View Full Version : Pre Derby plans..

24-12-2017, 10:49 AM
7.45 ko on the 27th..

What’s everyone planning to do before they head to the game ?

Expecting a very loud Hibs support and non stop singing for 90+ minutes.

yonder1875
24-12-2017, 10:54 AM
Planning on heading to the roseburn for about 5pm.

24-12-2017, 10:56 AM
Think you will struggle to get in at 5pm.

yonder1875
24-12-2017, 10:58 AM
Think you will struggle to get in at 5pm.

Aye, probably. I finish work at 4 so I can't go any earlier, just going to chance it.

24-12-2017, 11:03 AM
I just passed the Roseburn and Hibs fans are queuing already 😂 if only they had a loyalty point system in place.

24-12-2017, 11:06 AM
Aye, probably. I finish work at 4 so I can't go any earlier, just going to chance it.

Good luck!

24-12-2017, 11:26 AM
Mine? Get a ticket.

24-12-2017, 11:26 AM
Heading out about 1pm. Not sure where we are going, pals heading to roseburn so might end up there.

24-12-2017, 11:53 AM
Heading out about 1pm. Not sure where we are going, pals heading to roseburn so might end up there.

Oblivion most likely with that starting time.

24-12-2017, 12:32 PM
7.45 ko on the 27th..

I'm guessing a good number of plans may involve daytime alcohol. Just a guess :greengrin

24-12-2017, 02:51 PM
Think i may stroll along to the beechwood

24-12-2017, 03:50 PM
Oblivion most likely with that starting time.

Really? Do you know me?

24-12-2017, 07:06 PM
1pm start for us on Wednesday. :hyper

24-12-2017, 07:14 PM
Managed to secure a ticket so now trying to make some plans.

Unfortunately I have to attend a funeral in the afternoon so will be starting later than I usually would. Might head for the Hampton or somewhere city centre rather than the madness of the Roseburn or the Murrayfield.

24-12-2017, 07:14 PM
Planning on heading to the roseburn for about 5pm.

Just picked this post by chance but everyone goes to the Roseburn. Does anyone ever go to the Murrayfield Bar just along from it?

24-12-2017, 07:26 PM
Family Christmas event in Glasgow so not going - gutted. Will be watching on TV though once most of my relatives have left.

24-12-2017, 07:28 PM
Working, so grab a burger and juice pre piggery.....

Leith's finest
24-12-2017, 07:28 PM
Wardens club for me

24-12-2017, 07:31 PM
Just picked this post by chance but everyone goes to the Roseburn. Does anyone ever go to the Murrayfield Bar just along from it?

The Murrayfield Bar, as opposed to the hotel, always used to close on derby days. Not sure if it is still the case but was certainly that way for years.

24-12-2017, 07:39 PM
The Murrayfield Bar, as opposed to the hotel, always used to close on derby days. Not sure if it is still the case but was certainly that way for years.

Ah! 👍🏻

24-12-2017, 08:57 PM

Think it’s still the same there. Don’t think they allow many football fans in on Match days, not the type of customers they want.

I’m drinking in my house and will have the windows open to hear the fans in the murrayfield hotel before walking along the road.

24-12-2017, 09:06 PM
Not been for a good few years but used to go to the Murrayfield Bar if the Roseburn was full. It was always full of Hibbies but a lot less of a rammy than the Roseburn. They used to employ a strict no singing policy. If anyone started singing, all the bar staff would instantly stop serving until the singing stopped. It was pretty effective to be honest. Not been since the Murrayfield Hotel became a venue of choice so might be different now.

vuefrom1875
24-12-2017, 09:14 PM
7.45 ko on the 27th..

Cask and Barrel.. Sorted.

24-12-2017, 09:15 PM
PO club for me

Nevi_SOL
24-12-2017, 09:20 PM
Beam back for me 👌🏼

24-12-2017, 09:21 PM
Where are folk without tickets going to watch it in central Edinburgh?

26-12-2017, 07:49 PM
Bumping this thread.

I'm heading to the murrayfield hotel. Hoping its gonna be packed out so I can get away with drinking cans in the beer garden!

SneakersO'Toole
26-12-2017, 07:52 PM
Meeting mid afternoon for a couple of pints before heading to Omar Khayaam for a curry and a couple more drinks before the match. Can't wait.

26-12-2017, 07:56 PM
Bumping this thread.

