View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 2 (Stokes, Shaw) v Ross County 1 FT

23-12-2017, 12:56 PM
Our first home game against County since Tom Taiwo got the winner in 2013.

Team news?

23-12-2017, 01:03 PM
STARTING XI

Marciano
Ambrose
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
McGinn
McGeouch
Boyle
Barker
Stokes
Shaw

SUBS

Dabrowski
Porteous
Gray
Bartley
Slivka
Swanson
S Murray

23-12-2017, 01:04 PM
Killie just equalised v Rangers and Aberdeen will likely drop points. Time to get back to winning ways.

23-12-2017, 01:05 PM
STARTING XI

Marciano
Ambrose
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
McGinn
McGeouch
Boyle
Barker
Stokes
Shaw

SUBS

Dabrowski
Porteous
Gray
Bartley
Slivka
Swanson
S Murray

352?

andybev1
23-12-2017, 01:05 PM
yes, they should be winning by rights but a draw is great.

23-12-2017, 01:06 PM
yes, they should be winning by rights but a draw is great.

2-1 Killie!

352?

Maybe 3-4-1-2 (3-5-2 with Barker in the hole?) Or 4-4-2 with Efe at full back?

andybev1
2-1 yes!!!

23-12-2017, 01:08 PM
Maybe 3-4-1-2 (3-5-2 with Barker in the hole?) Or 4-4-2 with Efe at full back?

Reads like a straight 442 to me.

23-12-2017, 01:13 PM
Reads like a straight 442 to me.

That makes me nervy. We've lost both times when went 4-4-2 this season as it's left our full backs exposed.

Hopefully Lennon has something up his sleeve.

23-12-2017, 01:15 PM
They rarely do simple, flat 4-4-2s these days.

It'll probably be a 4-2-3-1, Ambrose at RB, the 2CBs, Stevenson at LB, McGinn and McGeouch a bit deeper in midfield, Barker LW, Boyle RW, Shaw up top with Stokes withdrawn into that number 10/ tip of the diamond sort of attacking midfield position.

Playing this way hasn't really worked for us in the past (although we've not done it with this exact personnel) but it is flexible and can be easily shaken up.

A few strong options off the bench as well.

23-12-2017, 01:35 PM
4-2-4 going forward, 4-4-2 defending I reckon. Strong, attack minded, and the team that dominated, but struggled to score, against the rangers.

Slivka, Swanson, and Murray capable of providing something from the bench.

3-1 Hibs as we return to winning ways. :aok:

23-12-2017, 01:38 PM
That makes me nervy. We've lost both times when went 4-4-2 this season as it's left our full backs exposed.

Hopefully Lennon has something up his sleeve.

His arm?

23-12-2017, 01:57 PM
Good to hear David Gray is fit enough to be on the bench.

He could be huge for us on Wednesday.

23-12-2017, 01:57 PM
His arm?

There's a coat waiting for yours :greengrin

23-12-2017, 02:00 PM
Fyi I'm here again with my weekly moan about hibstv 😏 fellow Australia based hibees, I get the following message:

TELSTRA - AUSTRALIA:

We have been testing all week and our broadcast is going out fine, the issue is at the receiving ISP.

No idea if that means I should expect no service, interrupted service or what but it's currently not playing at all...

23-12-2017, 02:03 PM
STARTING XI

Marciano
Ambrose
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson
McGinn
McGeouch
Boyle
Barker
Stokes
Shaw

SUBS

Dabrowski
Porteous
Gray
Bartley
Slivka
Swanson
S Murray
Nobody going to tell us how NL has his team selection ‘all wrong’ at this stage or is it always just retrospective?

23-12-2017, 02:03 PM
Atmosphere flat as a pancake - stark contrast to previous two home matches. Hopefully get plenty from the boys on the park to crank it up.

23-12-2017, 02:04 PM
Nobody going to tell us how NL has his team selection ‘all wrong’ at this stage or is it always just retrospective?

4-4-2 doesn't work :fuming:

Except from those times that it does.

GGTTH!

23-12-2017, 02:04 PM
Nobody going to tell us how NL has his team selection ‘all wrong’ at this stage or is it always just retrospective?It's all wrong*

*Disclaimer, I reserve the right to retrospectively change my opinion should we win.

23-12-2017, 02:06 PM
Hibs shooting up the slope - as per...

23-12-2017, 02:07 PM

Now now.

23-12-2017, 02:07 PM

I thought he got it 100% right against Aberdeen.

I have question marks about this one - if Stokes is playing in midfield, he's struggled there so far. If he's up front it leaves us light in midfield.

I can understand all of the reasons why he'd play the team he has, but there are a few question marks for me.

