View Full Version : Set pieces

mcohibs
14-12-2017, 12:47 PM
As a team we really need to sort these out. Corners especially are going to waste by trying to play them short all of the time and getting nowhere/ giving posession back to our opponents. When we did try and get them straight into the box last night our delivery was woeful. Keatings and Henderson in recent times have been great from a dead ball but I'm not sure there's anyone in the team at the moment that's particularly gifted in that department.

14-12-2017, 12:49 PM
We need to to sign a free kick specialist, poaching striker

happiehibbie
14-12-2017, 02:36 PM
push stokes out the road for the free kicks would be a start

14-12-2017, 02:39 PM
That corner in the last minute summed or set pieces up from this season.

14-12-2017, 04:12 PM
Maybe try short corners for a change

thebausburst
14-12-2017, 05:36 PM
push stokes out the road for the free kicks would be a start

Push McGinn out the way too coulnae hit a coos erse wi a banjo with his free kicks

14-12-2017, 05:45 PM
Our set pieces are a shambles.

14-12-2017, 05:48 PM
Our corners have been more dangerous to us this season.

jonny
14-12-2017, 05:56 PM

We scored from a corner v Celtic.
I don't think we score from a lower percentage of corners than most teams.
I reckon we've scored from 3 or 4 corners this season, without knowing the actual stats I'd think that was comparable with most teams

14-12-2017, 07:59 PM
Is the general stat about corners not something like only 6% lead to goals (all corners, not just Hibs ones)?

I'm much more irritated by our horrific throw ins... The lack of movement or desire for a Hibs player to be available to take the ball in these situations really gets on my thrupp'neys

14-12-2017, 08:13 PM
Is the general stat about corners not something like only 6% lead to goals (all corners, not just Hibs ones)?

I'm much more irritated by our horrific throw ins... The lack of movement or desire for a Hibs player to be available to take the ball in these situations really gets on my thrupp'neys

It's something like 0.2%.

I don't understand how a group of 20 odd professional footballers can't take a good corner between them. What on earth are they doing all day?

14-12-2017, 08:16 PM
Our corners are as bad as I can remember them. I never feel even remotely confident that we'll get anything out of them.

There's a reason why Lennon has us playing them short right now.

14-12-2017, 11:41 PM
I’ve actually lost count how many times a short corner has resulted in lost possession and the opposition breaking up the park. Short corners are all very well but we seem to be particularly pish at them.

15-12-2017, 12:06 AM
I reckon we've scored more corners this season than many.

4 i think and 1 just on sunday.

Guy went mental when we tried the first one yesterday. He also said Stevenson had been with us 10 years too long and booed Whittaker onto the pitch so not all together the most reasonable of chaps.

famousfife
15-12-2017, 12:20 AM
“Liam Henderson to deliver “:cb:flag::flag::flag:

15-12-2017, 07:34 AM
I struggle to understand why players cannot work on being able to strike a ball in the right way that means that the delivery is good, its practise and then concentration at the time. Its very similar to players not being able to cross a ball with pace, I just dont get this floating a ball into the area, easy for defenders and keepers when theball is in the air for longer.
Short corners are only workable if you get the.right set up,