I'm heading to the murrayfield hotel. Hoping its gonna be packed out so I can get away with drinking cans in the beer garden!Love your thinking

26-12-2017, 07:59 PM
Love your thinking

Last year they didn't mind us doing it cause the bar was at capacity so they weren't losing money. I get to go to a pub and save money by drinking my own beer so it's perfect! Unless it rains that is.

26-12-2017, 08:11 PM
Will the Roseburn be rammed at 2pm?

26-12-2017, 08:15 PM

Might be a wee bit busy but I'd imagine you'll get in

26-12-2017, 08:16 PM
Might be a wee bit busy but I'd imagine you'll get inCheers

26-12-2017, 08:21 PM
Platform 5 at 2pm then up to Kebabish for a curry with the boys at 4pm. BYOB at the curry house.

hailhail22
26-12-2017, 08:35 PM

I've seen quite a lot on my Facebook people saying they are heading to the roseburn around 2/3pm...... So I will be heading there for 1pm 😉

yonder1875
26-12-2017, 08:55 PM
This is going to be one loud, boisterous and drunk Hibs crowd.

26-12-2017, 09:03 PM

Not sure about 14:00 pm but it definitely will be rammed at 19:02 pm.

26-12-2017, 09:39 PM

Cannae wait!!

26-12-2017, 09:41 PM

Best away support in Scotland !

drummondst
26-12-2017, 10:01 PM
:flag:Will be in The Green Man , Leamington Spa
for pre match drinks , with my new xmas present, club colours
polo shirt, ( thanks to daughter Eilidh ) . then to see us win at
at the PBS on the T.V. at mate's hoos.
Drummond St

26-12-2017, 10:23 PM
Not sure about 14:00 pm but it definitely will be rammed at 19:02 pm.

I seen what you did there👍

26-12-2017, 10:58 PM
Diane's pool hall was the pre-derby venue of choice in recent years, sadly since it's demise thats no longer an option this time.
Will either be Platform 5, or just drink locally and jump on the 44 bus around 7.

26-12-2017, 11:08 PM
Drinks in town from midday and then the Murrayfield Hotel from 4ish. Buzzing :thumbsup:

27-12-2017, 12:53 AM
Was going to watch it on TV but given most of the Hibs crew are going out 6 hours b4 the game I might go to Tiny and get a ticket when one of many are not allowed in for being melted :aok::flag:

27-12-2017, 07:08 AM
M62 - M6 - M74 - A702 - then TV in the house.

Theinsider
27-12-2017, 07:16 AM
Beamback for me. Bite to eat and a couple of pints down Leith, then ER for the game.

:hibees

Greenworld
27-12-2017, 08:15 AM

Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkYes

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Greenworld
27-12-2017, 08:19 AM
Most of the jambos I know are also meeting at lunch time this could be one messy derby ...

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

27-12-2017, 08:25 AM
Beamback for me. Bite to eat and a couple of pints down Leith, then ER for the game.

:hibees

Is this a beamback from the moon :greengrin or have a missed something?

27-12-2017, 08:50 AM
Meeting mid afternoon for a couple of pints before heading to Omar Khayaam for a curry and a couple more drinks before the match. Can't wait.

Very civilised. 😂 🕐 🍛

27-12-2017, 08:55 AM
couldn't get a ticket so at home in front of telly with a few beers

SingaporeHibs
27-12-2017, 08:58 AM
Bed about 10pm, alarm set for 3:30am and then Hibs TV. Shower and then off to work, hopefully bouncing down the street GGTTH

jimmyboco#1
27-12-2017, 09:11 AM
Diane's pool hall was the pre-derby venue of choice in recent years, sadly since it's demise thats no longer an option this time.
Will either be Platform 5, or just drink locally and jump on the 44 bus around 7.

We also used to go to Diane's for pre Tiny drinks. Looking for an alternative that will be full of Hibby's other than the usuals (Roseburn, Murrayfield) ..... Will Platform 5 be full of Hibs fans???? Thought it may be a Jambo haunt.. Cannae Wait :flag:

27-12-2017, 09:23 AM
We also used to go to Diane's for pre Tiny drinks. Looking for an alternative that will be full of Hibby's other than the usuals (Roseburn, Murrayfield) ..... Will Platform 5 be full of Hibs fans???? Thought it may be a Jambo haunt.. Cannae Wait :flag:

Platform 5 will be mixed but will be more Hearts fans. They have previously had a no colours policy though so just be wary of that.

27-12-2017, 09:58 AM
Seems most are heading early to..

