View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Kilmarnock

30-12-2017, 01:15 PM
Starting XI | Marciano, Hanlon, McGinn, McGeouch, Swanson, Stevenson, Boyle, McGregor, Ambrose, Stokes, Shaw

Subs - Dabrowski, Gray, Bartley, Slivka, Matulevicius, S Murray, Porteous

30-12-2017, 01:16 PM
Strange that Gray is fit yet we continue with efe at rb

TAHibby
30-12-2017, 01:20 PM
Great to see Swanson back, look forward to watching him today

30-12-2017, 01:21 PM
Strange that Gray is fit yet we continue with efe at rb

Doubt he’s fully fit or he would be starting, or we could be 3-5-2 today

30-12-2017, 01:23 PM
Big one for Swanson today.

30-12-2017, 01:24 PM
I have to admit I prefer us going with three in the middle rather than just McGinn and McGeouch. It leaves them with too much defensive responsibility.

30-12-2017, 01:33 PM
Pleased to see Danny getting a start. Hopefully he shines. Good player.

30-12-2017, 01:42 PM
Stokes lucky to start imo. Welcome back Danny

30-12-2017, 01:43 PM
Stokes lucky to start imo.

Naw he's no.

30-12-2017, 01:46 PM
Come on Danny let's get started sir.

FifeHibs
30-12-2017, 01:47 PM

Can I ask why you think he is lucky to start?
MoM against Ross County.
kicked off the park at Tynecastle
Our top scorer this season.

30-12-2017, 01:50 PM

Stokes is very hot and cold at the moment. Deservedly motm last Saturday, pish on Wednesday.

I'd still always have him in the team though.

I never like the 2 in cm, we've tried it a few times at home and it's rarely come off.

Another flexible line-up though, so if it's not working Lennon can still shake it up without needing to make subs.

30-12-2017, 01:51 PM
3-5-2?

30-12-2017, 01:57 PM
Stokes hating boys out in force early today

30-12-2017, 01:58 PM
It has to be a 4-3-3 or 3-5-2 - surely Lennon has realised by now that Hibs struggle (McGinn in particular) with only two centre mids.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

30-12-2017, 02:03 PM
It would make a good 352 tbh.

McGinn, McGeouch in the middle playing deeper, Swanson behind the 2 strikers who have linked up well. I'm impressed with the way Shaw plays with his back to goal.

I hope it's that.

Ffs

Shocking defending.

FFS 1 down already gonna be tough now, c'mon Hibs

Deary me !

30-12-2017, 02:04 PM
Ffs

30-12-2017, 02:05 PM
Boyd 0-1

mcfly
Atrocious defending again.....every team attacks stevenson

Big ask now

Predictable.

30-12-2017, 02:06 PM
That's us got the mandatory soft goal conceded at home out the way early so now we can get on with trying to win the match

30-12-2017, 02:06 PM
only 85 mins left

30-12-2017, 02:07 PM
That's us got the mandatory soft goal conceded at home out the way early so now we can get on with trying to win the match

See both home games I’ve been to this season

Partick Thistle 3-1
Ross County last week 2-1

Great start again.

30-12-2017, 02:08 PM
See both home games I’ve been to this season

Partick Thistle 3-1
Ross County last week 2-1

Great start again.

JI'll see what paddy power say☺

21sMay
30-12-2017, 02:08 PM
this team is missing something . we are a soft touch at the back and don't score enough goals . I hope we sort this quick as a potentially very good season could turn out to be pretty rubbish

highland hibbee
30-12-2017, 02:09 PM

Who was it used to say losing the first goal takes away the fear of losing the first goal???

Butcher, please dont remind me, but we certainly should have no fear !””

30-12-2017, 02:10 PM
Who was it used to say losing the first goal takes away the fear of losing the first goal???

Butcher, please dont remind me, but we certainly should have no fear !””Still fancy us to win this when we wake up

30-12-2017, 02:10 PM
Killie are a dangerous team just now, just hope our quality starts to shine through or we’ll get nothing from this game

30-12-2017, 02:13 PM
Think we have one of the best, if not the best, records in the UK when it comes to points won from a losing position. Really need to sort our defending out.

30-12-2017, 02:13 PM
All over them since the goal.

Hearts must be ***** if they can't score against us in 90 mins but Kilmarnock can in 1.

30-12-2017, 02:14 PM
this team is missing something . we are a soft touch at the back and don't score enough goals . I hope we sort this quick as a potentially very good season could turn out to be pretty rubbish

This, but why is it?

30-12-2017, 02:14 PM
All over them since the goal.

Hearts must be ***** if they can't score against us in 90 mins but Kilmarnock can in 1.

