Pages : 1 2 [3]

18-01-2019, 11:36 AM
http://i67.tinypic.com/3021etv.jpg

18-01-2019, 02:26 PM
A spot of bother at Easter Road during Hibs v Rangers - 1978

http://i66.tinypic.com/11c9z04.jpg

Aah the good an sometimes not so good auld days.

18-01-2019, 07:01 PM
Some great stuff you’ve posted on there Iggy, hope you don’t mind them being shared on here!

Course not. It’s lovely. I photographed them out of an old scrapbook I kept across a couple of seasons back then. Wish I hadn’t stuck them down to the pages quite as securely now!

houstonhibbee
18-01-2019, 07:12 PM
Peter Marinello, November 1969 I think - Hibs v Motherwell game finished 1-1. It was my birthday too!

I was 11 and had to go to a friends birthday party in corstorphine and was disappointed I couldn't go to the game - and also disappointed when I saw the result. I remember the day well - maybe because of the snow on the pitch. I think they used an orange ball that day.

18-01-2019, 09:46 PM
Reminds me of the OF game with the orange ball. Boring 0-0 draw. Smeltic players wouldn’t touch it and Oldco players would not kick it.

19-01-2019, 09:41 AM
I was 11 and had to go to a friends birthday party in corstorphine and was disappointed I couldn't go to the game - and also disappointed when I saw the result. I remember the day well - maybe because of the snow on the pitch. I think they used an orange ball that day.

According to Wikipedia, you weren't the only one that missed the game, as the attendance is listed as 3,464.

19-01-2019, 10:10 AM
Peter Marinello, November 1969 I think - Hibs v Motherwell game finished 1-1. It was my birthday too!

Was at that game. Proper winters those years. It was colder than a penguins chuff standing at the centre line on the east terrace.

20-01-2019, 09:45 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190120/ed6d3178c6f445e9d260c24684b70c5e.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190120/f58bbb5e5d9bbc9659a5dec63f4ba4ec.jpg

From Twitter

20-01-2019, 10:04 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190120/ed6d3178c6f445e9d260c24684b70c5e.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190120/f58bbb5e5d9bbc9659a5dec63f4ba4ec.jpg

From Twitter

Brilliant!

Just love Sodjers home made polo neck

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/pat-stanton-tips-current-hibs-crop-to-match-class-of-75-1-4725833

20-01-2019, 02:46 PM
Happy Birthday Alex Cropley - 68 today

http://i63.tinypic.com/33nymfb.jpg

I would buy this top if they made it again, sponsor free, i reckon it would be a big money spinner for the club

20-01-2019, 02:48 PM
Hibs fans in The Isle of Man for the pre season Okell’s Footbalk Festival 1987.
(Home of Hibs FB group)

http://i66.tinypic.com/abjlew.jpg

Didnae realise we had so many ginger fans

22-01-2019, 09:36 AM

22-01-2019, 10:14 AM
Didnae realise we had so many ginger fans

I take it you are colourblind?

Aim Here
22-01-2019, 12:02 PM
I would buy this top if they made it again, sponsor free, i reckon it would be a big money spinner for the club

Hibs are selling something like it - a retro 1970s top with an 'HFC' badge and no sponsors - at the club shop, though it's a slightly different variation. There's also a famous five era top there too, which looks better, IMO.

22-01-2019, 05:16 PM
Somebody posted a link on facebook to a twitter film of Sunshine on Leith at the cup final taken from on the pitch at the Sevco end. Sorry, I don't know how to link to it, but its the best film of SOL I've ever seen .. only the first verse for some reason.

CLASS OF 72 -73
22-01-2019, 05:32 PM
That is just such a beautiful strip

My favourite ever Hibs strip

And what a player Alex Cropley was too

Turnbulls boys all brilliant but Cropley was my favourite player he had everything.
The strip reminds me of my early teenage years and watching Hibs fear no one and beating most.:thumbsup:

22-01-2019, 06:02 PM
Hibs are selling something like it - a retro 1970s top with an 'HFC' badge and no sponsors - at the club shop, though it's a slightly different variation. There's also a famous five era top there too, which looks better, IMO.

Wtf £45.. Think I bought the original for £2.99

Aim Here
22-01-2019, 06:08 PM
Wtf £45.. Think I bought the original for £2.99

Even without taking into account the extra premium pricing added to all things fitba' these days, something that cost £3 in 1972 would, just from the actions of compound inflation, cost £39 today, so the price difference isn't that horrendous.

Of course, automation and sweatshoppery has probably made clothes a lot cheaper in the interim...

malcolm
22-01-2019, 06:40 PM

But definitely the completely wrong shade of green which means it’s retro credentials are somewhat restricted :rolleyes:

Seekyit
24-01-2019, 03:56 PM

Took this early 1986 - got a couple of others

25-01-2019, 07:33 PM
Anyone spot the error?

http://i65.tinypic.com/oaw13b.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/20saqko.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/2145lx2.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/4rrleb.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/11tc0u9.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/2hzhmz8.jpg

25-01-2019, 07:44 PM
Anyone spot the error?

http://i65.tinypic.com/oaw13b.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/20saqko.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/2145lx2.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/4rrleb.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/11tc0u9.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/2hzhmz8.jpg

no tbh

25-01-2019, 07:45 PM
Doesn’t look a lot like John Hazel either to me. Funny shot of him.

