View Full Version : The 'You know you're getting old' thread

24-12-2017, 09:18 PM
You know you're getting old when you can remember Hearts winning the League Cup. :agree:

24-12-2017, 09:25 PM
You know you're getting old when you can remember Hearts winning the League Cup. :agree:

Or when you can remember them winning a derby.:greengrin

24-12-2017, 09:29 PM
Or remembering the Hertz losing out on the league title on goal average to Kilmarnock on the final day of the season.

24-12-2017, 09:30 PM
Or Ernie Winchester

24-12-2017, 09:34 PM
When you remember Craig Levein winning a medal.

JimboHibs
24-12-2017, 09:36 PM

Pleasing.

24-12-2017, 09:38 PM
Rudi who?

24-12-2017, 09:45 PM
When you can remember them singing "since 1902"

Actually I miss it a bit as one of my best memories of 21/05/16 is later that night and the whole pub singing "we've not won the big cup since quarter to 5" :greengrin

24-12-2017, 09:48 PM
Rudi who?

Well named

24-12-2017, 09:50 PM

When you remember when Levein had clean underpants.

24-12-2017, 09:50 PM
Or remembering the Hertz losing out on the league title on goal average to Kilmarnock on the final day of the season.

Oh yes I remember that. Lost on goal average so the league changed the rule so that in '86 it was goal difference that counted. Pity because if the rule had stayed the same they would have won the league on goal average.

24-12-2017, 09:57 PM

Actually I miss it a bit as one of my best memories of 21/05/16 is later that night and the whole pub singing "we've not won the big cup since quarter to 5" :greengrin
We were singing since 90+2. Scenes :greengrin

24-12-2017, 10:03 PM
We were singing since 90+2. Scenes :greengrin

I'd been hoping for "since 16.52" but I was a lone voice in a sea of "since quarter to 5's". Still it was spontaneous :greengrin

24-12-2017, 10:20 PM

A particularly pleasing thread on Kickback is discussing their songs for the derby, as Billy Brown would say, they're struggling :greengrin

24-12-2017, 10:24 PM
A particularly pleasing thread on Kickback is discussing their songs for the derby, as Billy Brown would say, they're struggling :greengrin

Beautiful :greengrin

24-12-2017, 10:27 PM
Booked for Being Ugly... :tee hee:

24-12-2017, 10:30 PM
Shouting at the ref about the number of steps the goalies taking.

24-12-2017, 10:38 PM
Substitutes. Weren't even invented.

AltheHibby
24-12-2017, 10:50 PM
All teams played in black and white, and the refs were still good enough to tell them apart.

24-12-2017, 10:55 PM
When playing down the slope in the second half meant everything.:agree:

24-12-2017, 10:56 PM

Dude, I am definitely feeling old. But I wasn't born when Hearts last won the League Cup. I was however in the womb when Hibs beat Celtic 2-1 in that competition, and similarly situated in January 1973. I take some pride in celebrating some fine victories pre-natally...

24-12-2017, 11:02 PM
If you've seen Hibs win the Scottish cup twice...

24-12-2017, 11:04 PM
When you meet up with old friends for your annual pre Christmas drinking session and you talk about what you used to drink and get up to when you were young.

24-12-2017, 11:11 PM
When you meet up with old friends for your annual pre Christmas drinking session and you talk about what you used to drink and get up to when you were young.

When Colin Stein leaving and declaring himself a hun broke your heart.

24-12-2017, 11:12 PM
When the police hats and helmets went up in the air in teh Dunbar end and when you had to know what game A, B, C, D etc was to work out who was winning

24-12-2017, 11:13 PM
When you can remember paying 1/6d (7 1/2p) to get into the ground and the programme cost 6d (2 1/2p).

24-12-2017, 11:21 PM
When you remember going to tynecastle for the new year derby in sub zero temperatures, but being absolutely roasting because you were bouncing around like a lunatic in the middle of 10000 hibs fans.