Its weird but we actually seem to do better if we go 1-0 down. Has happened so many times this season

30-12-2017, 02:16 PM
Might have got a penalty there if Stoves goes down

30-12-2017, 02:19 PM
Might have got a penalty there if Stoves goes downHe's hot just now.

I'll get my coat.

How can someone so slow and out of shape score a goal against us?

Kilmarnock time wasting already, unbelievable.

Anyone remember killie away? Looks like a reversal of that might be on the cards. We create a load of chances and dominate then get beat

WillowbraeHibby
Its weird but we actually seem to do better if we go 1-0 down. Has happened so many times this season

Getting bored of it to be honest... Really need to get a grip..

30-12-2017, 02:20 PM
How can someone so slow and out of shape score a goal against us?

He’s scoring against most teams at the moment. We really need a poacher like Boyd in our team

30-12-2017, 02:22 PM
He’s scoring against most teams at the moment. We really need a poacher like Boyd in our team

I agree.

30-12-2017, 02:22 PM
For once we are putting in good balls but nobodies on the end of them

Joe Baker2
30-12-2017, 02:23 PM
Hate to admit it but Boyd is still dangerous up front. Fat cont.

30-12-2017, 02:24 PM
We're playing quite well here.

30-12-2017, 02:24 PM
Get in there

30-12-2017, 02:25 PM
Yesss 1-1 lets win this Hibees :nlgwa:flag:

Shaw scores

MartinfaePorty
Lady luck for once smiling on us!

Shades of Zibi

BarneyHibby
30-12-2017, 02:26 PM
Get In! Oli Shaw!:flag:

Shaw will be some player.

Getting bored of it to be honest... Really need to get a grip..

Its looking like it might work again :D

Shaw will be some player.

He already is.

Hibs Twitter says the go came from nowhere. Not sure I agree we've been well on top

1-1 Shaw

Oli Shaw Oli Shaw, Oli Oli Shaw!

Joe Baker2
30-12-2017, 02:27 PM
Goal!!!! Ollie Shaw

Off the bar
Yes! Mon the hibs! And mon the updates on here, I'm following on a train in Finland with sloooow WiFi, updates much appreciated

Dirty Boyd

30-12-2017, 02:29 PM
on the BBC site

Sean Carr would not have been a name known to many Scottish football fans until recently.
But the assistant referee who didn’t spot Oli Shaw’s ‘goal’ for Hibs against Hearts has just flagged a Sean Kelly ‘goal’ offside for County.
Neither he nor I have access to a video replay to judge whether he got this one right.

Wull
30-12-2017, 02:29 PM
Whoop DE do, common the hibees

30-12-2017, 02:32 PM
it's about time an opposition keeper ****s up against us

It's a howler, a blunder, a moment to forget for Killie goalkeeper Jamie MacDonald.
He catches, then immediately spills John McGinn's corner right on to the toe of Oli Shawand the teenage Hibs striker gleefully knocks the ball into the empty net from a yard out.
The Hibs fans are giving the former Hearts goalkeeper quite a bit of stick for that one.

30-12-2017, 02:32 PM
Don't panic.

Conceding early takes away the fear of conceding early. So we can then relax and go on and win the game no problem! 😎

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 02:33 PM
Get in Hibs :flag:

30-12-2017, 02:33 PM
Don't panic.

Conceding early takes away the fear of conceding early. So we can then relax and go on and win the game no problem! [emoji41]Is that you Terry?

30-12-2017, 02:36 PM
it's about time an opposition keeper ****s up against us

It's a howler, a blunder, a moment to forget for Killie goalkeeper Jamie MacDonald.
He catches, then immediately spills John McGinn's corner right on to the toe of Oli Shawand the teenage Hibs striker gleefully knocks the ball into the empty net from a yard out.
The Hibs fans are giving the former Hearts goalkeeper quite a bit of stick for that one.

Can't think of many better candidates for it to happen to either :greengrin

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 02:44 PM
One before HT Hibs?

30-12-2017, 02:48 PM
He's hot just now.

I'll get my coat.

I will admit that have me a bit of giggle. Blame autocorrect due that though.

30-12-2017, 02:49 PM
Seem well on top here but need to get the win

63% possession according to Bet 365

3-1 shots on

6-1 corners

30-12-2017, 02:49 PM
I will admit that have me a bit of giggle. Blame autocorrect due that though.Happens to me all the time.

Barts hastards.

30-12-2017, 02:50 PM
Can anyone figure out what shape / formation we are supposed to be playing. All over the place in the first half.

30-12-2017, 02:55 PM
Hanlon’s struggling against Boyd.

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 02:56 PM
Hanlon’s struggling against Boyd.

