View Full Version : Can you remember a colder game than today?

10-12-2017, 07:10 PM
I'm struggling to remember one; that was tough. My baws are still frozen :greengrin

10-12-2017, 07:13 PM
I'm struggling to remember one; that was tough. My baws are still frozen :greengrin

Said that to my Uncle on the way back to the car, can't remember many games where it was so bloody cold!

andy1875
10-12-2017, 07:14 PM
Was freezing on way to game and freezing walking home

Funnily enough, was warm at the game with the winter sun in the FF upper.

Scarf off and jacket unbotted at top. Roasty so it was :greengrin

10-12-2017, 07:16 PM
An away Scottish cup tie against Arbroath or Montrose could be more than a bit Baltic!

-18 in the Allianz Arena in 2013.

Strangely enough, I was in the East today, and didn’t even need to put my hat and gloves on. A wee bit sun gone through and made it comfortable for me
The coldest game ever was against St Johnstone in 2010, when we had the Maltese ref

10-12-2017, 07:17 PM
Getting soft in your old age. All Scottish league matches played in December and January prior to 1980 were played on frozen pitches in arctic conditions sometimes reaching -20c. Factamondo.

ACLeith
10-12-2017, 07:17 PM
I felt fine. But I had FIVE layers on top and TWO pair of trousers, gloves and woolly hat

Babyshamble
10-12-2017, 07:18 PM
Airdrie away early 90s.rain was pissing Doon.fashanu scored for them just after the 2nd half started.got beat 2.-0.back to the pub.soaked & freezing

10-12-2017, 07:19 PM
McDiarmid Park a few years ago when we were humped midweek by St Johnstone, might have been late January or February. Just remember looking at their clock start of the second half which had the temperature showing minus 2. Mind the performance of Chris Hogg at right back that night fair got my blood boiling so it kept me warm :greengrin

10-12-2017, 07:20 PM
I felt fine. But I had FIVE layers on top and TWO pair of trousers, gloves and woolly hat

5 layers on top, 2 trouserses, gloves and TWO woolly hats and the West Upper was toasty.

10-12-2017, 07:20 PM
I'm watching the NFL Red Zone and Buffallo are playing in about a foot of snow and in a blizzard!

10-12-2017, 07:21 PM
I wasn’t that cold in the east today, the last home game was the coldest I’ve ever been at the football!

Trespass snow boots,sunshine on Leith deer stalker hat and gloves . I've felt colder at some summer games :)
The semi final loss to Ayr was the coldest I can remember.

inglisavhibs
Try Gayfield on a Winter's day but it was cold, think it was -3 during the game today.

10-12-2017, 07:22 PM
That friendly in the middle of March against Bohemians was Baltic

ACLeith
10-12-2017, 07:23 PM
5 layers on top, 2 trouserses, gloves and TWO woolly hats and the West Upper was toasty.

I was in west lower, I suppose it must have been warmer nearer sea level !

10-12-2017, 07:24 PM
Took my gloves off and opened my jacket. It was warmer than forecast and expected. If you feel the cold buy a decent set of thermals. Not exactly fashionable but it amazing what difference a decent base layer makes.

Falkirk away May 2015. Should have been the start of summer but was about the coldest day ever

Thermal socks/gloves, body warmer, 2 shirts, boots and a winter padded coat and still had cold toes and fingers, it was around -3 for most of the game.

10-12-2017, 07:25 PM
Dundee at home in winter 2004-05, we won 4-1, i was in the west upper and was genuinely so cold that my hands started bleeding.

10-12-2017, 07:26 PM
Not the coldest, but tynie Steven Archibald pissed it down but it was worth it!

10-12-2017, 07:27 PM
Strangely enough, I was in the East today, and didn’t even need to put my hat and gloves on. A wee bit sun gone through and made it comfortable for me
The coldest game ever was against St Johnstone in 2010, when we had the Maltese ref

I agree in over 40 years of going to Easter Rd that was the coldest I have felt.
Awful game never helped.

tanfield
10-12-2017, 07:28 PM
Home v Motherwell in March 86. 4-0 win and IIRC John Collins' first goal for Hibs. Was sitting in the old Cow Shed and i was that cold that I couldn't move for the last 2 goals!

10-12-2017, 07:29 PM
How about
1. Raith Rovers boxing day in the 1st Division?
2. Dundee United away in the days of Ivan Golac and the snow was blowing into the away end that had no cover of any description.
3. Dunfermline away. Chris Reid had a blinder in goals and people's spit actually froze in the terracing.

SON OF PADDY
10-12-2017, 07:34 PM
Raith away 1980 " my feet are still thawing out " 😨

ehf
10-12-2017, 07:38 PM
Falkirk away May 2015. Should have been the start of summer but was about the coldest day ever

Agree with that; it was the start of May but a wind straight off the Arctic.

10-12-2017, 07:39 PM
Livingston away for a late kick off a few years ago

10-12-2017, 07:41 PM
I remember going to Pittodrie 10-15 years ago, opening the car door and just about closing it and driving straight home. You need to be be dressed properly for Aberdeen away.

It wasn't so much the cold, but the "Cowdenbeath drenching" left me freezing.

The 0-0 at home to St Johnstone was also very cold. Colin Nish was our only fit striker and had a howler before being replaced by David Stephens. My girlfriend was at that game with me - I don't think she's been to game with me since.

10-12-2017, 07:45 PM
Summer fitba anyone??

10-12-2017, 07:46 PM
You really miss the terracing on days like today.

10-12-2017, 07:47 PM
I recall Cowdenbeath away in Scottish Cup under Fenlon being baltic

10-12-2017, 07:48 PM

Was that the 0-0 game. I remember bringing my wife as we were up for the weekend. It was bloody freezing.

10-12-2017, 07:48 PM
Morton away a couple of seasons ago midweek was freezing. 1-0 win, Stokes scored.

I went to the toilet at half time with no intention of going, it was just to try and warm up a bit.

10-12-2017, 07:57 PM
I was at the East Fife vs stranraer game yesterday and that was a lot colder than today. Maybe the standard of football played a part in my feeling of the cold though

10-12-2017, 07:57 PM
Was that the 0-0 game. I remember bringing my wife as we were up for the weekend. It was bloody freezing.

Sure was. It was the year we had all the snow, and - 10 temperatures

10-12-2017, 08:00 PM
Just minus 6.... That's a nice crisp day over here!!!

my left peg
10-12-2017, 08:00 PM
Sure was. It was the year we had all the snow, and - 10 temperaturesRemember it well....didn't Calderwood take big Nish off and play David Stephens up front....tactical genius!

10-12-2017, 08:03 PM
I was at the East Fife vs stranraer game yesterday and that was a lot colder than today. Maybe the standard of football played a part in my feeling of the cold though

No wonder your right on the water and totally exposed to the elements!

10-12-2017, 08:06 PM
If this cold spell continues, the game at Pittordrie could set a new record. That lovely wind coming off the north sea.

10-12-2017, 08:11 PM

I can vouch for that. A damn sight colder at Bayview yesterday. :wink:

Arch Stanton
10-12-2017, 08:11 PM
Course, when you're saying 2 pairs of trousers you're really meaning a pair of trousers with a pair of pyjama bottoms underneath (above thermals on the worst of days, like today), aren't you, or am I showing myself up here?:greengrin

I do remember on the earliest days of the new stands they used to show the game live on the inside TVs - and people huddling in the West Upper concourse watching the game there.

10-12-2017, 08:12 PM
That wouldn't be anywhere near the top 20 all time coldest games. Maybe middle age brings with it a more dressing for the weather mindset, but I honestly never felt it cold at all.

