View Full Version : The Alex Salmond Show
10-11-2017, 10:40 AM
The Alex Salmond Show on RT. Yuk ! :greengrin
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2017/nov/09/alex-salmond-to-host-talkshow-for-russian-broadcaster
10-11-2017, 12:27 PM
I guess he has to make a ruble these days, no longer gets a MP salary. Strange choice though, or maybe that was the only offer.
10-11-2017, 12:27 PM
Would it have been less Yuk on State Broadcaster BBC?
10-11-2017, 12:28 PM
I guess he has to make a ruble these days, no longer gets a MP salary. Strange choice though, or maybe that was the only offer.
His production company punted it around and couldn't get space on the British airwaves.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
10-11-2017, 04:54 PM
Hes got a very expensive gambling habit to fund (allegedly...) and a very large to ego that needs fed.
That being said, there is still something quite likeable about him i think.
10-11-2017, 05:53 PM
Hes got a very expensive gambling habit to fund (allegedly...) and a very large to ego that needs fed.
That being said, there is still something quite likeable about him i think.
What would that something be ? :greengrin
10-11-2017, 05:54 PM
No doubt it will be an hour of self importance and self promotion, but he's never missed and hit the wall in the past, so could be entertaining.
Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk
10-11-2017, 06:10 PM
I think I'll be giving that a miss.
10-11-2017, 07:12 PM
It might be interesting - more interesting than most of the anodyne s**** on TV these days.
10-11-2017, 07:42 PM
The #AlexSalmondShow will premiere on the 16th November on RT, with new episodes weekly. RT is available in the UK on Freeview channel 234, Sky channel 512 and Freesat channel 206.
I suppose he could have done Bake off...
Happy to help.
10-11-2017, 09:07 PM
It might be interesting - more interesting than most of the anodyne s**** on TV these days.
Take the politics out and he is Nigel Farage with a different accent.
10-11-2017, 09:15 PM
It's time to play the music. It's time to light the lights.
10-11-2017, 10:59 PM
??
I don't even know this makes sense. So, take the political view points away and he's Farage, only he's not?
Nous sommes toutes Farage.
Tornadoes70
10-11-2017, 11:18 PM
I'd have to agree with this and say he's not playing to the fiddle of every Joe and only those we didn't consider before. RT is a different audience indeed. Quite unbelievable really.
Quite like RT as they always either talk about stuff that others don’t, or they hold the opposite opinions they have on popular topics.
I watch them all (Sky, RT, BBC etc...) create an imaginary middle ground based on all that’s been presented and take that as being pretty close to the truth on most matters.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 07:55 AM
What would that something be ? :greengrin
I dunno, its a weird one.
Hes clearly very arrogant, self important, narcissistic and i habe heard from people who have worked for him, a bit of bellend to work for.
But i kinda dont care if our leaders are nice people, i want them to be effective leaders - and i think he was, easily our finest first minister. Regardless of party politics, i think a good leader can still reach those not of their 'tribe' - and he did that in a way that others, particuarly our current FM, cannot.
Also, i dont mind leaders having vices and flaws - it makes them seem more normal, more human. I can imagine you could have a blether with him about fitba or horses etc - hes not a robotic oxbridge type, nor a nippy wee sweetie with a weegie chip on her shoulder.
11-11-2017, 09:12 AM
Hes clearly very arrogant, self important, narcissistic and i habe heard from people who have worked for him, a bit of bellend to work for.
But i kinda dont care if our leaders are nice people, i want them to be effective leaders - and i think he was, easily our finest first minister. Regardless of party politics, i think a good leader can still reach those not of their 'tribe' - and he did that in a way that others, particuarly our current FM, cannot.
Also, i dont mind leaders having vices and flaws - it makes them seem more normal, more human. I can imagine you could have a blether with him about fitba or horses etc - hes not a robotic oxbridge type, nor a nippy wee sweetie with a weegie chip on her shoulder.
Have you ever met any of them?
11-11-2017, 09:18 AM
Quite like RT as they always either talk about stuff that others don’t, or they hold the opposite opinions they have on popular topics.
I watch them all (Sky, RT, BBC etc...) create an imaginary middle ground based on all that’s been presented and take that as being pretty close to the truth on most matters.
The thing about RT is that it gives you the other side of the coin and some perspective on the crap issued from opposing factions in the propaganda war.
11-11-2017, 09:24 AM
Brings different arguments to the table, instead of the monthly crap about Royal babies etc
11-11-2017, 09:53 AM
The #AlexSalmondShow will premiere on the 16th November on RT, with new episodes weekly. RT is available in the UK on Freeview channel 234, Sky channel 512 and Freesat channel 206.
I suppose he could have done Bake Off...
Happy to help.
Thanks. I'll make a point of watching a couple of programs before judging its quality.
PS - Eck on Bake Off? Nah - he'd have scoffed everything as soon as it came out the oven. Who ate all the pies?
Brings different arguments to the table, instead of the monthly crap about Royal babies etc
That's one of the reasons I tune into Al Jazeera for news. There's so much more going on in the world than 'Eastenders' and 'Saxe-Coburg-Gotha - The Continuing Story of Britain's Most Pretentious and Dysfunctional Family'. And who's been punted off 'Strictly'.
Today MSN had a story about the increasing likelihood of renewed war in Lebanon (Saudis and Israelis versus Hezbollah and others) next to one about how upset followers of 'Eastenders' were about the exit of one of the characters from the show.
Presented as equivalent stories of equal importance.
11-11-2017, 09:53 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/13140055.Cameron_s_plea_to_Putin__help_me_stop_Sal mond/
Let's we forget.
11-11-2017, 10:01 AM
Thanks. I'll make a point of watching a couple of programs before judging its quality.
PS - Eck on Bake Off? Nah - he'd have scoffed everything as soon as it came out the oven. Who ate all the pies?
That's one of the reasons I tune into Al Jazeera for news. There's so much more going on in the world than 'Eastenders' and 'Saxe-Coburg-Gotha - The Continuing Story of Britain's Most Pretentious and Dysfunctional Family'. And who's been punted off 'Strictly'.
Today MSN had a story about the increasing likelihood of renewed war in Lebanon (Saudis and Israelis versus Hezbollah and others) next to one about how upset followers of 'Eastenders' were about the exit of one of the characters from the show.
Presented as equivalent stories of equal importance.
Fat Jambo Barsteward.:greengrin
11-11-2017, 10:07 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/13140055.Cameron_s_plea_to_Putin__help_me_stop_Sal mond/
Let's we forget.
All sorts of fine upstanding fat cats looking for help with votes from Boss Vladimir.
So important for the UK to free itself from European entanglements - and for Scotland to remain entangled in the UK ...
11-11-2017, 10:18 AM
https://twitter.com/twitter/statuses/929024980196691968
A date for your diary. Yooouuuunnnsss be frothin
11-11-2017, 10:28 AM
That’s not true.
without doubting the truth of this, I also know he can be charm personified for anyone (including someone doing work him and their spouse which I have very close knowledge of), without getting any personal gain from it (beyond the possibility of engratiating himself with a voter or 2).
im sure every politician worth their salt can be charming and personable with whomever they wish, part of the job description.
11-11-2017, 11:21 AM
The Alex Salmond Show on RT. Yuk ! :greengrin
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2017/nov/09/alex-salmond-to-host-talkshow-for-russian-broadcaster
We have Tories(lots of them), Labour MP's MSP's and don't forget the Labour Lords, and even some Lib dems(not many of them though), all having taken the Russion rouble, without much furore.
Salmond pops up to do a show will full editorial control, and it's mayhem. The Great British bake off indeed.
https://wingsoverscotland.com/russias-greatest-love-machine/
11-11-2017, 11:53 AM
We have Tories(lots of them), Labour MP's MSP's and don't forget the Labour Lords, and even some Lib dems(not many of them though), all having taken the Russion rouble, without much furore.
Salmond pops up to do a show will full editorial control, and it's mayhem. The Great British bake off indeed.
https://wingsoverscotland.com/russias-greatest-love-machine/
Anything to distract attention from the tax-avoiding, bum-groping, expenses-fiddling, corruption-wallowing, making-up-her-own-policies-as-she-goes, shooting-his-great-fat-stupid-mouth-off-because-he-can't-be-bothered-to-read-his-briefing-papers-and-destroying-a-family's-life creepos and incompetents taking the Tory-Lab-Lib shillings in WasteMonster ...
Alec's not an MP, he's not an MSP, he's a private citizen.
What he's doing is entirely legal, and no one on this forum has seen even a few seconds of the program, over which he has full editorial control. HIS links with the Russian government are open and above-board, unlike those of (for example) David Cameron, Boris Johnston, or Whatisname that 'leads' the Labour Party.
No closed minds or party-line-toeing here, then. :devil:
11-11-2017, 11:56 AM
Sturgeon not a fan of Salmond cosying up to the Putin government’s TV channel.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-41941359
11-11-2017, 12:07 PM
Aww no. Somebody should send her a link to wings.