24-12-2017, 11:23 PM
When you can remember paying 1/6d (7 1/2p) to get into the ground and the programme cost 6d (2 1/2p).

3d...............

And a lift-over.

25-12-2017, 12:22 AM
When you remember seeing Hearts at Hampden except against Queen's Park?

Firestarter
25-12-2017, 12:29 AM

Tenants sixes?

That's my answer to the thread tae.

25-12-2017, 12:35 AM
Tenants sixes?

That's my answer to the thread tae.
I bet he cherishes that medal. He probably keeps it in a cabinet next to his box of Imodium instants.

Brunswickbill
25-12-2017, 12:56 AM
When the fans used to switch ends at half time

25-12-2017, 01:12 AM
When you get on a bus with one of your kids and you get to sit at the windae seat.

25-12-2017, 02:17 AM

Or Gary MacKay winning a medal?

That would be senility not old age!

Firestarter
25-12-2017, 02:31 AM
I bet he cherishes that medal. He probably keeps it in a cabinet next to his box of Imodium instants.

They are very important to him. His signed photo of the cludgie is there too.

Firestarter
25-12-2017, 02:35 AM
Or Gary MacKay winning a medal?

That would be senility not old age!

I love the fact medals does a column opposite Mickey actually won a cup and has a medal Weir.

25-12-2017, 03:17 AM
When you have a Hibs top with McBean on the front?

Firestarter
25-12-2017, 03:48 AM

Purple top with a stripe! My first Hibs top.'

Edit, looking through Xmas photos finishing wrapping it was all
Purple .

25-12-2017, 03:48 AM
McBean? Pfffftttttt....lol

Try purple top with Bukta on the front and doesn't even come close to fitting any more.........

Firestarter
25-12-2017, 03:53 AM
McBean? Pfffftttttt....lol

Try purple top with Bukta on the front and doesn't even come close to fitting any more.........

Merry Xmas Harry when it comes in a few minutes. Have a good one matey.

25-12-2017, 03:57 AM
Merry Xmas Harry when it comes in a few minutes. Have a good one matey.
You too mate. Both kids are here in Texas visiting with their partners - Christmas is going to be superb :agree:

25-12-2017, 04:03 AM
When posting on this thread gives you a feeling of deja vu. :wink:

Firestarter
25-12-2017, 04:09 AM
You too mate. Both kids are here in Texas visiting with their partners - Christmas is going to be superb :agree:

Good man. Mind and get the DVD on after dinner😊 Sleep time
For me, all set up and mines will be up in about 2 hours max. Can't wait.
Mon the socks!

25-12-2017, 04:12 AM
Good man. Mind and get the DVD on after dinner�� Sleep time
For me, all set up and mines will be up in about 2 hours max. Can't wait.
Mon the socks!
The Chardonnay will take care of any need for a nap lol........ just need to stay sober enough to avoid shooting raccoons and having SWAT teams arrive lol ......

25-12-2017, 05:35 AM
Booked for Being Ugly... :tee hee:I was telling my 6 year old about that on Saturday - he was poorless.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

25-12-2017, 06:00 AM
Inflatables. A trend that should never have stopped.

25-12-2017, 07:57 AM
When football boots came up over your ankles, the old style football that needed heading on a freezing morning at Hawkhill , i would have been 6 foot 4 if i never had to do that !

Clarence
25-12-2017, 08:13 AM
When you were one of the kids in "The Team That Wouldn't Die" video.

25-12-2017, 10:03 AM
You remember the Sunblest factory....

West lower
25-12-2017, 10:08 AM
When you can remember the guys walking around in white dustcoats, with a wooden board selling macaroon bars and spearmint gum.

Topographic Hibby
25-12-2017, 10:11 AM
When “The East” didn’t have seats or was even called “The East” - it was the terrace!!!

Hibby Christmas to all :flag::aok:

25-12-2017, 10:26 AM
When footballs were heavy and had laces. Ouch.