10-12-2017, 08:12 PM
It was That Cold today a Warning Light on my Car appeared to show a Guy having a Jimmy White.. 19906

10-12-2017, 08:15 PM
It was That Cold today a Warning Light on my Car appeared to show a Guy having a Jimmy White.. 19906

:faf::faf::faf:

10-12-2017, 08:16 PM

bringbackbenny
10-12-2017, 08:17 PM
Ibrox 1995, the 7-0 game 😞. Coldest ever.

10-12-2017, 08:18 PM
Hamilton 2 weeks ago.

ACLeith
10-12-2017, 08:19 PM
Course, when you're saying 2 pairs of trousers you're really meaning a pair of trousers with a pair of pyjama bottoms underneath (above thermals on the worst of days, like today), aren't you, or am I showing myself up here?:greengrin

I do remember on the earliest days of the new stands they used to show the game live on the inside TVs - and people huddling in the West Upper concourse watching the game there.

Naw. Jeans and golf waterproof trousers that are great at keeping out the cold. Only problem was getting the £1 out for the Happy Hibee and going for a pee at the end 🙄

10-12-2017, 08:21 PM
Hamilton 2 weeks ago.

Naw, I didn't think that was too bad.

10-12-2017, 08:23 PM
Not the coldest, but tynie Steven Archibald pissed it down but it was worth it!

I honestly didn't remember that it rained that day but I do remember..."10 men went to f#ck, went to f#ck the Jambo's"

Galahibby
10-12-2017, 08:24 PM
I almost did something I never do... leave with 20 mins to go, because I literally couldn't feel my toes any more. Stayed put though. Good decision :greengrin:

10-12-2017, 08:26 PM
Trespass snow boots,sunshine on Leith deer stalker hat and gloves . I've felt colder at some summer games :)
The semi final loss to Ayr was the coldest I can remember.

That semi final was bloody freezing and the stupendously bad game didn't help :confused:

The absolutely coldest I've been was at an early season midweek cup game at ER back in the 80s I think it was ... It started off as a lovely day and it was warm all through the first half, but then the sun went down and it felt like the temperature had dropped about 15 degrees, folk all around me were chittering in T shirts, boy that was cold.

As Billy Connolly is fond of saying "there's no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothes" :aok:

Johnny Clash
10-12-2017, 08:38 PM
I thought the Scottish cup game at Tynecastle in February last year was freezing. Warmed up a bit mind you in the 80th minute after Jason looped that header in!!

10-12-2017, 08:40 PM
When we lost 1-0 at Pittodrie thanks to Pawlett diving and landing Ivan in it.

gaz1875
10-12-2017, 09:04 PM
Lovely winter weather in the FFU, got a bit cooler when the sun went down second half, but the last 15 minutes fair warmed me up :scarf:

10-12-2017, 09:07 PM
Must admit I didn't think that it was that cold. Not as cold as mid February 2005 when we played Dundee at Easter Road. We beat them and it was brass monkeys. Today was like summer compared to then. The weather in the 60's and 70's was by far much colder.

10-12-2017, 09:09 PM
7-0 gubbing at Ibrox. So cold all the pipes in the ground froze. No hot water in the ground so no hot drinks. I remember a game at Broomfield where I bought a beanie hat pre-match as it was snowing. Baltic.

In short, yes I can 😀

itslegaltender
10-12-2017, 09:10 PM
Central Park Cowdenbeath where it was pushing down and we had no cover anywhere.

10-12-2017, 09:15 PM
Dundee at home in winter 2004-05, we won 4-1, i was in the west upper and was genuinely so cold that my hands started bleeding.

Think it was 4-0. Same game that I've just posted about. It was absolutely freezing. Tempted to go home at half time but stayed until the bitter end.

10-12-2017, 09:26 PM
Central Park Cowdenbeath where it was pushing down and we had no cover anywhere.

That was the worst. Cold is bad enough, but you can warm up. Nothing you can do when soaked to the skin. Totally miserable, in a monsoon with nowhere to get any shelter. I didn't go back the next time!

Austinho
10-12-2017, 09:29 PM
I went to watch Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory a few months ago and it dropped below 15 degrees. Could only hold my ice cold beer in one hand for 5 minutes at a time. Brutal.