11-11-2017, 12:09 PM
I suspect some Twitter folk’s heads will explode trying to reconcile their natural instinct to defend Salmond at all costs with following the party line.
11-11-2017, 01:34 PM
As is her right, just like it's his to do the job.
11-11-2017, 01:36 PM
Yawn.
11-11-2017, 02:35 PM
We hear from some on here that the BBC is biased and pro-unionist, we should not trust the MSM as they make stuff up and only report one side of the story, sound familiar from some on here? Yet when Salmond works for the Russian state controlled TV station, funded by the Russian Government and set up by Putin no less, its all good and people need to open their mind to alternative media outlets. You could not make it up.
11-11-2017, 02:55 PM
We hear from some on here that the BBC is biased and pro-unionist, we should not trust the MSM as they make stuff up and only report one side of the story, sound familiar from some on here? Yet when Salmond works for the Russian state controlled TV station, funded by the Russian Government and set up by Putin no less, its all good and people need to open their mind to alternative media outlets. You could not make it up.
Russian tv is only Kremlin propaganda when a Scottish separatist is on it. When the right wing Tories are on, it's ok.
You couldn't make it up.
11-11-2017, 03:04 PM
Russian tv is only Kremlin propaganda when a Scottish separatist is on it. When the right wing Tories are on, it's ok.
You couldn't make it up.
It will generally promote views favourable to Putin no matter who is on it. All the whataboutery going on here doesn’t change that.
allmodcons
11-11-2017, 05:05 PM
Who's suggesting RT is all good and how can you judge a once weekly one hour show that hasn't been broadcast yet?
11-11-2017, 05:29 PM
Who's suggesting RT is all good and how can you judge a once weekly one hour show that hasn't been broadcast yet?
:agree: In terms of the actual show, it is made by Salmond’s production company and sent to the channel. Personally I couldn’t care less about Salmond, he’s irrelevant to the SNP these days. I like him as a man and I’ll watch his show.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 05:46 PM
Have you ever met any of them?
Yeah, both.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 05:49 PM
without doubting the truth of this, I also know he can be charm personified for anyone (including someone doing work him and their spouse which I have very close knowledge of), without getting any personal gain from it (beyond the possibility of engratiating himself with a voter or 2).
im sure every politician worth their salt can be charming and personable with whomever they wish, part of the job description.
Absolutely, thats kinda my point - his flaws make him seem more real.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 05:53 PM
More importantly, and pertinantly, its a station fronting a regime that kills journalists.
Personally i dont care if salmond does it, but he has to accept that he will be slated for it.
Willie Rennie opened his leaders' speech at lib dem conference today with an attack on him for it. Not that one politician attacking another necessarily means anything, although stopped clocks and all that.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 05:54 PM
I suspect some Twitter folk’s heads will explode trying to reconcile their natural instinct to defend Salmond at all costs with following the party line.
Is that not called cognitive dissonance?
I can imagine some cybernats not a million miles from here wondering how to reconcile the two views!
Mr Grieves
11-11-2017, 06:22 PM
More importantly, and pertinantly, its a station fronting a regime that kills journalists.
Personally i dont care if salmond does it, but he has to accept that he will be slated for it.
Willie Rennie opened his leaders' speech at lib dem conference today with an attack on him for it. Not that one politician attacking another necessarily means anything, although stopped clocks and all that.
Personally, I'm neither here nor there with regards to RT or Sputnik (Russian state funded radio station based in Edinburgh), because I believe most media outlets have their own agenda.
I cannot stand hypocrisy though - a number of Scottish Lib Dems have appeared on Sputnik (Carmichael, Cole-Hamilton)!
And Ruth Davidson has been attacking the SNP with this too, she's been on on Sputnik twice.
As has Patrick Harvie, and numerous Tory, Labour and SNP MPs have appeared on RT.
So, surely the folk that have a problem with Russian state media should be slating these folk too? Is there an ulterior motive?
allmodcons
11-11-2017, 06:40 PM
Funny that. According to Mark Hirst, Willie Rennie was "very eager" to provide his mobile number to Sputnik News for interview only last year.
Sadly for Willie, David Steel, Michael Moore & Alistair Carmichael were all ahead of him in the Lid Dem queue.
What a hypocrite.
11-11-2017, 06:51 PM
If I understood the trailer correctly then the programme will be nothing more than light entertainment anyway. It's hardly going to be cold war Pravda.
allmodcons
11-11-2017, 06:58 PM
If I understood the trailer correctly then the programme will be nothing more than light entertainment anyway. It's hardly going to be cold war Pravda.
"Close to treason" according to our impartial press :rolleyes:
11-11-2017, 06:59 PM
Salmond’s presence and former status does endorse the channel though which is probably why Sturgeon thinks it’s not ideal.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 07:03 PM
Funny that. According to Mark Hirst, Willie Rennie was "very eager" to provide his mobile number to Sputnik News for interview only last year.
Sadly for Willie, David Steel, Michael Moore & Alistair Carmichael were all ahead of him in the Lid Dem queue.
What a hypocrite.
I dont doubt that - but appearing on a news programme for comment is not the same as hosting a show on a channel.
But i genuinely dont mind, i dont think i even habe RT, but i dont think the two things are equivalent.
Anyway, Sturgeon obviously thinks its a bad idea - so its hardly an anti-SNP stance to take.
allmodcons
11-11-2017, 07:07 PM
Salmond’s presence and former status does endorse the channel though which is probably why Sturgeon thinks it’s not ideal.
Stating the obvious I'd say. Presumably, anybody who appears on RT is endorsing the channel. Why is there such an uproar when it's AS?
11-11-2017, 07:11 PM
Yeah, both.
Thanks for that, I'm not sure if you were with them for a prolonged period of time, or just a meet and greet:greengrin, I need to feed back to the hierarchy what Nicola can do better. I'm sure you can help in this matter.:aok:
Thanks in anticipation...
allmodcons
11-11-2017, 07:12 PM
I dont doubt that - but appearing on a news programme for comment is not the same as hosting a show on a channel.
But i genuinely dont mind, i dont think i even habe RT, but i dont think the two things are equivalent.
Anyway, Sturgeon obviously thinks its a bad idea - so its hardly an anti-SNP stance to take.
As I said earlier they too are endorsing the channel. If it's so bad they should have the balls to boycott it.
For what it's worth, I never said or even suggested it was an anti SNP stance. That's just you falling into a hole you created yourself.
11-11-2017, 07:21 PM
Isn't it wonderful that in 2017, Britain, Alex Salmond, can generate more traffic, than the Foreign minister, who's left a young mother in Jail for more time than she needed to be.
That's what it means to be Better Together eh.
You've got to wonder who the **** registered this lot to broadcast in the UK?
11-11-2017, 07:34 PM
Isn't it wonderful that in 2017, Britain, Alex Salmond, can generate more traffic, than the Foreign minister, who's left a young mother in Jail for more time than she needed to be.
That's what it means to be Better Together eh.
What a tenuous and tedious link.
As for AS...he's what the older generation might call an auld blawbag...so amazingly I'll not be watching.
I'd also contest that appearing on a channel to provide comment is the same as endorsing a channel, taking it's coin for your own production may be a touch more significant but I'm not sure even that could be considered an endorsement, especially if they have had no creative or editorial oversight.
So for me it another non story, move on and really do our politicians have nothing better to do than spew forth fake outrage and moral abhorrence over a TV show that no one will watch hosted by someone who most have heard enough of already?
Oh and he's a Yam. Nuff said.
11-11-2017, 07:45 PM
What a tenuous and tedious link.
As for AS...he's what the older generation might call an auld blawbag...so amazingly I'll not be watching.
I'd also contest that appearing on a channel to provide comment is the same as endorsing a channel, taking it's coin for your own production may be a touch more significant but I'm not sure even that could be considered an endorsement, especially if they have had no creative or editorial oversight.
So for me it another non story, move on and really do our politicians have nothing better to do than spew forth fake outrage and moral abhorrence over a TV show that no one will watch hosted by someone who most have heard enough of already?
Oh and he's a Yam. Nuff said.
Aye right, I'm just on the blower to Auld Foulkesy, dinnae haud yer breath.
11-11-2017, 08:47 PM
"Close to treason" according to our impartial press :rolleyes:
I like that. The more ludicrous they get the more the hoi polloi will get the message that these newspapers are purveyors of utter trash. Keep it up, boys :greengrin
11-11-2017, 09:00 PM
Wee Ginger dug does the business once more.
https://t.co/orxkwFlqir
The editor of The National is often asked by the BBC for the contact details of National writers so that they can appear on the Beeb when a pro-independence commentator is required to be outnumbered by three or four Unionists. He always gives them my details, as I live in Glasgow, and as well as writing for The National I have a degree of prominence within the independence campaign. Not once have the BBC ever contacted me with a view to putting across the pro-indy view on one of their programmes. And it’s unlikely that they ever will, since I’m one of those people that former BBC Scotland boss Ken McQuarrie once referred to as “those *******s from Newsnet”. I wear this as a badge of pride. Russian TV wouldn’t have been my choice, but it’s hardly surprising that some people in the independence movement look elsewhere for the platform which is so blatantly and obviously denied to us by the British media.
