View Full Version : Best Chinese in Edinburgh

Navids Numpties
12-11-2017, 08:22 PM
So we have had the best chippy now, what's the best Chinese? Mr So at Piershill for me.

WeveGotMcginn
12-11-2017, 10:03 PM
New hung wai at Piershill is good too, their salt& chilli chips are the damage[emoji41]

Navids Numpties
12-11-2017, 10:05 PM
New hung wai at Piershill is good too, their salt& chilli chips are the damage[emoji41]

Have to give them a shot like! Where about are they? Don't think I've heard of them before and am just around the corner.

WeveGotMcginn
12-11-2017, 10:21 PM
Have to give them a shot like! Where about are they? Don't think I've heard of them before and am just around the corner.

Just beside giovannis chippy [emoji1360]

EH6 Hibby
12-11-2017, 10:35 PM
The chef from Savour Chinese at Newhaven is in the running for takeaway of the year in Britain. I’ve never tried it, but I will need go at some point. Can’t remember the last time I enjoyed a Chinese, the last two I’ve had have been rank.

12-11-2017, 10:43 PM
Total lack of consistency across many of them is the problem. Have a good meal, go back a few weeks later and same order is crap. Move onto another and same thing happens.

Tornadoes70
12-11-2017, 11:11 PM
Its been a long time since I visited a chinese restaurant as I much prefer Indian food but a very good one I remember (it might not even be there now) was the Loon Fung in Canonmills.

13-11-2017, 06:12 AM
Karens unicorn on Abercrombie place.

13-11-2017, 06:17 AM

As good as it gets (apart from the price maybe :wink:)

13-11-2017, 06:36 AM
I'd heard a few folk say Cool Jade in Corstorphine was good, went in a few weeks ago, it was utterly *****. The Chinese Manor House along the road is miles better.

13-11-2017, 06:43 AM
I'd heard a few folk say Cool Jade in Corstorphine was good, went in a few weeks ago, it was utterly *****. The Chinese Manor House along the road is miles better.

I'm very surprised at that, but it does show how subjective reviews are.

Cool Jade serves the best Chinese food I've ever tasted. I love it and my mate is a regular there and he refuses to eat Chinese anywhere else.

13-11-2017, 07:11 AM
When we lived off Leith Walk there was a Chinese in Albert Street that was fantastic, it looked like a total dump outside and in but food was consistently good.

13-11-2017, 07:41 AM
I struggle to remember the last Chinese I ordered and even harder to remember the last I enjoyed. There are exceptions but I find the vast majority have a gloopy texture, are sickly sweet and then leave an almost overpowering aftertaste of MSG.

A lot of Chinese takeaways seem to be stuck in a time warp. With the far more abundant take away offerings from Thai restaurants in recents years, the switch from some Indians to more traditional and smaller dishes, the growing popularity of Mexican take away, more traditional pizza offerings rather than the Dominos/Pizza Hut rubbish, sushi and other Japanese offerings and the huge improvement in dishes from some burger and chicken outlets I'm not sure a lot of Chinese have upped their game to keep pace. As said above consistency is a huge issue and with so much choice I'm not willing to risk a crap meal.

13-11-2017, 07:47 AM
I struggle to remember the last Chinese I ordered and even harder to remember the last I enjoyed. There are exceptions but I find the vast majority have a gloopy texture, are almost sickly sweet and then leave an almost overpowering aftertaste of MSG.

A lot of Chinese takeaways seem to be stuck in a time warp. With the far more abundant take away offerings from Thai restaurants in recents years, the switch from some Indians to more traditional and smaller dishes, the growing popularity of Mexican take away, more traditional pizza offerings rather than the Dominos/Pizza Hut rubbish and the hige improvement in offerings from burger and chicken outlets I'm not sure a lot of Chinese have upped their game to keep pace. As said above consistency is a huge issue and with so much choice I'm not willing to risk a crap meal.

I totally agree with that. Occasionally I'm in the mood for that sweet gloopy British Chinese food we got in the 1970s and we still get today, but 90% of places are just reheating the same mass produced sauces that you can buy in Costco. You're getting much tastier and authentic Asian cuisine if you go to a fusion chain place like Wagamama, to be honest.