Brummie_Hibs
10-12-2017, 09:44 PM
Seem to remember being freezing against Man Utd in a friendly at ER sometime back in the 70s (boxing day?). I was just a wee boy back then.

Cardinal Hibernian
10-12-2017, 09:46 PM
Raith away 1980 " my feet are still thawing out " [emoji32]Surely not. There was a crowd of about 15 000 packed into a decrepit old Stark's Park which had a capacity of about 10 000 at the time - kick off was delayed about 10 or 15 minutes for that January top of the table clash in which Alan Sneddon made his debut. Rovers won 2v0 to go top but I would not put that game near the cold category at all.

Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk

DarrenSQH
10-12-2017, 10:01 PM
Early 2000s away to st Johnstone on a Wednesday night. Think it was just before Xmas and finished 0-0.

Aberdeen away in the snow a week before Xmas a few years back when stokes scored.

Criswell
10-12-2017, 10:23 PM
I remember a game at East End Park in the 70's it was so cold that I actually lost my hearing. I had to take my scarf from around my neck and tie it round my head!

10-12-2017, 10:26 PM
I’ve seen a few social media reminders that it’s Ally Brazil’s birthday today. I wasn’t there myself, but surely the challenge game against Celtc would have been awfy cauld?

murray26
10-12-2017, 10:27 PM
I didn’t think it was that bad 😊 I was wrapped up to the hilt mind you..

The Baldmans Comb
10-12-2017, 10:27 PM
Ross County away and we lost 1:0 on a Tuesday night in February. Leigh was playing for us that night.

Cold on the way to the ground and hit by a sleet storm which wasn't to bad except now soaking wet and the temperature dropped to well below freezing and my soaking non waterproof coat froze to my body.

Stood in the pie queue 2/3 times just for the sake of it to try to thaw out.

10-12-2017, 10:35 PM
Was thinking about this earlier. New Year derby at ER around 2010. Think it was about -10 during the game.

10-12-2017, 10:36 PM
I remember a game at East End Park in the 70's it was so cold that I actually lost my hearing. I had to take my scarf from around my neck and tie it round my head!

That's pretty damn cold!

10-12-2017, 11:57 PM
A home Scottish Cup defeat to Kilmarnock probably in the mid-late 90s rings a bell as being utterly baltic. Got beat 2-0 and I seem to recall just aboot greeting it was that cold. Paul Wright scored for them (as per).

11-12-2017, 12:08 AM
Ross County when we got relegated was f***ing freezing that night, players also froze that night. :rolleyes:

11-12-2017, 12:13 AM
Pretty much. Wrapped up well today but feets were numb. Only bit I didn't layer...

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

11-12-2017, 12:14 AM
Ross County away and we lost 1:0 on a Tuesday night in February. Leigh was playing for us that night.

Cold on the way to the ground and hit by a sleet storm which wasn't to bad except now soaking wet and the temperature dropped to well below freezing and my soaking non waterproof coat froze to my body.

Ross County when we got relegated was f***ing freezing that night, players also froze that night. :rolleyes:

Glad to say I wasn't there. A 1-0 midweek defeat in Dingwall, for one of the coldest ever games, is grim stuff indeed.

11-12-2017, 01:18 AM
I can’t remember exactly but there was a game against Dundee about 13-14 years ago when it was freezing, severe gale force winds, and absolutely pishing down. Can’t remember anything worse than that.

11-12-2017, 01:28 AM
Either Ayr in the cup at Easter road about 2010, 0-0. First hibs game I'd ever left early, was too cold to be kicking about in that!

Or Livingston away in the championship, 0-0 under Stubbsy. Snowing, freezing, horrid day and I'd just come back from living in the sun for 6 months. Felt a right mug.

11-12-2017, 01:43 AM
I went to watch Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory a few months ago and it dropped below 15 degrees. Could only hold my ice cold beer in one hand for 5 minutes at a time. Brutal.

