View Full Version : Derek McInnes (tells Sevco to bolt)/Next The Rangers Manager Thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3

06-12-2017, 01:12 PM
MacKenzie Archibald‏ @Superbia5088 10m10 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/Superbia5088/status/938390387781177344)

Breaking News: Barnet FC confirm they have given Aberdeen permission to speak to Mark McGhee regarding their management role.

3 replies 48 retweets 46 likes

It's a joke account. Look at the other tweets.

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 01:12 PM
New club though...

Indeed.

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 01:14 PM
We got top $ for those 2.

Whilst I would agree it wasn't down to the Huns unsettling both through the media and it made Brown hand in a transfer request.

06-12-2017, 01:22 PM
I take it this now knocks my Terry Butcher wish into the long grass!

06-12-2017, 01:45 PM
Whilst I would agree it wasn't down to the Huns unsettling both through the media and it made Brown hand in a transfer request.

The media unsettling there was more down to Willie McKay than any potential buying club. There was as much about them going to Celtc and istr even a heartbreaking refusal by Hibs to take an offer from Charlton! The Old Huns may have been a despicable bunch in general but part of Murray's modus was paying big fees (of it turned out, other people's money) to big himself up.

06-12-2017, 01:59 PM
Is this where we mussel in with crap puns? :greengrin

Carp puns surely?

To remain on the shellfish theme I'd have gone with crab puns.

06-12-2017, 02:19 PM
Carp puns surely?

You are just fishing for a response...

06-12-2017, 02:25 PM
Perhaps dodgy Dave, the tax avoider, has 'suddenly' remembered a wee stash somewhere.

Edit- Tax evader :agree:

Was just thinking that - I'd imagine the courts/takeover-panel are keeping a close eye on these events ??. Either way, if it all comes off for them it's just more unmanageable debt and still not one inch nearer Septic - it's a Win-Win for the decent people in football and Scottish-society in general !!

rodhibs55
06-12-2017, 03:10 PM
You are just fishing for a response...

I know these puns are not everybody's cup of tea but lets no get crabby about it.
As he sneaks away sideways.

06-12-2017, 03:22 PM
They don't have £1m, they don't have £1! Aberdeen better ask for it all up front :agree:

I think they have. There was talk of them wanting the 1million paid up front before Rangers spoke to McInnes. It would be returned if McInnes didnt fancy it. They dont have it and this is why Aberdeen have told them to bolt.

06-12-2017, 04:06 PM
Not been keeping up with developments, so apologies if this has been covered.

What happens if McInnes resigns and walks away? I'm assuming that Aberdeen won't get any compensation from The Rangers. Also, that they would have to take McInnes to court - if successful, I assume the amount they could get from him would be not worth the hassle. So, if that's the case, would it not be in Aberdeen's interest to accept a reasonable amount of compensation from The Rangers.

06-12-2017, 04:12 PM
Not been keeping up with developments, so apologies if this has been covered.

What happens if McInnes resigns and walks away? I'm assuming that Aberdeen won't get any compensation from The Rangers. Also, that they would have to take McInnes to court - if successful, I assume the amount they could get from him would be not worth the hassle. So, if that's the case, would it not be in Aberdeen's interest to accept a reasonable amount of compensation from The Rangers.

I asked the same question. Apparently it will go to tribunal to set a compensation figure. It mightn't come to that; it's being reported der Hun have agreed one million pay off, though whether that's all up front I don't know.

06-12-2017, 04:13 PM
Apart from being a dyed in the wool hun I'm not sure why anyone in their right mind would go there.

The best you can do is finish 2nd which will always be a total failure at Hunbrox.

06-12-2017, 04:14 PM
Apart from being a dyed in the wool hun I'm not sure why anyone in their right mind would go there.

The best you can do is finish 2nd which will always be a total failure at Hunbrox.

Pay rise, bigger club, ego, chance to become a legend. Aberdeen much more limited in terms of potential.

06-12-2017, 04:32 PM
Pay rise, bigger club, ego, chance to become a legend. Aberdeen much more limited in terms of potential.

And be able to live at home all week

06-12-2017, 04:33 PM
If he lasts that long he will be known as the Rangers manager that handed Celtic the coveted 10 in a row.

Maybe he genuinely believes he can compete with Celtic, and maybe he genuinely believes in Santa Claus.

06-12-2017, 04:36 PM
Football tends to think itself above the law and contracts are seen as just side issues to be addressed as an aside after they have been broken.

I would love to see Milne throw the cat amongst the pigeons by refusig McInnes impending resignation and force him to see out his contract at Aberdeen or at the very least obtain an interdict to prevent him managing Rangers.

Also think managers should be treated like players and only move clubs in the window.

The game needs a new Bosman Ruling imposed on it.

06-12-2017, 05:05 PM
If he lasts that long he will be known as the Rangers manager that handed Celtic the coveted 10 in a row.

Maybe he genuinely believes he can compete with Celtic, and maybe he genuinely believes in Santa Claus.

No one will care about the first one. Wim Jansen is remembered as the Celtc boss who stopped Rangers long winning run, but no one cares about those who didn't.

I'm sure McInnes does back himself, as they say. It would be odd if he didn't.

But if I was him, I would be very concerned about working for a club hierarchy that threw its last two managers under a bus and has taken over a month to make a proper approach for him.

06-12-2017, 05:08 PM
No one will care about the first one. Wim Jansen is remembered as the Celtc boss who stopped Rangers long winning run, but no one cares about those who didn't.

I'm sure McInnes does back himself, as they say. It would be odd if he didn't.

But if I was him, I would be very concerned about working for a club hierarchy that threw its last two managers under a bus and has taken over a month to make a proper approach for him.

They were hoping for a bigger name but couldn't get one; that's my guess. McInnes is the fallback plan.

06-12-2017, 05:15 PM
Hmm I'm pretty happy they'll be appointing a guy who can't seem to get his team up for big games

06-12-2017, 05:20 PM
Clyde sport, suggesting this will all be wrapped up tonight, but we’ll see

Fuzzywuzzy
06-12-2017, 05:31 PM
I just don't understand where they can magic the money up from. They're in the hole for £18m-ish and relying on the generosity of some board members (remember gasl is skint and can't move money for SA so he ain't paying sheet!!).

Aberdeen are in a stable-ish position league wise, trying to build a new stadium and have just had investment from the states. They would need to secure a new manager that can maintain the relative success of the past few years.

The rangers have used every trick in the book to railroad this without actually doing anything publicly.

blaikie
06-12-2017, 05:32 PM
Doubt he’ll last the year at Rangers tbh

06-12-2017, 05:34 PM
They were hoping for a bigger name but couldn't get one; that's my guess. McInnes is the fallback plan.

Maybe just waiting to pass their resolution 11 at their AGM 🤨

06-12-2017, 05:34 PM
Concerned tbh - not in regards to Sevco as I think McInnes is very much overrated but Aberdeen have the cash to get a good replacement in. It could strengthen them.

beensaidbefore
06-12-2017, 05:47 PM
To remain on the shellfish theme I'd have gone with crab puns.

Nautilus we are going for anything living in the sea!

06-12-2017, 05:55 PM

Same applies to every other club in the country, it’s a wonder that any of us have players or a manager at all really!

Any manager in Scotland would probably jump at the chance to manage them with the exception of Lennon or Rodgers.

We may not like Rangers but they’re still a huge club with a huge fan base. Can you really not see see attraction?

06-12-2017, 06:04 PM
Chick Young talking nonsense about this at the moment. What an arrogant berk.

06-12-2017, 06:08 PM

Saying?

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 06:11 PM
Concerned tbh - not in regards to Sevco as I think McInnes is very much overrated but Aberdeen have the cash to get a good replacement in. It could strengthen them.

Aberdeen generally appoint ***** managers. I would only be concerned if they convinced Docherty to stay on.

06-12-2017, 06:13 PM

Now there's a few words you don't oftern see linked together :hmmm:

06-12-2017, 06:14 PM
Chick Young talking nonsense about this at the moment. What an arrogant bawbag tosspot wee dick of man

Fixed that for ya

06-12-2017, 06:18 PM
I think McInnes has taken Aberdeen as far as he can - the 2 games against Rangers showed that. He doesn't have what it takes to get the better of the Glasgow teams in games between the sides. He's done well to get a team that consistently beats the rest of the teams (and that consistency is what gets you 2nd place in the league) but he hasn't got what it takes to go a step further.

McInnes MIGHT have more chance of challenging Celtic at Rangers.

Overall, I think Aberdeen will be happy to get cash from Rangers for McInnes and should squeeze every drop they can out of them, but will be happy to take their team in a new direction.

06-12-2017, 06:21 PM
I think McInnes has taken Aberdeen as far as he can - the 2 games against Rangers showed that. He doesn't have what it takes to get the better of the Glasgow teams in games between the sides. He's done well to get a team that consistently beats the rest of the teams (and that consistency is what gets you 2nd place in the league) but he hasn't got what it takes to go a step further.

Overall, I think Aberdeen will be happy to get cash from Rangers for McInnes and should squeeze every drop they can out of them, but will be happy to take their team in a new direction.

Not if it turns out to be downwards. :cb

06-12-2017, 06:26 PM
Not if it turns out to be downwards. :cb

When you're second, there are 2 directions you can go in, one being far more likely than the other.

But nobody ever really wants to tread water, to stand still, to stay where they are.

In all likelihood they will go downwards, but they must attempt to push up the way.

And it shouldn't be difficult for them to improve upon their performances and results against Rangers and Celtic.

They just need to maintain their form against everyone else.

06-12-2017, 06:30 PM
Brilliant move by The Rangers destabilise the competition in an attempt to bring them down to their level

06-12-2017, 06:32 PM
Aberdeen generally appoint ***** managers. I would only be concerned if they convinced Docherty to stay on.

A million in the bank and keep him, result!
Can’t see the rangers wanting him with a name like that!!

06-12-2017, 06:34 PM

I reckon he’s been waiting on certain assurances - salary, assistant, how much control he’ll have and then budget for January then the summer. They’ve had to go away and work out how to pay for it all (King maybe dipping his kids inheritance?) and now they’ve sorted it have put the bid in.

No way was McInnes out of the loop with this - he’ll have been speaking to them from day 1.

06-12-2017, 06:35 PM

Mcinnes has taken them as far as he can. Let’s remember they still have to build a new stand and training base. The Rangers are a mess granted but still a step up imo.

I think he should have seen what was going down south and tried again there but if he’s a Rangers man and family is settled I can understand why he’d make the move. Will it backfire... No one can say for sure but he won’t win the league with them for the next 10 years at least Celtic have them all won already.

06-12-2017, 06:35 PM
Brilliant move by The Rangers destabilise the competition in an attempt to bring them down to their level

And it helps us too.

Our closest rivals both with new managers, we should be thanking Rangers!

06-12-2017, 06:37 PM

green with envy
06-12-2017, 06:39 PM
And it helps us too.

Our closest rivals both with new managers, we should be thanking Rangers!

You reckon a new manager never makes an instant impact at a new club?

06-12-2017, 06:40 PM
Same applies to every other club in the country, it’s a wonder that any of us have players or a manager at all really!

Any manager in Scotland would probably jump at the chance to manage them with the exception of Lennon or Rodgers.

We may not like Rangers but they’re still a huge club with a huge fan base. Can you really not see see attraction?

You really are trying to win the The Rangers fan award aren't you. They're a foul, loathsome institution & there's really no excuse for anyone wanting to join that institution.

06-12-2017, 06:44 PM
You really are trying to win the The Rangers fan award aren't you. They're a foul, loathsome institution & there's really no excuse for anyone wanting to join that institution.

Well apart from the fact they are a bigger club.

06-12-2017, 06:44 PM
Ffs, it was a throw away remark.

To answer your question though, rarely. Check out what’s happening at Hearts.

Or look back to when we appointed Calderwood, Fenlon or Butcher.

The new manager bounce we often hear about is a myth.

06-12-2017, 06:47 PM

:rolleyes: Really? You don’t see why any player would want to play there??

Aye ok, I must be a Rangers fan cause I think differently to you.

06-12-2017, 06:52 PM

I could if it was years ago when they had a realistic chance of winning the league regularly and having the possibility to reach the Champions League but they have no chance in their situation of getting anywhere near Celtic at the top of the league for years at best.

They are a basket case waiting to implode again and the difference is we'd be ecstatic finishing 2nd year in year out while Rangers fans will be out for blood in no time.

06-12-2017, 06:59 PM
I could if it was years ago when they had a realistic chance of winning the league regularly and having the possibility to reach the Champions League but they have no chance in their situation of getting anywhere near Celtic at the top of the league for years at best.

They are a basket case waiting to implode again and the difference is we'd be ecstatic finishing 2nd year in year out while Rangers fans will be out for blood in no time.

We said the same about Celtic in the 90s. Rangers were so far in front it was impossible to predict how many titles they would win but somehow blew ten in a row.

I don't see Celtic achieving ten in a row either. Things change very quickly.

06-12-2017, 07:01 PM
We said the same about Celtic in the 90s. Rangers were so far in front it was impossible to predict how many titles they would win but somehow blew ten in a row.

I'd bet both my bollocks on Celtic taking ten in a row.

06-12-2017, 07:02 PM

Bet accepted.

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 07:03 PM
A million in the bank and keep him, result!
Can’t see the rangers wanting him with a name like that!!

Good point.

I actually think the GJP will be the next Sheep manager.

06-12-2017, 07:07 PM
It's quite hard to assess where Sevco are at any given point.

The foaming-mouthed Celtic-minded bloggers would have you believe that they are on their last legs at any given point. What they write is basically porn for Tims who exist in a permanent state of near-ejaculation over the extinction of their greatest rivals.

Yet Rangers still manage to repeatedly avoid extinction and find funds to spend a lot more money than the rest of us (albeit nowhere near enough to challenge Celtic).

Footballers and managers are a confident lot. Most managers will fancy the challenge of managing a club the size of Sevco - they will look at it differently to us. We'll see the problems, the pitfalls, the challenges but managers will see the opportunities if they deal with those challenges.

Celtic are far ahead mainly because they currently have an excellent manager who has repeatedly got them in to the Champions League group stages, maintaining a significant financial advantage over the rest of us. The truth is though, they are only ever an appealing job down South becoming available away from losing that manager. If the next manager is a tattie, they might panic. The momentum could quickly shift towards Sevco and 10 in a row might not be as inevitable as it looks right now.

I could see why a manager might want to take a gamble on going to Ibrox, especially one who would have reason to believe that he's taken Aberdeen as far as he can.

I hope that doesn't make me a hun.

06-12-2017, 07:08 PM
Bet accepted.

Tell me to beat it if I'm being too forward, but what would you do with them?

06-12-2017, 07:08 PM
Tell me to beat it if I'm being too forward, but what would you do with them?

Hang them from my christmas tree.

06-12-2017, 07:09 PM

Bet accepted.

That would really make everyone forget all about that "bath of beans" episode.

06-12-2017, 07:09 PM
Most people in the West outwith Glasgow have their wee team (local club e.g. St Mirren) and their big team (one of the bigot brothers). Hence the reason why Chick sounds so enthusiastic about both St Mirren and The Rangers.

I'm from just outside Glasgow and that's definitely not true for most, what you find is you have old firm fans who "follow" their local team but it's more of a patronising thing, usually an albion rovers of something similar, often it's a team with similar, let's say beliefs, as themselves.

I also know a few who have got bored of the old firm and the nonsense that comes with supporting them and drifted away towards more local clubs as they've got older and become parents but they're few and far between.

06-12-2017, 07:20 PM

Well, that trumps the whole debate about angels vs. stars....

mcohibs
06-12-2017, 07:27 PM

Celtic finished 40 points above Rangers last season. There was nowhere near that gap between them in the nineties. Currently on six in a row.. ten is an inevitability IMO.

A few of us will have said over the years that we'd give our right nut to see Hibs win the Scottish Cup.

Jenners could have had a really novel decoration scheme for their big tree last year if we'd all been held to it.

I see their huge fan-base as a huge deterrent knowing what they're like and what their mentality is - I honestly can't see the 'attraction' of going to a place that attracts the lowest-of-the-low of football-supporters !. However McInnes, by all accounts, is a Hun so obviously moral-ethics doesn't come into it.

06-12-2017, 07:32 PM
Celtic finished 40 points above Rangers last season. There was nowhere near that gap between them in the nineties. Currently on six in a row.. ten is an inevitability IMO.

That's fair enough but I just don't see it.

They will make it seven in a row this season but after that I'm not too sure.

Renfrew_Hibby
06-12-2017, 07:34 PM
I'm from just outside Glasgow and that's definitely not true for most, what you find is you have old firm fans who "follow" their local team but it's more of a patronising thing, usually an albion rovers of something similar, often it's a team with similar, let's say beliefs, as themselves.

I also know a few who have got bored of the old firm and the nonsense that comes with supporting them and drifted away towards more local clubs as they've got older and become parents but they're few and far between.

Having worked in Greenock for ten years I can tell you that 99% of Morton fans couldn't give 2 hoots about the old firm, many despise them and all that they stand for.
However a fair portion of Celtic and Rangers fans look fondly upon the 'Ton and regard them as their wee second team but haven't visited Cappielow since they were about 14.
I also married into a St.Mirren family and the situation is the exact same in Paisley.
I now work in the east end of Glasgow and everyone is incredibly patronising towards me regards being a Hibby. I miss the Morton fans as we stuck together and knew where we were both coming from.

06-12-2017, 07:35 PM
That's fair enough but I just don't see it.

They will make it seven in a row this season but after that I'm not too sure.

To have a hope of stopping ten, the Rangers need (a) Rodgers to move on and be replaced by another Deila calibre of manager and/or (b) receive a massive cash injection.

06-12-2017, 07:37 PM
Tell me to beat it if I'm being too forward, but what would you do with them?How will the winnings be collected?

It's not like walking into ladbrokes with the winning slip held aloft.

06-12-2017, 07:40 PM
I was only joking about the baws.

I don't actually want them.

Lets thing of something else. I like winegums.

06-12-2017, 07:46 PM
I was only joking about the baws.

I don't actually want them.

Lets thing of something else. I like winegums.

Tough ****. It's out there. The internet doesn't lie.

06-12-2017, 07:48 PM
Tough ****. It's out there. The internet doesn't lie.

I forgot that Edinburgh folk are so tight they'd rather cut off their own baws than spend 99 pence on a bag of sweets

06-12-2017, 07:49 PM

Right now Celtic enjoy massive structural advantages over Rangers that did not exist in reverse in the 90’s. Old Rangers were fuelled by massive debt incurred by Murray from an appallingly run Bank of Scotland. That was always going to end at some point.
Celtic just now, even without champions league income have almost double the turnover of Sevco. Apart from having an extra 10,000 seats, they have a superior retail distribution operation, a scouting network built up over many years, zero debt and are about to add the income from a hotel. They also have zero debt.
Champions league money will keep them well clear for a long time yet.

06-12-2017, 07:49 PM
I forgot that Edinburgh folk are so tight they'd rather cut off their own baws than spend 99 pence on a bag of sweets

Can we look inside this bag of sweeties first?

06-12-2017, 07:51 PM
Can we look inside this bag of sweeties first?I'm thinking gobstoppers[emoji6]

06-12-2017, 08:06 PM
Folk seriously thinking The Rangers will win a title in the next ten years? 😂😂

06-12-2017, 08:08 PM
Folk seriously thinking The Rangers will win a title in the next ten years? 😂😂

Are you seriously thinking Celtic will something like 15 in a row?

No chance.

I'm going 8.

06-12-2017, 08:16 PM
:rolleyes: Really? You don’t see why any player would want to play there??

Aye ok, I must be a Rangers fan cause I think differently to you.

I don't normally differentiate too much between the uglies, as far as I'm concerned they're pretty much 2 cheeks of the same ar*e. However I genuinely believe that Sevco are a unique club in that their attraction, in Scotland & associated areas is largely based on some historic, bigoted, ignorant perspective of their supposed status as defenders of a mythical protestant/establishment institution. I would suggest that the great majority of non UK signings have absolutely no idea about their supposed responsibility to defend the status quo, let alone Derry's walls, but are happy to be paid way in excess of what they could command in a higher quality environment. I know that I am probably being idealistic & naive in hoping that a Scottish manager will knock back The Rangers because of their baggage but I live in hope. As far as I'm concerned money is the only reason any one would want to play there & I would hope that integrity would triumph over profit.

06-12-2017, 08:28 PM
I don't normally differentiate too much between the uglies, as far as I'm concerned they're pretty much 2 cheeks of the same ar*e. However I genuinely believe that Sevco are a unique club in that their attraction, in Scotland & associated areas is largely based on some historic, bigoted, ignorant perspective of their supposed status as defenders of a mythical protestant/establishment institution. I would suggest that the great majority of non UK signings have absolutely no idea about their supposed responsibility to defend the status quo, let alone Derry's walls, but are happy to be paid way in excess of what they could command in a higher quality environment. I know that I am probably being idealistic & naive in hoping that a Scottish manager will knock back The Rangers because of their baggage but I live in hope. As far as I'm concerned money is the only reason any one would want to play there & I would hope that integrity would triumph over profit.

I mostly agree with what you say here.

If we think of the non uk signings I’d imagine that other than the money on offer, playing for Rangers would be seen as an opportunity to put yourself in the shop window for a move down south.

There’s also, normally, the chance to play in Europe and win medals. These things matter to players and as you say, they won’t have a clue about all the baggage you mention. Why should they care?

For all the crisis that they appear to be in, they’re 2nd in the league. This at a time when Aberdeen and ourselves are having our best spell in years / decades.

It wont take long before they’re back challenging Celtic for the title. It’s up to the rest of us to keep the pressure on and hopefully prevent the duopoly of the past.

majorhibs
06-12-2017, 08:42 PM

Well apart from the fact they are a bigger club.

Since when did hun lovin become cool? They are disgusting any way you look at it. Always! Sorry, you hun lovers, but they have blighted Scottish Football since forever. New, nae big honours bunch ae imposters who everyone outside of themselves dislike! Disgusting rangers old or new! Everyone who knows Scottish Football knows this. DISGUSTING.

06-12-2017, 08:47 PM

No chance.

I'm going 8.

Yes. I also think the Huns will fold within the next few years. Who is going to stop Celtic? They are now light years away it’s not like the 80’s the gap is massive. Only way Celtic won’t win the next ten is if they leave the league.

06-12-2017, 08:48 PM
I mostly agree with what you say here.

If we think of the non uk signings I’d imagine that other than the money on offer, playing for Rangers would be seen as an opportunity to put yourself in the shop window for a move down south.

There’s also, normally, the chance to play in Europe and win medals. These things matter to players and as you say, they won’t have a clue about all the baggage you mention. Why should they care?

For all the crisis that they appear to be in, they’re 2nd in the league. This at a time when Aberdeen and ourselves are having our best spell in years / decades.

It wont take long before they’re back challenging Celtic for the title. It’s up to the rest of us to keep the pressure on and hopefully prevent the duopoly of the past.

I also agree with much of what you say. My main hope is that education & knowledge will eventually triumph over ignorance & stupidity but I'm not holding my breath.

06-12-2017, 08:50 PM
Well lets make it hard for Sevco and finish in a European spot, we have the players support and manager. Hopefully with Aberdeen filling the other spot.

06-12-2017, 08:57 PM

No chance.

I'm going 8.

Does the rest of the family agree with that?

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 08:59 PM
Can we look inside this bag of sweeties first?

Is that you Colin Calderwood?

06-12-2017, 09:04 PM
Yes. I also think the Huns will fold within the next few years. Who is going to stop Celtic? They are now light years away it’s not like the 80’s the gap is massive. Only way Celtic won’t win the next ten is if they leave the league.

Hibs.

06-12-2017, 09:06 PM
Since when did hun lovin become cool? They are disgusting any way you look at it. Always! Sorry, you hun lovers, but they have blighted Scottish Football since forever. New, nae big honours bunch ae imposters who everyone outside of themselves dislike! Disgusting rangers old or new! Everyone who knows Scottish Football knows this. DISGUSTING.

But what's that got to do with the fact they are a bigger club and a step up for any player or manager outwith Celtic?

06-12-2017, 09:09 PM
[QUOTE=cleanyman;5238682]But what's that got to do with the fact they are a bigger club and a step up for any player or manager outwith Celtic?[/QUOT

It's not a step up, its a step back to the dark ages.

06-12-2017, 09:10 PM
[QUOTE=cleanyman;5238682]But what's that got to do with the fact they are a bigger club and a step up for any player or manager outwith Celtic?[/QUOT

Whether you like it or not it is.

stevie-bee
06-12-2017, 09:16 PM

No it’s not The Rangers are a far bigger club the Aberdeen,
Pay bigger wages bigger crowds 2nd biggest team in Scotland , just because we hate them that is the facts he the guy would be an idiot to knock them back
He must have a lot of belief in his ability to make the no1 team ,

06-12-2017, 09:22 PM
[QUOTE=brog;5238684]

Pay bigger wages bigger crowds 2nd biggest team in Scotland , just because we hate them that is the facts he the guy would be an idiot to knock them back

No idea what happened to the quotes there.

06-12-2017, 09:24 PM
[QUOTE=brog;5238684]

That was my point.

majorhibs
06-12-2017, 09:25 PM
But what's that got to do with the fact they are a bigger club and a step up for any player or manager outwith Celtic?

Listen tae yersel, please. It's no pretty.

06-12-2017, 09:27 PM

Well its true.

06-12-2017, 09:35 PM
Derek Mcinnes will be expected to win the league next season by the fans regardless of it being realistic. He won't and will likely get punted.

06-12-2017, 09:37 PM
Derek Mcinnes will be expected to win the league next season by the fans regardless of it being realistic. He won't and will likely get punted.

It’s a 3 year deal he’s getting, or that’s what King said at the AGM last week

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 09:38 PM

He's right.

2 years there and a cup or 2 he can go back down South. He's also a hun. He will be rangers manager tomorrow which is unfortunate because I've always admired him as a player and manager since Alan McGraw told his story. In fact when Mcinnes left Morton McGraw predicted he would manage rangers one day.

He will be appointed tomorrow.

Firestarter
06-12-2017, 09:39 PM

If he pisses it in second and has a European run he won't.

06-12-2017, 09:59 PM

Aye it's true.

gordonced18
06-12-2017, 10:22 PM
I forgot that Edinburgh folk are so tight they'd rather cut off their own baws than spend 99 pence on a bag of sweetsOnly 65p in lidl

Sent from my Lenovo YT3-X50F using Tapatalk

06-12-2017, 11:07 PM
If he pisses it in second and has a European run he won't.

Well IMO they won't.

CyberSauzee
06-12-2017, 11:43 PM
He's right.

2 years there and a cup or 2 he can go back down South. He's also a hun. He will be rangers manager tomorrow which is unfortunate because I've always admired him as a player and manager since Alan McGraw told his story. In fact when Mcinnes left Morton McGraw predicted he would manage rangers one day.

He will be appointed tomorrow.

Might be a bit longer, Dons digging their heels in:

https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/12/05/club-statement-18/

Aberdeen Football Club has announced this evening that Rangers have contacted the Club asking for permission to speak to Derek McInnes and that permission has been refused.

06-12-2017, 11:48 PM
Having worked in Greenock for ten years I can tell you that 99% of Morton fans couldn't give 2 hoots about the old firm, many despise them and all that they stand for.
However a fair portion of Celtic and Rangers fans look fondly upon the 'Ton and regard them as their wee second team but haven't visited Cappielow since they were about 14.
I also married into a St.Mirren family and the situation is the exact same in Paisley.
I now work in the east end of Glasgow and everyone is incredibly patronising towards me regards being a Hibby. I miss the Morton fans as we stuck together and knew where we were both coming from.

I totally agree with you, I was referring to the old firm fans who claim to have an affiliation with the local club, in my experience its often just a patronising "wee team" thing. There are loads of folk in the West who support there local club and couldn't give two hoots about the old firm and their nonsense.

Brunswickbill
07-12-2017, 08:48 AM
McInnes lives just west of Paisley. His family stay there but he lives in Aberdeen probably getting a couple of days a week with his family. Taking the huns job will allow him to be with his family. Don’t underestimate the attraction of that.

07-12-2017, 10:05 AM
My take on the whole saga is this.

McInnes will know he was wanted as Rangers will have contacted his agent, due to speculation all he could really say was he's Aberdeen manager and happy there, now they have contacted Aberdeen he knows he can now move things along. He's an ex Rangers player and a fan, so the move is right for him and whatever you think about Rangers they are still a massive club in Scotland.

Aberdeen's chairman will not stand in his way if he wants to speak to them as he'll not want an unhappy manager at the club, they'll accept the money and look for another manager themselves.

Clubs have been taking players and managers from other clubs for many a year and that will not change, we lost Mowbray to W Brom, Aberdeen took McGhee from Motherwell, when a manager does well they move on to bigger things, it's called ambition.

McInnes has gotten as close as he can to Celtic but recently it's been clear he's taken them as far as he can, he'll see Rangers as the opportunity to close that gap, they may still have back room problems but Rangers are still a big draw for a lot of players.

Stonewall
07-12-2017, 12:08 PM
My take on the whole saga is this.

McInnes will know he was wanted as Rangers will have contacted his agent, due to speculation all he could really say was he's Aberdeen manager and happy there, now they have contacted Aberdeen he knows he can now move things along. He's an ex Rangers player and a fan, so the move is right for him and whatever you think about Rangers they are still a massive club in Scotland.

Aberdeen's chairman will not stand in his way if he wants to speak to them as he'll not want an unhappy manager at the club, they'll accept the money and look for another manager themselves.

Clubs have been taking players and managers from other clubs for many a year and that will not change, we lost Mowbray to W Brom, Aberdeen took McGhee from Motherwell, when a manager does well they move on to bigger things, it's called ambition.

McInnes has gotten as close as he can to Celtic but recently it's been clear he's taken them as far as he can, he'll see Rangers as the opportunity to close that gap, they may still have back room problems but Rangers are still a big draw for a lot of players.

If Rangers had come up with the contractual compensation then Aberdeen would not be able to prevent McIinnes from talking to Rangers.

Anyway I think what you say is correct but it has to be a huge risk to take the Rangers job. He's leaving a well run and stable club for one with a dysfunctional and dishonest board requiring directors loans to survive and with no line of credit from a bank. There's also the small matter of the enforcement of the Take Over Pannell ruling and the potential effects on Rangers.

If and it's a big if he is given the time I'm sure he could improve Rangers but it strikes me that there's an awful lot of stuff here that he has no control over and it's hard to see where the money is going to come from.

I wonder if Wiggy will be motivated to 'move on' in this case. He must be feeling a bit stupid now.

07-12-2017, 12:23 PM
Might be a bit longer, Dons digging their heels in:

https://www.afc.co.uk/2017/12/05/club-statement-18/

Aberdeen Football Club has announced this evening that Rangers have contacted the Club asking for permission to speak to Derek McInnes and that permission has been refused.

This will because The Rangers will have structured the rumoured £800k compensation as follows: £8k when McInnes moves, and then £1 a week from then on.

07-12-2017, 12:30 PM
This will because The Rangers will have structured the rumoured £800k compensation as follows: £8k when McInnes moves, and then £1 a week from then on.

Absolutely no doubt it will be something like that or a lesser amount.

07-12-2017, 12:38 PM

Nonsense. No way will the Huns fold. They may end up in admin again however fold, no chance. Even rubbish like Gretna and Clydebank come back in some shape or form and they are miniature compared to the Huns.

07-12-2017, 12:46 PM
Unfortunately the cold hard facts are Rangers are the second biggest team in Scotland and unless something major happens in Scottish football (ie a Russian/Chinese/Arab Billionaire deciding he wants to own a club in Edinburgh/Aberdeen) they are always likely to be.

He will probably be earning atleast double what he was getting at Aberdeen and he will get to live in the area he grew up in and with his family. Although I think he has been playing Aberdeen like a fiddle with this I can see why he wants to move.

07-12-2017, 12:48 PM
Not doing his media duties according to the scotsman, think that is it. Only stumbling block is compo, hope the sheep sting them.

07-12-2017, 12:49 PM
Wonder how he will get on working under a Director of Football, big difference from the way he has been allowed to operate at the Dons.

07-12-2017, 12:56 PM
Nonsense. No way will the Huns fold. They may end up in admin again however fold, no chance. Even rubbish like Gretna and Clydebank come back in some shape or form and they are miniature compared to the Huns.

Funny I mind many saying the same first time around 🤔

07-12-2017, 01:10 PM
Looks like McInnes is standing on the edge of the springboard wondering whether to jump.
The fans must view him with scepticism for getting on the plank in the first place not and killing the rumour/approach dead at the outset.

07-12-2017, 01:23 PM
If the don’t agree compo what happens then? He had a release amount in his contract but obviously The Rangers haven’t offered enough.

07-12-2017, 01:33 PM
If the don’t agree compo what happens then? He had a release amount in his contract but obviously The Rangers haven’t offered enough.

Then he quits and The Rangers and Dons take it to a tribunal where The Rangers would have to pay what was remaining of the contract I think.

07-12-2017, 01:40 PM

Those clubs came back as new clubs like Rangers did. No reason why it won't happen again as they don't appear to have learned anything.

07-12-2017, 01:59 PM
Absolutely no doubt it will be something like that or a lesser amount.

C’mon you don’t really believe that do you?

Why would you assume that Milne will just roll over and accept what Rangers offer when he said the exact opposite?!

07-12-2017, 03:01 PM
Then he quits and The Rangers and Dons take it to a tribunal where The Rangers would have to pay what was remaining of the contract I think.

This isn't going to end well. Well done to milne for standing up to them. The next meeting of the two sides at Pittodrie will have a hostile atmosphere. This could make an already powder keg game into a real battle. I hope McInnes realises the consequences of moving.

07-12-2017, 03:16 PM
C’mon you don’t really believe that do you?

Why would you assume that Milne will just roll over and accept what Rangers offer when he said the exact opposite?!

I am saying Rangers would likely offer a smaller amount not that Milne would accept a lesser amount.

07-12-2017, 03:19 PM
This isn't going to end well. Well done to milne for standing up to them. The next meeting of the two sides at Pittodrie will have a hostile atmosphere. This could make an already powder keg game into a real battle. I hope McInnes realises the consequences of moving.

He will get a very hostile reception next time he’s up there. Rather him than me!

Tornadoes70
07-12-2017, 03:28 PM

This would mean running up legal fees being awarded against the losing party that are never cheap I'd imagine or would it be an in-house SFA tribunal type? Its very rare for clubs to go down this route involving managers as I can't think of any off the top of my head with most clubs agreeing a compensation fee amicably.

Mind you its the huns involved here and they've proven to be entirely unconventional where money's concerned.

07-12-2017, 03:33 PM
https://youtu.be/InZydV39hb8

07-12-2017, 03:48 PM
This would mean running up legal fees being awarded against the losing party that are never cheap I'd imagine or would it be an in-house SFA tribunal type? Its very rare for clubs to go down this route involving managers as I can't think of any off the top of my head with most clubs agreeing a compensation fee amicably.

Mind you its the huns involved here and they've proven to be entirely unconventional where money's concerned.

I’ve honestly no idea if it’s in house but sounds like it probably would be. Either way will cost The Rangers if that happens.

Tornadoes70
07-12-2017, 03:54 PM
I’ve honestly no idea if it’s in house but sounds like it probably would be. Either way will cost The Rangers if that happens.

Excellent :aok:.

07-12-2017, 04:20 PM

Getting him to resign then haggling compensation through a tribunal would certainly be rangers class(less).

07-12-2017, 04:30 PM
Getting him to resign then haggling compensation through a tribunal would certainly be rangers class(less).

Exactly.

Willis1875
07-12-2017, 04:38 PM
Not leaving the Dons according to Raman Bhardwaj

07-12-2017, 04:41 PM
Signed another deal to stay at Aberdeen apparently.

07-12-2017, 04:42 PM
Derek McInnes staying at Aberdeen. So tweets Chris McLaughlin. Newco must be in a seriously bad way.

Willis1875
07-12-2017, 04:43 PM
This is hilarious 😂

guthrie01
07-12-2017, 04:50 PM
But...but we’re the mighty Rangers...

:hilarious Laughing stock of a club

07-12-2017, 04:52 PM
How embarrassing, especially regarding how public this has become. The west coast media have tried their best to make the move happen yet have embarrassed them even further 😂

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:00 PM
Never in a month of sundays I seen this coming. Concerning how they have convinced him to stay, perhaps a cash injection from the yank director?

07-12-2017, 05:02 PM
The guy has seen sense, the Huns will see red.

07-12-2017, 05:05 PM
The Daily Ranger will be foaming at the mouth. Watch how they will attack Mcinnes some way or another.

07-12-2017, 05:05 PM
Why is this so pleasing!? 😁😁

07-12-2017, 05:07 PM
Clyde radio, he's going nowhere!

07-12-2017, 05:07 PM
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

:faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf:

07-12-2017, 05:08 PM
Kris boyd. Gitruy

Ardenttwo
07-12-2017, 05:08 PM
That’s it official Mcinnis is staying put.

07-12-2017, 05:09 PM
I've got £20 on Murty when he was out at 16/1. Looking more likely.

07-12-2017, 05:10 PM
Any link to the Club 1872 statement? Milne accused of goading?

07-12-2017, 05:11 PM
It'll end up as Murty.

07-12-2017, 05:12 PM
Uncle Walter and Sally McMoist, both proper now defunct Glasgow rangers men and both experienced at walking away should it be required again.

Just need to wait on pep lol!

ACLeith

Not got anything on it but that was my bet weeks ago. Even if McInnes had spoken to them I felt the deal would not be done, they would spin it but it would be about cash. Hopefully the end of the saga

07-12-2017, 05:14 PM
Radio clyde is hilarious, hun saying no approach made until Tuesday. Now obvious that they had to wait for Pedro to get a job as they don't have the cash.

07-12-2017, 05:15 PM
It will be interesting to hear his reasons for not going to Rangers!
Did he not have control of transfer targets, and the budget he was offered wasn’t sufficient

Cat Stanton
07-12-2017, 05:16 PM
If they want a successful, Scottish manager, one who knows the game up here and has a track record of winning trophies, then there is an obvious candidate. And yet, weirdly, they seem to ignore Neil Lennon....

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:16 PM

Has he not got something like 3 games left to take before they payout?

07-12-2017, 05:17 PM
Has he not got something like 3 games left to take before they payout?

:hyper

Tornadoes70
07-12-2017, 05:18 PM
How embarrassing, especially regarding how public this has become. The west coast media have tried their best to make the move happen yet have embarrassed them even further ��

This is very good news for folk who believe in footballing business being done in the correct manner of being upfront and with due respect afforded to other clubs.

07-12-2017, 05:18 PM
I'm pleasantly surprised at this. For once a son of Ibrox refuses to answer the call.

We should give him a standing ovation when we play them again.

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:19 PM
https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/donsnews/dons-statement-full-mcinnes-stay-aberdeen-talking-family-rangers-job/

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:22 PM
Gjp.

davhibby
Good for us in two ways, still no rangers manager but McInnes will have lost a lot of good will from the Aberdeen fans which won't help them

IlDiavola
Cathro?

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:23 PM
Good for us in two ways, still no rangers manager but McInnes will have lost a lot of good will from the Aberdeen fans which won't help them

For them this is the ultimate get it right up the Huns. Boy will be a complete hero in their eyes.

Roxyhibee
07-12-2017, 05:23 PM
Whole McInnes / Sevco saga has got to be a potential win win for us.

If he has indeed looked at what been on offer, he'll be viewed suspiciously as damaged goods by Sheep fans.

And Sevco - well, the shambles rolls on. Praying they take 'one of their own' back like Super Ally or Barry Ferguson.. that would be hilarious.!

Hugh Munro
07-12-2017, 05:25 PM
Heard this guy is available :greengrin

https://i2-prod.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article9684224.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/JS109811422.jpg

07-12-2017, 05:25 PM
Gjp.

Aye, it'll be him I reckon.

beensaidbefore
07-12-2017, 05:26 PM
I'm pleasantly surprised at this. For once a son of Ibrox refuses to answer the call.

We should give him a standing ovation when we play them again.

Well done Mcinnes.

07-12-2017, 05:26 PM
Surely Pep or José, this is Rangers, could pay with wonga loans!

IlDiavola
07-12-2017, 05:27 PM
Cathro?

https://i2-prod.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article9684224.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/JS109811422.jpg
Talking of strange looking folk.....

For them this is the ultimate get it right up the Huns. Boy will be a complete hero in their eyes.

Aberdeen fans chief was calling for to resign earlier today
Think he’s got a bit of making up to do, to the Aberdeen support

It all stinks of "bag of sweeties" a little.

Firestarter
Cathro is still getting paid off our pink chums. I hope he rips the arse out of it as long as he can.

07-12-2017, 05:28 PM
No chance of cathy, but please!

07-12-2017, 05:28 PM
Gjp.

Does he need it though? Total poisoned chalice - you get judged against Celtic in that role and they're a good £20-30m in players away from that.

07-12-2017, 05:29 PM
Cathro is still getting paid off our pink chums. I hope he rips the arse out of it as long as he can.

If you take away the dead rhodedendrons his garden is looking magnificent.

Could be a good shout, the schematics at Ibrox will no doubt be right, on the other hand being called Father Dougal might be a bit of an issue.

Kris Boyd getting another one completely wrong, with him telling everyone that McGinn had played his last game for Hibs, does this man have any contacts in the game? :confused:

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:30 PM
Aberdeen fans chief was calling for to resign earlier today
Think he’s got a bit of making up to do, to the Aberdeen support

Yeah I was looking at that too but him bumping sevco completely he will be a hero.

There was also a lot of sheep convinced he threw the last two defeats against them so it works both ways.

I wonder if this has anything to do with Docherty and how much he wouldn't fit in at Ibrox? He's a great coach by all accounts.

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:31 PM
Does he need it though? Total poisoned chalice - you get judged against Celtic in that role and they're a good £20-30m in players away from that.

Probably not but he's finished at anything higher than them so if he wants to manage again he will take it. Or it's bt sports for him from now on.

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:33 PM
If you take away the dead rhodedendrons his garden is looking magnificent.

😂 The garden keeps getting interrupted by that weird looking tramp McPhee turning up at his door every wee while for a catch up game of Kerbie.

07-12-2017, 05:33 PM
Probably not but he's finished at anything higher than them so if he wants to manage again he will take it. Or it's bt sports for him from now on.

I think he would have taken the Aberdeen job. You'd need to be desperate to take the Sevco role and he's got punditry to fall back on if he wants.

Roxyhibee
07-12-2017, 05:39 PM

Not so sure about this. Think it's pretty certain he's not only had a look in the shop window - I think he's entered and seen what's been on offer..and Sheep fans will know this. Different if it had been an English club - he'd be back with open arms.

You may be right - time will tell, but I think it'll be down to the response from the players, as they'll know more than anyone if he was willing to jump if the price and conditions were suitable.

07-12-2017, 05:39 PM

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:41 PM
I think he would have taken the Aberdeen job. You'd need to be desperate to take the Sevco role and he's got punditry to fall back on if he wants.

Fair do's they won't be anywhere near crltics level regardless.

I hope Murty gets it purely for your bet!

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:41 PM
Not so sure about this. Think it's pretty certain he's not only had a look in the shop window - I think he's entered and seen what's been on offer..and Sheep fans will know this. Different if it had been an English club - he'd be back with open arms.

You may be right - time will tell, but I think it'll be down to the response from the players, as they'll know more than anyone if he was willing to jump if the price and conditions were suitable.

Fair enough mate 👍

07-12-2017, 05:43 PM
McInnes has told them bolt? Is this official or just speculation?

07-12-2017, 05:43 PM

Bolt

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:44 PM

Official on the sheep website.

07-12-2017, 05:46 PM
Another joyus episode in the farce that is The Rangers, let's galvanise and make sure we get that Euro spot along with Aberdeen and help end them once again as a club. Horrid institution Sevco.

07-12-2017, 05:46 PM
No fan of either club but I welcome his choice as a bit of integrity. More integrity then those in the weegia who will be bereft at this news. Boyd and Young did their best but they fell short.

Topographic Hibby
07-12-2017, 05:47 PM
Is it Statement O’Clock yet in Govan?

07-12-2017, 05:48 PM
Terry Butcher come on down

07-12-2017, 05:49 PM
Terry Butcher come on down

More like will take you down

07-12-2017, 05:50 PM
Official on the sheep website.

Word spreads fast....

https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.j4pNsNeLVffm4hK1PCUhPQEsEN&w=225&h=199&c=7&qlt=90&o=4&dpr=1.15&pid=1.7

The gift that keeps on giving :lolrangers:

'We didnae want him anyway. He's pish; we dodged a bullet' etc etc etc.

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:52 PM
No fan of either club but I welcome his choice as a bit of integrity. More integrity then those in the weegia who will be bereft at this news. Boyd and Young did their best but they fell short.

Chic Young said from the start it wouldn't be Mcinnes so he's hot this one right. The chief sports reporter who rims all things Hearts was the one who continually said he was next hun manager and it was widely predicted he would be and do you know what? He may still be their next manager.

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 05:53 PM
Word spreads fast....

https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.j4pNsNeLVffm4hK1PCUhPQEsEN&w=225&h=199&c=7&qlt=90&o=4&dpr=1.15&pid=1.7

The gift that keeps on giving :lolrangers:

'We didnae want him anyway. He's pish; we dodged a bullet' etc etc etc.

God bless them. 👍

07-12-2017, 05:53 PM
Is it Statement O’Clock yet in Govan?

Looking forward to that

yonder1875
07-12-2017, 05:55 PM
They'll be back fully into meltdown mode by Wednesday night.

07-12-2017, 05:57 PM
Sportsound is fab tonight. 😀

07-12-2017, 05:57 PM
Between this and the yam stand fiasco I really don't know which one to laugh at most....keep it coming mugs.

ehf
07-12-2017, 05:59 PM
Bolt

Really didn't expect this; respect to MacInnes.

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 06:00 PM
Sportsound is fab tonight. 😀

I have ****loads on at work to get through tomorrow so I'm saving the podcast especially 😂

Firestarter
07-12-2017, 06:00 PM
Between this and the yam stand fiasco I really don't know which one to laugh at most....keep it coming mugs.

Karma.

07-12-2017, 06:01 PM
Looking at Aberdeen forums, they are not happy with him for not killing it sooner. Huns are in turmoil. Great outcome for us.

CyberSauzee
07-12-2017, 06:02 PM
Yeah I was looking at that too but him bumping sevco completely he will be a hero.

There was also a lot of sheep convinced he threw the last two defeats against them so it works both ways.

I wonder if this has anything to do with Docherty and how much he wouldn't fit in at Ibrox? He's a great coach by all accounts.

What I was thinking. Must have a lot to do with it.

OxoHibby
07-12-2017, 06:07 PM

He was wanted by Sunderland. A °massive° English club and told them to bolt. Now told the huns to bolt. Surely this is good news fir Scottish football. Huns on the radio saying he turned it down as job was to big fir him ffs. They need and are being given a massive reality check

07-12-2017, 06:11 PM
Looking at Aberdeen forums, they are not happy with him for not killing it sooner. Huns are in turmoil. Great outcome for us.

A lot of them want him out. He's burned his bridges in Govan now too.

07-12-2017, 06:21 PM
Michael Stewart on sportsound talking sense again

Kris Boyd on soon to talk utter crap like the thick Hun that he is

07-12-2017, 06:21 PM
I've got a lot of respect for McInnes for this.

He's dodged a couple of bullets in Sunderland and Sevco, possibly the two worst run clubs in the UK.

It would be easy to be seduced by the promise of funds, big crowds, big stadia but the reality is that they are both impossible fanbases to satisfy with the resources he'd be provided with.

A lot of people have left clubs like Hibs and Aberdeen prematurely and paid a price for that.

He won't be at Aberdeen for long, he'll leave when the first good offer comes along.

But it's good to see someone who is prepared to wait for a good offer.

(As I speak, Michael Stewart talking a lot of sense on radio Scotland).

Skol
07-12-2017, 06:26 PM
Reminds me of a time when a similarly names but now defunct club were told to bolt by both Alex Ferguson and Jim McLean. I think they turned to Jungle Jock Wallace back then

07-12-2017, 06:30 PM

Wow how ungrateful can you get.

07-12-2017, 06:30 PM
Rangers Media is comedy gold. They now didn't want him anyway and will do better apparently 😂 who will that be then?

MKHIBEE
07-12-2017, 06:31 PM

He's dodged a couple of bullets in Sunderland and Sevco, possibly the two worst run clubs in the UK.

It would be easy to be seduced by the promise of funds, big crowds, big stadia but the reality is that they are both impossible fanbases to satisfy with the resources he'd be provided with.

A lot of people have left clubs like Hibs and Aberdeen prematurely and paid a price for that.

He won't be at Aberdeen for long, he'll leave when the first good offer comes along.

But it's good to see someone who is prepared to wait for a good offer.

(As I speak, Michael Stewart talking a lot of sense on radio Scotland).

Even those 2 must be behind Blackpool in that respect

Skol
07-12-2017, 06:32 PM
Wow how ungrateful can you get.

To be fair I think he has a right to hear what they are offering

07-12-2017, 06:37 PM
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

:faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf:

Love it!

07-12-2017, 06:38 PM
https://memegenerator.net/img/instances/54735579.jpg

07-12-2017, 06:38 PM

).

He’s saving himself for the Blackpool job:faf:

07-12-2017, 06:39 PM

Dons fans are daft if they give McInnes grief for this.

But I'm sure some of them have said some things they now regret but can't undo.

07-12-2017, 06:39 PM
When the Sevco board were asked if it was a case of the grass not being greener, they said "You're right, Lee Wallace always wears blue"

07-12-2017, 06:40 PM
This is turning into comedy gold:lolrangers:

Slim Shady
07-12-2017, 06:40 PM
To be fair I think he has a right to hear what they are offering

The answer was resign, we will pay your £800k that it’s costs for breaching contract and we will pay you the £800k to cover it.....................when we have it we will sign it over you you Derek.........Derek....... you still there.......cmon Derek.......... we ur the peeple mind!!!

07-12-2017, 06:51 PM

07-12-2017, 07:04 PM
Gjp.

The chairman has already ruled him out when he said all the available managers not in employment weren’t good enough.

07-12-2017, 07:04 PM
Rangers Media is comedy gold. They now didn't want him anyway and will do better apparently 😂 who will that be then?

Tbf (and I’m not normally fair to those horrible *******s) the few Huns I know genuinely didn’t want him. I think they felt he would make a better fist of competing for second but would never have them challenging Celtic.

Most of us know that won’t happen for years anyway but that’s where their ambitions lie.

Who is favourite now? Big Eck?

07-12-2017, 07:18 PM
Tbf (and I’m not normally fair to those horrible *******s) the few Huns I know genuinely didn’t want him. I think they felt he would make a better fist of competing for second but would never have them challenging Celtic.

Most of us know that won’t happen for years anyway but that’s where their ambitions lie.

Who is favourite now? Big Eck?

I got a bet on murty so fingers crossed it’s him.

07-12-2017, 07:19 PM
It'll be interesting to hear (if we do) from him what he saw in the future of Aberdeen FC that he didn't see in The Rangers.

07-12-2017, 07:20 PM
It'll be interesting to hear (if we do) from him what he saw in the future of Aberdeen FC that he didn't see in The Rangers.

Both teams can only realistically challenge for second in years to come. At one club that'll get you sacked.

07-12-2017, 07:20 PM
Can picture the scene in Traynor's house tonight at a hastily arranged meeting of all the 'Heads of Football-Media in Scotland' -

'Before I 'leak' the name of our 2nd-choice to you, it's the same rules as last time - at no time do you mention this info coming from me or Rangers - we must have complete and total deniability or we won't unsettle the rival and his club - worse still we might even have to pay the going-rate - in full - as against getting a manager who's completely ruined his relationship with his curent chairman/club and it's fans - on the cheap !!'

07-12-2017, 07:22 PM
https://memegenerator.net/img/instances/54735579.jpg

Aye and yer deid an aw!

07-12-2017, 07:23 PM
He will resign, they will still have to pay compo is my understanding. I did post he wouldn't be huns manager this week and this is not unexpected. Sheep say no, look like they have done all they can to keep him Mcinnes will resign as he's agreed to become the manager and that's that.

so he hadnt really agreed to become manager then?

07-12-2017, 07:26 PM
There’s a thread on FF, started this morning, about Kris Boyd’s article in today’s Sun. He talks about Aberdeen having only themselves to blame for losing McInnes ‘who will very soon and definitely be joining Rangers’. The muppets, who generally hold Boyd in low esteem, changed their tune because they liked what he was saying. Cue tonight’s news that McInnes was staying at Aberdeen and Boyd has suddenly morphed back into a tosser in their eyes. Boyd’s pontifications, such as McGinn leaving us, really expose him as a blether with no credibility, whatsoever.

07-12-2017, 07:26 PM

He’ll have his eye on a decent job in England rather than being convinced he’s got a great future with eberdeen IMO.

Fair play to him for not jumping ship at the first (or second) opportunity, although I still suspect Stewart Milne will see him alright for his loyalty, as he probably should tbf.

07-12-2017, 07:30 PM
Here's an idea to create a hu*****us meltdown over there.

Can someone with access to RM please put a post on there that the rumour now is that they are looking to poach,,,,

Neil Lennon:greengrin

gordonced18
07-12-2017, 07:31 PM
They will probably keep Murty until the end of their season which should be about mid February.....

07-12-2017, 07:39 PM
They will probably keep Murty until the end of their season which should be about mid February.....

If they approach someone else right away, the guy will know he isn't first choice. Let's hope the truth comes out about the reasons McInnes turned them down. Was it a compensation problem; lack of transfer funds; something else? When he missed Aberdeen training, it looked a done deal, so what's happened?

I hope it's big Eck, just to see the Huns' reaction. :greengrin

07-12-2017, 07:46 PM
I think McInnes is being very savvy about this. He's a hero at Aberdeen and can't really do any wrong there. He's already had his hands burned at Bristol City so seems to be chosing his options very carefully. I've no doubt he'll be on a very good salary at Pittodrie with the investors money floating about so why give all that up to join a shambles of a club where 2nd will eventually get you sacked?. I certainly wouldn't.

Tornadoes70
07-12-2017, 07:46 PM
Can picture the scene in Traynor's house tonight at a hastily arranged meeting of all the 'Heads of Football-Media in Scotland' -

'Before I 'leak' the name of our 2nd-choice to you, it's the same rules as last time - at no time do you mention this info coming from me or Rangers - we must have complete and total deniability or we won't unsettle the rival and his club - worse still we might even have to pay the going-rate - in full - as against getting a manager who's completely ruined his relationship with his curent chairman/club and it's fans - on the cheap !!'

Jim Traynor - 'And if the second choice falls through we'll hire Cathro and sell the plebs the line he's really a misunderstood messiah, now GET OUT before I sack the lot of you!'

07-12-2017, 07:57 PM
If they don't have anyone in place by next week then all the better for Hibs.

Murty has had two great wins but lets not forget he's lost to Dundee and Hamilton. All to play for.

07-12-2017, 08:03 PM
If they don't have anyone in place by next week then all the better for Hibs.

Murty has had two great wins but lets not forget he's lost to Dundee and Hamilton. All to play for.

Aberdeen and Rangers each with other distractions can only be good for us.

07-12-2017, 08:11 PM
I got a bet on murty so fingers crossed it’s him.

What a roller coaster of a day you've had!

07-12-2017, 08:15 PM
I think McInnes is being very savvy about this. He's a hero at Aberdeen and can't really do any wrong there. He's already had his hands burned at Bristol City so seems to be chosing his options very carefully. I've no doubt he'll be on a very good salary at Pittodrie with the investors money floating about so why give all that up to join a shambles of a club where 2nd will eventually get you sacked?. I certainly wouldn't.

Well quite.

Although if he was a bit more savvy he'd have worked all that out before this week. The 2 losses to Sevco in a row don't look clever.

07-12-2017, 08:28 PM
Well quite.

Although if he was a bit more savvy he'd have worked all that out before this week. The 2 losses to Sevco in a row don't look clever.True

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

07-12-2017, 08:33 PM

That's what I've been saying. He's shot himself in the foot quite unnecessarily by not putting the Rangers interest to bed at the outset. In fact he's made things even worse. From TRFC's supporters point of view, they'll see him as a traitor for 'leading them on'.
Not very clever putting yourself between a rock and a hard place, Derek.

07-12-2017, 08:33 PM
Dipped toe in and sheep fans wont like. If doesnt maintain 2nd or 3rd will turn on him. Dont see him being Aberdeen this time next year.

07-12-2017, 08:36 PM
This is hilarious 😂

Its a massive rib tickler. Ideal for us with the dons in turmoil with half the fans not wanting him and sevco clearly going to get a second or third choice coach. Only Michael stewart said the deal wasn't certain while all the other sycophants said he would never turn the teddy bears down. Whose making a fool of himself now Mr Potter.

07-12-2017, 08:41 PM
Dipped toe in and sheep fans wont like. If doesnt maintain 2nd or 3rd will turn on him. Dont see him being Aberdeen this time next year.

07-12-2017, 08:44 PM
No doubt he will be in line for another job at the end of the season and the dons fans will have to go through this nonsense again. In hindsight I'm sure he wished he knocked it on the head earlier. Who would want the job now if they will be third or fourth choice.

jimmyboco#1
07-12-2017, 08:55 PM
https://rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/club-statement-83/

Dear oh dear Mr Traynor!

07-12-2017, 08:56 PM
The rangers statement is an absolute shocker.

“In the meantime we’ll stick with Murty” (or line to that effect) had me laughing away to myself.

07-12-2017, 08:59 PM
The dignity of Her Majesty's Rangers. Basically saying McInnes doesn't have the bottle to take on the challenge. Desperately trying to save face -

'THERE has been a great deal of media speculation regarding the appointment of a new manager. We assure all supporters that they will be the first to know when we are certain we have someone with the correct qualities required by our club.

The Chairman made it clear at the AGM that the club did not consider there to be an outstanding candidate among those who had applied for the position and the club was therefore considering managers currently under contract. This requires permission from their present clubs.

The position of Rangers manager requires an ability to win football matches and the mentality to cope with the demanding off-pitch environment that goes with being the Rangers manager. This is a critical aspect of our assessment of any candidate during the interview process.

After the two games against Aberdeen, we requested permission to engage with their manager to assess his readiness and willingness to consider the Rangers position. This was declined. We were subsequently made aware by Aberdeen’s statement that, at this stage in his career, it would be best for him to remain in his current post. We endorse that position because moving to a massive club like Rangers is a big step with concomitant risk. We continue to consider candidates but will only appoint someone in whom we have full confidence and who feels he is ready for the job.

In the meantime, we have great confidence in Graeme Murty, who will continue as interim manager at least until the end of the year. The manner in which he has approached this task is a credit to himself and the club'.

07-12-2017, 08:59 PM
I think McIness has used this as leverage for an improved deal. I don’t think he seriously considered going. He mentioned ‘family’ in his statement as a reason for staying. That says a lot when you read into it.

07-12-2017, 09:01 PM
I can't believe a club the size of Rangers has released a statement like that.

Unprofessional and comes across as bitter.

07-12-2017, 09:03 PM
After the two games against Aberdeen, we requested permission to engage with their manager to assess his readiness and willingness to consider the Rangers position.

A wordy way of saying "we wanted him to be our manager but couldn't afford the compensation".

07-12-2017, 09:04 PM

The word Concomitant has never been googled so much either. (Not by me obviously 🙄)

MKHIBEE
07-12-2017, 09:07 PM

I would expect nothing less from that bitter and deluded bunch

07-12-2017, 09:07 PM
The dignity of Her Majesty's Rangers. Basically saying McInnes doesn't have the bottle to take on the challenge. Desperately trying to save face -

'THERE has been a great deal of media speculation regarding the appointment of a new manager. We assure all supporters that they will be the first to know when we are certain we have someone with the correct qualities required by our club.

The Chairman made it clear at the AGM that the club did not consider there to be an outstanding candidate among those who had applied for the position and the club was therefore considering managers currently under contract. This requires permission from their present clubs.

The position of Rangers manager requires an ability to win football matches and the mentality to cope with the demanding off-pitch environment that goes with being the Rangers manager. This is a critical aspect of our assessment of any candidate during the interview process.

After the two games against Aberdeen, we requested permission to engage with their manager to assess his readiness and willingness to consider the Rangers position. This was declined. We were subsequently made aware by Aberdeen’s statement that, at this stage in his career, it would be best for him to remain in his current post. We endorse that position because moving to a massive club like Rangers is a big step with concomitant risk. We continue to consider candidates but will only appoint someone in whom we have full confidence and who feels he is ready for the job.

In the meantime, we have great confidence in Graeme Murty, who will continue as interim manager at least until the end of the year. The manner in which he has approached this task is a credit to himself and the club'.

Traynor should just be put down.

07-12-2017, 09:11 PM

As I say, a desperate exercise in face saving. With one breath they say they didn't speak to McInnes; in the next they clearly suggest he doesn't believe he's big enough for the job. How could they know this, if, as they say, they haven't even spoken to the man?

07-12-2017, 09:12 PM
In a weird way, the huns are sort of my favourite team. I mean, i hate them, but i love what they do and how it makes me feel. They are just such a hoot to behold. I don't love them, but i love the way they are, it's magnificent :faf:

07-12-2017, 09:12 PM

God this is so sad and pathetic. They are playing that old imperialist Bill Struth pompous supremacist card, but it now seems so old and ridiculous as to be way beyond caricature. They should sack Traynor. He's obviously a mole put there to embarrass them. Or just an alcohol-soaked oaf. Whatever, he has to go.