:confused: Boyd with all that pace too?

Shouldnae be happening.

30-12-2017, 02:57 PM

Shouldnae be happening.

Mainly in the air - I think he won one when others crowded Boyd out.

30-12-2017, 02:58 PM
First time I can remember McDonald making a mistake against us. Well done Shaw who is the only player at Easter Road that looks like he is desperate to score goals.Always tries to get in front of defenders and looks like he wants to make things happen rather than waiting to see.

McGinn has been very good as has Dylan. Swanson has been busy and creative but it hasn't quite happened. Stokes a couple of good moments but looks pretty uninterested again to me. Boyle needs to stick out wide and get on their left back. He is too narrow and too deep for me.

All in all the usual home game. Loads of possession, only look energised when we go behind, concede with their only shot on target and look troubled when they get around our box. We are a better side than them and hopefully we will grind them down. I'd go two up front in the second half taking Stokes off for Murray

Shouldnae be happening.

It's no the pace that's causing him problems. Boyds getting away with playing the man rather than the ball every time for the headers.

21sMay
swanson has been good so far . brings something different to the team

FifeHibs
Boyd is 2nd top scorer in the league

30-12-2017, 02:59 PM
It's no the pace that's causing him problems. Boyds getting away with playing the man rather than the ball every time for the headers.

McGregor’s handled him better the times he’s picked him up.

30-12-2017, 03:00 PM
McGregor’s handled him better the times he’s picked him up.

Nah

Hibs better team. Swanson playing well.

Did anyone have a clear view of the supposed elbow on Dylan?

Could it have been a red if the ref saw?

Can anyone figure out what shape / formation we are supposed to be playing. All over the place in the first half.
No idea and said as much at the game. Stokes looks like he basically plays where he fancies and everyone shuffles around d to accommodate that. Boyle started wide right and was looking good but played the second half of the half deeper and narrower.

I would guess 4411 but hard to tell.

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 03:01 PM
Mainly in the air - I think he won one when others crowded Boyd out.

30-12-2017, 03:02 PM
Nah

Well he won the ball a couple of times so...

steelendhibs
30-12-2017, 03:10 PM
Any updates?

30-12-2017, 03:10 PM
Not here today, been in bed with the flu for 3 days, so glad for all the updates :aok:

30-12-2017, 03:13 PM
Gaun Danny old bean :aok:

huggie1875
30-12-2017, 03:13 PM
Not here today, been in bed with the flu for 3 days, so glad for all the updates :aok:

same here feel awful

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 03:14 PM

Here? My wee niece is nicknamed 'the flu' :greengrin

30-12-2017, 03:16 PM
Boyle close.

30-12-2017, 03:16 PM
Come on Hibs need the points today

30-12-2017, 03:17 PM
Hibs playing well again second half

IainA
30-12-2017, 03:18 PM

Same here 😏

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 03:18 PM
Boylers gonna score the day.

30-12-2017, 03:19 PM
Boylers gonna score the day.

Wish he would hurry up.

Bam
30-12-2017, 03:20 PM
Not at the game, how's Swanson doing so far?

Brummie_Hibs
30-12-2017, 03:22 PM
If it remains 0-0 at Pittodrie, then it'll be another wasted opportunity for us if we don't win this.

We need a sub or two.

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 03:24 PM
If it remains 0-0 at Pittodrie, then it'll be another wasted opportunity for us if we don't win this.

We need a sub or two.

30-12-2017, 03:24 PM
1300 killie fans 17,6 something/something, said it too fast :(

Eaststand
30-12-2017, 03:27 PM
same here feel awful

Add me to the 'missing from ER today' list....its a nasty wee flu bug this one eh :-(

30-12-2017, 03:29 PM
murray for shaw, slivka for swanson

boyley switching wings

30-12-2017, 03:30 PM
How does Stokes survive and the goal scorer doesn’t?

30-12-2017, 03:31 PM
Come on Simon

30-12-2017, 03:32 PM
Most likely to score off, most creative player off, swap our pacy winger to the side away from the fullback that has been booked. I'm sure Lennon has a plan but no idea what it is.

30-12-2017, 03:33 PM
unlucky from SJM off the bar and over

30-12-2017, 03:35 PM
3 corners in quick succession

30-12-2017, 03:35 PM
Hanlon punched him there

30-12-2017, 03:36 PM
hanlon yellow card after stramash in the killie box, everyone quite confused as to why he got it

30-12-2017, 03:37 PM
cmon Hibs

30-12-2017, 03:37 PM
possession

110% v -10%

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 03:38 PM
possession

110% v -10%

:agree::agree:

30-12-2017, 03:38 PM
14 corners for hibs

renato
30-12-2017, 03:39 PM
This could be a season changer, if we can scramble a win here..

30-12-2017, 03:39 PM
Stop trying to walk it in Hibs

30-12-2017, 03:40 PM
McGinn yellow card

Think its just gonna be one of those days for us again, plenty shots more posession and corners but a draw in the end

So much possession so little penetration.

30-12-2017, 03:41 PM
big dave possibly coming on

Green&White
30-12-2017, 03:42 PM
We are in dire need of a goal scorer. Imagine the pumpings we would give teams with a poacher up top.

30-12-2017, 03:42 PM
We are in dire need of a goal scorer. Imagine the pumpings we would give teams with a poacher up top.

We should still be scoring more

30-12-2017, 03:43 PM
dave for stokes

WillowbraeHibby
30-12-2017, 03:43 PM

We really need someone who can put the baw' away... A decent striker..

mentalhibee
30-12-2017, 03:44 PM

We should sign Lewis Vaughan from Raith....19 goals this season already.

30-12-2017, 03:45 PM
killie fans sing hello hello for the 23rd time, one song fans :)

30-12-2017, 03:45 PM
3 mins+

30-12-2017, 03:46 PM
hanlon named mom

Couldn’t make the game today listening to open all mics, this is the most biased football show I’ve heard. How is Preston allowed to do Hearts games? Embarrassing screaming and actually creaming himself at anything Hearts do.

Fat ****ing dick.

007 Mickey Weir
Aww come on. We just don’t score enough goals.

30-12-2017, 03:47 PM
14 corners for hibs

Don't make enough of our corners.

IlDiavola
Stokes off at last.

highland hibbee
Couldn’t make the game today listening to open all mics, this is the most biased football show I’ve heard. How is Preston allowed to do Hearts games? Embarrassing screaming and actually creaming himself at anything Hearts do.

Fat ****ing dick.

Lavatory sent off

30-12-2017, 03:48 PM
Lafferty sent off :greengrin

How’s Atokes played today? Good seeing Swanson back in.

Lavatory sent off

Preston will have a heart attack

007 Mickey Weir

Is that him out the Hibs cup game?

Lafferty misses the derby according to radio.

renato
30-12-2017, 03:49 PM

Yep, straight red for serious foul play

We need goals. A scoring midfielder if possible.

Hope not. He's murder

Top five teams all draw and sixth place loses, so no change at the top.

Preston will have a heart attack

He sounded like he was going to burst out crying. He’s bricking it! They are kicking the **** out Dons.

howdenthehibby
30-12-2017, 03:50 PM

Misses the cup game

We need goals. A scoring midfielder if possible.

It’s sickening how many games we have been dominant in

Don't make enough of our corners.

it's been debated

time and time again :(

30-12-2017, 03:51 PM
He sounded like he was going to burst out crying. He’s bricking it! They are kicking the **** out Dons.

It’s making me feel more unwell just listening to his hearts love in and **** commentary!

it's been debated

time and time again :(

Yeah, but fans are entitled to ask questions

I like mcgeough a lot but he never gets on the scoresheet

Better team, more chances, more possession....no really many good chances though. If we dinnae get a poacher in January it's a disgrace.

30-12-2017, 03:52 PM
Done well to take a point off the league's form team.

15 points from 33 at home....simply not good enough

ANOTHER two points blown

Brummie_Hibs
30-12-2017, 03:53 PM
So frustrating.

Until we get a goal scorer this is going to keep happening

Pish

Dismal game.

Not good enough Hibs, games like this should be won before half time.

Yeah, but fans are entitled to ask questions

fine i know it, i asked the Q's a few weeks back :greengrin

Cat Stanton

Fat ****ing dick.

.. especially when they already have Willie Miller (plus Richard Gordon) at the game

30-12-2017, 03:54 PM
Not good enough last two games.

Two games in a row we've barely created a chance, stillcant break teams down at all. Could've been playing til midnight...piss poor

Yup, we have quality in midfield but the balance just isn't quite right. As much as I don't want to see SJM go if we can get a good chunk of cash for him and bring in a goalscoring midfielder it could be an overall benefit to the team.

No doubt we are a good team but a lack of goals, plus conceding first through sloppy mistakes time and time again means we will struggle to catch those ahead of us.

This is not a new problem, struggled to put teams away under Stubbs and still doing it, we lost Cummings but gained a slower not as good as he was Stokes plus big Davey who looks a bit of huddy.

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 03:55 PM
Not good enough Hibs.

We have a goalscorer. Shaw's goals to minutes played is excellent. He keeps getting taken off.

at last 61
Don't worry we will have 2 new strikers coming to us next month

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Mr Grieves
15 points from 33 at home....simply not good enough

Yep, our very poor home form is a concern.

