View Full Version : Official Site: SCOTT BAIN JOINS HIBERNIAN

RSS Bot
01-01-2018, 10:00 AM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/8284)

01-01-2018, 10:01 AM
Hmmmm...

AL-Qaholik
01-01-2018, 10:02 AM
Good signing.
Let’s have a poacher, goal scoring midfielder and two fullbacks next please...

01-01-2018, 10:02 AM
Very happy with this signing. Very good goalkeeper and someone that will keep Marciano on his toes as he’s been a little inconsistent this year.

Welcome to the Hibees Scott!

01-01-2018, 10:04 AM
Doesn’t look like a loan move.

Craigmount Hibs
01-01-2018, 10:05 AM
Not clear if he’s signed on loan, or a permanent deal? I appreciate it’s only a 5 month thing...

andy1875
01-01-2018, 10:09 AM
Not clear if he’s signed on loan, or a permanent deal? I appreciate it’s only a 5 month thing...

Doesnt matter as he is out of contract with Dundee in the summer.

01-01-2018, 10:09 AM
Last goalie we signed from Dundee didn't turn out so bad. Hopefully this lad does just as well.

Firestarter
01-01-2018, 10:20 AM
I hope we have him longer than the season and it's not just a shop window for him. Welcome Bain. Good goalie I've always liked.

WillowbraeHibby
01-01-2018, 10:23 AM
Very happy with this signing. Very good goalkeeper and someone that will keep Marciano on his toes as he’s been a little inconsistent this year.

Welcome to the Hibees Scott!

Agree.. Wee bit of competition can only be a good thing.

01-01-2018, 10:29 AM
It's a loan till the end of the season

murray26
01-01-2018, 10:31 AM
Good move by Hibs..

01-01-2018, 10:32 AM
Welcome - good player and like Boyle could do well for himself if he gets his head down.

We now have 3 solid keepers.

All have different attributes but hopefully the competition will strive to improve them all and help the team.

01-01-2018, 10:35 AM
Good signing in a position we need both cover and a keeper capable of stepping in and challenging for the gloves if Marcianos form drops.

01-01-2018, 10:35 AM
Chuffed at this signing

01-01-2018, 10:37 AM
Good signing
Can't help feeling for Ross Laidlaw as it is likely he will be eased out of the club at the end of the season

01-01-2018, 10:38 AM
Welcome to the club Scott.

01-01-2018, 10:45 AM
Good signing
Can't help feeling for Ross Laidlaw as it is likely he will be eased out of the club at the end of the season

Don't think so. Think his injury is obviously relatively long term.

01-01-2018, 10:52 AM
Good keeper but not sure whether we need another keeper.

01-01-2018, 10:55 AM

We do Laidlaw won’t be back for months and it leaves us the young lad. We need 2 keepers fit who have player a lot of first team footy. We will also need an attacking mid and 2 more strikers.

01-01-2018, 11:01 AM
Good.

01-01-2018, 11:07 AM
Good signing in a position we need both cover and a keeper capable of stepping in and challenging for the gloves if Marcianos form drops.

Totally agree he will come looking to get the goalkeeper position which should be good for the team.

01-01-2018, 11:08 AM
He's a terrific keeper, a real challenger for the gloves.

01-01-2018, 11:10 AM
Great signing. I hope is first choice asap. Rocky not up to it in my opinion.

01-01-2018, 11:14 AM

if marciano gets injured/suspended then we have no senior keeper so yes we do

Decent signing and a necessary one with Laidlaw out and will give more competition to Rocky which is needed.

Totally agree he will come looking to get the goalkeeper position which should be good for the team.

Hope Rocky keeps his place then, was once a big fan of Bain but not anymore, yes he had a good game against Hibs but apart from that he has been pretty poor and causing bother for the last 2 managers at Dundee.

01-01-2018, 11:18 AM
A initial loan sounds like a great option for the club.

We get a look at him and can see if he's better than what we have with no real risk.

01-01-2018, 11:18 AM
Hope Rocky keeps his place then, was once a big fan of Bain but not anymore, yes he had a good game against Hibs but apart from that he has been pretty poor and causing bother for the last 2 managers at Dundee.

If Scott Bain forces Rocky to better performances then win / win.

01-01-2018, 11:27 AM
Here's hoping he's a bit more Jim Leighton or Martin Boyle than Paul Tosh or Lee Power.

01-01-2018, 11:29 AM
Great signing. I hope is first choice asap. Rocky not up to it in my opinion.

Rocky is the better of the two. I think he’s more than up to it but needs to concentrate more. Scott’s a good lad though and will get his chance!

01-01-2018, 11:31 AM
Good signing

If he's fit I think he'll stay. He's a great backup keeper.

01-01-2018, 11:34 AM
If Scott Bain forces Rocky to better performances then win / win.

Here's hoping, a lot of folk saying great signing, didn't know we had so many closet Dundee fans.

A average keeper.

01-01-2018, 11:37 AM
Delighted we have two strong goalkeepers especially while Laidlaw is out for a while. Really pleased we have moved so quickly as well. Signs on transfer day and goes to Portugal with new team mates. I am sure if he does well then we will have first option on him in summer.

Great start Hibs.

Striker and Full Back please.

01-01-2018, 11:38 AM
Here's hoping, a lot of folk saying great signing, didn't know we had so many closet Dundee fans.

A average keeper.

I’d say he is better than Laidlaw though so it’s a step forward.

01-01-2018, 11:42 AM

A average keeper.

Nice extrapolation, but somewhat flawed logic. No idea if he's better than Marciano, but we need a decent goalie and I'm glad he's here.

01-01-2018, 11:54 AM

A average keeper.

you must be the same then to say he is average

01-01-2018, 11:58 AM
We do Laidlaw won’t be back for months and it leaves us the young lad. We need 2 keepers fit who have player a lot of first team footy. We will also need an attacking mid and 2 more strikers.

2 strikers & attacking mid would be nice, but where is Hibs going to conjure them up from?

01-01-2018, 12:00 PM
We need another keeper just now, and Bain will do nicely. Welcome along, Scott.

01-01-2018, 12:04 PM

A average keeper.

Dundee fans seemed to change their tune on him once he was ostracised. A season or so ago they were worrying about losing him to Celtic or England. Now they are saying he's overrated and they can do better.

That's football fans I suppose.

01-01-2018, 12:16 PM
Last goalie we signed from Dundee didn't turn out so bad. Hopefully this lad does just as well.

Trying to recall who that was. Thomson Allan crossed my mind but he went from us to them?
Did we sign Jim Leighton from Dundee? If so, then completely agree.

01-01-2018, 12:18 PM
If he's fit I think he'll stay. He's a great backup keeper.

by the time he's fit he will be back up to a back up keeper though

01-01-2018, 12:22 PM
Scott said: “I am delighted to be joining up with Neil Lennon’s squad.

could he not bring himself to say 'i'm delighted to be joining hibs' :confused: bin the jamboid i say :agree:

:)

01-01-2018, 12:45 PM
Scott said: “I am delighted to be joining up with Neil Lennon’s squad.

could he not bring himself to say 'i'm delighted to be joining hibs' :confused: bin the jamboid i say :agree:

:)

Paranoid or what? Neil Lennon attracts players to Hibs who wouldn't normally consider us an option. Bain is coming to a team where the manager wont grab you by the throat and slam you into the dressing room wall before fining you for your trouble.

01-01-2018, 12:47 PM
Paranoid or what? Neil Lennon attracts players to Hibs who wouldn't normally consider us an option. Bain is coming to a team where the manager wont grab you by the throat and slam you into the dressing room wall before fining you for your trouble.

pmsl@paranoid, aye that's what it is :hilarious

01-01-2018, 12:52 PM
He's a good goalie. Happy with that.

01-01-2018, 12:54 PM
pmsl@paranoid, aye that's what it is :hilarious

When Boyle signed his contract extension he said "I'm delighted to sign a contract extension with the club".

What club Martin? Obviously can't manage to call us hibs. Or am I seeing things that aren't there?

01-01-2018, 12:54 PM
Won't post the link as it's from The Sun but found this funny. From December 16th;

"Hearts are planning a January swoop for frozen-out Dundee keeper Scott Bain.

He hasn’t featured for the Dens Park side since a bust-up with gaffer Neil McCann in October.

Craig Levein is a fan of Edinburgh-born Bain — who is out of contract in the summer — and Hearts could attempt to seal a cut-price deal next month.
League One side Northampton are also tracking Bain, who earned a Scotland call-up under Gordon Strachan.
After their fall-out, McCann replaced Bain with Elliot Parish.
The former Dons keeper is free to speak to other clubs next month and Hearts lead the chase"

Unlucky Hearts!! :na na:

01-01-2018, 12:58 PM
Decent signing. We definitely need the option to drop Rocky if it is required and Bain has shown he is more than good enough at this level

01-01-2018, 01:15 PM
A initial loan sounds like a great option for the club.

We get a look at him and can see if he's better than what we have with no real risk.

I think that is exactly what Lennon is doing.
I believe that by the end of the season they will decide he is better than Laidlaw and sign him up for 2 years.
Unfortunately Laidlaw will then have to move on.
This quality signing has fallen into our arms. McCann desperate to get rid and Yams have decided they need to spend their small budget on other areas of the pitch whilst praying their keeper doesn't get injured.

01-01-2018, 01:21 PM
Decent signing and a necessary one with Laidlaw out and will give more competition to Rocky which is needed.

:agree::agree:

01-01-2018, 01:28 PM
Trying to recall who that was. Thomson Allan crossed my mind but he went from us to them?
Did we sign Jim Leighton from Dundee? If so, then completely agree.

Jim Leighton came from Dundee on a free transfer as he was finished. ( no Niemi pun intended) . I guess if we had. net at the time the comments would have been along the same lines.

mentalhibee
01-01-2018, 01:29 PM
Great to see Hibs acting fast in the transfer window. Bain has always been great when I’ve watched him, going as far back as seeing him play for Alloa.

01-01-2018, 01:35 PM
Rocky is the better of the two. I think he’s more than up to it but needs to concentrate more. Scott’s a good lad though and will get his chance!

In your opinion. I think Bain covers the angles better and has the bottle to go in where it hurts....Rocky doesnt. In my opinion.

01-01-2018, 01:37 PM
Good signing

New Year, same old rumour mill!

Take a known fact and add a dose of wild speculation...

01-01-2018, 01:54 PM
Feel it’s a bit of a wasted wage but happy to be proved wrong.

Prone to errors and imo Marciano is a better keeper.

https://youtu.be/FqOB4TAyioc - not great viewing

my left peg
01-01-2018, 02:19 PM

That’s unfair there isn’t a keeper around that you couldn’t put a similar montage of mistakes....they all make them,it’s how they react to them that counts,

01-01-2018, 03:16 PM

You could have made a video like that with Efe Ambrose but with his confidence up he's a joy to watch.

01-01-2018, 03:40 PM
Good signing - genuine competition for the gloves which is needed with Laidlaw out for most of the rest of the season - welcome to the Hibees Scott :thumbsup:

01-01-2018, 03:42 PM

My Ying to your Yang

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n7DaeU853bw

Includes great saves against Hearts in case anyone was thinking they are his team.
Includes saves against Hibs.
Includes penalty stops.

P.S. there is another 6 minute video of stops if this is not enough
Time and matches will tell his Hibs story.

01-01-2018, 03:47 PM

Every goalkeeper has made mistakes before. Even world class goalkeepers like De Gea, Buffon and Neuer have made costly errors in their careers.

if we are going to judge him based on YouTube clips then here you go....

http://youtu.be/BQiZgJNda2w

http://youtu.be/n7DaeU853bw

01-01-2018, 03:48 PM
Bain might have made a couple of mistakes (what keeper hasn’t?) but I think he’s a very solid addition. Dundee fans don’t seem to like him mainly due to his attitude in the past year.

Edit: Looks like he’ll also be our first short sleeved top goalie since Graham Stack. Always nice to have a different option on the bench.

01-01-2018, 03:53 PM
Every goalkeeper has made mistakes before. Even world class goalkeepers like De Gea, Buffon and Neuer have made costly errors in their careers.

if we are going to judge him based on YouTube clips then here you go....

http://youtu.be/BQiZgJNda2w

http://youtu.be/n7DaeU853bw

Great minds etc :agree:

yonder1875
01-01-2018, 04:09 PM
Bain might have made a couple of mistakes (what keeper hasn’t?) but I think he’s a very solid addition. Dundee fans don’t seem to like him mainly due to his attitude in the past year.

Edit: Looks like he’ll also be our first short sleeved top goalie since Graham Stack. Always nice to have a different option on the bench.

Rocky has worn short sleeves quite a lot, hasn't he?

Firestarter
01-01-2018, 04:15 PM

Could be the coaching at dens. Heard it's brutal.

01-01-2018, 04:28 PM
Rocky has worn short sleeves quite a lot, hasn't he?

Now you mention it, I think he has!

02-01-2018, 03:38 AM
Great signing. I hope is first choice asap. Rocky not up to it in my opinion.Dearie me

02-01-2018, 08:26 AM
we need cover, decent signing. confident he will do well if/when required

02-01-2018, 11:00 AM
Will get his chance and keep it.

03-01-2018, 10:05 AM
Apparently he's from Edinburgh, is he a hibee?

03-01-2018, 10:06 AM

Naw he's a Jambo

Firestarter
03-01-2018, 10:31 AM
Dearie me

Can't see the issue with the comment. You either rate the goalie or you don't, it's not a crime.

CL0762
03-01-2018, 10:58 AM

Nope, big Jambo.

Went to school with and played in the same team as Scott, delighted he’s got this chance now at a bigger club.

Firestarter
03-01-2018, 11:37 AM
Nope, big Jambo.

Went to school with and played in the same team as Scott, delighted he’s got this chance now at a bigger club.

Firhill?

CL0762
04-01-2018, 07:36 AM
Firhill?

Nope, Dalkeith.