25-12-2017, 10:29 AM
You remember the Sunblest factory....☺ good shout. I used to work casual there chucking breadboards on a lorry.

25-12-2017, 10:38 AM

Oh yes, a plain or pan sliced ?

25-12-2017, 10:39 AM

Or that the Dunbar (away) end is named after the juice factory that once was there.

25-12-2017, 10:42 AM

He packed his lunch in a Sunblest bag

25-12-2017, 10:44 AM
When “The East” didn’t have seats or was even called “The East” - it was the terrace!!!

Hibby Christmas to all :flag::aok:

Or that the Dunbar (away) end is named after the juice factory that once was there.

And when the South was part of the main stand.

25-12-2017, 10:45 AM
Oh yes, a plain or pan sliced ?

Ha ha always a pan sliced...hated the muckle burnt tasting crusts on a plain loaf.

And anyway was it not a 'half loaf' back in the day even although it was what we would call a whole one these days?

25-12-2017, 10:57 AM
When you remember seeing the Tornadoes in all thier glory[emoji173]

madsen5
25-12-2017, 10:58 AM

Me too was a great day.

25-12-2017, 11:00 AM
Or no segregation between fans, seems unbelievable today that used to happen.

monarch
25-12-2017, 11:20 AM

When you can remember Hibs strips with no sponsorship logo on the front.

25-12-2017, 11:24 AM
...you remember going to to Celtc Park and chanting "John Paul's a Hibby", just to wind up the Celtc Fans

monarch
25-12-2017, 11:26 AM
When you can remember when the only catering was the one pie and bovril hut at the very top of what was the main terrace (now the east stand). You could stand for near enough half an hour waiting to be served. Come to think of it not much has changed in that respect !

25-12-2017, 11:29 AM
When you can remember when the only catering was the one pie and bovril hut at the very top of what was the main terrace (now the east stand). You could stand for near enough half an hour waiting to be served. Come to think of it not much has changed in that respect !

Remember in the 80's when there were a few of them. Queued for about 15 minutes to get me and my brother a pie (one each :wink: ) only to find out that when it was my turn to get served that they only served match programmes. :doh: Starving as well.

25-12-2017, 11:31 AM
You’re older than a lot of the managers, let alone the players.

25-12-2017, 11:40 AM
When a red card was only shown for attempted murder.

25-12-2017, 11:48 AM
When my mum worked in the Kiosk in the old North stand

25-12-2017, 11:51 AM
Remember in the 80's when there were a few of them. Queued for about 15 minutes to get me and my brother a pie (one each :wink: ) only to find out that when it was my turn to get served that they only served match programmes. :doh: Starving as well.

I hear that mutton pies are hard to come by these days. Is that true?

25-12-2017, 12:02 PM
I hear that mutton pies are hard to come by these days. Is that true?

Pardon.

25-12-2017, 12:17 PM
When you forget that you've already posted in this thread.

25-12-2017, 12:24 PM
When you put on your Santa costume, look in the mirror and think the costume makes you look younger than you are.

AltheHibby
25-12-2017, 12:29 PM
Ha ha always a pan sliced...hated the muckle burnt tasting crusts on a plain loaf.

And anyway was it not a 'half loaf' back in the day even although it was what we would call a whole one these days?

My mum always asked for a half loaf until one day in England the lady in the bakers cut an unsliced loaf in half for her!

eezyrider
25-12-2017, 02:26 PM

The pleasing thing is that Hearts would have won it if they had used goal difference.

In 1986 Hearts lost the title to Celtic on goal difference when they would have won it if goal AVERAGE had been used.

EZ

Firestarter
25-12-2017, 03:42 PM
The Chardonnay will take care of any need for a nap lol........ just need to stay sober enough to avoid shooting raccoons and having SWAT teams arrive lol ......

😂 Merry Xmas mate.

Firestarter
25-12-2017, 03:43 PM
When a red card was only shown for attempted murder.

Bobo Balde only got booked.