30-12-2017, 03:57 PM

Really?

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 03:58 PM
Take off Ollie and leave on Stokes :confused:

30-12-2017, 03:58 PM
It’s making me feel more unwell just listening to his hearts love in and **** commentary!

It’s unreal it really is. Thank god I never listen to it I’d crack up.

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 03:59 PM

How do you know this?

WillowbraeHibby

Certainly need them... What we have is not good enough.

fine i know it, i asked the Q's a few weeks back :greengrin

👍

I like mcgeough a lot but he never gets on the scoresheet

He doesn't have to he's like our quarter back, picks it up from the defence and makes the passes that creates goals, McGinn is the mid who should be chipping in more, he's a box2box it's his job to support the forwards but he can't do that playing 2 in the middle. I'd be looking at Lennons tactics rather than individuals for our failing in scoring enough goals.

30-12-2017, 04:00 PM
.. especially when they already have Willie Miller (plus Richard Gordon) at the game

At least they weren’t squealing like little pigs about to be slaughtered. He needs to get a grip of himself he really does.

30-12-2017, 04:01 PM
At least they weren’t squealing like little pigs about to be slaughtered. He needs to get a grip of himself he really does.

I suspect he's got a very firm grip of a certain part of himself every time he attends a hearts match.

30-12-2017, 04:03 PM
6 clean sheets in a row for Edinburgh's dirty team

30-12-2017, 04:04 PM
I suspect he's got a very firm grip of a certain part of himself every time he attends a hearts match.

Haha that would explain a lot. 😁

30-12-2017, 04:05 PM
How was Stokes today?

Really boring. Very obvious Football with no end product.

How was Stokes today?

Very poor.

6 clean sheets in a row for Edinburgh's dirty team

How T F do they manage it?

Done well to take a point off the league's form team.

Killie are certainly doing well at the moment but we need to pick up wins from somewhere.

Oh well. Onwards!

WillowbraeHibby
30-12-2017, 04:06 PM
Really boring. Very obvious Football with no end product.

Becoming the Norm'

30-12-2017, 04:06 PM

What we need are goal scoring midfielders. Our current lot are scared to shot despite having dozens of chances.

30-12-2017, 04:07 PM
Better team, more chances, more possession....no really many good chances though. If we dinnae get a poacher in January it's a disgrace.

I didn’t make the game today, and more a general observation than specifically today, but as well as a poacher we need better creative quality. I don’t think we ever create all that many great chances.

Like them all individually, but the likes of McGinn, McGeough, Boyle & Barker don’t score anywhere near enough or get enough assists. If we are to keep progressing think there are some tough decisions ahead and some of the likes of those I mention may need to be replaced with something different in order to make us a better team.

30-12-2017, 04:08 PM
Did John McGinn chuck his shirt into the crowd at the end or do anything else that might suggest it was his last game?

30-12-2017, 04:08 PM
Very poor.

That’s harsh, I thought he was lively in the first half, his set pieces were good and IIRC he wasn’t that far away from scoring with one of the free kicks.

Faded in the second half granted.

AL-Qaholik
30-12-2017, 04:09 PM
Bought a season ticket to help the transfer kitty despite knowing I’d rarely get to ER as I live in London.
Have made it to 2 home games this season & witnessed half of our total home wins.
4 home wins in 11 is absolutely dreadful.

30-12-2017, 04:09 PM
Did John McGinn chuck his shirt into the crowd at the end or do anything else that might suggest it was his last game?

No

30-12-2017, 04:10 PM
No

Thanks.

30-12-2017, 04:11 PM
He doesn't have to he's like our quarter back, picks it up from the defence and makes the passes that creates goals, McGinn is the mid who should be chipping in more, he's a box2box it's his job to support the forwards but he can't do that playing 2 in the middle. I'd be looking at Lennons tactics rather than individuals for our failing in scoring enough goals.

Both wanted to be QB’s today and we had no one from midfield making runs in behind of offering any creativity. Swanson offered nothing second half and Stokes was a waste of a jersey.
Until we can start scoring goals, this team has peaked unfortunately.

Post count......

How T F do they manage it?

because hertz always put the emphasis on defence first and foremost, to hang with entertainment

30-12-2017, 04:12 PM
It’s unreal it really is. Thank god I never listen to it I’d crack up.