23-12-2017, 02:09 PM
We should be playing 1-2-3-4 against anyone who is in any way beatable.

Lennon doesn’t know the squad, or game like I do.

23-12-2017, 02:12 PM
Hibs playing some nice stuff here.

23-12-2017, 02:14 PM
Boyle has made a a strong start.

OsloHibs
23-12-2017, 02:14 PM
'Mon the Hibs

oldbiker
23-12-2017, 02:15 PM
is this on the radio folks, I cant find open all mikes

Ta

23-12-2017, 02:17 PM
We should be playing 1-2-3-4 against anyone who is in any way beatable.

Lennon doesn’t know the squad, or game like I do.

That's what Mowbray/Collins/Stubbs would have done and we would have won 17-0.

Cue the debate about whether Hanlon is good enough to be the 1 at the back though.

WillowbraeHibby
23-12-2017, 02:17 PM
is this on the radio folks, I cant find open all mikes

Ta

Can't find open all mikes myself..

23-12-2017, 02:19 PM
Defence again undone by a simple ball into the box. 2 men attack the same ball and leave a man in not so splendid isolation.

Jesus Christ, we're honking at the back right now, their first attack and they score

FFS 1 -0 County

Can't lose this one c'mon Hibs :flag:

OsloHibs
Ffs.

Hopefully Bain will come to us in January.

Green&White
When need to for once take advantage of another huns defeat. They are terrible

*edit* had to open my mouth eh :/

oldbiker
23-12-2017, 02:20 PM

Just lost a goal maybe better not listening :confused:

Well that didn't sound like good defending.

Cmon Hibs FFS

Not good enough if anything less than 3pts.get that ball in the ****in net please.

Efe cannot play right back. Cost us yet another goal.

Don't bother goal dow already.

WillowbraeHibby
23-12-2017, 02:21 PM
Just lost a goal maybe better not listening :confused:

You're probably right..

Newcastlehibby

Not working via the usual route. I googled 'Open All Mics' and found a link which works.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/radioscotland

Cmon tae **** Hibs!

WillowbraeHibby
23-12-2017, 02:24 PM
Not working via the usual route. I googled 'Open All Mics' and found a link which works.

Thank you... Is it worth it I ask myself.. :(

23-12-2017, 02:24 PM
Cmon tae **** Hibs!

One win in six so our form isnt great But today is a must win game to restore confidence and keep us in contention for Fourth imo

23-12-2017, 02:25 PM

Thanks good shout!!!!

Yesss 1-1

TheReg!
Boom 💥

23-12-2017, 02:26 PM
Get in. Great 1st time ball by McGeough, cracking header by Stokes. So easy when we moved it quickly.

A decent cross in to the box gives us a goal. Come on Hibs, more of that please.

Get in :flag:

Togs91
Kepp this pressure up hibs!!

Still suspect at the back though.

xyz23jc
Yesss 1-1

Getttinnnn! :thumbsup::greengrin:nlgwa

Firestarter
Ridiculous defending. Why not change Ambrose from last week for **** sake? Whittaker will get the blame mind. Effes an actual bombscare its like having Hong Kong Ghathussi back

Thank Sauzee for that.

Great cross then header from Stokes.

WillowbraeHibby
23-12-2017, 02:27 PM
A decent cross in to the box gives us a goal. Come on Hibs, more of that please.

Yes please...

Thanks for that.

Don't you just love Stokes:greengrin

Fifehibby74
One win in six so our form isnt great But today is a must win game to restore confidence and keep us in contention for Fourth imo

Need to turn this around today. We are in danger of getting dragged back into the pack. Teams like killie and st Johnstone are picking up points while we slip back.

BarneyHibby
Get In:thumbsup:

oldbiker
23-12-2017, 02:29 PM

ta

Can I just say watching Shaw that he does everything I would expect to see a really, really good striker doing. A bit strength and experience and we have a real gem here.

Get in. Great 1st time ball by McGeough, cracking header by Stokes. So easy when we moved it quickly.

OsloHibs
23-12-2017, 02:30 PM
Need to turn this around today. We are in danger of getting dragged back into the pack. Teams like killie and st Johnstone are picking up points while we slip back.

I tell you what Killie are looking good.. That manager is working miracles there! What an appointment so far.

23-12-2017, 02:32 PM
Lovely solo run by Barker, deserved to score there, shame he didn't

WillowbraeHibby
23-12-2017, 02:32 PM
Lovely solo run by Barker, deserved to score there, shame he didn't

He'll get there...

23-12-2017, 02:33 PM
I tell you what Killie are looking good.. That manager is working miracles there! What an appointment so far.

Yeah, looking forward to playing them. They're playing some good stuff recently.

itslegaltender
23-12-2017, 02:34 PM
Can I just say watching Shaw that he does everything I would expect to see a really, really good striker doing. A bit strength and experience and we have a real gem here.

first touch better today?

23-12-2017, 02:34 PM
He'll get there...

If he had managed to score that would be a goal of the year contender for sure

23-12-2017, 02:36 PM
first touch better today?

Much.

23-12-2017, 02:37 PM
Ref already urging the county keeper to get on with it and stop time wasting.

Also being very anal about where a throw in is taken from

23-12-2017, 02:39 PM
Ref already urging the county keeper to get on with it and stop time wasting.

Seems to be every week keepers doing this with us when all square. Only first half as well very frustrating.

23-12-2017, 02:40 PM
Seems to be every week keepers doing this with us when all square. Only first half as well very frustrating.

If the ref has any consistency he'll book him as long as he continues

23-12-2017, 02:42 PM
If we get the next goal they will fold. They are murder.

OsloHibs
23-12-2017, 02:44 PM

I thought that McKay looked alright..

Stokes had a little more time but blazes the ball high and wide

McGeough with the pass of the season. 60 yards to Stokes feet but he blasts over. Should be 2-1.

23-12-2017, 02:45 PM

Hopefully we really can get some points back. We can take Sevco on here for 3rd only if we win here and get home form sorted. This though has to be 3pts.

23-12-2017, 02:47 PM
Stevenson bodychecked in the box after a good run. Seen them given.

23-12-2017, 02:48 PM
Stokes has had a really good half imo. If his finishing had been sharper he could have had a hat trick.

23-12-2017, 02:51 PM
Ht 1-1

23-12-2017, 02:51 PM
Stokes has had a really good half imo. If his finishing had been sharper he could have had a hat trick.

He's worked his erse off today and looked good with it.

23-12-2017, 02:52 PM
If the ref has any consistency he'll book him as long as he continues

Sadly they don’t.

Good to hear.

Stevenson bodychecked in the box after a good run. Seen them given.

He was being fouled all the way in

He takes better corners than SJM.

23-12-2017, 02:53 PM
Great to hear Stokes looking up for it. He could be the difference come the derby imo.

23-12-2017, 02:53 PM
Sadly they don’t.

A stopping clock would alleviate these issues of time wasting

23-12-2017, 02:56 PM
We’re well on top but we need to put these chances away!

23-12-2017, 02:58 PM
A stopping clock would alleviate these issues of time wasting

I agree, 👍🏼

23-12-2017, 02:58 PM
Hibs will win.

23-12-2017, 03:01 PM
I agree, 👍🏼

I'm sure I read something a while back that FIFA was maybe looking to change the game up as that was one thing that they're looking into

Ich liebe Deek
23-12-2017, 03:02 PM
County are woeful should be winning this.

Opposite end of the ground but it looked like Marciano should have had that.

County are woeful should be winning this.

How many times this season?

23-12-2017, 03:03 PM
Barring the goal which was the usual appalling, shambolic defending we have done very well. Shaw has been very good, Stokes has looked a wee bit livelier with a great header but a shocking miss too, Barker good attacking a man short defending, Stevenson very good, Boyle dangerous but the best player for us has been Dylan. Ambrose looks a total bombscare at right back to me. He was having a decent season at centre half but not a right back for me

County have been very poor and it would be very poor if we lose points today particularly with the other results going our way currently.

renato
23-12-2017, 03:05 PM
McGeough with the pass of the season. 60 yards to Stokes feet but he blasts over. Should be 2-1.

Said the same to my son, pass of the season there. What a goal it would have been.

23-12-2017, 03:05 PM
Really good half, if it wasn't for one episode of comical defending and a really cheap goal we'd be in front and looking comfortable.

Really impressed by Shaw so far, Stokes all the better for having him up there.

23-12-2017, 03:15 PM
Anything happening?

23-12-2017, 03:15 PM
A bit scappy just now.

23-12-2017, 03:16 PM
Can we please stop with the short corners?

23-12-2017, 03:17 PM
I really don't mind a short corner but our persistence in doing it when it isn't on is awful. It went from a Hibs corner to a County goal kick in 3 seconds there and less than a minute later they have a corner.

23-12-2017, 03:19 PM
Get him off, 4 year deal, deary me, ****in useless

23-12-2017, 03:21 PM
Another penalty shout waved away. Didn't look a lot in it but Stokes is fuming.

23-12-2017, 03:21 PM
Get him off, 4 year deal, deary me, ****in useless

Eh?

23-12-2017, 03:22 PM
Another penalty shout waved away. Didn't look a lot in it but Stokes is fuming.

One for the highlights I think

23-12-2017, 03:23 PM
Eh?

Assuming that's directed at Boyle.

23-12-2017, 03:24 PM
It's not really happening for Barker today. He'd be the one I'd change.

Murray to win it with a quick double.

Swanson to come on and bag the winner

23-12-2017, 03:25 PM
Any attacking sub will do IMO

23-12-2017, 03:26 PM
Mcginn has been poor

23-12-2017, 03:26 PM
Nae chance, oor luck we will lose it with 2 to go

23-12-2017, 03:29 PM
Boyle with a sitter. Played in by Stokes but it was obvious as soon as he got it he wasn't confident. Passed it right at the keeper.

renato
23-12-2017, 03:29 PM
I stand corrected, that was the pass of the season by Stokes there, unbelievable miss by Boyle

23-12-2017, 03:30 PM
I like Boyle but goddamnit pick a side when you 1 on 1. Stop shooting it straight at the keeper

Boyle has to put that away.

Hearts are gonna hump this Hibs team if they play like this.

God we're awful.

23-12-2017, 03:31 PM
Murray on for Boyle whilst there's time for the guy to make a difference? Needing a goal while we are on top.

23-12-2017, 03:31 PM
I wonder how many chances we have created all season to the percentage taken!!
Needs sorted, tho fed up saying and hearing that!

23-12-2017, 03:32 PM
Boyle with a sitter. Played in by Stokes but it was obvious as soon as he got it he wasn't confident. Passed it right at the keeper.

And thats the problem given time to think and he struggles, no time to think and it's instinctive.

23-12-2017, 03:32 PM
Stokes has been MOTM by a mile. Their keeper looks brutal as well. Get shots away.

NZ Green
23-12-2017, 03:33 PM
Due a goal I think.

23-12-2017, 03:35 PM
If we don't win this it will be a quiet Christmas in my house. There will be no stirring by any creature, let alone our pantry mouse.

FFS should be humping this lot, c,mon Hibs

This has the usual sucker punch feeling....

23-12-2017, 03:36 PM
Or not. Ollie Shaw from a Barker cross. Get in.

e2los
Get in!!!:flag:

FFS should be humping this lot, c,mon Hibs
WTF are we not humping these teams, what is wrong here?

Script is written i feel

😜

xyz23jc
23-12-2017, 03:37 PM

Was just thinking the same.....Bedwetters! 2-1 Hibeeeeessssss!!!! :thumbsup::greengrin

Well done young man!

MartinfaePorty
Get In there!

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

All came from Stokes tracking 40 yards to put in a sliding tackle. He's been sensational today

oldbiker
Yaassss barker :flag::flag:

Pays off at last. Great ball by Barker for Shaw

NZ Green
There it is

BarneyHibby
Yasss!!!:flag:

Yes 2-1 Hibees, no silly goals now :flag::thumbsup:

Cochrane sent off for Hearts, out the Derby?

Brilliant work from Barker there.

23-12-2017, 03:38 PM
Yaaaaassss

The new Messi sent off for Hertz

Navids Numpties
Gerrrrron olly Shaw 2-1 hibs

Pele (Harry Cochrane) sent off for hearts.

He was going to rip us apart too.

xyz23jc
Yes 2-1 Hibees, no silly goals now :flag::thumbsup:

Only if they're fur us!:nlgwa

Tornadoes70
Yeeessss.

Get in there you beauty!!!

23-12-2017, 03:39 PM
Two one will do. Keep the head and see this one out.

Nice work Hibs.. :thumbsup:

2 yellows so maybe not out the derby?

Olly olly shaw

23-12-2017, 03:40 PM
yassss:flag:

23-12-2017, 03:40 PM

He's not Pele, he's Zico. And now we're safe from his genius.

23-12-2017, 03:41 PM
Olly olly shaw

Couldn't make it along today so don't know how he's played but starting to look like a very promising player for us and a better partner for Stokes than Murray.

23-12-2017, 03:42 PM

Poor player who seems to be encouraged to think he's the new Ian Black. I'd prefer him to play, hopefully they have another similar wonderkid waiting in the wings.

23-12-2017, 03:42 PM
Cochrane sent off for Hearts, out the Derby?

Second yellow so probably not.

He's a real hothead though, if we can get under his skin on Wednesday then he's likely to do something stupid.

23-12-2017, 03:43 PM
County have one disallowed for offside.

All came from Stokes tracking 40 yards to put in a sliding tackle. He's been sensational today

When he's in the mood, he's almost unplayable .......... when he's in the mood.

OsloHibs
Thank god.

guthrie01
Should stick with Stokes and Shaw from now on, Stokes plays much better with a natural striker upfront with him and gives Shaw first team experience to make him a better player

The only reason they wont beat us again. Would have torn us a new one and all that

Couldn't make it along today so don't know how he's played but starting to look like a very promising player for us and a better partner for Stokes than Murray.