IlDiavola
25-12-2017, 05:23 PM
When you remember getting that Albert Kidd perm..

25-12-2017, 08:56 PM
3d...............

And a lift-over.

When a “lift-over” wasn’t part of Operation Yewtree.
Sorry too much drink LOL.

25-12-2017, 10:42 PM

Remember it well!

25-12-2017, 11:00 PM

25-12-2017, 11:12 PM

I see what you did there. :greengrin

Tornadoes70
25-12-2017, 11:18 PM
When you dig out the strips from days gone by and can't squeeze into any of them anymore.

25-12-2017, 11:23 PM
When you dig out the strips from days gone by and can't squeeze into any of them anymore.

:greengrinAye, or indeed very recent days gone by[emoji6]

26-12-2017, 12:05 AM
When you forget that you've already posted in this thread.when you remember yer Ma used to send you for a "four pit o' tatties " and a half loaf a quarter of Stork and 2 slices of biled ham for yer Da's piece.

Galahibby
26-12-2017, 12:24 AM
When you remember going to derbies on new year's day.

confused
26-12-2017, 10:12 AM
John "safety" Fraser, playing in any position to help the cause .

MoscowHibs
26-12-2017, 10:21 AM
I know Im getting old when I reminisce of my first ever game, v St Johnstone at Muirton Park, however, I know im getting really auld when the wife says fancy a quickie and I wid rather watch the telly.

26-12-2017, 10:42 AM
I know Im getting old when I reminisce of my first ever game, v St Johnstone at Muirton Park, however, I know im getting really auld when the wife says fancy a quickie and I wid rather watch the telly.

You know you're getting old when you do both of the above at the same time.

Brunswickbill
26-12-2017, 11:09 AM
When your ma sent you to buy a forpet of potatoes.

26-12-2017, 11:37 AM

That's when you make the reasoned decision to frame them.

26-12-2017, 12:08 PM
When your ma sent you to buy a forpet of potatoes.

Jeez, I can remember that so well.....
.......and a punnet of strawberries.

eezyrider
26-12-2017, 12:08 PM
When you remember your dad sending you out to get the Pink News to see how Hibs got on.

EZ

26-12-2017, 02:02 PM
I see what you did there. :greengrin

I'd have gotten away with it if it wasn't for that pesky iwasthere1972!

AltheHibby
26-12-2017, 02:07 PM
When you can remember when the yams paid their way.

confused
26-12-2017, 03:25 PM
When you remember your dad sending you out to get the Pink News to see how Hibs got on.

EZ
Nae pink news for my dad , had to be the green dispatch in oor house

26-12-2017, 03:26 PM
I'd have gotten away with it if it wasn't for that pesky iwasthere1972!

26-12-2017, 04:08 PM

EZ

The Pink? You a Yam? It had to be the Green Dispatch

IlDiavola
26-12-2017, 05:09 PM
The 'Pink'.

That's a blast from the past.

AK86
26-12-2017, 05:49 PM
When you remember when they treated Remembrance Day with some sort of dignity, and didn't tart it up like some kind of footballing victory badge.

26-12-2017, 06:06 PM
When you can't remember the last time you manage to remember something.

26-12-2017, 07:07 PM
When you can remember the tracing paper in the public toilets .
I once got scelped in the coupen near the bottom of the East many moons ago . Someone obviously never had their porridge and failed to hit the pitch ( what a skelp it was :)

26-12-2017, 07:09 PM
When you can remember "George and Lynne" :-)

26-12-2017, 07:13 PM
When you remember when they treated Remembrance Day with some sort of dignity, and didn't tart it up like some kind of footballing victory badge.

Post of the Year.

26-12-2017, 07:16 PM
The 'Pink'.

That's a blast from the past.

The green final for us sheep****gers.

Remember a wee old guy who used to come in to the cafe royal,early 80's......pink news,sold about 50 every time !

26-12-2017, 07:20 PM

Or George and Mildred.

26-12-2017, 07:30 PM
Or George and Mildred.

