View Full Version : Question: If only they stayed longer...

beensaidbefore
16-12-2017, 09:26 PM
We were reminiscing earlier about players who only stayed at Hibs for a short while. Some we were glad to see the back of... Hurtado, Kuqi, etc. but there were a few names we wish had stayed a bit longer, Craig Rocastle, Matt Doumbe, and Didier Agathe for example.

For a bit of fun after a crap result.

What players do you wish we had held on to for a bit longer?

16-12-2017, 09:27 PM
Doyle.

DavidDavidGray
16-12-2017, 09:28 PM
Griffiths obviously. In recent years I’d probably say Grant Holt and Jason Cummings

Can I say young Alex Harris? Was fantastic before the leg break I think it was

beensaidbefore
16-12-2017, 09:28 PM
Doyle.

Good shout

16-12-2017, 09:29 PM
i reckon if doumbe and anderson had stayed a year longer we'd have been pushing the OF in mowbray's first season. put those two in for colin murdock and simon brown and we would have had ourselves a real team.

anderson

murphy
doumbe
caldwell
whittaker

glass
boozy
thompson
broony

deek
gaz

Fraser Fyvie (appreciate he wasn’t just a quick spell)

beensaidbefore
Griffiths obviously. In recent years I’d probably say Grant Holt and Jason Cummings

I agree with Griffith's, but we were thinking a bit more out of the box.😉

16-12-2017, 09:30 PM
Doyle.

Would love him back.

16-12-2017, 09:31 PM
Clayton Donaldson

Tornadoes70
16-12-2017, 09:32 PM
Scott Brown.

beensaidbefore
16-12-2017, 09:32 PM
i reckon if doumbe and anderson had stayed a year longer we'd have been pushing the OF in mowbray's first season. put those two in for colin murdock and simon brown and we would have had ourselves a real team.

Andersson is a good shout too. Cant believe I forgot about him. Used to have a photo of him flying through the air saving a penalty at Hampden as my work screensaver.

16-12-2017, 09:33 PM
Liam Craig used to get slaughtered by some posters on here. Crossed for St J's second goal today.

DavidDavidGray
16-12-2017, 09:37 PM
Doyle.

Really good shout.

16-12-2017, 09:37 PM
King Dom.

16-12-2017, 09:43 PM
Doyle
Donaldson
Dobbie
Antoine-Curier (obviously not now but a carbon copy of him from years ago would be very handy in this team)
Morais possibly..
Claros
HTK :greengrin

A part of me also wishes we'd persisted with Victor Palsson a bit longer. When he first signed he looked absolutely incredible.

beensaidbefore
16-12-2017, 09:47 PM
Clayton Donaldson

Yes

beensaidbefore
16-12-2017, 09:49 PM
King Dom.

That was the one we all agreed on today. Looks like he is fannying about not getting much of a game, at least that's what Wikipedia says😂😂
Shame if its true.

16-12-2017, 09:50 PM
Isaac Refvik. Gordon Durie. Steve Archibald. Des Bremner.

16-12-2017, 09:51 PM
Pat Stanton, Jimmy O'Rourke.

16-12-2017, 09:53 PM
Vaz Te

16-12-2017, 09:54 PM
Agathe, boy was just different class.

beensaidbefore
Doyle
Donaldson
Dobbie
Antoine-Curier (obviously not now but a carbon copy of him from years ago would be very handy in this team)
Morais possibly..
Claros
HTK :greengrin

A part of me also wishes we'd persisted with Victor Palsson a bit longer. When he first signed he looked absolutely incredible.

Palsson could have done better, but tbf if iirc it was mostly dross round about him at that point in time. A period I have more or less blocked out.

Andersson
The Mad Monk
Gunnersson
Libbra

16-12-2017, 09:55 PM
Palsson could have done better, but tbf if iirc it was mostly dross round about him at that point in time. A period I have more or less blocked out.

Yup, it was. He's at FC Zurich now and has actually been in and around the Iceland squad the last 3 or 4 years.

beensaidbefore
16-12-2017, 10:00 PM
Yup, it was. He's at FC Zurich now and has actually been in and around the Iceland squad the last 3 or 4 years.

Proves your point mate. Imagine he is one of a long line of good players we have never seen play to their potential.

16-12-2017, 10:02 PM
Sol Bamba

Firestarter
16-12-2017, 10:03 PM
King Dom.

Winner.

16-12-2017, 10:06 PM
Andersson
The Mad Monk
Gunnersson
Libbra

Libbra is a great shout. He was a talent. Still remember his goal at Parkhead that earned us a 1-1 draw

hibee
16-12-2017, 10:07 PM
Ulises de la Cruz

16-12-2017, 10:09 PM
ulrik laursen

Firestarter
16-12-2017, 10:13 PM
Sol Bamba

He was an arse by the time he left.

Firestarter
16-12-2017, 10:14 PM
Chris Killen or Marc Libra for me.

Eesti
16-12-2017, 10:17 PM
Dobbie

beensaidbefore
16-12-2017, 10:21 PM
ulrik laursen

👍

16-12-2017, 10:26 PM
For the oldies reading this - Colin Stein.
I was only 10 or 11 at the time but was genuinely upset.

16-12-2017, 10:40 PM
Rocastle, after he left he just disappeared of the footballing map

heidtheba
16-12-2017, 10:47 PM
Andy McLaren

More obvious choice;
Kenny Miller

16-12-2017, 10:55 PM

Yes, I was heartbroken when he left to join the huns - remember my old man explaining that they had big money, think they paid £100,000 back in '69

16-12-2017, 11:00 PM
Ally Scott.

He had a couple of unbelievable pie recipes apparently and if we'd been more patient we wouldn't be getting the catering issues we hear about today.

You can't always put football first, a missed opportunity.

16-12-2017, 11:00 PM
Brown, Thomson, Riordan, O'Connor, Whittaker and Fletcher.

If we'd held on to all of them a bit longer we'd have been quite good.

16-12-2017, 11:14 PM
Dobbie

We should sign him in Jan on a short term deal. A finisher is what we need now.

16-12-2017, 11:16 PM
Hartley

heidtheba
16-12-2017, 11:28 PM
Hartley

Damn, yes, this one. I really liked him as a winger at ER. I also liked Paul Lovering but he wasn't good enough for SPL when we went up.

16-12-2017, 11:32 PM
Wish we kept Hartley and Dobbie.

Two players who went on to have good careers.

16-12-2017, 11:47 PM
Interesting thread . Names so far show how signings tend to be hit and miss whoever is manager ( injuries , fitness , form of our team at time , off field problems , etc ) so we , like our rivals , have to decide between signing players who are not standard we hope for but might improve ( Murray this year and Boyle when he signed for example ) and others who have done well or okay at a high level but might have fitness / attitude problems ( Holt , Stokes and many others ) . This thread shows that we have had some really talented players in the last 6 or 7 years who haven`t made a long - term impact at Hibs or their clubs after leaving us ( so far ) . As January window approaches , what do we want ? Short answer - talent of Harris /de Vaz and others if we can find a way to use their skills and motivation and effectiveness of players like Liam Craig ( good goalscoring record in a supposedly inferior Hibernian team and again with St Johnstone must be better than players in our current team ) . Only talking of ex Hibs players here and trying to be realistic
about circumstances which change so much .

17-12-2017, 12:06 AM
Fabian Yantorno and Yannick Zambernardi.

Also, Le God Franck Sauzee. Should never have been sacked as manager and still think the board were bang out of order treating such a legend the way they ended up doing :hibees.

Firestarter
17-12-2017, 12:27 AM
Andy McLaren

More obvious choice;
Kenny Miller

McLaren had a great trial match against Sunderland. Not sure why he didn't sign,

Firestarter
17-12-2017, 12:29 AM
Fabian Yantorno and Yannick Zambernardi.

Also, Le God Franck Sauzee. Should never have been sacked as manager and still think the board were bang out of order treating such a legend the way they ended up doing :hibees.

Yantorno was gash for us, injured but a really good guy. Zambernardi will always be known for the floated pass, but the ultimate punt to Hearts in the 4-4 game. Still my worst Derby ever.

therealgavmac
17-12-2017, 12:29 AM

Beat me to it!!

Still a hero of mine

therealgavmac
17-12-2017, 12:31 AM
Yes, I was heartbroken when he left to join the huns - remember my old man explaining that they had big money, think they paid £100,000 back in '69

It was £100,000........ was it not the first 6 figure transfer in Scotland?

houstonhibbee
17-12-2017, 12:47 AM
It was £100,000........ was it not the first 6 figure transfer in Scotland?
yes it was

i THINK HIS iBROX DEBUT WAS THE NEXT WEEK VS hIBS

He scored a hatrick in a 6-1 win

houstonhibbee
17-12-2017, 12:51 AM
Peter Marinello in 1970 in "a cloak and dagger" deal to Arsenal. I still remember the Evening News headline breaking the news

Also breaking up the Tornadoes - Gordon and O'Rourke to begin with as others have mentioned

Tornadoes70
17-12-2017, 12:57 AM
Craig Paterson

A quality defender until he moved to the huns which earned him his own song of -

'Craigie Paterson Craigie Paterson what's it like to be a hun, what's it like to be a hun'.

to the tune of Bread of Heaven.

Normally a decent enough pundit nowadays though with not much bad to say about us unlike the hun pundit Craigan who I can't stand.

17-12-2017, 01:05 AM
Everyone who went on to have a good top flight career after Hibs!

Naming just one, Super Leigh.

17-12-2017, 02:46 AM
De la Cruz on his day was superb. Loved that guy, some pace abc ability, almost unplayable in the AEK Athens home game

heidtheba
17-12-2017, 06:58 AM
McLaren had a great trial match against Sunderland. Not sure why he didn't sign,

I'm not sure either - didn't Williamson pay his wages during that trial with his own money. Was the board not impressed with McLaren's past? Harsh I suppose, given what he went through and the demons he had to face.

17-12-2017, 07:24 AM
Peter Marinello in 1970 in "a cloak and dagger" deal to Arsenal. I still remember the Evening News headline breaking the news

Also breaking up the Tornadoes - Gordon and O'Rourke to begin with as others have mentioned
Yip and Peter Cormack with Colin Stein & Neil Martin up front. We would have sensational.

17-12-2017, 07:37 AM

Wee Agathe was a good player. Had a terrific career at Celtic.

Got to add Archibald, Broony and Sparky.

Caversham Green
17-12-2017, 07:40 AM
I suspect there won't be many in agreement with this one given the pelters he got on here, but I saw Shelton Martis play down here quite a few times, and every time he was probably the best defender on the field.

17-12-2017, 07:41 AM
I'm not sure either - didn't Williamson pay his wages during that trial with his own money. Was the board not impressed with McLaren's past? Harsh I suppose, given what he went through and the demons he had to face.

According to McLarens autobiography, from what I recall Hibs Board simply didn’t get back to him, even to say he wasn’t wanted.

rotherhamrob
17-12-2017, 09:07 AM
Gunnerson (not sure on spelling),at least we'd have a decent right back.
We'll never know for sure but I thought he would have done well in that position.

thebausburst
17-12-2017, 09:28 AM
Agathe and Paul Wright

17-12-2017, 09:32 AM
Isaac Refvik. Gordon Durie. Steve Archibald. Des Bremner.

Good thread this...

i recall him fondly, and was thinking the same name when I say this three..I remember there was a stooshie which led to him not playing in a semi - think it was the Dens Park game against Aberdeen - when we lost 1 nil...

Surprisingly, he didn't score a goal for us - was sure he had - but his wiki says 5 games, 0 goals...

Firestarter
17-12-2017, 09:44 AM

Thinking back we where skint and I think we stalled and he got offered more going back to Killie maybe?

17-12-2017, 09:45 AM
Thinking back we where skint and I think we stalled and he got offered more going back to Killie maybe?

nah, Williamson said he would sort out a deal, and Petrie and co didn't follow through - left him high a dry for a while while he waited for it to get finalised...was poor from us.

18-12-2017, 12:36 AM
I hate to say it but Matt Doherty looks a very useful player for Wolves at the moment.

18-12-2017, 02:03 AM
Sol Bamba. Wee Russell. Deek not going to Celtic. Or Pat McGinlay.

DunblaneHibby
18-12-2017, 05:20 AM
I hate to say it but Matt Doherty looks a very useful player for Wolves at the moment.

My thoughts too

18-12-2017, 05:24 AM
Denes Rosa
Andy Walker (total dick but was a good player for us in his loan spell)
Tomas Cerny

18-12-2017, 06:17 AM

I had thought of him but thought I’d get castigated for saying it so didn’t bother :greengrin:

18Hibee75
18-12-2017, 06:38 AM
Jason Cummings...

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

18Hibee75
18-12-2017, 06:39 AM
Tell you what, looking at this thread reminds me of all the brilliant players we've had at this club.

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

18-12-2017, 06:43 AM
Liam Craig used to get slaughtered by some posters on here. Crossed for St J's second goal today.

He’s got the most assists in the league just now I think. Shame we were determined to play him as a defensive holding midfielder.

18-12-2017, 08:27 AM
John Collins and Craig Paterson

18-12-2017, 08:56 AM

Was always a good player - largely did fine in his stint here - but his lack of respect for us as a club after the final - makes me wish he had never worn the jersey

biotech
18-12-2017, 08:56 AM
Paco Luna

18-12-2017, 11:06 AM
Humphrey Rudge. Had a great game in a winning derby IIRC then kind of fell off the edge of a cliff, football career wise anyway.

18-12-2017, 11:15 AM
Malonga! Come back to Easter Road!

18-12-2017, 11:20 AM
He’s got the most assists in the league just now I think. Shame we were determined to play him as a defensive holding midfielder.

We were hell bent on playing him everywhere other than where he had previously played very well for St Johnstone, then giving him a hard time.

He was a better defensive holding midfielder than he was an inverted winger coming in off the right though......

18-12-2017, 11:25 AM
We were hell bent on playing him everywhere other than where he had previously played very well for St Johnstone, then giving him a hard time.

He was a better defensive holding midfielder than he was an inverted winger coming in off the right though......

Took the huff with Butcher and stopped trying. Disgrace. No time for him.

18-12-2017, 11:33 AM
Took the huff with Butcher and stopped trying. Disgrace. No time for him.

That's not the way I remember it tbh.

He was one of the few who didn't take the huff with Butcher, and found himself appointed club captain as a result.

He hated playing for Hibs under Butcher though. Every time he lumped it up the park he'd get grief from the Hibs fans. Every time he tried to play football he'd get grief from Butcher.

Not a good time to be a Hibs player.

18-12-2017, 11:47 AM

...and blame him for everything that went wrong during that spell.

18-12-2017, 12:05 PM

This was the one that really disrupted us.

Ian Murray going to Rangers was a massive blow at the time, too. And Latapy.

eezyrider
18-12-2017, 12:07 PM
Good thread this...

i recall him fondly, and was thinking the same name when I say this three..I remember there was a stooshie which led to him not playing in a semi - think it was the Dens Park game against Aberdeen - when we lost 1 nil...

Surprisingly, he didn't score a goal for us - was sure he had - but his wiki says 5 games, 0 goals...

He didn't score for us in the league but scored 2 goals on his debut against Morton at Easter Road in the League Cup.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_games.php?playerid=6249

EZ

18-12-2017, 12:19 PM
It's a long time ago now but we definitely missed goalkeeper Ronnie Simpson when he went to Celtic. He virtually kept us in the first division the season I started watching Hibs.

18-12-2017, 12:45 PM
He didn't score for us in the league but scored 2 goals on his debut against Morton at Easter Road in the League Cup.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_games.php?playerid=6249

EZ

that rings a bell now...and why he was taken to the hearts of us fans so early on....cheers :aok:

Isaac_Refvik
18-12-2017, 12:55 PM
Good thread this...

Pretty sure I remember him scoring, I thought against Rangers, in a midweek game. Free kick got played low into the box and he made a quick run and turn away from his marker before slotting the ball in the net. Would've put money on it.

kevo1875
18-12-2017, 01:29 PM
Malonga! Come back to Easter Road!

Couldn't agree more

18-12-2017, 02:15 PM
To me it seemed Doyle and Malonga were moved on for no good reason.Malonga together with Stokes would run riot.

18-12-2017, 02:37 PM
To me it seemed Doyle and Malonga were moved on for no good reason.Malonga together with Stokes would run riot.

other than malonga asked to go? and Doyle knocked by his offer from us

18-12-2017, 03:16 PM
ulrik laursen

He would've been mine too, John Collins as well.

18-12-2017, 03:33 PM
Would like to have had Stuart Lovell for longer. For me he improved the longer he was with us but it was Livvy that saw the best of him.

18-12-2017, 03:38 PM
Good thread this...

Isaak Refvic definitely scored for us, think a cup tie and want to guess Morton or someone like that, scored twice.

18-12-2017, 03:40 PM
In recent times, like a few on here, Liam Craig. Good footballer and decent goalscorer from his position before and after his time at Hibs.

Tells me all I needed to know about that time in our history and could do a job in the goal scoring midfielder role now.

18-12-2017, 03:45 PM
Isaak Refvic definitely scored for us, think a cup tie and want to guess Morton or someone like that, scored twice.

Cheers Jim. Thought so too. Was an instant hit. The stats I read were only on league games [emoji106]

18-12-2017, 03:45 PM
Isaak Refvic definitely scored for us, think a cup tie and want to guess Morton or someone like that, scored twice.Definitely 2 goals. League cup. Was there.

It was made pretty difficult for us to keep him and the other guy (Matheson? ) the wee guy looked a player.

18-12-2017, 03:51 PM
Jorge Claros, Jonathan Grounds, Ben Williams

18-12-2017, 03:56 PM
He would've been mine too, John Collins as well.

Oh aye, Andy Goram as well.

beensaidbefore
18-12-2017, 03:58 PM
Some amazing memories on here. Had forgotten about quite a few. And never even heard of Isaak Refvic! When did he play?

Firestarter
18-12-2017, 04:33 PM
Would like to have had Stuart Lovell for longer. For me he improved the longer he was with us but it was Livvy that saw the best of him.

He was desperate to stay, he genuinely loves the club. Livi offered treble our offer.

18-12-2017, 04:34 PM
Some amazing memories on here. Had forgotten about quite a few. And never even heard of Isaak Refvic! When did he play?

Isak Refvik, 2 goals on debut against Morton at E Rd in League Cup Quarter Final 1978

beensaidbefore
18-12-2017, 05:01 PM
Isak Refvik, 2 goals on debut against Morton at E Rd in League Cup Quarter Final 1978

Thanks. Born 81 so that will explain it. Decent player by all accounts.

Souter96Mac
18-12-2017, 05:02 PM
Thought Trakys would've been decent had he been given more of a chance.

ValleyHibee
19-12-2017, 03:02 PM
Sure he missed open goal on his debut at PBS but he was best player on the park by a mile,then we beat Dundee 5-1 at ER,scoring one of the best goals ever seen.

ValleyHibee
19-12-2017, 03:08 PM
Libbra is a great shout. He was a talent. Still remember his goal at Parkhead that earned us a 1-1 draw
Class player,was at that game and his celebration was what's the big deal,i do that all the time,game just before celtic cup final he scored two against them and terrorised their defence.

ValleyHibee
19-12-2017, 03:13 PM
Arpinon,Collins,O'Neill,(every goal was a cracker)

19-12-2017, 03:25 PM
Class player,was at that game and his celebration was what's the big deal,i do that all the time,game just before celtic cup final he scored two against them and terrorised their defence.we lost 5-2 and he scored twice late on from the bench. that was the game sir alan stubbs got applauded for his fight back from cancer when he came on as a sub. no west stand

beensaidbefore
19-12-2017, 04:01 PM
Tony Rougier has just been suggested. Seem to remember him being fairly pacey,but can't recall him being that great?

heidtheba
19-12-2017, 08:13 PM
Chris Killen was one I should have included on my earlier list.