11-11-2017, 09:28 PM
What a hypocrite.
Willie Rennie is a plunger.
11-11-2017, 09:32 PM
Love the fact that the author managed to get in a link between the intelligence services and the independence campaign, he really believes that MI6 rigged it. Brilliant.
11-11-2017, 09:43 PM
Wee Ginger dug does the business once more.
https://t.co/orxkwFlqir
The editor of The National is often asked by the BBC for the contact details of National writers so that they can appear on the Beeb when a pro-independence commentator is required to be outnumbered by three or four Unionists. He always gives them my details, as I live in Glasgow, and as well as writing for The National I have a degree of prominence within the independence campaign. Not once have the BBC ever contacted me with a view to putting across the pro-indy view on one of their programmes. And it’s unlikely that they ever will, since I’m one of those people that former BBC Scotland boss Ken McQuarrie once referred to as “those *******s from Newsnet”. I wear this as a badge of pride. Russian TV wouldn’t have been my choice, but it’s hardly surprising that some people in the independence movement look elsewhere for the platform which is so blatantly and obviously denied to us by the British media.
You have wee ginger dug speaking for you now? You really should try and find your own voice. :faf:
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 10:31 PM
Thanks for that, I'm not sure if you were with them for a prolonged period of time, or just a meet and greet:greengrin, I need to feed back to the hierarchy what Nicola can do better. I'm sure you can help in this matter.:aok:
Thanks in anticipation...
Ive no idea what you are talking about.
Go and ask whoever's opinion your peddling to make it clearer for you.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 10:33 PM
As I said earlier they too are endorsing the channel. If it's so bad they should have the balls to boycott it.
For what it's worth, I never said or even suggested it was an anti SNP stance. That's just you falling into a hole you created yourself.
You make a fair point about them all endorsing it - politicians being duplicitous and hypocritical eh, whod have thunk it. I wouldnt saynthe two are the same though, mostly because interviewees and comment will *generally* not receive payment, while presumably samlmond amd tasmina are.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-11-2017, 10:36 PM
You have wee ginger dug speaking for you now? You really should try and find your own voice. :faf:
11-11-2017, 11:23 PM
Personally, I'm neither here nor there with regards to RT or Sputnik (Russian state funded radio station based in Edinburgh), because I believe most media outlets have their own agenda.
I cannot stand hypocrisy though - a number of Scottish Lib Dems have appeared on Sputnik (Carmichael, Cole-Hamilton)!
And Ruth Davidson has been attacking the SNP with this too, she's been on on Sputnik twice.
As has Patrick Harvie, and numerous Tory, Labour and SNP MPs have appeared on RT.
So, surely the folk that have a problem with Russian state media should be slating these folk too? Is there an ulterior motive?
Any smidgeon of opportunity is taken to beat the drum against the Scottish government and all that support it. Pathetic,it'd be a non story if was an ex labour or Tory mp.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-11-2017, 06:48 AM
Any smidgeon of opportunity is taken to beat the drum against the Scottish government and all that support it. Pathetic,it'd be a non story if was an ex labour or Tory mp.
Dunno thats true - there was a fair old media backlash against George Osborne when he took up his new role.
Plus Salmond isnt just an ex MP / MSP - hes an ex First Minister and one of the most high profile, significamt amd recognisable figures in modern Scottish history.
12-11-2017, 06:58 AM
The First Minister has criticised him for this. Does she have a pathetic anti-Scottish Goverment agenda?
Or is it that some just simply cannot tolerate any criticism of the SNP/Salmond/sturgeon?
12-11-2017, 07:30 AM
Ive no idea what you are talking about.
Go and ask whoever's opinion your peddling to make it clearer for you.
You might have met them, but you don't actually know them, do you? You wouldn't be calling someone a nippy sweety if you did.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-11-2017, 07:42 AM
You might have met them, but you don't actually know them, do you? You wouldn't be calling someone a nippy sweety if you did.
No, i dont know either of them personally.
allmodcons
12-11-2017, 07:43 AM
Or is it that some just simply cannot tolerate any criticism of the SNP/Salmond/sturgeon?
Surely there is opinions and then there is constructive criticism.
NS is quite right to have an opinion and totally entitled to express a view. That, however, is completely different from the faux outrage of opposition politicians and media outlets who have an anti SNP agenda and individuals, some on here, who simply hate AS.
The media, in general, these days is nothing short of embarrassing. Does anybody seriously believe that the Daily Mail, Daily Express, Telegraph and Times doesn't have a terribly skewed political agenda? For what it's worth, this is why I don't buy The National (i.e. - there is no balance).
Even NS comments have been overstated by the press in a sad attempt to 'report' the issue as some kind of major split in the SNP.
Whilst it is obvious that NS does not have anti-Scottish Government agenda, by the same token it is 100% obvious to anybody watching that others do.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-11-2017, 07:49 AM
Surely there is opinions and then there is constructive criticism.
NS is quite right to have an opinion and totally entitled to express a view. That, however, is completely different from the faux outrage of opposition politicians and media outlets who have an anti SNP agenda and individuals, some on here, who simply hate AS.
The media, in general, these days is nothing short of embarrassing. Does anybody seriously believe that the Daily Mail, Daily Express, Telegraph and Times doesn't have a terribly skewed political agenda? For what it's worth, this is why I don't buy The National (i.e. - there is no balance).
Even NS comments have been overstated by the press in a sad attempt to 'report' the issue as some kind of major split in the SNP.
Whilst it is obvious that NS does not have anti-Scottish Government agenda, by the same token it is 100% obvious to anybody watching that others do.
I think you are right, most of the media have a political leaning - although im not sure the Times is that overt- but i stand to be corrected on that.
But its politics, and Salmond and his party would made as much hay had it been the other way around.
He is also not daft enough to not know that his move would be controversial. Perhaps thats part of his plan...
I read a David Torrance article about it, amd he finished with the Oscar Wilde quote about the only thing worse than being talked about... seems quite appropriate here.
12-11-2017, 08:20 AM
With Westminster politicians having taken up residency in their droves as political columnists in every distasteful newspaper you can think of, I find it incredibly amusing that folks are frothing at the mouth about wee Eck taking up the post of host in a light entertainment show that will more than likely have as much to do with politics as strictly come dancing.
12-11-2017, 09:28 AM
With Westminster politicians having taken up residency in their droves as political columnists in every distasteful newspaper you can think of, I find it incredibly amusing that folks are frothing at the mouth about wee Eck taking up the post of host in a light entertainment show that will more than likely have as much to do with politics as strictly come dancing.
Not many take the coin from Russian state sponsored television stations do they. Russia not really the bastion of human rights and free speech is it. He is obviously comfortable at his association with that regime which from his previous rhetoric some people find a little odd, including Nicola Sturgeon.
If anything it shows Salmond is just like all the others you reference above.
12-11-2017, 09:30 AM
Love the fact that the author managed to get in a link between the intelligence services and the independence campaign, he really believes that MI6 rigged it. Brilliant.
And that it's OK to be a propaganda outfit as long as you are open and honest about it...now there is an oxymoron if ever I have seen one!
12-11-2017, 10:16 AM
Not many take the coin from Russian state sponsored television stations do they. Russia not really the bastion of human rights and free speech is it. He is obviously comfortable at his association with that regime which from his previous rhetoric some people find a little odd, including Nicola Sturgeon.
If anything it shows Salmond is just like all the others you reference above.
Just out of interest, what media organisations would you recommend to fine upstanding potential show hosts who don't want to get their whiter than white images tainted?
12-11-2017, 10:21 AM
If you really believe that the UK's intelligence agencies weren't keeping a close eye on an event that could possibly have meant the end of the UK then you're being naive.
12-11-2017, 10:37 AM
AS gives it to the MSM, and the hypocritical politicians who've taken the Russian rouble. Well done Eck.
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/15656025.Salmond_brands_critics_of_his_Russian_TV_ show___39_a_bunch_of_hypocrites__39_/?ref=fbshr
Mr Grieves
12-11-2017, 10:53 AM
AS gives it to the MSM, and the hypocritical politicians who've taken the Russian rouble. Well done Eck.
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/15656025.Salmond_brands_critics_of_his_Russian_TV_ show___39_a_bunch_of_hypocrites__39_/?ref=fbshr
He's spot on. He forgot to mention that his unofficial biographer, David Torrance, is a hypocrite too -
https://youtu.be/CuKpPyE3CXs
It's only attention seeking when Salmond does it :wink:
12-11-2017, 11:04 AM
So because everyone else did it, it's fine for him to do it. There is a significant difference between an interview and actually working for them and being paid for it.
Both sides will see what they want, I get that but Salmond seems to have a large ego and it looks like the only place to satisfy that is in bed with the Russians.
12-11-2017, 11:05 AM
If you really believe that the UK's intelligence agencies weren't keeping a close eye on an event that could possibly have meant the end of the UK then you're being naive.
Keeping a close eye is different to fixing it, do you believe they fixed it?
12-11-2017, 11:14 AM
Keeping a close eye is different to fixing it, do you believe they fixed it?
Let's put it this way. If they weren't influencing an event that could have potentially ended the UK as state, then they weren't doing that what they are there to do.
I've no idea what part our intelligence agencies played during the run up to and during the referendum, but to think they were not involved in any way is naive. At the very least they will have been a source of information for the government when dictating policy and tactics.
12-11-2017, 11:28 AM
So because everyone else did it, it's fine for him to do it. There is a significant difference between an interview and actually working for them and being paid for it.
Both sides will see what they want, I get that but Salmond seems to have a large ego and it looks like the only place to satisfy that is in bed with the Russians.
"Working for them"
Are you sure about this? What, and who's being paid, and how much?
12-11-2017, 11:34 AM
She said: "I am sure Alex's show will make interesting viewing - however, his choice of channel would not have been my choice."
Such stinging criticism. :faf::faf::faf:
12-11-2017, 11:42 AM
"Working for them"
Are you sure about this? What, and who's being paid, and how much?
Sorry I assumed the "Alex Salmond Show" produced by his own production company would be looking for some kind of payment, are they doing it for free?
12-11-2017, 11:44 AM
Sorry I assumed the "Alex Salmond Show" produced by his own production company would be looking for some kind of payment, are they doing it for free?
So, he's not working for them, then. Make up your mind.
I'm sure Slainte Media will be paid, and AS will syphon his share to an appropriate charity, as he normally does.
12-11-2017, 11:52 AM
So, he's not working for them, then. Make up your mind.
I'm sure Slainte Media will be paid, and AS will syphon his share to an appropriate charity, as he normally does.
Pathetic argument and you know it. Do you really never see no wrong at all in anything the SNP do, are they like gods to you? Do you realise you actually put people off independence with your attitude. It's like a cult to you? #brainwashed
12-11-2017, 11:55 AM
Pathetic argument and you know it. Do you really never see no wrong at all in anything the SNP do, are they like gods to you? Do you realise you actually put people off independence with your attitude. It's like a cult to you? #brainwashed
You can't have it both ways, he's either working for them, or he's not. Which one do you choose? Or did you just make it up.:greengrin
12-11-2017, 11:57 AM
You can't have it both ways, he's either working for them, or he's not. Which one do you choose? Or did you just make it up.:greengrin
Again pathetic, your embarrassing yourself now.
12-11-2017, 12:01 PM
Again pathetic, your embarrassing yourself now.
:faf::faf::faf:
The first bit in bold...A daily mail hack would have been delighted with that strap line.
12-11-2017, 12:05 PM
Still waiting for your list of approved media organisations that would be acceptable for AS to host a chat show on. I think your problem is with AS or the SNP and not his choice of platform. If that's the case then by all means criticise them, this faux pas outrage at RT is embarrassingly hypocritical.
12-11-2017, 12:35 PM
You couldn't make it up.
Nah GG has been on it since its inception :greengrin
12-11-2017, 12:41 PM
She said: "I am sure Alex's show will make interesting viewing - however, his choice of channel would not have been my choice."
Such stinging criticism. :faf::faf::faf:
Did I say it was stinging? It’s remarkable that she said anything at all, it’s very rare they disagree on anything in public.
You aren’t covering yourself in glory here R.
allmodcons
12-11-2017, 02:14 PM
How ironic you criticising Ronaldo for being brainwashed.
When do you ever see anything good in what the SNP do?
If he's brainwashed, then no more than you.
allmodcons
12-11-2017, 02:21 PM
Did I say it was stinging? It’s remarkable that she said anything at all, it’s very rare they disagree on anything in public.
Neither are you. You know full well her comments have been completely over egged by a hostile press but can't bring yourself to admit it.
12-11-2017, 02:25 PM
I will at least admit it when I see some good, like extending the free child care for families in Scotland or their policies on LBGT. See I am saying that's good. I might be mistaken but have we ever seen R7 say anything SNP is bad, ever?
12-11-2017, 02:34 PM
Neither are you. You know full well her comments have been completely over egged by a hostile press but can't bring yourself to admit it.
Eh? This really is getting silly now. Why should I admit anything? I’ve mentioned that our First Minister has raised her eyebrows at this. That’s fact isn’t it?
allmodcons
12-11-2017, 02:37 PM
I will at least admit it when I see some good, like extending the free child care for families in Scotland or their policies on LBGT. See I am saying that's good. I might be mistaken but have we ever seen R7 say anything SNP is bad, ever?
Both disingenuous and patronising all in a few short sentences.
allmodcons
12-11-2017, 02:52 PM
Eh? This really is getting silly now. Why should I admit anything? I’ve mentioned that our First Minister has raised her eyebrows at this. That’s fact isn’t it?
Why is it silly when someone is merely is taking you to task on your comments?
Initially you said NS had criticised AS, when all she said was that RT wouldn't have been her choice of channel.
R7 is correct, hardly stinging criticism. More like (as you now say yourself) a raise of the eyebrows.
12-11-2017, 03:43 PM
Why is it silly when someone is merely is taking you to task on your comments?
Initially you said NS had criticised AS, when all she said was that RT wouldn't have been her choice of channel.
R7 is correct, hardly stinging criticism. More like (as you now say yourself) a raise of the eyebrows.
Which comment are you actually taking me to task on? :confused:
R7 mentioned stinging criticism. I never did at any point.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-11-2017, 04:09 PM
Still waiting for your list of approved media organisations that would be acceptable for AS to host a chat show on. I think your problem is with AS or the SNP and not his choice of platform. If that's the case then by all means criticise them, this faux pas outrage at RT is embarrassingly hypocritical.
How about any that arent a front for exapnsionist, aggressive, authoritarian regimes that suppresses opposition and has dissidents imprisoned and murdered, at least as a starting point.
Anyone that cant or wont, see that the choice of broacaster is dubious at best, is either stupid or being willfully obtuse.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-11-2017, 04:14 PM
So you really dont see anything wrong with this? You really think this is a move without any dubiety?
How would you react if tony blair began a light entertainment show on Israeli state tv? Or if Thatcher had had gone on chilean state tv for an hour of light-hearted banter during thr Pinochet regime - would you defend that?
12-11-2017, 04:42 PM
How about any that arent a front for exapnsionist, aggressive, authoritarian regimes that suppresses opposition and has dissidents imprisoned and murdered, at least as a starting point.
Anyone that cant or wont, see that the choice of broacaster is dubious at best, is either stupid or being willfully obtuse.
If I want your opinion I'll rattle your cage. :greengrin
Every broadcaster will be dubious to someone. Let's face it the only way for him to avoid criticism about the platform he chooses would be to start his own, even then he'd take stick. Let's not pretend that this faux pas outrage is about anything other than about AS.
12-11-2017, 04:55 PM
Nah GG has been on it since its inception :greengrin
GG, a Scottish separatist? Every days a school day :greengrin
12-11-2017, 04:56 PM
She raised her eye brows then.:greengrin You're doing so well here.:aok:
12-11-2017, 05:02 PM
The show sounds perfect for Channel 5 with its mix of current affairs, showbiz news and sport. Perfect for the mid-morning slot? Is that ok, or whats wrong with CH5 (other than being crap) have they been up to no good as well?
12-11-2017, 05:07 PM
SNP BAD
Land reform, where they should be moving faster imo. The Green policies on this are good. Not taxing the rich more aggressively, but they're getting there with that one. A national Investment bank should have been set up sooner, but once again they're getting there. They should have removed the charitable status of private schools, still no movement on this.
That should be enough to be getting on with.
Happy to help.
#freethebrainwashedone
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-11-2017, 05:09 PM
If I want your opinion I'll rattle your cage. :greengrin
Every broadcaster will be dubious to someone. Let's face it the only way for him to avoid criticism about the platform he chooses would be to start his own, even then he'd take stick. Let's not pretend that this faux pas outrage is about anything other than about AS.
Indont dount at least, some of it is anti-salmond stuff - people with old scores, people who dont like him, people who just want a cheap headline.
But that doesnt take away from the fact that it is a strange choice, one born oit of desperation or a desire to provoke controversy, and adds an air of legitimacy to a very dodgy regime, the kind of regime i would have thought most, if not all, on here would disapprove of.
How would people feel if blair had a light entertainment programme on a channel promoting the state of israel amd its views, or if thatcher had gone on chilean state tv for an hour of light hearted banter on pinochet's pet channel?
So yeah, a lot of the criticism may be politicians playing politics, or anti-Salmond. But i would also argie the crux of it is right, that as former first minister of this country amd one of contemporary scotlands most important figures, he probably shouldnt be debasing himself by endorsing, tacitly or explicitly, a murderous regime currently waging war near the borders or the EU, threatening fellow european member states, persecuting gay people, dissidents, amd literally, murdering journalists.
12-11-2017, 05:23 PM
She raised her eye brows then.:greengrin You're doing so well here.:aok:
It’s a figure of speech but you know that. Sad sad stuff from you now.
12-11-2017, 05:31 PM
It’s a figure of speech but you know that. Sad sad stuff from you now.
Just imagine the "criticism", when AS starts reviewing the papers with Rev Stu, Wee ginger dug, and Ponsonby. Apoplectic won't even touch it. :wink:
12-11-2017, 05:42 PM
Just imagine the "criticism", when AS starts reviewing the papers with Rev Stu, Wee ginger dug, and Ponsonby. Apoplectic won't even touch it. :wink:
If it helps you to understand your world then carry on pretending that’s there was no criticism from Sturgeon on Salmond’s choice of channel. I’ve never said it was stinging etc you ramped that up so you could pour on ridicule rather than deal with the facts.
You must agree though that for Sturgeon to say anything at all that could be construed as critical of any SNP member, let alone Salmond , is rare. That makes it worth commenting on doesn’t it?
12-11-2017, 06:10 PM
If it helps you to understand your world then carry on pretending that’s there was no criticism from Sturgeon on Salmond’s choice of channel. I’ve never said it was stinging etc you ramped that up so you could pour on ridicule rather than deal with the facts.
You must agree though that for Sturgeon to say anything at all that could be construed as critical of any SNP member, let alone Salmond , is rare. That makes it worth commenting on doesn’t it?
It's a small storm in a tea cup, but it's been a hoot watching the MSM get their knickers in a twist about it, and some on here of course, :greengrin
If this is the best she could come up with when "criticising" AS, then, I'm sure he's got a bit more to do to be severely censured.
"I am sure Alex's show will make interesting viewing - however, his choice of channel would not have been my choice."
It's powder puff stuff, but you wouldn't think so looking at the Yoon press.
She's slapped him down, slammed him, and laid into the former leader, according to the press.
Forgive me if I revert to type and give that lot a wide body swerve.
12-11-2017, 06:13 PM
The show sounds perfect for Channel 5 with its mix of current affairs, showbiz news and sport. Perfect for the mid-morning slot? Is that ok, or whats wrong with CH5 (other than being crap) have they been up to no good as well?
:greengrin He might as well have an hour on QVC, they can hardly be described as having an international audience with around a 4% share of UK viewers.
12-11-2017, 06:16 PM
He's spot on. He forgot to mention that his unofficial biographer, David Torrance, is a hypocrite too -
https://youtu.be/CuKpPyE3CXs
It's only attention seeking when Salmond does it :wink:
This David Torrance :greengrin
12-11-2017, 06:18 PM
Indont dount at least, some of it is anti-salmond stuff - people with old scores, people who dont like him, people who just want a cheap headline.
But that doesnt take away from the fact that it is a strange choice, one born oit of desperation or a desire to provoke controversy, and adds an air of legitimacy to a very dodgy regime, the kind of regime i would have thought most, if not all, on here would disapprove of.
How would people feel if blair had a light entertainment programme on a channel promoting the state of israel amd its views, or if thatcher had gone on chilean state tv for an hour of light hearted banter on pinochet's pet channel?
So yeah, a lot of the criticism may be politicians playing politics, or anti-Salmond. But i would also argie the crux of it is right, that as former first minister of this country amd one of contemporary scotlands most important figures, he probably shouldnt be debasing himself by endorsing, tacitly or explicitly, a murderous regime currently waging war near the borders or the EU, threatening fellow european member states, persecuting gay people, dissidents, amd literally, murdering journalists.
Again, there's no end of criticism could be made of nearly all major tv networks. However I must admit I raised an eyebrow at his choice. :wink:
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-11-2017, 06:20 PM
Again, there's no end of criticism could be made of nearly all major tv networks. However I must admit I raised an eyebrow at his choice. :wink:
We van agree to agree 😊
12-11-2017, 06:21 PM
It's a small storm in a tea cup, but it's been a hoot watching the MSM get their knickers in a twist about it, and some on here of course, :greengrin
If this is the best she could come up with when "criticising" AS, then, I'm sure he's got a bit more to do to be severely censured.
"I am sure Alex's show will make interesting viewing - however, his choice of channel would not have been my choice."
She's slapped him down, slammed him, and laid into the former leader, according to the press.
I agree, it is a bit of a storm in a teacup. I doubt that many will tune in anyway.
12-11-2017, 06:24 PM
What's your own personal view on AS agreeing to work with RT?
12-11-2017, 06:35 PM
What's your own personal view on AS agreeing to work with RT?
Eye raised a brow. :greengrin
I'm just wondering when the faux outrage on the London Evening Standard owner, Alexander Lebedev(former KGB agent) will be getting pelters, the same paper which, George Osborne, Edits.
Or when the Independent is going to be taken off the shelves as it owned by Lebedev too.
More power to your elbow Mr Salmondski. I'll only be happy when he gets a slot on Fox, just for balance likes.
12-11-2017, 06:37 PM
I agree, it is a bit of a storm in a teacup. I doubt that many will tune in anyway.
The MSM have boosted his ratings over the last couple of days.:greengrin
12-11-2017, 06:38 PM
12-11-2017, 06:39 PM
Nope. Not even close.
allmodcons
12-11-2017, 07:13 PM
So you really dont see anything wrong with this? You really think this is a move without any dubiety?
How would you react if tony blair began a light entertainment show on Israeli state tv? Or if Thatcher had had gone on chilean state tv for an hour of light-hearted banter during thr Pinochet regime - would you defend that?
No I don't see anything wrong with it and I also couldn't give a toss if Tony Blair began a light entertainment show on Israeli state TV.
With regard to Thatcher, this would have been impossible because she was PM during the reign of Pinochet. AS isn't even an elected politician now.
For what it's worth, anybody who thinks that Russia is the only nasty world superpower might want to reflect on who brought Pinochet to power in Chile. #special relationship
12-11-2017, 07:50 PM
My dad uses RT for a lot of his news... I had an argument with him a year or so ago as I thought they were obviously going to be very one sided and he was in turn "colouring" his views..... When I watched it to prove him wrong I realised that on one hand they did indeed report with "their slant" (but don't they all?.. As long as you're aware,... the number that watch BBC etc that aren't aware is a worry), on the other hand they also reported stuff that our own media seemed to totally ignore!.
Would never use them as my sole source of information... But they deserve their place.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
12-11-2017, 10:55 PM
My dad uses RT for a lot of his news... I had an argument with him a year or so ago as I thought they were obviously going to be very one sided and he was in turn "colouring" his views..... When I watched it to prove him wrong I realised that on one hand they did indeed report with "their slant" (but don't they all?.. As long as you're aware,... the number that watch BBC etc that aren't aware is a worry), on the other hand they also reported stuff that our own media seemed to totally ignore!.
Would never use them as my sole source of information... But they deserve their place.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-11-2017, 05:36 AM
No I don't see anything wrong with it and I also couldn't give a toss if Tony Blair began a light entertainment show on Israeli state TV.
With regard to Thatcher, this would have been impossible because she was PM during the reign of Pinochet. AS isn't even an elected politician now.
For what it's worth, anybody who thinks that Russia is the only nasty world superpower might want to reflect on who brought Pinochet to power in Chile. #special relationship
It was a hypothetical question.
13-11-2017, 08:05 AM
GG, a Scottish separatist? Every days a school day :greengrin
He's a seperate Unionist :na na:
13-11-2017, 01:33 PM
Eye raised a brow. :greengrin
I'm just wondering when the faux outrage on the London Evening Standard owner, Alexander Lebedev(former KGB agent) will be getting pelters, the same paper which, George Osborne, Edits.
Or when the Independent is going to be taken off the shelves as it owned by Lebedev too.
More power to your elbow Mr Salmondski. I'll only be happy when he gets a slot on Fox, just for balance likes.
So you think it's a good thing?
13-11-2017, 07:21 PM
So you think it's a good thing?
Good or bad, I've no idea, I've not seen it yet, and I'll not be watching it on Thursday.
For those trying to harness Salmond, they've been a long time trying, and I'm sure he'll make a fist of the show, just like the one he did on the Fringe.
Whether it continues on RT for the foreseeable, only time will tell. He's certainly got under the skin of some Ultra Unionists.
13-11-2017, 11:35 PM
Good or bad, I've no idea, I've not seen it yet, and I'll not be watching it on Thursday.
For those trying to harness Salmond, they've been a long time trying, and I'm sure he'll make a fist of the show, just like the one he did on the Fringe.
Whether it continues on RT for the foreseeable, only time will tell. He's certainly got under the skin of some Ultra Unionists.
Nick Robinson's will be his first guest I hear :cb
"Bernie the bolt please" :wink:
14-11-2017, 10:14 AM
Quality, Salmond on RT, the Brit cringers will be spewing!!
14-11-2017, 12:47 PM
I wonder if Eck's first show will be like the last scene of "Born Free"?
-Jonesy-
15-11-2017, 07:45 AM
People pretending to be upset over this and that the BBC isn't state propaganda...aw bless
16-11-2017, 11:03 AM
If you're feeling treasonable ... :wink:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HebTh85rWkA
Curried
16-11-2017, 12:20 PM
[QUOTE=JeMeSouviens;5220943]If you're feeling treasonable ... :wink:
Take me to the gallows..... Nice to see a different face to the MSM :-)
18-11-2017, 10:54 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/15669561.SNP_urged_to_remove_equalities_convenor_o ver_Russian_TV_chat_show/?ref=ar
18-11-2017, 11:44 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/15669561.SNP_urged_to_remove_equalities_convenor_o ver_Russian_TV_chat_show/?ref=ar
I don’t think criticism from an SNP member can actually be recognised. Non-story. Obviously.
18-11-2017, 11:51 AM
I don’t think criticism from an SNP member can actually be recognised. Non-story. Obviously.
Nothing to see, move on.
Mr Grieves
18-11-2017, 08:12 PM
MPs defend fees of up to £1,000 an hour to appear on ‘Kremlin propaganda’ channel
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/nov/18/mps-kremlin-propaganda-channel-rt?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Copy_to_clipboard
19-11-2017, 07:57 AM
MPs defend fees of up to £1,000 an hour to appear on ‘Kremlin propaganda’ channel
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/nov/18/mps-kremlin-propaganda-channel-rt?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Copy_to_clipboard
Interesting that the channel has to have 'on behalf of the Russian Government' flagged before any programmes.
Nothing to see, move on.
20-11-2017, 10:42 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/opinion/helen-martin-jon-snow-s-gagging-of-alex-salmond-was-a-disgrace-1-4616264
Snow and his little snowflake son certainly wear their colours on their sleeves. :coffee:
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
21-11-2017, 09:19 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/opinion/helen-martin-jon-snow-s-gagging-of-alex-salmond-was-a-disgrace-1-4616264
Snow and his little snowflake son certainly wear their colours on their sleeves. :coffee:
She makes a fair point - however the converse is that politicians (in particular) famously dont answer questions, and that drives viewers mad.
Although i would say Salmond is one of the more able and interesting interviewees, and rarely sounded like he was giving a political answer, unlile May who sounds like ahes reading it from an auto-cue.
Probably quite difficult to get the right balance.
21-11-2017, 10:41 AM
Dan Snow is Peter Snow's son, not Jon's.
21-11-2017, 11:36 AM
Dan Snow is Peter Snow's son, not Jon's.
Thanks JMS.
Apologies to all. I stand corrected re. their relationship - however it's Snow gonny change my views on them :wink:
speedy_gonzales
18-12-2017, 06:06 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-42398607
I never heard or read about these fake tweet allegations at the time and I'm aware the BBC isn't exactly well received when it comes to articles on Salmond/SNP/Nationalist news but wonder if there's any truth in the report or whether it's a case of "nothing to see here",,,,
-Jonesy-
18-12-2017, 08:13 PM
Yet happy to propagate absolute mince from the Tory party anytime one of them offers up some pish without a nugget of truth
And people say the BBC is unbiased...
19-12-2017, 04:01 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-42398607
I never heard or read about these fake tweet allegations at the time and I'm aware the BBC isn't exactly well received when it comes to articles on Salmond/SNP/Nationalist news but wonder if there's any truth in the report or whether it's a case of "nothing to see here",,,,
Yes nothing to see, it's all good.
speedy_gonzales
19-12-2017, 04:40 PM
Yes nothing to see, it's all good.
:thumbsup: We'll see if OffCom are in agreement. Having read the Herald article it sounds similar to the the fake BBC competition winners from 10 years ago,,,,
11-03-2018, 08:32 PM
How is this show doing, bet he could pull a few strings with his friends in the Kremlin and get some exclusives this week!
12-03-2018, 05:50 PM
How is this show doing, bet he could pull a few strings with his friends in the Kremlin and get some exclusives this week!
I've heard it's doing great, unfortunately he's not been paid for a while, due to the cash being siphoned off to the Tory coffers.
Some have mentioned £826,000 since the eu referendum.
Maybe you could ask wee ruthie.
18-03-2018, 05:26 PM
Anyone still think it’s a great show or Wee Eck’s doing a grand job on Russia Today? Every political party in the U.K. is now boycotting the channel but Salmond seems only interested in getting his cash regardless where it comes from.
18-03-2018, 05:29 PM
I've heard it's doing great, unfortunately he's not been paid for a while, due to the cash being siphoned off to the Tory coffers.
Some have mentioned £826,000 since the eu referendum.
Maybe you could ask wee ruthie.
Again you mix fact with rubbish. The Tories have received donations (£826k) from expat Russians. There’s been no mention anywhere of Salmond not getting paid.
If the Tory money is proved to come form criminals they hand it over to charities
18-03-2018, 05:55 PM
Again you mix fact with rubbish. The Tories have received donations (£826k) from expat Russians. There’s been no mention anywhere of Salmond not getting paid.
If the Tory money is proved to come form criminals they hand it over to charities
Whoosh.
18-03-2018, 06:30 PM
Again you mix fact with rubbish.
Surely some mistake?
18-03-2018, 06:56 PM
Whoosh.
No whoosh moment from me. You constantly spin and try to mislead and think by putting an emoji on your posts that it’s fine.
18-03-2018, 07:35 PM
No whoosh moment from me. You constantly spin and try to mislead and think by putting an emoji on your posts that it’s fine.
:faf::aok::wink:
18-03-2018, 08:58 PM
:faf::aok::wink:
No point in trying to have dialogue or debate with you. How many other sites do you post on for the Nats? You could be a bit busy in the coming weeks if the MSM is to believed and Russia start cyber bashing Nicola. So it’s time to ignore you
18-03-2018, 09:26 PM
No point in trying to have dialogue or debate with you. How many other sites do you post on for the Nats? You could be a bit busy in the coming weeks if the MSM is to believed and Russia start cyber bashing Nicola. So it’s time to ignore you
You keep saying that but always come back to spin your party's line.
18-03-2018, 10:12 PM
You keep saying that but always come back to spin your party's line.
Don’t think I was talking to you but feel free to defend Salmond being on Russia Today or the lies about him not being paid. I’m happy to debate, I’m often in a minority here but I will have my say. But when I say I’m ignoring the paid cyber Nat that’s what I’m going to do. Ive posted on here for 15 years and I’m happy to debate and listen. But this topic is not about Labour it’s about Salmond taking Putins cash. Even the FM has said no one from her party should appear on that channel
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
18-03-2018, 10:51 PM
Don’t think I was talking to you but feel free to defend Salmond being on Russia Today or the lies about him not being paid. I’m happy to debate, I’m often in a minority here but I will have my say. But when I say I’m ignoring the paid cyber Nat that’s what I’m going to do. Ive posted on here for 15 years and I’m happy to debate and listen. But this topic is not about Labour it’s about Salmond taking Putins cash. Even the FM has said no one from her party should appear on that channel
Ian Blackford also repeated that on Peston thia morning. Although he seemed to fudge the question about Tasmina Sheikh Ahmed's involvement.
19-03-2018, 06:42 AM
The FM has no say in what Salmond does or doesn't do. He's neither an MP or an MSP. He's a free agent and can do as he sees fit irrespective of what you, I or the FM think about him.
19-03-2018, 07:26 AM
The FM has no say in what Salmond does or doesn't do. He's neither an MP or an MSP. He's a free agent and can do as he sees fit irrespective of what you, I or the FM think about him.
I suspect that relationship is not an easy or harmonious one these days.
19-03-2018, 10:47 AM
tbh, you come across as just happy to push the party line relentlessly and dredge up as much personal scandal or innuendo on the nats as you can. Pretty much the mirror image of ronaldo in fact.
19-03-2018, 11:02 AM
tbh, you come across as just happy to push the party line relentlessly and dredge up as much personal scandal or innuendo on the nats as you can. Pretty much the mirror image of ronaldo in fact.
I have to agree with the last line. The pair of them are guilty of posts of the type that would put most people off politics.
19-03-2018, 03:47 PM
I have to agree with the last line. The pair of them are guilty of posts of the type that would put most people off politics.
Fair dos. I can be robust in my defence of Labour. I will try and refrain from being as partisan in future. There’s nothing worse than a political bore but two political bores with diametrically opinions must be tough reading.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
19-03-2018, 03:56 PM
I think this is a bit unfair JMS. There is, imho, a big difference between posting your own, structured and thought out posts (whether one agrees with them or not) and somebody posting innuendos, smilies and endless links to other people's spurious sources.
One is bot-like behaviour, the other is somebody holding sincere views and promoting his own views, in his own words.
To me, they are good illustrations of both the good side and bad side of internet discussion.
But its all personal taste i suppose.
19-03-2018, 04:03 PM
To make it quite clear to you, the post I was responding to from, John the Tory, was tongue in cheek, and a dig at the Russian cash flowing into the conservative party, I mean, how would I find out if Salmond was or wasn't being paid...He's a private citizen now, although you wouldn't know it from the last week. He's been on the BBC four times already with many other radio shows.
Don't believe all you read on .net, as I'm not, and never have been in the employ of the SNP. It would be nice though as I've got a few season tickets to purchase.:wink:
You maybe just got a bit hot under the collar due to me having a go at your pals Hughie, and Neil. I'll try and refrain from having a go at them in the future, although I'm not guaranteeing it. I'm sure something else will pop up in the future.
Have a nice day.:aok:
Oh, Nick, Nick, you've cut me to the quick. You'll find politics all over the board on here. Just look at the Petrie threads that pop up from time to time.
Have a good day. :wink:
I'll take on your point and try and temper the jist of my posts in future...17
19-03-2018, 04:21 PM
To make it quite clear to you, the post I was responding to from, John the Tory, was tongue in cheek, and a dig at the Russian cash flowing into the conservative party, I mean, how would I find out if Salmond was or wasn't being paid...He's a private citizen now, although you wouldn't know it from the last week. He's been on the BBC four times already with many other radio shows.
Don't believe all you read on .net, as I'm not, and never have been in the employ of the SNP. It would be nice though as I've got a few season tickets to purchase.:wink:
You maybe just got a bit hot under the collar due to me having a go at your pals Hughie, and Neil. I'll try and refrain from having a go at them in the future, although I'm not guaranteeing it. I'm sure something else will pop up in the future.
Have a nice day.:aok:
Oh, Nick, Nick, you've cut me to the quick. You'll find politics all over the board on here. Just look at the Petrie threads that pop up from time to time.
Can't help but get the personal digs in can you, you deserve to be on ignore but you do amuse me when your posts make sense so will keep looking and passing comment when I feel like it. I think your also a fine example of why the Yes voters have a long way to go to convince the people who, believe it or not, may have a different opinion or viewpoint. But as you where.
20-03-2018, 01:30 PM
Thanks. :greengrin
FWIW, I enjoy coming on here to read other points of view because, often, they bring up something I don't know or hadn't considered before on different topics. I could get a similar experience by attempting to read all the blogs that people post links to, but I value the fact that most posts on here will be from folk not unlike myself trying to understand subjects which we're not academically qualified specialists in. As a result, you usually get an interpretation of the news/politics/policies/controversies which are succinct and relatable. Even when I don't post, I enjoy reading the debates had by others which are, by and large, conducted in a civilised and respectful way.
I understand there will be times where posting links will be required (i.e. "where did you read that?/can you back that up?" type posts), but I'd prefer to read a poster's summary of the information in the link rather than the full article - at least as a starting point. That's personal preference though and I may be in the minority.
To be clear, I also have no objection whatsoever to posters openly defending their own party's interests. When someone makes a claim about a party, party member or policy, it's useful to see that answered by someone with more detailed knowledge than I'm likely to have on the subject. In an ideal world it would probably be done with a touch more reflection and self-awareness, but I'm perhaps not the person to be critical of that. :greengrin
I suppose what I find a bit wearing is the finger-pointing and related behaviour which raises its ugly head from time to time on these types of thread. It feels a bit a like a microcosm of the negative aspects of politics which put people off from engaging in a way which might benefit us all. Given how the unfortunately media-friendly, political "highlight" of the week - Prime Minister's Questions - is conducted, I'm not holding out much hope for things to change in politics any time soon; it would be nice if things were conducted on here in a more constructive tone though.
As I say, just my personal preference, but I though it was only fair to explain my earlier comment in a bit more detail.
20-03-2018, 06:09 PM
Thanks. :greengrin
FWIW, I enjoy coming on here to read other points of view because, often, they bring up something I don't know or hadn't considered before on different topics. I could get a similar experience by attempting to read all the blogs that people post links to, but I value the fact that most posts on here will be from folk not unlike myself trying to understand subjects which we're not academically qualified specialists in. As a result, you usually get an interpretation of the news/politics/policies/controversies which are succinct and relatable. Even when I don't post, I enjoy reading the debates had by others which are, by and large, conducted in a civilised and respectful way.
I understand there will be times where posting links will be required (i.e. "where did you read that?/can you back that up?" type posts), but I'd prefer to read a poster's summary of the information in the link rather than the full article - at least as a starting point. That's personal preference though and I may be in the minority.
To be clear, I also have no objection whatsoever to posters openly defending their own party's interests. When someone makes a claim about a party, party member or policy, it's useful to see that answered by someone with more detailed knowledge than I'm likely to have on the subject. In an ideal world it would probably be done with a touch more reflection and self-awareness, but I'm perhaps not the person to be critical of that. :greengrin
I suppose what I find a bit wearing is the finger-pointing and related behaviour which raises its ugly head from time to time on these types of thread. It feels a bit a like a microcosm of the negative aspects of politics which put people off from engaging in a way which might benefit us all. Given how the unfortunately media-friendly, political "highlight" of the week - Prime Minister's Questions - is conducted, I'm not holding out much hope for things to change in politics any time soon; it would be nice if things were conducted on here in a more constructive tone though.
As I say, just my personal preference, but I though it was only fair to explain my earlier comment in a bit more detail.
No need.
At least you've not accused me of being in the employ of the SNP.:greengrin
13-04-2018, 06:12 PM
So Salmond guilty of peddling fake news? I see his complaint against the Herald was rejected, why would you get your producer and staff to tweet the show impersonating members of the public and make up other tweets?
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-04-2018, 07:28 PM
So Salmond guilty of peddling fake news? I see his complaint against the Herald was rejected, why would you get your producer and staff to tweet the show impersonating members of the public and make up other tweets?
Its quite obvious that Salmond using RT to continue his career sinpmy proves how his ego, and his (alleged😉) gambling debts, are far bigger than his morals or his ethics.
Its a shame to see someone who has stood astride scottish politics for most of my life, and who is undoubtedly our finest First Minister.
Ironic that his morals wouldnt let him take a seat in the Lords where he could work for his people's benefit...
13-05-2018, 07:39 AM
Now the wife of the murdered Russian spy is urging Alex Salmond to quit his show. Will never happen, he likes his roubles too much.
13-05-2018, 07:51 PM
Now the wife of the murdered Russian spy is urging Alex Salmond to quit his show. Will never happen, he likes his roubles too much.
I'm urging Theresa May to give up her day job but I'm not sure she's listening.
13-05-2018, 09:03 PM
Well maybe if your partner was murdered like hers people would listen. He is making a fool of himself but he needs the attention as where else will it come from.
Stranraer
14-05-2018, 03:49 PM
I thought the show was quite interesting compared to some of the utter rubbish that's on TV. RT documentaries are really interesting.
14-05-2018, 06:40 PM
Don't be daft, she's too busy putting in place policies that actually harm people. Salmond's story is the Tory Squirrel.
https://www.disabilitynewsservice.com/research-linking-care-cuts-to-120000-deaths-is-fresh-evidence-austerity-kills/
14-05-2018, 07:31 PM
Don't be daft, she's too busy putting in place policies that actually harm people. Salmond's story is the Tory Squirrel.
https://www.disabilitynewsservice.com/research-linking-care-cuts-to-120000-deaths-is-fresh-evidence-austerity-kills/
I know I've given you a hard time in the past for posting links but I thought this was an interesting one.
It's dodgy though - any article that uses two sets of inverted commas in the first paragraph makes you question its veracity. And the researchers say they can't draw "firm conclusions" which makes you question why it's been put up in the first place. But it's on a site that has an agenda (and a reasonable one IMO) so you don't expect neutrality and that's fair enough.
Beresford is a well-respected researcher and writer on social care and the power dynamics therein. I've read and used his work and I've got a lot of time for him. I'm happy to agree that the spending constraints on local government in England have seriously impacted on social care and I believe that has led to earlier deaths for older people, but like the researchers it's my interpretation, the evidence is unfortunately and can only be anecdotal - but it does seems like a no-brainer :agree:
My concern is about the logic flow - there are a whole bunch of other factors that shape what happens to a frail elderly person's life chances. Reduced spend in social care has to be seen in relation to target-setting in acute hospital care. If health boards have to meet targets for elective surgery or are measured by getting people out of A+E and into other beds within four hours then it's no wonder they can't close non-A+E wards and shift the money to social care. The irony is that they can't meet those targets anyway.
What you end up with is people being funneled into non-A+E wards as boarders or 'intermediate' care homes when all the evidence states people need to be back home.
Care home deaths is also a misleading statistic. A huge amount of work has been done, in all parts of the UK, to support older people to live as long as possible at home and where at all possible to die at home - SG has an indicator that health and social care partnerships have to report on annually, which is the percentage of last six months of life a person lived at home. What that means is that people should be going into care homes at a frailer stage than previous, which means they are more likely to go in when they are likely to die - you used to see care home residents living there for twenty-odd years in some cases. I think the national average now is less than two years. I can't think of a way to say this that doesn't sound callous, but the whole point is that people should die more quickly than they used to, if they're admitted to a care home - the system can't survive if care homes are looking after people for years on end, the money simply isn't there.
Bet you thought I wouldn't be defending SG's approach :greengrin. I think they have got some things wrong but I think some of the thinking is right. I also think this article is shoddy - the use of numbers to make points is inaccurate but more importantly it is misleading. This is a really serious issue but the reporting and commentary on it is either inaccurate or serves such a vested interest that it isn't credible.
14-05-2018, 08:43 PM
I see the title of the thread is about Alex Salmond and his show on RT but now it's about the Tories and health cuts causing deaths. I wonder how that deflection happened....
14-05-2018, 09:32 PM
I see the title of the thread is about Alex Salmond and his show on RT but now it's about the Tories and health cuts causing deaths. I wonder how that deflection happened....
True but even the most die-hard SNP apologist can't defend the way NHS performance has deteriorated on their watch. Worsened by the fact that Sturgeon was Health Minister and worsened by the fact that Robison is so incompetent and worsened by the fact that they said it was a priority and they've singularly failed to deliver.
NHS performance in Scotland has got worse, simple as that. Ministers need to answer and take responsibility, it's what accountability and democracy is all about.
The most crass part of it is that you get SNP apologists saying things are worse in England and Wales. Of course they bloody are. England and Wales are two years ahead of Scotland in social care spending cuts. Those cuts will invariably impact on the hospital targets that we're failing to meet - the eighteen weeks target, the A+E 4 hours target, the 72 hours delayed discharge target.
There's a paucity of imagination to deal with this. It's about time someone answered that instead of playing party games.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-05-2018, 10:00 PM
True but even the most die-hard SNP apologist can't defend the way NHS performance has deteriorated on their watch. Worsened by the fact that Sturgeon was Health Minister and worsened by the fact that Robison is so incompetent and worsened by the fact that they said it was a priority and they've singularly failed to deliver.
NHS performance in Scotland has got worse, simple as that. Ministers need to answer and take responsibility, it's what accountability and democracy is all about.
The most crass part of it is that you get SNP apologists saying things are worse in England and Wales. Of course they bloody are. England and Wales are two years ahead of Scotland in social care spending cuts. Those cuts will invariably impact on the hospital targets that we're failing to meet - the eighteen weeks target, the A+E 4 hours target, the 72 hours delayed discharge target.
There's a paucity of imagination to deal with this. It's about time someone answered that instead of playing party games.
Really good post.
14-05-2018, 10:19 PM
But it's always someone else's fault.
14-05-2018, 10:26 PM
Yep :agree:
18-05-2018, 10:25 AM
I'm all for having a discussion about how we fund our NHS going forward, but to have posted what you have above, without mentioning your parties involvement in abstaining when the Tories and Lib dems were initiating the austerity policies, and cutting the budgets to our SG to deal with is rather odd.
Maybe you could also mention the latest satisfaction surveys in all the Nations of the uk. That might help. :aok:
Obviously the Universities of Oxford, Cambridge, and the University College London are not good enough for you.
18-05-2018, 10:31 AM
It's about time you started owning the policies of the party you vote for.
#Windrush #Rape clause to name but two.
18-05-2018, 10:40 AM
Anyway, back to Alex Salmond...what IS his total annual income these days?
18-05-2018, 10:58 AM
I imagine the news that Salmond hopes to return to front line politics as soon as Sturgeon 'fires the starting gun' on another referendum will see her put the gun back in a drawer for a few years yet...
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/alex-salmond-pledges-return-to-frontline-politics-when-sturgeon-calls-indyref2-1-4741252
The 'Declaration of Morningside' indeed...when will it dawn on the SNP that the supposed 'power grab' that they've been trying to ramp up as a constitutional crisis isn't registering with the average punter? Brexit just isn't the platform upon which to try and manufacture another referendum and the SNP's attempts to prolong this non-issue are wearisome. In saying that, Corbyn's parroting of the 'power grab' line on his recent token trip to Scotland was even more laughable given the Labour-run Welsh government had only recently come to an agreement with Westminster on post-Brexit devolved powers. The guy hasn't a clue about Scotland, though I get the impression he doesn't really care. Happy to admit that if it came to a choice between a Corbyn-led UK Government and Scottish independence I'd opt for the latter.
18-05-2018, 12:37 PM
I imagine the news that Salmond hopes to return to front line politics as soon as Sturgeon 'fires the starting gun' on another referendum will see her put the gun back in a drawer for a few years yet...
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/alex-salmond-pledges-return-to-frontline-politics-when-sturgeon-calls-indyref2-1-4741252
The 'Declaration of Morningside' indeed...when will it dawn on the SNP that the supposed 'power grab' that they've been trying to ramp up as a constitutional crisis isn't registering with the average punter? Brexit just isn't the platform upon which to try and manufacture another referendum and the SNP's attempts to prolong this non-issue are wearisome. In saying that, Corbyn's parroting of the 'power grab' line on his recent token trip to Scotland was even more laughable given the Labour-run Welsh government had only recently come to an agreement with Westminster on post-Brexit devolved powers. The guy hasn't a clue about Scotland, though I get the impression he doesn't really care. Happy to admit that if it came to a choice between a Corbyn-led UK Government and Scottish independence I'd opt for the latter.
newspapers...Dying out just like the generation who still reads them.
18-05-2018, 12:40 PM
I agree the "power grab" doesn't seem to be gaining much traction as an issue with the electorate at large but I think the fact that the staunchly pro-Union Labs and Libs voted with Scot gov against it show it actually is a real issue. Even the Tory members of Holyrood's Brexit committee initially said it was unacceptable before getting telt and meekly trotting back to the pro-UK line.
btw, your last choice - you might actually get both! :greengrin
18-05-2018, 12:46 PM
Not a clue.
18-05-2018, 03:46 PM
I agree the "power grab" doesn't seem to be gaining much traction as an issue with the electorate at large but I think the fact that the staunchly pro-Union Labs and Libs voted with Scot gov against it show it actually is a real issue. Even the Tory members of Holyrood's Brexit committee initially said it was unacceptable before getting telt and meekly trotting back to the pro-UK line.
btw, your last choice - you might actually get both! :greengrin
Here's hoping neither ever happen, but I'd rather be governed by Sturgeon than Corbyn. I may not agree with her politics but I have some respect for her. I'm pretty confident we'll never see Corbyn as PM though. Faced with probably the most calamity-ridden government in living memory the fact Labour lag five points behind the Tories in the latest opinion polls almost beggars belief.
18-05-2018, 05:04 PM
Here's hoping neither ever happen, but I'd rather be governed by Sturgeon than Corbyn. I may not agree with her politics but I have some respect for her. I'm pretty confident we'll never see Corbyn as PM though. Faced with probably the most calamity-ridden government in living memory the fact Labour lag five points behind the Tories in the latest opinion polls almost beggars belief.
We can certainly agree on that.
18-05-2018, 07:56 PM
I'm all for having a discussion about how we fund our NHS going forward, but to have posted what you have above, without mentioning your parties involvement in abstaining when the Tories and Lib dems were initiating the austerity policies, and cutting the budgets to our SG to deal with is rather odd.
Maybe you could also mention the latest satisfaction surveys in all the Nations of the uk. That might help. :aok:
Obviously the Universities of Oxford, Cambridge, and the University College London are not good enough for you.
I was talking about performance, which is tanking.
But if you want to talk about satisfaction levels, then the benchmark measurement is the British Social Attitudes survey which is weighted to provide as statistically an accurate sample as is just about possible - that's not my solely my view, the Kings' Fund have said the same for years now and they're the leading independent think-tank in health. An NHS and social care version of the IFS if you like.
The BSA survey has been conducted every year since the mid-eighties, using a consistent and in-depth methodology and the latest publication shows increased dissatisfaction and decreased satisfaction. What's perhaps more important and what you've not touched upon is what people cite as their reasons for dissatisfaction and satisfaction.
People cite 'free at the point of use' as a cause of satisfaction and they also cite the attitude and caring nature of staff. Now the first one is pretty much a nuclear issue - no mainstream party is willing to even go there. The second one reinforces the idea that most people choose to work in health and social care because they are intrinsically altruistic, believe in social justice, essentially want to help people.
What people cite as causes of dissatisfaction are things like waiting times and perceived lack of funding. These are issues that government has levers for but is failing to address.
And that's not to say throwing more money at hospitals will solve matters as I firmly believe it won't. What it does require is a serious and contemplative discussion societally about what we want, what we expect and what is realistic.
The 1970s were a turbulent time in terms of narratives being challenged about the relationship between the state and its people and there were a spate of Royal Commissions looking into various disputed and controversial areas. There was also a paradigm shift in public attitude with the post-war consensus between 'left' and 'right' coming to a crashing and bitter end.
I suspect the time is overdue for another Royal Commission-style exercise to address the issues with health, social care and demographic and funding pressures. Nearly ten years ago the Dilnot Commission looked at the issue of long-term funding for elderly social care but the findings haven't been meaningfully implemented and have withered on the vine.
Alex Salmond is just about old enough for free personal care so there is a tenuous link to the thread title :greengrin
19-05-2018, 10:55 AM
Considerably less than the cost of this one day farce of an event.