Poor you! That's a Swedish summer over here, shorts on, get swimming in the lake...
The schools only close if the weather goes above -30. Up till then- your good to go!

cad
11-12-2017, 03:24 AM
An away Scottish cup tie against Arbroath or Montrose could be more than a bit Baltic!

Yeah Arbroath donkeys ago not a place for the weak it was that cauld the Hibs support looked blue jeez I looked it up 26/2/77 drew 1-1 in the Scottish then I remembered we lost the replay 1-2 at Easter Road all in all a real ****ty experience still shiver when I think about it

Galahibby
11-12-2017, 07:35 AM
Spare a thought for these guys! [emoji300][emoji301]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171211/0f1d0bea58317af81570a4cff07d2087.jpg

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Hibee_Craig7062
11-12-2017, 07:46 AM
Airdrie away early 90s.rain was pissing Doon.fashanu scored for them just after the 2nd half started.got beat 2.-0.back to the pub.soaked & freezing

there was an Airdrie away game around the early to mid 90s that I recall being bitterly cold but there was def snow involved that day.

11-12-2017, 07:49 AM
Aberdeen away the year we went down, willo flood scored. Shocking game and felt like it was -20

11-12-2017, 08:21 AM
Home to Morton in about 1982 or 83. Absolutely frozen in the old shed behind the goals. Think we may have won about 5-1 and mind Harris scoring but so cold folk couldn’t even get hands out of pockets to applaud goal

11-12-2017, 08:29 AM
Summer fitba anyone??

Yesterday was our highest attendance for 25 years, which saw a great game played in ideal conditions for a game of football.

Winter football is brilliant!

11-12-2017, 08:31 AM
Midweek away game at Hamilton 5 or 6 years ago. Drove straight from work in suit and tie. Freezing fog on the way there and it got colder as the night went on. Had to scrape the car 4 times that day.

Firestarter
11-12-2017, 08:33 AM
Stranraer in a 0-0 draw in the cup.

Firestarter
11-12-2017, 08:36 AM
I can’t remember exactly but there was a game against Dundee about 13-14 years ago when it was freezing, severe gale force winds, and absolutely pishing down. Can’t remember anything worse than that.

I remember a match against Dundee about then when it got abandoned for snow and we got in for nothing the rearranged game which was also Baltic. Ian Murray scored a last min own goal I think.

hibstag
11-12-2017, 08:57 AM

Was at this too I felt like staying in the boozer its closely followed by a Feb midweek game in Inverness around 2004 Baltic , got well beat as well

11-12-2017, 03:25 PM
Spare a thought for these guys! [emoji300][emoji301]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171211/0f1d0bea58317af81570a4cff07d2087.jpg

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Jeezo - staunch! They are diehards.

11-12-2017, 03:40 PM
Home to Morton in about 1982 or 83. Absolutely frozen in the old shed behind the goals. Think we may have won about 5-1 and mind Harris scoring but so cold folk couldn’t even get hands out of pockets to applaud goal

1985 mate, was my 5th birthday and I got my name listed on the scoreboard wishing me a happy birthday. Happy memories :greengrin

11-12-2017, 03:47 PM
Either Ayr in the cup at Easter road about 2010, 0-0. First hibs game I'd ever left early, was too cold to be kicking about in that!

Or Livingston away in the championship, 0-0 under Stubbsy. Snowing, freezing, horrid day and I'd just come back from living in the sun for 6 months. Felt a right mug.

Yes, that was freezing and a terrible game, just to make it worse.

11-12-2017, 04:02 PM
I was cosy.

cotton socks and woolen socks

fleece lined trousers

short sleeve t-shirt

long sleeve base layer

thick oxford shirt

handknitted Icelandic jumper

woollen coat

woollen hat and gloves

woollen scarf and woollen cowl.

