View Full Version : Stokes / Lennon Bust Up
27-11-2017, 07:55 PM
He's a good player but it doesn't entitle him to just do what he wants does it? Lennon is the boss and if Stokes (or anybody else) wants to play that game there will only be one winner.
Exactly. I’m hoping Daz plays tomorrow, it’s not below him to want to play
27-11-2017, 08:40 PM
The circumstances are a wee bit different though.
McGregor's just coming back from 3 months out injured and playing in this game would be seen as being a crucial part of his recovery and match sharpness.
If Stokes is told to play in it, if he has fallen out with Lennon last week, then it would be seen as some sort of punishment.
I'm not saying he shouldn't play in it by the way and if Lennon asks him to play in the development team, he should agree to play even if he doesn't want to.
Galahibby
27-11-2017, 08:51 PM
Is there any evidence otherwise???There's been some CCTV leaked from East Mains. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171127/2aa099853ddd5e159e491f31b1d66245.gif
Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
Firestarter
27-11-2017, 09:07 PM
We both know stokes attitude in general mate Daz would play for our 16s woman's team and wear the strip. Stokes already thinks he's to good in general and probably is so sticking him in the 21s and having Oli stealing the show isn't going to work.
27-11-2017, 09:22 PM
Rumours tonight that after a fall out whilst drinking, stokes is back in the squad.
Unfortunately it's Ben stokes and the England cricket squad.
Hibeewilly
27-11-2017, 09:46 PM
The circumstances are a wee bit different though.
McGregor's just coming back from 3 months out injured and playing in this game would be seen as being a crucial part of his recovery and match sharpness.
If Stokes is told to play in it, if he has fallen out with Lennon last week, then it would be seen as some sort of punishment.
I'm not saying he shouldn't play in it by the way and if Lennon asks him to play in the development team, he should agree to play even if he doesn't want to.
No chance Lennon would play Stokes in a development game and risk injury - that would be crazy given how thin our squad is. Stokesy will have shrugged off the virus and will be in the squad for Firhill
28-11-2017, 06:10 AM
I mean to get him scoring again, get his confidence up. He’s only played a game and a half in the whole of November
If he needs games then that would be the ideal game for him to play.
Velma Dinkley
28-11-2017, 07:27 AM
Is this still an unsubstantiated rumour or is it a known fact now?
28-11-2017, 09:16 AM
apparently lennon said a little less conversation a little more action
28-11-2017, 09:26 AM
Rumours tonight that after a fall out whilst drinking, stokes is back in the squad.
Unfortunately it's Ben stokes and the England cricket squad.
England already have enough problems with ginger-haired cricketers on the bevvy in Oz - they don't need any more. :greengrin
28-11-2017, 09:26 AM
OK - BEFORE YOU START POSTING ON THIS FORUM LEARN TO SPELL! IT'S 'ARGUMENT', NOT ARGUEMENT!!!!
:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:
That's not an argument, it's just contradiction...
28-11-2017, 09:30 AM
Stokes ever struck you as the type who lets people boss him about?
And that's the problem with him, yes? At odds with the world and himself.
28-11-2017, 09:38 AM
This reminds me of the time Griffiths allegedly punched Fenlon 😂
28-11-2017, 09:59 AM
Is this still an unsubstantiated rumour or is it a known fact now?
Don't buy newspapers, anything been in any of them about it?
28-11-2017, 10:00 AM
😂 1 man bash aye?
Stokes was never going to the bash in Dublin.
28-11-2017, 10:04 AM
Whatever went on is old news and will have been dealt with privately internally
Don't buy newspapers, anything been in any of them about it?
Not a thing!
28-11-2017, 10:13 AM
No it isn't...
28-11-2017, 10:18 AM
Stokes was never going to the bash in Dublin.
Why not Scoopyboy, he’s a member of the team
28-11-2017, 10:53 AM
and from Dublin. :greengrin
28-11-2017, 11:08 AM
No idea Billy, just know he was not in the party from the word go.
Something to do with his non payment to Elvis:dunno:
28-11-2017, 12:16 PM
And that's the problem with him, yes? At odds with the world and himself.
I agree, that was my point. He has always had an attitude problem
28-11-2017, 12:17 PM
Stokes ever struck you as the type who lets people boss him about?
The funny thing about Stokes is that Celtic got the best football out of him. They had him fitter, leaner and playing at a higher level that any other club did.
Celtic won't have tolerated prima donna behaviour, they won't have accepted extravagances or double standards, so I suspect that when Stokes was most prepared to be bossed about and he actually toed the line then he'll have seen the greatest rewards and benefits. Maybe he fell out of favour under Deila when bad habits returned?
Stokes needs to be careful - Celtic to Championship Blackburn to Hibs is a downward trajectory whichever way you look at it. He can either continue that downward trajectory or he can shape up and get going in the right direction again.
He strikes me as a bit of a maverick and a difficult character to manage. If Lennon is demanding very high standard of the players in training, demanding extra levels of dedication then it puts him in a difficult position if he is tolerating anything less from Stokes, especially if he puts in weak performances on a Saturday (as he generally did against St Johnstone).
If Stokes is our main man, scoring bucketloads and playing brilliantly then Lennon might be perfectly entitled to accept different to the rest of the players from Stokes through the week.
But if he isn't......
28-11-2017, 12:24 PM
The funny thing about Stokes is that Celtic got the best football out of him. They had him fitter, leaner and playing at a higher level that any other club did.
Celtic won't have tolerated prima donna behaviour, they won't have accepted extravagances or double standards, so I suspect that when Stokes was most prepared to be bossed about and he actually toed the line then he'll have seen the greatest rewards and benefits. Maybe he fell out of favour under Deila when bad habits returned?
Stokes needs to be careful - Celtic to Championship Blackburn to Hibs is a downward trajectory whichever way you look at it. He can either continue that downward trajectory or he can shape up and get going in the right direction again.
He strikes me as a bit of a maverick and a difficult character to manage. If Lennon is demanding very high standard of the players in training, demanding extra levels of dedication then it puts him in a difficult position if he is tolerating anything less from Stokes, especially if he puts in weak performances on a Saturday (as he generally did against St Johnstone).
If Stokes is our main man, scoring bucketloads and playing brilliantly then Lennon might be perfectly entitled to accept different to the rest of the players from Stokes through the week.
But if he isn't......
And what's just as important is do the rest of the squad accept it (or as someone said they 'tolerate' it).
If either one - NL or the team - don't, then I'm afraid it has to be ta-ta time.
28-11-2017, 12:25 PM
Do you want a 10 minute argument or a 20 minute arguement?
28-11-2017, 12:35 PM
And what's just as important is do the rest of the squad accept it (or as someone said they 'tolerate' it).
If either one - NL or the team - don't, then I'm afraid it has to be ta-ta time.
If you Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next
This is getting Manic
Fae a routine training ground bust up and no turning up on time Poor Attitude etc to
He will never play for Hibs again
This surely is his last chance to resurrect his Career Lennon knew what he was taking on and will have a view if its not working out
Cant see him emptying him this early
Some crucial games coming up so i guess we will find out in due course
But if he isn't......
Good post
This is getting Manic
Fae a routine training ground bust up and no turning up on time Poor Attitude etc to
This surely is his last chance to resurrect his Career Lennon knew what he was taking on and will have a view if its not working out
I suspect Lennon/Craig and LD are now looking carefully at the situation and possibly looking t bringing in someone in January in case Stokes situation hasn't been resolved, by all accounts big Dave might be on his way out in January too, so 2 strikers may be on the cards.
This isn't the first episode like this regarding Stokes, he's done it at every club he's been at, Yogi turned a blind eye to his shenanigans in his first spell here as long as he was doing it on the park, the problem I see with him is where does he go from here?
28-11-2017, 12:52 PM
No one bigger than the club. Always be a legend for the cup final.
28-11-2017, 12:53 PM
Good post
I suspect Lennon/Craig and LD are now looking carefully at the situation and possibly looking t bringing in someone in January in case Stokes situation hasn't been resolved, by all accounts big Dave might be on his way out in January too, so 2 strikers may be on the cards.
This isn't the first episode like this regarding Stokes, he's done it at every club he's been at, Yogi turned a blind eye to his shenanigans in his first spell here as long as he was doing it on the park, the problem I see with him is where does he go from here?
I'm not trying to being funny but, he could close the circle and end up back at Falkirk.
28-11-2017, 01:27 PM
Tough one. We do seem a happy home for wayward heroes that don't quite hit the peaks they should, and end up back here needing to play and be appreciated again.
Bound to be some that would have thought this sort of story was inevitable with Stokes. You'd wager this stuff would be overlooked in the past by a weaker management, and while you don't want him to get away with whatever he likes, you don't want Lennon to burn bridges and show zero tolerance when it could still work out...
I'm not sure what clubs would come in for him if he left Hibs under a cloud, but I can't imagine it would be many better ones. If it turns out that isn't where his heads at, then he's do well to remember it.
I'm not trying to being funny but, he could close the circle and end up back at Falkirk.
Or fully close it and end up at Arsenal :greengrin
Firestarter
28-11-2017, 02:15 PM
Aye, Arsenal Kiev :greengrin
28-11-2017, 02:24 PM
... or maybe you'll be just over half right :wink:
andybev1
28-11-2017, 02:27 PM
Do you want a 10 minute argument or a 20 minute arguement?
How about a 5 minute contradiction?
andybev1
28-11-2017, 02:56 PM
Lennon has this, if it is anything, under control. Stokes, like most hot heads, will sort himself out given space - make it look like he is being punished and he will push back IMO.
28-11-2017, 03:08 PM
This is getting Manic
I'm struggling to fit a tune to this. The fifth line is a killer.
Baker9
28-11-2017, 03:12 PM
How about a 5 minute contradiction?
There is no such thing.
28-11-2017, 03:18 PM
There is no such thing.
Yes there is.
I just told you.
IlDiavola
28-11-2017, 03:39 PM
There is no such thing.
This is gong too delevop unto ann arguement.
Yes there is.
I just told you.
Telt Yees.
Firestarter
28-11-2017, 04:00 PM
I'm struggling to fit a tune to this. The fifth line is a killer.
28-11-2017, 06:00 PM
will always be a legend hope this can be resolved but he must knuckle down as he is great when fir and in the right frame of mind
andybev1
29-11-2017, 11:33 AM
There is no such thing.
What! you mean to say you have never had a contradiction? :rolleyes:
Baker9
29-11-2017, 01:41 PM
What! you mean to say you have never had a contradiction? :rolleyes:
What contradiction?
29-11-2017, 02:30 PM
The wife had contradictions once however we got to the hospital just in time.
And she wouldn't have those contradictions if you'd used proper contradictions in the first place.
29-11-2017, 02:39 PM
And she wouldn't have those contradictions if you'd used proper contradictions in the first place.
Boom! Lol
29-11-2017, 02:40 PM
:top marks:greengrin
Baker9
29-11-2017, 02:54 PM
Yes there is.
I just told you.
You are contradicting yourself now.
29-11-2017, 02:56 PM
You are contradicting yourself now.
Yes I'm not. :greengrin
30-11-2017, 01:18 PM
So..the rumours are true. STV’s Paul Barnes just confirmed it on Twitter with comments from Lennon to follow later today.
Stokes back in contention for the squad vs Thistle.
30-11-2017, 01:20 PM
Paul Barnes, the STV journo, has just tweeted there was a busy up at training ground with Stokes dropped for Hamilton game as a result. Lennon’s comments to follow...
30-11-2017, 01:22 PM
Well there needs to be a positive reaction from him to warrant coming straight back into the team
Could be left kicking his heels on the bench then on to score the winner
Godsahibby
30-11-2017, 01:25 PM
Firstly, this is unconfirmed, however I'm hearing the two have had a massive bust up behind the scenes. According to what I've heard (and I for one hope it's not true), Stokes won't pull on a Hibs jersey again whilst Lennon is in charge. No doubt see what comes out (if anything!) in the next few days.
Great scoop on this one Robbie. Your inbox must be full of apologies for the fuds calling you a Jambo.
Any other gems coming out the training ground or you keeping that to the group chat!!
30-11-2017, 01:35 PM
Great scoop on this one Robbie. Your inbox must be full of apologies for the fuds calling you a Jambo.
Any other gems coming out the training ground or you keeping that to the group chat!!
Except the bit about not pulling on a jersey again for Hubs as long as Lennon is in charge as he is back in contention for place in the squad
Clearly there is time for Stokes to rule himself out by continuing to be late for training etc
But i expect things to be patched up this time round
30-11-2017, 01:36 PM
Stokes was always going to play again but he won’t be here long mark my words. If Hibs can sell him they will ASAP.
Not what I wanted to hear TC, but if him leaving is for the benefit of the club then that's what needs to happen and we move on.
Saying that, until that day comes Stokes will continue to get my full backing and hopefully he can turn things round
30-11-2017, 01:46 PM
Five or six high profile games to put him in the shop window then TC. Hope he screws the nut and gets his performance levels up, especially in the next batch of fixtures. We’ll need him I think.
30-11-2017, 01:50 PM
Cant see any club paying a transfer fee for Stokes to be honest. If Lennon does want rid then I cant see how it would happen unless Stokes was happy to forego his contract.
30-11-2017, 01:53 PM
How do you sell damaged goods though Cant see anyone wanting to pay a Transfer fee if Lennon couldn't support him to get his act together For me he was already in Last Chance Saloon
Clearly a gamble that hasn't worked out Feel sorry for both parties but if its come to that he has let Lennon down badly
30-11-2017, 01:54 PM
Not what I wanted to hear TC, but if him leaving is for the benefit of the club then that's what needs to happen and we move on.
Saying that, until that day comes Stokes will continue to get my full backing and hopefully he can turn things round
I’m the same, I love Stokesy and I still feel he has so much to offer. But he can’t keep taking sick days and coming in late it’s not on. So unless he sorts his himself out he’ll be gone sooner rather than later I’m hearing!
30-11-2017, 01:56 PM
How do you sell damaged goods though Cant see anyone wanting to pay a Transfer fee if Lennon couldn't support him to get his act together For me he was already in Last Chance Saloon
Clearly a gamble that hasn't worked out Feel sorry for both parties but if its come to that he has let Lennon down badly
That’s the million dollar question, he could be very hard to punt and Hibs might have to cut some loses on him. Hope he comes good though because the talent the boy has is clear to see. Huge games coming up so let’s hope he thinks I’ll probe everyone wrong and bang them if Lennon plays him.
30-11-2017, 01:57 PM
The first part is a scoop (or a leak from the PM board).
The 2nd part is wild conjecture at this stage, isn't it?
30-11-2017, 02:03 PM
Any other gems coming out the training ground or you keeping that to the group chat!!The bust up bit was true but not the fact he would never play again...in squad for Sat
30-11-2017, 02:09 PM
Im not the one posting absolute ***** on a hibs forum pretending to be ITK. Your posting the rumour so it's up to you to back it up, not me to prove it wrong.
Well actually you were. :na na:
30-11-2017, 02:10 PM
The bust up bit was true but not the fact he would never play again...in squad for Sat
Every chance it was ‘true’ at the time though, when emotions were running high.
30-11-2017, 02:18 PM
Hee hee 😁
30-11-2017, 02:19 PM
Whatever is going on I hope everyone looks at bigger picture as we have a very very big round of 5 or 6 matches coming up and we need 100% from everyone.
These set of fixtures should be relished by any player worth their salt.
30-11-2017, 02:21 PM
What a lot of scaremongering pish!
Is there an ounce of known truth in any of this??? Nope didn’t think so!!
The club have moved on leaps and bounds recently and I for one trust them to tell us of events such as this.
Unless there are any facts, let’s trust the club and management team. 🇳🇬
So now that it’s been put out there by news reporters is that good enough for you??
Or is it all still “pish.”
30-11-2017, 02:23 PM
Whatever is going on I hope everyone looks at bigger picture as we have a very very big round of 5 or 6 matches coming up and we need 100% from everyone.
These set of fixtures should be relished by any player worth their salt.
That’s exactly it, huge games coming up we need our best players playing and fully focused. Lennon will know how to deal with it all he’s been there so I’m confident we’ll be alright once we have Dec out the way.
30-11-2017, 02:27 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42183093
The first part is a scoop (or a leak from the PM board).
The 2nd part is wild conjecture at this stage, isn't it?
Posted here 1 minute before Scoops posted on the PM board so not leaked from there, obviously both these guys have the same info.
30-11-2017, 02:35 PM
Amen. Let’s move on. :rolleyes:
30-11-2017, 03:02 PM
"You will see a very motivated Stokes the next few weeks"
Good but I'd rather see a motivated Stokes all season
30-11-2017, 03:16 PM
Five or six high profile games to put him in the shop window then TC. Hope he screws the nut and gets his performance levels up, especially in the next batch of fixtures. We’ll need him I think.
Definitely need him and hope he screws the nut and shows how good he is. Got to be said thought he was really sharp v Dundee which made his performance that much more disappointing in the Saints game (he wasnt the only one in that match to be fair). We simply dont have his quality and you want him playing in the big games coming up IMO.
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 03:20 PM
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 03:27 PM
"You will see a very motivated Stokes the next few weeks"
Good but I'd rather see a motivated Stokes all season
Few weeks until the January transfer window perhaps? Hope no.
Paul Barnes, the STV journo, has just tweeted there was a busy up at training ground with Stokes dropped for Hamilton game as a result. Lennon’s comments to follow...
Confirmed, storm in a tea cup all is forgiven.:agree:
30-11-2017, 03:31 PM
Confirmed, storm in a tea cup all is forgiven.:agree:
Was a little more than that believe me. Hopefully it’s sorted now and Hibs get the best out him.
Only going by NL statement, hopefully end of the problem. If not his career is only going one way, down.
30-11-2017, 03:39 PM
"It was an isolated incident. I was not going to tolerate it and he understands that. He is back in and has been training very well this week."
"He is fit and raring to go. He has accepted he was in the wrong and he is getting on with it now."
"It's not a major issue. It's not going to affect the group long term and I think you will see a very motivated Anthony Stokes for the next few weeks."
Sounds like it's been dealt with and he's back
Nothing to see here, move along people
Ardenttwo
30-11-2017, 03:39 PM
Cant see any club paying a transfer fee for Stokes to be honest. If Lennon does want rid then I cant see how it would happen unless Stokes was happy to forego his contract.
Would not be surprised to see the sheep coming in for him judging by Mays performance last night
30-11-2017, 03:40 PM
Only going by NL statement, hopefully end of the problem. If not his career is only going one way, down.
Thankfully we have a very good manager who’ll hopefully know how to handle it. One thing he wouldn’t do is slaughter him in the public eye. Behind closed doors though he didn’t hold back on him. Stokes must know this is his last chance to prove himself. Great finisher and bags of talent, hope when he plays he shows everyone exactly what he can do!
Spot on, played his best football previously under Lennon, fingers crossed he gets him back to that level, too much talent to waste it.
30-11-2017, 03:53 PM
Is he or is he not a leopard, that is the question that will be answered in days to come. :cool2:
30-11-2017, 03:58 PM
Leopard? More like a tiger!
IlDiavola
30-11-2017, 04:12 PM
So..the rumours are true. STV’s Paul Barnes just confirmed it on Twitter with comments from Lennon to follow later today.
Whatever happened to 'won't pull on a Hibs jersey again while Lennon is at Easter Road'?
What a wasted few pages caused by a rumour/source/inside info etc.
Sometimes think it is safer to just read a thread and then wait a few days until replying to it.
Anyway, if he's back I hope there's a lot more effort put in than in the St J game.
30-11-2017, 04:14 PM
Leopard? More like a tiger!
is he going to Hull?
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 04:18 PM
Whatever happened to 'won't pull on a Hibs jersey again while Lennon is at Easter Road'?
Sometimes think it is safer to just read a thread and then wait a few days until replying to it.
Anyway, if he's back I hope there's a lot more effort put in than in the St J game.
How many posters said he would never play again.
Others including myself stated there had been a bust up and was ordered away from training. That happened confirmed today.
30-11-2017, 04:23 PM
is he going to Hull?
Naw, you're thinking of the Emu. :wink:
IlDiavola
30-11-2017, 04:24 PM
How many posters said he would never play again.
Others including myself stated there had been a bust up and was ordered away from training. That happened confirmed today.
You've missed my point and I wasn't having a dig at you or anyone else except the OP. Even then, it was just a wee bit tongue in cheek.
I'm as pleased about this news as most folk are. :agree:
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 04:26 PM
You've missed my point and I wasn't having a dig at you or anyone else except the OP. Even then, it was just a wee bit tongue in cheek.
I'm as pleased about this news as most folk are. :agree:
Sorry mate. Long day :)
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 04:27 PM
He's going to see Petrie? Makes sense I suppose.
30-11-2017, 04:31 PM
Could well have been the case at the time though, maybe smoothed things over a bit after that.
IlDiavola
30-11-2017, 04:33 PM
Sorry mate. Long day :)
:thumbsup: Absolutely no problem at all.
IlDiavola
30-11-2017, 04:34 PM
Could well have been the case at the time though, maybe smoothed things over a bit after that.
Yeah, I know.
All's well that ends well :aok:
30-11-2017, 04:36 PM
I've never seen the Stokes lack of effort thing. I don't think he lacked effort in the St Johnstone game - he just played pish. He looked lost trying to play a role that was uncomfortable for him and his touch looked off. It was a role that shouldn't have been beyond him, but it just didn't work out.
I don't see Stokes in training, that is where any lack of effort may be evident, and tbh may have contributed to him not playing as well as he should against St J.
I'd rather give Stokes praise and criticism for what I see with my own eyes, and I've never seen him less than committed.
30-11-2017, 04:39 PM
Did Rod Hull not fall to his death fixiing his tv ariel. Shame but he got a great reception at his funeral
IlDiavola
30-11-2017, 04:41 PM
Did Rod Hull not fall to his death fixiing his tv ariel. Shame but he got a great reception at his funeral
:rolleyes::rolleyes:
That’s it then. End of story and we move on united..
Sorry lurkers.
30-11-2017, 05:04 PM
I predict some will claim this was the turning point when we’re looking back at the end of the season, where stokes has finished top scorer and we’ve won the double.
Hibby soldier
30-11-2017, 05:05 PM
I think the guy that first posted this comment should get a good few apologies...........
linlithgowhibbie
30-11-2017, 05:08 PM
I think the guy that first posted this comment should get a good few apologies...........
Sorry OP:top marks
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 05:14 PM
Maybe posters won't be so quick to jump then hun in the future either regardless of someone's post count.
30-11-2017, 05:23 PM
Yeah he should but he won't
IlDiavola
30-11-2017, 05:25 PM
Yeah he should but he won't
30-11-2017, 05:26 PM
It's unconfirmed because you made it up, next thing is you'll be telling us you're a ST holder at ER🤣
Now I know you didn't know :greengrin I hope the original poster accepts your apology:aok:
30-11-2017, 05:31 PM
Seeing some of the replies to the OP on this thread is a bit out of order to be honest & some posters should feel embarrassed.
Thing is the OP has made, to date, 24 posts. Why has he decided to come on and be Mr ITK with news our highest profile player has stepped out of line and was to be bombed by the club?
I look forward to his forthcoming good news stories in due course, he may well have had correct info but don't expect us all to doff our cap
30-11-2017, 05:37 PM
If Stokes never pulls on a hibs shirt again then I'll agree.