Platform 5
Murrayfield Hotel
Roseburn Bar

Anywhere else ?

27-12-2017, 10:04 AM

Platform 5 has been popular with other away supports, won't be anything like Roseburn, which suits me these days. Mixed crowd, expect more of them than us but good big pub which plenty space.

27-12-2017, 10:21 AM
Very civilised. 😂 🕐 🍛

I know some bams heading out at 2 :greengrin. Tamsons back of 4 then a taxi/No1 dorr to door.

27-12-2017, 10:33 AM
Just done the White Lady in Corstorphine, breakfast and a couple of pints of John Smiths.

Here we go 9 in a row

27-12-2017, 10:36 AM
As a non ticket holder, will most likely aim for the Cask and Barrel for around half 5. I assume they'll be showing the game?

27-12-2017, 10:37 AM
As a non ticket holder, will most likely aim for the Cask and Barrel for around half 5. I assume they'll be showing the game?

Definitely be on in the Cask , likely to be a majority of Hibbies in there as well.

27-12-2017, 11:49 AM
Having our first pint in The Abbey at Newington. Just got off the 37 bus and one of the Proclaimers was on it.

27-12-2017, 12:25 PM
The roseburn is deid. Lucky if there are 20 folk in here.

27-12-2017, 12:26 PM
The roseburn is deid. Lucky if there are 20 folk in here.Will be 27 by 2!

27-12-2017, 12:27 PM
Chilling oot and taking it easy. Not drinking until much later; I want to remember being at the game :greengrin

27-12-2017, 12:29 PM
Chilling oot and taking it easy. Not drinking until much later; I want to remember being at the game :greengrinYou'll only know if that's the case when the final whistle blows!

27-12-2017, 12:31 PM
You'll only know if that's the case when the final whistle blows!

Aye, there's always the possibility I could end wishing I'd been blootered.

27-12-2017, 12:33 PM
Aye, there's always the possibility I could end wishing I'd been blootered.Take a hip flask to prepare for either eventuality

Makalambay
27-12-2017, 12:35 PM
Going straight from work. Was hoping to try one of the pubs around Fountain Park. Does anyone know if the Golden Rule, The Fountain or McCowans would be suitable for Hibbies with colours on?

27-12-2017, 12:37 PM
Going straight from work. Was hoping to try one of the pubs around Fountain Park. Does anyone know if the Golden Rule, The Fountain or McCowans would be suitable for Hibbies with colours on?

The Golden Rule and McGowan's will be rammed with Jambos, wouldn't head to either to be honest. The Fountain don't allow football colours so if you dress accordingly you could get a pint in there.

Godsahibby
27-12-2017, 12:50 PM

Polly just up from the Golden Rule fine with Hibs colours

hailhail22
27-12-2017, 12:51 PM
Roseburn is fairly quiet at the moment thought it would of been heaving by now

27-12-2017, 12:53 PM

Loads of folk are working plus starting 6 hours before kick off is pretty early.

27-12-2017, 12:53 PM

That's shocking and only five hours until kick off. Hopefully it will pick up. I'd be heaving by about four if I started this early. Not had any drink all Christmas and my first pint will be about 5pm. Still plenty time for me to get trollied. That's if I wanted to.

27-12-2017, 12:56 PM

Steady on mate, it's six hours until kick off. Pace yourself there.

cwilliamson85
27-12-2017, 12:57 PM

Has it got sunshine on leith (channel 4) on?

27-12-2017, 12:57 PM
To the tune of mamma mia;

Look at him now, he’s from Barnton, making his father proud,
And the hibees lose control, when oli is through on goal,
Martin Boyle supplies the cross from the wing
He’s the man on the end of everything, oh oh

Oli Shaw, here we go again, Oli, how can we assist you,
Oli Shaw, scores the goals again, oli, oh how much we’ve missed you
Even when you haven’t started, Celtic’s defence you parted.
Oli, oli came and stole the show.

Repeat

hailhail22
27-12-2017, 12:59 PM
That's shocking and only five hours until kick off. Hopefully it will pick up.

Was only saying I thought it would of been busy as it looked like people anticipated it would be, just telling people it's not that busy if they are heading along

27-12-2017, 01:01 PM
Definitely be on in the Cask , likely to be a majority of Hibbies in there as well.

Perfect. Decent beer selection as well. Job done.

yonder1875
27-12-2017, 01:21 PM
Heard there's no Hibs colours allowed in the roseburn bar.

hailhail22
27-12-2017, 01:25 PM
Heard there's no Hibs colours allowed in the roseburn bar.

