View Full Version : Atrocious

18-11-2017, 04:56 PM
From start to finish. Absolutely terrible.

That goal at the end was a farce

18-11-2017, 05:00 PM

That goal at the end was a farce

harsh!

18-11-2017, 05:01 PM
Brutal game all round.

18-11-2017, 05:05 PM
Hardly atrocious. We had to try and play around a well drilled and disciplined team. We made mistakes, we didn't create enough, we lacked concentration at the end.

If we'd been beaten 6-0 hardly able to string a pass together I'd agree with atrocious.

This is just a purely emotive reaction. Take a big breath before posting and reflect a little.

18-11-2017, 05:06 PM
Hardly atrocious. We had to try and play around a well drilled and disciplined team. We made mistakes, we didn't create enough, we lacked concentration at the end.

If we'd been beaten 6-0 hardly able to string a pass together I'd agree with atrocious.

This is just a purely emotive reaction. Take a big breath before posting and reflect a little.
Far too sensible 😝

18-11-2017, 05:20 PM
Atrocious might be extreme but it's fair to say our home form hasn't been great this season.

Overall 4 wins out of 5 is excellent but we were bad today and have some tough games coming up.

18Hibee75
18-11-2017, 05:23 PM

That goal at the end was a farceThink that's a bit harsh, St Johnstone to be fair to them were well drilled and solid. Davidson for them had a really good game in midfield. I agree we were poor and didn't look like creating much and it was a poor game all round. It's a little more reassuring knowing that Aberdeen and rangers both dropped points, or I'm not sure if that makes it more annoying...

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 05:27 PM
That game was the definition of "hibs'd it"

Sent from my PLK-L01 using Tapatalk

18-11-2017, 05:29 PM
Poor show, I'd have settled for a point at 1-1, but rather than getting organised ready for them kicking off we are wrestling to get the ball back.

18-11-2017, 05:30 PM

Was it aye? Not a phrase I would ever use, under any circumstances.

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 05:31 PM
Was it aye? Not a phrase I would ever use, under any circumstances.Aye, it was

18-11-2017, 05:31 PM
that game was the definition of "hibs'd it"

sent from my plk-l01 using tapatalk

ltyf

hhibs
18-11-2017, 05:32 PM
Think that's a bit harsh, St Johnstone to be fair to them were well drilled and solid. Davidson for them had a really good game in midfield. I agree we were poor and didn't look like creating much and it was a poor game all round. It's a little more reassuring knowing that Aberdeen and rangers both dropped points, or I'm not sure if that makes it more annoying...

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

Yes ,it is more annoying !

And no ,the the view on Hibs play was not harsh.

Truly a missed opportunity and the old inability to seize the moment bites us again.

18-11-2017, 05:33 PM

Aye and your the definition of a Hearts cannt!!!

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 05:34 PM
Aye and your the definition of a Hearts cannt!!!And you're the definition of a prize plum!

18-11-2017, 05:35 PM
The home form is also minging

18-11-2017, 05:35 PM

I’ve never met a Hibs fan who used that term
In that way ......

18-11-2017, 05:36 PM
Most annoying thing for me was upsetting a pretty successful formation and line up to accommodate AS. It didn’t work and Lennon needs to look at himself about this.

How you still on this board, you are a jambo plain and simple. Get yourself to ****.

I’ve never met a Hibs fan who used that term
In that way ......

You still haven’t!!!!

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 05:40 PM
How you still on this board, you are a jambo plain and simple. Get yourself to ****.I am hibs through and through. Just an honest one. I wont get myself to ****. I'll let you do that if you dont like it. I cant be *rsed wasting my time on you

18-11-2017, 05:41 PM
How you still on this board, you are a jambo plain and simple. Get yourself to ****.

This all day long. Chuck this charity thief.

Flyingwaitor
You still haven’t!!!!You have now

Sent from my PLK-L01 using TapatalkIf you're a Hibby, have a ****ing word.

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

That goes ong with one of the most non descript performances ihave seen, we put no pace into the game at all.. Boyle had two runs in the 90 minutes that was it, Murray nothing, Stokes nothing apart from PK conversion, Barker nothing. When we have certain players on the pitch our game changes completely ..ie Stokes, Gray. I think its because other.players think it should go through Stokes, and his movement was awful looked like he had just got out of bed before kick off !! Rocky a nightmare.from the start with crossballs again ..!!

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 05:42 PM
If you're a Hibby, have a ****ing word.

Sent from my D5503 using TapatalkHibs need to have a ****ing word...not me

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 05:42 PM
That goes ong with one of the most non descript performances ihave seen, we put no pace into the game at all.. Boyle had two runs in the 90 minutes that was it, Murray nothing, Stokes nothing apart from PK conversion, Barker nothing. When we have certain players on the pitch our game changes completely ..ie Stokes, Gray. I think its because other.players think it should go through Stokes, and his movement was awful looked like he had just got out of bed before kick off !! Rocky a nightmare.from the start with crossballs again ..!!This

18-11-2017, 05:44 PM
Both Aberdeen and the Rangers have had similar headscratchers today.

18-11-2017, 05:47 PM
Just ****ing brutal, the shape was a disaster from the off and 3-4 players need to have a good long look at themselves after that performance. Rocky was a nightmare at crosses, Stokes and Barker just don't do enough on the pitch to justify playing them, I haven't a clue what Lennon was watching today, he has to take the blame for that set up.

18-11-2017, 05:48 PM
With the run of results that At Johns have there was no way they were coming to ER to lie down, but hibs really really should have been ready for it.

IlDiavola
18-11-2017, 05:50 PM

You still hanging around here pal?

18-11-2017, 05:50 PM
First game at home I've missed this season, didn't miss much then.

18-11-2017, 05:51 PM
Just ****ing brutal, the shape was a disaster from the off and 3-4 players need to have a good long look at themselves after that performance. Rocky was a nightmare at crosses, Stokes and Barker just don't do enough on the pitch to justify playing them, I haven't a clue what Lennon was watching today, he has to take the blame for that set up.
No mention of the absolute woeful displays from our full backs?

18-11-2017, 05:52 PM

Okay then

18-11-2017, 05:52 PM
Very poor all over today.

18-11-2017, 05:53 PM

Not long until you get your chips now.

18-11-2017, 05:54 PM
Pretty flat performance but hardly atrocious.

We'll play worse and win this season.

I am hibs through and through. Just an honest one. I wont get myself to ****. I'll let you do that if you dont like it. I cant be *rsed wasting my time on you

Absolutely no chance you are a Hibby. You there today aye what seat you in? You are a Hearts **** now **** off back to brokeback.

Atrocious? Naw.

Below par? Absolutely.

Unacceptable? Yep.

Toys out the pram? Not quite yet.

18-11-2017, 05:56 PM
Absolutely no chance you are a Hibby. You there today aye what seat you in? You are a Hearts **** now **** off back to brokeback.

Calm down

18-11-2017, 05:56 PM
You cannot be serious, they did nowt wrong, Barker and Stokes hardly broke sweat all game, Murray had a shocker and had a touch like an elephant and Rockky was like a wee scared kid in goals apart from one brilliant save to tip the ball onto the bar.
Blame Lennon for a poor set up and some players for not trying a leg.

18-11-2017, 05:57 PM
It was poor. But we’ve just had a run or four wins, so as long as we get back to winning ways next weekend then it’ll all be good again.

That phrase irks me, especially coming from a so-called Hibby.
Is there any reason you don't use the more appropriate phrase: "jambotled-it!?"

Calm down

No I won’t calm down, sick of this ********.

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 05:58 PM
You still hanging around here pal?Sure am mate

It was poor. But we’ve just had a run or four wins, so as long as we get back to winning ways next weekend then it’ll all be good again.

This. 👍🏼

Don't know what Lennon was thinking with that setup. Bartley and McGinn isolated in the middle does not work!!!

Barker a waste of a jersey yet again no surprises there just an all round terrible performance from the team.

IlDiavola
I am hibs through and through. Just an honest one. I wont get myself to ****. I'll let you do that if you dont like it. I cant be *rsed wasting my time on you

No danger you're Hibs.

There may be trouble ahead.

seanshow

Leaving by mutual consent

We were poor today no doubt about that, no jambottling here though. :wink:

18-11-2017, 05:59 PM
That phrase irks me, especially coming from a Hibby.
Is there any reason you don't use the more appropriate phrase: "jambotled-it!?"

Aye. He is not a Hibs fan

You hate Stevenson eh??

Flyingwaitor
Not long until you get your chips now.Id prefer a pizza

IlDiavola
Sure am mate

Planning on staying long?

Flying ****er

Aye. He is not a Hibs fan

Course he’s not, check his other previous posts and that username. Get the prick to ****.

IlDiavola
18-11-2017, 06:00 PM
Id prefer a pizza

So you're a fat 'waitor'?

18-11-2017, 06:00 PM
Course he’s not, check his other previous posts and that username. Get the prick to ****.

[emoji817]

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 06:02 PM
Absolutely no chance you are a Hibby. You there today aye what seat you in? You are a Hearts **** now **** off back to brokeback.I was there today...ask me anything you want about the game. Im not a hearts ****. You however, are an ignorant ****. Now do one

18-11-2017, 06:02 PM
This game was always on the cards after our momentum was broken up by the international break.
St. Johnstone are a damn good side, which should always be remembered.
The irony is that the teams round us in the league - Aberdeen and The Rangers also lost, so it's a case of as you were, but with Motherwell and The Saints closing the points gap beneath us.
Neil Lennon will ensure that we are fired up for the next game and the rest of the pre-xmas fixtures.
Everything to play for - including that coveted runners up spot.
:flag::flag:

18-11-2017, 06:03 PM
I was there today...ask me anything you want about the game. Im not a hearts ****. You however, are an ignorant ****. Now do one

Bull****. 👍🏼

18-11-2017, 06:05 PM
Played well enough, but i think we need to play with 3 central midfielders, i.e. mcginn, bartley and dylan. IMO the latter two are the most essential to how we play.

gazzag70
18-11-2017, 06:05 PM

GTF Jambo!!!!!!!

18-11-2017, 06:06 PM

You're either a merrick or a balloon of a Hibee.

Flyingwaitor
That phrase irks me, especially coming from a Hibby.
Is there any reason you don't use the more appropriate phrase: "jambotled-it!?"We snatched defeat from the jaws of getting away with it.
The huns "huns'd it"
Aberdeen "dons'd it"
We "hibs'd it"

IlDiavola
I was there today...ask me anything you want about the game. Im not a hearts ****. You however, are an ignorant ****. Now do one

Did you cheer when their winner went in?

18-11-2017, 06:07 PM
Did Dylan get any game time ?

You cannot be serious, they did nowt wrong, Barker and Stokes hardly broke sweat all game, Murray had a shocker and had a touch like an elephant and Rockky was like a wee scared kid in goals apart from one brilliant save to tip the ball onto the bar.
Agree with this

Who was announced as man of the match?

I am sure that there will be a lot of posts tonight that folk don't really mean and are just a way to express the frustration we all feel. Busy night for the admins maybe.

18-11-2017, 06:10 PM
We snatched defeat from the jaws of getting away with it.
The huns "huns'd it"
Aberdeen "dons'd it"
We "hibs'd it"

and still you don't use the phrase "Jambottled it"
Is the pain of 1965 and 1986 - bottling it in the last few minutes of games where you had the league title in your grasp - still lingering?
Oh yes, and how does it feel to be owned by Hibs these past few years both on and off the pitch?

IlDiavola
18-11-2017, 06:11 PM
Who was announced as man of the match?

No chance, considering he can't even spell waiter.

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 06:11 PM
No I won’t calm down, sick of this ********.Listen...pick your purse up...stop your tantrum...put the whale music on and sit down with a nice cup of herbal tea

18-11-2017, 06:12 PM
Lennon's comments......

We were flat but I didn't think we deserved to lose the game.

"We should see the game out and take the point but there's a bit of naivety at the end when we should clear the ball and we don't. It's a poor goal to concede and it's the last kick of the game.

"There was a lack of urgency from us at times in the final third.

"I've no doubt the (international) break has had an impact. The build up was a bit fragmented but that's not an excuse. We were nowhere near the level we've been at in the last few games.

Wull
I am sure that there will be a lot of posts tonight that folk don't really mean and are just a way to express the frustration we all feel. Busy night for the admins maybe.

Best post in the last hour

Don't know what Lennon was thinking with that setup. Bartley and McGinn isolated in the middle does not work!!!

Barker a waste of a jersey yet again no surprises there just an all round terrible performance from the team.

I didn't like the look of the team before the game but I saw what he was doing.

We're coming off four wins and have had a solid team playing 4-3-3 that had looked solid at the back, quick out wide and strong in the middle - without Stokes, who many believe to be our best player.

McGeouch (who is actually our best player imo) took a heavy knock in our last game and was presumably not fit to play 90 minutes.

So he stuck Stokes in for Dylan, with the instructions that he drops off, plays deep and helps make up with the midfield 3.

It didn't work, simple as that, but I saw what he was trying.

Stokes isn't sharp enough and his touch was miles off where it should be if he wants to play there. Dylan looked much better as soon as he went on - head up, good first touch, accurate passing.

Flyingwaitor
Trouble for who?

18-11-2017, 06:14 PM
Stokes was murder and set the tone. I'd have hooked him at half time but there was no chance of that happening.

Anyway it's a blip and nothing else.

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 06:15 PM
Paul Hanlon.

Listen...pick your purse up...stop your tantrum...put the whale music on and sit down with a nice cup of herbal tea

Not a fan of tea, but I’ve got a hot chocolate, can’t find my purse can you check you’re stockings. I don’t mind the odd whale music actually, but back to point you are a jambo be good if you had the minerals to admit it and we can all be adults again.

-Jonesy-
Trouble for who?

What a total ******ing ride

18-11-2017, 06:16 PM
Trouble for who?

You, mate, are a troll.
You are either one troublesome, drunk Hibby or more likely a Jambo.

18-11-2017, 06:17 PM
Rangers cost me £293 on my acca today. I know its my own fault for backing them but still it will take more than a glass of wine tonght to forgive and forget. :wink:

We'll have better days fellas, we've just had several. Thats football. We arent Barca or Man City or Celtic, we dont and wont win every week. Keep the faith, we are Hibs.

18-11-2017, 06:17 PM

Aye, probably one of these Hearts creeps who sits in our away end.

GTF loser.

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 06:18 PM
Hibs through and through

18-11-2017, 06:19 PM
Aye, probably one of these Hearts creeps who sits in our away end.

GTF loser.

😂😂

gaz1875
18-11-2017, 06:21 PM
We weren't atrocious? keeper comes for the first goal and holds onto the second and we are a point behind Aberdeen. We have played better but we have also played a lot worse.

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 06:21 PM
Im not drunk. Im not a jambo. Its my opinion and im allowed it

18-11-2017, 06:25 PM

😂😂 well said

18-11-2017, 06:25 PM
We weren't atrocious? keeper comes for the first goal and holds onto the second and we are a point behind Aberdeen. We have played better but we have also played a lot worse.

First he couldnt get too - midfield didnt track runners

2nd - it was a good save in the first place, never mind holding it

18-11-2017, 06:26 PM
Aye, it was

Sent from my PLK-L01 using TapatalkSums u and your posts up really

18-11-2017, 06:28 PM
That goes ong with one of the most non descript performances ihave seen, we put no pace into the game at all.. Boyle had two runs in the 90 minutes that was it, Murray nothing, Stokes nothing apart from PK conversion, Barker nothing. When we have certain players on the pitch our game changes completely ..ie Stokes, Gray. I think its because other.players think it should go through Stokes, and his movement was awful looked like he had just got out of bed before kick off !! Rocky a nightmare.from the start with crossballs again ..!!Aye Rocky that kept us in it do u mean with 2 or 3 great saves??

18-11-2017, 06:28 PM
😂😂 well said

Has he not"helping" the girls guides tonight

18-11-2017, 06:29 PM

You are indeed, but saying we hibs'ed it is usually a solid signifier of yamfuddery

andybev1
18-11-2017, 06:30 PM
Aye, it was

from the crap you come out with, you must be a jambo

18-11-2017, 06:30 PM
Agree with this although I thought Barker did okay first half. When Stokes isn’t on his game it seems to affect the whole team. Stevenson should have prevented the cross for the second and someone should have attacked the ball when it did come in. That jambo freak Davidson dominated the midfield second half and was able to get away with murder. Made worse as we were in west lower right in front of their celebrations which seemed to involve him kicking the advertising hoardings repeatedly.

18-11-2017, 06:32 PM
Atrocious thread

Aye Rocky that kept us in it do u mean with 2 or 3 great saves??

Agreed. Rocky wasn’t to blame today. Two outstanding saves.

if i'd known beforehand that st.johnstone had not scored for 600+ mins or that kenny mclean hadn't scored for 25 years i simply wouldn't have bothered going today :( the better more organised team won...IMO of course we're back to the tippy tappy f@nnying about again, it doesn't work against well organised teams Mr Lennon

gaz1875

From the FFU the first goal looked like the ball bounced in front of him and he stood on his line, second looked like he spilled the ball. Not seen them since to confirm. The second had a few issues before it got to him, biggest being Stevenson heading the ball into play straight to the St Johnstone player instead of leaving it for a throw in to us.

percy veer
18-11-2017, 06:33 PM

Thought the young lad porteous should have at least jumped at the first goal, gave it away for the second , but how many times do we let a team run from the half way line to our box , just take one for the team and clear him out, that's what team do to us.

Dr_Regal
18-11-2017, 06:36 PM
Total powder puff from us today. You could count on half a hand how many times our full backs got beyond the winger. Everything is just so slow moving, we just can't break down well drilled teams. Thought McGinn was the biggest culprit today, made wrong decision after wrong decision, and never passes first time. Poor performance from our most talented player. Simon Murray, poor technical ability showed today.

Flyingwaitor
18-11-2017, 06:37 PM
You are indeed, but saying we hibs'ed it is usually a solid signifier of yamfudderyNope

18-11-2017, 06:39 PM

You not got a stand to finish.

BegbieHSC
18-11-2017, 06:40 PM
Folk are saying Stokesy was bad.
Agreed he was poor - I think McGinn was the most disappointing player on the park however. Looked more interested in attempting wee flicks instead of helping the team.

Don’t let that get in the way of the Anti-Stokesy brigade tho

gaz1875
18-11-2017, 06:41 PM
Total powder puff from us today. You could count on half a hand how many times our full backs got beyond the winger. Everything is just so slow moving, we just can't break down well drilled teams. Thought McGinn was the biggest culprit today, made wrong decision after wrong decision, and never passes first time. Poor performance from our most talented player. Simon Murray, poor technical ability showed today.

Really? I cant recall him making more poor touches than anyone else.

18-11-2017, 06:49 PM

Correction - Im should be ‘I’m’
Correction - its should be ‘it’s’

Correction- Flyingwaitor should be ‘Left by mutual consent’

18-11-2017, 06:50 PM
Folk are saying Stokesy was bad.
Agreed he was poor - I think McGinn was the most disappointing player on the park however. Looked more interested in attempting wee flicks instead of helping the team.

Don’t let that get in the way of the Anti-Stokesy brigade tho
Nothing anti-Stokes about it. We’ve played great using a 433 with Murray in the middle but the whole formation is changed to allow Stokes back in. Does that seem reasonable or sensible to you?

18-11-2017, 06:54 PM
Lets play spot the yam :greengrin

18-11-2017, 06:54 PM

I'm sure all your Hibby mates on here can vouch for you.

18-11-2017, 07:00 PM
I'm sure all your Hibby mates on here can vouch for you.

Wonder where he sits? It’s hilarious he still thinks people believe he’s a Hibs fan. One of the worst undercover posters yet. Boy needs to get a life!

Dr_Regal
18-11-2017, 07:03 PM
We played 4-4-2 today with two holding midfielders and two full backs that stayed back and didn't venture forward much. St Johnstone were licking their chops. If not for the pen, I think we could have played two games the day and not scored. Not surprised NL tried to change it quick after the half. Out muscled again, a common theme.

18-11-2017, 07:05 PM
Lets play spot the yam :greengrin

I see one

18-11-2017, 07:08 PM
Hibs were terrible today from start to finish. Only pass marks go to Hanlon. Rocky made two cracking saves but was at fault with their two goals. It was the worst performance I’ve seen in a long tome( I missed the Accies game)

18-11-2017, 07:10 PM
Hibs were terrible today from start to finish. Only pass marks go to Hanlon. Rocky made two cracking saves but was at fault with their two goals. It was the worst performance I’ve seen in a long tome( I missed the Accies game)

Rocky wasn’t at fault I don’t think for the goals.

18-11-2017, 07:17 PM

Clown alert.

Slavers
18-11-2017, 07:18 PM
If you have an off day you get punished in the SPL. St Johnstone are better than their recent form, i wonder if the break suited them than us in a results sense. We are a better team than them but they would be very hungry to change their recent form and maybe that was enough to beat us due to our poor performance.

18-11-2017, 07:21 PM
If you have an off day you get punished in the SPL. St Johnstone are better than their recent form, i wonder if the break suited them than us in a results sense. We are a better team than them but they would be very hungry to change their recent form and maybe that was enough to beat us due to our poor performance.

Nothing to do with being in the premiership today IMO. We were miles off it all day. Plenty teams took points of us at home in the championship as well. It was just murder.

18-11-2017, 07:23 PM
Hibs snatch defeat from the jaws of retrieving a late draw. A draw which would have been a fair result, and a good point, given Aberdeen and the Ibrox club both lost at home.

When are they going to deal with high balls to the far post better? Also, am I wrong in thinking Stevenson conceded possession by needlessly or slackly heading the ball out of play, which ultimately led to St Johnstone's winning goal? Very naive from Hibs to lose a goal like that having seemingly rescued a valuable point at the death.

18-11-2017, 07:24 PM
Hibs snatch defeat from the jaws of retrieving a late draw. A draw which would have been a fair result, and a good point, given Aberdeen and the Ibrox club both lost at home.

When are they going to deal with high balls to the far post better? Also, am I wrong in thinking Stevenson conceded possession by needlessly or slackly heading the ball out of play, which ultimately led to St Johnstone's winning goal? Very naive from Hibs to lose a goal like that having seemingly rescued a valuable point at the death.

I’m one of Stevenson’s biggest fans but I was baffled to why he headed that ball out and said at the that it could cost us and it did.

18-11-2017, 07:29 PM
I’m one of Stevenson’s biggest fans but I was baffled to why he headed that ball out and said at the that it could cost us and it did.

Yep, that's what I thought too.

It was all the more galling to concede that goal given it looked to me as if St Johnstone didn't even fancy kicking off after Stokes had equalised. They were wasting time before restarting the game.

18-11-2017, 07:32 PM
I think Saints shaded it on chances. The goal at the end for me is incredibly annoying as Saints would have been over the moon with a point.

From Stevenson to McGinn and to the goalie that goal was a shocker. In whatever order.

18-11-2017, 07:34 PM
Nothing anti-Stokes about it. We’ve played great using a 433 with Murray in the middle but the whole formation is changed to allow Stokes back in. Does that seem reasonable or sensible to you?

That’s the way I saw it too. I’m a big stokes fan but when he’s not up for it the whole team suffers.

18-11-2017, 07:34 PM

That's what I saw, we had a very off day & it gave them a bit of confidence. No point attacking individual players, the whole team were just off their game.
Accept it, deal with it & move on.
Der Hun & the Sheep losing minimises the pain.

18-11-2017, 07:36 PM
Run of good results had to end sometime, just a pity it was at ER again when we really need our best performances to keep the record level of ST holders happy.

18-11-2017, 07:47 PM

Your post is the definition of Yamfuddery.

I'll never forget how good it was to horse the Yams on the way to winning the cup on 21st May 2016. To see them Jambottle it to us was very sweet. And to own them in every game since then has been just as good.

But the fact that they are now tainted forever as the Poppy Thieves - and that everyone knows it - is the absolutely most Yamfuddish thing about them.

18-11-2017, 07:47 PM
Remember the morton game last season and what followed, we are a mid table side so these games will happen.

18-11-2017, 07:49 PM
As has been said many times Lewis Stevenson is a Hibernian legend.

BUT that side of the parks needs looked at. We were cut open against Aberdeen, done against Dundee and again today.

We concede some amount of goals. So what's the problem ?

Seekyit
18-11-2017, 07:51 PM
Crap game, crap atmosphere, crap result. It was the lack of atmosphere that seemed to bother me most, just didn't seem to get going.

18-11-2017, 07:53 PM
Just checked the Dons fans forum and it is almost word for word what is being posted here, the lay off suited some teams, obviously not the teams in the top half of the league. By the way Celtic were brutal against County but scraped a win thanks to the man Rod would not shell out for !

18-11-2017, 07:55 PM
Gutted with today, just simply gutted. I had so much expectation of a good result.

I should know better though. 52 years of supporting Hibs, I should bloody well know better.

Really gutted.

That said, tomorrow, I'll be looking forward to next week.

18-11-2017, 07:56 PM
Bloody typical; we could have been second tonight, yet we never do things the easy way. Huffed and puffed all afternoon, pulled it back at the death, only to manage to concede again. We're all left shaking the heid. The home form is letting us down badly; a result that feels like a kick in the baws.

18-11-2017, 08:00 PM
Gutted with today, just simply gutted. I had so much expectation of a good result.

I should know better though. 52 years of supporting Hibs, I should bloody well know better.

Really gutted.

That said, tomorrow, I'll be looking forward to next week.

St Johnstone - not a single goal in 546 minutes of Premiership action before today. Hibs at home going for a 5th consecutive win. What could possibly go wrong? Yes, you should know better. :wink:

18-11-2017, 08:04 PM
Marciano holds the shot I’m delighted with a point. He doesn’t. Reality is any team in this league can beat any other on any given day. I’m sure we’ll win more then we lose and be comfortably top 6. Doesn’t mean I’m happy about their winner today though. Awful from the minute Stevenson headed it out needlessly.

andybev1
18-11-2017, 08:15 PM
Most annoying thing for me was upsetting a pretty successful formation and line up to accommodate AS. It didn’t work and Lennon needs to look at himself about this.

nail, head, hit

familyman
18-11-2017, 08:54 PM
With the run of results that At Johns have there was no way they were coming to ER to lie down, but hibs really really should have been ready for it.
Defence totally stretched, no spring at all in midfield, yet again seems like we just think we can turn up, what is going wrong at Home games, seemed to be no pace at all and no real interest in working hard for each and every ball..shocker, the defence very poor and what was Ambrose thinking half the time.
A stroll in the park does not win points...If J McGinn has an off day then the whole team seems to follow..that is a real concern.

18-11-2017, 09:14 PM
Crap game, crap result, crap atmosphere, crap tactics, in fact, crap from start to finish.

18-11-2017, 09:18 PM
Not a great day at the office. These things happens. Roll on next week

18-11-2017, 09:19 PM

It was all the more galling to concede that goal given it looked to me as if St Johnstone didn't even fancy kicking off after Stokes had equalised. They were wasting time before restarting the game.

And we were naively desperate to have them get the game going, when we should have made sure we were set up to see out the last couple of mins of injury time.

andybev1
18-11-2017, 09:21 PM
Crap game, crap atmosphere, crap result. It was the lack of atmosphere that seemed to bother me most, just didn't seem to get going.

I wonder if the freezing weather had something to do with the atmos. I was not my usual loud self, the past two games due to how f***ing cold I was.

18-11-2017, 09:34 PM
I wonder if the freezing weather had something to do with the atmos. I was not my usual loud self, the past two games due to how f***ing cold I was.

I was thinking that as well. It was very cold today and I think that had something to do with the atmosphere.

18-11-2017, 09:37 PM

Never has a tean looked so reluctant to even restart and then finish a game, yet end up winning it some 30 seconds later. Baffling minute.

18-11-2017, 09:37 PM
Any on line reaction from Neil?

18-11-2017, 09:38 PM
Crap game, crap result, crap atmosphere, crap tactics, in fact, crap from start to finish.

Harsh IMO. Yes not a great day, but a slight over reaction.

18-11-2017, 09:50 PM
Aside from converting the penalty, Stokes was useless today. He should have been removed at half-time but I think Lennon has a blind spot when it comes to him.

Overall the team were poor, some worse than others.

I wouldn't call it atrocious though.

18-11-2017, 09:59 PM
From where I was sitting (west lower near the home end) I didn't really understand the changes Lennon made. Unlike some on here I didn't think we improved much with McGeouch and Big Dave coming on really, and I actually thought McGeouch lost the ball in midfield in the lead up to the winning goal. Shows what I know. In the first half we were pretty average, in the second half we were pretty crap. Atrocious is maybe a bit strong, but we weren't particularly good at any time, apart from a few moments when we got a penalty.

18-11-2017, 10:05 PM
I was thinking that as well. It was very cold today and I think that had something to do with the atmosphere.

There was no atmosphere because there was nothing to get "atmospheric"about on the park.

Eaststandee
18-11-2017, 10:06 PM
Curse of the "manager of the month" award

Seekyit
18-11-2017, 10:09 PM

Dunno. Quite enjoyed the Dundee game, bit of an edge to it but today seemed flat. I know there's been debate about the singing section, it's location and what it adds or doesn't add, but from my seat in the north end of the east, I just didn't hear them much today. The drummer was there for sure, but only heard him or her occasionally.

18-11-2017, 10:19 PM
As has been said many times Lewis Stevenson is a Hibernian legend.

BUT that side of the parks needs looked at. We were cut open against Aberdeen, done against Dundee and again today.

We concede some amount of goals. So what's the problem ?

He gets zero help when Barkley plays, unlike on the right Boyle puts in a shift to back up Gray, but Barker stands there and allows their players to ghost past him, both him and Stokes didn't break sweat all game.

18-11-2017, 10:24 PM
He gets zero help when Barkley plays, unlike on the right Boyle puts in a shift to back up Gray, but Barker stands there and allows their players to ghost past him, both him and Stokes didn't break sweat all game.

Barker was one of our few threats first half today.

Frogga
18-11-2017, 10:29 PM
Atrocious? I knew I'd find a ridiculous thread on here tonight and I wasn't disappointed...

Sent from my SM-J530F using Tapatalk

18-11-2017, 10:33 PM

He made about 3 tricky runs at the their defence and nothing else, his job is to help out in defence when he hasn't got the ball, he doesn't do that enough, if at all, stands and watches the game all too often.

18-11-2017, 10:34 PM

For the first 20 minutes or so then absolutely nothing from him

Firestarter
18-11-2017, 10:36 PM
Very poor today against a side that couldn't buy a goal. These things happen. Hopefully learn from it.

Firestarter
18-11-2017, 10:36 PM
For the first 20 minutes or so then absolutely nothing from him

Agree.

18-11-2017, 10:43 PM
Niall McGinn or Barker I know who id be picking every week. Hope Lennon has his number

Seekyit
18-11-2017, 11:13 PM
Really? It was the final score that bothered me the most.
the atmosphere was a result of the performance, the crowd were really good at the start but the team gave little to cheer about then latterly too much to moan about so I'd cut the supporters some slack for the atmosphere.

Probably, but I wonder sometimes if it works the other way round. Either way like you I assume, I'd have taken a scrappy 1-0 and 3 points.

And getting back to the OP, it wasn't atrocious, just a bit, well, crap.

19-11-2017, 01:02 AM
We have just come up from the championship, might have gone 2nd in the premier league with a win, but its cut your throat time with some?

Why cant we just be happy when we are punching our weight? :confused:

19-11-2017, 01:06 AM
Most annoying thing for me was upsetting a pretty successful formation and line up to accommodate AS. It didn’t work and Lennon needs to look at himself about this.The successful formation that had us being battered by Dundee until Stokes won us the game with a brilliant cross?

The 4-3-3 wasn't working in the first half against Dundee so Lennon changed it by taking Barker and Gray off and going 3-5-2. He should've left Barker out again and gone either 4-3-3 or 3-5-2.

Mental that people think Stokes who has like 10 goals this season should be left out for Barker who has 0.

19-11-2017, 01:26 AM
We have just come up from the championship, might have gone 2nd in the premier league with a win, but its cut your throat time with some?

Why cant we just be happy when we are punching our weight? :confused:

I think it's just frustration, which is understandable. We've been on a good wee run, then lose at home, missing the chance to go second. We're getting big crowds, but the home form is letting us down. I do agree it's hardly the end of the world; below Celtic all the teams can give each other a game.

19-11-2017, 02:21 AM
And when he took Barker off things got better? That'll be no then. He ended up pushing Stevenson further forward and he's a lot slower than Barker, that just made it easier for St Johnstone. They weren't threatened at all down the left side in the 2nd half. The whole team was poor, not just Barker and Stokes.

19-11-2017, 02:57 AM
Very bad result not worst performance but possibly worst result considering other results today.

19-11-2017, 06:46 AM
The successful formation that had us being battered by Dundee until Stokes won us the game with a brilliant cross?

The 4-3-3 wasn't working in the first half against Dundee so Lennon changed it by taking Barker and Gray off and going 3-5-2. He should've left Barker out again and gone either 4-3-3 or 3-5-2.

Mental that people think Stokes who has like 10 goals this season should be left out for Barker who has 0.

This, we missed the extra body in midfield and he asked Stokes to do that job which didn't work, front 3 of Stokes, Murray and Boyle and bringing in Slivka, would've given us a far better shape yesterday.

And when he took Barker off things got better? That'll be no then. He ended up pushing Stevenson further forward and he's a lot slower than Barker, that just made it easier for St Johnstone. They weren't threatened at all down the left side in the 2nd half. The whole team was poor, not just Barker and Stokes.

The team had a better shape when Gray and Barker went off, their goal had nothing to do with changing shape but more to do with piss poor defending and goalkeeping.

renato
19-11-2017, 07:49 AM
This, we missed the extra body in midfield and he asked Stokes to do that job which didn't work, front 3 of Stokes, Murray and Boyle and bringing in Slivka, would've given us a far better shape yesterday.

The team had a better shape when Gray and Barker went off, their goal had nothing to do with changing shape but more to do with piss poor defending and goalkeeping.

Yep. I’ve said the same thing for ages, our strongest 3 up front is Stokes, Murray and Boyle, with Barker as an impact sub. Slivka was the obvious choice to come in, if Dylan wasn’t fully fit.

19-11-2017, 08:19 AM
Reminded me so much of the Hamilton game. Lethargic, devoid of pace against a team who scrapped for every single ball and no real quality in the match from us.

Saints deserved their win.

19-11-2017, 08:34 AM
Rangers and Aberdeen losing means that we didn't lose any ground to our nearest rivals.

As has been said we are just up from the championship, still on a learning curve and doing not too badly.

What I see is a lot of Premier clubs using exactly the same physical, disruptive, time wasting tactics and use the long ball at every opportunity. They are just a bit better at it than the championship teams.

Let's look at the season, not one game.

19-11-2017, 08:40 AM
I would use the word unprofessional. We didn't play well and too many players had an off day. It happens to the very best. BUT.....we got ourselves back into the game and then totally lost it at kick off, slack play, poor decision making led to them winning. I am a huge fan of Lewis but the header out of play for the hoof up the park allowed them to waste a minute and then control at for the remainder of the game leading to them scoring. So disappointing from us when a win would have sen us second

19-11-2017, 08:53 AM

It was bad. We didn’t work hard enough. Not close to it. Efe, Paul and Rocky with pass marks

JK Rolling
19-11-2017, 09:04 AM
I think it's just frustration, which is understandable. We've been on a good wee run, then lose at home, missing the chance to go second. We're getting big crowds, but the home form is letting us down. I do agree it's hardly the end of the world; below Celtic all the teams can give each other a game.

Spot on mate.

19-11-2017, 09:55 AM
Being the championship last season is not an excuse for playing poorly. The fact is every team has off days and that was another one for us

19-11-2017, 10:28 AM
Yes, players are entitled to off days but it was the lack of energy and commitment that worried me. We looked like a group of school kids who were going back to school after half term. Sluggish, off the pace and thinking about when the first day back would be over. The players must have a look in the mirror after that performance but so must the manager.

It would be fascinating to see the status of how far players run and in what areas game to game. It looked like we were a very static team yesterday but not sure if the stats would back that up.
Lennon desperately needs to find a system that accommodates our best players and can break down stuffy teams at ER. It has been an issue since Stubbs and we don't look much better now than we did a few years back against well drilled unambitious teams who sit in.

19-11-2017, 10:36 AM
And we were naively desperate to have them get the game going, when we should have made sure we were set up to see out the last couple of mins of injury time.

:agree: Hibs, as a team, need to wise up at times and be more professional and streetwise. To throw it away in that manner having just equalised from a penalty in the last minute or so was very naive. They should have settled for the point.

As an aside, has Thomson ever awarded Hibs a penalty before yesterday?

19-11-2017, 10:47 AM
Being the championship last season is not an excuse for playing poorly. The fact is every team has off days and that was another one for us

Yep, I agree. The squad has been strengthened since coming up from the Championship.

19-11-2017, 10:52 AM
I don’t think it was an off day. We were great in some games and got nothing. We weren’t very good against Kilmarnock (despite score) or Dundee and got maximum points. We look a little jaded right now.

We need to get working and performing again.

19-11-2017, 11:15 AM
The successful formation that had us being battered by Dundee until Stokes won us the game with a brilliant cross?

The formation appeared to be changed purely to accommodate Stokes. If Stokes had to play we had to keep three in midfield. I agree the 433 failed first half against Dundee and it was a good change second half but most of our recent success has been with the 433. If Stokes has to play he can play in the front three, but I don’t think him and Murray really work as a starting pairing.

familyman
19-11-2017, 01:46 PM
The formation appeared to be changed purely to accommodate Stokes. If Stokes had to play we had to keep three in midfield. I agree the 433 failed first half against Dundee and it was a good change second half but most of our recent success has been with the 433. If Stokes has to play he can play in the front three, but I don’t think him and Murray really work as a starting pairing.
Agreed but last two home games sawLS caught out and skinned by winger resulting in goals each time...when oh when will we get a left back,not had one since Murphy !

19-11-2017, 01:54 PM
:agree: Hibs, as a team, need to wise up at times and be more professional and streetwise. To throw it away in that manner having just equalised from a penalty in the last minute or so was very naive. They should have settled for the point.

As an aside, has Thomson ever awarded Hibs a penalty before yesterday?

Yep he gave us a penalty in the 3-2 loss at Falkirk in the play offs a couple of seasons ago which James Keatings scored.

19-11-2017, 01:55 PM
Agreed but last two home games sawLS caught out and skinned by winger resulting in goals each time...when oh when will we get a left back,not had one since Murphy !

19-11-2017, 02:01 PM
Late to the party but we were pretty crap yesterday.

I can't get overly worked up though because I half expected it. Every fan of other clubs I know has been scathing about how St Johnstone set up and play to spoil, time waste and disrupt the game. It's something we have consistently struggled against in the last few seasons and yesterday was no exception. We just seem to lack a bit of spark or magic that can make something happen in games like that.

I was a bit surprised how we lined up yesterday. We looked really good against Dundee when we went 352 and given St Johnstones attacking intent was always going to be pretty limited then I thought that's how we may have set up again. The 442 with Bartley and McGinn in there really doesn't work and didn't when we tried it last season either.

Yesterday was very frustrating because it was the same failings that we have seen before. We were slow and ponderous for long spells, struggled for ideas and a spark to break down a compact team and couldn't turn possession into chances and goals. I could have written the same comments about countless games over the last few seasons.

I also think we should have just accepted it hadn't really been our day and taken the point when we equalised. We seemed to be determined to go gung ho and throw everything at them for a winner and we got caught out. I think Lennon said similar post match.

IlDiavola
19-11-2017, 03:09 PM
Trouble for who?

Probably you Jambo.

19-11-2017, 06:20 PM
Yep he gave us a penalty in the 3-2 loss at Falkirk in the play offs a couple of seasons ago which James Keatings scored.

OK thanks. :aok:

IlDiavola
19-11-2017, 06:26 PM
Probably you Jambo.

Quoting myself but, this boy is quiet today after the grand opening of the Edinburgh Maracana turned into a bit of a fiasco for them. :wink:

20-11-2017, 05:48 AM
Erm ....no it wasn't atrocious, but it wasn't good either.

I've had a long go at Anthony Stokes on another thread, so I wont continue it 'much' on here, apart from to reiterate that I want to see a lot more from him .. somebody mentioned his scoring record this season, but the league is where it counts, don't try to tell me 3 goals from open play in the league matches he has been involved in out of our 14 this season is acceptable because its not ... if Jason Cummings had been on a run like that he would have been getting slaughtered on here.

We are being let down by our home form there's no doubt about it and Saturday was a huge missed opportunity no matter how you dress it up, with the teams around us losing we could have been 2nd ..... we cant let the fact that we didn't actually lose ground paper over that if we have any ambition to make the top three or four we have to take advantage when the competition for those places slip up, especially when you look at the really tough set of fixtures we have in December.

I am absolutely baffled as to why we needed Bartley against a team that hadn't even scored a goal, never mind won, in 7 matches ... that game was going to be won or lost in midfield and as others have said we were far too light in there, if getting Stokes to drop deep to make up for the lack of numbers was the tactic it failed miserably ... he had little or no affect and was MIA just about every time we got behind them because he was 30 yards out and hardly busting a gut to get into their area.

I watched John McGinn's half time interview on ALBA and he was at pains to point out that he shouldn't be compared to Scott Brown because they are totally different players ..... bang on SJM so why are you playing the game 10 yards outside our box as if you were Scott Brown? I want to see you getting the ball inside the opposition half and running at them from there, not picking it up in the middle of our half as you did constantly on Saturday and either having to run with it for 30 yards before becoming a danger to the opposition or hitting a 60 yard pass in the direction of Boyle which was invariably cut out.

With the formation we played it was simple for St Johnstone to thwart us because they knew that as long as they could cut off, or at least slow, the supply to the two wingers, which they did fairly effectively, there was going to be little or no threat from the middle of the park with the shot shy Bartley and the far too deep McGinn isolated in there .... they would have been delighted to see Stokes pushed so far from goal all the time and Murray playing with his back to goal as practically the only outlets for balls played through the middle.

It was clear even to the tactically unaware me that after 60 minutes and barely a shot on goal, apart from Boyle's and a poor attempt from Stokes, that we needed to go for a different approach ... if we couldn't get out wide then get a target man on to try and win some knock downs with Stokes and / or Murray playing off him ... even if it didn't totally work it may have made their defence narrower making more room for Boyle to get on the ball .... that's on 60 minutes, not bloody 81 minutes which with time wasting and other stuff probably gives you 5 minutes to make it work.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr !!!!

Anyway, on to Hamilton ... who in case anybody hasn't noticed pumped us last time out, came within a baw hair of beating Aberdeen and won at Ibrox on Saturday ... it just gets easier and easier :greengrin

20-11-2017, 06:11 AM
Erm ....no it wasn't atrocious, but it wasn't good either.

I've had a long go at Anthony Stokes on another thread, so I wont continue it 'much' on here, apart from to reiterate that I want to see a lot more from him .. somebody mentioned his scoring record this season, but the league is where it counts, don't try to tell me 3 goals from open play in the league matches he has been involved in out of our 14 this season is acceptable because its not ... if Jason Cummings had been on a run like that he would have been getting slaughtered on here.

We are being let down by our home form there's no doubt about it and Saturday was a huge missed opportunity no matter how you dress it up, with the teams around us losing we could have been 2nd ..... we cant let the fact that we didn't actually lose ground paper over that if we have any ambition to make the top three or four we have to take advantage when the competition for those places slip up, especially when you look at the really tough set of fixtures we have in December.

I am absolutely baffled as to why we needed Bartley against a team that hadn't even scored a goal, never mind won, in 7 matches ... that game was going to be won or lost in midfield and as others have said we were far too light in there, if getting Stokes to drop deep to make up for the lack of numbers was the tactic it failed miserably ... he had little or no affect and was MIA just about every time we got behind them because he was 30 yards out and hardly busting a gut to get into their area.

I watched John McGinn's half time interview on ALBA and he was at pains to point out that he shouldn't be compared to Scott Brown because they are totally different players ..... bang on SJM so why are you playing the game 10 yards outside our box as if you were Scott Brown? I want to see you getting the ball inside the opposition half and running at them from there, not picking it up in the middle of our half as you did constantly on Saturday and either having to run with it for 30 yards before becoming a danger to the opposition or hitting a 60 yard pass in the direction of Boyle which was invariably cut out.

With the formation we played it was simple for St Johnstone to thwart us because they knew that as long as they could cut off, or at least slow, the supply to the two wingers, which they did fairly effectively, there was going to be little or no threat from the middle of the park with the shot shy Bartley and the far too deep McGinn isolated in there .... they would have been delighted to see Stokes pushed so far from goal all the time and Murray playing with his back to goal as practically the only outlets for balls played through the middle.

It was clear even to the tactically unaware me that after 60 minutes and barely a shot on goal, apart from Boyle's and a poor attempt from Stokes, that we needed to go for a different approach ... if we couldn't get out wide then get a target man on to try and win some knock downs with Stokes and / or Murray playing off him ... even if it didn't totally work it may have made their defence narrower making more room for Boyle to get on the ball .... that's on 60 minutes, not bloody 81 minutes which with time wasting and other stuff probably gives you 5 minutes to make it work.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr !!!!

Anyway, on to Hamilton ... who in case anybody hasn't noticed pumped us last time out, came within a baw hair of beating Aberdeen and won at Ibrox on Saturday ... it just gets easier and easier :greengrin

Penalties and free kicks do count if scored you know, not fair to take them away from players to suit your agenda. He also had a perfectly good goal disallowed against Dundee and I'm unsure of his assist stats this season but can think of a few:

Murray v Dundee
Boyle v livi
Murray v ayr
So that's 8 goals in 13 games plus 3(that I can remember) assists. Not a bad return for someone who's still getting up to speed.

Also, I think you're a bit confused:

"I am absolutely baffled as to why we needed Bartley against a team that hadn't even scored a goal, never mind won, in 7 matches ..."

"that game was going to be won or lost in midfield and as others have said we were far too light in there"

Those two statements completely contradict. Bartley is a battler, so if the game was going to be won or lost in midfield, wouldn't you want him in there to help you win that battle. Not to mention you agree with other posters consensus that we are too light in MF but are "totally baffled" by having Bartley in there?

You admit you're tactically unaware but proceed to question player roles and (including on the other thread where you've slated stokes) were desperate for a big man to punt to. At Johnstone were set up to deal with us in a number of ways, they doubled up on wingers and had two big centre halves, our full backs let us down by not being involved or adventurous enough.

Hibs tried to play the game in the right way for the most part, a style which this season has seen mostly positive performances with generally positive results especially away from home. Out performance on Saturday was poor, but the game really hinged on two mistakes:. McGeouch not tracking Davidson into the box, whether he would have won a headed against him is another matter! And Stevenson's role in the at j winner.

I agree with your statement that our home form is letting us down, but I think over the piece it will pick up, 4-2-3-1 doesn't seem to suit as well as 4-3-3 but have some faith in the management and team to get us back on track.

20-11-2017, 07:10 AM
Penalties and free kicks do count if scored you know, not fair to take them away from players to suit your agenda. He also had a perfectly good goal disallowed against Dundee and I'm unsure of his assist stats this season but can think of a few:

Murray v Dundee
Boyle v livi
Murray v ayr
So that's 8 goals in 13 games plus 3(that I can remember) assists. Not a bad return for someone who's still getting up to speed.

Also, I think you're a bit confused:

"I am absolutely baffled as to why we needed Bartley against a team that hadn't even scored a goal, never mind won, in 7 matches ..."

"that game was going to be won or lost in midfield and as others have said we were far too light in there"

Those two statements completely contradict. Bartley is a battler, so if the game was going to be won or lost in midfield, wouldn't you want him in there to help you win that battle. Not to mention you agree with other posters consensus that we are too light in MF but are "totally baffled" by having Bartley in there?

You admit you're tactically unaware but proceed to question player roles and (including on the other thread where you've slated stokes) were desperate for a big man to punt to. At Johnstone were set up to deal with us in a number of ways, they doubled up on wingers and had two big centre halves, our full backs let us down by not being involved or adventurous enough.

Hibs tried to play the game in the right way for the most part, a style which this season has seen mostly positive performances with generally positive results especially away from home. Out performance on Saturday was poor, but the game really hinged on two mistakes:. McGeouch not tracking Davidson into the box, whether he would have won a headed against him is another matter! And Stevenson's role in the at j winner.

I agree with your statement that our home form is letting us down, but I think over the piece it will pick up, 4-2-3-1 doesn't seem to suit as well as 4-3-3 but have some faith in the management and team to get us back on track.