Nae wind or ice was getting near me :greengrin

11-12-2017, 04:05 PM
Coldest one I can recall was a home game against Kilmarnock one winter probably about 20 years ago, may have been a cup game, maybe not

just about nobody there and it was so cold my (then young) son and I watched it indoors on the CCTV

BonnieFitbaTeam
11-12-2017, 04:09 PM
I remember going to Pittodrie 10-15 years ago, opening the car door and just about closing it and driving straight home. You need to be be dressed properly for Aberdeen away.

It wasn't so much the cold, but the "Cowdenbeath drenching" left me freezing.

The 0-0 at home to St Johnstone was also very cold. Colin Nish was our only fit striker and had a howler before being replaced by David Stephens. My girlfriend was at that game with me - I don't think she's been to game with me since.

Well at least some good came of it :wink:

11-12-2017, 04:12 PM
I was cosy.

cotton socks and woolen socks

fleece lined trousers

short sleeve t-shirt

long sleeve base layer

thick oxford shirt

handknitted Icelandic jumper

woollen coat

woollen hat and gloves

woollen scarf and woollen cowl.

Nae wind or ice was getting near me :greengrin

So you just put on every piece of clothing you own and went for the belt and braces approach :agree:

11-12-2017, 05:24 PM
The Rangers game at ER on Boxing Day a few years back when we scored in the first minute.

That was proper polar conditions. Sunday was balmy by comparison.

11-12-2017, 05:30 PM
Coldest one I can recall was a home game against Kilmarnock one winter probably about 20 years ago, may have been a cup game, maybe not

just about nobody there and it was so cold my (then young) son and I watched it indoors on the CCTV

1995ish at ER? Got beat 2-0? Cup game in January IIRC.

Cowdenbeath in the cup in 2012 was freezing, probably not at bad as the rain/cold league games by the sounds of it but still Baltic.

11-12-2017, 05:31 PM
Ibrox 1995, the 7-0 game 😞. Coldest ever.

Was going to say that but I didn’t want to bring it up. :-(

HTD1875
11-12-2017, 05:33 PM
Didn’t feel that cold at all yesterday, had a few pre match and stood for 90 minutes which helped. Cowdenbeath away a few seasons ago was far worse still got the flu to prove it.

11-12-2017, 05:34 PM
Morton at home, October 1998. We won 2-1.

From memory it was as cold as yesterday but I didn't have the sense to wear as many layers back then :greengrin

11-12-2017, 05:39 PM
Unseasonally, the minutes silence at Dens after Jock Steins death was the coldest I've been in a summer month. Driving wind and rain behind the goals and perfectly observed.

2007 LC final had all the seasons same day.

Greenock though, has been the worst. On at least three occasions! The 1-0 game early on Stokesys return was ****ing horrible.

DaveSo
11-12-2017, 05:46 PM

I remember a game against Kilie on Boxing Day or the day after that must have been about then. Absolute Baltic and we lost one nil so not even a goal to clap and warm yourself up. Dreadful festive fixture.

andy1875
11-12-2017, 05:48 PM

Cowdenbeath in the cup in 2012 was freezing, probably not at bad as the rain/cold league games by the sounds of it but still Baltic.

Funnily enough, this game also sticks in my memory as I was in FF lower and we watched on tvs downstairs. Without searching online, Paul Wright scored for Kille, again unless my memory is playing tricks on me!

11-12-2017, 05:52 PM
1985 mate, was my 5th birthday and I got my name listed on the scoreboard wishing me a happy birthday. Happy memories :greengrin

Thanks for that, I was only 3 years out! It was freezing though

rodhibs55
11-12-2017, 06:02 PM
Dont know if this qualifies as the coldest but it must be up there.
I remember when we installed under soil heating, the first (again), to do so. Every game in the UK was off. We played Man U in a friendly as we had the only pitch playable due to the under soil heating.
Must have been a cold one.

11-12-2017, 06:05 PM
Dont know if this qualifies as the coldest but it must be up there.
I remember when we installed under soil heating, the first (again), to do so. Every game in the UK was off. We played Man U in a friendly as we had the only pitch playable due to the under soil heating.
Must have been a cold one.

