View Full Version : Derek McInnes (tells Sevco to bolt)/Next The Rangers Manager Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3

29-10-2017, 07:17 PM
Next Hun manager. A good appointment I would think

29-10-2017, 07:17 PM
Sauce?

WWFTWTG
29-10-2017, 07:19 PM
Really? He will no doubt be giving it a bit of thought before taking on that basket case of a job.

29-10-2017, 07:22 PM

Looking at Aberdeen a fortnight ago, I reckon you are right. He's made for them.

29-10-2017, 07:26 PM
Can the Huns Afford Him ??

Even so - I reckon he would be mad to take the jobby..

29-10-2017, 07:26 PM
Don't know why anyone would take that role, impossible to catch Celtic and being 2nd to them will always be seen as a failure for the hordes.

I can see why he would want to leave though, can't take Aberdeen further league wise, although taking them further in Europe/cups is possible.

29-10-2017, 07:28 PM
He got Aberdeen finishing second in every domestic competition last year. He isn’t going to top that at Aberdeen. If the Huns can afford him he will be there. He’s a Rangers man and will be given time to get closer to Celtic. He needs about 15 years tho.

29-10-2017, 07:33 PM
He got Aberdeen finishing second in every domestic competition last year. He isn’t going to top that at Aberdeen. If the Huns can afford him he will be there. He’s a Rangers man and will be given time to get closer to Celtic. He needs about 15 years tho.

:agree: He's taken the Dons as far as he can at the moment. New pastures for him I think.

29-10-2017, 07:36 PM
:agree: He's taken the Dons as far as he can at the moment. New pastures for him I think.

I suspect this is the real reason he turned down Sunderland, he’ll have known the Huns job would be available just around the corner.

29-10-2017, 07:50 PM
Was bound to happen. Hope he fails misreably

29-10-2017, 07:52 PM
the sheep certainly wouldn't like that very much...

29-10-2017, 07:53 PM

Great post. Would read again. Thanks for your contribution.

29-10-2017, 07:53 PM
The Orcs will treble his salary at the very least. I'll give them about 18 months till it's Sevco 2 . Aberdeen will go for Tommy Wright from St Johnstone . ( who is not quoted in the betting yet )

29-10-2017, 07:56 PM
Great post. Would read again. Thanks for your contribution.

Nae bother pal, stick in

29-10-2017, 08:00 PM
He's the obvious choice: he's done a very good job on a budget at Aberdeen but probably can't take them much further. He's also a former Rangers player. The Rangers will likely want to avoid another foreign manager who has no previous experience of the British game. There's talk of Aberdeen having a £1 million release clause, then there's his salary and a transfer budget. Der Hun must get it right this time, if they're to having any hope of closing the gap on Celtic; but their expectations are far ahead of their situation, so McInnes has a huge job on his hands.

29-10-2017, 08:02 PM
The Orcs will treble his salary at the very least. I'll give them about 18 months till it's Sevco 2 . Aberdeen will go for Tommy Wright from St Johnstone . ( who is not quoted in the betting yet )

One management appointment which upsets two of our rivals. All good.

29-10-2017, 08:03 PM
Everyone & their granny determined to get him to Ibrox.

29-10-2017, 08:05 PM
One management appointment which upsets two of our rivals. All good.

I think the phrase is Excellent. Has to be said in a Montgomery Burns voice closely followed by a Smithers! Release the Hounds!

29-10-2017, 08:19 PM
He’s a Rangers man and will be given time to get closer to Celtic. He needs about 15 years tho.

and about 15 million to spend in the next window... No way is he getting that... and them huns turn quicker than a glasgow taxi.. :wink:

29-10-2017, 08:20 PM
To be honest, anybody who takes that job should have a Plan B when it goes tits up, which it almost inevitably will. McInnes might well take the job, but it'll be new territory for him. He's a manager that's developed teams with comparatively small amounts of money to the kind of dosh at Sevco's disposal (that includes Bristol City). There's also a lot of dross at that club, he'll need to move it on quick and get decent money for it too. So the January transfer window is all the more important for him, or whoever gets the gig. I've got a lot of time for McInnes, he's proven himself as a good manager, and I think he would improve them, but I just don't accept that they are anywhere near challenging Celtic, so it would be a sideways move, not a move up for him.

29-10-2017, 08:21 PM
Would Aberdeen be interested in Stubbsy?

29-10-2017, 08:23 PM
and about 15 million to spend in the next window... No way is he getting that... and them huns turn quicker than a glasgow taxi.. :wink:

Youre about 40 Million too light.

Crazyhorse
29-10-2017, 08:26 PM

True. He would get them to 2nd place for the next few years and then they would sack him for being a failure.
Unfortunately they are going to be a lot harder to beat if he goes there.

CathroMustStay
29-10-2017, 08:27 PM
McInnes is an overrated tango cretin, but would probably prove to be less of a hilarious failure at Sevco than the likes of Billy "come over here Tommy and insert your Bolshevik rod inside my wife" Davies.

29-10-2017, 08:29 PM
McInnes is an overrated tango cretin, but would probably prove to be less of a hilarious failure at Sevco than the likes of Billy "come over here Tommy and insert your Bolshevik rod inside my wife" Davies.

Whit?

https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.6ly8KqgzwPnxK6JGi8R8MgEsEd&w=221&h=198&c=7&qlt=90&o=4&dpr=1.15&pid=1.7

29-10-2017, 08:30 PM

I think they would. Especially with the type of players they have. He'd have them playing some very shexy shtuff.

Part of me wants to see how he'd get on in the top flight. Another part says that must only be with us in the future

29-10-2017, 08:31 PM

That's the scenario I would stick my pound on.

hibsdaft
29-10-2017, 08:33 PM
career suicide.

29-10-2017, 08:36 PM
Youre about 40 Million too light.

Yeah i Know - but I was thinking that 15 million they would bring back " Tore Andre Flo. "

and then they would feel all warm and fuzzy again.. :greengrin

imagine 15 million at Hibs.. :wink:

29-10-2017, 08:38 PM
Yeah i Know - but I was thinking that 15 million they would bring back " Tore Andre Flo. "

and then they would feel all warm and fuzzy again.. :greengrin

imagine 15 million at Hibs.. :wink:
Frequently.

Prof. Shaggy
29-10-2017, 08:39 PM
Whit?

https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.6ly8KqgzwPnxK6JGi8R8MgEsEd&w=221&h=198&c=7&qlt=90&o=4&dpr=1.15&pid=1.7

????

dirtydirk
29-10-2017, 08:42 PM
I think he is overrated. Aberdeen have a budget more than any club outside the old firm yet play in a total hole of a stadium and don’t have training facilities. We are years ahead of them in terms of infrastructure. When they eventually get the go ahead for their new stadium etc we will see them play on a shoestring budget for a good few years which is why I reckon he will leave now

29-10-2017, 08:48 PM
If the clubs agree a payoff his decision is the same as many players ... do I really want to turn down a huge pay increase to join a club that should have huge potential. (away to wash my hands having typed that) 🤢

29-10-2017, 08:56 PM
I think he is overrated. Aberdeen have a budget more than any club outside the old firm yet play in a total hole of a stadium and don’t have training facilities. We are years ahead of them in terms of infrastructure. When they eventually get the go ahead for their new stadium etc we will see them play on a shoestring budget for a good few years which is why I reckon he will leave now

Thats a Good Point... Quite a Lot of teams will have to go thru - What we went thru.. And it Does affect the Player Budget..

Someone Has to pay for it..

Firestarter
29-10-2017, 08:59 PM

Shut up. He's a good guy and a good manager.. you don't get many Huns like him.

29-10-2017, 09:05 PM
Can i ask?

Wtf is a Bolshevik Rod?

And should we have one?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

29-10-2017, 09:06 PM

What does Aberdeen's facilities have to do with McInnes ability as a manager?

They won't be spending considerably more than ourselves on their team.

In the game at Easter Road their players were very well organised and had an excellent understanding of each other (in sharp contrast to us). They've recruited well, but it's their teamwork that gives them the consistency - and that's down to the manager.

JimboHibs
29-10-2017, 09:09 PM

Don't you think he's over achieving then if they don't have training facilities ??
Ps they must be extremely fit if they don't train and just turn up when it's game time.

Badabing
29-10-2017, 09:18 PM
IMO opinion it doesn't matter who they appoint at the moment. They're potless and until someone invests in them they're in tatters. The big problem they have is their toxic brand that no right thinking investor will go near. The attitude of everybody hates us but we don't care will be their downfall. They're like a dinosaur stuck in a tar pit. Good riddance.

29-10-2017, 09:30 PM
McInnes has done a very good job at Aberdeen. Turned them into the second best team in the country. Fair enough he’s had a good budget but he’s used it extremely well. Wouldn’t think the Huns could afford him.

29-10-2017, 09:38 PM
Am I the only one who thinks that McInnes got lucky in that he found himself in charge of the only club around that could muster any sort of challenge to Celtic, only because of the unique situation of having Hibs, Hearts and Sevco plying their trade outwith the SPL?
He managed to put together a fairly decent but not brilliant Dons side and kept the momentum going whilst the 3 aforementioned tried to get their respective acts and squads together for promotion and consolidation back in the SPL.

29-10-2017, 09:38 PM

Domestically maybe but he's continuesly failed to do what calderwood was able to do... Qualify for europa group stages.

29-10-2017, 09:43 PM
McInnes has done well with Aberdeen and has to be wondering what else he can achieve there outwith a cup win. If he sees the right opportunity elsewhere then he'd be mad not to take it before Aberdeen start slipping back into the pack and his stock goes down.

That said, Sevco is not the right opportunity regardless of the salary or his alleged support for them. He'd be taking over a squad that is overpaid and over rated, with limited funds to actually bring in new players and little opportunity to move on the existing ones. Worse, he would have to contend with the Sevco support who may accept second place this season but will demand a title challenge next year in clear defiance of reality.

Firestarter
29-10-2017, 09:43 PM

Maybe remember the job he done with st Johnstone.

29-10-2017, 09:47 PM
Am I the only one who thinks that McInnes got lucky in that he found himself in charge of the only club around that could muster any sort of challenge to Celtic, only because of the unique situation of having Hibs, Hearts and Sevco plying their trade outwith the SPL?
He managed to put together a fairly decent but not brilliant Dons side and kept the momentum going whilst the 3 aforementioned tried to get their respective acts and squads together for promotion and consolidation back in the SPL.
The luck continues with all three back in the top flight.:wink:

29-10-2017, 09:48 PM
Can i ask?

Wtf is a Bolshevik Rod?

And should we have one?

We do have one! It was what Celtic called Petrie when they were negotiating the Scott Brown deal 😁

29-10-2017, 09:49 PM
We do have one! It was what Celtic called Petrie when they were negotiating the Scott Brown deal [emoji16]So.... has our Rod being playing away with Billy Davies' wife?

[emoji48]

29-10-2017, 09:55 PM
Aberdeen have a poor record against Celtic, last Wednesday’s capitulation being the latest example. Will he do any better with the ‘King war chest’?

29-10-2017, 10:03 PM
So.... has our Rod being playing away with Billy Davies' wife?

[emoji48]

I took it as a reference to a former socialist MSP who enjoyed trips to Manchester. May have used a sunbed [emoji55]

29-10-2017, 10:29 PM
His career can't really go anywhere else, he's tried and failed in England there's no interest there, if he gets chance to go to Sevco I expect him to take the opportunity while it's there.

29-10-2017, 10:49 PM
career suicide.

For Derek McInnes?

Sevco is an impossible job with that board.

30-10-2017, 04:34 AM
His career can't really go anywhere else, he's tried and failed in England there's no interest there, if he gets chance to go to Sevco I expect him to take the opportunity while it's there.

was he not offered the sunderland job?

30-10-2017, 06:20 AM
What would be the difference between taking Aberdeen as far as he can to second place and trying to improve The Rangers to second place?

30-10-2017, 06:27 AM
I don't agree with the whole "McInnes has taken Aberdeen as far as he can"

It makes it sound like McInnes has big limitation issues and Aberdeen will grow on from here

This is as good as Aberdeen (or any of the other 10 teams in the SPL) are gonna get under a very strong celtic team

The difference with going to the rangers (former player and fan) is that he'll have a massive wage and budget increase

The rangers are (apparently) still running at a massive loss but can still spend over a million on Dorrans and pay over rated over the hill players like Bruno Alves £30k plus a week

Sadly that's the difference

30-10-2017, 06:27 AM
Stubbs would apply for the dons job, and that is straight from the horses mouth, whether they would want him is another matter?

30-10-2017, 06:29 AM

Sunderland were interested and he got a new contract out of it, if he or his agent had any sense they would have negotiated a release fee which would make it easy for him to move from Aberdeen and get the impression that will be the case with Rangers able to speak to him and get him.

30-10-2017, 06:30 AM
What would be the difference between taking Aberdeen as far as he can to second place and trying to improve The Rangers to second place?

4 or 5 times his wages plus staying nearer his family home i think.

30-10-2017, 06:43 AM

As much as we all hate to admit it the fact is the only team with the budget to get within the same ballpark as Celtic is rangers, so Mcinnes will see it as a better chance to compete long term.

Whether he is given the time to do so is another matter.

30-10-2017, 06:45 AM

Non "football " reasons then.

30-10-2017, 07:01 AM
The rangers are (apparently) still running at a massive loss but can still spend over a million on Dorrans and pay over rated over the hill players like Bruno Alves £30k plus a week

£30K a week for that! Is that not about our weekly budget for the whole first team!

If McInnes was motivated by money only would he not have gone to Sunderland? He must see the Huns as a challenge and think he can turn it around.

30-10-2017, 07:11 AM
Talk on sportsound that compensation may be around £1m.

30-10-2017, 07:58 AM

That’s probably in an ideal world what they want, If mccinnes comes out and says he wants to talk to them that figure will come down as they can’t have a manager in place that openly doesn’t want to be there, (bag of sweeties anyone?).

They’ll end up getting about £600k split over multiple instalments.

It’s situations like this that make me think having a manager transfer window isn’t a bad idea.

30-10-2017, 08:00 AM

It won’t be anywhere near that. As soon as Mcinnes talks to Sevco he is done at the Sheep.

30-10-2017, 08:45 AM

Both I think he will think he can do better at Rangers than previous managers given he has been at Aberdeen for a while, more wages to go with higher profile job and being able to live nearer home will suit him I am assuming.

30-10-2017, 11:20 AM

Career reasons?

30-10-2017, 11:44 AM
Dont think he will do any better at rangers. Dont really care tbh. Hate rangers hate aberdeen. Love Hibs thats all that matters 😀

30-10-2017, 02:19 PM
Dont think he will do any better at rangers. Dont really care tbh. Hate rangers hate aberdeen. Love Hibs thats all that matters 😀

Dont know why you would think that, he's not going to sign the kind of huddys warburton and pedro signed, he will have a much bigger budget than he currently has.

He will make them better, i doubt he will be able to catch Celtic, but they will pull away from the rest, i'd put money on that.

Stokesy's on fire
30-10-2017, 02:25 PM

I agree with all of that he's done well in the weakest ever Scottish top flight which is nothing to get exited about.

30-10-2017, 02:30 PM
Dont know why you would think that, he's not going to sign the kind of huddys warburton and pedro signed, he will have a much bigger budget than he currently has.

He will make them better, i doubt he will be able to catch Celtic, but they will pull away from the rest, i'd put money on that.

Still on chance of them catching Celtic, the difference is he will be expected to catch them and 2nd will never be good enough for the Govan hoardes, while at Aberdeen 2nd is a successful season.

Career suicide if he goes to Rangers.

30-10-2017, 02:49 PM
Still on chance of them catching Celtic, the difference is he will be expected to catch them and 2nd will never be good enough for the Govan hoardes, while at Aberdeen 2nd is a successful season.

Career suicide if he goes to Rangers.

Agree 100% ! They're going to be going through a horrendous time as Septic near 10-in-a-row - if he does go to them, I give him 2 years tops as the knuckle-draggers get more and more combustible (admittedly in rapidly declining numbers !) each passing season !

Iceman1875
30-10-2017, 04:44 PM
Stubbs would apply for the dons job, and that is straight from the horses mouth, whether they would want him is another matter?

I could see McInnes to Sevco, Tommy Wright to the sheep and Stubbs to St J.

IlDiavola
30-10-2017, 04:57 PM
He'll go.

Why wouldn't he?

The Rangers are a far bigger club than the sheep.

Hope he makes a real mess of it though! :greengrin:greengrin

30-10-2017, 05:41 PM
I could see McInnes to Sevco, Tommy Wright to the sheep and Stubbs to St J.

The only jobs Stubbs would go for that he could reasonably have a chance of getting, is the aberdeen one and us.

He's not interested in any of the others, straight from his mouth.

Ryan69
30-10-2017, 06:02 PM
It won’t be anywhere near that. As soon as Mcinnes talks to Sevco he is done at the Sheep.

Surely the compensation is a set amount though.

Pay up his contract...or bolt.

30-10-2017, 06:05 PM
Surely the compensation is a set amount though.

Pay up his contract...or bolt.

So he stays and the club know they have a manager who doesn’t want to be there and even worse the sheep fans know they have a man who would rather be at Sevco. That sort of pressure tends to bring compensation figures down.

30-10-2017, 06:09 PM
Willie Miller states he does not want him to go although he would be right choice as knows league and has an affilation with club.

McInnes has as far as I am aware never played for this club as he retired in about 2008.

hhibs
30-10-2017, 06:23 PM
Can i ask?

Wtf is a Bolshevik Rod?

And should we have one?

And,who is Tommy ?

30-10-2017, 06:34 PM
Ian McCall just on radio suggesting Jack Ross as McInnes replacement should he move on ....

30-10-2017, 06:35 PM
Has anyone mentioned the main reason that the rangers want Mcinnes?

It de-stabilises their main threat for second place.

Same as when they or Celtic go after the best players from other Scottish teams. And then they go and complain there is not enough competition...

30-10-2017, 07:29 PM
if we were 2nd would they go for Lennon?

hibs#1
30-10-2017, 07:37 PM
And,who is Tommy ?

Sheridan.

30-10-2017, 08:04 PM

A great example of the rhetorical question, Gmack :greengrin

Prof. Shaggy
30-10-2017, 08:08 PM

The Bolshevik, Rod?

31-10-2017, 06:36 AM
So he stays and the club know they have a manager who doesn’t want to be there and even worse the sheep fans know they have a man who would rather be at Sevco. That sort of pressure tends to bring compensation figures down.

every chance mcinnes new contract may have set a relatively lower figure given the dons were keen for him to stay.

haagsehibby
31-10-2017, 06:43 AM

Got to be a possibility, knows the league, has won trophies and understands the pressures of managing the Old Firm with the added bonus of diminishing their support as the heads of 90% of them explode !

31-10-2017, 10:42 AM
Has anyone mentioned the main reason that the rangers want Mcinnes?

It de-stabilises their main threat for second place.

Same as when they or Celtic go after the best players from other Scottish teams. And then they go and complain there is not enough competition...

Don't think Sevco will be making that complaint for a while. :wink:

03-12-2017, 07:40 AM
The McInnes to The Rangers has raised its head again.

This piece doesn't go far enough but at least is recognition that the Scottish media are complicit in disgraceful bias:

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/aberdeen/fan-s-view-there-s-an-unseemly-side-to-mcinnes-saga-1-4629564

Of course, letting this roll on for over a month just shows The Rangers have zero class.

Deliberate effort to destabilise Aberdeen. We've seen it all before.

03-12-2017, 08:00 AM

This piece doesn't go far enough but at least is recognition that the Scottish media are complicit in disgraceful bias:

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/aberdeen/fan-s-view-there-s-an-unseemly-side-to-mcinnes-saga-1-4629564

Of course, letting this roll on for over a month just shows The Rangers have zero class.

You’d love the Scottish media to have some ethics over this and see it as no more than an attempt to destabilise a rival

But I won’t hold my breath

Souter96Mac
03-12-2017, 08:13 AM
Aberdeen gave obviously been affected by this, their recent form has been quite poor. Definitely think we can challenge them. Wouldn't mind a draw today, keep us in 3rd and within reach of 2nd. Aim high hibees

Tornadoes70
03-12-2017, 08:27 AM

Good read outlining the real issues of how vast sections of the Scottish media performs as either a recruiting agent or a destabilising effect on other clubs for the huns. Even if McInnes does end up there by his own choice its how it materialised if occurring which once more shows how the media are puppets on a string to be used by the huns.

03-12-2017, 08:52 AM
A 2nd Rangers win over Aberdeen in the space of a few days followed by McInnes moving there shortly afterwards could be construed as being very suspicious.

03-12-2017, 08:58 AM
Good read outlining the real issues of how vast sections of the Scottish media performs as either a recruiting agent or a destabilising effect on other clubs for the huns. Even if McInnes does end up there by his own choice its how it materialised if occurring which once more shows how the media are puppets on a string to be used by the huns.

It seems clear The Rangers want him. Yet for there own reasons they haven't made an official approach. So the Glasgow media are complicit in tapping him up instead.

Finn2015
03-12-2017, 07:58 PM
He would probably solidify them and have them more organised but what the sevco hordes want is catching up with Celtic and challenging them for honours. Is he good enough to bridge that chasm between them and Celtic? Don’t think so imo

03-12-2017, 08:11 PM
I agree with all of that he's done well in the weakest ever Scottish top flight which is nothing to get exited about.

In the games against the top teams and in European ties he's consistently fallen short. I hope he doesn't go to The Rangers but only because Aberdeen are bound to be strengthened by whoever replaces him.

Ryan69
04-12-2017, 08:01 AM
A 2nd Rangers win over Aberdeen in the space of a few days followed by McInnes moving there shortly afterwards could be construed as being very suspicious.

Completely agree.

Especially as both times they really didnt look set out to win the game.

04-12-2017, 08:03 AM

Not really, they always get pumped in the big games.

04-12-2017, 03:52 PM
What would be most enjoyable would be for Rangers to be refused permission to speak to McInnes and for Aberdeen to say to him that they’re just going along with his stated wish to remain at the club.

InchHibby
04-12-2017, 04:02 PM
Just like the old days, the west coast media unsettling the team before important games. I think we all know where Mcinness is going and I think it’s affected him also.
Many times over the years has this been done, this is one of the reasons I don’t buy any of these west coast rags and the main reason why I despise both Glasgow teams as there behind it all.

04-12-2017, 04:06 PM
He would probably solidify them and have them more organised but what the sevco hordes want is catching up with Celtic and challenging them for honours. Is he good enough to bridge that chasm between them and Celtic? Don’t think so imo

With you on that score, they (well, King) just don't have - what would be a considerable amount - the finances to compete with Septic !

04-12-2017, 04:10 PM
With you on that score, they (well, King) just don't have - what would be a considerable amount - the finances to compete with Septic !

It wouldn't matter if they appointed Mourinho or Guardiola, they don't have the money to build a side that could win the league. Whoever takes that job is on a hiding to nothing, as expectations are so far ahead of reality.

andybev1
04-12-2017, 04:13 PM
I was on the Aberdeen site last night and they are fuming at the way the media has been undermining their team with the constant links and atricles. A lot seem to be now wanting him to go, maybe because of his silence.

Thegreenside
04-12-2017, 04:15 PM
Is it the media’s fault if they are reporting the actual news that’s coming out? Mcinnes should be having a hard look at himself if anything

04-12-2017, 04:22 PM
Is it the media’s fault if they are reporting the actual news that’s coming out? Mcinnes should be having a hard look at himself if anything

Come on now. What news?

They are serving the agenda of one club here, with a month's worth of gossip in the absence of any formal approach.

The Rangers are disgraceful.

04-12-2017, 04:22 PM

This is paranoid pish. Aberdeen are bottle merchants. Have been for years.

InchHibby
04-12-2017, 05:33 PM
This is paranoid pish. Aberdeen are bottle merchants. Have been for years.

I agree, they are the nearly team, whenever questions are asked of them, they certainly do bottle it.

04-12-2017, 05:34 PM
Sheeped it

04-12-2017, 05:37 PM
If he resigns, what options do the sheep have?

04-12-2017, 05:48 PM

They’ll let him go, can’t keep a manager who doesn’t want to stay at Aberdeen. Not sure who Dons will go for as his replacement though

04-12-2017, 05:48 PM

Get on with it in their *****y crumbling stadium that has less atmosphere than the moon. Either that or stamp their feet and shout "it's not fair" till they're all tired out.

04-12-2017, 05:52 PM
They’ll let him go, can’t keep a manager who doesn’t want to stay at Aberdeen. Not sure who Dons will go for as his replacement though

Could they not hold him to his contract?

connerg
04-12-2017, 05:53 PM

Gordon Strachan

04-12-2017, 05:57 PM

That's not much of an option if the club your manager wants to move to is a direct rival. A bit of squabbling over compensation and move on as quickly as possible to minimise disruption is the only viable option open to them surely.

04-12-2017, 05:59 PM

Tommy Wright would seem a good fit as a replacement for McIness. Negative but generally effective in the run of the mill games.

04-12-2017, 06:00 PM
Come on now. What news?

They are serving the agenda of one club here, with a month's worth of gossip in the absence of any formal approach.

If you think there hasn’t been any kind of approach you’re living in cloud cuckoo land!!

04-12-2017, 06:00 PM
[/B]

Gordon Strachan

Not a chance he would move up to Aberdeen full time. I imagine he's all but retired now anyway.

Stubbs would be a decent shout for them, though I'd be sorry to see him managing one of our rivals.

Firestarter
04-12-2017, 06:06 PM
[/B]

Gordon Strachan

He will get more money working for itv.

04-12-2017, 07:24 PM
If you think there hasn’t been any kind of approach you’re living in cloud cuckoo land!!

Why do it for a month though. Deliberate tactic to destabilise the dons. They haven't even noticed were just a point off second. Seen it so many times before and guys like fatty Boyd keep peddling the myth that every manager wants to manage sevco. Bloody nonsense hence why it's taken so long to fill the vacancy and they have had dud after dud as manager.

04-12-2017, 07:28 PM
Come on now. What news?

If I hear any reporter on the BBC or the papers say it's my understanding that McInnes is the no 1target again I will stop laughing and realise it's a total agenda by the media. I'd love McInnes to turn them down then the guy they get is second or third choice.

04-12-2017, 07:38 PM
Why do it for a month though. Deliberate tactic to destabilise the dons. They haven't even noticed were just a point off second. Seen it so many times before and guys like fatty Boyd keep peddling the myth that every manager wants to manage sevco. Bloody nonsense hence why it's taken so long to fill the vacancy and they have had dud after dud as manager.

Many reasons it’s taken so long
McInnes wants to be satisfied they have the budget for him to take them forward. Anything from the AGM last week that would confirm this?
Rangers possibly don’t have the money to pay Aberdeen the comp, probably waiting on another Directors loan
McInnes didn’t want to be on the Rangers bench for the recent back to back fixtures
Aberdeen board trying to convince him to stay, to support the new stadium application
Probably many more, but Del is fast approaching the point of no return at Aberdeen. Their fans hate Rangers with a passion, and this is going on in their own backyard.
Very messy situation all round

West lower
04-12-2017, 07:43 PM

It’s quite difficult to predict nowadays. In the old days they could just phone up the guy that won on that programme one man and his dog.

04-12-2017, 07:45 PM
It’s quite difficult to predict nowadays. In the old days they could just phone up the guy that won on that programme one man and his dog.

Lol!

04-12-2017, 07:45 PM
Many reasons it’s taken so long
McInnes wants to be satisfied they have the budget for him to take them forward. Anything from the AGM last week that would confirm this?
Rangers possibly don’t have the money to pay Aberdeen the comp, probably waiting on another Directors loan
McInnes didn’t want to be on the Rangers bench for the recent back to back fixtures
Aberdeen board trying to convince him to stay, to support the new stadium application
Probably many more, but Del is fast approaching the point of no return at Aberdeen. Their fans hate Rangers with a passion, and this is going on in their own backyard.
Very messy situation all round

It is like the ‘Scot Allan’ scenario whereby a rival club is sufficiently destabilised allowing Rangers to forge ahead in respective league, though I’d like to think it won’t happen to Hibs from them for the time being. Even if McInnes does stay, it has made a dent in Aberdeen’s Euro challenge. The Dick Dastardly’s of football, doing others down with dirty work even if they can’t ultimately succeed themselves.

04-12-2017, 07:59 PM
Surely McInnes himself must see the type of organisation he'd be working for and the way that they conduct their business - this whole affair has showed them to be anything but professional !. Immoral, under-handed, cheap certainly but nothing remotely 'Professional' from an outfit that likes to pass itself of as a 'Big club' !

05-12-2017, 08:30 AM
If the speculation is such a bother then openly say you are happy at Aberdeen.

05-12-2017, 08:34 AM
McInnes could easily end all this speculation and come out and reiterate in a club statement that he will not be leaving Aberdeen for Rangers. Job Done.

The fact he has been abit coy in interviews suggests to me he is at least interested in the job. If I was an Aberdeen fan I wouldn't be too pleased at how he has handled it to be honest.

05-12-2017, 08:42 AM

They could try but it doesn’t really work like that in football. And after he decided to not to go to Sunderland in the summer I think he holds all the cards - at least he should, they were desperate for him to stay so his re-negotiated contract should reflect that. I’d be surprised if it costs £800k to get him out of it.

05-12-2017, 08:47 AM

Officially there hasn't been. That's my point.

The Rangers are leaking info to the media and the media are lapping it up.

Both them and Sevco are shameless.

05-12-2017, 09:25 AM
McInnes could easily end all this speculation and come out and reiterate in a club statement that he will not be leaving Aberdeen for Rangers. Job Done.

The fact he has been abit coy in interviews suggests to me he is at least interested in the job. If I was an Aberdeen fan I wouldn't be too pleased at how he has handled it to be honest.

McInnes and their chairman both stated publicly that he was staying. Do they need to just keep saying it?

05-12-2017, 09:27 AM
I think it's likely that the New Huns want McInnes and he wants to go but they have been scrabbling around trying to fund it. Remember their accounts said that they required more finance in November just to keep the lights on and that that money was going to come from Glib and Shameless King's trust. Having to also stump up McInnes' compo is bound to be a stretch for the non-liquid Liar.

05-12-2017, 09:42 AM
Amazes me that The Rangers want a manager that has just been outfoxed twice in a week from their Youth Development coach :greengrin

05-12-2017, 09:47 AM
Amazes me that The Rangers want a manager that has just been outfoxed twice in a week from their Youth Development coach :greengrin

If McInnes is going to Ibrox why the hell would he want Aberdeen to beat Rangers in the space of a few days.

It would only make his new role harder.

mcohibs
05-12-2017, 09:49 AM
McInnes and their chairman both stated publicly that he was staying. Do they need to just keep saying it?

When did McInnes say that he was 100% staying? His interview at the weekend said something along the lines of 'I'm committed to getting results for Aberdeen at the moment.' and 'There's been speculation but until such time as there's an offer from Rangers...' All a bit coy and nothing concrete.

Don't think I've seen or heard him categorically come out and say he'd be staying. Might have missed it though

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 09:50 AM

Mcinnes wants the job. He's a diehard hun.

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 09:51 AM
When did McInnes say that he was 100% staying? His interview at the weekend said something along the lines of 'I'm committed to getting results for Aberdeen at the moment.' and 'There's been speculation but until such time as there's an offer from Rangers...' All a bit coy and nothing concrete.

Don't think I've seen or heard him categorically come out and say he'd be staying. Might have missed it though

He won't burn his bridges with them.

All he needs to do is say there's unfinished business and he's went complete GJP.

05-12-2017, 09:58 AM
Mcinnes wants the job. He's a diehard hun.

No he’s not.

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 10:11 AM
No he’s not.

Yes he is. He was Morton captain at 18 and that's where story of him supporting them comes from.

https://books.google.co.uk/books?id=xRQjAwAAQBAJ&pg=PT239&lpg=PT239&dq=derek+mcinnes+lifelong+rangers+fan&source=bl&ots=WBUZOHVxON&sig=LmCOS7kpBIwTYU4aZtM7BQfZGuU&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwisjtfL3_LXAhVKbVAKHb8lBXcQ6AEIYTAN#v=on epage&q=derek%20mcinnes%20lifelong%20rangers%20fan&f=false

05-12-2017, 10:33 AM
Yes he is. He was Morton captain at 18 and that's where story of him supporting them comes from.

https://books.google.co.uk/books?id=xRQjAwAAQBAJ&pg=PT239&lpg=PT239&dq=derek+mcinnes+lifelong+rangers+fan&source=bl&ots=WBUZOHVxON&sig=LmCOS7kpBIwTYU4aZtM7BQfZGuU&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwisjtfL3_LXAhVKbVAKHb8lBXcQ6AEIYTAN#v=on epage&q=derek%20mcinnes%20lifelong%20rangers%20fan&f=false

St Mirren fan

05-12-2017, 10:38 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42219763

This situation is a joke.

05-12-2017, 10:43 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42219763

This situation is a joke.

And slapheid asks a very fair question: why has it taken this long to appoint him? I'm not one for conspiracy theories, so I'll go for the lack of cash to pay the compensation as the reason. But, if Rangers can't afford to buy out his contract, why not move on?

05-12-2017, 10:53 AM
And slapheid asks a very fair question: why has it taken this long to appoint him? I'm not one for conspiracy theories, so I'll go for the lack of cash to pay the compensation as the reason. But, if Rangers can't afford to buy out his contract, why not move on?

Because at the very least, they'll hope it makes McInnes force it from his and, and if not, at least they've unsettled a rival for over a month. It's what they do.

05-12-2017, 10:56 AM
Because at the very least, they'll hope it makes McInnes force it from his and, and if not, at least they've unsettled a rival for over a month. It's what they do.

If McInnes resigned, thus denying Aberdeen any compensation, surely there would be some kind of mechanism to protect the club? For example, would he be unable to work for a stated period of time?

05-12-2017, 10:58 AM
If McInnes resigned, thus denying Aberdeen any compensation, surely there would be some kind of mechanism to protect the club? For example, would he be unable to work for a stated period of time?

If he resigns and joins Rangers they're still due compensation.

05-12-2017, 10:58 AM

I don't think so. It just means an independent board would need to set the compensation amount, rather than Rangers having to meet what Aberdeen are wanting.

CyberSauzee
05-12-2017, 10:59 AM

St Mirren fan

And the Scotsman article referenced above says he's a Morton fan :confused:

Secondly, you’re always a “Rangers Man” – even if you’ve spent longer at several other clubs, captained three of them, and are believed by former neighbours of your family to support Morton anyway.

05-12-2017, 11:05 AM
St Mirren fan

The same way Chick Young is?

05-12-2017, 11:06 AM
I don't think so. It just means an independent board would need to set the compensation amount, rather than Rangers having to meet what Aberdeen are wanting.

If he resigns and joins Rangers they're still due compensation.
Cheers, and that could well mean Aberdeen receiving less than the release clause of his contract, which would be very handy for a skint Rangers:rolleyes:

05-12-2017, 11:06 AM
St Mirren fan

Season Ticket holder there.

Sits next to Chick.

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 11:48 AM
And the Scotsman article referenced above says he's a Morton fan :confused:

That's the fans view.

05-12-2017, 11:57 AM

You would assume there would be a clause or two outlining exactly what would occur if this happened in his current Aberdeen contract. He would likely be due Aberdeen a significant amount of money probably on a par or more than any release clause would indicate.

05-12-2017, 12:00 PM
The same way Chick Young is?

Most people in the West outwith Glasgow have their wee team (local club e.g. St Mirren) and their big team (one of the bigot brothers). Hence the reason why Chick sounds so enthusiastic about both St Mirren and The Rangers.

05-12-2017, 12:44 PM
Most people in the West outwith Glasgow have their wee team (local club e.g. St Mirren) and their big team (one of the bigot brothers). Hence the reason why Chick sounds so enthusiastic about both St Mirren and The Rangers.

Mmmmm well thats a theory I suppose:wink:

05-12-2017, 02:22 PM
If McInnes is going to Ibrox why the hell would he want Aberdeen to beat Rangers in the space of a few days.

It would only make his new role harder.

Seriously! He is a professional. Are you saying he deliberately 'threw' the 2 games against The Rangers :greengrin

05-12-2017, 02:23 PM
Seriously! He is a professional. Are you saying he deliberately 'threw' the 2 games against The Rangers :greengrin

I don't believe that either. It's Rangers who are at it, if any party is, not McInnes.

high bee
05-12-2017, 02:39 PM
I’ve got an interview for a new job after Christmas and we’re due a new boss in January in my current job; it has affected my concentration this last week.

They know what they’re doing in the media, they’re well versed and it worked a treat against us with SA and it’s worked a treat again. Im not buying this Aberdeen always bottle it, that may be true but they were awful over 2 games and struggled at home vs 10 men.

05-12-2017, 03:14 PM

Exactly - now that they can no longer cheat via EBT's they're now using a different way to cheat !. And it is cheating, any other club who can't afford a particular player/manager just has to do without - the Hun turn to the media - once again making a mockery of the 'competition' the SPL is theoretically meant to be !

05-12-2017, 05:44 PM

They really don't.

05-12-2017, 05:52 PM
They really don't.

Quite a few of them do.

I have quite a lot of mates from Greenock. They support Morton and Rangers/ Celtic, and will often drift back and forward in terms of where their emphasis lies.

Quite a few them absolutely hate Rangers and Celtic though.

05-12-2017, 05:56 PM
Has Wiggy got the balls to tell Rangers that they do not have AFC's permission to talk to their manager and then hold McInnes to his contract? About somebody outside the Ugly Sisters took a stand and held a manager to his contract.

05-12-2017, 06:00 PM
Exactly - now that they can no longer cheat via EBT's they're now using a different way to cheat !. And it is cheating, any other club who can't afford a particular player/manager just has to do without - the Hun turn to the media - once again making a mockery of the 'competition' the SPL is theoretically meant to be !

Indeed their friends in the media help but they have never used EBTs as far as I know as they have only been going 5 years.

05-12-2017, 06:01 PM
I’ve got an interview for a new job after Christmas and we’re due a new boss in January in my current job; it has affected my concentration this last week.

They know what they’re doing in the media, they’re well versed and it worked a treat against us with SA and it’s worked a treat again. Im not buying this Aberdeen always bottle it, that may be true but they were awful over 2 games and struggled at home vs 10 men.

Did it? It gave them the edge in a Petrofac cup match but Allan moved to their bitter rivals and we signed 2 of the guys who played significant roles in beating the huns in the cup final as part of the deal.

Did Sevco's approach to Scott Allan really benefit them in the long run? I'd say they would have won the championship regardless so actually no it backfired on them given McGeouch and Henderson's contributions on 21st May that season.

05-12-2017, 06:28 PM
Did it? It gave them the edge in a Petrofac cup match but Allan moved to their bitter rivals and we signed 2 of the guys who played significant roles in beating the huns in the cup final as part of the deal.

Did Sevco's approach to Scott Allan really benefit them in the long run? I'd say they would have won the championship regardless so actually no it backfired on them given McGeouch and Henderson's contributions on 21st May that season.
Did they not end up winning the Petrofac that season though? Huge achievement for the young club.

05-12-2017, 06:33 PM
Aberdeen have refused to give McInnes permission to talk to the Huns. Probably due to the compo they are offering, which will likely be 800k paid up in 1k a month instalments.

05-12-2017, 06:33 PM
Aberdeen statement

https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/12/05/club-statement-18/

05-12-2017, 06:35 PM
Aberdeen statement

https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/12/05/club-statement-18/

I’ll be shocked if Milne doesn’t capitulate eventually. Him and Petrie head up the ‘move on ‘ campaign.

05-12-2017, 06:37 PM
Next step:
a) McInnes resigns
b) Rangers say to fans "Well, we tried"
c) Who really cares?
d) Dons hold out for big compo.

05-12-2017, 06:42 PM
Next step:
a) McInnes resigns
c) Who really cares?

Puts Aberdeen in a tricky position too. Playing at Dundee away on Friday night. Wonder if Del will be welcomed in the dug out

05-12-2017, 06:42 PM
Next step:
a) McInnes resigns
c) Who really cares?

McInnes Resigns? Nah under contract and Milne has right to hold him to it even if he goes on gardening leave.

Murty gets job

The end

05-12-2017, 06:44 PM
I really hope Aberdeen stand firm as this will be a lovely boot in the haws for Sevco. Another reminder that they are nothing special.

05-12-2017, 06:45 PM
He’ll be going then - just a matter of time now. They wouldn’t have asked for permission if they hadn’t already spoken to him.

Tornadoes70
05-12-2017, 06:48 PM
Aberdeen have refused to give McInnes permission to talk to the Huns. Probably due to the compo they are offering, which will likely be 800k paid up in 1k a month instalments.

Aberdeen have been put between a rock and a hard place here. They don't want an unhappy manager who may want to talk to the huns while they refuse to allow him to speak to them on the other hand their fans may decide to chuck it if they do. This has been well choreographed between the huns and their friends in the media with the huns remaining silent on the issue while the media especially the Kenny McIntyre midweek sportsound continuously talked of little else than McInnes was a certainty to leave Aberdeen for the huns while knowing there had been no approach and with two key games coming up between the pair. Its been a shameful episode once again in Scottish football involving the huns and their cheerleaders in the media up here. I feel very sorry for Aberdeen and their fans who have been used in such a despicable manner.

05-12-2017, 06:48 PM
I really hope Aberdeen stand firm as this will be a lovely boot in the haws for Sevco. Another reminder that they are nothing special.

They will, until they get a replacement lined up
Think their fans want rid of him now. Remember the hatred they have for Rangers

05-12-2017, 06:56 PM
It would be beautiful if in some way this backfired on Sevco.

I really hate them and their playground bully antics, with their nonsense in the media.

I just hope that somehow it blows up their face, just like it did with Scott Allan.

Not sure how that happens here though.

05-12-2017, 06:57 PM
Sevco at it as usual; they obviously haven't met the compensation fee Aberdeen & McInnes agreed so should be told to bolt.
McInnes should also be asking why Sevco haven't offered the agreed fee.
I really, really detest Sevco & all they spawn.

05-12-2017, 06:58 PM
Sevco at it as usual; they obviously haven't met the compensation fee Aberdeen & McInnes agreed so should be told to bolt.
McInnes should also be asking why Sevco haven't offered the agreed fee.
I really, really detest Sevco & all they spawn.

Why would Mcinnes ask that? He has been playing Aberdeen all along. He could have killed this weeks ago, he chose not to.

05-12-2017, 07:03 PM
It would be beautiful if in some way this backfired on Sevco.

I really hate them and their playground bully antics, with their nonsense in the media.

I just hope that somehow it blows up their face, just like it did with Scott Allan.

Not sure how that happens here though.
When McLeish was going from us to Ipox I asked Rod if we had him under contract. Yes was the reply but management contracts are different.

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 07:10 PM
Very predictable he will resign tomorrow.

05-12-2017, 07:10 PM
Why would Mcinnes ask that? He has been playing Aberdeen all along. He could have killed this weeks ago, he chose not to.

Yep. McInnes is fully aware of what's going on , his position is now untenable and he knows it.

05-12-2017, 07:13 PM
Very predictable he will resign tomorrow.

Surely he can't just resign without any compo being due to Aberdeen? One things for certain if he does go his return to Pittodrie with Sevco will be fiery.

05-12-2017, 07:14 PM
"Never ex-plain or com-plain" the old proverb says.
Is McInnes staying stoosh simply because he's under no obligation to say anything? He might even squeeze a wee incentive-to-stay bonus out of Aberdeen.
He could, of course, have killed this story dead on day one and said he wasn't interested. The fact that he hasn't speaks volumes. It's The Rangers way, divide & conquer. I'm sure eveybody concurs. :wink:

05-12-2017, 07:16 PM
"Never ex-plain or com-plain" the old proverb says.
Is McInnes staying stoosh simply because he's under no obligation to say anything? He might even squeeze a wee incentive-to-stay bonus out of Aberdeen.
He could, of course, have killed this story dead on day one and said he wasn't interested. The fact that he hasn't speaks volumes. It's The Rangers way, divide & conquer. I'm sure eveybody concurs. :wink:

He said 2 weeks ago he was staying at Aberdeen

05-12-2017, 07:16 PM
Surely he can't just resign without any compo being due to Aberdeen? One things for certain if he does go his return to Pittodrie with Sevco will be fiery.

He can resign, but can’t take over at Rangers

05-12-2017, 07:20 PM
I am torn between The Rangers falling flat on its face and not getting McInnes versus weakening the sheep and a GIRUY to Richard Gordon and Willie Miller and the BBC Scotland love in for the dons. The oh so successful Dons who have won one trophy in almost 30 years and in penalties against ICT.

Regardless McInnes doesn’t win high profile games.

05-12-2017, 07:25 PM
So what exactly has anyone done wrong here?

Rangers asked for permission for talks, exactly as they should do.

Aberdeen have refused, probably down to money, as is their want.

McInnes has repeatedly said he’s happy at Aberdeen and everything else up until today was speculation. Nothing wrong with any of that.

The media reported for weeks that he was Rangers top target all along. They were right.

Next step will be for Rangers and Aberdeen to agree a figure then it’s job done assuming McInnes wants to go.

I really can’t see why this is any different to any other time a club have wanted a manager who was in a job?

05-12-2017, 07:35 PM

McInnes has repeatedly said he’s happy at Aberdeen and everything else up until today was speculation. Nothing wrong with any of that.

The media reported for weeks that he was Rangers top target all along. They were right.

Next step will be for Rangers and Aberdeen to agree a figure then it’s job done assuming McInnes wants to go.

I really can’t see why this is any different to any other time a club have wanted a manager who was in a job?

The fact rangers refused to move for 6 weeks until after the double header with Aberdeen, and fed the media a load of snippets to unsettle Aberdeen and now find themselves level on points and make their move now. If he was their top target why wait 6 weeks?

Tornadoes70
05-12-2017, 07:35 PM

Are you certain you've not wandered into the wrong supporters forum? :greengrin

Sounds like a hun talking the way you've glibly glossed over how the media incessantly talked of McInnes being a certainty for the job in the weeks leading up to two key games between the pair while the huns sat on their hands letting it reach fever pitch knowing it would be unsettling to Aberdeen prior to the crunch games. It worked a treat as Aberdeen played very poorly in them then the week after put in a formal approach to speak with McInnes. If you think that's all hunky dory crack on. I think its despicable gamesmanship by the huns.

05-12-2017, 07:36 PM

That might just have been a bit of a "gottle o' gear" job by Milne. :cb :greengrin

ehf
05-12-2017, 07:39 PM

Sounds like a hun talking the way you've glibly glossed over how the media incessantly talked of McInnes being a certainty for the job in the weeks leading up to two key games between the pair while the huns sat on their hands letting it reach fever pitch knowing it would be unsettling to Aberdeen prior to the crunch games. It worked a treat as Aberdeen played very poorly in them then the week after put in a formal approach to speak with McInnes. If you think that's all hunky dory crack on. I think its despicable gamesmanship by the huns.

:agree: the Huns have basically stolen 6 points from the Dons and are now going to steal their manager.

Are you suggesting McInnes has been in the dark about all this. He’ll know exactly what’s been going on all along. He’s probably been calling the shots via his agent, re how much control he’ll have over signings, and how much he’ll have to spend
Poor Aberdeen have ripped apart from this. If this was happening at Hibs, we’d all been going crazy on here

There’s no way back for McInnes at Aberdeen

Damn, I thought I was on Follow Follow. Busted.

Ardenttwo
05-12-2017, 07:43 PM

He is either a very good liar or a good actor. This last 3 weekd on North Tonight (Grampian TV) he has been adamant that he is staying at Aberdeen

05-12-2017, 07:43 PM

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

05-12-2017, 07:44 PM
:agree: the Huns have basically stolen 6 points from the Dons and are now going to steal their manager.

:bitchy: No, not stolen - they were officially gifts from the officials.

05-12-2017, 07:45 PM
Seems to me that the Huns have suddenly decided that they can spend a whole lot of money they don’t have once again. This as a result of passing “resolution 11”at their AGM. I suspect they plan to have a shares issue almost immediately and expect to raise a shed load of money. Not sure where they stand with this however, given the current court ruling awaited for the GASL.
If they have called it right then maybe they can finally afford McInness. On the other hand...............could turn out to be a huge mistake by him

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 07:46 PM

He will resign, they will still have to pay compo is my understanding. I did post he wouldn't be huns manager this week and this is not unexpected. Sheep say no, look like they have done all they can to keep him Mcinnes will resign as he's agreed to become the manager and that's that.

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 07:47 PM
I am torn between The Rangers falling flat on its face and not getting McInnes versus weakening the sheep and a GIRUY to Richard Gordon and Willie Miller and the BBC Scotland love in for the dons. The oh so successful Dons who have won one trophy in almost 30 years and in penalties against ICT.

Regardless McInnes doesn’t win high profile games.

Willie Miller is a hun.

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 07:48 PM
He can resign, but can’t take over at Rangers

He willl resign, take over at rangers and rangers will be due Aberdeen the remainder of his contract or clause and mcinnes will forfeit any signing (loyalty) on fee that the sheep would be due him.

05-12-2017, 07:51 PM
He willl resign, take over at rangers and rangers will be due Aberdeen the remainder of his contract or clause and mcinnes will forfeit any signing (loyalty) on fee that the sheep would be due him.

Should have added, until his comp is agreed
His 1st game could be at ER next week

05-12-2017, 07:56 PM

Could Aberdeen not refuse his resignation and force him to see out his contract?

Although that probably doesn’t help them as it’s pretty unsettling for Aberdeen. If the manager wants to go to Rangers then where’s his commitment to Aberdeen.

Looks certain to move now, Aberdeen will just be trying to get as much as they can out of Rangers.

05-12-2017, 07:56 PM
Are you suggesting McInnes has been in the dark about all this. He’ll know exactly what’s been going on all along. He’s probably been calling the shots via his agent, re how much control he’ll have over signings, and how much he’ll have to spend
Poor Aberdeen have ripped apart from this. If this was happening at Hibs, we’d all been going crazy on here

There’s no way back for McInnes at Aberdeen

I’d assume that McInnes knew what was going on, everyone in Scotland did!

I don’t buy the media angle one bit though. People seem to give them way too much credit when it comes to their influence in the game. I don’t believe for one second that McInnes knew nothing at all until he picked up the Record or listened to Sportsound. You said it yourself, his agent would be acting for him.

Are you influenced by the Record or the Sun? Do they change your view of issues in the world? I doubt it. I’m happy to extend a similar courtesy to McInnes, I’m sure he has a mind of his own.

As for Rangers biding their time, I’ve no idea why they did so, nobody does. In fairness, it’s totally up to them and no one else’s business anyway.

Was it a cunning plan to wait for 40 days and 40 nights before making their move in the hope that they would beat Aberdeen twice in a week? It’s a stretch of the imagination but I guess it’s possible.

Maybe they were trying to scrape some cash together, everyone’s been telling us their skint so it’s also a possibility.

Or maybe they were actually taking their time and trying to ensure they get the right man? Ok, that’s maybe stretching it too far!!

Just putting some different thoughts out there instead of us having an echo chamber of big bad Rangers and the evil media.

Swap Rangers for Motherwell, would anyone give a damn??

madhibee_again
05-12-2017, 07:58 PM
Rumour at the weekend up north was McInnes to Rangers, Strachan to Aberdeen. Not sure how the Aberdeen fans would take that?

05-12-2017, 07:58 PM
It's being reported that Sheep want Sevco to pay £800k up front before they can speak to DM. Sevco are obviously unwilling,or more likely unable to do this, hence the Don's refusal to grant permission. They know the price of a penny in Aberdeen & I'm not sure this is over yet.

05-12-2017, 08:02 PM
Hopefully a long drawn out saga that unsettled both clubs.

high bee
05-12-2017, 08:03 PM

I think we ended up stronger but their plan worked a treat, they wanted us to lose SA and unsettled him until he left. The Petrofac cup result was spurious due to our lack of available players. They did divide the support though, sneaky underhand tactics and even if they weren’t 100% effective, SA left and they won the league so they got what they wanted.

05-12-2017, 08:06 PM
Willie Miller is a hun.

Don't be daft. My recollection is that Rangers wanted to sign him when he was a player and he knocked them back saying something like he hadn't been fighting them all his career only to end up joining them. Or maybe I dreamt that?

05-12-2017, 08:29 PM
It's being reported that Sheep want Sevco to pay £800k up front before they can speak to DM. Sevco are obviously unwilling,or more likely unable to do this, hence the Don's refusal to grant permission. They know the price of a penny in Aberdeen & I'm not sure this is over yet.

That was mentioned on the bbc Sportsound earlier.. Apparently its Refunded if they Dont sign him.. :greengrin hhmmm

05-12-2017, 08:33 PM
I think we ended up stronger but their plan worked a treat, they wanted us to lose SA and unsettled him until he left. The Petrofac cup result was spurious due to our lack of available players. They did divide the support though, sneaky underhand tactics and even if they weren’t 100% effective, SA left and they won the league so they got what they wanted.

I disagree. They wanted to sign him. They failed and we ended up stronger as a result. I agree they unsettled us but that wasn't their main and certainly not their sole intention.

05-12-2017, 08:33 PM

I heard that. Well done Dons if that is the case. I am not sure they have the means to find half of that figure up front at the moment. Like others have said another 2 weeks of unsettling and war of words will do for me and we hopefully take advantage against them on Wednesday and week Saturday.

05-12-2017, 08:35 PM

If it was that easy to get out of a contract they would be worthless. He can't take over at Sevco without agreement from Aberdeen.

OxoHibby
05-12-2017, 08:50 PM

Its not that it's gamesmanship by the huns its the gamesmanship by the lap dog media including the BBC who are meant to report news not speculation from greys kill. Living in England you don't see anything like the bias the BBC in Scotland display to the uglies

05-12-2017, 08:50 PM
It seems clear he wants to go, when you read between the lines, and there's little point in trying to keep a manager who doesn't want to be there. Sleekit moves by Hunco once again; Aberdeen just need to ensure they get the best possible compensation.

05-12-2017, 08:55 PM

Tongue in cheek Coco but he would have felt a bit daft if he had won both games for Aberdeen before moving and Aberdeen finished one point above them s****** s******.

05-12-2017, 10:12 PM

I don’t buy the media angle one bit though. People seem to give them way too much credit when it comes to their influence in the game. I don’t believe for one second that McInnes knew nothing at all until he picked up the Record or listened to Sportsound. You said it yourself, his agent would be acting for him.

Are you influenced by the Record or the Sun? Do they change your view of issues in the world? I doubt it. I’m happy to extend a similar courtesy to McInnes, I’m sure he has a mind of his own.

As for Rangers biding their time, I’ve no idea why they did so, nobody does. In fairness, it’s totally up to them and no one else’s business anyway.

Was it a cunning plan to wait for 40 days and 40 nights before making their move in the hope that they would beat Aberdeen twice in a week? It’s a stretch of the imagination but I guess it’s possible.

Maybe they were trying to scrape some cash together, everyone’s been telling us their skint so it’s also a possibility.

Or maybe they were actually taking their time and trying to ensure they get the right man? Ok, that’s maybe stretching it too far!!

Just putting some different thoughts out there instead of us having an echo chamber of big bad Rangers and the evil media.

If The Rangers were genuinely taking their time to identify the right candidate, they would do that and then make an approach.

Instead they've been tapping up McInnes for a month without talking to his club.

**** behaviour.

05-12-2017, 10:21 PM

They dropped McInnes's name to their media-chums at the outset then just sat back and watched as the situation deteriorated. They knew the Dons hate them, same as they knew that if McInnes didn't come right out and say 'NO' straight away, his relationship with their fans would just get worse - as it has. Basically it's been 'Light the touch-paper then retire a safe distance' - I honestly believe their aim is/was to basically p***-off all concerned so that Aberdeen just let him go for nothing just to get rid of him - sounds outlandish but remember it IS the Hun we're talking about, a club who personify 'Arrogance' !

Firestarter
05-12-2017, 10:35 PM
As much as I hate the Huns this is a calculated 2 way motivated move by both Mcinnes and Rangers. Boy is working his ticket and a resignation has been offered this evening I believe. He's a hun, like GJP true colours always show eventually. He's been sounded out for this job since the summer.

05-12-2017, 10:39 PM

Sounds like a hun talking the way you've glibly glossed over how the media incessantly talked of McInnes being a certainty for the job in the weeks leading up to two key games between the pair while the huns sat on their hands letting it reach fever pitch knowing it would be unsettling to Aberdeen prior to the crunch games. It worked a treat as Aberdeen played very poorly in them then the week after put in a formal approach to speak with McInnes. If you think that's all hunky dory crack on. I think its despicable gamesmanship by the huns.I for one totally agree with your comments, and would like to add, nothing ever changes between the cosy relationship the scots press has with the THE huns.

05-12-2017, 10:44 PM
If The Rangers were genuinely taking their time to identify the right candidate, they would do that and then make an approach.

Instead they've been tapping up McInnes for a month without talking to his club.

**** behaviour.I think it's more of a glib manoeuvre by a club that has no clams of doing what they have done for more than I can remember and reeks of their new Sevco position follow following their auld club thesis. we do what we want

05-12-2017, 10:50 PM
Never thought for a minute he won't end up there. We shall see...

ehf
05-12-2017, 11:00 PM
I think it's more of a glib manoeuvre by a club that has no clams of doing what they have done for more than I can remember and reeks of their new Sevco position follow following their auld club thesis. we do what we want

:agree: shellfish barstewards.

06-12-2017, 10:33 AM

The New Huns tactic (see Scott Allan, Jamie Walker) is make stupidly low offers and get them in to the public domain. At the same time feed the press with stories about how the target is desperate to be at Sevco. Thus the transfer target and their club find themselves in a situation where hanging onto the target becomes politically difficult and the New Huns hope they can use that to force the deal through on the cheap.

If they were prepared to pay the going rate for players/managers then it would just be an uncomfortable commercial fact of life but that's not how they roll.

06-12-2017, 10:36 AM
:agree: shellfish barstewards.

Is this where we mussel in with crap puns? :greengrin

06-12-2017, 11:06 AM
The New Huns tactic (see Scott Allan, Jamie Walker) is make stupidly low offers and get them in to the public domain. At the same time feed the press with stories about how the target is desperate to be at Sevco. Thus the transfer target and their club find themselves in a situation where hanging onto the target becomes politically difficult and the New Huns hope they can use that to force the deal through on the cheap.
If they were prepared to pay the going rate for players/managers then it would just be an uncomfortable commercial fact of life but that's not how they roll.

It was our club’s handling of the Scott Allan attempted smash and grab that gave me a renewed confidence and love of our club and the way it is run. More clubs need to stand their ground.

06-12-2017, 11:10 AM
Could see Aberdeen going for Jack Ross. I think he'll be a top manager one day.

06-12-2017, 11:22 AM
BBC Scotland understands McInnes is keen to listen to the offer from Ibrox.

oh i'm sure he is, but you already know what the offer is you bare-faced lying little hun pwick

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 11:23 AM

This isn't a new tactic. See Scott Brown and Thomo years back.

Thegreenside
06-12-2017, 11:27 AM
Being reported on twitter he is not taking training this morning

06-12-2017, 11:30 AM
Could see Aberdeen going for Jack Ross. I think he'll be a top manager one day.

Agree, but I would rather he stayed at St Mirren (at least until the end of the season) and finished the work he's started there, as they are in with a great chance of promotion.

06-12-2017, 11:31 AM
Being reported on twitter he is not taking training this morning
Meeting with milne according to the press.

Makalambay
06-12-2017, 11:36 AM

New club though...

06-12-2017, 11:42 AM
The Aberdeen fans are going to hate the Hun even more now. If that is possible.

06-12-2017, 11:43 AM
Is this where we mussel in with crap puns? :greengrin
Carp puns surely?

06-12-2017, 11:46 AM
It didn’t take the press to tell us Rangers were interested though. Fans of all clubs have speculated that he’d be the next Rangers manager for about 3 years!!!

06-12-2017, 11:57 AM

We got top $ for those 2.

06-12-2017, 11:59 AM
If/when McInnes takes over at the Bigot Bowl, you wouldn't want to be in his shoes when he returns to Pittordrie with Rangers.

06-12-2017, 12:02 PM
MacKenzie Archibald‏ @Superbia5088 10m10 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/Superbia5088/status/938390387781177344)

Breaking News: Barnet FC confirm they have given Aberdeen permission to speak to Mark McGhee regarding their management role.

3 replies 48 retweets 46 likes

Fisherrow Harp
06-12-2017, 12:07 PM
Carp puns surely?

Yup not the time nor the plaice!

06-12-2017, 12:07 PM
MacKenzie Archibald‏ @Superbia5088 10m10 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/Superbia5088/status/938390387781177344)

Breaking News: Barnet FC confirm they have given Aberdeen permission to speak to Mark McGhee regarding their management role.

“Freelance Journalist” aye, sure. Pinch of salt.

06-12-2017, 12:12 PM

No way in a million years

06-12-2017, 12:16 PM
Two things...

1) If he took off his blue tinted goggles he would see this is a basket case of a club who haven't learned any lessons and are on the financial presipice, this will damage his career.

2) Why is Fat Ally the latest BBC go to man for comments on the Rangers, he is hardly impartial! I notice he is also been employed by the BBC elsewhere to say that Lukaku is not a natural goalscorer...

06-12-2017, 12:21 PM
Being reported The Rangers have agreed to a million quid release fee. If true, it's only a matter of time.

06-12-2017, 12:22 PM
Being reported The Rangers have agreed to a million quid release fee. If true, it's only a matter of time.

They don't have £1m, they don't have £1! Aberdeen better ask for it all up front :agree:

06-12-2017, 12:29 PM
They don't have £1m, they don't have £1! Aberdeen better ask for it all up front :agree:

Perhaps dodgy Dave, the tax avoider, has 'suddenly' remembered a wee stash somewhere.

Edit- Tax evader :agree:

06-12-2017, 12:48 PM

If I employed McGhee I'd give other clubs permission to speak to him too.

06-12-2017, 12:50 PM
See Pedro has got a job back in Mexico. Probably means Rangers don’t have to pay him now, if his contract is similar to other Managers contracts, where they continue to get paid, until they get another job

Thegreenside
06-12-2017, 12:52 PM
Side step. Still at a club miles away from Celtic with the off chance of winning a cup but will have 50x the delusional expectation

06-12-2017, 12:53 PM
See Pedro has got a job back in Mexico. Probably means Rangers don’t have to pay him now, if his contract is similar to other Managers contracts, where they continue to get paid, until they get another job
I've often wondered if that is actually true Billy or if it's just one of those urban myths?

06-12-2017, 12:57 PM
I've often wondered if that is actually true Billy or if it's just one of those urban myths?

It is true in some cases, not all managers have this in their contract but yeah it does happen.

06-12-2017, 12:57 PM
No way in a million years

Maybe assistant to Strachan?? Not sure why they would publicise that unless they are desperate to get rid.

06-12-2017, 01:00 PM
It is true in some cases, not all managers have this in their contract but yeah it does happen.
No agent in his right mind (or any good at his job) would allow that clause in the contract.

06-12-2017, 01:03 PM
No agent in his right mind (or any good at his job) would allow that clause in the contract.

But if they are still under contract, can they work for someone else?
Thought most Managers had one year rolling contracts, that can work for both parties

06-12-2017, 01:11 PM

More common than you think believe me.