View Full Version : NHC Tonight’s CL games.

05-12-2017, 06:01 PM
What are the chances of Anderlecht springing a wee surprise tonight and giving Celtic a fright? Highly unlikely but fingers crossed.

05-12-2017, 06:04 PM
Doubt it. I've seen them 3 times on tv this season and they've been poor in each match. Celtc should be too strong for them again I reckon.

05-12-2017, 06:05 PM
Red hot Bayern at home against PSG coming off a shock defeat at Strasbourg will be an interesting one.

05-12-2017, 06:06 PM
What are the chances of Anderlecht springing a wee surprise tonight and giving Celtic a fright? Highly unlikely but fingers crossed.

Think Hibs will get an enhanced payment, if Celtic get through to Europa League

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 06:16 PM

I'm in this camp now. They are that far ahead it doesn't matter anymore.

I hope they win.

05-12-2017, 06:18 PM

mon the payment :agree:

05-12-2017, 06:20 PM

Agreed:greengrin

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 06:24 PM

Liam Henderson in January because of it would be ironic.

05-12-2017, 07:07 PM
Can someone please explain to me in plain English how it's possible for Manchester Utd to be knocked out tonight? I keep hearing that they need a point to guarantee qualification but I can't understand how they can be knocked out, due to it being based on head to head when there's a tie on points.

05-12-2017, 07:09 PM
It’s like watching Hibs in the purple at Celtic Park tonight

Probably blue though

05-12-2017, 07:09 PM
Basel and CSKA win their respective matches tonight, they will both be tied with United on 12 points. However, in the Champions League, the head-to-head record between clubs is the first tiebreaker, as opposed to goal difference.

This will mean the top two is decided by a three-way head-to-head.

To prevent United from qualifying, CSKA must beat them by 7 goals, and Basel must also win in Portugal.

This would mean that, due to Basel beating CSKA in their head-to-head battle, and the Russian side's theoretical 7-0 victory lifting them above United in the head-to-head mini league, the Red Devils would come third in the group and drop into the Europa League.

05-12-2017, 07:16 PM
Anyone on here find Rod Stewart annoying for no specific reason? Every time there's a big game at Celtic Park there's an obligatory pic of him in the stands and he just seems to irritate me.

gaz1875
05-12-2017, 07:17 PM
Anderlecht are really comfortable on the ball, some very fast play, unlucky so far.

05-12-2017, 07:22 PM
Scott Sinclair really is *****. Which puts into perspective how ***** the Scottish standard is.

Ryan69
05-12-2017, 07:23 PM
wheres all the goals?????:yawn2::yawn2:

05-12-2017, 07:29 PM
Im watching Bayern v PSG, Bayern 2 up and well worth it so far.

05-12-2017, 07:29 PM
Anyone on here find Rod Stewart annoying for no specific reason? Every time there's a big game at Celtic Park there's an obligatory pic of him in the stands and he just seems to irritate me.

He was at the Hibs game back in September, so aye, he only shows up for the glamour occasions.

Ryan69
05-12-2017, 07:30 PM

Same amount as every other game combined so far....

Souter96Mac
05-12-2017, 07:32 PM
Celtic looking pish so far, really flat.

05-12-2017, 07:33 PM
1-0 CSKA Moscow miles offside.

Shocking decision.

05-12-2017, 07:39 PM
Bayern are the only home side in front at half time.

Basel 1 up at Benfica
CSKA 1 up at United
Juve 1 up at Olympiakos

edit to add every other game is scoreless so far.

Benfica not won a point in this seasons CL. They have had a Shocker.

05-12-2017, 07:41 PM

If they win 4-0, do they top the league on head to head

05-12-2017, 07:42 PM

Yes I think so. Interesting second half ahead.

Gee7062
05-12-2017, 07:44 PM
1-0 CSKA Moscow miles offside.

Shocking decision.

Apparently not - Blind had slid off the pitch but was still active so played him onside

BegbieHSC
05-12-2017, 07:44 PM

Yepp. It would make the P$G manager look like a total bottler, especially after forgoing a 4-0 lead against Barca last year.

05-12-2017, 07:45 PM
Yes I think so. Interesting second half ahead.

Ta

renato
05-12-2017, 07:50 PM
Apparently not - Blind had slid off the pitch but was still active so played him onside

Yep. Remember the first time this properly caused controversy was (I think) a game where Italy conceded a goal due to a player falling off the pitch and injuring himself, playing the opposition onside.

Think it may have been vs Holland?

Edit it was Euro 2008, Panucci injured off the park playing Ruud VN onside

05-12-2017, 07:55 PM
PSG pull one back 2-1

05-12-2017, 07:55 PM
Craig Thomson referee at Camp Nou

05-12-2017, 08:01 PM
Atletico 1 up at Chelsea. Roma 1 up against Qarabag

renato
05-12-2017, 08:04 PM
Smellies own goal

05-12-2017, 08:05 PM
Anderlecht 1 up.

05-12-2017, 08:07 PM
Celtc were awful first half. Better team this half but a goal down. Poor game. Amazing to think how good the Belgian national team is and how dire their national league must be if Anderlecht are champions.

05-12-2017, 08:10 PM
United now totally turned their game around, two in as many minutes 2-1

PSG much better in the second half against Bayern.

05-12-2017, 08:11 PM
Basel 2 up at hapless Benfica.

05-12-2017, 08:13 PM

I don't understand how he can be active when he's off the pitch.

Where are you hearing that explanation? The BT commentators are totally baffled.

hibsfan7
05-12-2017, 08:13 PM
I hope celtic play like this on sunday

05-12-2017, 08:14 PM

Where are you hearing that explanation? The BT commentators are totally baffled.

To be honest mate that isnt saying much:greengrin

05-12-2017, 08:15 PM
Bayern 3 PSG 1

05-12-2017, 08:16 PM
How many more do Anderlecht need to score to knock celtic out?

05-12-2017, 08:16 PM

Just because your off the pitch doesn’t mean your not involved in the game. The only way your not involved in the game is if the referee has given you permission to leave. If you were allowed to go off and therefore not be involved in the offside then goalies would just step behind the goal line to play a player offside.

05-12-2017, 08:17 PM

2 more

05-12-2017, 08:17 PM

3, I think.

05-12-2017, 08:18 PM
Edourd brought on ahead of sparky. Come home Leigh, Rogers disnae rate ye!

05-12-2017, 08:19 PM
2 more

3, I think.

They said on the news that Celtic needed a 3-0 defeat or better to get through to the Europa Cup.:dunno:

05-12-2017, 08:20 PM
Chelsea Atletico all square now at 1-1

05-12-2017, 08:21 PM

3-0 Anderlecht would knock Celtic out.

05-12-2017, 08:21 PM
They said on the news that Celtic needed a 3-0 defeat or better to get through to the Europa Cup.:dunno:

Aye that’s right. 3-0 to Anderlecht would put Celtic out

05-12-2017, 08:22 PM

A 3-0 win for Anderlecht would put them through on goal difference.

05-12-2017, 08:27 PM
Edourd brought on ahead of sparky. Come home Leigh, Rogers disnae rate ye!

Incredible....what the hell is going on there.....anyway, maybe super Leigh won't play sunday

05-12-2017, 08:32 PM
Incredible....what the hell is going on there.....anyway, maybe super Leigh won't play sunday

Maybe he’s saving his best striker for Sunday. :greengrin

05-12-2017, 08:35 PM
Full time 1-0 Anderlecht.

Celtic qualify for the Europa League.

05-12-2017, 08:36 PM
Convincing qualification into the second best competition, Celtic. :rolleyes:

Cat Stanton
05-12-2017, 08:57 PM
Convincing qualification into the second best competition, Celtic. :rolleyes:

P6, W1, D0, L5. For 5, Against 18.

Yep, well done, Septic, you definitely deserve to qualify for another competition..

BegbieHSC
05-12-2017, 08:59 PM
I see Hartson is giving the financial gap between PSG/Bayern vs Sellic, and how teams with smaller budgets have got no chance when the gulf is so astronomical...no hint of irony!

05-12-2017, 08:59 PM

Yep, well done, Septic, you definitely deserve to qualify for another competition..

To be fair to them, 4 of those defeats were against 2 of the best teams in the competition.

05-12-2017, 09:00 PM
To be fair they were always going to lose at least 4 games in that group.

05-12-2017, 09:04 PM
I see Hartson is giving the financial gap between PSG/Bayern vs Sellic, and how teams with smaller budgets have got no chance when the gulf is so astronomical...no hint of irony!

How big is the financial gap between the invincibles and Anderlecht?

BegbieHSC
05-12-2017, 09:05 PM
How big is the financial gap between the invincibles and Anderlecht?

According to Rodgers it’s huge too...

vuefrom1875
05-12-2017, 09:06 PM

Prick.

vuefrom1875
05-12-2017, 09:08 PM
Just to clarify..... Rod's the PRICK 😉

05-12-2017, 09:10 PM
Prick.

Bit harsh - GBY was only making an observation :greengrin

05-12-2017, 09:10 PM

Wish I'd read that before I posted :greengrin

vuefrom1875
05-12-2017, 09:12 PM
Wish I'd read that before I posted :greengrin

👍

05-12-2017, 09:13 PM

Can’t stand him. The video where he justifies his support for them makes me want to be sick...”once I met Jock Stein, I HAD to support Celtic”.

If you’ve any Scottish links, why don’t you support a club that needs supporters and feels the strain of Glory hunters heading to Glasgow? All he’s doing is taking an easy option and helping to exaggerate the problem, killing our game.

**** of you twat. Away and gush over Barnet or someone.

Callum7
05-12-2017, 09:24 PM
http://i66.tinypic.com/30arwpw.jpg
No need to label him like that.

05-12-2017, 09:27 PM
Can’t stand him. The video where he justifies his support for them makes me want to be sick...”once I met Jock Stein, I HAD to support Celtic”.

If you’ve any Scottish links, why don’t you support a club that needs supporters and feels the strain of Glory hunters heading to Glasgow? All he’s doing is taking an easy option and helping to exaggerate the problem, killing our game.

**** of you twat. Away and gush over Barnet or someone.

His Dad was a Leither. No idea if he was one of us though. I remember when Rod was a Scotland fan. You never see him at games now, not since he decided to be a Celtc fan anyway

05-12-2017, 09:39 PM

Not even remotely fair given the quality of Bayern and PSG.

06-12-2017, 05:21 AM
Jees shows u how much interest in the CL I have, forgot/didnt know there were games last nite???
Yawn fest for the biggest part..

06-12-2017, 05:27 AM
Jees shows u how much interest in the CL I have, forgot/didnt know there were games last nite???
Yawn fest for the biggest part..

Its becoming a bit like the English Prem for me. Losing interest rapidly.

norhfc
06-12-2017, 05:31 AM
His Dad was a Leither. No idea if he was one of us though. I remember when Rod was a Scotland fan. You never see him at games now, not since he decided to be a Celtc fan anyway

Read his autobiography recently, his Dad was a Hibs fan.
Total glory hunter.

06-12-2017, 06:24 AM
Read his autobiography recently, his Dad was a Hibs fan.
Total glory hunter.

He supports Man Utd too despite coming from London. I suspect he's probably a bigger Celtic fan because United don't consider him big enough to give him a "seat for life" or whatever it is.

Probably supports Real Madrid, Bayern, PSG, Juventus and Ajax too. :yawn:

06-12-2017, 07:34 AM
Celtic weren't given a torrid time of it so don't think that game will have much of an impact on Sunday Its down to us to find our away form at home

06-12-2017, 07:55 AM
He supports Man Utd too despite coming from London. I suspect he's probably a bigger Celtic fan because United don't consider him big enough to give him a "seat for life" or whatever it is.

Probably supports Real Madrid, Bayern, PSG, Juventus and Ajax too. :yawn:

To be fair to the Rodster he doesn't have to support his dad's team automatically. I have an uncle who was a passionate Celtic fan, into the republican politics and all that. His daughter, possibly because they never really got on that well, became a die in the wool hun and now has a RFC tattoo :faf: believe it or not.

It's commendable to support your local team, but I can't be doing with the 'not a real fan' fascism either;-)

CorrieHibs
06-12-2017, 08:15 AM
He only started supporting Celtic in his late twenties. When he was grown up he supported Arsenal because he's from north London.

06-12-2017, 10:48 AM
http://www.glesga.ukpals.com/rangers/pics/RodStewart2a.jpg

06-12-2017, 11:57 AM
To be fair to the Rodster he doesn't have to support his dad's team automatically. I have an uncle who was a passionate Celtic fan, into the republican politics and all that. His daughter, possibly because they never really got on that well, became a die in the wool hun and now has a RFC tattoo :faf:believe it or not.

It's commendable to support your local team, but I can't be doing with the 'not a real fan' fascism either;-)

Now that is unusual!

06-12-2017, 06:51 PM
Now that is unusual!

Shes OK. We just don't talk football much. :greengrin

06-12-2017, 07:02 PM
Liverpool 2-0 fantastic going forward

06-12-2017, 07:04 PM
3-0 Liverpool

06-12-2017, 07:19 PM
3-0 Liverpool

Think they could be good for a draw here! :wink:

06-12-2017, 07:31 PM
Shaktar 2-0 Man City

A victory for football :greengrin

06-12-2017, 07:39 PM

Oh you're a very bad man! :greengrin

06-12-2017, 07:49 PM
Shaktar 2-0 Man City

A victory for football :greengrin

Pete is devastated. :greengrin

06-12-2017, 07:50 PM
What a goal from Mane 4-0

06-12-2017, 07:53 PM
5-0 HT for Coutinho

06-12-2017, 08:01 PM
5-0 HT for Coutinho

Are you still in the 'Klopp doesn't know what he's doing' camp then? :greengrin

06-12-2017, 08:06 PM
Are you still in the 'Klopp doesn't know what he's doing' camp then? :greengrin

Yeah the man does my head in. I might warm to him if he ever realises we need a left back and wins a trophy.

06-12-2017, 08:10 PM
Super John Mcginn and McGeouch enjoying the game in La Favorita tonight.😁

06-12-2017, 08:11 PM
Yeah the man does my head in. I might warm to him if he ever realises we need a left back and wins a trophy.

Not a fan of David Robertson, Scouse?

06-12-2017, 08:17 PM
Not a fan of David Robertson, Scouse?

Who's he? Oh yeah the left back who played well at the weekend but never even made the squad tonight.
I would have preferred a better proven player JB but Klopp paid all that money for him as Moreno was awful last season but now rates Moreno and leaves Robertson mostly out of the squad!

Moreno can't defend, and consequently we often get ripped down that side.

06-12-2017, 08:17 PM

youve obviously not watched Moreno much this season, he's been one of their best players.

06-12-2017, 08:18 PM
youve obviously not watched Moreno much this season, he's been one of their best players.

Not when tested as a defender. Even tonight he was nowhere and caught out of position when they attacked down his side.

06-12-2017, 08:18 PM
6-0 Mane

06-12-2017, 08:25 PM
Not when tested as a defender. Even tonight he was nowhere and caught out of position when they attacked down his side.

:dunno: I assume by your user name you watch a bit of Liverpool so I'm baffled. His defending has been streets ahead of the rest of the back four, apart from the Sevilla game where he had an off day he's been outstanding in defence and attack.

06-12-2017, 08:26 PM
:dunno: I assume by your user name you watch a bit of Liverpool so I'm baffled. His defending has been streets ahead of the rest of the back four, apart from the Sevilla game where he had an off day he's been outstanding in defence and attack.

I'm baffled you think that, is that you Jurgen? 😁

06-12-2017, 08:28 PM
7-0 Salah

06-12-2017, 08:28 PM
I'm baffled you think that, is that you Jurgen? 😁

Nah, you clearly watch football with a bag over your head though:greengrin

06-12-2017, 08:30 PM
Nah, you clearly watch football with a bag over your head though:greengrin

Opinions eh!

06-12-2017, 08:31 PM
Opinions eh!

Indeed:aok:

06-12-2017, 08:32 PM

Hope you never lost too much 😁

06-12-2017, 08:35 PM
Group Winners
Record amount of goals scored by an English club in group stages (beating record of manure)
Bring on the Blue ****** on Sunday.

06-12-2017, 08:48 PM
Group Winners
Record amount of goals scored by an English club in group stages (beating record of manure)
Bring on the Blue ****** on Sunday.

If only Liverpool could join the Russian league, they might finally win a league title! :wink:

06-12-2017, 09:10 PM
If only Liverpool could join the Russian league, they might finally win a league title! :wink:

CL tonight pal and Manure are second best in every respect to LFC. Good night.

06-12-2017, 09:40 PM

Second to Liverpool in every respect you say?

Premier League titles? 13-0 to Manchester Utd
Overall English league titles? 20-18 to Manchester Utd
FA Cups? 12-7 to Manchester Utd
Overall trophy haul? 66-60 to Manchester Utd

Enjoy the match on Sunday, hopefully it's a decent appetiser for the main event that follows it.

Good night. :greengrin

06-12-2017, 09:51 PM
European titles?

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 09:53 PM

Manchester United are the biggest club in the world. Liverpool haven't won the league since the Premiership began.

Apart from that you're spot on.

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 09:53 PM
European titles?

You've went all Aberdeen on us.

06-12-2017, 11:08 PM
Manchester United are the biggest club in the world. Liverpool haven't won the league since the Premiership began.

Apart from that you're spot on.

No I was already spot on as I said it's CL I was referring to nothing else.

Biggest club in the world? Richest you mean.

06-12-2017, 11:10 PM

Enjoy the match on Sunday, hopefully it's a decent appetiser for the main event that follows it.

Yes every respect in Champions League as I said.
Nowhere near us :-)

06-12-2017, 11:11 PM

I'll send you a map to Old Trafford for Christmas.

07-12-2017, 12:41 AM
No I was already spot on as I said it's CL I was referring to nothing else.

Biggest club in the world? Richest you mean.

Man City are currently the richest club in the world; Man United the biggest :agree:

Great result for Liverpool; to score seven twice in the group is very impressive. All the English teams through to last sixteen; the draw will be good on Friday, though I still think it's daft teams from the same country aren't able to play each other at this stage.

07-12-2017, 01:01 AM
Didn’t see any games tonight but Liverpool have been devastating recently so that wasn’t a surprise. People saying their defence might stop them but if they attack like that...

Man City reserves didn’t do too good by the looks of things. Hope city or Spurs win it as they deserve a bit of a break...and it would clamp their Jambo-esque red rivals.

07-12-2017, 01:07 AM
Didn’t see any games tonight but Liverpool have been devastating recently so that wasn’t a surprise. People saying their defence might stop them but if they attack like that...

Man City reserves didn’t do too good by the looks of things. Hope city or Spurs win it as they deserve a bit of a break...and it would clamp their Jambo-esque red rivals.

City deserve a bit of a break? They got the biggest break in the game when Sheikh Mansoor turned up in Stockport with his chequebook!

07-12-2017, 01:26 AM
City deserve a bit of a break? They got the biggest break in the game when Sheikh Mansoor turned up in Stockport with his chequebook!

They've been lorded over by their artificially funded rivals for too long and have had their noses rubbed in it. It’s glory hunters that have made the difference and in Citys case this Sheikh is like a big blob of karma. Spurs have bettered Arsenal the hard way.

Listening to Arsenal, United and Liverpool fans arguing about who’s bigger is like listening to old, drunk regulars at Merchiston Hearts argue about who’s got the fanciest golf clubs and better final-salary pension.
One of them might win the battle but nobody really cares. There are younger, fresher, more attractive and virile shows in town.

07-12-2017, 02:53 AM

Liverpool's success spanned three decades where there was a level playing field in money terms, no internet, and no sponsorship that had meaningful impact on the playing side of things..........the fact they had Hitachi on their strips probably covered the salaries of the whole office staff at that time. Manchester United benefited from an era of big money sponsorship, Sky television, 'new money' and a very very good manager who could embrace the 'old and the new'. I'll concede that they left Liverpool behind a little in that respect, however so did Leeds, Arsenal and Blackburn - again, money and benefactors being the catalyst.

Liverpool (for me), and as a West Ham fan, will always be the benchmark of how football should be played - they set the standard on the pitch. Manchester United followed the blueprint. The late 70's team and the team with Beardsley, Aldridge, Barnes, Houghton and McMahon were excellent and for me way beyond Fergie's 'babes' era. I don't think for a minute that Paul Scholes for example would have survived a game against Tommy Smith :cb

Both are really great clubs, and truly iconic clubs, but Liverpool will always be above them in standing for me - they (Liverpool) set the precedent over three full decades. Shankly, Paisley, Fagan, Dalglish - no English club has had that kind of (unchallenged) managerial lineage :agree::aok:

For me Man Utd's (recent) success has come from an era of avarice and money beyond belief.

07-12-2017, 06:36 AM
Gosh, I find the "we've got the bigger / best................" arguments so boring!

07-12-2017, 06:48 AM
Liverpool's success spanned three decades where there was a level playing field in money terms, no internet, and no sponsorship that had meaningful impact on the playing side of things..........the fact they had Hitachi on their strips probably covered the salaries of the whole office staff at that time. Manchester United benefited from an era of big money sponsorship, Sky television, 'new money' and a very very good manager who could embrace the 'old and the new'. I'll concede that they left Liverpool behind a little in that respect, however so did Leeds, Arsenal and Blackburn - again, money and benefactors being the catalyst.

Liverpool (for me), and as a West Ham fan, will always be the benchmark of how football should be played - they set the standard on the pitch. Manchester United followed the blueprint. The late 70's team and the team with Beardsley, Aldridge, Barnes, Houghton and McMahon were excellent and for me way beyond Fergie's 'babes' era. I don't think for a minute that Paul Scholes for example would have survived a game against Tommy Smith :cb

Both are really great clubs, and truly iconic clubs, but Liverpool will always be above them in standing for me - they (Liverpool) set the precedent over three full decades. Shankly, Paisley, Fagan, Dalglish - no English club has had that kind of (unchallenged) managerial lineage :agree::aok:

For me Man Utd's (recent) success has come from an era of avarice and money beyond belief.

That would be a valid point if none of the other teams had benefited from this money aswell.

07-12-2017, 07:33 AM
You'll never find me complaining about the money in regard to Man Utd.
Liverpool's successes generated fantastic revenue which enabled them to also spend and attract top players. However Liverpool never really looked beyond and certainly not in the investment of the ground. Man Utd constantly built and developed Old Trafford over the years increasing capacity in line with tbeir success and popularity and therefore taking full advantage of increasing crowds and subsequent revenue. Yes Liverpool are now struggling to compete consisently with the bottomless cash funds available to the new boys and that probably won't change anytime soon.

I content myself with the fact that I personally have seen my hometown club as a regular supporter and ST holder win absolutely everything there was to win and more than once for each and every trophy. As a football supporter history or not there aren't really any better memories than what I have already witnessed and no one can take that away from me. Do I long for more success? Of course I do and as I now I watch from afar rather than actively support, I would love to see them win the EPL in it's current form, can't see it happening any time soon though.

07-12-2017, 07:39 AM
Gosh, I find the "we've got the bigger / best................" arguments so boring!

Especially when it comes to English teams

Hibtastic
07-12-2017, 11:47 AM
I was at Anfield last night - cracking game. Liverpool are fantastic going forward - Coutinho is a very special player.

That new Main Stand at Anfield is magnificent by the way.