyond me how Holgate never even seen a yellow for that push on Firmino.

cad
06-01-2018, 11:20 AM
The midweek games (Arsenal v Chelsea, Spurs v West Ham, Liverpool v Everton) have been very entertaining this week.

Still beyond me how Holgate never even seen a yellow for that push on Firmino.

Lots more to come from that, the refs report mate apparently he used the race card said Firmino used the N .word , if your interested read on

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/roberto-firmino-facing-fa-probe-14120141

06-01-2018, 11:36 AM
Lots more to come from that, the refs report mate apparently he used the race card said Firmino used the N .word , if your interested read on

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/roberto-firmino-facing-fa-probe-14120141

Who said he used the N word?

If ref had done his job and got there as soon as he pushed him and brandished a card, that would have been that.

06-01-2018, 11:44 AM
Who said he used the N word?

If ref had done his job and got there as soon as he pushed him and brandished a card, that would have been that.

Ref was there very quickly. Im sure he’s between them after Ferminho races back on the pitch to confront him. Somethings sparked it. I think the ref used common sense to be honest. It was a push. If we’re handing out yellows for that then the game will be poorer for it.

06-01-2018, 11:47 AM
Ref was there very quickly. Im sure he’s between them after Ferminho races back on the pitch to confront him. Somethings sparked it. I think the ref used common sense to be honest. It was a push. If we’re handing out yellows for that then the game will be poorer for it.

It was a push that resulted in him going over the hoarding and possible injury, yellow card would have been justified. He gave a penalty for less contact!

06-01-2018, 12:01 PM

Just read that article and nowhere is there any reference to what was supposedly said. Am I missing something or is that a bit of artistic licence when you refer to the N word?

Maybe lets just stick to terms like accusations of using racist language rather than "race card" ? It's a bit too Daily Mail for my taste.

06-01-2018, 12:34 PM
[QUOTE=superfurryhibby;5268134]Just read that article and nowhere is there any reference to what was supposedly said. Am I missing something or is that a bit of artistic licence when you refer to the N word?

Maybe lets just stick to terms like accusations of using racist language rather than "race card" ? It's a bit too Daily Mail for my taste.[/QUOTE

He mouthed "puta" which means son of a whore or something like that, the Spanish say it quite a lot in their games.

06-01-2018, 12:46 PM
[QUOTE=superfurryhibby;5268134]Just read that article and nowhere is there any reference to what was supposedly said. Am I missing something or is that a bit of artistic licence when you refer to the N word?

Maybe lets just stick to terms like accusations of using racist language rather than "race card" ? It's a bit too Daily Mail for my taste.[/QUOTE

He mouthed "puta" which means son of a whore or something like that, the Spanish say it quite a lot in their games.

Sure, why would that equate to playing the race card, as stated by the OP?

Puta is whore. Firmino is Brazilian, no idea if the same word is used in Portuguese, but seems improbable it caused the level of upset it did to Holgate. My point was that "playing the race card" is a phrase I dislike and that there was nothng in the article alleging racism, albeit we could probably guess this was what caused the pkayer to go radge.

cad
06-01-2018, 01:50 PM
Firmino said: "TU TA LOUCO? TU TA LOUCO? FILHO DA PUTA!" Which translates to: "You're crazy You're crazy SON OF A BITCH!" from the DM.

As for my post I can't find the article to post its authenticity I will keep looking ,it didn't come from the Echo as you can see I apologise for any mis direction .

As for the poetic licence on my part Superfurry most definitely not

06-01-2018, 02:29 PM
Firmino said: "TU TA LOUCO? TU TA LOUCO? FILHO DA PUTA!" Which translates to: "You're crazy You're crazy SON OF A BITCH!" from the DM.

As for my post I can't find the article to post its authenticity I will keep looking ,it didn't come from the Echo as you can see I apologise for any mis direction .

As for the poetic licence on my part Superfurry most definitely not

I'm wondering if the Everton guy's lack of Portuguese is part of the issue here. He hears the P word, knows it's a bad word, but thinks it's racist... and goes radge.

06-01-2018, 02:44 PM

Think he pushed him twice, the 2nd one resulting in the player falling over should definitely been a yellow, after that I think the ref has been sensible, words have been said, but the ref has obviously not understood some of it, he will mention it in his report what he heard, by not booking either player it now leaves it open for the 2 players to be charged by FA and may get match bans.