13-11-2017, 07:49 AM
I totally agree with that. Occasionally I'm in the mood for that sweet gloopy British Chinese food we got in the 1970s and we still get today, but 90% of places are just reheating the same mass produced sauces that you can buy in Costco. You're getting much tastier and authentic Asian cuisine if you go to a fusion chain place like Wagamama, to be honest.

Wagamama is brutal in my opinion.

13-11-2017, 08:03 AM
The Loon Wah Meadowbank is superb.

13-11-2017, 09:15 AM

I tried it once on the back of many good local reccomendations, the thing I ended up chewing on that was supposed to be chicken breast put me off my meal and ever returning.

13-11-2017, 10:08 AM
Not been for a few years but, The Kweilin on Dundas Street used to be excellent.
Taste Good on Slateford Road used to be pretty good but, its gone downhill recently.

13-11-2017, 10:40 AM
Can’t beat the Rendezvous on Queensferry St, or the Pingon in Stockbridge. Think the Pingon is run by Wednesday the Wong family, who used to own the Great Wall that was on Lothian Rd many moons ago?

13-11-2017, 10:49 AM
Can’t beat the Rendezvous on Queensferry St, or the Pingon in Stockbridge. Think the Pingon is run by Wednesday the Wong family, who used to own the Great Wall that was on Lothian Rd many moons ago?

IIRC the Great Wall was where the Imperial was. The Imperial was the first (and only) Chinese restaurant we went to when I was a kid - an annual treat.

13-11-2017, 11:12 AM
That’s the one I use as as well.

13-11-2017, 11:15 AM
Not Edinburgh, but the name of this place always made me smile whenever we passed it on the way to matches in Dundee.

https://www.facebook.com/TakAWaDundee/

13-11-2017, 11:41 AM
Orchid Lodge used to be our favourite up town, sadly long gone.Tried Rendezvous a couple of months ago as a last minute choice and was pleasantly surprised.

13-11-2017, 11:48 AM

Yip - brilliant

13-11-2017, 12:42 PM
When we lived off Leith Walk there was a Chinese in Albert Street that was fantastic, it looked like a total dump outside and in but food was consistently good.

Is that Jiuding? We've started going there since the Silver Bowl left us disappointed more than once too often.

We like it and after about half a dozen visits/deliveries it's #1.

For a sitdoonerie the Rendezvous is hard to beat and their lunchtime menu great value.

13-11-2017, 03:02 PM
Is that Jiuding? We've started going there since the Silver Bowl left us disappointed more than once too often.

We like it and after about half a dozen visits/deliveries it's #1.

For a sitdoonerie the Rendezvous is hard to beat and their lunchtime menu great value.

That's it, and yes the Silver Bowl looks all nice and shiny but food was not great. This place is a dump but food is great.

13-11-2017, 05:17 PM
IIRC the Great Wall was where the Imperial was. The Imperial was the first (and only) Chinese restaurant we went to when I was a kid - an annual treat.

You must be a lot older than me, never knew it as the Imperial😄

beensaidbefore
13-11-2017, 05:18 PM
Ming palace at Mortonhall used to be good but not been for a while. Chinese delight at oxgngs isn't too bad either, better than the bottom shops anyway!

13-11-2017, 07:38 PM
We use The Silver Bowl in Leith Walk but only because my wife and youngest son never deviate from the same dishes and they like them from there. I like to vary what I have and as mentioned before, a dish can be great one time then ordinary the next. Give me an Indian curry every time.

kevinc
13-11-2017, 09:07 PM
Best I have had in Edinburgh.

13-11-2017, 10:03 PM
Karen’s Unicorn is good for a sit-in but for some reason their take-away is not great. Tried it about 5 times for a take-away and it has been consistently disappointing.

The last time we got a Chinese take-away we went to the Loon Fung and it was good. We always mean to try to sit-in there but have never got round it.