25-01-2019, 07:49 PM

it's Spalding is it not...looks like him to me

25-01-2019, 07:50 PM

When you see this one he like more like John Hazel than Derek Spalding?

http://i68.tinypic.com/2myavj5.jpg

25-01-2019, 07:52 PM
When you see this one he like more like John Hazel than Derek Spalding?

http://i68.tinypic.com/2myavj5.jpg

Doesn’t look entirely like photo 5 either though. Always thought John Hazel was skinnier about the chops! Still, seems it’s him. It’s definitely not Derek Spalding.

25-01-2019, 07:53 PM

Before my time, but a post in the Auld Hibs FB group suggested it was a mistaken picture and it was Hazel and not Spalding.

25-01-2019, 07:53 PM

I think we’ve all had a big Spalding debate on here once before :greengrin

25-01-2019, 07:55 PM
I think we’ve all had a big Spalding debate on here once before :greengrin

lol we did indeed...decent chat that one was...

25-01-2019, 07:56 PM
Before my time, but a post in the Auld Hibs FB group suggested it was a mistaken picture and it was Hazel and not Spalding.

https://i.pinimg.com/236x/0c/4d/6e/0c4d6e0291032a233b87133334ede252--edward-smith-duncan.jpg

It’s not Derek Spalding whoever it is.
He’s second in from right middle row here. Can’t find a better photo....

25-01-2019, 07:59 PM

pretty sure that is Spalding

25-01-2019, 07:59 PM
https://i.pinimg.com/236x/0c/4d/6e/0c4d6e0291032a233b87133334ede252--edward-smith-duncan.jpg

It’s not Derek Spalding whoever it is.
He’s second in from right middle row here. Can’t find a better photo....
That is a thing of beauty, except maybe the haircuts!! That colour of green is the most amazingly beautiful colour ever

25-01-2019, 08:01 PM
That is a thing of beauty, except maybe the haircuts!! That colour of green is the most amazingly beautiful colour ever

Like I said, you couldn’t get a better photo....:greengrin

25-01-2019, 08:01 PM

Nae chance!

25-01-2019, 08:03 PM
Nae chance!

Not going there again IP.... :aok: here are pictures of Spalding (beside McArthur). and Hazel...

25-01-2019, 08:06 PM

Found this one of Derek Spalding playing for Chicago Sting to add to the confusion..:greengrin

http://i67.tinypic.com/4zsq5h.jpg

25-01-2019, 08:08 PM
Not going there again IP.... :aok: here are pictures of Spalding (beside McArthur). and Hazel...

I don’t think it’s John Hazel either!

Derek Spalding though 2nd in from right middle row. Same sort of era. That’s not the boy in that photo.

PS...how do you make these attachments bigger????????

25-01-2019, 08:12 PM

Derek Spalding though 2nd in from right middle row. Same sort of era. That’s not the boy in that photo.

That was slightly later around 75 Almost 100 percent sure he had longer curly hair in the earlier 70s And that is him In pic ...

25-01-2019, 08:19 PM
That was slightly later around 75 Almost 100 percent sure he had longer curly hair in the earlier 70s And that is him In pic ...

It’s not that much later and I don’t recall Spalding hitting the first team until about 74 (amidst a pretty disastrous run of results).
The badge in the photo screams 72 cup final squad though and I think that’s before Derek Spalding graduated, certainly before he hit the glossy magazines. But I’ll leave it there as I really don’t know and I’ve gone full circle. I’m thinking it’s John Hazel now as the time is right.

25-01-2019, 08:21 PM
That HFC scrolled badge can only be 72 cup final squad....

02-02-2019, 08:29 AM
http://i67.tinypic.com/mw9zb7.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/vde78m.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/35naexw.jpg

02-02-2019, 09:33 AM
Great photos, how much is 25 shillings in today’s money😄

02-02-2019, 09:38 AM

£3 ?

02-02-2019, 09:44 AM
£3 ?

£1:25

02-02-2019, 09:51 AM
20 shillings was a pound and 5 shillings was 12 1/2p I think.

Bangkok Hibby
02-02-2019, 09:55 AM
20 shillings was a pound and 5 shillings was 12 1/2p I think.

5 shillings = 25 pence

02-02-2019, 10:02 AM
Somebody posted a link on facebook to a twitter film of Sunshine on Leith at the cup final taken from on the pitch at the Sevco end. Sorry, I don't know how to link to it, but its the best film of SOL I've ever seen .. only the first verse for some reason.
Hope this is the one your on about :aok:

https://youtu.be/RgA2a6_Yzvc (https://youtu.be/RgA2a6_Yzvc)

02-02-2019, 10:13 AM

My Dad told me that the ticket prices for this game were considerably higher than for a standard league match at the time. No message boards around back then to moan about the prices!

02-02-2019, 10:18 AM
Anyone spot the error?

Yes. Inconsistent spelling: "Iain Munro" but "Ian's big breakthrough".

SideBurns
02-02-2019, 10:31 AM
My Dad told me that the ticket prices for this game were considerably higher than for a standard league match at the time. No message boards around back then to moan about the prices!

For the record, I would've been ok with those prices (slight unease at the apparent lack of a boys gate but it was Real Madrid i suppose...).

