View Full Version : New Year's Honours List

30-12-2017, 03:09 PM
What a load of Lilian Gish, the whole thing is. As shallow and crass as the Oscars and just as nauseating. The quicker we get rid of this up-yer-ain-erz crap the better.

30-12-2017, 03:16 PM
What a load of Lilian Gish, the whole thing is. As shallow and crass as the Oscars and just as nauseating. The quicker we get rid of this up-yer-ain-erz crap the better6

Nick Clegg gets an award for services to repeatedly lying.

30-12-2017, 05:20 PM
Saw piers Morgan tweeting, asking why Clegg is getting a knighthood, and Kenny Dalglish isn’t? Feels KD is due on for his efforts in the aftermath of hillsborough

John_R_Corbett
30-12-2017, 06:17 PM
What a load of Lilian Gish, the whole thing is. As shallow and crass as the Oscars and just as nauseating. The quicker we get rid of this up-yer-ain-erz crap the better6quite agree.

sir nick clegg :faf::faf: help ma boab

30-12-2017, 06:35 PM
A knighthood for judging strictly.
What next? Sir Sooty & Sir Sweep. :hyper

30-12-2017, 07:16 PM
A knighthood for judging strictly.
What next? Sir Sooty & Sir Sweep. :hyper

It’s a damehood, she’s a female. And she’s done a lot more in her life than judging on Strictly

30-12-2017, 07:30 PM
The annual bore fest of the uber Unionists fawning over each other in their quest to be recognised.

When Theresa May hands out honours to half of the committee who rule on Tory leadership challenges, you know you're in trouble.

When Jo Swinson becomes the latest Lib dem to achieve greatness for services to the Tory party.

All in the week that, documents declassified this week, tell us that MI5 attempted to set up the assassination of the Taoiseach, Charles Haughey, and too much to mention on Thatcher.

30-12-2017, 07:47 PM
Saw piers Morgan tweeting, asking why Clegg is getting a knighthood, and Kenny Dalglish isn’t? Feels KD is due on for his efforts in the aftermath of hillsborough

I'd hope Kenny Dalglish would tell them to ram it, or has told them to ram it in the past. The man went through hell after Hillsborough and the establishment tried their best to whitewash the whole thing. Why should he accept an 'honour' from them now?

30-12-2017, 08:50 PM
It’s a damehood, she’s a female. And she’s done a lot more in her life than judging on Strictly

Aye, I kinda thought that. Just making a point though. :cb

John_R_Corbett
30-12-2017, 08:54 PM
Aye, I kinda thought that. Just making a point though. :cbFor services to dance, what a load of cobblers. Time all this nonsense was canned.

30-12-2017, 09:01 PM
I'd hope Kenny Dalglish would tell them to ram it, or has told them to ram it in the past. The man went through hell after Hillsborough and the establishment tried their best to whitewash the whole thing. Why should he accept an 'honour' from them now?

:agree: I agree

kenny stood strong for the families in their hour of need, and continued to do so throughout all the establishment bull**** that followed. I doubt the establishment would get much from him if it ever was/is offered, he knows what the people of Liverpool think of him and the regard they hold him in, anything else is irrelevant.

30-12-2017, 09:03 PM
For services to dance, what a load of cobblers. Time all this nonsense was canned.

I’m a bit torn on it.

I don’t like all the terminology that comes with it; empire, commanders and so on and a lot of it is clearly motivated by politics, erse kissing, money given to the right places and a bit of a popularity contest thrown in. On the flip side a friend of mine was given an MBE a couple of years ago for her charity work, particularly with disadvantaged and troubled youths, for many years and whilst she was a bit embarrassed by it she was genuinely honoured and humbled by it. I might not like the system but if it exists then she deserved it.

Replacing the current system with some kind of transparent ‘citizens awards’ would seem a good idea to me. Perhaps with a nomination process or something.

30-12-2017, 09:04 PM
Time all this nonsense was canned.

I agree with you that it's a load of nonsense. But if there were to be a UK-wide referendum on whether to scrap the honours system or not, what do you think the result would be?

John_R_Corbett
30-12-2017, 09:07 PM
I agree with you that it's a load of nonsense. But if there were to be a UK-wide referendum on whether to scrap the honours system or not, what do you think the result would be?A bit like ever other uk wide vote, the english vote would decide so we'd probably still be stuck with it.