We were once in the pub next door to the Loon Fung and this elderly couple tried to befriend us (mainly to try and flog us the husband’s bagpiping services as the woman didn’t notice my wife’s wedding ring under her engagement ring) and they kept banging on about how the Jade Garden at Canonmills was the best Chinese take-away ever. We went a couple of weeks later and it was disgusting. So much so it put us off Chinese food for not far off a year.

14-11-2017, 04:47 AM
Xanadu at Meadowbank (formerly Karens) never had a bad sit in or take away from there.

14-11-2017, 06:57 AM
As others have said I don’t get the hype with Chinese takeaways. Nearly always left very disappointed. I wouldn’t even order one anymore.

14-11-2017, 07:07 AM
Trouble with most takeaway food is that freshly prepared and served in a restaurant against prepared,packaged and transported for varying amount of times is always going to affect the quality.

14-11-2017, 07:52 AM
I struggle to remember the last Chinese I ordered and even harder to remember the last I enjoyed. There are exceptions but I find the vast majority have a gloopy texture, are sickly sweet and then leave an almost overpowering aftertaste of MSG.

A lot of Chinese takeaways seem to be stuck in a time warp. With the far more abundant take away offerings from Thai restaurants in recents years, the switch from some Indians to more traditional and smaller dishes, the growing popularity of Mexican take away, more traditional pizza offerings rather than the Dominos/Pizza Hut rubbish, sushi and other Japanese offerings and the huge improvement in dishes from some burger and chicken outlets I'm not sure a lot of Chinese have upped their game to keep pace. As said above consistency is a huge issue and with so much choice I'm not willing to risk a crap meal.

As long as they're busy, they'll continue to churn out the same crap.

When I worked at Canonmills we regularly used to go the Loon Fung - it was always mobbed despite the fact that I got the impression that there was more MSG than anything else in the dishes.

There was a takeaway across the road (Canon Street - now called the Jade Garden). We're going back 13+ years but I thought the food was great. There was a lot less sauce/gravy/MSG and you could really taste the likes of fresh ginger and garlic - nearly all my mates preferred the Loon Fung. :dunno:

14-11-2017, 08:28 PM
Does anyone actually prefer Chinese to Indian food?? An Indian is right at the top of my wish list when I'm home, never occurs to me to go for a Chinese.

14-11-2017, 09:18 PM
Does anyone actually prefer Chinese to Indian food?? An Indian is right at the top of my wish list when I'm home, never occurs to me to go for a Chinese.

Nope. Indian food is streets ahead of Chinese IMO and also the Indian takeaways are of a much higher quality.

14-11-2017, 10:08 PM
Had a Chicken Dupiaza and a half rice half garlic naan for my old mans 70th last night, never touched the sides entering or leaving!

14-11-2017, 10:12 PM
Had a Chicken Dupiaza and a half rice half garlic naan for my old mans 70th last night, never touched the sides entering or leaving!

Callyballybe
15-11-2017, 10:48 AM
As someone who arrived on the chinese food scene late, but nevertheless love it, my recommendations for Chinese restaurants are: Imperial Palace, Karen's Unicorn, Rendezvous, and my overall favourite - Loon Fung.

There also used to be Karen Wong's restaurant in the southside of the city, closed now unfortunately. But was very good everytime I went. The owner was a 'one woman' show as well!

15-11-2017, 11:29 AM
Whenever out in town like the Kweilin on Dundas street.

Although, every time we go, without fail, my mate proceeds to tell the story about how that was Steve Archibald’s favourite restaurant when he was at Hibs, and how one game at home Steve never made the squad so was in the Kweilin while the game was still on.

pollution
15-11-2017, 11:30 AM
Total lack of consistency across many of them is the problem. Have a good meal, go back a few weeks later and same order is crap. Move onto another and same thing happens.
This has been a feature of Chinese restaurants for over forty years, in my experience.

There must be a reason for such high turnover of chefs: visa rules or other immigration issues perhaps.

I would have thought there was a real opportunity for quality home made Chinese restaurants in the style of Italian chain Vittoria group.

15-11-2017, 11:59 AM

Yes. Don't mind Indian but I would always go for a Chinese if it was my choice to pick the takeaway.

heid the baw
15-11-2017, 12:17 PM
Kwok in Ratcliffe terrace is decent

PapillonVert
20-11-2017, 04:06 PM
Not Edinburgh, but the name of this place always made me smile whenever we passed it on the way to matches in Dundee.

https://www.facebook.com/TakAWaDundee/

Slightly off-topic (apologies) but remember many moons ago going through the Birmingham suburb of Shirley and seeing the local Chinese restaurant called......

.........The Shirley Temple Restaurant.

Galahibby
23-11-2017, 12:33 PM

The owner of my local Indian will make any dish you ask for (within reason...) but will only do a dupiaza under duress. His reason being that I wouldn't go into a 'normal' restaurant and ask for mince & tatties, and that's their equivalent. He really takes it as an insult. Still love it, still ask for it, and he still makes it though 😍 For what it's worth, if any of you are ever down in the Borders, it comes very highly recommended. Taste of Spice, Selkirk :aok:

24-11-2017, 11:25 AM
The owner of my local Indian will make any dish you ask for (within reason...) but will only do a dupiaza under duress. His reason being that I wouldn't go into a 'normal' restaurant and ask for mince & tatties, and that's their equivalent. He really takes it as an insult. Still love it, still ask for it, and he still makes it though 😍 For what it's worth, if any of you are ever down in the Borders, it comes very highly recommended. Taste of Spice, Selkirk :aok:

Its either that or N Indian Chilli Garlic Chicken whenever we get a ruby!

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 01:56 PM
Its either that or N Indian Chilli Garlic Chicken whenever we get a ruby!

Vindaloo every time for me and the hotter the better. I've had virtually every dish on the standard menu and its Chicken Vindaloo every order now with pilau rice and garlic naan bread. Cannae whack it.

24-11-2017, 02:46 PM
Vindaloo every time for me and the hotter the better. I've had virtually every dish on the standard menu and its Chicken Vindaloo every order now with pilau rice and garlic naan bread. Cannae whack it.

Chicken Phall next for you then :-)

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 03:10 PM

I'll be asking my local curry house if they do that one next time. Looks very tasty and very very hot indeed. Have to make sure I'm not going out anywhere before lunchtime next day I'd imagine :greengrin.

24-11-2017, 04:15 PM

I'll be asking my local curry house if they do that one next time. Looks very tasty and very very hot indeed. Have to make sure I'm not going out anywhere before lunchtime next day I'd imagine :greengrin.

Tried it once years ago in Liverpool from a takeaway called the Jalalabhad. Suffice to say it was Scouse Hibby who had a Helluvabhad time after it :-)

24-11-2017, 04:16 PM

I've had a few vindaloos but had to go back to Madras as some places it was just too hot. I've tasted a Phall but no way I could have finished it.

pollution
24-11-2017, 04:20 PM
Tried it once years ago in Liverpool from a takeaway called the Jalalabhad. Suffice to say it was Scouse Hibby who had a Helluvabhad time after it :-)

I had a prawn phall in a restaurant in London thirty four years ago and it was a digestion changer.

Even though it was ages ago I still can taste and feel the effect of it now. Nothing has worked since that fateful evening.

Tornadoes70
24-11-2017, 04:48 PM

Its always the best things in life that have a sting in the tail so to speak. I'll certainly be giving it a go within the next few weeks.

24-11-2017, 06:33 PM
Phall is just not enjoyable I'm afraid. I do love hot spicy food but when it actually hurts then that's too much for me

24-11-2017, 07:11 PM
Chinese in London seem to be universally ***** except Hakasan.

24-11-2017, 07:27 PM

Yes. Top quality. Novikov Asian is decent too

Casey1875
24-11-2017, 07:34 PM

The worst ever Chinese I’ve had was in china town in London. To be honest I have never had a nice meal in London. Newcastle on the other hand has some quality, reasonable priced eateries.

24-11-2017, 07:37 PM
Tried the Golden Phoenix in London chinatown and wasn't impressed.Lido was much better.

24-11-2017, 07:41 PM
The worst ever Chinese I’ve had was in china town in London. To be honest I have never had a nice meal in London. Newcastle on the other hand has some quality, reasonable priced eateries.

There are many many fantastic London restaurants..you must have been unlucky. Not many reasonable mind you

27-11-2017, 09:48 PM

Some of the places in China Town in Newcastle are outstanding. The only annoying thing is that in most you have to hassle them to give you the actual Chinese menu as opposed to the Western Chinese menu.

27-11-2017, 10:27 PM
Mr Lee's in Muirhouse shopping centre, does me.

ACLeith
01-12-2017, 03:50 PM
Xanadu at Meadowbank (formerly Karens) never had a bad sit in or take away from there.

Was there last night, first time sitting in. Very good

02-12-2017, 02:06 PM
Chinese food as it is served to us here, is staggeringly poor quality.

Meat cuts, chicken for example, are virtually never whole or even close. Take 'Taste Good' for example - the chicken is reconstituted. It's nothing more than thick pieces of chicken roll. I would say say possibly 98 out of 100 Chinese take always serve this low grade 'meat'.

People seem oblivious and rarely seem to stop and ask what they are consuming. And they pay thought the nose for it.

02-12-2017, 08:01 PM
Jasmine in Grindlay Street

Never disappoints.

-Jonesy-
04-12-2017, 07:56 AM
Jasmine in Grindlay Street

Never disappoints.

I think my parents took me here a couple decades ago for like my 10 or 12th birthday and I'm still convinced the carrots in my crispy shredded beef were cut into the shapes of wee Chinese dragons

04-12-2017, 09:56 AM
I think my parents took me here a couple decades ago for like my 10 or 12th birthday and I'm still convinced the carrots in my crispy shredded beef were cut into the shapes of wee Chinese dragons

Either that or they used the wrong mushrooms :greengrin

ScotchCorner
04-12-2017, 06:36 PM
Hung Fung on Ferry Road is my favourite. Their salt and chilli chips are to die for.

04-12-2017, 11:24 PM
Hung Fung on Ferry Road is my favourite. Their salt and chilli chips are to die for.

I just discovered them last week (not from the same shop). Very tasty!

05-12-2017, 12:07 AM
Chinese food as it is served to us here, is staggeringly poor quality.

Meat cuts, chicken for example, are virtually never whole or even close. Take 'Taste Good' for example - the chicken is reconstituted. It's nothing more than thick pieces of chicken roll. I would say say possibly 98 out of 100 Chinese take always serve this low grade 'meat'.

People seem oblivious and rarely seem to stop and ask what they are consuming. And they pay thought the nose for it.

The meat does seem pretty pasty and watery in most takeaway restaurants.

Even supermarket grade chicken breasts cooked in a home made sauce is preferable. What it lacks in sauce creativity is more than made up for by the quality of meat and 100% confidence in the ingredients.

05-12-2017, 07:13 AM
The meat does seem pretty pasty and watery in most takeaway restaurants.

Even supermarket grade chicken breasts cooked in a home made sauce is preferable. What it lacks in sauce creativity is more than made up for by the quality of meat and 100% confidence in the ingredients.

Yes agreed it does, most are trying to protect their margin whilst also trying to keep their dishes at a price they believe people will pay.The compromise on the quality of ingredients is how they achieve it.

ScotchCorner
07-12-2017, 08:31 AM
I just discovered them last week (not from the same shop). Very tasty!

I always get the salt and chilli chicken as well as the salt and chilli chips and beef in black bean from there. I usually ordered from Ginger Spice but this is much better!

08-12-2017, 10:10 PM
Have tried a lot of Chinese restaurants/ takeaways in Edinburgh and Midlothian. Ranked in order of preference:

1. Loon Fung - seasoned pork rib and lemon chicken are both phenomenal.
2. Kweilin - for the cantonese sliced fillet steak.
3. Chop chop -for the fried beef dumplings.
4. Chinese Manor House - Salt and chilli shredded duck.

Find most chinese takeaways pretty average these days, paarticularly the ones in Midlothian:boo hoo: