View Full Version : Hibs Best Ever Goalie Performances

02-11-2017, 12:59 PM
Marciano's performance at Rugby Park got me to thinking about the best saves I've seen by a Hibs goalie.

The mind turns immediately to Logan v. Dundee Utd in the SC 2016 semi final or Budgie v. Rangers in the '91 Skol Cup semi final.

However my top 3 would be:

1. Rough vs Rangers '87

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gzpDFI2v60M

2. Leighton vs Rangers '96 (purely for the pressure he was under)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iInKs5CUPYY

But the top save was...

3. McNeil vs Falkirk '08

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/video/vod/1754

Best save I've seen from a Hibs goalie.

What would your choices be?

02-11-2017, 01:05 PM
Daniel Andersson v the Huns at Hampden.

02-11-2017, 01:05 PM
Marciano's performance at Rugby Park got me to thinking about the best saves I've seen by a Hibs goalie.

The mind turns immediately to Logan v. Dundee Utd in the SC 2016 semi final or Budgie v. Rangers in the '91 Skol Cup semi final.

1. Rough vs Rangers '87

But the top save was...

3. McNeil vs Falkirk '08

Andy Goram was sensational in a match at Tynecastle, think we lost 3-1 but without him God only knows what the final score would have been.

02-11-2017, 01:09 PM
Leighton v Rangers was the one that immediately sprung to mind for me. The follow up save from the penalty defined bravery.

That McNeill save was unbelievable. I remember one poster om here saying it was 'easy' and 'Makalambay would have taken one step and plucked it out the air'.

02-11-2017, 01:11 PM
Budgie v Huns League Cup Semi 91

Conrad...enough said

02-11-2017, 01:13 PM
There wasn't a standout save as such but Williams against The Sheep at ER in the Scottish - he was fantastic.

02-11-2017, 01:14 PM
Marciano also had a phenomenal performance against Dunfermline at home last season. Finished 2-2 after they came back from 2 down at half time but in reality, could and should have been a heavy loss but for the heroics in goal.

02-11-2017, 01:17 PM
Leighton v Rangers was the one that immediately sprung to mind for me. The follow up save from the penalty defined bravery.

That McNeill save was unbelievable. I remember one poster om here saying it was 'easy' and 'Makalambay would have taken one step and plucked it out the air'.
Where is it in the highlights?

02-11-2017, 01:19 PM
Where is it in the highlights?

At 12:00

Goram vs FC Liege '89 also deserves a mention.

02-11-2017, 01:30 PM
Goram at tynie, saved us from a hammering.

18Hibee75
02-11-2017, 01:30 PM
Conrad Logan vs Dundee United, Ben William's vs Aberdeen...

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

02-11-2017, 01:36 PM
Logan vs Dundee Utd springs to mind immediately. Had a lot of doubters, a lot of folk writing him off because of his size but he made his debut that day and became an instant hero. Some incrediable saves and of course his heroics in the shoot out.

Never known a player to have been at the club such a short time but to make such an impact.

02-11-2017, 01:38 PM

1. Rough vs Rangers '87

But the top save was...

3. McNeil vs Falkirk '08

I remember Jim Leighton saving (I think) 3 pens in a league cup penalty shootout at Firhill. Don't think they were bad pens either.

02-11-2017, 01:44 PM
I remember Jim Leighton saving (I think) 3 pens in a league cup penalty shootout at Firhill. Don't think they were bad pens either.

I was at the match. What I remember most is seeing Tony Higgins standing in the Hibs end. Strange how the mind works...

02-11-2017, 01:50 PM
I'm going for Williams Vs Aberdeen

Robinho08
02-11-2017, 01:52 PM
Conrad Logan in the semi final against Dundee Utd!

02-11-2017, 01:53 PM

Yep, that was in my thinking.

Davie Farrell got pelters from the kick off right through the match from the Hibs end.

02-11-2017, 01:56 PM
Simon brown in the ibrox 3-0 cup game.

He was often maligned, and rightly so, but that day he was immense

02-11-2017, 01:58 PM
Andy Goram was sensational in a match at Tynecastle, think we lost 3-1 but without him God only knows what the final score would have been.

Remember at Tynie when he caught his studs in the turf and fell over gifting Hear7s a goal. After that he was as you say sensational however we still lost 1-0

02-11-2017, 01:59 PM
I was at the match. What I remember most is seeing Tony Higgins standing in the Hibs end. Strange how the mind works...

Here's the clash in question:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L88RyPZ_ECs

Brutally Baltic temperatures on the terraces that night.

02-11-2017, 02:11 PM
As soon as I saw the thread title I just thought of Conrad. Without a doubt the most important goalkeeping performance in our history.

02-11-2017, 02:16 PM
Conrad.

We were never going to win the cup without some sort of heroic goalkeeping act along the way - we got that from Logan, putting in a shift that became a huge part of our Scottish Cup story.

02-11-2017, 02:17 PM

IIRC he got a standing ovation from The Jambo's, certainly was an outstanding effort (couldnae remember the scoreline).

02-11-2017, 02:27 PM
Doubt there's any video of it, but Daniel Andersson from Paul Hartley free kick in 2003/2004 derby. Tipped it on to the post, and is about the only save I can remember a Hibs keeper making that they had no right to.

Andy McNeil at home to St Mirren, probably around 2008, is the best all round keeper performance.

Green Badger
02-11-2017, 02:30 PM
IIRC he got a standing ovation from The Jambo's, certainly was an outstanding effort (couldnae remember the scoreline).

That's right. He was outstanding that day, without him it would been a hammering. I think in terms of performance this is the best I've seen.

However, in terms of significance, I would have to say Conrad.

02-11-2017, 02:33 PM
I seem to remember Jim Leighton having an absolute stormer in a game against Motherwell, including a spectacular save from a free kick at the Dunbar End.

May have been 93/94.

02-11-2017, 02:34 PM

Don't remember it being that cold that night to be honest. I do however remember stumbling down the terracing while celebrating and braking my bloody ankle 😠.

02-11-2017, 02:38 PM

Wow, youtube rocks! Mind you, looking at Thistle's first goal, Jimbo had a lot to make up for. :rolleyes:

02-11-2017, 02:40 PM
I seem to remember Jim Leighton having an absolute stormer in a game against Motherwell, including a spectacular save from a free kick at the Dunbar End.

May have been 93/94.

Speaking of Motherwell, remember Jim Leighton getting sent off at Fir Park and Pat McGinlay going in goals? He only conceded 1 in about an hour.

Jocky the Janny went so radge at the red card, he fell off his crutches. :greengrin

Away to look for it on youtube ...

Edit: Not Pat, it was Andy Millen http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/12084119.Millen_and_Scott_are_Hibs_star_stand_in_d ouble_act/

02-11-2017, 03:01 PM
Don't remember it being that cold that night to be honest. I do however remember stumbling down the terracing while celebrating and braking my bloody ankle 😠.

You were probably so numbed by the cold at that point you couldn't feel it anyone. Absolutely freezing it was.

02-11-2017, 03:07 PM

Conrad...enough saidHard to see past these two for games I've witnessed!

Budgie going through a pack of players to punch one away and knocking hateley about in the process.

Rough and Leighton played a few blinders as well.

02-11-2017, 03:15 PM
Doubt there's any video of it, but Daniel Andersson from Paul Hartley free kick in 2003/2004 derby. Tipped it on to the post, and is about the only save I can remember a Hibs keeper making that they had no right to.

Andy McNeil at home to St Mirren, probably around 2008, is the best all round keeper performance.

Was that the O'Connor last minute winner game?

Re: Lofty, was it this match?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxyrG3DzCA0

02-11-2017, 03:15 PM

That's the one I was thinking about, I don't know how many efforts Scott Crabbe had that day. Saved us from the ultimate Derby humiliation.

02-11-2017, 04:18 PM
Was that the O'Connor last minute winner game?

Re: Lofty, was it this match?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxyrG3DzCA0

Nah, was a fairly non-descript 1-1 draw I think, OG for us and penalty for them?

That's the right McNeil game though, think there was a fire behind the Main Stand that day? Could quite easily have taken a total doing if it wasn't for him, despite being game over effectively after five minutes.

Speaking of keepers, an edit on the O'Connor game now you mention it - is the full game anywhere online, as no one seems to remember what happened a minute after he scored...

02-11-2017, 04:43 PM
Andy Goram would have to be near the top of the charts for us, pulled off some brilliant saves iirc, a keeper that truly did win us points

*before he became two andy gorams after signing for the orcs

02-11-2017, 05:00 PM
I was also at that match and the thing I remember most was seeing Tommy McIntyre along side us in our car on the way home. I’m sure it was a 2-2 draw and we won on penalties.

02-11-2017, 05:52 PM
I seem to remember Chris Reid having a brilliant game at Ibrox (Leighton had been sent off the week previous at Motherwell in a 1-1 draw)

Reid saved a penalty that day but the rebound was scored resulting in a 1-0 loss

02-11-2017, 06:06 PM
Conrad Logan's performance against Dundee Utd was the ultimate goalkeeper performance.