Seekyit
02-02-2019, 10:37 AM

Aye, how?

09-02-2019, 08:52 AM
A fine partnership this was

http://i68.tinypic.com/2hmopk9.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/2rr05ue.jpg

20-02-2019, 10:34 PM
http://i66.tinypic.com/11rzww9.jpg

20-02-2019, 11:13 PM
A fine partnership this was

http://i68.tinypic.com/2hmopk9.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/2rr05ue.jpg

That tracksuit top though. :hyper

21-02-2019, 01:03 AM
Some of the publications being reminisced over on the fanzine thread

http://i66.tinypic.com/5v165v.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/2hr0dx4.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/2znv0y0.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/a31qio.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/dwdeuh.jpg

21-02-2019, 04:41 PM
http://i66.tinypic.com/11rzww9.jpg

Who is that?

21-02-2019, 04:49 PM
Who is that?

Roy Erskine, grandfather of Jamie and Andy Murray.

21-02-2019, 05:57 PM
For the record, I would've been ok with those prices (slight unease at the apparent lack of a boys gate but it was Real Madrid i suppose...).

There were many at the time who refused to pay the increased prices.Needless to say in the years since,like the 7-0 game,if everyone who claimed to be there had been there the attendance would have been 60,000:greengrin

21-02-2019, 06:00 PM
There were many at the time who refused to pay the increased prices.Needless to say in the years since,like the 7-0 game,if everyone who claimed to be there had been there the attendance would have been 60,000:greengrin

Me my dad and brother 59.997 to be accountable

21-02-2019, 06:46 PM

Andy especially, is a dead ringer of his Grandad!

21-02-2019, 08:48 PM
Some brilliant photos of ER here.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/image-gallery/copy-of-in-pictures-the-evolution-of-easter-road-1-4705869/4692114/img14691967

21-02-2019, 09:31 PM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/image-gallery/copy-of-in-pictures-the-evolution-of-easter-road-1-4705869/4692114/img14691967

Brilliant!

Thanks for posting

Brought back a lot of memories

21-02-2019, 09:45 PM

Can see the likeness now it’s been revealed.
I thought it was a drawing of a young Michael O’Neill wearing a retro strip.
There is a resemblance - no?

21-02-2019, 10:17 PM
Andy especially, is a dead ringer of his Grandad!

Uncanny resemblance.

21-02-2019, 10:29 PM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/image-gallery/copy-of-in-pictures-the-evolution-of-easter-road-1-4705869/4692114/img14691967Great photos . Thanks . In photo 4 I suppose it was an end of season E of Sc Shield match with small crowd if really May . Cave roof very recent then ? Photo 5 is Cave closed off just before it was seated , nothing to do with segregation . ECWC match v Besa soon after had half Cave open for standing .
Photo 13 may have been Mickey Weir's debut . Weir , Kano , McKee etc a great group of young players .

22-02-2019, 06:49 AM
Who is that?

Uncanny!

Brilliant!

22-02-2019, 07:01 AM

I thought it was Stokes photo-shopped to look like an old photo.

Love this thread.

22-02-2019, 07:08 AM
I thought it was Stokes photo-shopped to look like an old photo.

Love this thread.

Ha Ha!

I have just asked my 22 year old son who he thought Roy Erskine was and he said “ Stokesy”

Spooky

22-02-2019, 07:16 AM
Some colourised Hibernian images

https://i.postimg.cc/jjZYWgkb/90-CA94-AD-82-B4-4531-B482-E4-C9-EB185-FD9.jpg (https://postimg.cc/TyL4F967)

https://i.postimg.cc/gjyCWghQ/A5534-A92-129-F-4-B5-B-9-FA2-5-E2-A409-AFC3-C.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/PrtcDzYf/C27-B7-E64-8214-43-A5-8-BE2-39-DC7-D02-D330.jpg (https://postimages.org/)upload photo (https://postimages.org/nl/)

22-02-2019, 09:32 AM
Question - see when the big two tier east terrace was chopped, did they remove some of the lower tier aswell as the top section or just the top section?

Also never realised they cut away as much from the front of the east when they built the west and widened the pitch, you can see how much was taken away in the photo above as they cut it back to the roof pillars, around a quarter of the stand. It wasn’t half butchered before we built the new east but I still miss it!

22-02-2019, 09:34 AM
Some colourised Hibernian images

https://i.postimg.cc/jjZYWgkb/90-CA94-AD-82-B4-4531-B482-E4-C9-EB185-FD9.jpg (https://postimg.cc/TyL4F967)

https://i.postimg.cc/gjyCWghQ/A5534-A92-129-F-4-B5-B-9-FA2-5-E2-A409-AFC3-C.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/PrtcDzYf/C27-B7-E64-8214-43-A5-8-BE2-39-DC7-D02-D330.jpg (https://postimages.org/)upload photo (https://postimages.org/nl/)

Phenomenal stuff.

22-02-2019, 12:23 PM
[QUOTE=Carheenlea;5717420]Some colourised Hibernian images

https://i.postimg.cc/PrtcDzYf/C27-B7-E64-8214-43-A5-8-BE2-39-DC7-D02-D330.jpg (https://postimages.org/)upload photo (https://postimages.org/nl/)[/QUOTE

Stunning photos!

linlithgowhibbie
22-02-2019, 03:36 PM
Question - see when the big two tier east terrace was chopped, did they remove some of the lower tier aswell as the top section or just the top section?