30-12-2017, 09:24 PM
It's a bit odd that Ringo Starr, whose life has, up to now, been most notable for taking copious amounts of drugs and repeated infidelity, gets a gong now since becoming a prominent Brexit campaigner:dunno: I get he was a beatle, but why now?

30-12-2017, 09:36 PM
It's a bit odd that Ringo Starr, whose life has, up to now, been most notable for taking copious amounts of drugs and repeated infidelity, gets a gong now since becoming a prominent Brexit campaigner:dunno: I get he was a beatle, but why now?

Maybe on recognition of the longevity and cultural impact of his work?

If we are to have what seems like a rather broken system of honours then maybe letting history be the judge of whether someone deserves it is not the worst approach.

Clegg being given a knighthood kind of makes it hard to take seriously though...

30-12-2017, 09:40 PM
Maybe on recognition of the longevity and cultural impact of his work?

**** drummer, always was. Unless you're talking about his work on Thomas The Tank Engine? :greengrin
I do take the general point though.

30-12-2017, 09:41 PM
**** drummer, always was. Unless you're talking about his work on Thomas The Tank Engine? :greengrin
I do take the general point though.

Not even the best drummer in The Beatles. :greengrin

30-12-2017, 10:30 PM
Not even the best drummer in The Beatles. :greengrin

A-ha the famous John Lennon quote inferring that Paul was better on the skins. Personally I liked Ringo's input into the Beatles songs and he deserves credit for it. Not a knighthood though. Sir Thomas the Tank Engine is more acceptable to me.

30-12-2017, 11:05 PM

........ would he accept one? Mibbies aye, mibbies naw. :dunno:

31-12-2017, 09:14 AM
Quite right Jeff. :wink:

https://twitter.com/twitter/statuses/947181757173989379

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-12-2017, 09:50 AM
Im not a huge lover of the honours system, seems a bit pointless.

However i think i could make my peace with it if it were seen more as a lifetime achievement award.

Instead it seems to be more of a way for tge royals/establishment to prove how hip and 'in-tune with modern society' they are.

I cant stand sports people getting them during their career, but genuine pillars of society who have a lifetime of work that has genuinely enriched our culture, i dont see the problem.

I also had a great auntie who was given the British Empire Medal for her work in the Craigmillar community (something she wad proud of) so some ordinary people do also get recognised.

31-12-2017, 09:53 AM
A-ha the famous John Lennon quote inferring that Paul was better on the skins. Personally I liked Ringo's input into the Beatles songs and he deserves credit for it. Not a knighthood though. ASir Thomas the Tank Engine is more acceptable to me.

John Lennon never said it. It was a joke by Jasper Carrott but it seems to have passed into popular mythology. Like the jokes about Captain Pugwash.

31-12-2017, 09:58 AM
John Lennon never said it. It was a joke by Jasper Carrott but it seems to have passed into popular mythology. Like the jokes about Captain Pugwash.
...a much under-rated drummer was the good Captain.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

31-12-2017, 11:05 AM

... and young Bates was a master at the old paradiddle too.

31-12-2017, 11:08 AM

Dolloping doubloons! he certainly was.

31-12-2017, 11:31 AM

Well said.

31-12-2017, 11:47 AM

:top marks for Jeff.

31-12-2017, 01:52 PM

He accepted an MBE 30+ years ago so he's not overly opposed to the honours system. And there have been other Hillsborough campaigners recognised in previous honours lists. My guess is he'd accept if offered and reflect that it recognises all the campaigners.

31-12-2017, 02:21 PM
My mum refused an honour which was proposed in recognition of community and charity work. She felt that she was no more worthy than others in her entourage and also wasn't that fussed for being rewarded by the very system whose failings necessitated the work in the first place.

-Jonesy-
31-12-2017, 02:32 PM
I'm dead against the imperial elite crony forelocktugging honours system however, I would accept an honour if offered so I could put on my best suit and go to London to fart right in the queens coupon.

John_R_Corbett
31-12-2017, 02:57 PM
I'm dead against the imperial elite crony forelocktugging honours system however, I would accept an honour if offered so I could put on my best suit and go to London to fart right in the queens coupon.:hilarious

31-12-2017, 03:48 PM
IMHO, the who thing is an anachronistic embarrassment. We don't even have an empire; drop the pretence. It's a leftover of the British class system: the MBE bows to the OBE who bows to the CBE etc etc; and accepting an 'honour' from an unelected head of state who sits at the pinnacle of said class system, is annoying. I always lose a bit of respect for those who accept these 'honours', as they are complicit in the continuation of this farce. It's great to recognise good work, but this method isn't for me. If we could scrap the monarchy, they could take their medals with them.

John_R_Corbett
31-12-2017, 03:57 PM
IMHO, the who thing is an anachronistic embarrassment. We don't even have an empire; drop the pretence. It's a leftover of the British class system: the MBE bows to the OBE who bows to the CBE etc etc; and accepting an 'honour' from an unelected head of state who sits at the pinnacle of said class system, is annoying. I always lose a bit of respect for those who accept these 'honours', as they are complicit in the continuation of this farce. It's great to recognise good work, but this method isn't for me. If we could scrap the monarchy, they could take their medals with them.Aye, could get rid of the lot of just by axing it at the very top. Monarchy, house of lords, sir this, sir that, the whole ****in' lot. An archaic system designed to keep the plebs in their place and it's high time it was binned.

ACLeith
31-12-2017, 04:01 PM
Aye, could get rid of the lot of just by axing it at the very top. Monarchy, house of lords, sir this, sir that, the whole ****in' lot. An archaic system designed to keep the plebs in their place and it's high time it was binned.

Independence first then a referendum to create a republic. Job done 👍

31-12-2017, 04:02 PM
Aye, could get rid of the lot of just by axing it at the very top. Monarchy, house of lords, sir this, sir that, the whole ****in' lot. An archaic system designed to keep the plebs in their place and it's high time it was binned.

Yes, get to the root of the problem rather than tinkering about with the symptoms. A fully democratic and meritocratic system.

John_R_Corbett
31-12-2017, 04:02 PM
Independence first then a referendum to create a republic. Job done 👍sounds like a plan :thumbsup:

xyz23jc
31-12-2017, 04:46 PM
sounds like a plan :thumbsup:

I'm in! :thumbsup::agree::greengrin

31-12-2017, 06:30 PM
My mum refused an honour which was proposed in recognition of community and charity work. She felt that she was no more worthy than others in her entourage and also wasn't that fussed for being rewarded by the very system whose failings necessitated the work in the first place.

Spot on. It's just the establishment self-abusing itself and tossing out a few crumbs to their subservients so it appears we're 'all in this together'.

Sorry, Santa brought me yet another stockingful of cynicism. :wink:

31-12-2017, 07:33 PM

:top marks:rockin::saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag: saltireflag

31-12-2017, 07:39 PM

This axing idea appeals!:greengrin

The House of Lords should become a UK parliament with the House of Commons for English matters. A truly federal system.

stu in nottingham
01-01-2018, 11:06 AM

He wasn't even the best drummer on the Black Pig.

01-01-2018, 07:55 PM
He wasn't even the best drummer on the Black Pig.[emoji16]

01-01-2018, 10:10 PM
He was absolutely brilliant in Thomas the tank engine though.

02-01-2018, 05:22 AM
I wouldn't have a problem with a system which recognises people for outstanding charity work or for true achievement in their field .... should that include failed politicians or civil servants, no I don't think so.

The whole system is especially open to abuse when you have meaningful awards like peerages and knighthoods in the gift of politicians. I was in the civil service long enough, even at the lowly grade I was, to be absolutely positive that the people at the top who should have seen it as their business to curb the worst excesses of politicians by telling them some of their ideas were unworkable or just plain fantasy stood aside and did nothing to stop them, and I'm convinced that was because they didn't want to jeopardise their chance of a peerage or knighthood by rocking the boat.

The open secret that peerages and knighthoods are handed out like confetti in exchange for donations to political parties brings the whole rotten system into disrepute as well.

Whatever the case Lord this, sir that ............. GTF that'll be the day I call somebody sir just because they are good at running or tennis or they have spent their life kissing the right *****.

02-01-2018, 06:12 AM
The whole system is designed to uphold the status quo of our constitutional monarchy in that it rewards people of influence and binds them to support the system. It needs to change if we want to change.

09-01-2018, 06:41 PM

Sounds good to me:aok: