View Full Version : Favourite player

21-11-2017, 03:54 PM
Nice simple thread - who's your favourite player in our current squad?

I can't split boyle, stevenson and hanlon.

21-11-2017, 03:57 PM
Dylan.

HibeeMackenzie
21-11-2017, 03:58 PM
Marvin

21-11-2017, 03:59 PM
McGinn

But I really love David Gray, obviously 💚

norwayhibs
21-11-2017, 04:01 PM
Dylan

KingFranck
21-11-2017, 04:01 PM
This season Boyle
Obviously also McGinn

21-11-2017, 04:04 PM
Boyle or Ambrose

21-11-2017, 04:05 PM
Stokes.

mentalhibee
Stokesy....that cup final performance was the best I’ve ever witnessed!

Hanlon. Class personified.

21-11-2017, 04:06 PM
It's a quite brilliant position to be in but we have so many players I like it is hard to pick out one.

Great defenders, a spoiler like Marvin, quick wingers in Boyle and Brandon, Stokes' goals, Murray's pace and effort, all of the cup winning heroes, the returning quality player in Whittaker.

It always used to be easy to pick one, not now.

Strange considering he's not yet a first pick but I really like Ryan Porteous. Great talent, great attitude and plays a position where a Scotland jersey is just there for the taking.

21-11-2017, 04:06 PM
David Gray.

21-11-2017, 04:07 PM
Favourite - big Marv due to his making the most of the ability he has. I’d love to see him score a goal at ER.

21-11-2017, 04:08 PM
McGinn. Hanlon. Can't separate.

21-11-2017, 04:09 PM
Lewis. Even more of a Hibee than I am.

21-11-2017, 04:10 PM
Lewis.

21-11-2017, 04:23 PM
Dabrowski

21-11-2017, 04:26 PM
Tough one as there are so many candidates. I'd say Boyle. Love his pace, enthusiasm and work rate.

21-11-2017, 04:30 PM
Stevenson, no question

Tom Hart RIP
21-11-2017, 04:30 PM
Stokesy....that cup final performance was the best I’ve ever witnessed!

Stokes. See above

21-11-2017, 04:39 PM
Simon Murray, I don’t think he’s the best player, but he’s my favourite player.

21-11-2017, 04:48 PM
I haven't seen a Hibs team with so many likeable players (both talent and personality wise) since the Tornadoes. It's hard to pick a favourite but Gray edges it for me because of his stylish haircut.

Rattler
21-11-2017, 04:49 PM
Even though he hasn't played for some time, I'd still go for Darren McGregor as my favourite player in the squad.

IlDiavola
21-11-2017, 05:10 PM
Hanlon.

WeveGotMcginn
21-11-2017, 05:33 PM
Efe. different class (most of the time[emoji16])

Souter96Mac
21-11-2017, 05:44 PM
Stokesy for me

supermcginn
21-11-2017, 05:50 PM
Bartley

21-11-2017, 06:00 PM
SJM .Closely followed by SDG , Hanlon ,Stokes ,McGeough , McGregor .

21-11-2017, 06:26 PM
David Gray is my favourite human being, never mind my favourite Hibs player.

Dylan McGeouch's not far behind him though.

21-11-2017, 06:29 PM
David Gray is the greatest thing to ever be created

Brads Laing
21-11-2017, 06:32 PM
Super John, best hibs player since latapy/sauzee

21-11-2017, 06:32 PM
Stokesy. McGinn. Stevenson.

Firestarter
21-11-2017, 06:33 PM
Saint Anthony.

21-11-2017, 06:34 PM
David Gray is the greatest thing to ever be created

On the seventh day, God created David Gray.

Firestarter
21-11-2017, 06:34 PM
Super John, best hibs player since latapy/sauzee

Not by a long shot.

guthrie01
21-11-2017, 06:39 PM
Darren McGregor, born and bred Hibee

Roxyhibee
21-11-2017, 06:40 PM
When fit, no one can touch Dylan imho.

But from this squad, I suspect when we are remembering names in years to come, Stokes and Gray will immediately spring to mind first.!

shetlandhibee
21-11-2017, 06:42 PM
stoksy:not worth dylan:not worth mgregor:not worthgray:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth in any order:thumbsup:

Sherlock Jones
Darren McGregor.

McGregor.

As he’s out just now I’ll pick another, Ambrose.

21-11-2017, 06:43 PM
Neil Lennon (well he is part of the squad isn't he) :greengrin

MM19
21-11-2017, 06:46 PM
Darren McGregor and Super John McGinn

21-11-2017, 06:55 PM
Stokesy.

HFCdeb
21-11-2017, 07:12 PM
Stevenson.

21-11-2017, 07:12 PM
I always like a player who improves year on year and who always gives 100%. Paul Hanlon fits the bill for me as a favourite player. We miss him when he is out and he is a classy player who like to play the "Hibs" way. That goal at Tiny is a big plus in his favour too.

Hibeewilly
21-11-2017, 07:15 PM
I think on a week to week basis McGeough is different class...SJM not far behind....but Stokesys performance in the final was sublime. My favourite player though is Dylan. He will prove the toughest to hang onto in the window make no mistake

21-11-2017, 07:42 PM
Hibs Scottish Cup winning captain, and scorer of the winning goal in the final. It can only be David Gray.

Eaststandee
21-11-2017, 07:44 PM
Big Marv, followed by Boyler and Murray.

21-11-2017, 07:51 PM
John McGinn.

I'd go as far as saying he's overtaken Riordan as my favourite player of all time, with David Murphy completing my top 3.

21-11-2017, 07:55 PM
I didn't get the chance to post properly earlier because I was at work but TBH Stevenson isn't only my favourite player just now but my all time favourite Hibee through the years.

You just know what wearing the shirt means to him. Every game, every season, under every manager, in front of any stand in any stadium he may have the odd flaw but he gives absolutely everything to each game. His first touch is fantastic, he defends well, he always provides an outball and if he loses the ball he takes responsibility and grafts hard to win the ball back and redeem himself. He has a humility and has his feet on the ground. You could see what lifting the Scottish Cup meant to him. He's in a group of one in terms of his achievements in a Hibs shirt, something that Sauzee, Turnbull, Latapy, Riordan, Stanton and others never did quite manage. You'd have loved to have seen any of them lift the cup but you'd never, ever deprive Lewis of his moment to do so.

Most of all if I was younger, fitter and more talented he plays like how I would want to play if I was a Hibernian player. He'd never contemplate it but he's a bonafide all time Hibernian legend.

Paul Hanlon, David Gray and Martin Boyle (for his post cup final antics and endless running for the team) all deserve a lot of credit for being great representatives of the shirt but Lewis has stuck with the club through some of the best times in our history and also some of the worst.

21-11-2017, 08:04 PM
Boyle for me - easily the most improved player this season ! Also, plays with a smile on his face - he's really enjoying his football right now !

21-11-2017, 08:08 PM
For a variety of reasons it has to be John McGinn. He came after the Scott Allan furore and a time where despite the team and club being upbeat, that saga had us all wondering who would fill that void. Not only has he filled it, he has become a complete midfielder, and his progress has been astounding. Strong in the tackle, tenacious, leads by example, never hides, articulate off the pitch, very good example for young players at the club and those considering joining Hibs. The latter is key - I think if SJM goes for a big fee, to a big club, that is the carrot for a young, hungry talented player who may wish to join.

One of the most improved is Boyle - without a shadow of doubt. Runs teams ragged and has been vital in derbies for me.

Lastly, the most consistent player is Paul Hanlon. A few seasons ago I would have happily seen him leave as I thought he had peaked. I was so so wrong about him. Great player, always giving a good performance, becoming more assured as each season goes by. Surprised he hasn't a cap and equally surprised a Championship club down south hasn't come in for him and I think he would suit that league.

steelendhibs
21-11-2017, 08:09 PM
Lewis - only player to have won both cups with hibs.

SDG - that goal.

Love all the rest of them, but these two stand a pillar higher!

Iceman1875
21-11-2017, 08:14 PM
Dylan and SJM can’t separate them!

21-11-2017, 08:33 PM
That's like being asked which of your children is your favourite.

Stokes.

21-11-2017, 08:36 PM
Hate to choose. I like Lewis, Marv, Daz and, them all TBH.
That said, I've always admired players that get me up off my seat (a-la Ivan) so for no other reason, I'll go with Boyle.

21-11-2017, 08:39 PM
I've taken a real shine to Simon Murray - never stops trying, scores goals, can tell he loves every minute and gets what it means to play for us.

Sir David Gray, Boyle, Bartley and McGinn are all my favourites too...can't choose one!

Firestarter
21-11-2017, 08:47 PM
That's like being asked which of your children is your favourite.

Stokes.

Stokes would be my fav child too.

21-11-2017, 08:50 PM
Dylan McGeough. A cultured footballer who I love to watch. When fully fit he's the best player in our squad.

Tbh though I struggle to think of a player in our current squad that I don't like. All of them seem to appreciate being at Hibs and are fully committed to the club. I'm mot sure that was always the case in the not so distant past.

21-11-2017, 08:54 PM
John McGinn shades it over Lewis Stevenson for me.

21-11-2017, 08:56 PM
Super John McGinn

BarneyHibby
21-11-2017, 09:06 PM
Stoksey & Sir David Gray

21-11-2017, 09:09 PM
Dylan McGeough. A cultured footballer who I love to watch. When fully fit he's the best player in our squad.

Tbh though I struggle to think of a player in our current squad that I don't like. All of them seem to appreciate being at Hibs and are fully committed to the club. I'm mot sure that was always the case in the not so distant past.
If we were talking best players I’d say McGeouch but Gray is my favourite for probably obvious reasons

West Upper
21-11-2017, 09:14 PM
Big Marv hopefully one day he can score a goal for us.

21-11-2017, 09:39 PM
Dylan.

21-11-2017, 09:40 PM
Tie between McGeouch and Stevenson, with Boyle a close third.

21-11-2017, 09:45 PM
Based on this season's performances? Dylan. In general, Hanlon. Been a fan for years and to see him get the credit and international recognition he deserves is great.

blaikie
21-11-2017, 09:45 PM
David Gray and no player will ever change that ..... EVER

RG04
21-11-2017, 09:58 PM
Super John, best player we have had in a long time!

21-11-2017, 09:59 PM
Marvin Bartley, very closely followed by pretty much all of them.

Lords so they are.. :thumbsup:

21-11-2017, 10:02 PM
Lewis, love is only love when it's reciprocated, otherwise it's only infatuation. We love Lewis and he loves us.

I'm still infatuated by Ally McLeod though :wink:

21-11-2017, 10:18 PM
Been thinking about it for ages - Dylan.

Been a while since there's been such a wide choice of contenders. Good times.

21-11-2017, 10:47 PM
Budge, cause she's a dirty

21-11-2017, 10:50 PM
Stokes. Won us the cup.

I love them all though. Even Dave and Bob.

rodhibs55
21-11-2017, 10:53 PM
Dylan and Stokesie are probably the best but for pure entertainment value it had to be Efe.

yonder1875
21-11-2017, 11:01 PM
Can't pick one so here goes.

McGinn, Daz, Boyle, Stokes.

cookin_on_gaz
21-11-2017, 11:14 PM
My most used phrase so far this season has been "gie the ball to Boyle." He has been immense almost every game.

Sent from my VF-1397 using Tapatalk

hibsfan7
21-11-2017, 11:16 PM
Pat stanton

21-11-2017, 11:28 PM
Super John McGinn, not only of the current team but one of my favourites in my 50 years of watching Hibs.

Sad to think he may be away un a few weeks.

22-11-2017, 12:02 AM
Barker for absolutely destroying Hearts. Love the way he plays. He's young and will be inconsistent but when on song he's unplayable.

dunedinhibs
22-11-2017, 12:08 AM
Big Marv for me. On and off the field.

22-11-2017, 12:25 AM
Stokesy

22-11-2017, 12:28 AM
Hanlon. A classy football playing defender.

22-11-2017, 02:19 AM
I love all of the 21.05.16 lads. I honestly couldn't pick a favourite out, as they all played their part.

Outwidth that, Whittaker was a favourite when I was younger so I'd probably pick him again, or Boyler.

RMQ1967
22-11-2017, 03:23 AM
Lewis Stevenson - when he plays well the team play well.

22-11-2017, 07:02 AM
Not who i'd consider the best by any stretch of imagination, but Lewis Stevenson is my favorite player for his attitude, and the way he's fought against constant criticism for most of his Hibs career.

He's given 100% every game he's ever played, and given his all for our club. We cant say that about a lot of the players he's had to line up alongside during his time at the club.

He's been rewarded with winning both cups, and is our most decorated player of recent times.

He's also a lovely modest lad. :top marks

Saint Hibee
22-11-2017, 08:32 AM
I couldn’t decide between McGeoch and McGinn, but I once saw Dylan in Newhaven Asda so I guess he shades it!

-Jonesy-
22-11-2017, 08:57 AM
Budge, cause she's a dirty

Pure heavy boak

NZ Green
22-11-2017, 12:23 PM
McGinn and Barker. I like how Barker just runs through players, he's doesnt always pull it off, but when he does it's football I really enjoy watching.

Galahibby
22-11-2017, 07:29 PM
Nah, cannae dae it! That's like being asked to pick which one of your kids is your favourite. (or, in my case, which one of your dogs 😉)