He's very underrated, even amongst some on here. I'd play him regularly,his movement is excellent.

23-12-2017, 03:46 PM
Is he out or not?

Who cares!

Navids Numpties

Praise the lord!

23-12-2017, 03:47 PM
BBC saying own goal

23-12-2017, 03:47 PM
Who cares!

He's touched by genius, the yams all say so.

23-12-2017, 03:48 PM
Dear Santa,

I've changed my mind.

I don't want a skateboard, colouring book and kite for Xmas

Please can I have today's Anthony Stokes for our derby match on the 27th.

Thanks, and I forgive you nearly wearing maroon.

23-12-2017, 03:48 PM
Who cares!

no me, just for folk on here, if yi huv been playin for a few years and cannae stop a 16 yr old then yir goose is cooked.

23-12-2017, 03:49 PM
He's touched by genius, the yams all say so.

Oh well then, I take that back! 😀

23-12-2017, 03:50 PM
0 0 yams

mjh
BBC saying own goal
U mean Alan Preston saying own goal !

Benny Brazil
Is he out or not?

BBC say he is out

23-12-2017, 03:51 PM
U mean Alan Preston saying own goal !

Staggies sunk by own goal
Hibernian 2-1 Ross County

Martin Dowden

BBC Sport Scotland at Easter Road

Such a crucial goal and it came just at the point that the home side seemed to raise their urgency a touch.

Anthony Stokes had looked increasingly threatening before a fortunate break proved key when Brandon Barker played the ball across and Kenny Van Der Weg diverted past his own keeper.

County look like slipping to bottom of the table as the winless run moves towards seven.

23-12-2017, 03:52 PM
BBC say he is out

Unless they appeal I suppose?? Or can they if it’s 2 yellows?

23-12-2017, 03:54 PM
BBC saying own goal

Not according to TV, BBC showing Shaw as scorer.

Benny Brazil
23-12-2017, 03:55 PM
Unless they appeal I suppose?? Or can they if it’s 2 yellows?

Think it's only a straight red you can appeal is it not

Not according to TV, BBC showing Shaw as scorer.

And Sky

Full time

23-12-2017, 03:56 PM
Think it's only a straight red you can appeal is it not

Wasn’t sure. Cheers

Good win. Well done Hibs

Great result, well done Hibs.. :thumbsup:

😁

Will take that but we really need to start killing games off when we are on top.

Well done Hibs, Stokes in particular. Onward and upward. Bring on the thieves.

Well done Hibs, looks like we played very well today. Back on track now for the derby. 👍🏼

23-12-2017, 03:57 PM
Really, really important home win which is worth more than three points.

So even if the mutants elbow their way to a victory in the derby, they can’t catch us.

:thumbsup::flag: thank F for that

Togs91
Get on hibs, cochrane and smith out for the ja**** on wednesday, things are looking up

We really needed that today as a confidence boost for playing Cochrane’s XI midweek.

23-12-2017, 03:58 PM
Great weekend for us with Aberdeen, Rangers, Hearts, St Johnstone and Motherwell all dropping points.

BarneyHibby
23-12-2017, 03:59 PM
Great result. Well Done Hibs!:flag::hibees

Tornadoes70
Could have won by a bit more but take a win any day of the week. Well done Hibs.

Its now on for nine in a row next week.

Bring on the Yam Tarts!

Mon the Cabbage!!!

Beat hertz on 27th, they will start to regularly lose again, almost positive of it.

23-12-2017, 04:01 PM
Very pleased overall but we need to start getting some clean sheets.

We also need to stop this terrible habit of losing the first goal. We came back today but we seem to make things hard for ourselves every week.

The derby will be interesting - we'll need to play well and cut out the silly errors.

23-12-2017, 04:03 PM
Staggies sunk by own goal
Hibernian 2-1 Ross County

Martin Dowden

BBC Sport Scotland at Easter Road

Such a crucial goal and it came just at the point that the home side seemed to raise their urgency a touch.

Anthony Stokes had looked increasingly threatening before a fortunate break proved key when Brandon Barker played the ball across and Kenny Van Der Weg diverted past his own keeper.

County look like slipping to bottom of the table as the winless run moves towards seven.

Not really relevant, but such a fine name for a top-flight player.

He's just pushing the age where name choice might have been influenced by Dalglish?

23-12-2017, 04:07 PM
My 7 year old son correctly predicted 2 1 to hibs before kick off. I really need to start backing his tips :greengrin

23-12-2017, 04:08 PM
Is Don Cowie still coming for us? Mind the gap

23-12-2017, 04:13 PM
Is Don Cowie still coming for us? Mind the gap

He'll need to adjust his sights by 2 points.

andybev1
23-12-2017, 04:14 PM
If you look at the table, Aberdeen are ahead of us by the exact amount of points and goals they have beat us by over the two games - just thought it interesting. 6 points and +4 GD

23-12-2017, 04:22 PM
Good solid win, deserved more goals but so comfortable throughout, really good to see Stokes play the way we know he can and Shaw linked up very well with him, clever players.

23-12-2017, 04:22 PM
Good result today we needed that. Lets get a little run together now.

Aberdeen losing again today at Celtic I believe thats 20 odd league matches on the trot Aberdeen have lost at Celtic now.

23-12-2017, 04:26 PM
Hearts are gonna hump this Hibs team if they play like this.

God we're awful.

Congrats. That’s the most pathetic post I’ve seen on here in what, 15 years? Tragic.

Ich liebe Deek
23-12-2017, 04:27 PM
Thought Stokes was very good today along with Dylan and Ambrose.Shaw should have been hooked but then he scores so fair play to him.McGinn was poor and hid for good parts of the game.Credit to the team for getting the 3 points though.Ross County will not be missed if they go down.

DavidDavidGray
23-12-2017, 04:30 PM
Stokes was unreal today. Been critical of him this season for underperforming but today showed what he’s capable of.

23-12-2017, 04:31 PM
If you look at the table, Aberdeen are ahead of us by the exact amount of points and goals they have beat us by over the two games - just thought it interesting. 6 points and +4 GD

Reverse the results v The Sheep and we'd be sitting 2nd on 39 points. They'd be sitting 4th on 33 points. Oh yes, we'd also have a gd of +8 to their +4.
That's how narrow the margins are between us and the so-called 2nd best side in the country.
We are still in the hunt for 2nd spot.
A couple of additions and tweaks in the January window and we will be ready to fire on all cylinders during the 2nd half of an absorbing, exciting and frustrating season so far.
Bring on the Jambos!!

23-12-2017, 04:32 PM
Thought Stokes was very good today along with Dylan and Ambrose.Shaw should have been hooked but then he scores so fair play to him.McGinn was poor and hid for good parts of the game.Credit to the team for getting the 3 points though.Ross County will not be missed if they go down.

Mcginn didn't hide.

23-12-2017, 04:33 PM
Good result today we needed that. Lets get a little run together now.

Aberdeen losing again today at Celtic I believe thats 20 odd league matches on the trot Aberdeen have lost at Celtic now.

Perennial bottlers

Mango Man
23-12-2017, 04:35 PM
Stevenson was flawless today, my motm, Stokes just behind.

Kavinho
23-12-2017, 04:35 PM
Congrats. That’s the most pathetic post I’ve seen on here in what, 15 years? Tragic.

Settle....

There were parts of that game where we were awful.
But I'm sure we're
all happy to be making ground on all the teams around us

23-12-2017, 04:36 PM

23-12-2017, 04:38 PM

Can't believe you think McGinn was hiding. He gave his usual 100% but things just didn't quite click for him.

23-12-2017, 04:38 PM
That's the stokes I like to see, shaw 3 goals in 4 & mcginn poor

23-12-2017, 04:40 PM

Agree totally. Both defensively (especially against that thug Curran) and going forward.

Ich liebe Deek
23-12-2017, 04:42 PM
Can't believe you think McGinn was hiding. He gave his usual 100% but things just didn't quite click for him.

His confidence looked shot.Barely got beyond McGeogh all day which leaves us with no chance of goals coming from midfield.

23-12-2017, 04:42 PM

This is where the Stevenson debate annoys me.

He was good today and did nothing wrong, nobody in their right mind could possibly think he was motm ahead of Stokes though.

Any good performance from Lewis gets blown totally out of perspective (as it probably does when he has a poor game)

23-12-2017, 04:48 PM
We played well today.

Should have been more than 2-1 but everyone did well.

Looking forward to the Derby and putting our pink neighbours back in their place.

23-12-2017, 04:49 PM
Stokes was certainly on fire today. Outstanding.

crash
23-12-2017, 04:52 PM

Stevenson stood off his man and gave him a free cross for the first goal, this is a regular occurrence .Take it you didnt notice this.

23-12-2017, 04:54 PM

McGinn was certainly very poor, but didn't hide.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
23-12-2017, 05:00 PM
Mcginn didn't hide.

Far from his brilliant best today, but i dont think McGinn ever hides, not that sort of character - more likely to try too hard imo when hes not playing too well.

23-12-2017, 05:04 PM

Was really disappointed in him today. Gave the ball away regularly and passing was a mile off it. Needs to improve big time for Wednesday.

