View Full Version : Laughatme Sending Off (Red Card Stands)

30-12-2017, 06:56 PM
Laughatme is shown a straight red today for "excessive force". Is that the same a violent conduct and subsequently a ban must be served i the next competetive match, even though its the cup?

30-12-2017, 06:58 PM
I think a straight red card automatically misses the next fixture, regardless of compitition

30-12-2017, 07:01 PM
He probably got himself sent off deliberately so he wouldn’t have to face us in the cup. It must be hard for him knowing he could’ve signed for us, but chose that mob.

30-12-2017, 07:17 PM
Video clip of tackle:

https://twitter.com/WestPilton/status/947174307842744321

I've seen worse tackles this season not been shown reds - Stevie Mays on Boyle and Harry Cockring on SJM.

Of course they should have been red though so thats not saying much.

Potter will appeal no doubt.

-Jonesy-
30-12-2017, 07:21 PM
No effort to play the ball in the slightest, serious foul play/endangering the opponent,if that gets rescinded it's a total joke

30-12-2017, 07:24 PM
Cowards tackle, red all day I think they will win the appeal though considering what Jack has got away with this year.

Mcpakeisgod
30-12-2017, 07:24 PM
I’ll be honest, would be disappointed if we got a red for that . At that angle anyway

30-12-2017, 07:27 PM
Seen an awful lot worse go unpunished. The player brought down wants to get on with the game and his teammates have got the hump. Would expect that to be challenged.

30-12-2017, 07:28 PM
Jambo tackle that. The one on McGinn by their wee sperm of a midfielder in the first derby was far worse though.

30-12-2017, 07:29 PM
Given a couple of Ryan Jack's successful appeals they'd be daft not to appeal that.

30-12-2017, 07:43 PM
Not sure that is more than a yellow

30-12-2017, 07:47 PM
On Alba now

30-12-2017, 08:01 PM
If I hadn't known in advance that it was Lafferty, then I'd have said a yellow card was appropriate.

Since it was Lafferty, it should be a six match ban based on him being a thug.

30-12-2017, 08:05 PM
Looks like a yellow.

30-12-2017, 08:09 PM
All the pundits on Sportsound said it was a red. Okay he is a Don but Richard Gordon called him a disgrace. He wasn’t just referring to the tackle but his entire attitude to football.

30-12-2017, 08:34 PM
So does he miss the cup game ? If they appeal then surely the beaks will have dealt with it before we play.

30-12-2017, 08:35 PM
So does he miss the cup game ? If they appeal then surely the beaks will have dealt with it before we play.
He will miss the cup game.

30-12-2017, 08:38 PM
Did lafferty not get an Aberdeen player sent off by falling to the ground after a non headbutt?

30-12-2017, 08:39 PM
Video clip of tackle:

https://twitter.com/WestPilton/status/947174307842744321

I've seen worse tackles this season not been shown reds - Stevie Mays on Boyle and Harry Cockring on SJM.

Of course they should have been red though so thats not saying much.

Potter will appeal no doubt.

It was nowhere near as bad as the Sportsound pundits were making out if I'm being totally honest.

Since it was Lafferty though, I'll refrain from showing any sympathy.

30-12-2017, 08:55 PM
Definite yellow, red harsh and would expect to be appealed.

30-12-2017, 09:00 PM
In isolation that’s harsh.......however it’s about bloody tike someone took them to task for their ridiculous tactics.

30-12-2017, 09:01 PM
I think they should be sending players off for challenges like that.

It has to be considered violent conduct, there is literally no attempt to play the ball so what else can it be?

He's gone into that challenge with one intention and one intention only, and that's to bring down the Aberdeen player. He's gone in with plenty force and at a bad height.

Red card all day long.

30-12-2017, 09:03 PM

It has to be considered violent conduct, there is literally no attempt to play the ball so what else can it be?

He's gone into that challenge with one intention and one intention only, and that's to bring down the Aberdeen player. He's gone in with plenty force and at a bad height.

Red card all day long.

I can’t open the link and therefore haven’t seen it but I agree 100%.

Has to be a red.

30-12-2017, 09:03 PM

Red card all day long.Straight red in my opinion for the reasons you say. Intent, stopping the player.

30-12-2017, 09:04 PM
Levien said it was unfair.Reason? He only just missed the ball! Willie Miller was pretty dismissive of that.

30-12-2017, 09:12 PM
It's Lafferty... definitely a red... just for being him. Thug!

30-12-2017, 09:14 PM
Straight red and should have another red added for his attitude to the ref after he was dismissed. Compliance officer please note.

30-12-2017, 09:14 PM
Red all day long. Can’t tackle someone half way up their legs.

30-12-2017, 09:15 PM
If that is a red McGinns today was also a red.

30-12-2017, 09:16 PM
Think that clip is slowed down as well.....would look worse in real time.

30-12-2017, 09:22 PM
Straight red and should have another red added for his attitude to the ref after he was dismissed. Compliance officer please note.

Totally agree

30-12-2017, 09:39 PM
Exactly the kind of foul play Lennon was raging about after the derby - no attempt at a tackle and simply booting an opposition player to the ground.

30-12-2017, 09:49 PM
Red card.

Reckless and high.

He should have been sent off for the eye gauge on McGinn 10
minutes into the derby also.

Firestarter
30-12-2017, 09:49 PM
Did lafferty not get an Aberdeen player sent off by falling to the ground after a non headbutt?

Charlie Mulgrew.

30-12-2017, 10:36 PM
I think a straight red card automatically misses the next fixture, regardless of compitition

I thought it was only for violent conduct?

30-12-2017, 10:54 PM
One red and five yellows

**** and thugs.

Tornadoes70
30-12-2017, 10:58 PM
One red and five yellows

**** and thugs.

All in the cause of ensuring a 0-0 negatory no score draw. :greengrin

Pathetic.

30-12-2017, 11:16 PM
A horrible player playing for a horrible manager managing a horrible football club.

Hearts.

30-12-2017, 11:18 PM
'Bout time Elbows got a red card for his thuggish behaviour. He should have had several this season already.

Firestarter
30-12-2017, 11:22 PM
A horrible player playing for a horrible manager managing a horrible football club.

Hearts.

Is the correct answer.

30-12-2017, 11:35 PM
No effort to play the ball in the slightest, serious foul play/endangering the opponent,if that gets rescinded it's a total joke

Laughatme, along with his team-mates, is playing to Levein's instructions - if something isn't done about their 'Style of play' soon, legs will be broken !

30-12-2017, 11:37 PM
Definite red and his subsequent body language suggests he knew it was. There’s something sinister about his whole persona ......... sneaky, underhanded reptile. I couldn’t have coped with him as a Hibs player.

Ryan69
30-12-2017, 11:50 PM
Perfect example of why we don't need clowns like him!

We don't have any sending offs this season.

Though fair enough....I wouldn't want to be sent off knowing I've got too see Lennon afterwards...lol

31-12-2017, 08:39 AM
More inconsistent refereeing, I can.think.of probably 4-5 tackles that have been.same or worse and either resulted in a yellow or no card as it would have meant a second yellow and off ...but glad that thug amongst thugs got a red 😁

31-12-2017, 08:55 AM

Indeed. Neither were a red. Cynical yellow for stopping a breakaway, nothing else.

andybev1
31-12-2017, 09:16 AM
Looks like a bad tackle at first but if you pause it you can see that his foot nearly got the ball - maybe that is his hacking guile as he is looking at the man. I think he might get it reduced on appeal - how wrong I was, looking at it straight in makes this statement look stupid so i tae it back (thought I hd not actually posted it tbh)

31-12-2017, 09:25 AM

McGinn today was a trip. There was no chance of the player being injured. McGinns feet were on the ground and he was in complete control of his body. None of the applies the Lafferty. Two totally different situations. Mcginn’s today was a good booking to take.

31-12-2017, 12:15 PM

Hearts.

Anyone got a link?

Argylehibby
31-12-2017, 12:57 PM
Anyone got a link?

It's in post 4.

31-12-2017, 01:01 PM
It's in post 4.

Cheers, sorry about that!

31-12-2017, 01:08 PM
Are people seriously saying the Ref got that wrong? Probably the same folk that said Cochranes tackle on McGinn in the first Derby was a "Shocker" and deserved a red. Lafferty was wreckless, high and from behind. Imagine the uproar from Potter if Bartley caught one of his young lads in this manner? You think he'd be saying the same stuff? Lennon was bang on re Hearts tactics against us. It's not tough tackling, it's cynical and dangerous. It's desperate stuff and they've carried it into the Aberdeen game. Look at their foul count in the last 30 mins when the Dons were in total ascendancy... 5 yellows and a straight red proves Lennon was absolutely correct in his assessment. Levein would have been a top manager in the 70's.

-Jonesy-
31-12-2017, 01:10 PM
Are people seriously saying the Ref got that wrong? Probably the same folk that said Cochranes tackle on McGinn in the first Derby was a "Shocker" and deserved a red. Lafferty was wreckless, high and from behind. Imagine the uproar from Potter if Bartley caught one of his young lads in this manner? You think he'd be saying the same stuff? Lennon was bang on re Hearts tactics against us. It's not tough tackling, it's cynical and dangerous. It's desperate stuff and they've carried it into the Aberdeen game. Look at their foul count in the last 30 mins when the Dons were in total ascendancy... 5 yellows and a straight red proves Lennon was absolutely correct in his assessment. Levein would have been a top manager in the 70's.

Maybe he'd make a great defensive coordinator in the NFL

31-12-2017, 01:12 PM
Maybe he'd make a great defensive coordinator in the NFL

yonder1875
31-12-2017, 01:55 PM
That will not get overturned. Not ideal for us.

31-12-2017, 02:00 PM
That will not get overturned. Not ideal for us.

I’m not so sure it will, it was pretty cynical and you can’t really see what was going on just before that footage, looks like another Aberdeen player was on the deck and Hearts players were desperate to stop the Aberdeen attack anyway they could.

Going by the number of other Hearts bookings, it wouldn’t surprise me if the ref had had enough of Hearts blatant fouling.

31-12-2017, 02:31 PM
The guys on Radio Scotland were saying after the game that Beaton took his time and consulted with his assistants before sending him off (contrasting with Collum who "often has the red card out before the foul's been made"!). So my guess is that Beaton was well satisfied that a red card was justified, and I tend to agree with him.

31-12-2017, 02:40 PM

Sure did, he got Charlie Mumgrew sent off

31-12-2017, 02:59 PM
Sure did, he got Charlie Mumgrew sent off

Don't think it can be seen in this clip but the camera caught lafferty winking at a teammate or the bench after Mulgrew was sent off. If I'd been reffing I'd have sent lafferty off just for his haircut.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3iUDg6JEo0

31-12-2017, 05:12 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42530872

Hearts to appeal

31-12-2017, 07:22 PM
Just about to come on sportscene

31-12-2017, 07:27 PM
I doubt they will be appealing after seeing that second angle. A complete assault.

31-12-2017, 07:30 PM
That’s an awful challenge. It’s almost an exact replica of Cochranes on McGinn at ER. Wasn’t sure from what I saw last night on line but that second angle on Sportscene comfirms the thuggery. Shocker. Wasting the cash on appealing that. They would be better served putting the cash tiwards better chairs in hospitality.

31-12-2017, 07:33 PM
That’s an awful challenge. It’s almost an exact replica of Cochranes on McGinn at ER. Wasn’t sure from what I saw last night on line but that second angle on Sportscene comfirms the thuggery. Shocker. Wasting the cash on appealing that. They would be better served putting the cash tiwards better chairs in hospitality.

No problem to them - a 'mystery-donor' will no doubt pay !!

31-12-2017, 07:37 PM
Looks like a yellow.

Just seen another angle on Sportscene
RED
Petulant rave.

31-12-2017, 07:40 PM

:agree: I'm not surprised that hearts think that challenge is acceptable. Second angle just confirms what I thought on first viewing that the red was completely deserved.

31-12-2017, 07:46 PM
I doubt they will be appealing after seeing that second angle. A complete assault.

Absolute shocker, went straight for the player, could have broken his leg

If they appeal this, they have no morals

31-12-2017, 07:48 PM

If they appeal this, they have no morals

Probably use the Cochrane assault at ER as a justification for why it should only be a yellow....****wits

31-12-2017, 07:57 PM
No attempt to play the ball. If the streak of p1sh had an ounce of co-ordination about him he'd have snapped Shinnie's leg, which was obviously his intent.

Cowardly assault.

31-12-2017, 08:22 PM
Says on BBC website they are appealing the red card???????

Earlydelivery
31-12-2017, 08:25 PM
No chance will that get rescinded

31-12-2017, 08:55 PM
That new angle from the BBC...no way he plays in the cup.

Oh and I love the way they laid the trap for Levein to spout utter urine make the appeal and then release the tape.

31-12-2017, 08:56 PM

Oh and I love the way they laid the trap for Levein to spout utter urine make the appeal and then release the tape.

Totally agree. The new angle shows he clobbers him with little chance of getting the ball.

31-12-2017, 08:58 PM
A big seeth on kickback about this

31-12-2017, 09:02 PM

Any links to the new angle? It’s a red from the first angle I honestly can’t believe some think it’s not.

31-12-2017, 09:05 PM
Any links to the new angle? It’s a red from the first angle I honestly can’t believe some think it’s not.

31-12-2017, 09:07 PM
A big seeth on kickback about this

So they think it was a nothing tackle

Cheers 👍🏼

The second angle is behind Lafferty as he chases Shinnie. Unable to catch him he simply boots him up in the air

31-12-2017, 09:13 PM
Doesn't it cost the club 1000 pounds to appeal which they forfeit if they lose? Let the dafties waste their money lol.......

31-12-2017, 09:16 PM
All the pundits on Sportsound said it was a red. Okay he is a Don but Richard Gordon called him a disgrace. He wasn’t just referring to the tackle but his entire attitude to football.

Sounds like he joined the right team, then.

31-12-2017, 09:22 PM
The second angle is behind Lafferty as he chases Shinnie. Unable to catch him he simply boots him up in the air

Just watched the highlights red first time red from other angle it’s very straight forward to be fair be surprised if Hearts want to appeal it.

31-12-2017, 09:25 PM

Hearts to appeal

Its a shocker from the first angle. The second shows Lafferty's intent. One thing in his mind and that's to stop Shinnie at any cost. Horrible hacking *******. No way that's getting rescinded.

31-12-2017, 09:29 PM
[QUOTE=Thecat23;5263935]Any links to the new angle? It’s a red from the first angle I honestly can’t believe some think it’s not.[/QUOTE

i used to witness these kind of tackles, and was on the end of a few, in the old Maybury league!

31-12-2017, 09:38 PM
Its a shocker from the first angle. The second shows Lafferty's intent. One thing in his mind and that's to stop Shinnie at any cost. Horrible hacking *******. No way that's getting rescinded.

Agree just saw second angle shouldn't be rescinded. Horrific tackle. Hearts missed some decent chances. Aberdeen IMO should have had a pen when Hearts player handled in the box.

31-12-2017, 09:39 PM
Words fail me. Horrendous challenge but totally in keeping with the jamboesque take on hoofball. They are brutal to watch and cowardly like their manager.

31-12-2017, 09:41 PM
[QUOTE=Thecat23;5263935]Any links to the new angle? It’s a red from the first angle I honestly can’t believe some think it’s not.[/QUOTE

i used to witness these kind of tackles, and was on the end of a few, in the old Maybury league!
My old centre half playing partner used to dish them out. I was more cultured and a sweeper, more Beckenbauer-esque.........

31-12-2017, 09:43 PM
[QUOTE=Mikey09;5263956]
My old centre half playing partner used to dish them out. I was more cultured and a sweeper, more Beckenbauer-esque.........

Me i was a beckonmetothebar type

31-12-2017, 09:50 PM
Is there any decision against yams their manager doesn't consider harsh?

31-12-2017, 09:54 PM
Words fail me. Horrendous challenge but totally in keeping with the jamboesque take on hoofball. They are brutal to watch and cowardly like their manager.

And that anti football clown was our international manager any wonder we don't qualify for anything?

31-12-2017, 09:54 PM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;5263967]

Me i was a beckonmetothebar type
Well if I was being honest, I was after the game as well. Probably contributed to me not getting as many caps as I did.........

31-12-2017, 10:00 PM
[QUOTE=WoreTheGreen;5263969]
Well if I was being honest, I was after the game as well. Probably contributed to me not getting as many caps as I did.........

Screwtops?

31-12-2017, 10:02 PM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;5263975]

Screwtops?
Aye - got it in one........

:faf: Christ I better slow down here. It's 8 hours until new year here and I'm getting half baked already..........

31-12-2017, 10:04 PM

Been on the end of a few myself! Gave a few out mind you 😁

31-12-2017, 10:07 PM
[QUOTE=WoreTheGreen;5263978]
Aye - got it in one........

:faf: Christ I better slow down here. It's 8 hours until new year here and I'm getting half baked already..........

8hrs?

31-12-2017, 10:10 PM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;5263980]

8hrs?
I'm in Texas mate.....

31-12-2017, 10:11 PM
[QUOTE=WoreTheGreen;5263986]
I'm in Texas mate.....

Oh have a great new year mate

31-12-2017, 10:15 PM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;5263987]

Oh have a great new year mate
You too - just need to pace myself a bit better.....:greengrin

31-12-2017, 10:29 PM

I see just before the Lafferty tackle Jamie Brandon controls the ball with his arm in his own box. Easy to get clean sheets when you've got the officials helping you out.

31-12-2017, 10:31 PM
I see just before the Lafferty tackle Jamie Brandon controls the ball with his arm in his own box. Easy to get clean sheets when you've got the officials helping you out.

Yep stonewaller IMO his poor control helped out by his arm pen every day of the week. Surprised Craig never mentioned it. :rolleyes:

31-12-2017, 11:00 PM
Yep stonewaller IMO his poor control helped out by his arm pen every day of the week. Surprised Craig never mentioned it. :rolleyes:

Och! I'm sure there must have been an Aberdeen player offside somewhere which would have made it irrelevant anyway. :greengrin

01-01-2018, 04:04 AM
And that anti football clown was our international manager any wonder we don't qualify for anything?

I find it very depressing that teams in the spl pack their defence against us and express delight in getting a point and the manager says we were resilient. Translated means look to try and nick a goal. Really disappointed in Clarke comments yesterday as they were the form team in the league but came for a point.

-Jonesy-
01-01-2018, 10:48 AM
Kickback consensus is that because Shinne got back up unhurt it's not worthy of a red... Also loved "you see tackles like that go for a yellow all the time"
Aye, you see them if you follow potters team every week I'm sure

A thicker bunch of holes you will not find.

01-01-2018, 11:05 AM
There's something seriously wrong if they win an appeal - a tackle from behind with no hope or intention of winning the ball. Given that they have the worst disciplinary record in the league, surely the powers that be won't give them carte blanche to continue their thuggery.

01-01-2018, 11:57 AM
Potters after match interview was it was harsh because he only just missed the ball. His starting point is that Lafferty was trying to play the ball in the first place. So that's alight then. Breaks both legs by accident, nothing to see here.... The Hearts way.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

01-01-2018, 12:13 PM
Red card all day long. Absolute shocker

01-01-2018, 12:36 PM

If they appeal this, they have no morals[emoji106] It's been established pre and post administration that they have no morals.

They'll appeal, do the SPFL have any morals?

01-01-2018, 12:36 PM
If they lose the appeal, who will they lump the ball up to in the upcoming derby?

01-01-2018, 12:38 PM
If they lose the appeal, who will they lump the ball up to in the upcoming derby?

Jason Cummings 😬😱

01-01-2018, 12:39 PM
Can you imagine if Stokes put the same tackle in on Berra what the reaction would be from the Gorgie tramps? Absolutely guaranteed they'd be screaming for a red.

Its a stonewall red card and they wont win the appeal.

01-01-2018, 12:40 PM
I thought at first glance it was harsh. THAT view from behind the goal shows how shocking it was. He has zero chance of a successful appeal.

01-01-2018, 12:40 PM
Having looked at the BBCS new angle image the only way this will get rescinded is if the good doctor and her new rangers pal on the SPFL board exert some "influence"

It's a straightforward case of a loser scything down a player he can't catch with a fair tackle. Straight out of the Potter coaching manual-make sure you get the man.

01-01-2018, 01:03 PM
Hope he does get it rescinded as he's brutal. Daz and Hanlon will have him in their back pocket, again.

01-01-2018, 01:08 PM

They’ll play with no forwards

01-01-2018, 01:14 PM
They’ll play with no forwards

That's innovative... or is it? :hmmm:

01-01-2018, 04:34 PM
That's innovative... or is it? :hmmm:

I'm interested to see his tactics if he manages a 0-0 in the cup game and another in the subsequent money-spinner. Will he try to win the penalty shoot-out or not bother, considering his work to have been done to perfection over the previous 210 minutes? :dunno:

01-01-2018, 07:13 PM
I thought at first glance it was harsh. THAT view from behind the goal shows how shocking it was. He has zero chance of a successful appeal.

This is Scotland remember Col2??

Anything is possible however having seen this tackle from every angle I would suggest that if this is rescinded then every team in Scotland will use this as a basis as an appeal.

Red card without a shadow of a doubt however let's see how they powers that be see it.

If unsuccessful would it mean 3 instead of 2 game ban?

EastCalderHibby
01-01-2018, 10:31 PM

the cash cow :dunno:

01-01-2018, 10:49 PM
Hearts will never be appealing. FACT

Seriously that is a red all day. You knew what Lafferty was going to do about ten seconds before the event. No way will that be rescinded. I'll eat my hat if it is.

01-01-2018, 10:59 PM
Should get ban doubled on unsuccessful appeal. Makes a mockery of the option to appeal if it is used just to get players available for the next match.

01-01-2018, 11:12 PM
Hearts will never be appealing. FACT

Seriously that is a red all day. You knew what Lafferty was going to do about ten seconds before the event. No way will that be rescinded. I'll eat my hat if it is.

01-01-2018, 11:19 PM

Hearts are not appealing. Not to me anyway. :wink:

02-01-2018, 09:48 AM

It takes a special kind of person to find hertz appealing :lolyam:

02-01-2018, 09:54 AM
Should get ban doubled on unsuccessful appeal. Makes a mockery of the option to appeal if it is used just to get players available for the next match.

i do agree with you, however in this case he won’t be available for their next match (us in about 3 weeks), because the appeal will be heard long before then.

Yhe he only way he’d be available is if the appeal is upheld and the red is rescinded.

Souter96Mac
02-01-2018, 10:01 AM
Will be interesting, assuming the appeal fails, how Hearts go about the derby. Don't rate Lavatory too much but he's their out ball, unless they stick that Stockton up top in his place. Should be an even easier derby for our back four.

02-01-2018, 10:10 AM

02-01-2018, 10:22 AM
Having seen the footage for the first time I find it hard to believe they're appealing. Straight red, no question.

Levein's comment that "Kyle was chasing back, and he was a fraction away from the ball" is laughable.

02-01-2018, 10:28 AM
Getting the ball doesn't stop challenges being red cards these days.

02-01-2018, 10:28 AM
Watched it a few times now and watched it again just now a few days on. I still think it’s a red card.

Aggressive dangerous tackle.

The thing is though..The SFA have let off Ryan Jack twice this season so he will probably get it downgraded to a yellow.

02-01-2018, 10:30 AM
Having seen the footage for the first time I find it hard to believe they're appealing. Straight red, no question.

Levein's comment that "Kyle was chasing back, and he was a fraction away from the ball" is laughable.

I think he's right. It was a yellow card at most.

It just goes to show how differently people interpret incidents.

02-01-2018, 10:34 AM

From the Reports looks like they’re picking on the technicalities of the offence - and the weakest link across all refs in Scotland - consistency. They’re arguing that “excessive force” was not the case as other tackles in the game were on the same level. If Hearts get away with it then they’ll just continue on their clogging ways. Their derby run would in my opinion have been rectified on Paul Wright’s showing on his derby debut - enter Berry stage left break his leg - I don’t think he even got a card!

02-01-2018, 10:41 AM

Several yards is still only a fraction of a mile :wink:

02-01-2018, 10:54 AM
Appeals panel includes ex players, IIRC?

They have a sense of "was it mistimed, or was it deliberate and dangerous"

Can see why they are appealing, to be honest - could go either way.

02-01-2018, 11:41 AM
From the Reports looks like they’re picking on the technicalities of the offence - and the weakest link across all refs in Scotland - consistency. They’re arguing that “excessive force” was not the case as other tackles in the game were on the same level. If Hearts get away with it then they’ll just continue on their clogging ways. Their derby run would in my opinion have been rectified on Paul Wright’s showing on his derby debut - enter Berry stage left break his leg - I don’t think he even got a card!We never even got a free kick. From memory the ref played on for a long time. Back in the days before players booted the ball out.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

02-01-2018, 12:11 PM
That Berry tackle and also Dave Beaumont (http://www.worldfootball.net/player_summary/dave-beaumont/)'s lack of a tackle on Wayne Foster are the two things I remember that completely demonstrated the difference between Hibs and Hearts. I really like that we try to play football the right way but I wish Beaumont had hacked Foster down too. Be dirty once or twice a game in critical situations but don't base your entire game around it.

02-01-2018, 12:14 PM
Appeals panel includes ex players, IIRC?

They have a sense of "was it mistimed, or was it deliberate and dangerous"

Can see why they are appealing, to be honest - could go either way.

Could go either way, as can be seen by comments here it is not clear cut, I'd say chances are it will be a successful appeal.

02-01-2018, 01:09 PM
I can’t belive anyone thinks it’s anything other than a red. Seriously someone who thinks it’s a yellow from that behind the goals camera angle going to tell me how the ****ity **** they have come to that conclusion.

02-01-2018, 01:53 PM
The clip pretty much showcases the Hearts/Craig Levein football philosophy - opposing team on the attack, two players put to ground but neither tackled (one pushed over - one kicked over), free kick awarded and Hearts retreat to penalty box to defend the free kick en masse.
It's a red card for crimes against football alone.

02-01-2018, 01:59 PM
If that red is changed to a yellow it's an absolute joke. That said I'm really not that fussed if he plays against us or not.

02-01-2018, 03:09 PM
The clip pretty much showcases the Hearts/Craig Levein football philosophy - opposing team on the attack, two players put to ground but neither tackled (one pushed over - one kicked over), free kick awarded and Hearts retreat to penalty box to defend the free kick en masse.
It's a red card for crimes against football alone.

I recall an Aberdeen Hertz game that was on telly before our game at ER. The game ended 0-0. I recall the Hertz midfield taking turns to kick out at the superior Aberdeen players. On many occasions there was no attempt to play the ball. It was more about stopping the player rather than get the ball.

When a Hertz player was eventually booked that player was substituted before they were sent. Then substitute then proceeded to do the same type of fouling.

Anti football won that day.

02-01-2018, 04:43 PM
Pretty much what happened at the weekend.

02-01-2018, 05:55 PM
Lafferty will not attend the appeal as he’ll be away with Hearts.Incidentally the SFA do not judge the appeal.The panel has at least two if not all three outsiders.

02-01-2018, 09:02 PM
I have watched it over and over and he makes absolutely no attempt to play the balk and catches the Dons player about the knee. It was also from behind.

That could have been a lot worse fir the dons player!

02-01-2018, 09:02 PM
I have watched it over and over and he makes absolutely no attempt to play the ball and catches the Dons player about the knee. It was also from behind.

That could have been a lot worse for the dons player!

03-01-2018, 01:25 AM
I have watched it over and over and he makes absolutely no attempt to play the balk and catches the Dons player about the knee. It was also from behind.

That could have been a lot worse fir the dons player!

Jambos are saying it isn't a red card because Shinnie wasn't injured and got up straight away. What an idiotic argument to justify it being downgraded to a yellow, I hope that forms part of their actual case when they make the appeal, it will be chucked out. Then again, I won't be too disappointed if the appeal is successful, he's useless.

He should have had a ban before now in any case, based on his elbowing of Hanlon and Ambrose. He also did a virtually identical tackle to the Shinnie one in the Hamilton game on their sub about a minute after the sub had come on. It could have been red and I couldn't believe he didn't even get a yellow. Maybe that's why Jambos think it is okay, he got away with it then so why not now? Don't think the BBC Alba coverage is available on iplayer anymore to have another look at it.

04-01-2018, 03:47 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/date-set-for-kyle-lafferty-appeal-ahead-of-hearts-hibs-cup-tie-1-4653558

04-01-2018, 04:00 PM
Jambos are saying it isn't a red card because Shinnie wasn't injured and got up straight away. What an idiotic argument to justify it being downgraded to a yellow, I hope that forms part of their actual case when they make the appeal, it will be chucked out. Then again, I won't be too disappointed if the appeal is successful, he's useless.

He should have had a ban before now in any case, based on his elbowing of Hanlon and Ambrose. He also did a virtually identical tackle to the Shinnie one in the Hamilton game on their sub about a minute after the sub had come on. It could have been red and I couldn't believe he didn't even get a yellow. Maybe that's why Jambos think it is okay, he got away with it then so why not now? Don't think the BBC Alba coverage is available on iplayer anymore to have another look at it.

Sportscene is still available. Mikey S and Thomshun agree its a straight red.

04-01-2018, 04:07 PM
"The SFA had planned to hear the case next Thursday, January 11, but Hearts travel to Spain for a winter training camp that morning so the date has been brought forward 48 hours. Lafferty and manager Craig Levein are expected to attend."

Looks like they tried to pull a fast one by scheduling their training camp on the same day as the hearing to try and delay it until after the derby. Nae luck.

IlDiavola
04-01-2018, 05:01 PM
It was a yellow card offence.

Hope their appeal fails like but if it was one of our players we would be expecting it to be reduced to a yellow. :agree:

Whether he plays against us or not however is of no great concern to me.

04-01-2018, 05:03 PM

Hope their appeal fails like but if it was one of our players we would be expecting it to be reduced to a yellow. :agree:

Whether he plays against us or not however is of no great concern to me.

How’s it yellow? Both feet off the ground which right away is an illegal tackle. No attempt at taking the ball, and he’s tackled him from behind. It’s a red everywhere you look at it.

IlDiavola
04-01-2018, 05:09 PM
How’s it yellow? Both feet off the ground which right away is an illegal tackle. No attempt at taking the ball, and he’s tackled him from behind. It’s a red everywhere you look at it.

Well, I think the ref was swayed by the players reaction and that of the crowd. Your points are good ones but I feel that most refs would have only produced the yellow card.

Sorry to disagree but that's what I think.

murray26
04-01-2018, 05:21 PM
That’s a red card whatever way you look at it.. no way should that be rescinded and if it does it will just make our game look even more ridiculous.. the jamboids are having a laugh with this appeal..

04-01-2018, 05:35 PM
Your points are good ones but I feel that most refs would have only produced the yellow card.

His points show three ways in which the tackle was a no-no.

In Scotland you might (wrongly) get away with one but this tackle is

1. Late;
2. Out of control (both feet off the ground);
3. From behind -

- I'd add 4. High.

Red card all the way. Even in this footballing backwater.

IlDiavola
04-01-2018, 05:40 PM
His points show three ways in which the tackle was a no-no.

In Scotland you might (wrongly) get away with one but this tackle is

1. Late;
2. Out of control (both feet off the ground);
3. From behind -

- I'd add 4. High.

Red card all the way. Even in this footballing backwater.

Ok, we differ in our opinions. :aok:

I think it will be reduced to a yellow card offence, we'll wait and see.

04-01-2018, 05:42 PM

It's not opinions that matter, it's the laws of the game.

04-01-2018, 05:44 PM
It's not opinions that matter, it's the laws of the game.
The problem is that the laws are open to interpretation - that said I agree with you it should stay a red and quite frankly if it is reduced to a yellow they would be as well getting rid of the panel due to it it being worthless.

04-01-2018, 05:45 PM
Is this the first time Levein has gone with a forward at Hampden?

IlDiavola
04-01-2018, 05:51 PM

04-01-2018, 05:52 PM
Hate to say it but probably is a yellow. The key interpretation of the law is whether or not he was endeandering an opponent.

We had a very similar situation in a game couple of seasons ago. Steven Thomson crudely brought down SJM as he ran away from him in the centre circle. It was from behind. Put him up in the air - but - Thomson only got a yellow at the time.

Now, at the time I worked with the ref who was in the middle that day, known him for a number of years, (he’s now retired from the game) and I asked him on the Monday after the game why it wasn't a straight red. To all intents, it certainly looked it. His reply - yes, it was a cynical tackle (professional foul if you like) but in his opinion he hadn’t endangered SJM with the tackle. That was the key to whether it was red or yellow. Couldn’t be looked at retrospectively because it was “dealt with” during the game with a yellow.

Just goes to show it’s all down to how the ref sees it. Our opinions count for diddly squat.

04-01-2018, 06:00 PM
Hate to say it but probably is a yellow. The key interpretation of the law is whether or not he was endeandering an opponent.

We had a very similar situation in a game couple of seasons ago. Steven Thomson crudely brought down SJM as he ran away from him in the centre circle. It was from behind. Put him up in the air - but - Thomson only got a yellow at the time.

Now, at the time I worked with the ref who was in the middle that day, known him for a number of years, (he’s now retired from the game) and I asked him on the Monday after the game why it wasn't a straight red. To all intents, it certainly looked it. His reply - yes, it was a cynical tackle (professional foul if you like) but in his opinion he hadn’t endangered SJM with the tackle. That was the key to whether it was red or yellow. Couldn’t be looked at retrospectively because it was “dealt with” during the game with a yellow.

Just goes to show it’s all down to how the ref sees it. Our opinions count for diddly squat.

That’s not true. The key interpretation, and the only one btw, is did he use excessive force? If you don’t think he did then your probably watching the wrong sport. He’s miles from the ball, lunged, and booted the boy half way up the leg. There was no need to do what he did and he did use excessive force.

IlDiavola
04-01-2018, 06:00 PM

Thank you. :aok:

04-01-2018, 06:06 PM
Looked like a strikers tackle, seen a lot worse get away with a Y. Imo will be downgraded to a Y.

04-01-2018, 06:11 PM

Thank you. :aok:

Tackles from behind used to be legal and executed well were a thing of beauty. The reason they were banned was because it was found most career threatening injuries from tackles were tackles from behind.

If you tackle from behind (recklessly in this case as both feet are off the ground i.e. he is out of control) you endangering your opponent.

04-01-2018, 06:11 PM
Well, I think the ref was swayed by the players reaction and that of the crowd. Your points are good ones but I feel that most refs would have only produced the yellow card.

Sorry to disagree but that's what I think.

That could well be a factor at the time. But if he sticks with the laws of the game then the red will stand. Kind of slices him down!

Fine to disagree that’s Football 👍🏼

IlDiavola
04-01-2018, 06:15 PM
That could well be a factor at the time. But if he sticks with the laws of the game then the red will stand. Kind of slices him down!

Fine to disagree that’s Football 👍🏼

Cheers Cat :Awright!:

04-01-2018, 06:24 PM
That’s not true. The key interpretation, and the only one btw, is did he use excessive force? If you don’t think he did then your probably watching the wrong sport. He’s miles from the ball, lunged, and booted the boy half way up the leg. There was no need to do what he did and he did use excessive force.

You’re right. Or should I interpret that as you’re not wrong.:wink:

However, the specific law quotes both endangering and excessive force, so technically there are 2 interpretations to make a decision on by the ref. In Laughatme’s case it is probably more the excessive force part that swayed the ref to give the red. Don’t think he was “endangering” Shinnie and that will be Laughatme’s defence no doubt. Don’t get me wrong, hope it doesnt get overturned.

The example I quoted was very similar and looked as though excessive force had been used - BUT - the ref in that game interpreted it on the endangering aspect and didn’t, in his opinion, think that was the case so only gave a yellow, when 15000 Hibs fans thought different.

And don’t forget Ian Black’s assault on Leigh in ‘that’ cup final. He got away with not even being talked to. Tripped, fouled, endangered, excessive force, all in one act but CT interpreted it as none of these!!

As I say, our opinions mean nowt.

Tornadoes70
04-01-2018, 06:24 PM
It was reckless and deliberate. There was zero attempt to play the ball and Lafferty lashed out with his foot at the opponents knees in order to take out the opponent player who was about to launch an attack down the wing. Red card all day long. However its the SFA panel who'll ultimately decide and if they want to send out the signal its fine for 'some' players to scythe down opposition players at the knees then they're able to do so regardless of what the vast majority of us fans think.

04-01-2018, 06:27 PM
Look at where and how Laffertys knee makes contact with Shinnies leg.

That’s both excessive force and endangering an opponent.

More playing of the victim card by Hearts but if there’s any justice they’ll get nowhere with this frivolous appeal. Well done red.

04-01-2018, 06:32 PM

It also falls under violent conduct. His sole intention was just to run up and boot him.

04-01-2018, 06:34 PM
Cheers Cat :Awright!:

👍🏼 It’s good to debate these things, and the way we all see games differently. I could be completely wrong and he could get it downgraded to yellow.

I just feel the points I stated before makes it difficult for him to put up a case. Either way it’s Hearts and Levein they are jammy as so it’ll be binned no doubt.

Skol
04-01-2018, 06:48 PM
This wasn't just an obstruction or a trip to bring someone down. It was a pre-meditated lunge with no attempt to get the ball and could have injured the player. Its a red all day long

Firestarter
04-01-2018, 06:51 PM
I hope it fails. He would be a massive loss for them.

Tug Wilson
04-01-2018, 06:55 PM
So a tackle where a player has a chance of getting the ball but mistimes the challenge and catches the opponent can find that he gets a red.

Yet where a player deliberately takes out an opponent with no attempt to get the ball, basically just kicking the player to bring him down, can somehow be deemed just a yellow card!

Not sure what the laws of game are meant to be in this situation but if this red is successfully appealed then football really should take a look at itself.

04-01-2018, 06:58 PM
👍🏼 It’s good to debate these things, and the way we all see games differently. I could be completely wrong and he could get it downgraded to yellow.

I just feel the points I stated before makes it difficult for him to put up a case. Either way it’s Hearts and Levein they are jammy as so it’ll be binned no doubt.

Think it is a red all day. The appeal shows what Hearts think is acceptable. I hope they don’t get it. However he is **** so it might suit us if he plays.

Firestarter
04-01-2018, 07:31 PM
Think it is a red all day. The appeal shows what Hearts think is acceptable. I hope they don’t get it. However he is **** so it might suit us if he plays.

They would appeal regardless it's what Potter does.

04-01-2018, 07:58 PM
How's it not excessive force? If he just wanted to stop play he could've pulled Shinnie's shirt or clipped his ankles.

If he wanted to win the ball he could've, y'know, tried to win the ball. Instead he launched himself when there was absolutely no need to. Excessive.

Skol
04-01-2018, 08:48 PM
How's it not excessive force? If he just wanted to stop play he could've pulled Shinnie's shirt or clipped his ankles.

If he wanted to win the ball he could've, y'know, tried to win the ball. Instead he launched himself when there was absolutely no need to. Excessive.

He wasnt close enough for that type of foul which would be a yellow. His only option was to cynically hack him down. Or not do it I suppose.

05-01-2018, 02:59 AM

I think it will be reduced to a yellow card offence, we'll wait and see.

Respect you opinions mate but I can't see anything but a straight red for that tackle :agree:

AltheHibby
05-01-2018, 08:52 AM

Aren't they not attending, keeping Potter's record intact. 😁

MacGruber
05-01-2018, 09:29 AM

Does this not mean an ex ref is admitting that if SJM rolled about injured and feigned injury that the ref would have sent Thomson off. Surely he couldn't have thought to himself it wasn't endangering if he thought he was injured. So the exact same tackle and intent can be either a yellow or a red depending on whether the player gets injured or looks injured if he can act it out well.
That's not ground breaking but sounds like it is being admitted

05-01-2018, 10:23 AM
Tackles from behind used to be legal and executed well were a thing of beauty. The reason they were banned was because it was found most career threatening injuries from tackles were tackles from behind.

If you tackle from behind (recklessly in this case as both feet are off the ground i.e. he is out of control) you endangering your opponent.
John Collins was brilliant at the tackle from behind. He would slide in and almost always come away with the ball.

05-01-2018, 10:44 AM
This thread is good evidence of why video evidence is limited in it's use for football other than for goal line incidents. The offence viewed from three angles but still opinion is polarised with some posters saying red all day long and some saying no more than a standard yellow. Simple matter of opinion that a lot of referree's decision is based on in football, and the arguements will still rage after the decision has been made at the appeal.

05-01-2018, 12:53 PM
This thread is good evidence of why video evidence is limited in it's use for football other than for goal line incidents. The offence viewed from three angles but still opinion is polarised with some posters saying red all day long and some saying no more than a standard yellow. Simple matter of opinion that a lot of referree's decision is based on in football, and the arguements will still rage after the decision has been made at the appeal.

He'll either be a dirty hun bassa who got his just dessert, or a dirty hun bassa who got away with murder... either way, he'll still be a dirty hun bassa

007 Mickey Weir
05-01-2018, 12:58 PM
When will the appeal be heard?

05-01-2018, 01:00 PM
Think it is the 11th in the local lodge

Tynie01011973
05-01-2018, 01:51 PM
Think it is the 11th in the local lodge

Been brought forward to next Tuesday (9th) to allow KL + Harry Potter to attend- as they fly out to their training camp on the original scheduled date

05-01-2018, 08:22 PM
Card gets downgraded to yellow, Beaton is ref for the cup game and sends Lafferty off again. How's that for a prediction?

05-01-2018, 08:43 PM
Card gets downgraded to yellow, Beaton is ref for the cup game and sends Lafferty off again. How's that for a prediction?

So what are they going to say, I didn’t mean my lord

Should be fined for wasting SFA time

05-01-2018, 08:52 PM
Been brought forward to next Tuesday (9th) to allow KL + Harry Potter to attend- as they fly out to their training camp on the original scheduled date

This is something that I don't understand - why do they attend in person?

Surely the appeal panel review the footage and make their call - he doesn't get to offer any statement so why attend?

Blatant red btw

05-01-2018, 08:52 PM
This is something that I don't understand - why do they attend in person?

Surely the appeal panel review the footage and make their call - he doesn't get to offer any statement so why attend?

Blatant red btw

It’s not a kangaroo court, you can attend the appeal

05-01-2018, 08:59 PM
So what are they going to say, I didn’t mean my lord

Should be fined for wasting SFA time

They'll show them the numerous tackles/challenges Elbows has got away with without even getting a yellow and say those were okay so the Shinnie one surely must be too.

Does he get an extra game ban if the appeal is rejected?

05-01-2018, 09:08 PM
They'll show them the numerous tackles/challenges Elbows has got away with without even getting a yellow and say those were okay so the Shinnie one surely must be too.

Only if the breaks determine it to be a frivolous appeal

05-01-2018, 09:11 PM

Don’t think so in Scotland. If they lose, I think they also pay the costs
Peanuts when you’ve just built a £15m mega stand

05-01-2018, 09:13 PM

Would we? It was an assault.

Firestarter
05-01-2018, 09:19 PM
Don’t think so in Scotland. If they lose, I think they also pay the costs
Peanuts when you’ve just built a £15m mega stand

Hamilton I think? Sure I read that.

05-01-2018, 09:24 PM
Hamilton I think? Sure I read that.

Not sure what you mean😄

05-01-2018, 09:25 PM
Only if the breaks determine it to be a frivolous appeal

Double or quits then.

Firestarter
05-01-2018, 09:34 PM
Not sure what you mean😄

Sure I read if he loses the appeal he misses Hamilton away?

05-01-2018, 09:40 PM

I know you can attend.

However the attendance surely has no influence in the outcome of the appeal. So what is the point?

05-01-2018, 09:40 PM
Sure I read if he loses the appeal he misses Hamilton away?

Ok sorry, thought a straight red was a 2 game ban?

05-01-2018, 10:11 PM
It is.Cup and Hamilton

05-01-2018, 10:12 PM

Lafferty is a kangaroo?!?!? Certain things make sense now.

Tornadoes70
05-01-2018, 10:18 PM
Lafferty is a kangaroo?!?!? Certain things make sense now.

Very good. However when comparing the laughatme man child to an animal I'd think of him more of a bit of a silly billy goat. Wonder what his missus calls him now she knows he's done his main pot at Hills.

05-01-2018, 10:46 PM

Very good. However when comparing the laughatme man child to an animal I'd think of him more of a bit of a silly billy goat. Wonder what his missus calls him now she knows he's done his main pot at Hills.

Less of the Billy goat nonsense😎

Tornadoes70
05-01-2018, 10:51 PM
Less of the Billy goat nonsense��

Apologies Billy!

Maybe Kyle the Kangaroo who hops around on two legs kicking and punching out was the more apt.

WeveGotMcginn
06-01-2018, 01:46 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180106/d493b5570406724ea014cfb4c6dfe883.jpg

Ffs what a melt[emoji55]

WeveGotMcginn
06-01-2018, 01:46 AM
Automatic 5 game ban for that Barnet

06-01-2018, 04:03 AM
Ah yes, I've heard the Whitewalker look is in right now. What a pillock

06-01-2018, 07:54 AM
Jeez he looks like Philip Schofield

06-01-2018, 09:04 AM

Ffs what a melt[emoji55]

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI LIKE IT!!

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

06-01-2018, 09:19 AM

Ffs what a melt[emoji55]

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkBit of a shock when I opened this as I thought it was about giving up elbowing people and falling over feigning injury but it's just about continuing to be a roaster but with a John Major hair style.

06-01-2018, 09:25 AM

I'm not sure it's really TV evidence that's the problem. I think it's more the way the game & the Laws of the game have changed in the last few years that's the problem IMO. I was a qualified ref & for many years the laws hardly changed. Even when there was a significant change, eg interfering with play, the Law stayed the same but the guidance to refs was updated. In recent years there have been numerous changes, mostly to do with offside & foul play. There will always be a degree of subjectivity re what constitutes serious foul play, & I'm not disputing your central point, but a lot of the debate is because fans & even supposedly professional pundits are not au fait with the current laws. FWIW I'm out the country, off to welcome the boys to Faro shortly, so haven't seen the incident but I'm 100% certain that Lafferty's guilty as sin! ☺

06-01-2018, 09:32 AM

Ffs what a melt[emoji55]

It's not so much tha hair as the serious face stare into the camera. 15 year old on Snapchat style.

06-01-2018, 11:34 AM

Ffs what a melt[emoji55]

Maybe appealing on mistaken identity

06-01-2018, 01:30 PM
Maybe appealing on mistaken identity

:thumbsup: Just what I was thinking.

06-01-2018, 02:10 PM
I'm not sure it's really TV evidence that's the problem. I think it's more the way the game & the Laws of the game have changed in the last few years that's the problem IMO. I was a qualified ref & for many years the laws hardly changed. Even when there was a significant change, eg interfering with play, the Law stayed the same but the guidance to refs was updated. In recent years there have been numerous changes, mostly to do with offside & foul play. There will always be a degree of subjectivity re what constitutes serious foul play, & I'm not disputing your central point, but a lot of the debate is because fans & even supposedly professional pundits are not au fait with the current laws. FWIW I'm out the country, off to welcome the boys to Faro shortly, so haven't seen the incident but I'm 100% certain that Lafferty's guilty as sin! ☺
Typical ref.Doesn’t see the incident but gives a decision anyway.:greengrin

06-01-2018, 02:18 PM
Typical ref.Doesn’t see the incident but gives a decision anyway.:greengrin

Love it! In all seriousness if i was unsure of a decision i would often pause & take account of the body language from the players involved & then make a decision. Its often quite easy to see whose trying it on versus those who are genuine. I think too many refs rush to judgement too quickly.

06-01-2018, 02:25 PM
Mr brog were you a ref and if so what level

06-01-2018, 02:58 PM
I was, but unfortunately for only 3 seasons as my work travel got in the way. In those days everyone started at grade 3 but i was mentored by an English top flight ref, Roger ? & got fast tracked to Level 1 but stopped before I could ref at that level. Biggest game I reffed involved Bromley, now in National League in England.

06-01-2018, 04:16 PM
Good on you mate

IlDiavola
06-01-2018, 04:26 PM
Lafferty going to his appeal hearing as Philip Scofield.

06-01-2018, 06:22 PM
Love it! In all seriousness if i was unsure of a decision i would often pause & take account of the body language from the players involved & then make a decision. Its often quite easy to see whose trying it on versus those who are genuine. I think too many refs rush to judgement too quickly.

Sspot on.The ref in this case evidently discussed it with the linesman before sending Lafferty off which makes it even less likely to be overturned because he’s not going to say he was too hasty.

07-01-2018, 03:29 PM
Are the comments/match report of the match referee (and his team of officials) taken into account in the appeal process?

just curious

07-01-2018, 03:34 PM
Jeez he looks like Philip Schofield

I thought more like Paul O'Grady

Tornadoes70
07-01-2018, 03:36 PM
I thought more like Paul O'Grady

Yams on sickback reporting Lafferty's been causing disharmony within their dressing room. We really did have a lucky escape missing out on this donut.

IlDiavola
07-01-2018, 05:02 PM

Yams on sickback reporting Lafferty's been causing disharmony within their dressing room. We really did have a lucky escape missing out on this donut.

Agreed, but do we really need eight pages discussing a donut? :cb

07-01-2018, 05:07 PM

Not surprising at all, seems like a totally minging guy. Will be one of their highest earners as well. Lovely :agree:

07-01-2018, 05:13 PM
Not surprising at all, seems like a totally minging guy. Will be one of their highest earners as well. Lovely :agree:

By an absolute mile. More than £5k per week with goal bonus’ as well, and it sounds like they’re paying his counselling as well.

StevieT
07-01-2018, 05:42 PM

I too am a referee and have been for the last 12 years. Decided to take up refereeing at 45 when my 11 a side days were coming to an end. I referee up to under 19 age groups and love every minute of it. I chose to referee 'kids' rather than adults as I believe that I can be part of their education as I talk to the players throughout the games.

09-01-2018, 11:46 AM
Today's the appeal date apparently.
Part of me thinks a successful appeal is best for Hibs - if they're unsuccessful they'd be more likely to sign someone they can't afford, just for the Cup derby.
Like they did with that Tziolis, Malaury Martin, Aaron Hughes, Goncalves & co last Jan.

09-01-2018, 12:40 PM
Today's the appeal date apparently.
Part of me thinks a successful appeal is best for Hibs - if they're unsuccessful they'd be more likely to sign someone they can't afford, just for the Cup derby.
Like they did with that Tziolis, Malaury Martin, Aaron Hughes, Goncalves & co last Jan.Ambivalent about laugherty playing against us but I like the idea of Potter signing a transit full of catalogue rejects from colquhoun again just to try and beat us. Worked out well for us last time.

09-01-2018, 12:46 PM
Wouldn't be surprised to see it reduced to a yellow with Hearts warned about their future conduct.

They'll ignore the warning.

Fuzzywuzzy
09-01-2018, 12:48 PM
Upheld apparently

09-01-2018, 12:51 PM
Upheld apparently

The red or the appeal?

09-01-2018, 12:52 PM
The red or the appeal?

The red. It stands.

09-01-2018, 12:52 PM
The red. It stands.

Damn. He's been a man light for them so far in the derbies. Unlikely that his replacement will be as bad.

09-01-2018, 12:53 PM
Upheld apparently

Yup, according to that Jambo fud Ewan Murray. Haven't seen in reported anywhere else yet.

It wasn't the worst tackle I've seen but he deserves a ban based on the ones he's got away with.

09-01-2018, 12:54 PM
Lafferty going to his appeal hearing as Philip Scofield.

:greengrin:aok:

09-01-2018, 12:57 PM
Yep apparently he’s lost his appeal 😂

Tornadoes70
09-01-2018, 12:58 PM
Damn. He's been a man light for them so far in the derbies. Unlikely that his replacement will be as bad.

He's normally useless. A big glaikit huddie who throws himself around the pitch trying to hurt decent footballers. Not so good if he's out but hey ho we'll still have more than enough to come away with a result against the anti football yams.

09-01-2018, 12:58 PM
The red. It stands.

09-01-2018, 01:03 PM
Jambos are spewing over this, to quote one of them.. “step up to the plate Cole Stockton.” 😂

09-01-2018, 01:06 PM
Jambos are spewing over this, to quote one of them.. “step up to the plate Cole Stockton.” 😂

Have things got that bad for them that he's the preferred choice over Goncalves?

09-01-2018, 01:07 PM

A constant source of amusement

09-01-2018, 01:08 PM
Bravado aside. Its good for us that he is out.

Is the ban increased for unsuccessful appeals?

RossScott1991
09-01-2018, 01:08 PM
Didn't bother me in slightest if he won the appeal and played. He has been totally non existent in his 2 games against us soo far and is the type of striker McGregor loves playing against.

Still think a below par stokes is a better player than laughtery. We dodged a bullet.

09-01-2018, 01:09 PM
Have things got that bad for them that he's the preferred choice over Goncalves?

Goncalves looks to be heading out the door.

09-01-2018, 01:10 PM

And the £ 1000 appeal fee down the stank.

Cake sale anyone ? :greengrin

09-01-2018, 01:11 PM
And the £ 1000 appeal fee down the stank.

Cake sale anyone ? :greengrin

😁 right enough, the cake sale and cash cow will be out this week!!

09-01-2018, 01:13 PM
Goncalves looks to be heading out the door.

It will take him 6 attempts before he gets through the doorway.

09-01-2018, 01:22 PM
Didn't bother me in slightest if he won the appeal and played. He has been totally non existent in his 2 games against us soo far and is the type of striker McGregor loves playing against.

Still think a below par stokes is a better player than laughtery. We dodged a bullet.
Caused us a few problems at Easter Road. Ask any Jambo they are definitely weaker without him.