View Full Version : Hibs v St. Johnstone match thread

18-11-2017, 01:11 PM
Baltic outside. No fresh injury concerns?

Team for me depends more on the formation we play as apposed to the 11 best fit players on paper.

Id love to see same team that finished v dundee with dylan starting in place of slivka. But will lennon revert back to the 4 5 1 and drop stokes? I highly doubt. Either way its lennons headache and i have faith the starting 11 and formation will win us the game. GGTTH

Humo
18-11-2017, 01:15 PM
Absolutely buzzing for this game! Can't stand the international breaks for pointless friendlies.

Hopefully the boys can kick on and make it 5 in a row!

18-11-2017, 01:32 PM
Its good to be gettin back to REAL fitbaw. Gonna be a tough game, but hopefully we're up for it

18-11-2017, 01:47 PM
Just noticed that this game is in BBC Alba at 6pm

Manxhibs
18-11-2017, 01:55 PM
Good evening from a warm Koh Samui, excited to have proper football back :).

18-11-2017, 01:56 PM
STARTING XI

Marciano
Gray
Ambrose
Hanlon
Stevenson
Bartley
McGinn
Boyle
Barker
Stokes
S Murray

SUBS

Dabrowski
Porteous
McGeouch
Slivka
F Murray
Matulevicius
Shaw

18-11-2017, 01:58 PM
Like that team. Shame on mcgeogh but plenty attacking threat.

18-11-2017, 01:58 PM
STARTING XI

Marciano
Gray
Ambrose
Hanlon
Stevenson
Bartley
McGinn
Boyle
Barker
Stokes
S Murray

SUBS

Dabrowski
Porteous
McGeouch
Slivka
F Murray
Matulevicius
Shaw

Looks solid. I fancy Gray to have a stormer.

muzzando
18-11-2017, 02:00 PM
Laidlaw injured?

18-11-2017, 02:05 PM
STARTING XI

Marciano
Gray
Ambrose
Hanlon
Stevenson
Bartley
McGinn
Boyle
Barker
Stokes
S Murray

SUBS

Dabrowski
Porteous
McGeouch
Slivka
F Murray
Matulevicius
Shaw

Concerned about having two wingers and only two in CM - that backfired for us last time we started with that.

18-11-2017, 02:06 PM
Not sure about the team. Looks pretty open to me, the balance has been pretty good of late.

Lennon can never be accused of being negative. Yes, he can favour a direct approach at times but this team is bursting with talent going forward.

Good on him.

18-11-2017, 02:10 PM
Concerned about having two wingers and only two in CM - that backfired for us last time we started with that.

You are concerned? Really?

Cardinal Hibernian
18-11-2017, 02:13 PM
Concerned about having two wingers and only two in CM - that backfired for us last time we started with that.As he said ....https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171118/f81068430578d034939a756eafd23293.jpg

18-11-2017, 02:13 PM

Last time we done it we got pumped 3-0 from one of the worst teams in the league

18-11-2017, 02:14 PM

We got humped in midfield last time - Barker and Boyle bombed forward and left us overrun.

You might want to go for a quick nap - you seem a little agitated.

18-11-2017, 02:26 PM
Last time we done it we got pumped 3-0 from one of the worst teams in the leagueWe also played it against St J last time in Perth

18-11-2017, 02:27 PM
The bench is looking good as well.:flag:

18-11-2017, 02:32 PM
Just noticed the BBc Alba team, game is on at 6pm and again at night

Edit: also noticed that someone beat me to it!

18-11-2017, 02:43 PM
Craig Thompson ref :rolleyes:

WillowbraeHibby
18-11-2017, 02:47 PM

Not so handy this.... :(

18-11-2017, 02:49 PM
Looks solid. I fancy Gray to have a stormer.

Looks 4-2-4 to me.

Should be an exciting afternoon!

18-11-2017, 02:49 PM

Hmmmmmm?!? Me no like:bitchy:

18-11-2017, 02:50 PM

I don't see what all the fuss is about with him, he's just as pish as the rest of them.

Firestarter
18-11-2017, 02:51 PM
Dylan on the bench, why?