Well not really ....... My point was we would have been better served having at least two creative midfield players in there for St Johnstone to worry about rather than just McGinn and the defensively minded Marvin, that's what I mean by the game being won or lost in that area .... I don't feel that we needed to allow St Johnstone to make it a midfield battle and we could have avoided that by having the ability to play through them with better players ... the last time I looked both McGinn and McGeouch are pretty good at tackling and tracking back if the need arises anyway.

As for Stokes .... Look, I'm not blaming him for us losing on Saturday, but I don't think he contributed nearly enough ... and yes I have no problem counting his penalties or goals against lesser opposition in his overall tally. But the bottom line here is that we aren't paying Anthony Stokes the undoubted high wage we are compared to most of his colleagues to bang in the goals in meat and drink games like Ayr Utd and Livingston or to take penalties, a job most competent players should be able to do .... we are paying him that money to be our biggest goal threat from 'open' play.
I'm not discounting these goals to suit an 'agenda' because I don't have one when it comes to AS .... I am discounting them to make a point and that point is that Stokes lack of league goals from open play is concerning, and sorry, but the 'getting up to speed defence is getting a bit old now IMO.

PS .... If you are going to be counting disallowed goals in this there is a more than reasonable case to be made from TV evidence that his 'goal' against Dundee would have went past the far post if it hadn't taken a deflection off the defender .... if I did have an agenda against AS I would have mentioned this in my post here and on the other thread, but I didn't because I don't want to see AS fail, I want to see him fulfilling the hopes that the club had for him when we went to such lengths to sign him ... at the moment he isn't IMO and don't think for a second I take any pleasure in saying it .... but its the truth as I see it.

20-11-2017, 07:33 AM
Well not really ....... My point was we would have been better served having at least two creative midfield players in there for St Johnstone to worry about rather than just McGinn and the defensively minded Marvin, that's what I mean by the game being won or lost in that area .... I don't feel that we needed to allow St Johnstone to make it a midfield battle and we could have avoided that by having the ability to play through them with better players ... the last time I looked both McGinn and McGeouch are pretty good at tackling and tracking back if the need arises anyway.

As for Stokes .... Look, I'm not blaming him for us losing on Saturday, but I don't think he contributed nearly enough ... and yes I have no problem counting his penalties or goals against lesser opposition in his overall tally. But the bottom line here is that we aren't paying Anthony Stokes the undoubted high wage we are compared to most of his colleagues to bang in the goals in meat and drink games like Ayr Utd and Livingston or to take penalties, a job most competent players should be able to do .... we are paying him that money to be our biggest goal threat from 'open' play.
I'm not discounting these goals to suit an 'agenda' because I don't have one when it comes to AS .... I am discounting them to make a point and that point is that Stokes lack of league goals from open play is concerning, and sorry, but the 'getting up to speed defence is getting a bit old now IMO.

PS .... If you are going to be counting disallowed goals in this there is a more than reasonable case to be made from TV evidence that his 'goal' against Dundee would have went past the far post if it hadn't taken a deflection off the defender .... if I did have an agenda against AS I would have mentioned this in my post here and on the other thread, but I didn't because I don't want to see AS fail, I want to see him fulfilling the hopes that the club had for him when we went to such lengths to sign him ... at the moment he isn't IMO and don't think for a second I take any pleasure in saying it .... but its the truth as I see it.

I think a fully fit McGeouch (of which I'll give the benefit of the doubt he wasn't) and McGinn is a better pairing as a midfield two. I get the gaffers thinking of going with the team he did on Saturday, it's a shame so many players failed to perform for various reasons. SJ have some real battlers on there and were always going to make it tough and Marv has been playing very well of late so it's an understandable selection especially with others not 100% fit. We needed our more from our offensive players and full backs who didn't take enough responsibility.

I like to think stokes will be just as disappointed in his performance as we all are. I'm as disappointed in his performance as you are. I think you and I are right to expect a certain level of performance from one of our top paid (presumably) players. However I don't agree that the getting up to speed argument is still valid. He barely played last season, and since he was frozen out by Delia at Celtic he's maybe played 6-7 months of football which isn't a whole lot. Throw in a few injuries and all this will effect a player and prevent them playing their best (especially at this level anyway) so whilst stokes isn't playing his best football he is still contributing to the team. Let's hope his performances and therefore goal rally improve.

However, goals still need to be scored I'm 'meat and drink' games and against 'lesser' opposition. He's proven quality and eI've no doubt he can and will score in the big games. He's done so before and will do so again.

As you've already mentioned, Hamilton away is going to be a real test and let's hope we can go there and put our last game behind us and get the 3 points. Stokes hattrick would be nice!

20-11-2017, 11:54 AM
I think a fully fit McGeouch (of which I'll give the benefit of the doubt he wasn't) and McGinn is a better pairing as a midfield two. I get the gaffers thinking of going with the team he did on Saturday, it's a shame so many players failed to perform for various reasons. SJ have some real battlers on there and were always going to make it tough and Marv has been playing very well of late so it's an understandable selection especially with others not 100% fit. We needed our more from our offensive players and full backs who didn't take enough responsibility.

I like to think stokes will be just as disappointed in his performance as we all are. I'm as disappointed in his performance as you are. I think you and I are right to expect a certain level of performance from one of our top paid (presumably) players. However I don't agree that the getting up to speed argument is still valid. He barely played last season, and since he was frozen out by Delia at Celtic he's maybe played 6-7 months of football which isn't a whole lot. Throw in a few injuries and all this will effect a player and prevent them playing their best (especially at this level anyway) so whilst stokes isn't playing his best football he is still contributing to the team. Let's hope his performances and therefore goal rally improve.

However, goals still need to be scored I'm 'meat and drink' games and against 'lesser' opposition. He's proven quality and eI've no doubt he can and will score in the big games. He's done so before and will do so again.

As you've already mentioned, Hamilton away is going to be a real test and let's hope we can go there and put our last game behind us and get the 3 points. Stokes hattrick would be nice!

20-11-2017, 02:29 PM
Just watched the highlights back and after being critical of Rocky I now think there was not much he could do about either goal. It was the lack of marking by both our CHs that caused the goals.

hhibs
20-11-2017, 03:16 PM

20-11-2017, 03:29 PM
Just watched the highlights back and after being critical of Rocky I now think there was not much he could do about either goal. It was the lack of marking by both our CHs that caused the goals.

I get where you're coming from as it's a header on the 6 yard line, but for me it's Dylan or Marv who should have been picking up Davidson for the 1st goal, neither of the centre halfs fault.

20-11-2017, 04:06 PM
I get where you're coming from as it's a header on the 6 yard line, but for me it's Dylan or Marv who should have been picking up Davidson for the 1st goal, neither of the centre halfs fault.

I watched the highlights and it was Bartley at fault, he let him stroll past and get a clear header in.

20-11-2017, 06:23 PM
Marciano did not cover himself in glory for either goal

20-11-2017, 06:36 PM

He did give that penalty but remember the Falkirk player should've been red carded for that foul as it was a blatant goal scoring offence. Keatings was 8 yards out and about to shoot. So still awful refereeing from Thomson

20-11-2017, 09:43 PM

Thought he should have came for the first one the ball was looped in the air back across goal , but once he hesitated then he lost the advantage and the player nipped in .