View Full Version : Mobility scooters.

16-11-2017, 06:20 PM
Can you be arrested for driving these under the influence of alcohol?

16-11-2017, 06:23 PM
If it’s someone else’s yes ;)

16-11-2017, 06:24 PM
Cummings been messing about in Blackpool ? :)

#phenomenal

IlDiavola
16-11-2017, 06:26 PM
#prayforjason#

16-11-2017, 06:31 PM
Just back from the land of the mobility scooter - Costa del Sol.

These things can be an absolute menace. They can do around 10 mph and take no prisoners.

16-11-2017, 06:53 PM

I'm not 100% but i remember hearing someone say no because they have the same status as bicycles. Which means the police can advise that an operator cease operating but if they refuse they need to wait until other laws are broken. I'm probably wrong there though :greengrin

16-11-2017, 06:56 PM
What about cherry pickers

ben johnson
16-11-2017, 07:01 PM
Andy Powell, a Wales rugby international, has been given a 15-month driving ban after taking an electric golf buggy onto a motorway in a drunken prank.

Powell, the British Lions and Wales forward, was spotted by other motorists on the hard shoulder of the M4 behind the wheel of the 20mph buggy taken from his team's hotel.

Cardiff magistrates heard the 6ft 4in player had decided to go to motorway services at 5.45am for "munchies" after a late-night party with team mates to celebrate a dramatic Wales victory over Scotland.

He drove a mile and a half in darkness along the M4 before being stopped by police at the Cardiff West service station. The 17st 6lbs player was breath-tested and had 58 microrammes of alchohol in 100 millitres of breath. The legal limit is 35.

16-11-2017, 07:01 PM
I'm not 100% but i remember hearing someone say no because they have the same status as bicycles. Which means the police can advise that an operator cease operating but if they refuse they need to wait until other laws are broken. I'm probably wrong there though :greengrin

You can be done for cycling under the influence of drunk/drugs. It’s an offence under the Road Traffic Act 1988. I don’t think they can force a cyclist to take a breath/urine/blood test though, so technically it’s your word against the police.

Cardinal Hibernian
16-11-2017, 07:09 PM
I'm not 100% but i remember hearing someone say no because they have the same status as bicycles. Which means the police can advise that an operator cease operating but if they refuse they need to wait until other laws are broken. I'm probably wrong there though :greengrinThis is also my understanding.

My late grandfather was cautioned / spoken / told off by the police for "being drunk in charge of a Clydesdale horse".

The reality was the horse was in charge as it was leading him home (grandfather holding onto its tail) from the pub.

16-11-2017, 07:15 PM
The reason i asked was, taxis are at a premium on a Saturday night i can wait up to an hour for one to get me home.

I can buy a mobility scooter for £50 here, that would get me home in 10 minutes, and also save me the fare to boot.

I will though be under the influence. :greengrin

16-11-2017, 07:19 PM
This is also my understanding.

My late grandfather was cautioned / spoken / told off by the police for "being drunk in charge of a Clydesdale horse".

The reality was the horse was in charge as it was leading him home (grandfather holding onto its tail) from the pub.

Are you father Ted

16-11-2017, 07:23 PM
The reason i asked was, taxis are at a premium on a Saturday night i can wait up to an hour for one to get me home.

I can buy a mobility scooter for £50 here, that would get me home in 10 minutes, and also save me the fare to boot.

A guy I knew from Turnhouse Golf Club (now sadly deceased) had one of those and one time he was smeekit, he decided to take a short cut home via the city bypass.

He got pulled over by the polis and when they got out of the car to speak to him, he said "Where the ****'s my caravan?"

The polis were pissing themselves laughing and just escorted him home.

16-11-2017, 07:27 PM
The reason i asked was, taxis are at a premium on a Saturday night i can wait up to an hour for one to get me home. I can buy a mobility scooter for £50 here, that would get me home in 10 minutes, and also save me the fare to boot. I will though be under the influence. :greengrin

Ride it on pavement. Simple

16-11-2017, 07:33 PM
I suppose you could do some damage with a mobility scooter if you were drunk. You could run over a slow-moving child or something.

CyberSauzee
16-11-2017, 07:48 PM

Make sure you get one with a basket on the front to put your kebab in.

16-11-2017, 07:50 PM
This thread is like a Still Game episode [emoji23]

16-11-2017, 07:55 PM
Make sure you get one with a basket on the front to put your kebab in.

I'm on a health kick, it will be a KFC. :greengrin

16-11-2017, 08:02 PM

Coming back from The Phoenix Club?!

16-11-2017, 08:03 PM

Naw, i could walk that in 5 mins. :greengrin

16-11-2017, 08:04 PM

How bloody dare you!

16-11-2017, 08:10 PM

😂😂😂

CyberSauzee
16-11-2017, 08:35 PM
I'm on a health kick, it will be a KFC. :greengrin

Will you not need a 2 seater? Or will the singer from Churchill's have to walk quickly beside you? :wink:

16-11-2017, 08:36 PM
This has got 50 pages and legendary status written all over it .......

16-11-2017, 08:54 PM
Will you not need a 2 seater? Or will the singer from Churchill's have to walk quickly beside you? :wink:

Me and april. :greengrin

Sioux
16-11-2017, 08:55 PM
Tenerife's absolutely infested with these fekkurs. Very few are actually disabled, just lazy fat b******s.

Hired one for a day once and got rammed from the side by some old wifey wi a stupid St Pat's day leprechaun outfit!! I was sober, she wisnae. It was half eleven in the morning outside Parque Santiago if anyone knows the area.

Mental

16-11-2017, 08:56 PM
Tenerife's absolutely infested with these fekkurs. Very few are actually disabled, just lazy fat b******s.

Hired one for a day once and got rammed from the side by some old wifey wi a stupid St Pat's day leprechaun outfit!! I was sober, she wisnae. It was half eleven in the morning outside Parque Santiago if anyone knows the area.

Mental

1234 OR 5? :greengrin

Sioux
16-11-2017, 09:03 PM
1234 OR 5? :greengrin

3. So no excuse, the pavement's wide enough for two jeeps!

16-11-2017, 09:05 PM
3. So no excuse, the pavement's wide enough for two jeeps!

Aye it is wide there. :greengrin

16-11-2017, 09:44 PM

I would've had G down as a Ma Kellys man!

16-11-2017, 09:55 PM
I would've had G down as a Ma Kellys man!

I might get in there more often if i can drive one of those scooters. :wink:

Cardinal Hibernian
16-11-2017, 10:10 PM
Are you father TedAlas, I am not.

A few weeks later the same Clydesdale horse slipped on cobbles in the farm courtyard (the horse and my grandfather were both sober!) and landed on my grandfather and broke his back. Unable to continue working as a farm labourer the family were kicked out of the tied farm cottage they were in.

Strange how drunken mobility scooters in Blackpool can be linked to some obscure family history.

Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk

17-11-2017, 12:37 AM
I might get in there more often if i can drive one of those scooters. :wink:

You could be right, I'm sure there were a couple of penny farthings chained to the fence outside when I paid the place a quick visit during the summer.

17-11-2017, 10:36 AM
https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/1540868/man-drunk-in-charge-of-mobility-scooter-breathalysed-by-cops-after-refusing-to-leave-mcdonalds-drive-thru-in-skegness/

looks like t could be risky G :greengrin

17-11-2017, 03:51 PM

Speed cameras outside Churchill’s G 😉
Watch em 👀

17-11-2017, 04:40 PM
being drunk on a mobility scooter might not be illegal...but this should be !!

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/naked-pensioners-mobility-scooters-feature-13556637