18-11-2017, 02:52 PM
Dylan on the bench, why?

Maybe not been training all week

blaikie
18-11-2017, 02:53 PM
Dylan on the bench, why?

Knock against Dundee according to the BBC

Firestarter
18-11-2017, 02:54 PM
Cheers guys. He did take a knock, remember now.

18-11-2017, 02:54 PM
Lots of attacking options on the pitch. McGeoch should start every game he is fit for me. Lennon said he was and he is on the bench so the suggests he could play. We have the option of changing it if it isn't working but hope we don't need to.

18-11-2017, 02:55 PM
Could easily be a 4 2 3 1 with stokes playing as no 10.

Firestarter
18-11-2017, 02:56 PM
I don't see what all the fuss is about with him, he's just as pish as the rest of them.

You must have missed Ian Blacks assault on super Leigh and giving them a penalty in the final. That was after numerous dubious decisions against us too.

2-0 Hibs. Stokes and Hanlon.

18-11-2017, 02:57 PM
We got humped in midfield last time - Barker and Boyle bombed forward and left us overrun.

You might want to go for a quick nap - you seem a little agitated.

Get back to me after another 3 points today.

18-11-2017, 02:58 PM
You must have missed Ian Blacks assault on super Leigh and giving them a penalty in the final. That was after numerous dubious decisions against us too.

2-0 Hibs. Stokes and Hanlon.

You crazy? You really think Stokes will score?

A couple I think

18-11-2017, 03:04 PM
Could easily be a 4 2 3 1 with stokes playing as no 10.

That's what I think it will be, which I like.

Stokes will be key today, might need to be a bit more disciplined and drop into midfield more than normal.

18-11-2017, 03:05 PM
Is the ref playing up front for them or in defense?

18-11-2017, 03:05 PM
Is Whittaker injured?

18-11-2017, 03:06 PM

You taking the P :confused:

18-11-2017, 03:07 PM
Is the ref playing up front for them or in defense?

More of a sweeper role

18-11-2017, 03:15 PM
You taking the P :confused:

Nope, that final was a shocking display of referring ineptitude and bias, but since then he's been no worse then Any of the other Morons that ref our games.

18-11-2017, 03:19 PM
Anything happening?

18-11-2017, 03:21 PM
Anything happening?

My question as well.

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2017, 03:24 PM
My question as well.

We're being sloppy---better be careful or they'll take advantage

18-11-2017, 03:30 PM
Not even one shot on Target [emoji457] yet according to B B C site

18-11-2017, 03:32 PM
We're being sloppy---better be careful or they'll take advantage

Thanks

18-11-2017, 03:34 PM
Eagerly anticipating the first “Stokes is lazy/disinterested” post

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2017, 03:38 PM
Lucky not to be 1 down---they hit the bar

WillowbraeHibby
18-11-2017, 03:38 PM
St Johnstone ... Off the bar.. C'Mon Hibs..

18-11-2017, 03:39 PM
Come on Hibs wake up.

18-11-2017, 03:39 PM

He's neither lazy nor disinterested, but he's off the pace and playing poorly.

We've been awful for the last 10 minutes.

Tough game again today, they're pressing us well.

18-11-2017, 03:46 PM
4 games fast approaching HT in the Premier, and not a single goal

18-11-2017, 03:47 PM
4 games fast approaching HT in the Premier, and not a single goal

Moult scored a short while ago

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2017, 03:48 PM
Motherwell leading

18-11-2017, 03:50 PM
Moult scored a short while ago

BBC site just caught up... not listening to AOM

18-11-2017, 03:51 PM
Not surprised the team are asleep. There is a 'nothing' feel about the game.

18-11-2017, 03:52 PM
Possibility of going 2nd :scarf:

18-11-2017, 03:52 PM
Not surprised the team are asleep. There is a 'nothing' feel about the game.

Which is sad considering if Motherwell hold on and we were to win would we not move into second place?

Although they should just be treating every game like 'big' game because every game is a big game.

18-11-2017, 03:53 PM
We need dylan ASAP

18-11-2017, 03:53 PM
Good first 10-15. Then st Johnstone have slowed the game down to buggery.

18-11-2017, 03:56 PM

He's lazy/disinterested.

18-11-2017, 03:56 PM
Seem to be waiting for the game to happen. Changes at half time.

18-11-2017, 03:57 PM
Nope, that final was a shocking display of referring ineptitude and bias, but since then he's been no worse then Any of the other Morons that ref our games.

He's a dirty yam fud.

18-11-2017, 03:57 PM
Very poor first half. Gray, Stokes very poor and completely off the pace. Desperately missing Dylan and the shape just isn't working although it might be quite a few lack lustre performances. Might get Gray off and Porteous on, go five/three at the back with Boyle on right. Presume Dylan can't be fit or too much of a risk to play him as we are a different team with him controlling things.

18-11-2017, 03:58 PM
Poor movement and terrible decisions and delivery in the final third.

We've not been too bad, but we're clearly missing Dylan.

18-11-2017, 03:59 PM
He's lazy/disinterested.

Ironically accurate, he needs to get more involved in this game.

Midfield is posted missing with McgGinn and Bartley playing so deep. We’ve moved Barker in midfield but it’s just not happening atm.

Brummie_Hibs
18-11-2017, 03:59 PM
Is anybody else watching this on Hibs TV from...cough!...cough!...abroad, having issues?

I was able to watch first 10 mins, but then I lost it and no luck since.

18-11-2017, 04:00 PM
Which is sad considering if Motherwell hold on and we were to win would we not move into second place?

Although they should just be treating every game like 'big' game because every game is a big game.

I know what you are saying, and it is a great opportunity to stay right up near the top. It just doesn't feel like a 'really important' game. Look forward to seeing how they go in the second half. We are on a great run, and being in a battle for 2nd would be a tremendous feat for the team.

Newry Hibs
18-11-2017, 04:00 PM
Presumably we are looking a bit down knowing the inevitable resurgence of Hearts begins tomorrow and we'll be put in our place anyway.

18-11-2017, 04:01 PM
Ironically accurate, he needs to get more involved in this game.

Midfield is posted missing with McgGinn and Bartley playing so deep. We’ve moved Barker in midfield but it’s just not happening atm. He's been a passenger at times and he passing has been slack. Just doesn't look sharp

HiBremian
18-11-2017, 04:04 PM
Is anybody else watching this on Hibs TV from...cough!...cough!...abroad, having issues?

Feed seems a bit hiccupy. Been getting flashes of green screen every once in a while. :confused:

18-11-2017, 04:04 PM
If Dylan can play i’d have him on now. Missing him badly.

18-11-2017, 04:05 PM

He's lazy/uninterested.

18-11-2017, 04:05 PM
**** me it’s cauld

18-11-2017, 04:14 PM
Come on Hibs :flag::flag::flag:

:singing: All we are saying....is give us second place

OxoHibby
18-11-2017, 04:14 PM
He's been a passenger at times and he passing has been slack. Just doesn't look sharp

Who?

RMQ1967
18-11-2017, 04:15 PM

Yes - watching from India. Normally superb but the feed has been atrocious today.

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2017, 04:15 PM
Nothing changed at half time---we're stilletting them run it---c'mon Hibs, Aberdeen losing 2-0

SJNB Hibby
18-11-2017, 04:17 PM
Feed seems a bit hiccupy. Been getting flashes of green screen every once in a while. :confused:

Not many issues---it was a bit iffy at the start, and I have seen the occasional green screen, but cant complain too much

18-11-2017, 04:18 PM
Looks like a change is needed.

18-11-2017, 04:22 PM
All other games going our way, c’mon Hibs!

18-11-2017, 04:30 PM
Stonewall penalty denied there, stokes being pulled back in the box as he’s trying to shoot

18-11-2017, 04:31 PM
17,042 attendance, fantatsic attendance for a game v St Johnstone.

18-11-2017, 04:32 PM
Stonewall penalty denied there, stokes being pulled back in the box as he’s trying to shoot

Maybe would have got it if he had been 5 yards outside the box?

Wull
18-11-2017, 04:33 PM
17,042 attendance, fantatsic attendance for a game v St Johnstone.

Great, now common Hibees give them somethin to cheer about

18-11-2017, 04:35 PM
All other games going our way, c’mon Hibs!

Usually when that happens we don't take full advantage Hoping Lennon has fixed that Another kate goal and 1. 0 will do just fine

18-11-2017, 04:36 PM
Have we not scored yet

18-11-2017, 04:36 PM
1-0 st Johnstone

18-11-2017, 04:37 PM
1-0 st Johnstone

O dear! With our rivals getting beaten it would have been a good chance to keep the momentum going!

Usually when that happens we don't take full advantage Hoping Lennon has fixed that Another kate goal and 1. 0 will do just fine

I was just about to say the same thing

SJNB Hibby
We asked for that---fortunately there's enough time to get back into it

ManBearPig
**** really

Typical hibs

18-11-2017, 04:38 PM
I was just about to say the same thing

I hadn't factored in them scoring though

18-11-2017, 04:39 PM
They’ll park the bus now! Sounds like a bit of a lethargic performance today!

one day maybe...
15 mins to turn it round

No great surprise.

18-11-2017, 04:40 PM
No great surprise.

But how disappointing.

Paloschi
18-11-2017, 04:40 PM
Poor stuff but we won our last 4 coming into this. I still think we will find an equaliser if we put the pressure on. I think we need another forward in Jan.

18-11-2017, 04:41 PM
Sounds like we have been utterly rank today and St Johnstone deserve their win. We are lucky our main rivals have both lost as well, but an opportunity lost.

18-11-2017, 04:41 PM
Our season has been great. Lots of poor home games. The crowds, the vibe, the players dont really respond to it.

18-11-2017, 04:42 PM
It's always been the case if any team is on a horrendous run then Hibs seem to be the perfect team to end it.

18-11-2017, 04:43 PM
O dear! With our rivals getting beaten it would have been a good chance to keep the momentum going!

St Johnstone haven't scored a goal in six games or won a game in weeks Infuriating how we then allow them to change that
Lennon will rightly not be happy

IlDiavola
18-11-2017, 04:43 PM
Aaaarrrgghhhh!

18-11-2017, 04:45 PM
If we don't score im not watching the gave on alba later

18-11-2017, 04:46 PM
St Johnstone haven't scored a goal in six games or won a game in weeks Infuriating how we then allow them to change that
Lennon will rightly not be happy

Sounds about right Ronnie

18-11-2017, 04:46 PM
No alarm bells but an en masse can't be ar5ed is annoying.

18-11-2017, 04:50 PM
No ground lost, but hugely disappointing

therealgavmac
18-11-2017, 04:50 PM
BBC reports St Johnstone goal a header from more then 35 yards??? Is that right FFS?

18-11-2017, 04:51 PM
BBC reports St Johnstone goal a header from more then 35 yards??? Is that right FFS?
No - 6 yd box

Firestarter
18-11-2017, 04:51 PM
Shocking today like. Still fancy a late equaliser. Saints deserve it though.

Firestarter
18-11-2017, 04:52 PM
Penalty

18-11-2017, 04:53 PM
Cliff just turned into a teuchter!

Stokes 1-1:flag:flag:

YES! :thumbsup: Stokes slots home.

Sounds like an undeserved point, but I'll take it!!

Firestarter

Stokes 1-1 😂

18-11-2017, 04:54 PM
Hins deserve at leat a draw.

The ref's been crap as per.

Catch22

You got the lottery numbers for tonight

BarneyHibby
Yasss!!!:thumbsup:

Firestarter
**** sake

Nice one!!

therealgavmac
18-11-2017, 04:55 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

If you can’t win, don’t lose!

2-1 st Johnstone

Firestarter
You got the lottery numbers for tonight

2-1

**** me hibs

2-1 St Johnstone

Lendo
****sake

18-11-2017, 04:56 PM
Oh **** me!!

Oh well, deserved St Johnstone win and 2 goals for them.

Pish. But we dust ourselves down and start again...wake up call.

18-11-2017, 04:56 PM
Ffs

18-11-2017, 04:57 PM
Poor performance, Porteus looked poor at both goals not sure that was a good sub to make.

18-11-2017, 04:57 PM
We got what we deserved.

18-11-2017, 04:58 PM
Good grief. Well done St Johnstone and poor show from Hibs. Slack and worth 0 points.

We got what we deserved.

:agree: 100%

Hibs TV is terrible, staying up late on the other side of the world for the feed constantly cutting out 🙄

Hibs the only team trying to play football, didn't deserve to be beaten, st Johnstone bringing nothing to the table than a bank of 4 & 5 and hoping to nick something

Was always gonna end that way today.

Bobo
Nobody interested today, PAF from start to finish we lacked any drive, we’re too slow and defensively were a joke

hibee62
18-11-2017, 04:59 PM
Oh **** me!!

Oh well, deserved St Johnstone win and 2 goals for them.

Pish. But we dust ourselves down and start again...wake up call.

“Deserved”? That’s not even remotely true! I assume you’re at the wind up...

Poor result that. Reading this thread not worth watching ALBA

To concede again after getting back into the game is a sicker

18-11-2017, 05:00 PM
FFS POOR

haagsehibby
18-11-2017, 05:00 PM
Another soft porn performance - no penetration!!

18-11-2017, 05:01 PM
I hope Lennn kicks ass.

18-11-2017, 05:01 PM
Losing via the ****ing kick off glitch.

IlDiavola
18-11-2017, 05:02 PM
Bollocks.

Get the late penalty. Play it tight for 200 seconds. All you had to do.

FFS!

Jeez. We probably need to start playing away from easter road for as long as possible.

Cue a big yam win at the half built arena tomorrow.

18-11-2017, 05:04 PM
Whole team poor but Porteous has to do better.

Lennon will go radge.

Thegreenside
18-11-2017, 05:06 PM
For why did we change system today!!!

18-11-2017, 05:07 PM
For why did we change system today!!!

To accommodate the messiah...stokes was awful today

18-11-2017, 05:08 PM
Don't understand why we never fouled in the middle of the park as they were breaking...both goals there were 3/4 st J players waiting to put it in, very poor day at the office

18-11-2017, 05:09 PM
Also need all the points we can get before a hard month next month

norhfc
18-11-2017, 05:10 PM
Poor, not many pass marks today, as for the last minute I don't know what to say, watched it unfold on HibsTv and was screaming at the TV from their KO.....could see it was gonna happen, ask the wife !

18-11-2017, 05:11 PM
Ideal opportunity to go second today only to fall on our own sword. still, we are third and we have a tough game next week on that stupid plastic pitch.

COME ON HIBS!

(Do I sound like a happy clapper now? :wink:)

18-11-2017, 05:12 PM
Both teams were brutal, thought a draw would have been fair but **** me, that’s one of the worst games I’ve sat through.

18-11-2017, 05:12 PM
Lennon will go radge.

This...

Bay Area Hibees
18-11-2017, 05:13 PM
Hibs TV is terrible, staying up late on the other side of the world for the feed constantly cutting out 🙄

Hibs the only team trying to play football, didn't deserve to be beaten, st Johnstone bringing nothing to the table than a bank of 4 & 5 and hoping to nick something

Yes was dreadful today cutting out all the time

18-11-2017, 05:14 PM
It's Hibs? We used to do it a lot when I was a youth.

Now it is the opposite of what the manager is about but every so often the highly unlikely will definitely happen.

I never ever bet on a Hibs game.

EH54
18-11-2017, 05:16 PM
No good enough yet again pish at ER

ShinyFantastic
18-11-2017, 05:19 PM
Losing via the ****ing kick off glitch.

Sort it out EA!!!

18-11-2017, 05:22 PM
All very well beating pish like Partick and Hearts but need to beat the better teams.

18-11-2017, 05:22 PM
To accommodate the messiah...stokes was awful today

Exactly. A good run with a settled 433 but Stokes must be accommodated at any cost it seems.

WillowbraeHibby
18-11-2017, 05:24 PM
Exactly. A good run with a settled 433 but Stokes must be accommodated at any cost it seems.

Seems like it...

18-11-2017, 05:28 PM
Two goals from the left side shock! As for gray should have been hooked at half time. Full backs once again not good enough. No doubt I'll get shot down. Offer zilch going forward and bang average at best defensively.

18-11-2017, 05:31 PM
Two goals from the left side shock! As for gray should have been hooked at half time. Full backs once again not good enough. No doubt I'll get shot down. Offer zilch going forward and bang average at best defensively.

The second goal they were allowed to stroll through the middle from the halfway line. That was nothing to do with full backs. Someone should have brought the boy down before it was played wide. Very naive.

18-11-2017, 05:37 PM
The second goal they were allowed to stroll through the middle from the halfway line. That was nothing to do with full backs. Someone should have brought the boy down before it was played wide. Very naive.

A cone like impersonation from Stevenson. Ripped for the second home game in a row. Time for him to be dropped.

hhibs
18-11-2017, 05:38 PM
Seems like it...

Stokes to bench please,too many accommodations been made to fit him in.

18-11-2017, 05:42 PM
Stokes to bench please,too many accommodations been made to fit him in.

speedy_gonzales
18-11-2017, 05:47 PM
A cone like impersonation from Stevenson. Ripped for the second home game in a row. Time for him to be dropped.
I'm neither a Stevenson hater nor fanboy, but when we went 3 at the back and he went left-mid he was nothing more than a mannequin. A combination of nobody passing him the ball and there being nobody in front of him like Barker.
Perhaps Stevenson should have been hooked in lieu of Barker?!?

18-11-2017, 06:20 PM
A complete lack of movement from the whole team again. Some very poor performances and Stokes was the worst out of a very bad bunch. Most annoying as that disrupted what had been a winning formula just to accommodate the Manager's favourite. Boyle not involved, McGinn far too deep. System didn't look like it would work from the first kick or maybe even on paper. We looked a million miles away from a team of winners today against the poorest St Johnstone team I have seen in years. It's a real pity we can't play this poorly away from home and keep the better performances for Easter Road. Given the huge numbers of new/returning fans it is vital we sort our home performances out or we are at risk of them looking elsewhere on a Saturday.

18-11-2017, 06:23 PM
A complete lack of movement from the whole team again. Some very poor performances and Stokes was the worst out of a very bad bunch. Most annoying as that disrupted what had been a winning formula just to accommodate the Manager's favourite. Boyle not involved, McGinn far too deep. System didn't look like it would work from the first kick or maybe even on paper. We looked a million miles away from a team of winners today against the poorest St Johnstone team I have seen in years. It's a real pity we can't play this poorly away from home and keep the better performances for Easter Road. Given the huge numbers of new/returning fans it is vital we sort our home performances out or we are at risk of them looking elsewhere on a Saturday.

I thought Boyle was our best player by a long way, without being brilliant.

He was tenacious, kept at it and looked our biggest threat.

He thumped in a decent shot in the first half, had a few good runs and did some decent defensive work as well.

I don't think he deserves any criticism.

gaz1875
18-11-2017, 06:27 PM
I thought Boyle was our best player by a long way, without being brilliant.

He was tenacious, kept at it and looked our biggest threat.

He thumped in a decent shot in the first half, had a few good runs and did some decent defensive work as well.

I don't think he deserves any criticism.

I couldn't agree more, had one fantastic run before he was assaulted by the StJ defender.

18-11-2017, 06:27 PM

Don't get it at all, worst of it was our best player so far this season was dropped for him. Thought mecgouch came on and it was clear to see he was what we were missing

18-11-2017, 06:39 PM
Sort it out EA!!!

18-11-2017, 06:52 PM
Don't get it at all, worst of it was our best player so far this season was dropped for him. Thought mecgouch came on and it was clear to see he was what we were missing

Pretty sure McGeough wasn't 'dropped' as such. More a case of not being deemed fit enough for 90 minutes given the way Lennon has been talking about him.

Dr_Regal
18-11-2017, 06:58 PM
McGinn far too deep

Agreed.. Should be the number 10 in a 4-2-3-1. Got nowhere near the box in this one at all, and is the only midfielder to carry a goal threat.

18-11-2017, 07:16 PM
He will always be a legend for being the first Hibs player to win the League Cup and Scottish Cup.

Model professional and gives 100% every time he pulls the shirt on.

But it really is time Lewis Stevenson was replaced, or failing that get someone who is liable to challenge him for the jersey.

I realise I'm going to be shot down for this post but it needs to be said.

BTW this isn't a knee jerk reaction as felt like this for a while.

18-11-2017, 07:17 PM
That was worse than watching paint dry today

18-11-2017, 07:21 PM
He will always be a legend for being the first Hibs player to win the League Cup and Scottish Cup.

But it really is time Lewis Stevenson was replaced, or failing that get someone who is liable to challenge him for the jersey.

I hear ye

guthrie01
18-11-2017, 07:21 PM

Don’t see how you can fault Lewis for the loss today, thought he actually had a decent game and was one of the better players. Calls for him to be replaced are ridiculous, folk just love to put the boot into Lewis no matter what he does.

18-11-2017, 07:22 PM
Don’t see how you can fault Lewis for the loss today, thought he actually had a decent game and was one of the better players. Calls for him to be replaced are ridiculous, folk just love to put the boot into Lewis no matter what he does.

What area of the park did both crosses come from today? Where did the cross come from that we lost a goal from in the last home game?

18-11-2017, 07:23 PM

I wouldn't punt him but I think he needs competition. He's not had a real challenger for his position for as long as I can remember. Get an attacking left back in and use them both as needed.

Another forward in January as well.

guthrie01
18-11-2017, 07:25 PM
What area of the park did both crosses come from today? Where did the cross come from that we lost a goal from in the last home game?

We where all over the park defensively, Ambrose let way too many passes into the box but are we just ignoring them ?
Marciano was the biggest one at fault for the goals lost imo and Lewis can’t be held accountable for the entire defences faults today

18-11-2017, 07:27 PM

Stevenson wasn't great today but no one in a Hibs jersey was.

Sick saying this but he gets next to no support from Barker defensively

18-11-2017, 07:28 PM
We where all over the park defensively, Ambrose let way too many passes into the box but are we just ignoring them ?
Marciano was the biggest one at fault for the goals lost imo and Lewis can’t be held accountable for the entire defences faults today

Of course he’s not solely to blame but I feel that if we want to progress then we need to be looking at better in his position. Or at least someone to give him a bit of competition

18-11-2017, 07:32 PM

Congratulations, you're the first.

I never said he was to singly blame for today but if you thought he was decent then I'm wasting my time debating with you.

NL said he was bracing himself for bids in the January window, do you seriously think he is one of them?

I take the opposite view from you, he is probably the one Hibs player that you daren't criticise on here,

I don't get that, to me he is there to be congratulated or criticised the same as every other player.

18-11-2017, 07:37 PM
Well no surprise on Hibs.net. Hibs lose a game and suddenly Stevenson is not good enough.

Hibs were poor all over the pitch, from Murray to Marciano, our players were poor.

It happens, we're not good enough to think that we'll win every game. But they've done pretty well this season, so I'll accept that we're work in progress.

I predict that the Hibs team of next season will be a bit different and better than the Hibs team of today - work in progress.

:nlgwa:nlgwa:nlgwa

18-11-2017, 07:37 PM

I never said he was to singly blame for today but if you thought he was decent then I'm wasting my time debating with you.

NL said he was bracing himself for bids in the January window, do you seriously think he is one of them?

I take the opposite view from you, he is probably the one Hibs player that you daren't criticise on here,

I don't get that, to me he is there to be congratulated or criticised the same as every other player.

Lewis always gives 100% for Hibs, but he was at fault IMO for quite needlessly heading the ball out of play and gifting possession to St Johnstone which led to their second goal. I don't know if he panicked or lost concentration or what, but it proved very costly.

