View Full Version : What is your favourite derby moment?

26-12-2017, 07:59 PM
For me either Joe McBride’s or Paul Hanlon’s late equaliser

26-12-2017, 08:03 PM
Big Gaz scoring after Brebner had been sent off, or Archie at Tynecastle.

edit.
Hanlon’s equaliser in the cup game was the best.

26-12-2017, 08:04 PM
The replay at ER when Jase scored early. That video of the Hertz supporters 'C'mon the Hurts' and the singing of Sunshine on Leith.

Brilliant night and we were on our way.

P.S. I think I misunderstood moment for game. Late winner by Ross Caldwell at Tynie a few years ago must be a contender. 1-1 with about a minute to go, Hearts think we are going to keep the ball in the corner then bang. Goal. 2-1 for the Hibees. Mayhem.

HFCdeb
26-12-2017, 08:07 PM
Hanlon's equaliser. Changed everything.

26-12-2017, 08:09 PM
Russell volleying in the 6th and singing we want 7 with 10 minutes to go. As close to perfection in a derby match as I've witnessed.

26-12-2017, 08:10 PM
The 3-0 millennium derby

26-12-2017, 08:17 PM
Benji scoring and trying to celebrate in front of the hearts fans was quite memorable

26-12-2017, 08:18 PM
What a great thread and topic, some great moments mentioned already, will give it some thought

26-12-2017, 08:25 PM
Benji scoring and trying to celebrate in front of the hearts fans was quite memorable

The only thing that Zibi managed to catch.

26-12-2017, 08:27 PM
Kerr's 2nd minute goal. The only time I've seen us beat them at Tynie in the flesh.

Should have tucked at least 1 or 2 more past them that day. Chants of "you don't know what you're doing" directed towards Beniusis, who was simultaneously being booed by his OWN fans before being withdrawn at half time. I almost felt sorry for him.

Almost.

26-12-2017, 08:29 PM
King Paddy's 99th minute equaliser in 75 derby

https://youtu.be/ylqab835BVs

#hibee
26-12-2017, 08:30 PM
Ross Caldwell's last minute winner.

hibbydog
26-12-2017, 08:30 PM
Jim Jeffries’ face just after Russell Latapy’s volley put Hibs 6-1 up. Just brilliant

26-12-2017, 08:31 PM
Hanlon's equaliser.

It was enjoyable and significant enough at the time, but when it became a big part of our cup win story it ended up taking on even greater significance.

21sMay
26-12-2017, 08:32 PM
Dean shiels winner on a Wednesday night
Simon Brown fluffed a Lee Miller header inside the post in the first half . we drew level through O"Conner I think. deano then smashed the rebound of kontes header passed Gordon. mayhem commenced.

sure Derek riordan also flicked an attempted kick of by Gordon over his head and rolled it into the net for it to be disallowed . great night

also the Casper game

26-12-2017, 08:35 PM
Hanlon's equaliser.

The day that we "won" 2-2.

26-12-2017, 08:37 PM
Super Joe to make it 2-2 comes in second to Archibald.

26-12-2017, 08:37 PM
Both from the terraces...
"Booked for being ugly" after Steve Fulton had been booked for being ugly and
"You're not unbeatable" at the Unbeatable Derby 2005 when the unbeatable Gorgie Galacticos were unceremoniously shown to be deliciously erm, beatable! :greengrin

-Jonesy-
26-12-2017, 08:39 PM
Both from the terraces...
"Booked for being ugly" after Steve Fulton had been booked for being ugly and
"You're not unbeatable" at the Unbeatable Derby 2005 when the unbeatable Gorgie Galacticos were unceremoniously shown to be deliciously erm, beatable! :greengrin

"Where's your George Burley Gone?"

Geez was that really 12 years ago??

bringbackbenny
26-12-2017, 08:50 PM
Geebies winner at Tynie, mental scenes!

1875STEVE
26-12-2017, 08:52 PM
Russel Latapy's volley

26-12-2017, 08:54 PM
Hanlon's equaliser was so important to the way things turned out for us that it has to be my favourite moment, but Wotherspoon's shot selecting of Zaliukas to knock them out the Scottish Cup at the first time of asking after the 2012 final was great as well.

yonder1875
26-12-2017, 08:54 PM
Hanlons equaliser for me, was a moral victory in itself in an isolated game after being 2-0 down with 10 to go but this wasn't any random league game it was THEM that let us go on to scrap 75% of their songbook because they utterly shat it.

26-12-2017, 09:07 PM
Hanlon's equaliser was so important to the way things turned out for us that it has to be my favourite moment, but Wotherspoon's shot selecting of Zaliukas to knock them out the Scottish Cup at the first time of asking after the 2012 final was great as well.

In the face of the taunting we'd had for 6 months the celebration for that goal and at the final whistle did feel ****ing brilliant :agree:

26-12-2017, 09:09 PM

Happy days!

26-12-2017, 09:10 PM
Hanlon 90+1

JimboHibs
26-12-2017, 09:16 PM
So many to mention been but for me the scenes when Kevin Harper scored to beat them 2-1 at ER.

26-12-2017, 09:19 PM
Never forget the goal Sauzee scored that cost him his front teeth.

JimboHibs
26-12-2017, 09:20 PM
Never forget the goal Sauzee scored that cost him his front teeth.

Still got up and did a jig with Mixu 😉

26-12-2017, 09:23 PM
Geebies winner at Tynie, mental scenes!

:agree: Special.

hfc-1875
26-12-2017, 09:30 PM
Hanlon equaliser or riordan pen in the 1-0 Casper game.

26-12-2017, 09:32 PM
6-2! ER fantastic

26-12-2017, 09:41 PM
Spoonys goal in a derby that looked as if it had fizzled out. Scenes.

Jumbo
26-12-2017, 10:04 PM
Dean Sheils winner, I thought their crappy stand was going to fall down that night it was bouncing. Though the scenes after Hanlons equaliser will take some beating.

Babyshamble
26-12-2017, 10:07 PM
Steve Archibald at tynecastle.

Big L
26-12-2017, 10:11 PM
Ross Caldwell's last minute winner.

Coolest finish I have ever seen. Right up there with Jimmy O Rourkes opener in the 7-0 new yrs day win. Oh and the Latapy goal, the 1-2 wi Mixu. Been so many.

Tornadoes70
26-12-2017, 10:58 PM
Watching Le god blasting home a 24 or thereabouts yard millenium cracker and knowing then we were on easy street after Dirks very nice opener. The icing on the cake was Kenny Miller coolly stroking home the third in the last couple of minutes or so.

It was a brilliant atmosphere that night on what was a freezing cold night at the piggery.

Mon the Cabbage.

26-12-2017, 11:00 PM
Latapy scoring to put us 6-1 up.

27-12-2017, 12:08 AM
It's between Joe McBide's equaliser, Harper's wonderland and Hanlon's equaliser. Hanlon wins it because of what that goal ultimately led too

27-12-2017, 12:23 AM
Has to be Latapy's goal to make it 6-1. Brilliant goal and mayhem in the old East Stand. Close second would be O'Connor's winner with 10 men.

27-12-2017, 12:52 AM
I’m a greedy so and so. I loved every goal against them. In fact the 3 we’ll beat them today will be a bit special especially watching Levein mumbling after the game to the cameras about injustice etc etc etc will make it even sweater.

But for me has to be Hanlons equaliser because stopped their song book and ultimately increased ours.

27-12-2017, 04:22 AM
:agree: Special.

Been watching them since 1970. Saw 0-7 but when we knocked them out the cup in November 2012 with the deflected Wothersponn goal. Never seen them so glum. Karma.

Famousfivehh
27-12-2017, 05:16 AM
6-2 game. East stand going mental.

27-12-2017, 05:25 AM
John O'Neil firing in a last minute equaliser at Tynie under Sauzee, Hibs stand went absolutely tonto.

HibernianJK
27-12-2017, 05:46 AM
Paul Hanlon last minute and not really too close for me. You just had a feeling after that goal it really could be our year.

27-12-2017, 06:07 AM
I remember a derby when Hearts were 2 nil up with 10 minutes to go at the piggery.

Joe McBride scored twice to set a precedent.

Curried
27-12-2017, 06:43 AM
I remember a derby when Hearts were 2 nil up with 10 minutes to go at the piggery.

Joe McBride scored twice to set a precedent.

Was that the East of Scotland Charity Shield Cup game around 1985?
We were in the uncovered Gorgie Road end and it was just about to piss down. I thought I’d do the wise thing and leave, but couldn’t believe it when I heard on the car radio going home that we’d actually pulled 2 back in the last 10.
An excellent lesson in life, as I’ve never left a Hibs game before the end ever since.

27-12-2017, 07:02 AM
For years it was Gordon Hunters winner. Then the Casper game started running it close just because there was so few of us there and the team we had out had many fearing an absolute pumping.