Freezing. But then Erich Schaeler burst Bryan Robson and warmed everyone up.

Kavinho
11-12-2017, 06:10 PM
A game against st Johnstone midweek night time November game About 5 years ago.
Awful night and hardly a shot on goal all game.

Donny know which made the other worse!

11-12-2017, 06:12 PM
David Bennie in his book, ‘A Year in Hell’, suggested Sheilfield Park, Berwick. He indicated that the only reason that scientists had never been able to replicate Zero Absolute was that they failed to take their equipment to the Wee Rangers ground on a cold Saturday Afternoon.

11-12-2017, 06:15 PM
I was at the Man U match. The pitch was playable but the Dunbar End terracing was a skating rink. Thank god for the barriers, stopped us from skidding right down to the wall at the goal line.

Baltic but a great chance to see one of the top clubs at ER. (Hibs!)

11-12-2017, 06:18 PM

That's the fellow

Thanks

11-12-2017, 06:19 PM
Funnily enough, this game also sticks in my memory as I was in FF lower and we watched on tvs downstairs. Without searching online, Paul Wright scored for Kille, again unless my memory is playing tricks on me!

We probably stood together watching it!

11-12-2017, 06:27 PM
I have two coldest ever games! one up in Inverness one Boxing Day.

I always go dressed for the weather to the games and despite layers of clothing i was freezing cold!

So much so that i sat in the Disabled Toilet cabin which had a heater in it for the last 20mins of the game.

The other was at Easter Road a few years ago and again i think it was on a Boxing Day,me and a young Spanish friend staying with me were frozen stiff!

Ive never been so cold in my life! He was used to the heat even in December and could not believe how cold it was.

My mum used to say i was off my head going out in the cold to watch a game of football, at that time i was beginning to think she was right!

connerg
11-12-2017, 06:35 PM
The last time i was as cold as that at a game was Dens Park, 1983. We won 0-3.

Willie Irvine scored two quick goals in the second half which helped to warm my feet up
Even the old Eastern Scottish bus going home was freezing.

cad
11-12-2017, 07:08 PM
Frozen,soaked tae the skin , still went for beer tho ,quality supporters us Hibbys :LOL:

11-12-2017, 08:05 PM
Moldova v Scotland in Chisinau, October 2004. Absolutely-****!n-freezin. One TA lassie in the row in front of me was actually crying she was so cold! 1-1 draw too - poor fayre!

11-12-2017, 08:39 PM

Thanks for that, I was only 3 years out! It was freezing though

Aye I remember it being freezing and complaining to my dad, then he lifted me up high upon his shoulder, and he told me when he watched the Hibs he never felt the cold. And I knew what he meant when I got older.

11-12-2017, 08:41 PM
Inverness away on a Wednesday night, blizzards going up the A9, strangely no snow in Inverness that night. Humped 3-0 and it was horrendously cold!

11-12-2017, 08:45 PM
I was going to say the game when the refs were on strike. Very similar day to yesterday but it was a dull boring game that made it drag even longer.

mcohibs
11-12-2017, 09:34 PM
Morton away last season. Must have been almost a year ago to the day. Cummings rescued a point for us coming off the bench and scoring a free-kick. Absolutely baltic on that terracing behind the goals! Remember being impressed with Morton as a team and also their fans that night. This was pre-bust-up between Lennon and Duffy and IIRC Kris Commons first game for us.

Brummie_Hibs
11-12-2017, 09:44 PM
Moldova v Scotland in Chisinau, October 2004. Absolutely-****!n-freezin. One TA lassie in the row in front of me was actually crying she was so cold! 1-1 draw too - poor fayre!

Aye, that was a cold one. The rage at Bertie was the only thing keeping me warm.

majorhibs
11-12-2017, 10:00 PM
Away to Inverness, total whiteout all the way up, into their VERY open “stadium, they take the lead in first couple mins, then the biggest clown goalie I’ve ever seen idiot Zubi gifts them their 2nd on 15 mins, they shut down that’s how it finished, think I stayed for final 75 mins torture cos I was frozen to the seat, that was torture! Biggest joke clown excuse for a keeper I’ve EVER witnessed.

BurghHibby
11-12-2017, 10:58 PM
Freezing. But then Erich Schaeler burst Bryan Robson and warmed everyone up.

I’m sure Shades also put Steve Copell on the track as well which cheered me up no end, was mega baltic right enough.
As was the Benny Brazil hat trick game against Celtic.

Think the coldest I’ve been was at Falkirk though a few years back, think Kaspar Schmeicel might have been in goals for them, or was it Krul, not sure.

11-12-2017, 11:25 PM
Ross County away, wednesday night in January. Lost 1-0 with Sproule scoring for them.

belhavenbill
11-12-2017, 11:44 PM
I remember a game played on Christmas Eve against Ayr Utd some time in the dim and distant past. I was a teenager and sat in the old East stand. There was hardly anyone at the game cos Hibs were rank at the time; but we scraped a 1-0 win. It was colder than the Celtic game cos nothing happened to warm us up. No excitement. Nothing.

12-12-2017, 10:01 AM
So you just put on every piece of clothing you own and went for the belt and braces approach :agree:

It worked when I went to see the Ice Sculptures and the Chinese Lanterns as well. :greengrin

12-12-2017, 10:11 AM
There was a game a few years ago and I cant even remember who we were playing but it was snowing, I remember being in the concourse under the east actually dreading going out into it. I soul have stayed at home that day.

12-12-2017, 10:12 AM
Away to Inverness, total whiteout all the way up, into their VERY open “stadium, they take the lead in first couple mins, then the biggest clown goalie I’ve ever seen idiot Zubi gifts them their 2nd on 15 mins, they shut down that’s how it finished, think I stayed for final 75 mins torture cos I was frozen to the seat, that was torture! Biggest joke clown excuse for a keeper I’ve EVER witnessed.

To be fair, Inverness in August can be ****ing freezing.

poulton hibs
12-12-2017, 01:31 PM

Hamilton away 2 weeks ago for a start.

12-12-2017, 03:12 PM
There was a game a few years ago and I cant even remember who we were playing but it was snowing, I remember being in the concourse under the east actually dreading going out into it. I soul have stayed at home that day.

Might be the 3-3 game against Falkirk?

I wanted to stay home that day too but my Grandad wouldn’t let me!

12-12-2017, 03:33 PM
Hamilton away 2 weeks ago for a start.

I didn't think it was.

12-12-2017, 03:35 PM
Every game away tae Aberdeen even in May August or September

12-12-2017, 03:47 PM
Every game away tae Aberdeen even in May August or September

You going this weekend, Phil? I cannae wait: U.S. army issue winter weather parka, t-shirt, shirt, wool jumper, hibs hat and scarf, thermal gloves. Bring it on :greengrin

12-12-2017, 04:11 PM
Wis home for the sellik game and will b goin tae huns game but back home for Dons game.
Parkas, gloves and thermal socks were used for sellik, so back on fir the huns.

12-12-2017, 04:27 PM

It was snowing in March 2006 when we played Celtic at ER. Even Rod Petrie was helping to move the snow. Had to get rid of the snow off my seat and dry it with paper towels provided by the club. Only about half the Celtic supporters made it to ER due to the road conditions but who cares. They would have paid for their seat to be empty.

12-12-2017, 04:59 PM
It was snowing in March 2006 when we played Celtic at ER. Even Rod Petrie was helping to move the snow. Had to get rid of the snow off my seat and dry it with paper towels provided by the club. Only about half the Celtic supporters made it to ER due to the road conditions but who cares. They would have paid for their seat to be empty.

So only half were singing party songs then

12-12-2017, 05:00 PM
Might be the 3-3 game against Falkirk?

I wanted to stay home that day too but my Grandad wouldn’t let me!
it might have been, I remember it being one of the bigger games which convinced me to go but i dont remember much apart from the weather :greengrin