It didn't just win us a match, it helped us to move the club forward in a way that we could have only imagined beforehand and helped us build a legacy that will last a lifetime.

If it hadn't been for Conrad's heroics that day, 21/05/16 wouldn't have been possible.

02-11-2017, 06:31 PM
Conrad Logan's performance against Dundee Utd was the ultimate goalkeeper performance.

It didn't just win us a match, it helped us to move the club forward in a way that we could have only imagined beforehand and helped us build a legacy that will last a lifetime.

If it hadn't been for Conrad's heroics that day, 21/05/16 wouldn't have been possible.

Not just the performance but also the significance of it and what it led to means Conrad's performance that day is the winner IMO.

He hadn't played for 14 months FFS. Legendary.

Allan M.
02-11-2017, 06:38 PM
That's right. He was outstanding that day, without him it would been a hammering. I think in terms of performance this is the best I've seen.

However, in terms of significance, I would have to say Conrad.

Agree with this 100%, Goram's performance that day was unbelievable and I doubt he ever played better. However Conrad's performance in the semi final will be the one that is still talked about in 100 years time.

Funny that so many others are also picking out Leighton's game at Firhill (the night he really re-ignited his career) and Budgie's in the '91 Skol Cup Semi - the way he got back on his feet to make that second save still astonishes me.

02-11-2017, 06:41 PM
Surely has to be Conrad in the semi? I'd say not just in Hibs games but one of the all time best goalkeeping displays. Stuff of fairytales for him with what he had come through. Became a legend over a little more than 2 hours.

DickieDastardly
02-11-2017, 06:51 PM
As per several other posters, Goram at Swincastle; if I remember rightly ( though it was a long time ago) he pulled of a double save within the first few minutes, we had just squeezed through the terrace entrance as he made those saves.

West lower
02-11-2017, 07:01 PM

1. Rough vs Rangers '87

But the top save was...

3. McNeil vs Falkirk '08

The game at Firhill with Leighton. A quite shocking period in our history. He was immense. To everyone else who was there that evening I doff my cap.

02-11-2017, 07:02 PM
Surely has to be Conrad in the semi? I'd say not just in Hibs games but one of the all time best goalkeeping displays. Stuff of fairytales for him with what he had come through. Became a legend over a little more than 2 hours.

In terms of quality goalkeeping I don't think I will ever see a better display than Andy Goram at Tynecastle that day.

However in terms of importance to Hibs then Conrad's goalkeeping display will take some beating, as you say it was fairytale stuff.

02-11-2017, 07:04 PM
Alan Rough in a 1-1 draw at Ibrox. Eddie May scored and there was a firework let off in the Hibs end which was on the main stand for some reason.

02-11-2017, 07:07 PM
The game at Firhill with Leighton. A quite shocking period in our history. He was immense. To everyone else who was there that evening I doff my cap.

Don't see how you reckon it was a shocking period in our history, we had won the League Cup two years earlier and went on to the final that season. Can think of much worse shocking periods in our history.

02-11-2017, 07:25 PM
Remember at Tynie when he caught his studs in the turf and fell over gifting Hear7s a goal. After that he was as you say sensational however we still lost 1-0

That was Rough that caught his studs in the turf not Goram iirc...

West lower
02-11-2017, 07:27 PM
Don't see how you reckon it was a shocking period in our history, we had won the League Cup two years earlier and went on to the final that season. Can think of much worse shocking periods in our history.

That season was brutal to watch. Watching Hibs away at that point was hard work. Saying it was good coz we won the league cup 2 years previous doesn’t make that eye bleeding football ok. I rate Alex Miller so not knocking him. The viewing was just ****.

02-11-2017, 07:28 PM
Nah, was a fairly non-descript 1-1 draw I think, OG for us and penalty for them?

That's the right McNeil game though, think there was a fire behind the Main Stand that day? Could quite easily have taken a total doing if it wasn't for him, despite being game over effectively after five minutes.

Speaking of keepers, an edit on the O'Connor game now you mention it - is the full game anywhere online, as no one seems to remember what happened a minute after he scored...
The one you're thinking of was the game when Riordan scored the screamer into Craig Gordon I'm sure

02-11-2017, 07:36 PM
That season was brutal to watch. Watching Hibs away at that point was hard work. Saying it was good coz we won the league cup 2 years previous doesn’t make that eye bleeding football ok. I rate Alex Miller so not knocking him. The viewing was just ****.

Let's be honest most of the Miller years were brutal to watch. Yup he won a cup and occasionally put out half decent teams but by and large it was perpetual mediocrity with a garbage Derby record.

As for best keeper performances...Conrad or Goram at Tynie for me.

02-11-2017, 07:37 PM

I never found it that bad to be honest. Darren Jackson, Michael O'Neill, Keith Wright and Kevin McAllister weren't that bad to watch.

Five years later I found it a lot harder to enjoy away games.

02-11-2017, 07:38 PM
The one you're thinking of was the game when Riordan scored the screamer into Craig Gordon I'm sure

Could well have been, most of the derbies during those two years were turgid rubbish on both sides - bar the odd wonder goal - and kinda merge into one.

02-11-2017, 07:56 PM
I'm going for Williams Vs Aberdeen

:agree: Has to be up there.

https://youtu.be/BX6uPTPd_m8

Most saves from 8 mins onwards.....

02-11-2017, 07:59 PM
I remember a game at Pittodrie where we won 1-0 (an Akpo Sodje goal IIRC) our keeper making a point blank save from two yards out. I think it was Mark Brown in goals. Cracking reaction save.

02-11-2017, 08:05 PM
:agree: Has to be up there.

Most saves from 8 mins onwards.....

Butcher and Marsella ruined Williams. Before they arrived he was up there with the best keepers in the league, after that not so much. A penalty shootout with Williams and Logan as the keepers could be very interesting!

I've actually got the top he wore at his press conference when he was signed, won a Hibernian TV competition. Keep it alongside my shirt from Ian Murray's testimonial signed by Viera and Pires.

02-11-2017, 08:19 PM
Butcher and Marsella ruined Williams. Before they arrived he was up there with the best keepers in the league, after that not so much. A penalty shootout with Williams and Logan as the keepers could be very interesting!

I've actually got the top he wore at his press conference when he was signed, won a Hibernian TV competition. Keep it alongside my shirt from Ian Murray's testimonial signed by Viera and Pires.

Aye Willams had some brilliant games that first season.

DickieDastardly
02-11-2017, 10:24 PM
Alan Rough in a 1-1 draw at Ibrox. Eddie May scored and there was a firework let off in the Hibs end which was on the main stand for some reason.
i remember that game, it was the week after Clydebank had emptied us out the cup; the firework got caught between the anti pidgeon netting and the roof above us and was shooting around off the metal supports.

02-11-2017, 11:00 PM
Would’ve given Conrad a 5 year contract for that performance alone. Considering the context - the gravity of the game coupled with the sceptical reaction to Logan prior to the game starting - it was just completely out of the blue and like something straight out of a movie. Incredible, unforgettable performance.

03-11-2017, 12:14 AM
Simon brown in the ibrox 3-0 cup game.

He was often maligned, and rightly so, but that day he was immense

That's the one I thought of - one shot in particular he turned over the crossbar - amazing.

I suppose it sticks in the mind for its rarity value ...

03-11-2017, 12:41 AM
Logan v United.

Who else thought we were ****ed when someone got sent off or something in the previous round resulting in a fat temp being flung in?

The beauty is that we forget about the other crap games where he did **** all (the final) or chucked goals in (the league).

That game against United was perfect from start to finish...and meant so much.

Legend and our best ever keeper as far as I'm concerned.

03-11-2017, 12:49 AM
Impossible to remember exact games somehow, but I have a vague recollection of Nick Colgan making a couple of jaw-dropping saves. One that a player caught flush on the volley that was travelling at such speed it seemed impossible it'd be saved!

Leighton had several great games too.

scm70nyd1973
03-11-2017, 01:54 AM

The away game at the opposite end from when they scored that fluke goal - the scorer
who had never scored or something like that ?

03-11-2017, 02:29 AM
I can recall a few great keeper performances, the majority have been covered on this thread already. Ben Williams gets another honourable mention for a 1-0 win at Patrick thistle.

But for all the context of our hoodoo and his personal battle, Conrad Logan's semi final heroics goes down as the Hibernian goalkeeping performance for me.

The polar bear.

03-11-2017, 05:37 AM
Without a shadow of a doubt Conrad Logan. I grew up reading Roy of the Rovers and if ever there was a real life story that could match the comic storylines then it's Conrad's. The stuff of legends.

03-11-2017, 05:48 AM
Conrad Logan in the semi final against Dundee Utd!

Conrad. Single handedly kept us in that game. Then won it for us in the shootout.

thebausburst
03-11-2017, 06:14 AM

This 100% can still remember his save from Scott Crabb, and Crabbs face, and us singing you'll never score against the Hibees to him!

03-11-2017, 06:38 AM
That was Rough that caught his studs in the turf not Goram iirc...

So it was, apart from that he was outstanding in that match.

03-11-2017, 06:44 AM

Think it was a flare, it came from the Hibs fans aimed at the Rangers section however it hit several support beams before burning a hole in the netting and falling into the Hibs support.

jax67
03-11-2017, 07:02 AM
Conrad.

We were never going to win the cup without some sort of heroic goalkeeping act along the way - we got that from Logan, putting in a shift that became a huge part of our Scottish Cup story.

Big Conrad certainly was heroic that day.
Legend status for that performance.

HibbySpurs
03-11-2017, 07:25 AM

Was the performance that immediately came to mind for me. We could have lost by a lot more that day.

jakedance
03-11-2017, 08:26 AM
It’s obviously Conrad Logan in the semi. For the importance, what the team went on to achieve, his story (and weight) and, most importantly, the quality of his saves. It’s not just the best Hibs goalkeeping performance of all time but the single greatest achievement of mankind.

03-11-2017, 11:27 AM
Was the performance that immediately came to mind for me. We could have lost by a lot more that day.

What year was that?

03-11-2017, 11:30 AM
Goram most weeks .. easily best i have seen for us BUT the standout is Sir Conrad Logan v Arabs in the SC semi. Immaculate - and MOTM by some :top marks

03-11-2017, 11:32 AM
Daniel Andersson v the Huns at Hampden.

This is first one I thought of when reading the title - but have to agree with Conrad. Iconic performance.

03-11-2017, 11:56 AM
What year was that?

End of 90/91 season. It was the last Edinburgh derby he played in.

03-11-2017, 12:17 PM

Thats quite scary, lot of water under the bridge since then.

03-11-2017, 12:33 PM

this one for me

03-11-2017, 01:24 PM

Can't find it online.

wfortune
03-11-2017, 01:27 PM
this one for meStill think he was at fault for 2 of the goals though. That said it would have been a cricket score without him.

Sent from my F3111 using Tapatalk

Tornadoes70
03-11-2017, 01:34 PM

Conrad...enough said

Have to go with these two individual performances. Budgie was superlative against the huns that wonderful night , one of my favorite ever attended games. As for Conrad his outstanding performance against dundee utd in the Scottish Cup semi final will go down in Hi bee folklore.

HibbySpurs
03-11-2017, 01:39 PM
Thats quite scary, lot of water under the bridge since then.

Aye it makes me feel auld!

03-11-2017, 01:49 PM
It's funny, & maybe just my green tinted glasses coming into play, but I genuinely can't remember a game where we got at least a point but would have been hammered if not for our keeper. I can remember dozens going the other way, stretching back to 1953 when ( hearsay only ) the Celtc reserve keeper Johnny Bonnar, singlehandedly won them the Coronation Cup. Even in the Conrad game we were DU's equals & if JC had scored the penalty we may have won comfortably. I agree though it's the performance which most fits the bill. One little curio from my youth, we beat Thirds 8-4 at ER & if Ronnie Simpson hadn't saved 2 penalties we would have had a tennis tie break result, 8-6!!

03-11-2017, 02:59 PM
Can't find it online.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=16768

03-11-2017, 03:14 PM
Budgie to Hateley 'Come anywhere near me in the box and I'll break your effing neck' or words to that effect. One obstacle removed. He was so confident that night he made several saves look easy.

Easily number one until the day Conrad lumbered out of the tunnel looking every inch the Sunday League stand in recruited at the last minute and within 30 minutes had the whole Hibs support offering him a standing ovation.

In the context of what it led to Conrad's is without parallel but boy, Budgie's show is not far behind.

Third goes to Leighton for a second leg cup tie show at Ibrox, and while beaten by a Cooper free kick, kept the Huns out for a well deserved two legged victory.

Three great memories.

Magnifique
03-11-2017, 03:36 PM

Absokutely

He was breathtaking that night

03-11-2017, 03:41 PM
Budgie to Hateley 'Come anywhere near me in the box and I'll break your effing neck' or words to that effect. One obstacle removed. He was so confident that night he made several saves look easy.

Easily number one until the day Conrad lumbered out of the tunnel looking every inch the Sunday League stand in recruited at the last minute and within 30 minutes had the whole Hibs support offering him a standing ovation.

In the context of what it led to Conrad's is without parallel but boy, Budgie's show is not far behind.

Third goes to Leighton for a second leg cup tie show at Ibrox, and while beaten by a Cooper free kick, kept the Huns out for a well deserved two legged victory.

Three great memories.

Your memory isn't so great .:greengrin Jim Leighton never kept goal for Hibs that night. Roughie did. Leighton played well in the final though!