23-12-2017, 05:04 PM
Another goal lost at the near post again

23-12-2017, 05:05 PM

If anything he was doing the opposite of hiding. He was, yet again, trying the World Cup ball when a simple pass would have been a better option. At least twice in the 2nd half he held onto the ball for too long as well and slowed down what could have been quick breaks. He’s a hugely talented player but he’s seemed a bit off the boil in recent weeks.

As for the Stevenson/Stokes debate. Lewis was good but Stokes was man of the match by a country mile. No one really got close to his performance today and it’s not because they were poor, Stokes was just that good.

23-12-2017, 05:11 PM

Mcginn was poor today. Nothing was working for him. Those boots are stupid!

Stokes was great one minute and poor the next.

Dylan had his best game for a long time

Hanlon and Stevenson very good.

I’d have liked to have seen Swanson added for mcginn after 70 mins.

23-12-2017, 05:11 PM
If anything he was doing the opposite of hiding. He was, yet again, trying the World Cup ball when a simple pass would have been a better option. At least twice in the 2nd half he held onto the ball for too long as well and slowed down what could have been quick breaks. He’s a hugely talented player but he’s seemed a bit off the boil in recent weeks.

As for the Stevenson/Stokes debate. Lewis was good but Stokes was man of the match by a country mile. No one really got close to his performance today and it’s not because they were poor, Stokes was just that good.

There’s no Stevenson/Stokes debate, there’s just a couple of people on this thread that are wrong 😜

23-12-2017, 05:28 PM
Stevenson stood off his man and gave him a free cross for the first goal, this is a regular occurrence .Take it you didnt notice this.
I thought Efe lost his man??

My bro in law from down south at match today said Lewis was MOTM. I thought Stokes, but both were good.

23-12-2017, 05:28 PM
McGinn was crowded out in midfield. Same every time we play with two out and out wingers. Can't have it both ways. Didn't have his midfield bodyguard in Bartley so was reluctant to put head down and drive forward in case he left gaps at the back. Difficult wind to judge long balls to the wings so he was bound to be somewhat ineffective, most times having to lay it off rather than make things happen.

Can't believe what some on here expect from him. Just wait until he is away and you see the gap he has left.

Be careful what you wish for.

23-12-2017, 05:36 PM
Why do we not take even half of our bloody chances! We won today so it's not so much of a big deal but we create so much and miss so many chances to properly bury teams. They are IMO the worst team to have visited ER, 2-1 doesn't tell an accurate tale because we were all over them. They had one shot, one chance and they scored from it - how many times have we seen that?!

However, not complaining, 3 points is 3 points regardless of whether its 1-0 or 10-0, it can just be a bit frustrating to watch. Much better performance today from everyone, hopefully last weeks shambles acted as a bit of a kick up the arse and brought the players back down to earth.

On a side note also, well done to everyone involved and those who contributed to the food bank collection. Fantastic effort :thumbsup:

23-12-2017, 05:47 PM

And we did Totally dominated second half Stokes more appetite and good game Although should of had more thsn one Ollie shows he has knack of scoring and The young Man City player was a handfull Boyle will be asking hos he didnt score

23-12-2017, 05:51 PM

I thought Efe lost his man??

My bro in law from down south at match today said Lewis was MOTM. I thought Stokes, but both were good.

He did, Lewis did nothing wrong and controlled his side of the defence very well, Efe drifted inside again and lost his man on the far side, not being a natural RB he does this quite a lot, hopefully Gray is back soon.

23-12-2017, 05:56 PM
Stokes was outstanding today. Pass marks to Hanlon, Stevenson and Boyle/Barker too.

23-12-2017, 06:04 PM
Played better today. Stokes superb. Defence still looks like it will need to improve if we are to win on Wednesday.

Happily take the three points today. That’ll do nicely.

23-12-2017, 06:10 PM
SJM was far from his best and is definitely not playing to his very high standards recently. HOWEVER to suggest he hid today is simply baffling.

23-12-2017, 06:19 PM
Far from his brilliant best today, but i dont think McGinn ever hides, not that sort of character - more likely to try too hard imo when hes not playing too well.

Committen several fouls but as per usual,spent al his time when County had the ball either boxing not tackling; ballwatching or refusing to track his man.

Great player on the ball but very poor off it.

crash
23-12-2017, 06:22 PM
He did, Lewis did nothing wrong and controlled his side of the defence very well, Efe drifted inside again and lost his man on the far side, not being a natural RB he does this quite a lot, hopefully Gray is back soon.
Its basic defending, Lewis stands 10 yards off his man who has plenty of time to look up and pick out a team mate in the box. BASIC DEFENDING-STEVENSON CANT STOP CROSSES ,

23-12-2017, 06:24 PM
SJM was far from his best and is definitely not playing to his very high standards recently. HOWEVER to suggest he hid today is simply baffling.