However it has to be the Hanlon equaliser. It was abolsutely mental when that went in. I’d always thought people lied when they said they ‘ended up 6 rows from where I started’ but that actually happened to me. An absolute man mountain next to me jumped on my back and we both went tumbling over seats and ended up hugging random strangers. Obviously we still had a job to do at ER and we had won the derby before that but that was the game I really felt the worm had started to turn in derbies. Hibs teams in the past might have folded at 2-0 down but that team dug in and took the game by the scruff of the neck.

27-12-2017, 07:23 AM
We were in the uncovered Gorgie Road end and it was just about to piss down. I thought I’d do the wise thing and leave, but couldn’t believe it when I heard on the car radio going home that we’d actually pulled 2 back in the last 10.
An excellent lesson in life, as I’ve never left a Hibs game before the end ever since.
No it was definitely a league game

vuefrom1875
27-12-2017, 07:40 AM
0-7...yes I'm that old 😀

Bill Milne
27-12-2017, 08:02 AM
Paddy's 5 pm equaliser in 1975, huge number of Hibbies getting ready to leave via McLeod Street went bonkers en masse!!

27-12-2017, 09:04 AM

I remember that well and is up there with fav moments but so is every other one mentioned :flag:

27-12-2017, 09:07 AM
My very first game in March 1979, a 2-1 win at Easter Road.

I'd been desperate to go to a Hibs game for years and was finally taken to my first match age 13 (much older than most, I'd imagine).

What a first game to go to, a home win over the Jambos :-)

27-12-2017, 10:59 AM

I'd been desperate to go to a Hibs game for years and was finally taken to my first match age 13 (much older than most, I'd imagine).

Scottish cup quarter final?? Was my first derby. I can still remember watching the jambos fighting each other and then the police as well. Think they only beat us twice in the entire 70s, happy happy times.
My favourite was the Gordon Hunter game. I was at every single game of the long wait for a win and that day was great. Place went mental. I got my money back for my ticket too. I wrote to mercer with a copy of my ticket and asked him to go and sit where I was meant to sit and asked if he thought if it was acceptable. About 50% of the pitch was obscured as I was sat directly behind one of the floodlight pylons. The fat Tory ******* sent me a cheque for my entrance money. Cashed it as well and surprisingly the money cleared.

Firestarter
27-12-2017, 11:11 AM
Deanos winner 0-3 1999 6-2 or the unbeatable game. Too hard to choose.

27-12-2017, 11:15 AM
Paddy's 5 pm equaliser in 1975, huge number of Hibbies getting ready to leave via McLeod Street went bonkers en masse!!
Iain Munro was a part-time PE teacher at my school (Boroughmuir) and for years all the kids wanted to talk to him about was that goal.

Souter96Mac
27-12-2017, 11:22 AM
Loved Farid's goal against them. Oozed class

27-12-2017, 11:45 AM
The final seconds of my first derby

https://thehiblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/hibs-2-1-hearts-17-october-1987/

I recall everyone around me was hyper by the end of the game - 10 years of hurt was finally relieved at the final whistle.

For me, it was a 100% record in watching Hibs / Hertz derbies at that point in time.

heidtheba
27-12-2017, 12:11 PM
My two;
- The night game at Tynie in winter 93/94. My first Derby. We didn't win - think Michael O'Neil missed a late sitter to take the win, but I never knew an atmosphere like it. I do like a night game at Tynie. I was very naive about football back then and I remember knowing it was an amazing atmosphere, electric but never 'scary'. - My next was walking back along from the Hunter header game, in the middle of the busy street, with the place packed with happy Hibees and no traffic getting near. I hadn't experienced much of that 'hoodoo' run but I could see what it meant in the people around me. That was incredible.

27-12-2017, 12:29 PM
6-2 game, shiels’s winner at tynecastle and Hanlon’s equaliser.

27-12-2017, 12:33 PM
Alan Gordon's majestically headed seventh.

27-12-2017, 12:51 PM
At the time it happened my favourite moment was Boozys goal in the unbeatable derby. Now, my favourite monents are Hankins equaliser and Cummings early goal for obvious reasons. Goals that changed our club immeasurably forever for the good.

27-12-2017, 02:10 PM
My two;
- The night game at Tynie in winter 93/94. My first Derby. We didn't win - think Michael O'Neil missed a late sitter to take the win, but I never knew an atmosphere like it. I do like a night game at Tynie. I was very naive about football back then and I remember knowing it was an amazing atmosphere, electric but never 'scary'. - My next was walking back along from the Hunter header game, in the middle of the busy street, with the place packed with happy Hibees and no traffic getting near. I hadn't experienced much of that 'hoodoo' run but I could see what it meant in the people around me. That was incredible.

It wasnae a header though was it? or have I lost the plot?

27-12-2017, 02:17 PM

My first game as well. Old man had me sitting at the top of the old East terracing as soon as the gates open at 1pm with a pie and a flask. Remembering thinking wow couldn't believe how big the old East was.

What I witnessed in the next few hours would shape my love affair with Hibernian. Was only 6 at the time but remember the scenes when we scored and the Hearts supporters fighting amongst themselves being led away in their hundred's. Magical. :thumbsup:

heidtheba
27-12-2017, 02:20 PM

Yup - for some reason I always think it was a header. I was right in front of the thing too!
Got my tickets from the wee bookshop along from Mr Bonis.

27-12-2017, 02:21 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjpHlMF2xS8

27-12-2017, 02:21 PM

It was a league game.

27-12-2017, 03:14 PM
Iain Munro was a part-time PE teacher at my school (Boroughmuir) and for years all the kids wanted to talk to him about was that goal.

He was a miserable git

27-12-2017, 03:18 PM
The Hanlon equaliser, took some bottle coming back, something many hibs teams of the past would not have done. I just knew after that that we were gonna beat them back at Easter Road. Obviously in hindsight as well it because a hugely important part in us going all the way and winning the cup. Not to mention absolute carnage in the Roseburn end!

27-12-2017, 03:21 PM
Riordans goal in the casper game - how could I forget! We had so many players out, suprised we even managed to cobble together a starting 11, I really feared we were going to get an absolute doing that night. Brilliant night and we had the comedy gold moment of that hearts clown making a complete tit of himself as well :greengrin

27-12-2017, 03:23 PM
The Hanlon equaliser, took some bottle coming back, something many hibs teams of the past would not have done. I just knew after that that we were gonna beat them back at Easter Road. Obviously in hindsight as well it because a hugely important part in us going all the way and winning the cup. Not to mention absolute carnage in the Roseburn end!

I watched it in The Office and was still surprisingly confident we wouldnae lose when it was 2-0.

27-12-2017, 03:28 PM
I watched it in The Office and was still surprisingly confident we wouldnae lose when it was 2-0.

I couldn't believe we were 2-0 down. They had 2 shots and scored from both, we had been the better side but in typical hibs fashion we just never finished off our chances. What bottle we had though, hibs teams pre-relegation would have absolutely crumbled being 2-0 down at tynecastle and probably gone on to lose more goals and thats exactly what hearts expected us to do that day. They thought it was won.

TelaStella
27-12-2017, 03:38 PM
The Ross Caldwell derby for me, only time I've seen us win at Tynie so far. Absolutely mental scenes with Sparky's free kick causing just as much mayhem.

27-12-2017, 03:42 PM
Haven't read the whole thread but I have 7 (seven) favourite moments!!!!

27-12-2017, 03:43 PM
Apart from the obvious (Latapy 6-2, any of the 0-7, Geebsie etc), Kenny Miller's goal to make it 0-3 in the Millennium Derby was a magic moment.

27-12-2017, 03:47 PM
Hanlon's equaliser. Best moment of the cup run, for me it was an even better feeling then than when Gray scored the winner.

27-12-2017, 03:47 PM
The Ross Caldwell derby for me, only time I've seen us win at Tynie so far. Absolutely mental scenes with Sparky's free kick causing just as much mayhem.

Sparkys goal is one of the best goals i've ever seen hibs score. An absolute screamer right into the top corner, no keeper in the land could have save that.

27-12-2017, 03:49 PM
Always loved Francks goal at Tynecastle where he ran the length of the pitch to celebrate with the Hibees at the other end. Quality moment. :flag:

27-12-2017, 03:50 PM
Sparkys goal is one of the best goals i've ever seen hibs score. An absolute screamer right into the top corner, no keeper in the land could have save that.

Yes, that was some moment.

Firestarter
27-12-2017, 03:51 PM

👍👍👍 right to the **** section too.

27-12-2017, 04:25 PM
Tough choice with McBride's free kick or Archibald's goal at tynecastle or the Latapy volley in the 6-2

Still Smiling
27-12-2017, 04:42 PM
Seem to remember big Gordon Rae scoring when Hibs were down to ten men.
0-7... seems like yesterday!

27-12-2017, 04:45 PM
Benji scoring the winner in a 2-1 win at ER and running the full length of the pitch to the tramps :greengrin Thankfully Zibi Malkowski caught him before he ended up actually in the stand (probably the only thing he caught that season :rolleyes:).