There's a few people in with hibs tops on 👍

27-12-2017, 01:34 PM
Heard there's no Hibs colours allowed in the roseburn bar.There's a hibs santa hat so you'll be fine

27-12-2017, 01:35 PM
In Roseburn. Told to take off Hibs scarf. Walked in and plenty of Hibs strips on show. Tables all taken, standing room only.

27-12-2017, 01:40 PM
Its when they ask you to remove your Hibs bawbags you need to worry. :wink:

27-12-2017, 01:51 PM
I’m in the Harp and Castle just now, and will probably pub crawl my way to tynecastle

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

27-12-2017, 01:55 PM
To the tune of mamma mia;

Look at him now, he’s from Barnton, making his father proud,
And the hibees lose control, when oli is through on goal,
Martin Boyle supplies the cross from the wing
He’s the man on the end of everything, oh oh

Oli Shaw, here we go again, Oli, how can we assist you,
Oli Shaw, scores the goals again, oli, oh how much we’ve missed you
Even when you haven’t started, Celtic’s defence you parted.
Oli, oli came and stole the show.

Repeat

Like this !!

27-12-2017, 02:04 PM
Why do folk get their knickers in a twist about what time folk head to the boozer pre-game?

27-12-2017, 02:09 PM
Roseburn pretty full now , reckon it will be full up by about 4ish.

27-12-2017, 02:09 PM
First few songs in the Roseburn hereeee we go

27-12-2017, 02:13 PM
Why do folk get their knickers in a twist about what time folk head to the boozer pre-game?

Some of us are pro temperance and react with disdain to excessive alcohol consumption.

7-Zip_Mike
27-12-2017, 02:20 PM
Roesburn filling up big time. Wallace M sings in full flow!

27-12-2017, 02:32 PM
Some of us are pro temperance and react with disdain to excessive alcohol consumption.

I'm sure you are able to quaff your pre-match libations at a rate that will allow you to take full enjoyment of the game as it unfolds DBS.

27-12-2017, 02:39 PM
Just jumping on the train at Brunstane to Waverley. Pint in the Hebrides, pint in the Doric, pint in the Malt Shovel. Train to Haymarket, couple in Platform 5 then ground for about 7.15. Sorted.

7-Zip_Mike
27-12-2017, 02:46 PM
AnneBudge song !!

27-12-2017, 03:03 PM

Exactly. If I want to bevvy at 1pm then so What!

27-12-2017, 03:06 PM
On the packed train from Glasgow now (point of interest: why do we, in the UK, meekly put up with such substandard public transport?)

Home to drop off luggage then a quick volte face to the Cask and Barrel for the duration

27-12-2017, 03:16 PM
Does anybody know if you can still walk through to the Roseburn end from Gorgie Road. Always done it in the past but just checking. Easier than going all the way down towards the Roseburn Bar and going along the back road.

Cheers.

Just heading for town now. Few pints then here we go.........

70KevinHFC62
27-12-2017, 03:22 PM
Anybody know if the murrayfield is busy or not?

27-12-2017, 03:23 PM
Does anybody know if you can still walk through to the Roseburn end from Gorgie Road. Always done it in the past but just checking. Easier than going all the way down towards the Roseburn Bar and going along the back road.

Cheers.

Just heading for town now. Few pints then here we go.........

Pretty sure you can past Tyne arms not after game though.

27-12-2017, 03:28 PM
Martin Boyle song !!

Anyone in Platform 5 ? Busy ?

27-12-2017, 03:35 PM
Po club for starters

27-12-2017, 04:17 PM
Heading out soon. I think a wee snifter to calm the nerves :agree:

27-12-2017, 04:21 PM
I'm sure you are able to quaff your pre-match libations at a rate that will allow you to take full enjoyment of the game as it unfolds DBS.

I wish I was as sure.

jimmyboco#1
27-12-2017, 04:42 PM
Hibees taking over the Mercat at Haymarket!!!

euro Hibby
27-12-2017, 04:46 PM
home, nervous anticipation, wee mango , lime and vodka soda to take enjoy before the game. Watching from near rimini Italy.

WeveGotMcginn
27-12-2017, 04:51 PM
Murrayfield hotel rammed yet?

27-12-2017, 04:51 PM
Good to see Sky Sports are showing a whole fifteen minutes of coverage before the game. The 'SPFL Matters' show before should be good too, an Old Firm special looking ahead to the weekend's game.

****s.