Or George and the Dragon.

Peggy Mount anyone?

26-12-2017, 07:38 PM
Peggy Mount anyone?

Doubt it.

26-12-2017, 08:10 PM
Doubt it.

Very true.

26-12-2017, 08:25 PM
When you had to join the queue at the newsagent for the pink and the green.

When Rex of the Sunday Mail chose Gordon Smith as his player of the year.

Getting the train from Leith Caley to Dalry Road and walking along to Wheatfield Street to the boys gate

Following the one man band along Albion Road.

17447(shopping related).

26-12-2017, 08:30 PM
Spot the ball in the EEN/pink.

26-12-2017, 08:36 PM

26-12-2017, 08:56 PM
:greengrin 4923

26-12-2017, 09:00 PM
When the pies at Easter Road were crap. Oh wait a minute. :greengrin

26-12-2017, 09:02 PM
:faf: That’s a blast from the past. I used to read that everyday.

26-12-2017, 10:01 PM
:faf: That’s a blast from the past. I used to read that everyday.

I Was a Paperboy and she was more interesting than actual P3.. Couldn't wait for her to get her tits oot... :wink:

Also Remember the song... " if i had the Wings of a Sparrow and if i had the ars... " late 80s..

26-12-2017, 10:20 PM
I Was a Paperboy and she was more interesting than actual P3.. Couldn't wait for her to get her tits oot... :wink:

Also Remember the song... " if i had the Wings of a Sparrow and if i had the ars... " late 80s..
Oh yes. She had a fine pair. :greengrin

27-12-2017, 01:45 AM
When you can remember reading "So This Is How It Feels" in printed format 😂😂

27-12-2017, 09:09 AM
The pleasing thing is that Hearts would have won it if they had used goal difference.

In 1986 Hearts lost the title to Celtic on goal difference when they would have won it if goal difference had been used.

EZ

Remember at school asking Hearts fans if it was true that their new sponsors were going to be Mitre - because they Mitre won the league and they Mitre won the cup 😂😂

27-12-2017, 09:26 AM
Remember at school asking Hearts fans if it was true that their new sponsors were going to be Mitre - because they Mitre won the league and they Mitre won the cup 😂😂

They were sponsored by Mita (photocopiers) at the time.

Robinho08
27-12-2017, 09:29 AM
When players your age are either retired or regarded as veterans.

Baker9
27-12-2017, 10:10 AM

Us really old guys prefer the term 'Legends' and can't wait to be asked, 'Did you play football'. Did we play football?!

27-12-2017, 01:26 PM
Us really old guys prefer the term 'Legends' and can't wait to be asked, 'Did you play football'. Did we play football?!

I've found that the footballing ability I had in my youth has improved as the intervening decades have confused my memories of how bad I actually was.

This means that I no longer fondly recall the day I managed to pass the ball from one foot to the other but instead claim to have found a teammate with a pass. In a few years time I could be boasting that he was the team mate who I meant to pass to!

27-12-2017, 02:09 PM
I've found that the footballing ability I had in my youth has improved as the intervening decades have confused my memories of how bad I actually was.

This means that I no longer fondly recall the day I managed to pass the ball from one foot to the other but instead claim to have found a teammate with a pass. In a few years time I could be boasting that he was the team mate who I meant to pass to!

I'm a far better player now than I ever was. Unfortunately, my body is far too old to try and prove it.

27-12-2017, 02:36 PM
I'm a far better player now than I ever was. Unfortunately, my body is far too old to try and prove it.

What's more is that the older you get the better you were 😁

Galahibby
27-12-2017, 05:31 PM

Or managers 😩

27-12-2017, 05:43 PM
Or Ex managers !

Baker9
27-12-2017, 05:46 PM

The joy of all of this as that you are not expected to prove it. You are old, there is probably no filmed evidence and if you say it with a sincere look and a straight face they will believe it. It has to be within the bounds of credibility but I was certainly some player in my day.