18-11-2017, 07:43 PM
Lewis always gives 100% for Hibs, but he was at fault IMO for quite needlessly heading the ball out of play and gifting possession to St Johnstone which led to their second goal. I don't know if he panicked or lost concentration or what, but it proved very costly.
Naw heading the ball out the park has never lost to a goal ever. Poordefending after that lost the goal.

18-11-2017, 07:44 PM

Agree about needlessly giving away the thrown in. And I’m sure he got smoked after that and let O’Halloran run into the box? Need to see it again in a minute on Alba. Absolutely love Lewis but we’ve conceded goals in the past two games in situations where I think Lewis could have prevented them. It’ll hurt him the same as it hurts us though.

18-11-2017, 07:46 PM

Agree with all of that eg.

However surely giving 100% is what every professional player should do.

I've already stated that Lewis is a model professional, but that doesn't mean his position isn't his forever and a day.

18-11-2017, 07:48 PM
Naw heading the ball out the park has never lost to a goal ever. Poordefending after that lost the goal.

Needlessly giving away possession is what can, and does, cost goals. Just like today. Poor defending subsequently just makes it worse.

18-11-2017, 07:51 PM
Defence were poor today but fact of the matter is Stevenson struggles every time he comes up against a pacy winger...both crosses for the goals came in from his side today & it's the fullbacks job to stop these crosses coming in. He was poor today.

18-11-2017, 07:58 PM
Needlessly giving away possession is what can, and does, cost goals. Just like today. Poor defending subsequently just makes it worse.

The goal came about two minutes after he headed it out so I’m not sure what your point is. I’m sure we even had a throw in after that FFS.

18-11-2017, 08:00 PM
Defence were poor today but fact of the matter is Stevenson struggles every time he comes up against a pacy winger...both crosses for the goals came in from his side today & it's the fullbacks job to stop these crosses coming in. He was poor today.

Only failed to cut out the cross at the second one. The first came from deeper in the midfield.

18-11-2017, 08:08 PM

Ambrose was back to being "crack pipe and ballet pumps" rather than "pipe and slippers" today.

He actually came away with some of the nicest pieces of play I've seen from a Hibs defender since Sauzee played today, absolutely different class. The composure, touch and skill he showed to get out of some tight situations was at times inspired.

He also came away with some of the biggest load of rubbish that would have seen the worst, most criticised Hibs defenders receive absolute pelters for (such as that time he let the ball bounce in his own box during the second half).

I normally like personality players, slightly bonkers entertainers who have an achilles heel, but I still don't really get Ambrose. I just think that for a player of his experience his decision making should be better, tbh for a defender his basic defending should be a whole lot better.

18-11-2017, 08:08 PM
The goal came about two minutes after he headed it out so I’m not sure what your point is. I’m sure we even had a throw in after that FFS.

My point is simply this. He gave away possession needlessly. At time added on especially, he should retain possession of the ball and make sure the opposition don't get the chance to score.

I can't argue with you about your last point. I'd need to see highlights.

18-11-2017, 10:44 PM

You thought Stevenson was one of our better players?!?! Wake up. He has been costing us for weeks. You are either at the wind up or dont have a clue.

18-11-2017, 10:51 PM
You thought Stevenson was one of our better players?!?! Wake up. He has been costing us for weeks. You are either at the wind up or dont have a clue.

You can change weeks for years.

Hibeewilly
18-11-2017, 10:57 PM

I agree with you 100%. I tend not to comment on Stevenson threads anymore as he obviously has a lot of posters on here who rate him highly and I don't. I think the fact that Lennon tried Whittaker in that position told us that he thinks Stevenson isn't the answer. I'm sure a left back will be high on his list of targets in January

18-11-2017, 11:13 PM
Stokes was honking today.

19-11-2017, 08:37 AM
Stokes was honking today.

Apart from penalties how many goals has he scored from open play and how many assists

edwards
19-11-2017, 06:46 PM

I am going to say it and they won't like it we need a natural left back Stevenson has improved over the past 3-4 years biut he had the same thing done to him in the Dundee game and the player got around him and crossed a ball into the box for Dundee's goal same again yesterday.