I'm so glad I am normally at the football every weekend, but that's 2 weeks in a row I have had to listen to his crap! :rolleyes: off to take stronger antibiotics to recover from open all mics :greengrin

JimboHibs

Haha lol

We badly need a couple of attack minded players in the Jan window...much as I like McGinn and mcgeough they don't create nearly enough and just never score goals. Be happy to take money for SJM and get a goal scoring midfielder in next month tbh. Plus his form the last few weeks has not been great he looks like he now wants away imo. Murray again useless when he came on...he has done absolutely nothing to suggest he deserves to start a game in near future. Hope Lennon has a couple of rabbits under his hat in Jan...the squad needs freshened up

highland hibbee
30-12-2017, 04:14 PM

Fat ****ing dick.

What we need are goal scoring midfielders. Our current lot are scared to shot despite having dozens of chances.

We we haven’t had a proper goal scoring midfielder since Pat McGinlay.
Lovell scored a few from midfield the season in the First Division, but it’s been a problem for a very long time.
Need a midfielder chipping in with 10+ goals a season.
Central defenders getting 6-8 between them
Full backs the same.
but I suppose if we had that we would be Barcelona not Hibs. GGTTH

30-12-2017, 04:14 PM
Now 3 games without defeat

30-12-2017, 04:18 PM
Both wanted to be QB’s today and we had no one from midfield making runs in behind of offering any creativity. Swanson offered nothing second half and Stokes was a waste of a jersey.
Until we can start scoring goals, this team has peaked unfortunately.

I don't understand the reason not to play Slivka, he was highly looked upon when he came and is an attacking midfielder, yet he continues with 2 in the middle and when he goes to a 3 he brings in Bartley who offers nothing going forward.

30-12-2017, 04:20 PM
Very poor.

I’m a huge fan of his but I’ve serious concerns about Stokes.

30-12-2017, 04:21 PM
I don't understand the reason not to play Slivka, he was highly looked upon when he came and is an attacking midfielder, yet he continues with 2 in the middle and when he goes to a 3 he brings in Bartley who offers nothing going forward.

Are we questioning NL? Should we be?

30-12-2017, 04:22 PM
I’m a huge fan of his but I’ve serious concerns about Stokes.

Me too, I fear we're gonna see 1 good game in 5 from him when he decides to be in the mood, which isn't often enough.

30-12-2017, 04:23 PM
No

30-12-2017, 04:24 PM
I didn’t make the game today, and more a general observation than specifically today, but as well as a poacher we need better creative quality. I don’t think we ever create all that many great chances.

Like them all individually, but the likes of McGinn, McGeough, Boyle & Barker don’t score anywhere near enough or get enough assists. If we are to keep progressing think there are some tough decisions ahead and some of the likes of those I mention may need to be replaced with something different in order to make us a better team.

Also missed the game since I’m up in the Western Iskes. Tend to agree... all popular players but would this mystery “poacher” make a difference unless we start cutting teams open?
When do we ever see a midfielder playing a ball into the feet of a striker then driving on for the return pass in / around the box? Was that Swanson’s role? I guess he is rusty and could yet be the answer.
The chat on set-pieces is getting pretty boring. 16 corners today - how many did we threaten from?

WillowbraeHibby
30-12-2017, 04:25 PM
We badly need a couple of attack minded players in the Jan window...much as I like McGinn and mcgeough they don't create nearly enough and just never score goals. Be happy to take money for SJM and get a goal scoring midfielder in next month tbh. Plus his form the last few weeks has not been great he looks like he now wants away imo. Murray again useless when he came on...he has done absolutely nothing to suggest he deserves to start a game in near future. Hope Lennon has a couple of rabbits under his hat in Jan...the squad needs freshened up

Pretty much agree with you. Really need to start looking to refresh the squad.

30-12-2017, 04:26 PM

I'm questioning Lennon for continually playing 2 in the middle when it doesn't work, so yes we should be asking questions, it's what we do as fans when your team drops points on a regular occurrence.

30-12-2017, 04:27 PM

That's exactly what McGeouch SHOULD be doing. But let's be honest he doesn't get nearly as many assists as he should, and scores even less. And that's what's so frustrating about him.

30-12-2017, 04:29 PM
That's exactly what McGeouch SHOULD be doing. But let's be honest he doesn't get nearly as many assists as he should, and scores even less. And that's what's so frustrating about him.

And he won't do playing as a 2, he and McGinn end up chasing tackling etc as they're outnumbered.

30-12-2017, 04:32 PM
And he won't do playing as a 2, he and McGinn end up chasing tackling etc as they're outnumbered.

I actually think he could if he played more forward passes. All too often it's wee passes off to the side. But, then again our movement won't be helping that. Far too static at times. Must be frustrating.

Bought a season ticket to help the transfer kitty despite knowing I’d rarely get to ER as I live in London.
Have made it to 2 home games this season & witnessed half of our total home wins.
4 home wins in 11 is absolutely dreadful.

And there lies a serious potential problem for Hibs. Our home results have been pretty dire in front of big crowds many of whom bought STs expecting better fare than it being served up. Unless we see a pick up in the new year, I fear quite a big drop off in ST renewals.

Powder puff from Hibs today. We need a striker badly.

30-12-2017, 04:33 PM
I'm questioning Lennon for continually playing 2 in the middle when it doesn't work, so yes we should be asking questions, it's what we do as fans when your team drops points on a regular occurrence.

We’ve become really easy to defend against tbh. It’s all so slow and obvious.

30-12-2017, 04:33 PM

Questioning him being the manager would be ridiculous.

Questioning his decisions is absolutely reasonable.

30-12-2017, 04:35 PM
There was a point in the second half where Shaw knocked his pan in to keep the ball in play at the byline, hooked the ball across and not one other player could be arsed even keeping up with him. The ball just rolled across their box.

30-12-2017, 04:36 PM

There were balls into areas today where an Adam Rooney would've scored aye.

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 04:36 PM
How was Stokes today?

Poor, poor and poor.

But gets left on whilst our goalscorer gets hooked :confused:

30-12-2017, 04:38 PM
There was a point in the second half where Shaw knocked his pan in to keep the ball in play at the byline, hooked the ball across and not one other player could be arsed even keeping up with him. The ball just rolled across their box.

That was a disgrace. Any half decent attacking midfielder would be all over that. Unfortunately we don’t have one.

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 04:39 PM
Me too, I fear we're gonna see 1 good game in 5 from him when he decides to be in the mood, which isn't often enough.

A point I have been trying to make for many weeks now but to no avail.

mcfly
30-12-2017, 04:41 PM
Sorry but a new left back is needed.

Lewis great servant but all teams attack him.

Also gets the ball has to stop look up and pass sideways.

30-12-2017, 04:41 PM
Questioning him being the manager would be ridiculous.

Questioning his decisions is absolutely reasonable.

That’s what I meant, no way questioning him as manager

30-12-2017, 04:43 PM
Stevenson wasn't the problem today

Hanlon got bullied until Lennon saw sense and put McGregor on Boyd. The opening goal was so so poor.

Dylan for all his passing does nothing with it. Big Dave and Murray? First touch of a brick wall the pair of them. Zero class.

30-12-2017, 04:43 PM

I missed the killie goal so dunno if he's at fault there, but Lewis did **** all wrong after the 3rd minute

30-12-2017, 04:44 PM

Rubbish. His delivery was as good as anyone on the pitch today.

30-12-2017, 04:45 PM

Sure I seen 2 shots on target for both teams and think it was 20 off target for Hibs.

30-12-2017, 04:46 PM
Thought Swanson was excellent in the first half, was doing the midfield to attack thing pretty effectively but clearly tired in the second. Our system is mis-firing but we are playing without a natural right fullback.
We obviously need to convert possession into goals but we utterly dominated a Killie team that wee'ed all over DerHun last week.
Annoying that we have dropped daft points all over the place but we would probably have taken fourth at this point of the season if it had been on offer at the beginning.
2018 & catch DerHun, then see if we can make up ground on Aberdeen.

WillowbraeHibby
30-12-2017, 04:46 PM
A point I have been trying to make for many weeks now but to no avail.

Others see this, I for one certainly do.

30-12-2017, 04:47 PM
That’s harsh, I thought he was lively in the first half, his set pieces were good and IIRC he wasn’t that far away from scoring with one of the free kicks.

Faded in the second half granted.

I thought very poor was actually relatively kind. He had a good shot from a free kick, a couple of decent corners and looked completely disinterested to me. How he stayed on for so long particularly after Wednesday display is a mystery to me.

30-12-2017, 04:48 PM
Poor, poor and poor.

But gets left on whilst our goalscorer gets hooked :confused:

Stokes did fine today. The midfield was the problem.

As has has already been mentioned McGinn and McGeogh need to get their finger out and start producing. All these sideways 3 feet passes to each other is getting us nowhere.

McGinn backing in to everyone is hugely frustrating when there’s a pass on or space for him to run into.

Overall a decent enough game and point but the same problems persist. Hopefully a new face or two in January will give us the edge we need.

Stevenson wasn't the problem today

Hanlon got bullied until Lennon saw sense and put McGregor on Boyd. The opening goal was so so poor.

Dylan for all his passing does nothing with it. Big Dave and Murray? First touch of a brick wall the pair of them. Zero class.

You think our CBs are asked to mark certain players in open play? Hanlon was fouled by Boyd the whole game. But Boyd should have been sent off early in the game for a 2 footed tackle on the halfway line.

MagicSwirlingShip
Wasn’t at the game today, however my overall feeling from this season is that we’re carrying Stokes in the hope that he might produce a bit of magic that rarely comes.

He’s a hero to Hibees far and wide for good reason, however if it wasn’t for the 21st of May 2016 he would have been dropped a long time ago. A player of his calibre should be producing far more for us.

Absolutely loving the rise of Oli Shaw though, long may his goal scoring form continue.

30-12-2017, 04:50 PM
Hanlon was fouled by Boyd the whole game

Correct. Clever fouls fi Boyd, but still fouls, and he got away with them every time.

30-12-2017, 04:50 PM
Stokes did fine today. The midfield was the problem.

As has has already been mentioned McGinn and McGeogh need to get their finger out and start producing. All these sideways 3 feet passes to each other is getting us nowhere.

McGinn backing in to everyone is hugely frustrating when there’s a pass on or space for him to run into.

Overall a decent enough game and point but the same problems persist. Hopefully a new face or two in January will give us the edge we need.
Stokes spent most of the game in midfield. He's here to score goals he should be in the box not lurking around the fringes of it.

WillowbraeHibby
30-12-2017, 04:51 PM
Wasn’t at the game today, however my overall feeling from this season is that we’re carrying Stokes in the hope that he might produce a bit of magic that rarely comes.

He’s a hero to Hibees far and wide for good reason, however if it wasn’t for the 21st of May 2016 he would have been dropped a long time ago. A player of his calibre should be producing far more for us.

Absolutely loving the rise of Oli Shaw though, long may his goal scoring form continue.

Spot on..

30-12-2017, 04:52 PM

A wee clip of him on BBC at FT giving the fans a round of applause but with the head down.

Seekyit
30-12-2017, 04:55 PM

Yep, how frustrating was that?

30-12-2017, 04:55 PM

mcfly? Sure your not Stevie Wonder?

LS has been one of our most consistent defenders this season, and theres a reason he is seen as an out ball from the midfield - clue; its not because hes crap.

30-12-2017, 04:56 PM

I don't think we're carrying Stokes at all. He's no Messi, he cannae do it all himself, yet some folk want him to do be doing everything. If the runners aren't there, if there's no a striker in a goal scoring position what's he to do? He's a good player, very intelligent footballer. I'd love him to be scoring more, obviously, but we're no carrying him.

Our attacks are too slow, today especially. Loads of passes in the final 3rd, gives the opposition time to flood the defence, making it even more difficult to find any space.

30-12-2017, 04:58 PM

I thought Lewis was decent today.

Think, Mcfly, think!

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 04:59 PM
Stokes gets away with some dismal stuff because of THAT performance.

30-12-2017, 04:59 PM
Stokes spent most of the game in midfield. He's here to score goals he should be in the box not lurking around the fringes of it.

Now I wonder why, perhaps not enough service from mid field ?

30-12-2017, 05:01 PM
I don't think we're carrying Stokes at all. He's no Messi, he cannae do it all himself, yet some folk want him to do be doing everything. If the runners aren't there, if there's no a striker in a goal scoring position what's he to do? He's a good player, very intelligent footballer. I'd love him to be scoring more, obviously, but we're no carrying him.

Our attacks are too slow, today especially. Loads of passes in the final 3rd, gives the opposition time to flood the defence, making it even more difficult to find any space.

I would have agreed with all this to be honest but for me he’s not doing enough just now. The odd game here and there for his standard simply isn’t good enough. He does need someone up with him but I’ve honestly got the feeling Stokes isn’t interested at all now where or who he plays for.

Really frustrates me as we all know what he can do but this season he’s been nothing near the level he should. This isn’t an attack on him before anyone takes this out of context, I’m simply saying he should be doing better and needs to put his heart into it not just the 90 mins but training as well.

andybev1
30-12-2017, 05:02 PM

spot on

30-12-2017, 05:04 PM
Stokes gets away with some dismal stuff because of THAT performance.

I agree. Where did that performance last week come from and why can't he do it more often? Drives me nuts.

IlDiavola
30-12-2017, 05:06 PM
I agree. Where did that performance last week come from and why can't he do it more often? Drives me nuts.

Yep, he can only 'dine out' for so long on a game he played some 19 months ago.

How many goals did Killie get out of Lewis?

It is honestly just a lie that all teams attack him, totally made up.

The Leith Dutch

Hilariously bad post.

Pretty much everyone can see that our problem is lack of goals.
Most people will correctly identify that as a combination of a failure to create good chances and a lack of clinical finishing.

Stevenson is a decent left back. He's not a wing back and the attacking part of the game isn't what he's in the team for.
You might as well be blaming Marciano for not getting into the opposition box for corners.