30-11-2017, 05:38 PM
Thing is the OP has made, to date, 24 posts. Why has he decided to come on and be Mr ITK with news our highest profile player has stepped out of line and was to be bombed by the club?
I look forward to his forthcoming good news stories in due course, he may well have had correct info but don't expect us all to doff our cap
Seriously... Give the guy credit where it’s due. Some people hate and I mean hate that some posters hear things from players/coaches or whoever. I’m sure he will post something good in fact loads of posters have posted many positive things this season.
If something has happened good or bad some folk like to hear it. If not I’d suggest these folk don’t bother with reading the threads. Few on here looking a bit foolish with comments towards the OP and a few others.
30-11-2017, 05:38 PM
"It was an isolated incident. I was not going to tolerate it and he understands that. He is back in and has been training very well this week."
"He is fit and raring to go. He has accepted he was in the wrong and he is getting on with it now."
"It's not a major issue. It's not going to affect the group long term and I think you will see a very motivated Anthony Stokes for the next few weeks."
Sounds like it's been dealt with and he's back
Nothing to see here, move along people
Exactly.
This story grew arms and legs and now we’ve got folk wanting him punted in January. Crazy talk.
I’m happy to take Lennon’s word on this.
30-11-2017, 05:41 PM
Exactly.
This story grew arms and legs and now we’ve got folk wanting him punted in January. Crazy talk.
Who wants him punted in Jan?? Unless I’ve missed something.
30-11-2017, 05:41 PM
If there had been a massive bust up and he never played for us again then aye.
But there wasn’t and he will so naw!
30-11-2017, 05:45 PM
All pals again. Nothing to see here. Move along now.
So a guy comes on a "forum" posts something he has heard which turns out to be true and you are still not happy because he only has 24 posts. Now you are demanding good news stories :greengrin. That is a little sad coming from a guy with 791 posts :greengrin
Firestarter
**** sake get a grip son.
30-11-2017, 05:47 PM
**** sake get a grip son.
Sorry wrong post
30-11-2017, 05:51 PM
I actually admire Lennon for being strong enough to drop someone who many will view as our biggest goal threat and most talented player.
A weaker manager may have been willing to overlook any indiscretions from someone like Stokes as they wouldn't want to play without him.
At least now Stokes knows that he won't get away with any more indiscipline and it's up to him if he's willing to risk being dropped again and potentially being suspended by the club.
It also sends a clear message to the rest of the squad that if this can happen to Anthony Stokes, it can happen to anyone at the club.
Well done Lennon and I just hope Stokes responds in the right way.
Time will tell.
The funeral was ages after that but they had to go through the proper channels
Stokes to score on Saturday 😎
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 05:52 PM
Exactly.
Who wants him punted?
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 05:53 PM
Stoke to score on Saturday 😎
He obviously had a fall out with sky.
30-11-2017, 05:55 PM
They should do, they're at home to Swansea and they're rotten.
So a guy comes on a "forum" posts something he has heard which turns out to be true and you are still not happy because he only has 24 posts. Now you are demanding good news stories :greengrin. That is a little sad coming from a guy with 791 posts :greengrin
I'm not put out by anything, haven't commented on this thread before, but when someone coming on with no posting history starts a thread the way he did then what realistically is to be expected? As i said hopefully he is now going to have good news stories as well, what is sad about that?
30-11-2017, 06:00 PM
That's not remotely funny
30-11-2017, 06:01 PM
Who wants him punted?
I’m not going back through 15 pages but there’s been plenty chat about gambling, drinking, attitude, black eyes etc.
From Hibs fans! Unbelievable.
30-11-2017, 06:04 PM
I’m not going back through 15 pages but there’s been plenty chat about gambling, drinking, attitude, black eyes etc.
Nae burds part timer
30-11-2017, 06:06 PM
I wouldn't want to cross Lennon. Might put a cheeky fiver on a Stokes double this weekend after his bollocking.
30-11-2017, 06:06 PM
I'm not put out by anything, haven't commented on this thread before, but when someone coming on with no posting history starts a thread the way he did then what realistically is to be expected? As i said hopefully he is now going to have good news stories as well, what is sad about that?
Seriously why post about him only having 24 posts he claimed to have heard something he obviously had. Nothing more to be said, why join in the thread now to put him down.
He may never get another story so no need to lookout for good news.
I really don't like the way many on here jump on new posters questioning their every comment. I am not saying you do but it is just bizarre and puts new poster off.
Hibeewilly
30-11-2017, 06:12 PM
These bust ups or whatever happen all the time....great to hear he is in the squad for Sat. I agree with NL...I think we'll see a determined Stokesy and Hibs will be the winners there because class always shines through. Hope he's in the team for the calendar signing tonight!!
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 06:14 PM
Fair dos. Anyone saying the stuff you said needs to have a word. He is an utter legend of a player and a god for what he done that day in May. ****ing love Stokesy.
Seriously why post about him only having 24 posts he claimed to have heard something he obviously. Nothing more to be said, why join in the thread now to put him down.
I really don't like the way many on here jump on new posters questioning their every comment. I am not saying you do but it is just bizarre and puts new poster off.
I can see your point about new posters being overly criticised but my point is that this was potentially the biggest story to come out of Easter Road this season and it was broken by someone with 20 odd posts, i wouldn't expect anything other than a mixed reception.
I know it was obviously discussed on PM board and if the first posters breaking the story had the history of Scoopy or the Cat then it would have played out differently but the reason they kept it there was probably the trouble it could have potentially caused to a weak manager so again people are wondering at the motive. Thankfully Lennon is not weak and has handled it in a way that may actually get more out of the squad, time will tell and hopefully will be the case.
If the OP is a genuine ITK lad then we'll see some good stories he'll no doubt get praise for posting. I am totally NITK, don't know players, agents or managers, although I do know a good fish delivery driver, so cannot provide good or bad news i'm afraid.
30-11-2017, 06:32 PM
I can see your point about new posters being overly criticised but my point is that this was potentially the biggest story to come out of Easter Road this season and it was broken by someone with 20 odd posts, i wouldn't expect anything other than a mixed reception.
I know it was obviously discussed on PM board and if the first posters breaking the story had the history of Scoopy or the Cat then it would have played out differently but the reason they kept it there was probably the trouble it could have potentially caused to a weak manager so again people are wondering at the motive. Thankfully Lennon is not weak and has handled it in a way that may actually get more out of the squad, time will tell and hopefully will be the case.
If the OP is a genuine ITK lad then we'll see some good stories he'll no doubt get praise for posting. I am totally NITK, don't know players, agents or managers, although I do know a good fish delivery driver, so cannot provide good or bad news i'm afraid.
So if someone is ITK you will only give the poster credit for delivering good news rather than bad news stories? Unless the ITK guy is recognised as an established ITK?
30-11-2017, 06:39 PM
Fair dos. Anyone saying the stuff you said needs to have a word. He is an utter legend of a player and a god for what he done that day in May. ****ing love Stokesy.
:top marks:fire:
30-11-2017, 06:40 PM
I will hay wan ton o cod and a ton o hawdack :greengrin
So if someone is ITK you will only give the poster credit for delivering good news rather than bad news stories? Unless the ITK guy is recognised as an established ITK?
Not at all, i am saying that i can see why the OP was met with scepticism/abuse.
I will hay wan ton o cod and a ton o hawdack :greengrin
Now you're talking!
And i didn't mean codswallop:greengrin
30-11-2017, 06:45 PM
2 goals and a man of the match performance on 21st May 16.
I ****ing love Anthony Stokes.
30-11-2017, 07:29 PM
I think this whole incident might turn out to be a positive and we get the best out of him now.
30-11-2017, 07:32 PM
I think this whole incident might turn out to be a positive and we get the best out of him now.
Could well be the case. Maybe it was needed and now he knows where he stands and can get on with the footballing side of it. He seemed in good spirits tonight at the calendar signing.
30-11-2017, 07:52 PM
Maybe posters won't be so quick to jump then hun in the future either regardless of someone's post count.
They're fair game :tee hee:
30-11-2017, 08:16 PM
I sense that might well be the case. It's been well handled by Lennon and Hibs.
30-11-2017, 08:25 PM
It's wait and see time. Some folk are born obstinate, we live in hope though.
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 08:51 PM
They're fair game :tee hee:
Don't tell Jim Traynor though 😁
30-11-2017, 08:58 PM
I sense that might well be the case. It's been well handled by Lennon and Hibs.
Without knowing fully what happened, I'd agree with you.
There is only going to be one winner if a player decides to take on Neil Lennon.
Looking forward to seeing a rejuvenated Stokes back in the fold and rating to go. We need him.
30-11-2017, 09:00 PM
Without knowing fully what happened, I'd agree with you.
There is only going to be one winner if a player decides to take on Neil Lennon.
Looking forward to seeing a rejuvenated Stokes back in the fold and rating to go. We need him.
Without knowing what happened I have no idea if it has been well handled or if this is even the end of it. If what Lennon has said is right, then great, but we will find that out in the weeks to come.
30-11-2017, 09:41 PM
2 goals and a man of the match performance on 21st May 16.
I ****ing love Anthony Stokes.
We all do Matty, but does that mean he can do anything he wants?
30-11-2017, 10:03 PM
We all do Matty, but does that mean he can do anything he wants?
More or less. :greengrin
30-11-2017, 10:13 PM
Its not the first time and it wont be the last. If he can be replaced in January he should be....
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 10:17 PM
More or less. :greengrin
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 10:20 PM
Its not the first time and it wont be the last. If he can be replaced in January he should be....
There's no way we attract that calibre of player.
Stokes now knows NL is boss and tough love might be the best option, I hope.
Losing McGinn and Stokes in January is unthinkable. Stokes has had a boot in the baws for thinking he's too good to be here, let's hope it works.
djs69
30-11-2017, 10:29 PM
Riordan had his issues, Griffiths had his issues, they’re only human, and the odd player with “baggage” is part of the game .....
30-11-2017, 10:34 PM
Seriously why post about him only having 24 posts he claimed to have heard something he obviously had. Nothing more to be said, why join in the thread now to put him down.
I really don't like the way many on here jump on new posters questioning their every comment. I am not saying you do but it is just bizarre and puts new poster off.What about the thread started by another low post count member asking about Hearts players we grudgingly respect?
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
Losing McGinn and Stokes in January is unthinkable. Stokes has had a boot in the baws for thinking he's too good to be here, let's hope it works.
No point in having that calibre of player if he's out on the lash regularly, missing training and playing poorly, Stokes on his day is one of the best in the league but he's had previous for this sort of thing, it'snow up to him.
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 10:52 PM
No point in having that calibre of player if he's out on the lash regularly, missing training and playing poorly, Stokes on his day is one of the best in the league but he's had previous for this sort of thing, it'snow up to him.
I agree and if anyone can get that through to him it will be Lennon.
It's a major tough one because regardless of what his attitude I can't see past Stokes because of Cummings doon the line and him answering my prayers in the final when he went on a one man crusade to win us all the cup. Thank Sauzee I'm not in charge.
30-11-2017, 10:54 PM
Many times have we thought we couldn’t get a player because he’s to good then got him. Done it a few times and Lennon being here is a huge pull too. Don’t underestimate Hibs getting a cracking player in come Jan or summer.
Firestarter
30-11-2017, 10:58 PM
Many times have we thought we couldn’t get a player because he’s to good then got him. Done it a few times and Lennon being here is a huge pull too. Don’t underestimate Hibs getting a cracking player in come Jan or summer.
Adam Rooney was our number one target in he summer apparently before Stokes, him and Murray/Boyle would work well.
I would just hate it to go to **** with Stokesy.
147lothian
01-12-2017, 08:06 AM
:lolyam:
Some absolute drivel being posted by fantasists on here. Zero proof he's fell out with Lennon. Seems like he's being targeted by certain Hibs fans who don't like him every week.
Post that nonsense on kickback.idiot.
It's unconfirmed because you made it up, next thing is you'll be telling us you're a ST holder at ER🤣
Its a fan's forum and people are going to post opinions, I personally like reading them and take opinions on a FF for what they are, I bet the quick of the mark responders who like try to discredit posters by name calling (as in the above) are feeling a bit silly now!
01-12-2017, 08:57 AM
wouldnt surprise me to see rooney come in jan
Souter96Mac
01-12-2017, 09:11 AM
Not condoning Stokes' behaviour, but if he didn't have his baggage, he'd be at a better club. He's got a big month ahead to put things right, but I've got faith in him. Need to get behind the whole team for this difficult month.
01-12-2017, 09:15 AM
wouldnt surprise me to see rooney come in jan
Why would Aberdeen let him leave? He's a great player.
01-12-2017, 09:16 AM
Adam Rooney was our number one target in he summer apparently before Stokes, him and Murray/Boyle would work well.
Moult was our No 1 target
Sounds to me like Stokes is testing his boundaries and seeing what he can get away with given his status at the club.
Hopefully being dismissed from training and dropped from the squad is enough to make him realise Lennon won't accept too much nonsense from him despite being one of our star players and he takes the hint to cut the crap and knuckle down.
He could easily play well for another 4 or 5 seasons at this level but if he continues on the way he has been then he will find himself struggling to get a decent club & wage for whats left of his career.
Stokes is twice the player Rooney is.
I’d rather have the mad Irishman.
01-12-2017, 09:40 AM
Stokes is twice the player Rooney is.
I’d rather have the mad Irishman.
Both Irish🤣
Both Irish🤣
Only one is mad though. 😆
01-12-2017, 09:48 AM
Moult was our No 1 target
Correct.
01-12-2017, 09:50 AM
Actually Moult was. Hibs asked about him twice during the window!
renato
01-12-2017, 10:08 AM
Only one is mad though. 😆
Reminds me of the mad Irishman from Braveheart, “I’m the most wanted man on my island. Yeah...it’s mine.”
Accompanied with mad Irish grin :greengrin
I think we all knew and accepted Stokes came with baggage. I think he's done okay so far however this episode effectively ends the honeymoon period and hopefully we see, as Lennon has stated, a highly motivated Stokes in the coming weeks. I wonder if that means if he doesn't knuckle down in December then he's out, with whatever he's done being enough for us to terminate his contract without compensation.
Anyway, still love the guy and hope he doesn't let down the fans who feel the same.
Think I'll put a cheeky wee fiver on a Stokes hat-trick tomorrow.
Firestarter
01-12-2017, 10:42 AM
Actually Moult was. Hibs asked about him twice during the window!
Lennon was after Rooney in the summer. No doubt about it.
01-12-2017, 10:50 AM
I think we all knew and accepted Stokes came with baggage. I think he's done okay so far however this episode effectively ends the honeymoon period and hopefully we see, as Lennon has stated, a highly motivated Stokes in the coming weeks. I wonder if that means if he doesn't knuckle down in December then he's out, with whatever he's done being enough for us to terminate his contract without compensation.
Anyway, still love the guy and hope he doesn't let down the fans who feel the same.
Think I'll put a cheeky wee fiver on a Stokes hat-trick tomorrow.
Agreed. He is, on his day, a fantastic asset and would not be at Hibs if his mindset was consistently what it needs to be. He's clearly guy who by and large lives life on his own terms, and I think John McGinn's comment that he 'changes his phone number like the weather' sums up the sort of bloke he is.
While you do wonder how well he gels with the rest of the squad, nine goals in 13 starts is still very decent going and if he can get his head right under Lennon he could prove priceless to the team over the next few weeks.
01-12-2017, 10:51 AM
Lennon was after Rooney in the summer. No doubt about it.
Yeah you are correct, Moult was his No.1 target though. We had another striker on our radar from down south never got a name maybe someone on here knows it?
01-12-2017, 11:29 AM
Its not the first time and it wont be the last. If he can be replaced in January he should be....Harsh...considering u don't know the facts and a player of that quality won't be easily replaced on our budget.
No he shouldn't get away with things and clearly he is not...but to early for talk of binning him.
Firestarter
01-12-2017, 11:32 AM
Yeah you are correct, Moult was his No.1 target though. We had another striker on our radar from down south never got a name maybe someone on here knows it?
Brummie_Hibs
01-12-2017, 11:38 AM
I wonder if that means if he doesn't knuckle down in December then he's out, with whatever he's done being enough for us to terminate his contract without compensation.
Or Lennon has said that he'll give Stokes the next few weeks to put himself in the shop window ready for sale in the transfer window. Hence the expected improvement in performance in the next few weeks.
Firestarter
01-12-2017, 11:42 AM
Or Lennon has said that he'll give Stokes the next few weeks to put himself in the shop window ready for sale in the transfer window. Hence the expected improvement in performance in the next few weeks.
With the month coming up there's no way Lennon would only play him to shop window him. Lennon will pick the best team to go out and win matches, no doubts whatsoever.
Crazyhorse
01-12-2017, 11:42 AM
Sounds to me like Stokes is testing his boundaries and seeing what he can get away with given his status at the club.
Hopefully being dismissed from training and dropped from the squad is enough to make him realise Lennon won't accept too much nonsense from him despite being one of our star players and he takes the hint to cut the crap and knuckle down.
He could easily play well for another 4 or 5 seasons at this level but if he continues on the way he has been then he will find himself struggling to get a decent club & wage for whats left of his career.
Would be nice to think he could settle down and play football especially at his age. But he seems easily distracted and has wasted a lot of his career dicking about.
01-12-2017, 11:43 AM
im thinking that but he would be great with simon murray up top 2 ginger goal machines
01-12-2017, 11:59 AM
Not getting a lot of game time at Aberdeen these days.
01-12-2017, 11:59 AM
So it was true after all!
Godsahibby
01-12-2017, 12:10 PM
Rooney is exactly the sort of player we need up top, mobile and strong someone who can properly lead the line. Would be surprised if Lennon isn't looking at him.
01-12-2017, 12:27 PM
Seems to be a bit of a fallacy on here with regards to the effectiveness of Rooney. All the Aberdeen fans I know claim to have seen more movement from a traffic cone.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
Seems to be a bit of a fallacy on here with regards to the effectiveness of Rooney. All the Aberdeen fans I know claim to have seen more movement from a traffic cone.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk61 goals in 126 games, no too shabby for a traffic cone.
01-12-2017, 12:41 PM
61 goals in 126 games, no too shabby for a traffic cone.With wingers he is a good 6 yard box striker, according to the sheep. So I guess he'd work well with what we have right now, but "mobile" he definitely is not.
01-12-2017, 01:41 PM
problem for Stokes is, he is at a club where the fans love him and he fits in well, although he is a good goalscorer, if he can´t settle at Hibs then where will he settle, he can try putting himself in the shop window but I really think he may have shot himself in the foot if he wants away.
01-12-2017, 03:41 PM
With wingers he is a good 6 yard box striker, according to the sheep. So I guess he'd work well with what we have right now, but "mobile" he definitely is not.
A player who hangs about 6yd box and not much else would do very well at Hibs IMO, Stokes and Murray both good but we need that option of a Kris Boyd type does nowt for 80mins then scores.
IlDiavola
01-12-2017, 03:56 PM
Firstly, this is unconfirmed, however I'm hearing the two have had a massive bust up behind the scenes. According to what I've heard (and I for one hope it's not true), Stokes won't pull on a Hibs jersey again whilst Lennon is in charge. No doubt see what comes out (if anything!) in the next few days.
The guy Roberts posts a rumour he's heard.
It turns out to be incorrect.
An apology is asked for, even though the OP was in fact wrong.
This post suggests the rumour was in fact correct. Which it clearly wasn't.
This post defends new posters or posters with low post counts. This is quite the correct thing to do Sammy. :thumbsup:
Apologies for such a long post but, either I am not following the chain of events in this story, or there is a lot of confusion here!
The 'rumour' appears to be false from the OP but folk are asking that said OP gets an apology from some for discrediting him.
I just don't follow this one. Sorry if it's me that's mixed up. :confused:
01-12-2017, 04:55 PM
Rumours are just that.
As the Russians, Trump and the Trolls have shown the internet doesn’t half have a way of blunting itself.
But life’s too short
So live, love and be merry. And don’t get too up or too down on rumours.
01-12-2017, 04:58 PM
Rumours are just that.
As the Russians, Trump and the Trolls have shown the internet doesn’t half have a way of blunting itself.
But life’s too short
So live, love and be merry. And don’t get too up or too down on rumours.
Well said 👍🏼 Sometimes we all get caught up in things posted (myself included) but end of the day it’s not life or death.
01-12-2017, 05:23 PM
Well said [emoji1360] Sometimes we all get caught up in things posted (myself included) but end of the day it’s not life or death.I've sparked up the incense - everyone round to mine for a .net group hug.
Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk
01-12-2017, 05:37 PM
I've sparked up the incense - everyone round to mine for a .net group hug.
Bloody hippy......
Firestarter
01-12-2017, 05:40 PM
Well said 👍🏼 Sometimes we all get caught up in things posted (myself included) but end of the day it’s not life or death.
It's life or death when some pleb calls you a Jambo. Happened to me on here more than once and it's not a nice feeling. One of the very few things in fact that winds me up.(apart from her indoors)
01-12-2017, 05:41 PM
Bloody hippy......You're harshing my buzz man, but I still love you.
01-12-2017, 05:41 PM
You're harshing my buzz man, but I still love you.
It's life or death when some pleb calls you a Jambo. Happened to me on here more than once and it's not a nice feeling. One of the very few things in fact that winds me up.(apart from her indoors)
Happened to me as well, I now consider it to be a right of passage for all new posters. :greengrin
01-12-2017, 06:05 PM
Quite right.It’s much more important than that.Eh wait a minute?
01-12-2017, 06:10 PM
I've sparked up the incense - everyone round to mine for a .net group hug.
Do we need to bring beers or can you supply those too?
01-12-2017, 06:27 PM
Do we need to bring beers or can you supply those too?That depends, can you cut shapes while holding a beer? All I've got are whistles and glow sticks....big fish little fish baby!!
01-12-2017, 06:34 PM
Do we need to bring beers or can you supply those too?
Beer? Troglodyte. I'm only coming round if there's some nice Chardonnay available.....
01-12-2017, 06:46 PM
Will forever be grateful to Stokes for his heroics on 21.05.16 but he can't live off that. If he's being disruptive then Lennon is right to clamp down on it.
Stokes has been known to have a bit of an ego and a bit of an attitude. I'm just glad we have a manager like Lennon who will absolutely not tolerate that sort of thing.
Hopefully whatever happened is done, dusted and not repeated.
01-12-2017, 06:53 PM
Wonder how some of the prissy's on .net would have coped with the off field antics of Alex Edwards et al.......
01-12-2017, 06:56 PM
Wonder how some of the prissy's on .net would have coped with the off field antics of Alex Edwards et al.......
Or George Best
01-12-2017, 06:57 PM
Beer? Troglodyte. I'm only coming round if there's some nice Chardonnay available.....
You can sit on your own I’ll be in with the riff raff drinking crap beer 😁
01-12-2017, 06:58 PM
That depends, can you cut shapes while holding a beer? All I've got are whistles and glow sticks....big fish little fish baby!!
I can do the splits 😎
01-12-2017, 07:02 PM
You can sit on your own I’ll be in with the riff raff drinking crap beer 😁
Probably straight from the bottle as well ya peasant......
01-12-2017, 07:20 PM
Probably straight from the bottle as well ya peasant......
You know me well! 😁