View Full Version : Match Updates Motherwell 0 v Hibs 1 (Boyle)

28-10-2017, 12:45 PM
Following on from my first ever match thread on Tuesday there I'm going to dive straight back in this afternoon. A tough trip to Fir Park today to face an inform Motherwell side. Team news expected shortly.

Come on Hibs :flag:

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 12:56 PM
Same team as Tuesday, still no Stokes or Swanson

28-10-2017, 12:56 PM
Same line up as Tuesday night.

28-10-2017, 01:03 PM
Barker to get his first goal today

28-10-2017, 01:17 PM
Hadn’t realised there was a slope (side to side)

28-10-2017, 01:27 PM
Hadn’t realised there was a slope (side to side)

Actually, if you look closely, I think you'll find that there's more than one slope at Fir Park. The home end slopes one way and the away end slopes the other.

It's probably due to subsidence from the old mine workings. :wink:

TheMentalHibees
28-10-2017, 01:32 PM
Anywhere showing this online?

28-10-2017, 01:35 PM
Hope referee gets a grip of the over physical side of their game ..hopefully Vaughan and Moult are ear marked given them getting away with a few things in their aggressive styles ...both have a real nasty side to how they play ... hope we compete from the start, I think we can win this today

Off the bar
28-10-2017, 01:38 PM
Motherwell: Carson, Hartley, Dunne, Kipré, Cadden, McHugh, Frear, Rose, Campbell, Bowman, Moult.
Substitutes: Griffiths, Tait, Hammell, Bigirimana, Fisher, Petravicius, Tanner.
Hibernian: Marciano, Whittaker, Ambrose, Hanlon, Stevenson, McGeouch, Bartley, McGinn, Boyle, Barker. Murray.
Substitutes: Laidlaw, Gray, Matulevicius, Slivka, Shaw, Murray, Porteous.

28-10-2017, 01:48 PM
Very overcast here at Fir Park but no rain so far

28-10-2017, 01:50 PM
Filling up nicely, looks to be a good Hibs support lower tier, can’t see upper

28-10-2017, 01:56 PM
3/400 in the upper tier

euro Hibby
28-10-2017, 01:58 PM
sorry the game is not on Hibs TV....I read live broadcast but it refers just to radio,,, step back in time..

28-10-2017, 02:01 PM
Mon Hibs.

Let's try and get some momentum going in this League. We've underachieved in terms of points so far.

28-10-2017, 02:03 PM
Sam Stanton off the mark already 1-0 Dundee Utd

28-10-2017, 02:04 PM
Man for man we are better than Motherwell, please prove that today.

28-10-2017, 02:04 PM
What was the minute's applause for? I couldn't make the guy out on the tannoy.

28-10-2017, 02:05 PM

Hearts

28-10-2017, 02:06 PM

i think the name was 'swithburn' was on the board at motherwell

28-10-2017, 02:08 PM

Cheers.

28-10-2017, 02:08 PM
Hearts

Haha

28-10-2017, 02:12 PM
sheepies 0 Ross co 1

28-10-2017, 02:13 PM
sheepies 0 Ross co 1
Rangers hot seat becomes more attractive by the day for McInnes

28-10-2017, 02:15 PM
1-1 with Aberdeen

28-10-2017, 02:16 PM
Rangers hot seat becomes more attractive by the day for McInnes
Then again

28-10-2017, 02:16 PM
2nd goal for Sam Stanton.

tamsonsbairn
28-10-2017, 02:17 PM
two goals for sam stanton.

Sam Stanton again 2-0 Utd

WillowbraeHibby
Sam Stanton off the mark already 1-0 Dundee Utd

No 2 for Sam...

28-10-2017, 02:18 PM
Partick 1 up v Perth saints

28-10-2017, 02:18 PM
Has anything happened at all? 4G blackout in Motherwell area?

28-10-2017, 02:19 PM
Hearts

tamsonsbairn
28-10-2017, 02:19 PM
Wonder how Sam Stanton is doing?
having a quiet game so far.

28-10-2017, 02:20 PM
Has anything happened at all? 4G blackout in Motherwell area?

If this game was 2 months later I would've tried to find any nice Gritters driving past instead of watching the game

Is anything happening at Hibs game?

Wonder how Sam Stanton is doing?

Sometimes players just don't fit a club. Happy to see him make an impact :aok:

28-10-2017, 02:22 PM

Well hibs Twitter is quiet so assume not .

28-10-2017, 02:22 PM
Hibs free kick, Floated to the back post but it's a tad too high and is headed wide by Hanlon.

28-10-2017, 02:23 PM
I'm listening in on HTV so will continue to update from there

The game hasn't been mentioned on OAM since I tuned in.

Shot on target from Boyle is saved well and pushed behind for a hibs corner

Corner comes to nothing

RamblingJack
Shot from Boyle

28-10-2017, 02:25 PM
hibs had ball on edge of the box and a motherwell player goes down stopping the game...they ****s are a dirty wise team

28-10-2017, 02:25 PM
If this game was 2 months later I would've tried to find any nice Gritters driving past instead of watching the game

Brutal. Stay strong! :greengrin

28-10-2017, 02:26 PM
Barker hits the touchline and puts a good ball into the box but it's just too high for Whittaker at the back post.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
28-10-2017, 02:28 PM

If its the guy im thinking of, his son eas a teacher at Gillespies, also a big well fan - swinburne.

28-10-2017, 02:29 PM
possession

33% v 67%

28-10-2017, 02:31 PM
YASSSSSS :flag: boyle

Goal boyle!!

Corner comes to nothing

1-0 hibs

Off the bar
Boyle 1-0 the Hibs

28-10-2017, 02:32 PM
Yesss Boyler

cjward2
Ya wee stoater!! Get in there martin Boyle. 1-0 Hibs. :flag::flag:

Yaaaass

RamblingJack
1-0 Boyle

Yeeeees, get in.

boyle took it round carson and scored simplest goal of his career

Get in Squirrel

Although beginning to worry that i’ll be out of the Green and White comp at ten to five!

Nice one Squirrel :thumbsup:

28-10-2017, 02:33 PM
Yesss Boyler

Well that's OAM a minute behind :greengrin

Goalllll Boyle!

Goal! Motherwell 0, Hibernian 1. Martin Boyle (Hibernian) right footed shot from the centre of the box to the centre of the goal. Assisted by Simon Murray.

Well that's OAM a minute behind :greengrin

Not as far behind as the Hibs twitter

Defender under pressure passes back to the keeper but doesn't get enough on it, boyle nips in between the rushing keeper to knock the ball past him then roll it into an empty net.

(At Least that's my interpretation from the hibs tv guys.)

28-10-2017, 02:34 PM
Lets make sure a marker is put down today.

28-10-2017, 02:35 PM
Get in Hibs.

28-10-2017, 02:36 PM
Yeehah, Boyle goal. Well done son, been coming.

28-10-2017, 02:36 PM
Lets make sure a marker is put down today.

We need one more to go above them. 'Mon the Hibs :flag:

28-10-2017, 02:37 PM
carson spills shot from sjm but gathers again

28-10-2017, 02:38 PM
Nice one Squirrel :thumbsup:

Like it, cute. I'd join in with a chorus of that.

Get in Hibs. :flag:

RamblingJack
Corner Hibs

McGinn charges forward has a shot on target that the keeper spills but is able to gather before Boyle could get on the end of the loose ball.

28-10-2017, 02:40 PM
The games live on the spfl banter without old firm FB page .

28-10-2017, 02:40 PM
we seem pretty well on top here

EH6 Hibby
28-10-2017, 02:41 PM
Not as far behind as the Hibs twitter

Give them a minute to celebrate.

28-10-2017, 02:43 PM
possession

35% v 65%

shots

0-5

Is that the name of the page? I can’t find it.

Clean sheet wins it. Cmon Hibs

sparky scores v killie pies

Callum7

Link?

