PDA

View Full Version : Easter Road Mural

Austinho
03-12-2017, 09:23 AM
Hi everyone,

This has been a bit of a dream of mine for some time now, but I've never really known how to go about it.

Across the road from the club shop at Easter Road, there is a giant gable end on the terrace on Albion Place. I've always thought it would be incredible to have a Hibs related mural/street art painted there. So I did a quick photoshop mockup:

The illustration I used was by an American guy called Paine Proffitt. His football illustrations (http://www.paineproffitt.com/football.html) are incredible, and he's done work for loads of British Clubs. He even designed the Hibs v Ross County League Cup final program in 2016, and a series for Aberdeen's match day magazines. I'm a designer myself, and whilst I've never even spoken to him, I've no doubt this guy would be the absolute best person for the job if this was something that could be made into a reality.

Now, the biggest stumbling block is the fact the gable end isn't on Hibs property, so would probably need council approval. I did notice the Hibernian Community Foundation were in one of the Albion Place buildings however, so who knows. The ticket office building would be another option, but not quite as impactful:

I think this would be fantastic, would really make Easter Road feel more homely. Adding the harp back on the stand should only be the beginning of sprucing up the stadium and adding colour to the surrounding area. The question is, how would I go about proposing it getting done? Contact Hibs? Contact the council? Approach supporters for funding? From a personal standpoint, I live in Australia, so it isn't particularly realistic I'd be able to get too involved. It was just an idea of mine really! Thoughts?

hibbyfraelibby
03-12-2017, 09:27 AM
Hi everyone,

This has been a bit of a dream of mine for some time now, but I've never really known how to go about it.