View Full Version : 50 Years Ago

Roxyhibee
24-12-2017, 02:46 PM
Xmas morning, 1967. First of many Xmas Hibs strips. No white sleeves but maybe MacKenzies in the Bridges only had these.?

Finally got round to getting the real thing 2 years later. Furniture had got better in the hoose as well.!

Merry Christmas fellow Hibees.

hibeg
24-12-2017, 06:27 PM
Great photos Roxy. What team is the white strip in the second picture ?

24-12-2017, 06:36 PM
Great photos Roxy. What team is the white strip in the second picture ?

From the expression on the boy's face it must be the Jambos' away strip and it was derby day.

Brill photos Roxy, thanks for sharing them.

24-12-2017, 06:37 PM
Ahh mackenzies. A treasure trove for a primary school boy.

24-12-2017, 06:44 PM
From the expression on the boy's face it must be the Jambos' away strip and it was derby day.

Great pic. As we had already beat Yams 4-1 at tiny & were about to do the double thanks to a Joe Davis/ Eric Stevenson penalty the wee guy probably was worried!

Roxyhibee
24-12-2017, 07:05 PM

😂😂 it was indeed the Yams away strip. We are still best mates - can't wait to show him comments. Cheers.

TelaStella
24-12-2017, 07:33 PM
great photos those mate. That hearts kit was a right stinker though!

24-12-2017, 07:42 PM
Ahh mackenzies. A treasure trove for a primary school boy.

Was fortunate enough to have my auntie working there!!

24-12-2017, 07:43 PM
great photos those mate. That hearts kit was a right stinker though!

Way better than their battenburg effort from last season though tbf. Way better.

tamsonsbairn
24-12-2017, 08:02 PM
That very same strip was my first hibs strip as well, i mind greeting tae ma maw that hibs played with white sleeves and was told that was what the man in the shop gave her, if i remember right it was mcenzies as well. memories.

24-12-2017, 08:09 PM
What it tells us is that memories are priceless and some of us are lucky enough to have a treasure trove of them.

Hope you all make some more tonight and tomorrow.

Merry Christmas Chaps!

24-12-2017, 10:25 PM
Xmas morning, 1967. First of many Xmas Hibs strips. No white sleeves but maybe MacKenzies in the Bridges only had these.?

Finally got round to getting the real thing 2 years later. Furniture had got better in the hoose as well.!

Merry Christmas fellow Hibees.
I was given that strip too and it was a Northern Ireland one.

24-12-2017, 10:32 PM
Cracking picture[emoji106]

My granny got me an enscribed bible that year. I know its was 1967 as I got battered round the heid for writing Hibs for the cup 1967 on it in pen on Xmas day.

Still got it even though I'm not religious.

Roxyhibee
25-12-2017, 07:18 AM
[QUOTE=Bostonhibby;5257129]Cracking picture[emoji106]

My granny got me an enscribed bible that year. I know its was 1967 as I got battered round the heid for writing Hibs for the cup 1967 on it in pen on Xmas day.

Still got it even though I'm not religious.

👍 Cheers.

😂 Brilliant.! Used to scroll that on everything too.

25-12-2017, 08:59 AM
Was fortunate enough to have my auntie working there!!

My primary school was 3 mins walk from it, in the days when finding football gear wasn't as easy as it is now. Had our faces pressed to the windows admiring the gear regularly (the hearts fans used to lick the window of course)

Roxyhibee
25-12-2017, 09:24 AM
My primary school was 3 mins walk from it, in the days when finding football gear wasn't as easy as it is now. Had our faces pressed to the windows admiring the gear regularly (the hearts fans used to lick the window of course)

😂😂😂

alhibby
25-12-2017, 10:24 AM
Got a similar pic of myself in that strip , must try to find it, it was, I believe, the reserve team strip i have another pic taken a few minutes later with the white sleeve 1st team strip, happy Christmas memories

Tom Hart RIP
25-12-2017, 10:25 AM
Great pic. As we had already beat Yams 4-1 at tiny & were about to do the double thanks to a Joe Davis/ Eric Stevenson penalty the wee guy probably was worried!

My first Derby. Remember it well. Just started to snow when Joe tucked ball into corner of the net in front of the shed.

25-12-2017, 10:55 AM
Obviously arsenal strips were hard to get and your wee sister had to make do with a home made one!!!!

Roxyhibee
25-12-2017, 11:10 AM
Obviously arsenal strips were hard to get and your wee sister had to make do with a home made one!!!!

Hahaha. Never spotted that.! She's a big Hibby now as well..

26-12-2017, 07:25 AM
Hahaha. Never spotted that.! She's a big Hibby now as well..

Is that your brother or your butler

26-12-2017, 07:38 AM
Epic wallpaper mate :greengrin

26-12-2017, 07:54 AM
I was given that strip too and it was a Northern Ireland one.

I was given it too with long sleeves, was disappointed that sleeves wernt white

26-12-2017, 08:42 AM
I was given it too with long sleeves, was disappointed that sleeves wernt white

I got that one too. Think the ones with white sleeves were a half-crown dearer. (12 1/2p ?).

Roxyhibee
26-12-2017, 09:09 AM
Is that your brother or your butler

😂😂😂 "get dubbin those boots Fontelroy-Jeeves, I'm going out for a game of shapes.."

Ryan69
26-12-2017, 09:19 AM
50 years ago today

Check these results out.

https://m.facebook.com/100FootballOfficial/photos/a.1484705158267488.1073741829.1352386661499339/1782566355148032/?type=3&source=48

26-12-2017, 09:50 AM
😂😂😂 "get dubbin those boots Fontelroy-Jeeves, I'm going out for a game of shapes.."

Did he end up working at the Odean i'am sure i bought a kia ora and a rasberry mivi of him . On for older gent's on here