28-10-2017, 02:45 PM
Dundee 0 Hamilton 1

28-10-2017, 02:46 PM

yip, its a fan at the game showing it on their phone

28-10-2017, 02:46 PM
yip, its a fan at the game showing it on their phone

Cheers I’ll keep looking 👍🏼

micka_weer
28-10-2017, 02:47 PM
Spfl banter without fans of the old firm

Motherwell shot curled just wide of Marciano's post.

Spfl banter without the old firm 👍

28-10-2017, 02:48 PM

Although beginning to worry that i’ll be out of the Green and White comp at ten to five!

Aye, me too! Tho quite happy to be!!

28-10-2017, 02:49 PM
Half time

28-10-2017, 02:49 PM
HT 0-1 hibs on top

RamblingJack
28-10-2017, 02:50 PM
half Time

28-10-2017, 02:50 PM
Only worry is that if you take away the goalposts it'd be 0-0.

28-10-2017, 02:51 PM
Clean sheet wins it. Cmon Hibs

True Aldo but would like to see us scoring a few and keep the clean sheet

28-10-2017, 02:51 PM
Definitely only one football team here.

28-10-2017, 02:53 PM
Only worry is that if you take away the goalposts it'd be 0-0.

The schematics of fir park are similar to hearts new vomutorium main stand ie unfinished to the left

28-10-2017, 02:55 PM
The schematics of fir park are similar to hearts new vomutorium main stand ie unfinished to the left

If it finishes 0-0 we'll just need to beat them again.

It's OK.

28-10-2017, 02:55 PM
True Aldo but would like to see us scoring a few and keep the clean sheet

Couldn’t agree more Ronnie. Turning chances and possession into more goals!

28-10-2017, 02:57 PM
If it finishes 0-0 we'll just need to beat them again.

It's OK.

That possible outcome has gone, which at least takes away the fear of a 0-0.

28-10-2017, 02:57 PM
Couldn’t agree more Ronnie. Turning chances and possession into more goals!

Not good for fingernails, hair, or underarm odours

28-10-2017, 02:58 PM

Not good for fingernails, hair, or underarm odours

Indeed it’s not.

28-10-2017, 02:59 PM
1 more goal to go 4th please.

28-10-2017, 03:00 PM
Q.o.s 2 Falkirk 0 bring back houston

28-10-2017, 03:03 PM
Good first half, Hibs very much on top.

Bl**dy freezin tho ;-)

28-10-2017, 03:04 PM

28-10-2017, 03:05 PM
In the bigger picture, winning today is more important than the Tuesday just gone result.

Isn't it?:confused:

28-10-2017, 03:06 PM
Good first half, Hibs very much on top.

Bl**dy freezin tho ;-)

Has Nathan Rao's latest batch of 'THUNDERSNOW' reached you yet? :greengrin

hibs#1
28-10-2017, 03:08 PM
In the bigger picture, winning today is more important than the Tuesday just gone result.

Isn't it?:confused:

Next game is always the most important.

28-10-2017, 03:10 PM
boyle cleaned out on edge of box nothing given

Wull
28-10-2017, 03:14 PM
boyle cleaned out on edge of box nothing given

I was just gonna say half times are bloomin long these days

Off the bar
28-10-2017, 03:17 PM
sheep 2-1 up

28-10-2017, 03:18 PM
sellick 1 killie pies 1

28-10-2017, 03:18 PM
Murray scores but it's given offside.

28-10-2017, 03:19 PM
Onside

28-10-2017, 03:20 PM
sellick 1 killie pies 1

Open all mics 1 minute delayed?

28-10-2017, 03:20 PM
Hamilton 2 up @ dundee

Wull
28-10-2017, 03:21 PM
I mustbe on the wrong thread, I thought this was to keep us unfortunates informed on how the Hibees were getting on

****dee 0 Accies 2

I mustbe on the wrong thread, I thought this was to keep us unfortunates informed on how the Hibees were getting on

Who?

28-10-2017, 03:22 PM
Murray scores but it's given offside.

Was he off ?

euro Hibby
28-10-2017, 03:25 PM
its hell to listen on the radio !

28-10-2017, 03:25 PM
barker under pressure 8 yards out but blasts over

28-10-2017, 03:26 PM
Old complaint & really not worth bring up again. Plenty updates on Hibs on the thread.

28-10-2017, 03:27 PM
Worse looking in on. Net

Hate watching the live pitch on Bet365! Hearts in my mouth at every Motherwell 'dangerous attack'

Wull
its hell to listen on the radio !

You should try oot here in Madagascar wi only this thead to go on

Open all mics is brutal to listen to. Just about jumped through the roof

oli on for simon

Off the bar
Oli Shaw on for Murray

28-10-2017, 03:28 PM
That bl**dy drum's drivin me nuts. Wish they'd give it a rest

:-(

28-10-2017, 03:28 PM
Shaw on for murray

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 03:29 PM
Another big chance for Shaw to make his mark

28-10-2017, 03:29 PM
Good save by Rocky

28-10-2017, 03:30 PM
great block by whitty

28-10-2017, 03:31 PM
Hud it the gither, Hibs :worried:

Lendo
28-10-2017, 03:32 PM
Well goal disallowed

Mon Hibs let’s get another and keep it tight!

penihibs
Thanks guys for updates can't listen to the pricks on Sportsound..

soaking up some pressure now, murrawell 'goal' called offside

euro Hibby
sounds if we are going under the cosh now...

Motherwell goal disallowed for offside

28-10-2017, 03:33 PM
Second required Mon Hibs

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 03:33 PM
We need big Dave to come on and score a couple goals

28-10-2017, 03:34 PM
It's all good. We soak up pressure like Plenty™ soaks up all household spills.

Available in all leading retailers

28-10-2017, 03:34 PM
btw slivka is on for barker

28-10-2017, 03:35 PM
1,724 away fans

28-10-2017, 03:36 PM
1,724 away fans

Well done to all those who attended! [emoji122]

penihibs
28-10-2017, 03:36 PM
1,724 away fans

Good turnout considering all the games lately.

28-10-2017, 03:38 PM
kipre 'clear' push on shaw in 6 yard box...madden plays it on

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 03:39 PM
kipre 'clear' push on shaw in 6 yard box...madden plays it on

Kipre is a right huddy

28-10-2017, 03:40 PM
Well done to all those who attended! [emoji122]

Good turnout considering all the games lately.

only 4,300 home fans after their teams big win last week v sevco

28-10-2017, 03:41 PM
only 4,300 home fans after their teams big win last week v sevco

Pretty poor tbh

28-10-2017, 03:42 PM
Come on ref. Ft please.

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 03:43 PM
Pretty poor tbh

Think it is still more than they've been getting recently, but still a low turnout

Seriously, guys - who cares how many Motherwell fans turned out?

What's the score and how long to go?

can we hold on here :worried:

Seriously, guys - who cares how many Motherwell fans turned out?

What's the score and how long to go?

1-0 hibs per the title of the thread and not long.

28-10-2017, 03:44 PM
Think it is still more than they've been getting recently, but still a low turnout

Probably is more but still poor. Not as bad as Killie though!

Great result as they have been on a good run

Come on ref. Ft please.

Live score shows Hibs game as a late starter. Prob finish at 4.50

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 03:45 PM
About 5 mins to go, big Dave is on to kill it off

Off the bar
28-10-2017, 03:45 PM
Boyle off big Davy on

28-10-2017, 03:46 PM
86 gone per hibs Twitter so probably 8 minutes.

28-10-2017, 03:47 PM
Big davy to score I think

Mon the Hibs

86 gone per hibs Twitter so probably 8 minutes.

That must be full time then?

CMON

28-10-2017, 03:48 PM
This is murder

2 mins plus added time

Efe strolling whilst smoking a cigar

NL urging us to play up

1-0 hibs per the title of the thread and not long.

Ta.

This is murder

It’s the Hibs way [emoji102]

penihibs
Christ just blow the bloody whistle.

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 03:50 PM
3 added mins

Green and White Army

3 mins added

Christ just blow the bloody whistle.

Is he the ref????

Gie the baw tae Oli... no wait just blow the final whistle

3 minutes injury time.

Off the bar
Green and White Army

loud and clear on the radio :flag:

28-10-2017, 03:51 PM
Bloody hell its 4.51

Blow the final whistle Madden

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 03:51 PM
We've got a corner

28-10-2017, 03:52 PM
Hold on for any sakes ...

Is it over yet??

Lendo
YAASS!!! A good win against a decent side.

Are we there yet

Souter96Mac
Yaaaasss FT

penihibs
Is he waiting on the clocks going back ?

28-10-2017, 03:53 PM
FT get in, good 3 points away from home against an in-form team :agree::flag::cb

YAAAAASSSS get in. Well done Hibs!

Great week. 2 wins, 2 clean sheets and 6 points gained while Hertz get 0.

Yes!!

Off the bar
ya beauty!!!
1 nil to the hibs

Silversand
:thumbsup::flag:

JJP
YES! Great 3 points!

:hibees

hibs#1
Get in hibs.clean sheet and 3 points away from that'll do me 👍.

28-10-2017, 03:54 PM
Yes :thumbsup: Another great win for Hibs and clean sheet for the defence.

Great win well done hibs :flag:

6 points this week.

Great stuff Hibs after the disappointment of Hampden.

FT get in, good 3 points away from home against an in-form team :agree::flag::cb

Ya beauty ! Whether its winning dirty or easy, its all about the 3 points :thumbsup::thumbsup:

:hibees :flag:

Well done Hibs.

It's a Carlsberg weekend. Excellent result.

Nice cushion between ourselves and St Johnstone and Hearts now.

Woohoo! Well done Hibees!!!

Great win well done the team and manager. Liking the look of the team and formation at present. Perhaps we can get a few weeks with a settled team.

Good win, well played lads. Shame we didn't get the penalty on Shaw, we'd have gone ahead of Motherwell if we'd been given it and scored.

Great 3 points. Not enough shots on target though. ;-)

28-10-2017, 03:55 PM
Neil lennon, I have been supporting since Eddie turnbull, he has brought steel to the team.

Yessss. It’s been a great week.

On to Killie on Tuesday. Another hard game after their good point at Celtic today!

Souter96Mac
Our away record this season is pretty good. Played the two ugliest, been up to Dingwall, one of the in form teams, no bad Lennon.

Ya beauty ! Whether its winning dirty or easy, its all about the 3 points :thumbsup::thumbsup:

...so says Levein.

penihibs
Well done lads, great result.
GGTTH.

ACLeith
Celtic, Hearts and Motherwell - 7 points out of 9. Not too shabby a return. Now to pick off more of the lower half teams like Hearts
👍

28-10-2017, 03:56 PM
Great result against a team that’s been on a very good run.

Wells done Hibees!

28-10-2017, 03:56 PM
the hibs bandwagon rolls on to rugby park on tuesday

28-10-2017, 03:57 PM
Great week for the Cabbage. Lenny has made this side very resilient bouncing back after the Dons defeat and the semi. Glory glory!

28-10-2017, 03:57 PM
And the Hibs go marching on, perfect weekend.

Cheers Hibs, oh and Hertz.

28-10-2017, 03:59 PM
Great result. Sitting fairly pretty in the table points wise too, if we continue this run we could be right amongst it for the third place spot soon.

TomTheHibbyBev
Well played lads 😁

After a tough game in midweek that's a very very good result .... fantastic effort and two clean sheets as well. I wish we would manage more than a goal a game in the league though, it makes every bloomin' game a nail biter :greengrin

28-10-2017, 04:00 PM
Good result. Hopefully get a good bit of momentum going now.

Keep winning Hibs👍

Great result, gets both Motherwell and Rangers firmly in the sights and buys us a wee cushion in the top 6.

Big week and 2 very good results with 2 clean sheets. Can't ask for much more really.

28-10-2017, 04:01 PM
Fantastic result. Efe and Hanlon formed a really solid partnership recently.

28-10-2017, 04:02 PM
Great result. Well done lads.

28-10-2017, 04:03 PM
Top 5 in the table starting to pull away from the rest. All have a game in hand too.

Great result

Souter96Mac
We've got Killie away and Dundee home this next week. Two struggling teams, Killie will be tough with Clarke in charge, but we can do it! GGTTH

28-10-2017, 04:05 PM
Great 3 points today. Delighted with another clean sheet.

that brings total wins v motherwell to 112 v 100

just sayin likes

That was a massive result. To go there not lose a goal and win is superb.

28-10-2017, 04:06 PM
That's what you call a carlsberg week . That's our first win at Fir park in five years 👀 4-0 game . On to Killie on Tuesday night .
" oh the Jambos are ****tte " 😂

KDY Hibs
28-10-2017, 04:07 PM
Great result, gets both Motherwell and Rangers firmly in the sights and buys us a wee cushion in the top 6.

Big week and 2 very good results with 2 clean sheets. Can't ask for much more really.

This, great weekend!!

28-10-2017, 04:07 PM
That's what you call a carlsberg week . That's our first win at Fir park in five years �� 4-0 game . On to Killie on Tuesday night .
" oh the Jambos are ****tte " ��

tbf we missed playing them for 3 recent seasons

Souter96Mac
28-10-2017, 04:09 PM
That was a massive result. To go there not lose a goal and win is superb.

Three clean sheets in the last 5 league games, defence is coming together. Ever since Stevenson was put back in we've looked a lot more in control at the back imo. Could do with scoring more up top, but hopefully that'll come

28-10-2017, 04:09 PM
6 points this week.

Great stuff Hibs after the disappointment of Hampden.

Too many times in the past we have lost a late goal. Neil knows how to grind out a win.

28-10-2017, 04:10 PM
That's what you call a carlsberg week . That's our first win at Fir park in five years 👀 4-0 game . On to Killie on Tuesday night .
" oh the Jambos are ****tte " 😂

Yep, to follow up a derby win with a great away win is pleasing enough, but when it's coupled by the yams' on and off field woes its extra satisfying :agree:

Three shots on target

that win makes up for the 2 we let in against them at ER

woodythehibee
28-10-2017, 04:12 PM
Brilliant win and clean sheet. The Hibees go marching on. Fantastic week!

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

28-10-2017, 04:12 PM
Great result.

Well done Neil! Well done, Martin! Well done everyone!

2 goals, 2 clean sheets, and 6 points in the bag. GGTTH.

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::f lag::flag:

28-10-2017, 04:13 PM
Superb result. Let's push on

28-10-2017, 04:14 PM
Looks/sounds like Hibs didn't allow the hammer throwers to "bully" them, like they did to Sevco?

28-10-2017, 04:15 PM
Three clean sheets in the last 5 league games, defence is coming together. Ever since Stevenson was put back in we've looked a lot more in control at the back imo. Could do with scoring more up top, but hopefully that'll come

Exactly, Stevenson is a superb left back, I like him in a 4-4-2! Big Daz to come back as well which he may find hard to get into the side if we keep doing well.

28-10-2017, 04:16 PM
Delighted to win. Made hard work of it at times, but got there in the end :-)

28-10-2017, 04:18 PM
We've got Killie away and Dundee home this next week. Two struggling teams, Killie will be tough with Clarke in charge, but we can do it! GGTTH

2 points from two points in Glasgow though.

28-10-2017, 04:18 PM
Three shots on target

Booooo

SmashinGlass
28-10-2017, 04:22 PM
Three shots on target

One of which went in, compared to none of Motherwell's which went in. If anything, it's a positive that we've come away with all 3 points. Clearly we were clinical.

28-10-2017, 04:23 PM
One of which went in, compared to none of Motherwell's which went in. If anything, it's a positive that we've come away with all 3 points. Clearly we were clinical.

Not sure the poster was criticising Hibs - he may have had the competition in mind 😉

28-10-2017, 04:27 PM
Not sure the poster was criticising Hibs - he may have had the competition in mind 😉

Exactly!