Agree never hides at all.

23-12-2017, 06:26 PM
Its basic defending, Lewis stands 10 yards off his man who has plenty of time to look up and pick out a team mate in the box. BASIC DEFENDING-STEVENSON CANT STOP CROSSES ,

You are talking Tom Kite.

Lewis had a good game today, and if you won't admit that then you are just trolling.

23-12-2017, 06:30 PM
You are talking Tom Kite.

Lewis had a good game today, and if you won't admit that then you are just trolling.

I agree Lewis played well but my initial reaction at the game was he gave his man far too long to get a cross in at the goal. That was heat of the moment though so I’d need to see it again. Also given the comedy of errors that followed it would be beyond harsh to say he cost us the goal.

23-12-2017, 06:33 PM
Stokes was outstanding today. Pass marks to Hanlon, Stevenson and Boyle/Barker too.

Was just about to post about Hanlon. He rarely gets a mention for some reason.

Him and McGregor hardly ever put a foot wrong yet Stevenson regularly gets plaudits for doing similar solid, if not spectacular, work.

McGregor is usually MOTM before a ball is even kicked as far as I’m concerned. It takes something special like Stokes today to be better than him.

If our back four played like they did today every week we’d hardly lose a game.

23-12-2017, 06:40 PM
Our form continues to be very good against the bottom 3. Nearly half of all our points have came against the bottom three teams - 16 out of 18 points. The only dropped points was the draw up in Dundee where we should have won comfortably.

A very tough couple of games coming up against two teams who we have beaten this year but who are now in far better form and in the Top 6. Another couple of wins and it will have been a brilliant return to the top league with a fair chance we will be in the top three at the break. Even with two defeats we are still in the top 6 which is pretty much level par so a decent return.

Do we really go for a top 2-4 position with some bold signings or play it canny. It will be an interesting close season.

crash
23-12-2017, 06:54 PM
Was just about to post about Hanlon. He rarely gets a mention for some reason.

Him and McGregor hardly ever put a foot wrong yet Stevenson regularly gets plaudits for doing similar solid, if not spectacular, work.

McGregor is usually MOTM before a ball is even kicked as far as I’m concerned. It takes something special like Stokes today to be better than him.

If our back four played like they did today every week we’d hardly lose a game.

Are you ****ing serious. Our back four are ****in horrendous. Ambrose is decent but lacks concentration and takes unnecesary risks. Hanlon is easy beat on his right hand side, poor in the air and a weak leader, Mcgregor is struggling at this level and Stevenson tries hard but cant defend for toffee. Successful teams are built on a strong defence, none of them are good enough for me. I know that wont be popular with the fan clubs on this board but we are too easy to score against.

23-12-2017, 06:56 PM
Are you ****ing serious. Our back four are ****in horrendous. Ambrose is decent but lacks concentration and takes unnecesary risks. Hanlon is easy beat on his right hand side, poor in the air and a weak leader, Mcgregor is struggling at this level and Stevenson tries hard but cant defend for toffee. Successful teams are built on a strong defence, none of them are good enough for me. I know that wont be popular with the fan clubs on this board but we are too easy to score against.

Hanlon is poor in the air and a weak leader? Wow. Did you watch him today? Dominated and won everything.

Mango Man
23-12-2017, 07:05 PM

You'll never believe this, no I didn't see it, was 15 minutes late to the game, heard the goal when I was in the stadium, even if I did see it, I would still think he had a cracking game with what I saw.

23-12-2017, 07:07 PM

Suitable username cause your post is a ****ing car crash

23-12-2017, 07:09 PM
Aberdeen have conceded 24 goals, rangers 25, us 26, Celtic 15, hearts 19.

Every other team has conceded more than us.

So we have the 5th best defence in the league.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
23-12-2017, 07:12 PM
Committen several fouls but as per usual,spent al his time when County had the ball either boxing not tackling; ballwatching or refusing to track his man.

Great player on the ball but very poor off it.

Maybe, thats not an observation i have made, but now that i think about it, i also dont remember him making a lot of tackles.

But he defo doesnt hide, its not his nature.

Mango Man
23-12-2017, 07:19 PM
There’s no Stevenson/Stokes debate, there’s just a couple of people on this thread that are wrong 😜

They both obviously bring different things to the team, and some of Stokes touches today were sublime, scored a goal and missed another couple of good chances, good attitude as well, but for me, the amount of effort Lewis put in defensively against some big guys, was tremendous, always looks to link up going forward as well, few times he overlapped Stokesy, there was some tackles he had no right to win as well, can totally see why Stokes got it though.