View Full Version : Tonight’s games

22-11-2017, 06:48 PM
Celtic 1-0 up against PSG

22-11-2017, 06:49 PM
Haha that's just going to make PSG angry!

22-11-2017, 06:55 PM
1-1 Neymar

22-11-2017, 06:55 PM
They make it look so easy.

22-11-2017, 06:56 PM
1-1 Neymar

22-11-2017, 06:57 PM
They make it look so easy.

Horrible club which reeks of financial doping. Just another Chelsea/Man City.

22-11-2017, 06:59 PM
Basel V United for me. Lots of changes by Morinho; only a draw required to win the group.

22-11-2017, 07:01 PM

PSG funded by multi-billionaires, Celtc funded by a billionaire tax avoider. Stuff them both.

22-11-2017, 07:02 PM
Wolves 1-0 Leeds.

Pleasing

22-11-2017, 07:04 PM

Yeah I'm suspending my disbelief about the morals of it all and enjoying top notch footballers ripping Celtc open at will thanks very much :greengrin

22-11-2017, 07:04 PM
I know it's fashionable to criticise the Champions' League as boring.

I'm watching Juventus vs Barcelona though and enjoying it massively. It's very much a game of chess.

The technique on show is simply on a different level to what we see in the UK.

22-11-2017, 07:07 PM

I'm watching Juventus vs Barcelona though and enjoying it massively. It's very much a game of chess.

There's loads to criticise no doubt but I prefer to just enjoy watching some of the world's best players playing football.

22-11-2017, 07:09 PM
2-1 PSG

Neymar again

Haha get in there Neymar. Chris Sutton sounds gutted. Brilliant.

PSG 2-1 Celtic. Neymar again

22-11-2017, 07:11 PM
Really hope PSG roast Celtic by 5 or 6.

22-11-2017, 07:12 PM
Basel have been poor so far. United should be ahead.

22-11-2017, 07:13 PM
Wolves 2-0 Leeds

Lovely

22-11-2017, 07:15 PM
Yaasss come on 3-1

22-11-2017, 07:17 PM
Think this could be a barrow load

22-11-2017, 07:18 PM

Despite the lack of goals it's been a cracker so far.

e2los
22-11-2017, 07:18 PM
Neymar is ridiculously good.

2 goals and the assist for the 3rd so far.

Don't really want to see Celtic hugely embarrassed as they are a Scottish club, but it's looking inevitable tonight.

22-11-2017, 07:20 PM
Neymar is ridiculously good.

2 goals and the assist for the 3rd so far.

Don't really want to see Celtic hugely embarrassed as they are a Scottish club, but it's looking inevitable tonight.

I just feel it puts Scottish football in such a bad light

22-11-2017, 07:20 PM

There's loads to criticise no doubt but I prefer to just enjoy watching some of the world's best players playing football.

Some of the first touches are reminiscent of David Murphy :greengrin

Absolute joy to watch two of the biggest club names in football playing well. The technical ability puts one in mind of great World Cup games, usually after the group stages, when you get the likes of Holland,Italy, Brazil and Argentina competing in the knock-out. Measured, patient football between very skilled sides.

22-11-2017, 07:22 PM
4-1 😂😂

22-11-2017, 07:22 PM
4-1 PSG

35 minutes gone 🙈

e2los
22-11-2017, 07:23 PM
Not looking good for Celtic or Scottish football.

22-11-2017, 07:24 PM

They are about to be record scorers in group stage - it's not about Celtic being poor, PSG are incredible.

22-11-2017, 07:25 PM
Not looking good for Celtic or Scottish football.

I couldn’t care less about how it looks on Scottish football, I hope they get a serious doing.

22-11-2017, 07:26 PM
Shouldn’t really laugh but ..... 🤣🤣🤣

22-11-2017, 07:26 PM
They are about to be record scorers in group stage - it's not about Celtic being poor, PSG are incredible.

Exactly.

22-11-2017, 07:28 PM

e2los
22-11-2017, 07:30 PM

Yeah, not exactly getting any better.

It's like watching Peru V Scotland in 1978, but worse.

Celtic are pretty good, but PSG are on such a different level.

PSG are cheating though with a team value of over £632 Million.

22-11-2017, 07:30 PM
Despite the lack of goals it's been a cracker so far.

Really enjoying this game, it reminds me of a heavyweight bout, at some point you imagine someone will land a big punch.

I think Barca have looked more composed but I think Juve have looked more likely to score.

22-11-2017, 07:31 PM
Just taken Scott Brown to be carded 2nd half, and a penalty 2nd half.

Both seem pretty good odds at 3/1

Mon the Neymar 😂😂

22-11-2017, 07:32 PM
PSG fans singing flower of Scotland for some reason?

22-11-2017, 07:33 PM

:agree::confused:

22-11-2017, 07:33 PM
0-0 in Basel, though United have hit the post and the bar.

22-11-2017, 07:34 PM
I don't think it throws a bad light on Scottish football necessarily. Most English premier sides would succumb to the skills of PSG.

They did spend a fair amount of cash putting the team together after all and, as we know, money talks.

22-11-2017, 07:35 PM

Mid-sized clubs with very wealthy benefactors. None of them would be near this level otherwise.

e2los

They didn't do a bad job of it either.

4-1 at half time.

Are Celtic fans booing it?

22-11-2017, 07:37 PM

Weird thing to sing to an Irish club.

22-11-2017, 07:37 PM

FRENCH football champions Paris St Germain have changed their theme tune to
Flower of Scotland.

The glittering side – who feature superstars like Swedish striker Zlatan
Ibrahimovic and Brazilian defender David Luiz – have been running out to
Phil Collins’ hit Who Said I Would, since 1992 at their Parc de Princes
stadium.

The track was on the ex-Genesis legend’s 1985 smash album No Jacket Required.

But after the recent terror attacks, fans belted out O Ville Lumiere – the
French version of the iconic Scots song – as the players took to the field.

And the switch has gone down so well with clubs bosses, it’s now set to become
permanent.

The song is adapted from The Corries anthem Flower of Scotland.

It’s exactly the same music, with French lyrics written in to fit the tune.

But not all the fans are behind the move.

A source said: “A lot of the supporters prefer the Phil Collins track.

“As it’s more upbeat and gets the blood pumping.

“Whereas their version of Flower of Scotland is more poignant and
dignified.

“But it seems the directors want to make the change for that reason.”

22-11-2017, 07:38 PM

It’s not only against PSG tho, it’s been most games

22-11-2017, 07:40 PM
Mid-sized clubs with very wealthy benefactors. None of them would be near this level otherwise.

City are self sufficient now. :agree:

22-11-2017, 07:41 PM
It's the Neymar show. Outstanding !

22-11-2017, 07:46 PM
City are self sufficient now. :agree:

22-11-2017, 07:48 PM

Except when they went to Anderlecht and won 3 nil. They played well against Bayern at home and they'll most likely be in the Europa League after Christmas. Realistically that's a good outcome for them from that group.

22-11-2017, 07:48 PM

They beat Anderlecht away 3-0, Bayern beat them 2-1 in the last match.

Hardly constant rammings.

SJNB Hibby
22-11-2017, 08:05 PM
and Anderlecht now losing to BM---stays taht way and Sellick just need to not lose by 3 at home to get into the Europa League

SJNB Hibby
22-11-2017, 08:11 PM
and anderlecht now losing to bm---stays taht way and sellick just need to not lose by 3 at home to get into the europa league

oops!!

22-11-2017, 08:12 PM
Basel have now hit the bar. Lucky escape for United.

22-11-2017, 08:17 PM
Basel have now hit the bar. Lucky escape for United.

A club that have spent the money Utd have should be wiping the floor with teams like Basel. They should be at a certain level all the time.

22-11-2017, 08:20 PM
5-1 psg

22-11-2017, 08:21 PM
Celtic have just been killed as a club.

22-11-2017, 08:21 PM

10-1 on aggregate so far. Killed twice.

22-11-2017, 08:23 PM
Make that 6-1

6-1

6-1 psg.

22-11-2017, 08:25 PM
7-1 🙈

SJNB Hibby
22-11-2017, 08:25 PM
2-1 Bayern Munich
Anderlecht only scored 1 goal in the group--hard to believe they could score 3 in 1 game

22-11-2017, 08:26 PM
7-1

C’mon get double figures and really rub it in. 😂

Iniesta gets a standing ovation from the Juventus supporters when subbed, supporters that appreciate quality.

22-11-2017, 08:27 PM
wow :7: watch out motherwell

PSG have scored 24 so far in their group.

Some goal for number 7 from Dani Alves.

vuefrom1875
22-11-2017, 08:29 PM
Hopefully double figures 😀😀

22-11-2017, 08:30 PM
Nobody will want to draw PSG in the last sixteen. I hope Liverpool draw them :greengrin

22-11-2017, 08:31 PM
Basel 1-0 :rolleyes:

22-11-2017, 08:34 PM

Sounds like a victory for the wee guys over a bloated sky-fed mega rich club. You'll be happy about that aspect no?

😂😂😂

This night keeps getting better. 😁

22-11-2017, 08:35 PM

Sounds like a victory for the wee guys over a bloated sky-fed mega rich club. You'll be happy about that aspect no?

No, not at all. Basel deserve it second half; United stopped playing, seemingly happy to take 0-0. Very sloppy but only themselves to blame.

22-11-2017, 08:36 PM
Without a word of a lie, I honestly said to my mum when it was 1-0 to Celtic that PSG would probably go on to win about 7-1 now!

Anyone hazard a guess at what sort of odds I would have got at that particular time for that result!?

22-11-2017, 08:38 PM
Guffaw, guffaw, guffaw.

22-11-2017, 08:40 PM
Terrible blow for Scottish football tonight in Paris.

But you know what? I think I'm going to be able to 'man up' and get over it.

22-11-2017, 08:40 PM
If you switch off at Champions League level, teams can punish you. Rather complacent from United second half. Some of the fringe players aren't good enough, too, which needs addressing.

22-11-2017, 08:41 PM
Two embarrassing results for British football.

Without a word of a lie, I honestly said to my mum when it was 1-0 to Celtic that PSG would probably go on to win about 7-1 now!

Anyone hazard a guess at what sort of odds I would have got at that particular time for that result!?

Evens?

Thought celtic made a very good fist of going for 10 in a row tonight.

22-11-2017, 08:42 PM
Have the "they just don't have the right competition in Scotland" conversation started on sportsound yet?

22-11-2017, 08:43 PM
Evens?

Surely not!? :confused:

22-11-2017, 08:45 PM
Have the "they just don't have the right competition in Scotland" conversation started on sportsound yet?

Yes or the financial gulf is too big, while forgetting someone like Scott Brown is probably on more a week than most teams weekly budget.

Doesn't matter what competition they have in Scotland, when a team can spend £350 million on two attackers (Neymar and Mbappe), there isn't much you can do, other than hope for the best. No team will want to draw PSG.

Green Cabbage 7
I’d like to thank Celtic for taking that stat away from us, worst aggregate score 12-2 cheers Celtic 😂😂😂

22-11-2017, 08:46 PM

Sorry bad joke! Probably 10-1 or something like that

22-11-2017, 08:46 PM

Very much doubt you’d get more than 7’s.

22-11-2017, 08:48 PM
I’d like to thank Celtic for taking that stat away from us, worst aggregate score 12-2 cheers Celtic 😂😂😂

12-1 they lost 5-0 at home:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

22-11-2017, 08:49 PM
Very much doubt you’d get more than 7’s.

Sorry bad joke! Probably 10-1 or something like that

Haha no problem, I thought it might be a joke but wasn't sure!

Yeah I was thinking it would have been something like 7 or 8-1.

I wouldn't have thought it would have been massively long odds but still a decent amount considering they were 1-0 down at the time and also scoring 7 goals in any match isn't very common.

22-11-2017, 08:50 PM
12-1 they lost 5-0 at home:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

That's annihilation. 12-1 man; bad, really bad.

Clerie Green
22-11-2017, 08:51 PM
I couldn’t care less about how it looks on Scottish football, I hope they get a serious doing.
Why ?

22-11-2017, 08:51 PM

Do people still think this 5 year old joke is funny?

22-11-2017, 08:53 PM

On the contrary, I think its good, really good

22-11-2017, 08:54 PM

Yep it's all the fault of us little guys. Back in the day when actually winning the European cup was more important than just being in it and making tons and tons of cash Celtic were actual contenders as were Dundee Utd, Aberdeen, der Hun and even ourselves Killie, Dundee even Dunfermline actually did well in Europe. Nowadays money breeds money but to get on you either need to have billions pumped in by Sky - EPL or have sqillionaire owners Man City, PSG etc. Sorry to sound like an old miserable ******* but it really was better before champions league. There were always bigger clubs but the gulf now is astronomical.

22-11-2017, 08:55 PM

I think Arsenal lost 10-2 last year or the year before. And just for you jodjam, it was 5-1 in each leg.

22-11-2017, 08:57 PM
I think Arsenal lost 10-2 last year or the year before. And just for you jodjam, it was 5-1 in each leg.

Aye, Bayern leathered them.

22-11-2017, 08:58 PM

Sorry I'll ask permission next time.

22-11-2017, 09:01 PM
Why ?

Because I really don’t like Celtic and my only concern for a Scottish side is Hibs. Horrible club!

22-11-2017, 09:04 PM
Celtic fans seem to be taking this quite badly

22-11-2017, 09:05 PM

Big time, Twitter is hilarious with them. Shame it was only 7.

22-11-2017, 09:06 PM

I don't know why.

The gap between them and PSG is similar to the gap between them and Annan Athletic in Scottish terms.

22-11-2017, 09:08 PM
Wonder if the Scottish press will now stop going on about Brendan Rogers like he is some kind of Saint who has single handedly transformed scottish football. Will they get as hard a time as we got after Malmo? Not a ****ing chance

22-11-2017, 09:09 PM
Seems like it’s Ross Countys fault.

hibsfan7
22-11-2017, 09:30 PM
celtic should let some other team win the league and then they would not get hammered in europe

delbert
22-11-2017, 09:31 PM
Wonder if the Scottish press will now stop going on about Brendan Rogers like he is some kind of Saint who has single handedly transformed scottish football. Will they get as hard a time as we got after Malmo? Not a ****ing chance

Exactly what I was thinking, Hibs were absolutely pilloried, particularly by Sportsound, for embarrassing Scottish football after the Malmo result. There is not a chance in hell that St Brendan and his invisibles will be subject to the same level of abuse or downright hilarity that our defeat was greeted with, rather sympathy and understanding like the mourning of a beloved relative. The hypocrisy shown towards both sides of anything to do with the Bigot Brothers by these sickening sycophants is cringeworthy but never a surprise !

22-11-2017, 09:38 PM
Didn't even realise Celtic were playing tonight, but that is a hilarious result.

22-11-2017, 09:43 PM
Maybe the Scottish sports press will stop it now with this 'unbeatables' tagline - that ended after Lincoln Red Imps after all :aok: - seems to have by-passed the media here :agree:

12-1 on aggregate over two legs is an absolute embarrassment regardless of budgets.

22-11-2017, 09:57 PM
On the contrary, I think its good, really good

I think it's great. Maybe just maybe Motherwell can do them over too.

22-11-2017, 11:00 PM
Just watched stv's highlights. Even the English presenter got things wrong. Said Celtic have won all 9 of their home home games this season. Since when was a fortunate 2-2 draw (for them) a win?

22-11-2017, 11:02 PM
First three games in the highlights on ITV have been total mismatches. Honestly, it doesn’t matter that Utd lost tonight, they were only mucking about and their front two are probably worth more than Basel. Chelsea are worth more than the entire league Quarabag play in while Neymar and his wages are worth more than our entire four divisions.

The gap between the haves and have-nots is getting bigger IMO. It’s even more depressing when you consider how dominant and relatively rich some of the champions league whipping boys, such as Celtic are domestically. More and more of these matches are becoming pointless and non-spectacles.

Yes, it’s the ultimate in our sport but It kind of makes you want to turn it off.

22-11-2017, 11:21 PM
Football is getting a bit like watching Mohammed Ali fight a guy in the pub.
Actually, such mis-matches that there are in football these days wouldn't be allowed in the boxing world.

22-11-2017, 11:36 PM
Exactly what I was thinking, Hibs were absolutely pilloried, particularly by Sportsound, for embarrassing Scottish football after the Malmo result. There is not a chance in hell that St Brendan and his invisibles will be subject to the same level of abuse or downright hilarity that our defeat was greeted with, rather sympathy and understanding like the mourning of a beloved relative. The hypocrisy shown towards both sides of anything to do with the Bigot Brothers by these sickening sycophants is cringeworthy but never a surprise !:agree:totally agree. It was sickening to listen to comments from them re-Malmo. However, I do put my hand up and admit that I thought (for some strange reason) that Celtic could progress to the next stage of this competition, given their stature in Scottish fitba@. did not realise or understand or even show any interest about the kind of players now available to PSG, never mind Bayern Munchen.:rolleyes:

23-11-2017, 12:46 AM
Its just not a level playing field ... you have to feel for Celtic :greengrin

23-11-2017, 02:26 AM
Nice to see pileof*****-ic get creamed by teams in a league where a few teams have control of the system.

23-11-2017, 06:13 AM
Exactly what I was thinking, Hibs were absolutely pilloried, particularly by Sportsound, for embarrassing Scottish football after the Malmo result. There is not a chance in hell that St Brendan and his invisibles will be subject to the same level of abuse or downright hilarity that our defeat was greeted with, rather sympathy and understanding like the mourning of a beloved relative. The hypocrisy shown towards both sides of anything to do with the Bigot Brothers by these sickening sycophants is cringeworthy but never a surprise !

Absolutely right. :agree:

23-11-2017, 06:22 AM

:not worth :thumbsup:

23-11-2017, 06:23 AM
Thought celtic made a very good fist of going for 10 in a row tonight.

:faf::faf:

23-11-2017, 06:27 AM
Just watched stv's highlights. Even the English presenter got things wrong. Said Celtic have won all 9 of their home home games this season. Since when was a fortunate 2-2 draw (for them) a win?

They have also drawn with Killie and Saints at home in the league.

23-11-2017, 06:38 AM
The more they suffocate our league, the more they will suffer as well, which they just don't get.

Hope its 20-0 next year :na na:

23-11-2017, 07:05 AM
Yep it's all the fault of us little guys. Back in the day when actually winning the European cup was more important than just being in it and making tons and tons of cash Celtic were actual contenders as were Dundee Utd, Aberdeen, der Hun and even ourselves Killie, Dundee even Dunfermline actually did well in Europe. Nowadays money breeds money but to get on you either need to have billions pumped in by Sky - EPL or have sqillionaire owners Man City, PSG etc. Sorry to sound like an old miserable ******* but it really was better before champions league. There were always bigger clubs but the gulf now is astronomical.

Totally agree. I've no interest in the champions league bar watching spurs who were sublime v real. It's the same in horse racing where the billionaires pay ridiculous prices for horses and the little guy is left with the scraps. Scottish football is the poorest for decades anyway and this just exacerbates it. Celtic shouldn't be losing by that much though. Cue the cascarinos of this world having a field day. Got rid of BT sport as I wasn't watching the games.

23-11-2017, 07:15 AM
Listened to the sportsound podcast this morning and within 5 minutes it's the competition in the leagues fault. If that's the case where is the praise for the competition from when they beat Barcelona? Or Man Utd? Or for any of the "special" nights Celtic have had at home?

I used to want Celtic to do ok in Europe but now they can **** off as far as I'm concerned. They got done last night in the same way teams that play them get done.

Oh aye, and are they really surprised at getting such a shafting off a front line that cost €300,000,000? If so then there is more naivety at that club than I thought possible.

Tornadoes70
23-11-2017, 07:37 AM

Back in the day you refer to virtually all European clubs competed with the vast majorities of their team comprised of their country's home grown players.

Now the top clubs such as Man City and PSG etc simply buy up the best players from all over the world which allows them to build teams that are virtually impregnable against competition from outwith similarly billionaire financed clubs.

That's why its become boring to some of us as its now an elite super rich club league system with the same elite super rich clubs more or less competing against each other every year with virtually zero challenge coming from clubs here in Scotland who mostly have to sell in order just to survive.

One answer would be to restrict the amount of foreign players allowed to play in one team but that could be deemed incompatible with the EU's freedom of movement ideals therefore its unlikely that would come about.

23-11-2017, 07:45 AM
Back in the day you refer to virtually all European clubs competed with the vast majorities of their team comprised of their country's home grown players.

Now the top clubs such as Man City and PSG etc simply buy up the best players from all over the world which allows them to build teams that are virtually impregnable against competition from outwith similarly billionaire financed clubs.

That's why its become boring to some of us as its now an elite super rich club league system with the same elite super rich clubs more or less competing against each other every year with virtually zero challenge coming from clubs here in Scotland who mostly have to sell in order just to survive.

One answer would be to restrict the amount of foreign players allowed to play in one team but that could be deemed incompatible with the EU's freedom of movement ideals therefore its unlikely that would come about.

UEFA/FIFA would never allow that as it would limit the abilities of the big teams to spend the tens of millions that make European football a giant pissing contest and generate the interest it carries in the process.

23-11-2017, 07:55 AM
I thought some of the football in the Celtc game was brilliant. Not from Celtc though.

The Liverpool Sevilla game was great entertainment tae.

The big teams with the money just buy everyone and are miles ahead of wee teams...well Basle beat Man Utd last night.

52 goals in the Champions League this week. Boring? Nah, no for me.

It's no like it was back in the "good old days"...what is?

If you dinnae like it, nobody's forcing you to watch it.

Brunswickbill
23-11-2017, 08:15 AM
UEFA/FIFA would never allow that as it would limit the abilities of the big teams to spend the tens of millions that make European football a giant pissing contest and generate the interest it carries in the process.

No doubt after brexit they will stop the flow of foreign players into English clubs and get back to the three lions spirit. Ahem.🙄

23-11-2017, 08:48 AM
I thought some of the football in the Celtc game was brilliant. Not from Celtc though.

The Liverpool Sevilla game was great entertainment tae.

The big teams with the money just buy everyone and are miles ahead of wee teams...well Basle beat Man Utd last night.

52 goals in the Champions League this week. Boring? Nah, no for me.

It's no like it was back in the "good old days"...what is?

If you dinnae like it, nobody's forcing you to watch it.

I've been going off Champions League football in a big way over the past few years, but this year it has been brilliant.

I've never really fallen for the EPL being the best club competition - it was always the European Cup or the early Champions League for me, but as the biggest teams have become bigger the spectacle has become poorer. I don't think football is in any way better for great clubs from smaller countries (like Ajax) being left so far behind.

The power of the big clubs is hugely off putting, but there have been loads of goals, lots of good games and some outstanding football played in this year's competition.

23-11-2017, 09:04 AM
I've been going off Champions League football in a big way over the past few years, but this year it has been brilliant.

I've never really fallen for the EPL being the best club competition - it was always the European Cup or the early Champions League for me, but as the biggest teams have become bigger the spectacle has become poorer. I don't think football is in any way better for great clubs from smaller countries (like Ajax) being left so far behind.

The power of the big clubs is hugely off putting, but there have been loads of goals, lots of good games and some outstanding football played in this year's competition.

Some of the football being played this season is magnificent :agree: I've watched some great stuff from Napoli, man city, leipzig.

23-11-2017, 11:02 AM
Football has changed beyond recognition in the last 25 years and even more so in the last decade or so with the arrival of Abramovich at Chelsea and the snowball effect that followed. I don't particularly like it but there's no point being resentful about it either, for all the pipe dreams the mega rich aren't going anywhere anytime soon.

At the top end you have some of the big, rich clubs who have always been big, rich clubs: Real Madrid, Barcelona, Manchester United, Juventus, Bayern Munich. They have been joined by the new money clubs: PSG, Chelsea, Manchester City. Whatever people think history says these clubs increasingly have a commercial structure and financial firepower that puts them in the same ballpark as the historical big guns.

You then have clubs who used to be top end clubs but have failed to keep pace with those at the top table: Liverpool, Benfica, AC Milan, Inter, Ajax, Marseille etc. With investment, a bit of luck and sorting out their commercial arm (particularly in the case of the Italian clubs) they could rejoin the very top end.

Celtic probably fall into the group behind that. Unattractive to potential investors, big fish in a small pond and unlikely to ever recapture the glory days they once enjoyed in Europe but still dominant domestically and historically a notable club.

We now fall some way behind even that. We are one of a group of teams who has known limited success, some European memories and have the hope of being as good as we can be and picking up a domestic trophy relatively often. We were never likely to benefit from the riches of the Champions League but have suffered as Sky money has bloated historically smaller English clubs to be bigger than the likes of oursleves, Hearts and Aberdeen.

Celtic need to accept that their level now is exactly what they have seen the last couple of years. Whipping boys for the top end teams and battling for 3rd place with teams not hugely dissimilar to themselves like Anderlecht. Most of us have accepted that we are never going to compete with Celtic domestically because of the disparity in financial clout, we don't like it but we get it. They seem to fail to grasp it and throw the toys out the pram when they inevitably get a beating of teams with greater financial muscle than them.

23-11-2017, 11:22 AM
Football has changed beyond recognition in the last 25 years and even more so in the last decade or so with the arrival of Abramovich at Chelsea and the snowball effect that followed. I don't particularly like it but there's no point being resentful about it either, for all the pipe dreams the mega rich aren't going anywhere anytime soon.

At the top end you have some of the big, rich clubs who have always been big, rich clubs: Real Madrid, Barcelona, Manchester United, Juventus, Bayern Munich. They have been joined by the new money clubs: PSG, Chelsea, Manchester City. Whatever people think history says these clubs increasingly have a commercial structure and financial firepower that puts them in the same ballpark as the historical big guns.

You then have clubs who used to be top end clubs but have failed to keep pace with those at the top table: Liverpool, Benfica, AC Milan, Inter, Ajax, Marseille etc. With investment, a bit of luck and sorting out their commercial arm (particularly in the case of the Italian clubs) they could rejoin the very top end.

Celtic probably fall into the group behind that. Unattractive to potential investors, big fish in a small pond and unlikely to ever recapture the glory days they once enjoyed in Europe but still dominant domestically and historically a notable club.

We now fall some way behind even that. We are one of a group of teams who has known limited success, some European memories and have the hope of being as good as we can be and picking up a domestic trophy relatively often. We were never likely to benefit from the riches of the Champions League but have suffered as Sky money has bloated historically smaller English clubs to be bigger than the likes of oursleves, Hearts and Aberdeen.

Celtic need to accept that their level now is exactly what they have seen the last couple of years. Whipping boys for the top end teams and battling for 3rd place with teams not hugely dissimilar to themselves like Anderlecht. Most of us have accepted that we are never going to compete with Celtic domestically because of the disparity in financial clout, we don't like it but we get it. They seem to fail to grasp it and throw the toys out the park when they inevitably get a beating of teams with greater financial muscle than them.

Completely agree with your analysis.

I'd also add that as the resources have been ever more concentrated in a few top clubs, I think the football we are seeing from those very top clubs is of a higher standard than it used to be.

I think Peps Man City would most of the time comfortably beat Fergies Man Utd, or Arsenal's invincibles, for example. It doesn't mean I like the way footballs gone or that it's fair, but as a purist it's very impressive watching eleven players all of whom are the top three or four in their position in the world all playing together. I have to admit I really like watching the champions league, even if I don't agree with it.

23-11-2017, 01:57 PM
https://youtu.be/i5YASPgD54Q

Rodgers being obtuse here, IMO. They've been murdered yet again in the Champions League, but he gets arsey when asked about the formation. Yes they played world class opposition, but they're taking regular gubbings now. He's very self-satisfied when talking about another domestic game unbeaten though.

23-11-2017, 01:58 PM

Celtic need to accept that their level now is exactly what they have seen the last couple of years. Whipping boys for the top end teams and battling for 3rd place with teams not hugely dissimilar to themselves like Anderlecht. Most of us have accepted that we are never going to compete with Celtic domestically because of the disparity in financial clout, we don't like it but we get it. They seem to fail to grasp it and throw the toys out the pram when they inevitably get a beating of teams with greater financial muscle than them.

23-11-2017, 05:23 PM

A top read that :thumbsup:

23-11-2017, 07:26 PM
just tuned in to Everton v Atalanta(0-1) where the heck are all the everton fans :confused: jeezo the ground is half empty you would think they were having to watch Hertz or sommit

renato
23-11-2017, 07:44 PM
Atalanta are brilliant. That’s a proper wee team with a relative shoe string budget, punching way above their weight due to a brilliant collective and a great manager. Although to be fair Gomez is a wonderful player.

23-11-2017, 08:11 PM
pen Atalanta, saved, keeper 2 yards off his line with the official standing watching it

23-11-2017, 08:12 PM
Atalanta are brilliant. That’s a proper wee team with a relative shoe string budget, punching way above their weight due to a brilliant collective and a great manager. Although to be fair Gomez is a wonderful player.

They spent about £45m on players this season. Quite a decent shoestring to be fair.

renato
23-11-2017, 08:20 PM
They spent about £45m on players this season. Quite a decent shoestring to be fair.

Net spend of £3m. Biggest fee was £12m for de Roon, all other signings c£5m or less, for a team that finished in the European places in Serie A.

Compare their net spend and wages vs the top 10 in Italy, or their opponents tonight. As I said, wee team with a relative shoestring budget. Great to see.

23-11-2017, 08:27 PM
0-2

renato
23-11-2017, 08:30 PM
Ha, the camera is bouncing along to the Atalanta fans signing and bouncing! They deserve a 3rd here, at least.

renato
23-11-2017, 08:35 PM
1-2 now, good goal by Sandro, to be fair.

23-11-2017, 08:38 PM
Completely agree with your analysis.

I'd also add that as the resources have been ever more concentrated in a few top clubs, I think the football we are seeing from those very top clubs is of a higher standard than it used to be.

I think Peps Man City would most of the time comfortably beat Fergies Man Utd, or Arsenal's invincibles, for example. It doesn't mean I like the way footballs gone or that it's fair, but as a purist it's very impressive watching eleven players all of whom are the top three or four in their position in the world all playing together. I have to admit I really like watching the champions league, even if I don't agree with it.:confused:by the same token, you are admitting that it is so good to watch, that you can hardly resist doing so. that in itself tells me that you wont stop watching, however twisted you see the system has become. It is now all about TV companies driving the vehicle, and the finishing line is to maximise viewer numbers, not only in Europe, but also China,Far East, Malaysia etc. The Americas is probably the hardest nut still to crack for these companies like Sky, in football terms but we shall see. 10 years from now they'll have a world championship league. wait and see.

renato
23-11-2017, 08:50 PM
1-3, what a goal.

Edit, 1-4!

renato
23-11-2017, 08:56 PM
1-5, Everton are deid.

23-11-2017, 09:00 PM
What is going on at Everton? Something is very wrong at that club just now.

23-11-2017, 09:10 PM
https://youtu.be/i5YASPgD54Q

Rodgers being obtuse here, IMO. They've been murdered yet again in the Champions League, but he gets arsey when asked about the formation. Yes they played world class opposition, but they're taking regular gubbings now. He's very self-satisfied when talking about another domestic game unbeaten though.first I've seen of the highlights but goodness gracious. the 5th and 7th goals were shocking from a Celtic point of view. there were seven defenders at each goal between the scorer and the posts . the 5th was worst, as they all virtually looked on as he scored.

23-11-2017, 09:16 PM
What is going on at Everton? Something is very wrong at that club just now.

Pleasing :-)

But don't worry "The People" will still love them hahahahaha

23-11-2017, 09:44 PM
Pleasing :-)

But don't worry "The People" will still love them hahahahahaI liken you to the Jambos (of Liverpool)

23-11-2017, 09:59 PM
I liken you to the Jambos (of Liverpool)

Nah wrong club, Everton are the friends of the jambo's and very much like them.

23-11-2017, 10:10 PM

Nonsense! Why so?

23-11-2017, 10:14 PM
Everton look unfit and uninterested; morale is non-existent.

23-11-2017, 10:17 PM
Nah wrong club, Everton are the friends of the jambo's and very much like them.typical respose from a jam...sorry scally:greengrin

23-11-2017, 10:24 PM
I believe that our neighbours actually have a special relationship with Liverpool. It must be true I read it on jamboshunchback.

23-11-2017, 10:33 PM
Nonsense! Why so?

Transfers between the two
Friendlies
Claim to be the "Peoples Club"
Jealous of their city rivals success
Convinced that spending big was going to turn them into top four club
****** Ground
Bitter
Training ground owned by council
Lord Mayor and council heavily involved in new ground funding
Pumped in derbies
Everton crest and memrobilia on wall in Hearts supporters club

Need I go on?

And........I've been to Goodison more times than I care to remember and witnessed their jamboesque behaviour first hand. ;-)

And even more importantly and the clincher, I'm a Red and I say so.

23-11-2017, 10:43 PM
Transfers between the two
Friendlies
Jealous of their city rivals success
Convinced that spending big was going to turn them into top four club
****** Ground
Bitter
Training ground owned by council
Lord Mayor and council heavily involved in new ground funding
Pumped in derbies
Everton crest and memrobilia on wall in Hearts supporters club

Need I go on?

And........I've been to Goodison more times than I care to remember and witnessed their jamboesque behaviour first hand. ;-)

And even more importantly and the clincher, I'm a Red and I say so.

It'll never stand up in court!

I thought we were the People's Club. When I started watching Hibs in 64 the aroma from Tynecastle was cigar smoke. From our stand? Woodbines.

24-11-2017, 01:24 AM
Ever so proud of my team Ostersunds.
Europe here we come!!!

24-11-2017, 06:09 AM
I believe that our neighbours actually have a special relationship with Liverpool. It must be true I read it on jamboshunchback.

Yep Hearts bumped Liverpool for 50k or so, Liverpool must love them for that.

24-11-2017, 08:25 AM
Europe here we come!!!

They're managed by an English guy, I believe?

24-11-2017, 09:33 AM

I've always seen Everton as the English version of Hibs. No idea why.

24-11-2017, 09:36 AM

Same. Where as I always see Liverpool as a combination of Hearts and Celtic.

24-11-2017, 09:40 AM

Nah. The yams are loud and proud about being the "Establishment Club" - which is the opposite, shirley?

24-11-2017, 10:17 AM
Come on guys, I posted a load of anti blue stuff and and told you in my mind they are like jambos! Surely you can see my point of view or at least my blinkered reasoning for it. I'm hardly going to relate Hibs with Everton now am I ;-)

24-11-2017, 11:13 AM

Me too actually.

24-11-2017, 11:17 AM
They're managed by an English guy, I believe?

Yes. I'm going to write to your Queen for a knight hood for the man!!! Honestly what he's done to my team is a nothing sort of a miracle. I love him!

24-11-2017, 11:34 AM
I've been an Atalanta fan since I watched Football Italia back in the 90s. I've no clue what attracted me to them back then (as they were utterly pish), but I just liked something about the club (I was younger than 10, so logic maybe dind't play a big part in my decision).

Been out to see them play twice in Bergamo and it's always an excellent atmosphere/experience.

24-11-2017, 01:00 PM

West Ham are Hibs IMO.

Firestarter
24-11-2017, 01:07 PM
Yes. I'm going to write to your Queen for a knight hood for the man!!! Honestly what he's done to my team is a nothing sort of a miracle. I love him!

He's done an amazing job! Bigger clubs must be surely lining him up for the future.

crewetollhibee
24-11-2017, 01:53 PM
I've been an Atalanta fan since I watched Football Italia back in the 90s. I've no clue what attracted me to them back then (as they were utterly pish), but I just liked something about the club (I was younger than 10, so logic maybe dind't play a big part in my decision).

Been out to see them play twice in Bergamo and it's always an excellent atmosphere/experience.
And, a certain Franck played for them too.....

bongo'd
24-11-2017, 02:47 PM

Billy Reid, former Hamilton manager, his assistant I believe. Always thought he'd get a decent gig in his own right once he left. Seems to have formed a decent partnership with Graham Potter.

Magnus
24-11-2017, 03:11 PM
West Ham are Hibs IMO.
Yep, as a lifelong Hammer, I would agree with this.

24-11-2017, 04:28 PM
Billy Reid, former Hamilton manager, his assistant I believe. Always thought he'd get a decent gig in his own right once he left. Seems to have formed a decent partnership with Graham Potter.

Yes. Correct, together they have done a phenomenal job. We're are the Ross County of Scotland- imagine them at the top of their group in Europe!!!

24-11-2017, 04:36 PM
Europe here we come!!!
Don't know if this is their most recent game, but 2 good goals, well done!

https://youtu.be/1fBOgciLWLk

24-11-2017, 04:39 PM
Dee are the people :greengrin

Best of luck to the dark blues

24-11-2017, 04:43 PM
West Ham are Hibs IMO.

Hibs are unique nothing comes close.:wink:

scm70nyd1973
24-11-2017, 04:56 PM
Yep, as a lifelong Hammer, I would agree with this.

And me too - well since 1980 and I only follow them not support them like the glorious (not fameoose) Cabbage.

IlDiavola
24-11-2017, 05:05 PM
Sevco losing at Dundee tonight would be very nice.

:giruy2: Rangers.

24-11-2017, 05:16 PM

I’ve dough on murty being next manager so hope not...confirm him then slide

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 05:37 PM

The position we're in we should be hoping for a Dundee win here as we're looking to finish as high in the league as is possible and finishing above the huns would be fantastic.

24-11-2017, 05:58 PM
The position we're in we should be hoping for a Dundee win here as we're looking to finish as high in the league as is possible and finishing above the huns would be fantastic.

The position we are in is irrelevant, unless a Dundee win tonight was going to relegate us, I would always want them (and almost every other team for that matter) to beat Rangers.

Mon the Dees.

24-11-2017, 05:59 PM
The position we are in is irrelevant, unless a Dundee win tonight was going to relegate us, I would always want them (and almost every other team for that matter) to beat Rangers.

Mon the Dees.

I wonder whether BT will once again turn down the microphones as the Rangers away support gives us a relentless sectarian tirade?

24-11-2017, 06:02 PM

I wonder whether BT will once again turn down the microphones as the Rangers away support gives us a relentless sectarian tirade?

It'll be described as a wonderful atmosphere as usual.

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 06:43 PM

Mon the Dees.

I take your point regarding always wanting to see the huns beaten which is a given but the position we're in does in my book give it an extra edge when we're sitting just above them in the league and looking to finish as high as is possible.

Mon the Dee.

Firestarter
24-11-2017, 06:44 PM

Nah. I couldn't ever want them to win. Unless they play hertz and we need them to win. *** hate them.

Will win tonight though.

24-11-2017, 06:51 PM
Can't see Dundee get anything tonight; they are really struggling. Big performance required from them.

Firestarter
24-11-2017, 07:05 PM
Can't see Dundee get anything tonight; they are really struggling. Big performance required from them.

Watched the first 15 before the hammers game, they are going to get erm hammered.

24-11-2017, 07:10 PM
West Hams defending was a total nightmare there. They will be certainties for relegation playing like that

speedy_gonzales
24-11-2017, 07:10 PM

Think they just had a technical problem, 22 minutes in, we were just getting regaled about how they "were up to our knees" then the microphones failed ???

24-11-2017, 07:16 PM
West Hams defending was a total nightmare there. They will be certainties for relegation playing like that

They are in deep trouble. Like Everton, they have spent big in order to go backwards. The new signings have failed, the board are despised and the fans hate the new stadium. It doesn't bode well.

24-11-2017, 07:20 PM
Shocking game

24-11-2017, 07:26 PM
Don't know if this is their most recent game, but 2 good goals, well done!

https://youtu.be/1fBOgciLWLk

No this wasn't last night- there's no snow!!! But we won again and now sit top of our group J. It's a dream come true.

Firestarter
24-11-2017, 07:41 PM
No this wasn't last night- there's no snow!!! But we won again and now sit top of our group J. It's a dream come true.

Some finish for the second last night! English boy was good for the first too.

I recently read the story so I'm a bit of a follower now.

telford hibbee
24-11-2017, 07:45 PM
Think they just had a technical problem, 22 minutes in, we were just getting regaled about how they "were up to our knees" then the microphones failed ???
Even my wife noticed the sound being turned down and she's not even watching it

Firestarter
24-11-2017, 07:46 PM
1-1 in West Ham game.

24-11-2017, 07:52 PM
FFS! Had Leic HT-FT!

24-11-2017, 08:07 PM
I’ve said if before and I’ll say it again. Good on BT for muting that stuff and stopping it being heard loud and clear in my living room. The football authorities are the ones that should be getting it tight for allowing it without punishment. Points deducted and a massive fine please but I’ll not hold my breadth.

24-11-2017, 08:10 PM
1-0 Dundee

24-11-2017, 08:10 PM
Cracking.

Another please.

gaz1875
24-11-2017, 08:11 PM
That'll do nicely :aok:

24-11-2017, 08:11 PM
1-0 Dundee O’hara cupped his ears at the Rangers fans, I feel a statement coming.

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 08:12 PM

Yeesss

yonder1875
Great celebration.

HFCdeb
S******...

:lolrangers:

24-11-2017, 08:13 PM
I’ve said if before and I’ll say it again. Good on BT for muting that stuff and stopping it being heard loud and clear in my living room. The football authorities are the ones that should be getting it tight for allowing it without punishment. Points deducted and a massive fine please but I’ll not hold my breadth.

The SFA's mascot.

Mantis Toboggan
24-11-2017, 08:13 PM
Definitely muted The Billy Boys shortly after the goal. Doing us all a favour as per previous posters.

24-11-2017, 08:14 PM
1-1

1-1

Bar stewards

Tornadoes70
1-1

Mantis Toboggan
24-11-2017, 08:15 PM
Good strike tbf

yonder1875
24-11-2017, 08:16 PM
Windass always seems their most dangerous player.

gaz1875
24-11-2017, 08:17 PM
He's been the Huns best player and Fat Sally wanted him subbed lol

24-11-2017, 08:18 PM
Well that didn't last long.

24-11-2017, 08:21 PM
unfortunately BT will not have known that the the's 'all over the world' was banned as well so no reduction in sound, that's the first i've heard the Filth singing that for quite a while but of course they know full well that the cowardly SFA are not in the slightest bit interested in the sectarian p@sh that emanates from the vile filth therefore all the oldies are now creeping back in.... maybe UEFA will do the job again for the utter cowards at the SFA

24-11-2017, 08:22 PM
Scott Allan coming on for Dundee now

24-11-2017, 08:23 PM
2-1 Dundee

Set up by Allan

24-11-2017, 08:24 PM
2-1 Dundee

gaz1875
24-11-2017, 08:24 PM
Great touch and cool finish :aok:

24-11-2017, 08:25 PM

:lolrangers:

Reprise :greengrin

Mantis Toboggan
24-11-2017, 08:25 PM
After Sally questioning why Dundee were bringing him on as well. Donkey.

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 08:26 PM
Oh ya beauty.

24-11-2017, 08:26 PM
McCoist sounds devastated :faf:

24-11-2017, 08:28 PM
Allan Shirley won’t be hanging about Dundee for long - so Aberdeen or Farts?

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 08:28 PM
Times up Ref!

noz
24-11-2017, 08:29 PM
brilliant from Allan, cant believe he cant get into the first 11.

24-11-2017, 08:29 PM
McCoist sounds devastated :faf:

McCoist is the best manager in the country, except when he actually has a manager's job.

24-11-2017, 08:31 PM

He’s just coming back from injury no?

24-11-2017, 08:34 PM

"Absolutely sensational play from Scott Allan, twisting and turning, probing for an opening before an excellent pass into the feet of O'Hara" Steven Thompson seems to agree with you on the ball to O'Hara..

24-11-2017, 08:36 PM
Full time 2-1 Dundee :aok:

24-11-2017, 08:37 PM
for the love of God...give Murty the job with sally McMoist assisting

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 08:37 PM
Full time 2-1 Dundee :aok:

Great result.

24-11-2017, 08:38 PM
First Dundee win in a couple of months. They'll have been glad to be facing one of the league's lesser teams tonight.

24-11-2017, 08:38 PM
We need to capitalize on this tomorrow. 'Mon the Hibs

24-11-2017, 08:40 PM
Huns are dreadful; nobody in this league fears playing them. Losing to the bottom side isn't even a surprise, and to think they spent £8 million last summer. Club is a circus.

I'm gonna dae a bit of rubbernecking on Follow Follow to witness the collective nervous breakdown :greengrin

24-11-2017, 08:42 PM
McCoist is the best manager in the country, except when he actually has a manager's job.

What about wee Dodsy? You have to feel for him too.

The talk now on BBC is all about what's wrong with Rangers with only a token mention of Dundee's performance.

24-11-2017, 08:45 PM
Huns are dreadful; nobody in this league fears playing them. Losing to the bottom side isn't even a surprise, and to think they spent £8 million last summer. Club is a circus.

I'm gonna dae a bit of rubbernecking on Follow Follow to witness the collective nervous breakdown :greengrin

Follow Follow is a bit racy for me. I prefer the better class of biggot on The Den 😂😂

24-11-2017, 08:47 PM

I went for rangers media... there's a lot of foul mouthed hurting there tonight. Very pleasing. Say what you like about their support but their nauseating sense of entitlement remains undiminished.

24-11-2017, 08:52 PM
"Dundee, Hamilton, Rangers lost to both of them. Now that they're mid table, will they will follow on? For there's not a scream like the Glasgow Rangers; there never has been, nor will be another one".

24-11-2017, 08:53 PM
They Must be really hurting !!! my weegie mate just text me to say - " I Never fought i wid say this but we need a lemon "

the Lemon was reference to our NL.. Hurting :greengrin

24-11-2017, 08:53 PM
These dafties thought they were good enough to qualify for the group stage of the Europa cup too. Hee haw.........

24-11-2017, 08:54 PM
Great result. I watched the game and the Huns were poor. Murty in!

C’mon Hibs, 3 points tomorrow to pull clear.

24-11-2017, 08:56 PM
McCoist and Sutton arguing on BT :faf:

24-11-2017, 08:56 PM
McCoist and Sutton arguing on BT :faf:
It was great stuff, Sutton loves stirring things up.

24-11-2017, 08:57 PM
I thought Dundee looked pretty good against us the other week, certainly didn't look like they deserved to be where they were in the league.

I stuck a couple of quid on them tonight to beat the Sevco circus and I'm delighted they got the win.

Scott Allan showed his quality with a cracking assist. I do think that we miss that final ball at times - I'd have him back at ER in a heartbeat. Different player to everything that we already have.

24-11-2017, 08:59 PM
It was great stuff, Sutton loves stirring things up.

He trolls them every week and they bite. Sutton knows exactly what he's doing. :greengrin

24-11-2017, 09:00 PM
I went for rangers media... there's a lot of foul mouthed hurting there tonight. Very pleasing. Say what you like about their support but their nauseating sense of entitlement remains undiminished.

Never an excuse for foul language. No matter how poorly your soccer team happen to be performing.

24-11-2017, 09:02 PM
Some finish for the second last night! English boy was good for the first too.

I recently read the story so I'm a bit of a follower now.

Everyone is welcome! It really is a miracle what's happening to us. There is an English language page on twitter if your on there.

24-11-2017, 09:09 PM
No one is over awed against them anymore. They are a mid table team who just happen to have a big stadium and support (for now). They have an abundance of averageness and there aren't too many players there that you would take. ****ing marvellous!!!!!!!

24-11-2017, 09:19 PM
No one is over awed against them anymore. They are a mid table team who just happen to have a big stadium and support (for now). They have an abundance of averageness and there aren't too many players there that you would take. ****ing marvellous!!!!!!!

There isn't one of their team tonight that would walk into our team.

24-11-2017, 09:22 PM
Caixinha must be pissing himself laughing tonight. 0 from 6 v hamilton and dundee.