Also never realised they cut away as much from the front of the east when they built the west and widened the pitch, you can see how much was taken away in the photo above as they cut it back to the roof pillars, around a quarter of the stand. It wasn’t half butchered before we built the new east but I still miss it!

Yes they did, half was knocked off the height of the bottom section of the old east terrace. Also taken away was the corners between the east and FF stand and the east and the Dunbar end (South stand) both these areas held thousands, especially the corner between the east and FF.

I used to love coming in the turnstiles at the back of the east terrace and climbing up endless stairs to get to the top then climb down the stairs to the dividing wall above the pathway separating the top and bottom sections.

Happy days:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

26-02-2019, 11:24 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/cJDk7myV/4-A568427-4-C0-E-41-D6-BF47-998-C1-B48-F170.jpg (https://postimg.cc/McQYq1GD)

https://i.postimg.cc/g0bTkJyT/336-CBE3-E-686-C-437-A-A830-A472-EE0-E2-C1-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/DS5gx7Mr)

02-03-2019, 09:48 AM
Anyone on here in this photo?

https://i.postimg.cc/tgPssqQt/EFF1-C449-8-DC1-4065-A27-F-51-A2-DB0-E2-BAD.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

02-03-2019, 10:18 AM

Ok cool can see the likeness to his grandsons right enough.

02-03-2019, 02:20 PM
https://images.scran.ac.uk/RB/images/thumb/0893/08933358.jpg

Napoli team arriving at Turnhouse for THE game!!!

02-03-2019, 02:24 PM
https://images.scran.ac.uk/RB/images/thumb/0893/08937759.jpg

Arthur Duncan and Joe McBride training.

02-03-2019, 02:27 PM
https://images.scran.ac.uk/RB/images/thumb/0893/08931215.jpg

Peter Cormack of Hibs scores during a Hibs versus Hearts game at Easter Road in Edinburgh.

02-03-2019, 02:53 PM
Hopefully some more Scottish Cup memories to bank later. Few will better this though.

https://i.postimg.cc/j5fFKNK8/1019-D62-E-E66-D-4220-9-B24-3-B8-AE8698402.jpg (https://postimg.cc/YGp3zvvg)

03-03-2019, 12:19 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/C5g1bJxv/304-ED3-E3-E0-C8-4894-8635-8-AEAF1-EFE769.jpg (https://postimg.cc/hz2cBLxx)

https://i.postimg.cc/4dCtF63c/B3-B478-D9-19-A0-4-BA6-A790-CD78-F60-F6-B88.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

04-03-2019, 04:54 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/NFZ25Dm0/68-BDC796-8-FB0-4-DD2-8-FC4-CFA358-D50-DD7.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/wBFthgLZ/472-F8471-29-ED-4-CF6-9735-29-C48-A3-C4335.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Bobo
04-03-2019, 05:48 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/NFZ25Dm0/68-BDC796-8-FB0-4-DD2-8-FC4-CFA358-D50-DD7.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/wBFthgLZ/472-F8471-29-ED-4-CF6-9735-29-C48-A3-C4335.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

I've got two tickets from the home tie at Easter Road, one for the Centre Stand and one for the Seated Enclosure.

SideBurns
04-03-2019, 06:05 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/C5g1bJxv/304-ED3-E3-E0-C8-4894-8635-8-AEAF1-EFE769.jpg (https://postimg.cc/hz2cBLxx)

https://i.postimg.cc/4dCtF63c/B3-B478-D9-19-A0-4-BA6-A790-CD78-F60-F6-B88.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

I ended up in The Bowler's Rest after the parade on 22.5.16; mind being in there with ma auld man years ago when Lawrie Reilly was behind the bar, and Dad saying, "Aye you were some player Lawrie, but ye wurnae as good as Joe (Baker)!". Lawrie just laughed and agreed, like the gent he was.

Would love to hear from our veteran posters who might recall The Mine Host and Olde Football Arms; are they still operating as pubs?

04-03-2019, 06:24 PM
I ended up in The Bowler's Rest after the parade on 22.5.16; mind being in there with ma auld man years ago when Lawrie Reilly was behind the bar, and Dad saying, "Aye you were some player Lawrie, but ye wurnae as good as Joe (Baker)!". Lawrie just laughed and agreed, like the gent he was.

Would love to hear from our veteran posters who might recall The Mine Host and Olde Football Arms; are they still operating as pubs?

The Mine Host is now Tamsons

04-03-2019, 06:26 PM
The Mine Host is now Tamsons

The Football Arms became Shades and is now a house.

SideBurns
04-03-2019, 07:04 PM
Thanks lads. I remember Shades; sad it's no longer a boozer. Tamsons has been called that as long as I can remember, wonder when the name changed.

One side effect of the bigger crowds in the last few years must be an upturn in fortunes for the pubs in and around Easter Road. Always hoped the Cooper's Rest might reopen.

08-03-2019, 09:10 AM
Another from Auld Hibs FB - Jock Stein’s first programme notes.

https://i.postimg.cc/15dmrNHQ/178-F98-CD-8363-4114-A642-E286-F1920272.jpg (https://postimg.cc/4mzRJyqL)where is citibank near me (https://banks-nearme.com/citibank-near-me)

22-03-2019, 08:47 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/nzgVNkGY/2-E084-DB2-2-BFC-45-EF-8-A6-A-223163498339.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/q7mvx0tF/54-ECEE8-C-24-DC-4320-AAC9-01495-CF07-AAB.jpg (https://postimg.cc/sBhz3k4P)

https://i.postimg.cc/gcL28CGM/791-DA8-A5-0-C1-E-4318-BA43-D44-E6292-F8-FE.jpg (https://postimg.cc/4nZGTF7t) am (https://banks-nearme.com/chase-near-me)

https://i.postimg.cc/hPFPr2jK/B484041-A-AB94-4-DF6-A82-F-172-B76-D59-C3-F.jpg (https://postimg.cc/4n5g4bV0)

25-03-2019, 11:25 AM
I doubt the pitch invaders were banned for life :greengrin

https://i.postimg.cc/xjXYKVpS/F287-C11-B-25-AA-4-A5-F-922-F-164483178978.jpg (https://postimg.cc/4nRrgqT8)

25-03-2019, 11:35 AM

https://i.postimg.cc/xjXYKVpS/F287-C11-B-25-AA-4-A5-F-922-F-164483178978.jpg (https://postimg.cc/4nRrgqT8)

Hearts 1 v 2 HIBS 1970/71 Scottish Cup
Arthur Duncan winning goal :greengrin

Cheshire Hibby
25-03-2019, 07:44 PM
Hopefully some more Scottish Cup memories to bank later. Few will better this though.

https://i.postimg.cc/j5fFKNK8/1019-D62-E-E66-D-4220-9-B24-3-B8-AE8698402.jpg (https://postimg.cc/YGp3zvvg)

Love this image. Who took it and how do I get a high resolution copy?

26-03-2019, 05:10 AM

Great goal. Arthur outstripped the Hearts defence.

26-03-2019, 06:56 AM
Great goal. Arthur outstripped the Hearts defence.

That was my first visit to Tynecastle, my next was on 1/1/73

26-03-2019, 08:15 AM

https://i.postimg.cc/xjXYKVpS/F287-C11-B-25-AA-4-A5-F-922-F-164483178978.jpg (https://postimg.cc/4nRrgqT8)Aye but plod Glasgow are still looking for the guy. This picture's still on that website, apparently he gave Lee Wallace a Chinese burn.

26-03-2019, 09:00 AM

Sorry, can’t help with pointing you in the direction of the photographer. Given it was taken from the opposite end it’s unlikely to be any of the regular Hibs snappers. It’s a belting image though, and one I’d quite like a copy of myself.

26-03-2019, 09:09 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/2SsgXv6C/C280-D4-B0-C89-D-43-C6-858-C-E28-B76-F097-A1.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/xdQtzP8N/C20770-FE-D85-E-4121-960-D-E00-CC91-A18-E0.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

26-03-2019, 09:30 AM
One side effect of the bigger crowds in the last few years must be an upturn in fortunes for the pubs in and around Easter Road. Always hoped the Cooper's Rest might reopen.

I can't see the Coopers ever opening. It's used as a builders store at the moment, all fixtures and fittings were ripped out so anybody would have to practically rebuild and the pubs on ER aren't over busy midweek these days.

26-03-2019, 10:09 AM

Try here.i got a few excellent ones from him and think he might have been the official photographer.

https://www.alanrenniephotography.co.uk/season-2015-16

Topographic Hibby
26-03-2019, 04:22 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/2SsgXv6C/C280-D4-B0-C89-D-43-C6-858-C-E28-B76-F097-A1.jpg (https://postimages.org/)Looks like plod have arrested the Sensational Alex Harvey...!!!

Gotta love the 70s.....

26-03-2019, 04:31 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/2SsgXv6C/C280-D4-B0-C89-D-43-C6-858-C-E28-B76-F097-A1.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/xdQtzP8N/C20770-FE-D85-E-4121-960-D-E00-CC91-A18-E0.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

In black and white I’m not sure if that 2nd Photo is the Hibs or Hearts end.... fellah in the middle of the shot being ‘attended to’ looks like he’s been stabbed in the erse so probably Hertz! :greengrin But the fellah in the Argyle knit being eased aside of the same incident looks vaguely familiar as a fellah called Paul who was a Hawkhill regular and might’ve came from Livingston or somewhere? Any Hawkhill veterans of the 70s / 80s know who I mean?

26-03-2019, 06:04 PM
Looks like plod have arrested the Sensational Alex Harvey...!!!

Gotta love the 70s.....

Mair like Frankie Miller

Cardinal Hibernian
26-03-2019, 06:14 PM
As others have previously stated, it is refreshing to look at those photographs from by gone days and not a replica strip to be seen amongst the support.

Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk

26-03-2019, 06:24 PM
In black and white I’m not sure if that 2nd Photo is the Hibs or Hearts end.... fellah in the middle of the shot being ‘attended to’ looks like he’s been stabbed in the erse so probably Hertz! :greengrin But the fellah in the Argyle knit being eased aside of the same incident looks vaguely familiar as a fellah called Paul who was a Hawkhill regular and might’ve came from Livingston or somewhere? Any Hawkhill veterans of the 70s / 80s know who I mean?

Barbers must have been quite in these days

Cheshire Hibby
26-03-2019, 07:27 PM
Sorry, can’t help with pointing you in the direction of the photographer. Given it was taken from the opposite end it’s unlikely to be any of the regular Hibs snappers. It’s a belting image though, and one I’d quite like a copy of myself.

Try here.i got a few excellent ones from him and think he might have been the official photographer.

https://www.alanrenniephotography.co.uk/season-2015-16

Thanks Carheenlea and Bostonhibby

I love this image for it's sheer joy of Sir David's goal and of course because I am in it. I spent hours and hours searching every sports photographer website I could find to try and get it, including Alan Rennie's site from which I have purchased a couple of other belters. This image was posted on .net some time ago, perhaps by either of you and that prompted my, as yet, unsuccessful search. I have it as a screen saver but it would be great to get a high res 12 x 10 to go along with the others. I'll keep searching.

Once again thanks for responding. It's much appreciated. CH

26-03-2019, 07:31 PM

I love this image for it's sheer joy of Sir David's goal and of course because I am in it. I spent hours and hours searching every sports photographer website I could find to try and get it, including Alan Rennie's site from which I have purchased a couple of other belters. This image was posted on .net some time ago, perhaps by either of you and that prompted my, as yet, unsuccessful search. I have it as a screen saver but it would be great to get a high res 12 x 10 to go along with the others. I'll keep searching.

GGTTH[emoji106]

26-03-2019, 08:52 PM

As a fellow Hawkhill veteran, S I can confirm the lads name is Paul. Can't recall his surname but I still see him often at away games.

27-03-2019, 06:19 AM
Great looking new Hibs T-shirt available to buy, but limited to a run of only 25. (Prints and other items available on website)

https://i.postimg.cc/qqbML0Hk/0-EE35-C96-3-E21-4170-82-AF-162-EF8856-C47.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

(Link to buy - https://footballstadiumprints.com/product/record-sleeve-easter-road-hibernian-short-sleeve-unisex-t-shirt/)

27-03-2019, 06:22 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/4xccD7HZ/37-C16-D12-78-F0-4-EC3-8394-8-A52-D90-A96-DB.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/zf1h8zTh/A5829-BBB-4487-4078-B9-A9-BCA07-B8-F99-C8.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

27-03-2019, 06:53 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/4xccD7HZ/37-C16-D12-78-F0-4-EC3-8394-8-A52-D90-A96-DB.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/zf1h8zTh/A5829-BBB-4487-4078-B9-A9-BCA07-B8-F99-C8.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

A penny for his thoughts

“You win nothing with kids!” :greengrin

27-03-2019, 02:02 PM
As a fellow Hawkhill veteran, S I can confirm the lads name is Paul. Can't recall his surname but I still see him often at away games.

Thanks Johnny
Glad he still attends. He was a Hawkhill regular.
Wonder if he’s got a story behind the photo?

04-04-2019, 03:00 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/xdXQQqvx/9-D2778-E7-FD14-4-EF8-A6-AC-F3-DD1-F682-FE9.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

malcolm
04-04-2019, 06:29 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/xdXQQqvx/9-D2778-E7-FD14-4-EF8-A6-AC-F3-DD1-F682-FE9.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Super Ally his shuffle was superb but l never saw the Des resemblance 21866

StevieT
04-04-2019, 08:50 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/cJDk7myV/4-A568427-4-C0-E-41-D6-BF47-998-C1-B48-F170.jpg (https://postimg.cc/McQYq1GD)

https://i.postimg.cc/g0bTkJyT/336-CBE3-E-686-C-437-A-A830-A472-EE0-E2-C1-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/DS5gx7Mr)
I’ve got one of the tops MM is wearing up in my loft. Must dig it out sometime

12-04-2019, 02:45 PM
21913John Blackley seems a little excited. :wink:

12-04-2019, 03:11 PM
21913John Blackley seems a little excited. :wink:

I think he’s heading to a semi

12-04-2019, 03:24 PM

It's in quite big res on that site, try this:

https://i.postimg.cc/HpvDw4NC/1019-D62-E-E66-D-4220-9-B24-3-B8-AE8698402.jpg

I think the back of my head is in it too. :greengrin

12-04-2019, 03:26 PM
Forget talk of semis.

Who is that far left?

Its my hero .......Ally Scott. :greengrin

12-04-2019, 05:14 PM
21913John Blackley seems a little excited. :wink:Total control! It's to avoid the hems of his trousers getting wet.

Cheshire Hibby
27-04-2019, 09:51 AM

Many thanks JMS

i'll do just that

29-07-2019, 12:14 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/wBggWNCq/596-A0-D32-293-B-431-D-AA62-2-A56194-AF277.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/d05P4xR6/B825-C7-AA-6-CF8-46-AB-BF1-A-79741-FD9-B47-F.jpg (https://postimg.cc/HJ8hL3h8)

29-07-2019, 12:16 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/Ls9FkpPh/38-E60994-AC43-44-FB-B792-A0-F174641-F45.jpg (https://postimg.cc/RWDY92Xz)

https://i.postimg.cc/WpCVBCBf/31-F45-B4-C-3-E58-42-CF-BB3-D-FBB1773849-E9.jpg (https://postimg.cc/V5q2MGLj)

https://i.postimg.cc/MTXk4mdS/85-BA6713-9857-43-EA-8-A5-D-DEC5-A2-EF1586.jpg (https://postimg.cc/1nxYV6kC)

The Pointer
29-07-2019, 05:38 PM

In the lower picture top right, there's a young copper who I think is my late brother. He was a Jambo and used to love the banter as it was in those days - and a scrap! Changed days.😉

Also note the absence of 5' tall WPCs.

29-07-2019, 05:45 PM
Currently the best thread on .net. love seeing these old pictures

29-07-2019, 05:50 PM

Isn't that our very own Speedway?

Tomsk
29-07-2019, 05:57 PM
Forget talk of semis.

Who is that far left?

Its my hero .......Ally Scott. :greengrin

Let's see if I can get this right. Ally Scott, Brownlie, Duncan, Blackley, Spalding, McLeod, Fyffe, MacDonald, Edwards, Higgins, Munro, Bremner, Murray, Muir and Smith.

Chorley Hibee
29-07-2019, 06:06 PM
I'm a keen photographer, and I hope you enjoy these recent shots of our fabulous home.

29-07-2019, 06:44 PM
I'm a keen photographer, and I hope you enjoy these recent shots of our fabulous home.

Thanks for sharing, fantastic

cowdenhibby
29-07-2019, 08:52 PM
The team was still full of established internationals and the youngsters like Jordan and Frank Gray were hardly plucked from obscurity. The only unknowns were the sub goalie and Ellam. Lorimer is bull****ting. Remember that night well. Hibs were awesome, just couldnae score. I was at both legs and we played them off the park in both games

dchibs
29-07-2019, 09:53 PM
Was my favourite player then. Imagine what he would be worth in today's crazy transfer market.

mine too his passing was brilliant, always remember his first game he took all the corners and free kicks and hadn't a clue who he was, what a player.

dchibs
29-07-2019, 09:56 PM
Was at the game did Hibs not claim Revie was on the pitch during penelties

Alan Gorden scored a perfectly good goal was chopped off for offside,

29-07-2019, 10:00 PM
Was at the game did Hibs not claim Revie was on the pitch during penelties

We certainly claimed Bremner left the pitch before the penalties ....

30-07-2019, 10:35 AM
Isn't that our very own Speedway?

That's not the first time that's been speculated upon. :greengrin

31-07-2019, 10:03 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/d14rTZ3t/A1-A0-ACDE-1897-4282-BB22-0697-BF033478.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/5yyv59Q5/19-AE4-E82-40-CA-4-E1-C-B070-6-A4-AA27-CB8-C8.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/GpzHMwCX/B170-DAE0-187-A-4-B8-C-8-E94-A464-F06-CFB95.jpg (https://postimg.cc/B8LS6ztF)

31-07-2019, 10:05 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/c1kfx3PF/0-E8-A7878-B59-C-4-D53-BE0-F-55-BC6-F793661.jpg (https://postimg.cc/6TR8z8WZ)

https://i.postimg.cc/635Gw6cs/C3-F0-FDD5-89-C6-4-E0-D-9-DB7-0-B2-DA4-E46626.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Z92qxSXj)

https://i.postimg.cc/RZ56hLdL/B38-EEF83-6-DB9-4-C09-BCD5-1-DB445-B7-CCAB.jpg (https://postimg.cc/hfsP3xHX)

https://i.postimg.cc/L5GqztpR/974-BA956-5-CEA-40-A5-A3-FC-04-C08-CB8-CA9-A.jpg

31-07-2019, 10:07 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/LXbhpthf/5-C118-A65-60-C3-49-D3-B469-157-A12305640.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/GtTth4sf/35784-D9-E-CF4-A-4-E85-BC0-B-1-AF5-F03372-F0.png

01-08-2019, 10:48 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/FRQzVQKG/83-E198-C7-25-B2-4-C00-81-F1-625-A5-BFC1291.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Recent turnstile queues were a cakewalk compared to this - proper queuing for a 1946 derby

02-08-2019, 09:04 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/kgQTdgnb/CCE7-DB76-01-BE-4408-9-CDE-116-C17038253.jpg (https://postimg.cc/LJsttRg9)

https://i.postimg.cc/c1kjDCH1/8-E471-CB5-3819-42-EC-9361-762-F0291-F604.jpg (https://postimg.cc/fkXBywm1)

https://i.postimg.cc/R0vXCxFb/1349-A14-A-3475-48-F0-BD70-F72-E55-F78959.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/Sx4xKgpv/512-A744-B-8-B72-40-A1-8-D04-BAEF3-FEEB57-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/6yHXjLqr)

02-08-2019, 09:11 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/fR7k76Ks/3117-CF69-0-F21-4-B70-8579-9-B0812-E174-B6.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/d0q354Hy/06-AA35-A0-6251-469-E-886-F-F93-F31-A7-AA87.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Js2RncWr)

https://i.postimg.cc/65ymvKB7/A168-C3-B5-BCC3-4-B06-BD63-7-F969-F077-B18.jpg (https://postimg.cc/N5v43W9Y)

https://i.postimg.cc/mrQqgSB8/46763-FEE-921-C-405-B-A8-AB-28-F44-C04-B918.jpg (https://postimg.cc/nshTdBsD)

02-08-2019, 09:32 AM

really is a magic picture

02-08-2019, 09:51 AM
Some fantastic new pics on here thanks guys. Great to see them All [emoji122][emoji119][emoji119]

02-08-2019, 09:57 AM
Couple of my favourites https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190802/73072dbdb3c32cd6e30689218d2595ec.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190802/a514ed6e612db188a1a526cb1529be1c.jpg

Hibs1969
02-08-2019, 02:48 PM

02-08-2019, 03:01 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/FRQzVQKG/83-E198-C7-25-B2-4-C00-81-F1-625-A5-BFC1291.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Recent turnstile queues were a cakewalk compared to this - proper queuing for a 1946 derby

I must show my dad that pic. He's always said that when he and my grandad went to games during that era that they used to have to start queuing on Easter Road itself! Part of me wondered whether that was a misty-eyed exaggeration but it's good to see him proved right!

02-08-2019, 03:07 PM
I must show my dad that pic. He's always said that when he and my grandad went to games during that era that they used to have to start queuing on Easter Road itself! Part of me wondered whether that was a misty-eyed exaggeration but it's good to see him proved right!
It’ll be like that on Saturday if they don’t get them turnstile scanners sorted :greengrin

04-08-2019, 01:11 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/tTMB485W/1-DBBDD95-0-ECC-4-AE2-B82-D-729-FAAD8-A761.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/ryHHVRn3/1-F5308-DE-8-E72-469-B-B5-CB-01281620-CADA.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/QdQYJ48Z/E39-AB024-9-D82-4849-B451-EE0-C2-F2-DE022.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

04-08-2019, 01:14 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/tRLHrcjs/FD06-C429-FC58-4-CF1-A4-B9-D46-C8-D82138-F.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/WbMx5b8y/3-CBE2-D83-1-D77-4325-8-B8-C-ABA707746-EED.jpg

05-08-2019, 09:45 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/50vkJ56C/1-B7-D9828-61-B4-444-D-8-CA5-72-E15-FD10285.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/8C70KgGw/65923-F8-D-17-AC-4747-917-C-F5-BB91-BCE985.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/8cSXzF6n/A7-FEB8-E8-989-F-430-E-9-C41-836-F2-A3-ABED9.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/YCnPzq5h/C186-DC28-F3-E5-4936-9-EC3-2-E1-D57585694.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

05-08-2019, 09:47 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/gkqjJ1fM/F3-B0-B515-AD79-4-FFA-B217-E371-FEBB642-C.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/SNpjmmt2/D0748-DC7-A3-DA-4-CE1-817-B-BEB7655-CBA65.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

07-08-2019, 02:33 PM

In relation to the photo of the model, where was the train station actually located? At the bottom of the steps behind the East?

07-08-2019, 02:41 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/gkqjJ1fM/F3-B0-B515-AD79-4-FFA-B217-E371-FEBB642-C.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/SNpjmmt2/D0748-DC7-A3-DA-4-CE1-817-B-BEB7655-CBA65.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Andy Jack, Gordon Carter, Mike McGhee and the 4th fellah escapes me. HOH business outside the Bank of Scotland at the Mound.

pollution
07-08-2019, 04:25 PM

In relation to the photo of the model, where was the train station actually located? At the bottom of the steps behind the East?

That is right.

It was used from 1950 to 1967 and was for arriving fans only: it only had one platform.

07-08-2019, 04:49 PM
That is right.

It was used from 1950 to 1967 and was for arriving fans only: it only had one platform..................................... and if we couldn't get a lift-over (ask your grandad), it was also a half-time sneak in way for us wee bairns, if we could dodge Auld Wullie with his cane that would swipe our backsides.

Happy days:greengrin

zitelli62
07-08-2019, 06:14 PM
Andy Jack, Gordon Carter, Mike McGhee and the 4th fellah escapes me. HOH business outside the Bank of Scotland at the Mound.

Jimmy livingston I think good darts player.

zitelli62
07-08-2019, 09:17 PM
Jimmy livingston I think good darts player.

Just remembered its jimmy lothian auld age catching up with me.

08-08-2019, 08:36 AM
Great looking new Hibs T-shirt available to buy, but limited to a run of only 25. (Prints and other items available on website)

https://i.postimg.cc/qqbML0Hk/0-EE35-C96-3-E21-4170-82-AF-162-EF8856-C47.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

(Link to buy - https://footballstadiumprints.com/product/record-sleeve-easter-road-hibernian-short-sleeve-unisex-t-shirt/)

I've got a belting wall poster of that exact design hanging up in Switzerland

Also a great print of a drone shot taken by a company called Rare Bird media based just off ER

Niffy
10-08-2019, 12:44 PM

No idea if this will be allowed to stay up, but this photo from the BBC website was genuinely named as it is, can only assume the guy who wrote the story was a Hibby ?

Anyone got iside info ?

06-10-2019, 01:49 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/Z58xvBXj/25358-B03-3-EA2-4436-8-C02-DA90-A0-CC9-E5-C.jpg (https://postimg.cc/FYKL2RrJ)

https://i.postimg.cc/tJ2rL1N9/77-A705-BA-B41-B-47-D5-8-C46-20660-A7-EA223.jpg (https://postimg.cc/zHHShGQQ)