View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Aberdeen

14-10-2017, 12:15 PM
Only started one match day thread this season which we won so hopefully can make it 2 from 2.

Big game today with a big crowd and a chance to close the gap on Aberdeen to 4 points.

There has been a bad accident on M8 heading into Edinburgh around Claylands junction so might delay a few getting to ER.

Think this will be a cracker today with Hibs just edging it. :flag:

14-10-2017, 12:16 PM
Good luck to the team today, cmom the Hibs!!!

14-10-2017, 12:19 PM
Mon the Hibees get tore right in about the sheepies

14-10-2017, 12:24 PM
Looks like another draw today for me ...

14-10-2017, 12:35 PM
Sky saying Stokesy is a doubt???

14-10-2017, 12:35 PM
Sky saying Stokesy is a doubt???

Has he not got a dose of the Craig Leveins?

Souter96Mac
14-10-2017, 12:59 PM
Same team as Celtic game I believe

14-10-2017, 01:00 PM
Laidlaw starts, Rocky not even on the bench. He must be carrying a knock.

14-10-2017, 01:01 PM
Laidlaw starts, Rocky not even on the bench. He must be carrying a knock.He's been given time off..his wife had a baby during week and been a few minor complications

Manager said he’s had a rough week with the new baby. So probably paternity leave

New Dad

Laidlaw, Whittaker, Ambrose, Hanlon, Stevenson, McGinn, McGeough, Slivka, Bartley, Boyle, Stokes

14-10-2017, 01:02 PM
He's been given time off..his wife had a baby during week and been a few minor complications

Cheers, I didn’t know that.

14-10-2017, 01:02 PM
Good team. 3 points today hibbies

14-10-2017, 01:04 PM
No Big Dave on bench??

14-10-2017, 01:06 PM
SUBS | Dabrowski, Gray, Porteous, Swanson, Barker, S Murray, Shaw

14-10-2017, 01:12 PM
No Big Dave on bench??

He’ll score the winner in the semi next week.

14-10-2017, 01:15 PM
Tough game against a good Dons team. Mon Hibs let’s do this

14-10-2017, 01:22 PM
Manager said he’s had a rough week with the new baby. So probably paternity leave

I’m glad we as a team do stuff like this... hate when you see player playing hours or a day after having kids. Always wondered how football teams don’t have to give paternity leave as such

14-10-2017, 01:25 PM
Match on Radio Scotland

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/41570828

hibs#1
14-10-2017, 01:26 PM
Let's do this hibs would be a huge 3 points.

14-10-2017, 01:30 PM
I know it should be expected so early in the season but the pitch looks absolutely immaculate. Hopefully encourage both teams to get the ball down and put on a show.

14-10-2017, 01:41 PM
I didn't realise Stuart Hogg was a hibee? Just saw him outside the shop - dressed in hibs gear.

14-10-2017, 01:46 PM
I didn't realise Stuart Hogg was a hibee? Just saw him outside the shop - dressed in hibs gear.

Isn’t he related to George Best as well?

houstonhibbee
14-10-2017, 01:48 PM
Did his uncle not play for us at one time. Apparently quite a good player

14-10-2017, 01:51 PM
Isn’t he related to George Best as well?

Distant relative of his granny apparently. Was just googling it and is don't recall having read anything about it.

14-10-2017, 01:55 PM
Is the left top tier of south stand open for hibs fans ???

14-10-2017, 01:55 PM
Did Aberdeen not used to have a coach called Stuart Hogg?

He looked a bit like father Jack iirc.

14-10-2017, 01:57 PM
I am going to miss the end of this game to pick up a cheap Ferrari rental here in Las Vegas. We are going to drive out to the Valley of Fire then back around via the Hoover Dam to cruise the strip back to the Cosmopolitan.

I'll be wondering about the game and if I am taking better corners than SJM.

14-10-2017, 02:04 PM
Not sure about McGinn sitting and McGeough playing more advanced. I think they are better suited swapped around but we'll see.

14-10-2017, 02:09 PM

The rugby player?

14-10-2017, 02:15 PM
Boyle is having a total mare early doors. Not tracking Logan and his passing is all over the shop. Just earned Lewis a booking with a hospital ball

HibeeLR
14-10-2017, 02:23 PM
Not much happening? How was the pizza outside the west? 😁

14-10-2017, 02:25 PM
I am going to miss the end of this game to pick up a cheap Ferrari rental here in Las Vegas. We are going to drive out to the Valley of Fire then back around via the Hoover Dam to cruise the strip back to the Cosmopolitan.

Hoover Dam is certainly is probably my favorite dam...

14-10-2017, 02:25 PM
Whittaker just hit the post a few minutes after a header was cleared of the line.

Better last few minutes after a shaky spell. Defence is coping ok and Laidlaw has had one decent save

14-10-2017, 02:27 PM
2nd late challenge on Stevenson. He got booked for one. Neither Aberdeen player has been. Consistency?

14-10-2017, 02:29 PM

Pictures required to validate your excuse, please ?????

(of the Ferrari preferably !!)

14-10-2017, 02:30 PM
Wish our players would have more confidence in hitting it early.

MartinfaePorty
14-10-2017, 02:30 PM
Come on the Hibees. Just arrived at my hotel in Mauritius and surprisingly the hotel is showing the Chelsea game so having to get my updates here!

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

14-10-2017, 02:31 PM
Stokes with a cracking ball for Boyle, who stays still and fails to get it.

14-10-2017, 02:35 PM
For all Aberdeen may be a good side they are dirty ****s.

Kick McGinn seems the sum total of their defensive plan.

14-10-2017, 02:39 PM
Too slow and standing yards off them, far too easy.

0-1.

Stevenson either never saw Mackay Steven or it's an awful error. He knows it as well.

Bollocks 1-0 Aberdeen, still in this though :flag:

hibee62
14-10-2017, 02:40 PM
I think we’re on 3 bookable offences for MacKay-Steven now...

Hope their goal makes Lennon change the formation. Never looked like working from the start.

Mr Grieves
Poor defending. Wee fud should jave been booked for his celebration

14-10-2017, 02:42 PM
Stevenson having a mare

14-10-2017, 02:42 PM
Need someone playing nearer Stokes. No support up there and ball keeps coming back at us.

Exactly the same problem as early in the semi final last season.

14-10-2017, 02:43 PM
Changes needed at HT, get Si Murray on and play 2 up front

McHibby
14-10-2017, 02:43 PM
Poor defending. Wee fud should jave been booked for his celebration

What did he do?

14-10-2017, 02:44 PM
Aberdeen getting all the decisions

Mr Grieves
This ref is a ****ing JOKE!

Aberdeen player almost takes McGeoughs head off. No free kick. McGinn makes a challenge, possibly a free kick as it was from the back but was in control and he took the ball. Gets booked.

14-10-2017, 02:45 PM
Driving run by McGinn. Stokes just about hits Arthurs Seat with the shot.

14-10-2017, 02:48 PM
The rugby player?

Yes - the British Lion.

14-10-2017, 02:49 PM
Half time.

Some good, some bad. Need to protect Stevenson as he's really toiling and on a booking, need someone showing for the ball rather than 40 yard passes out of defence and need someone getting closer to Stokes.

Proper game of football this though. Enjoying it apart from seeing our left hand side being ripped a new one.

Although mcGeough can at times look like our best player he gives the ball away a hell of a lot. Whittaker, McGinn and Slivka have looked very decent.

Stokes isolated. Boyle looks scared of Logan. To be fair, I don't think they are as good as they think they are, but the 4 of Rooney, May, GMS and Christie work really well together and link up great. Shame we can't defend.

When, oh when are we going to see something, anything done about the standard of refereeing in this country?
I've said it before, and I will repeat it, they are cheats!

14-10-2017, 02:50 PM
People want Stevenson and Hanlon in the Scotland team and they can't track a guy scared of his own shadow. Big boys league now kids.

thebausburst
14-10-2017, 02:51 PM
Boyle having a shocker, either move him to other side
Or get him off!

Turgid.

Awful.

Nothing else to say.

Boyle having a shocker, either move him to other side
Or get him off!

I'm in the south lower and I've been saying all half he looks **** scared of Logan. Switch sides and see if he's Amy better or hook him.

cjward2
14-10-2017, 02:52 PM
Lots of empty seats in the east, FF and Dunbar end. Interested to see what the actual attendance is. I was expecting a much larger crowd.

14-10-2017, 02:53 PM
When, oh when are we going to see something, anything done about the standard of refereeing in this country?

Steven McLean is far from a cheat. Not saying he doesn't make a mistake now and again but he's the best in Scotland imo.

This is awful. Again all talk in the media and can't back it up

thebausburst
I'm in the south lower and I've been saying all half he looks **** scared of Logan. Switch sides and see if he's Amy better or hook him.

100% if Lennon doesn't change this it's
A shocker of a tactical error!

What was said in the media?

Nobody making runs or looking to pass to space following the goal. By no means out of this, but gotta make a change at HT.

The static on the speakers in the East is also really loud and irritating.

Turgid.

Awful.

Nothing else to say.

Talk.

Pish.

Nothing else to say.

14-10-2017, 02:54 PM

His distribution is rank.

14-10-2017, 02:54 PM
Industrious first half but we switched off for their goal again. McGeouch and Boyle having very poor games - going forward we are far too slow and indecisive giving Aberdeen time to sort themselves out - we haven't worked their keeper yet. Poor ball retention overall and our final pass is mostly poor ... Aberdeen look dangerous going forward,. We need changes to the team if we are to achieve anything here ...

14-10-2017, 02:55 PM

I love you

14-10-2017, 02:56 PM
Industrious first half but we switched off for their goal again. McGeouch and Boyle having very poor games - going forward we are far too slow and indecisive giving Aberdeen time to sort themselves out - we haven't worked their keeper yet. Poor ball retention overall and our final pass is mostly poor ... Aberdeen look dangerous going forward,. We need changes to the team if we are to achieve anything here ...

Decent first half assessment. I concur.

14-10-2017, 02:56 PM
I thought we played pretty well and are unlucky to be behind. Opinions, eh.

14-10-2017, 02:57 PM
On this very forum this week Mclean was the best referee in the country?

What's changed?

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?325192-Saturdays-Ref

Hibs showing them to much respect. Needs Murray on to work the channels Stokes looks lost up there alone.

Turgid.

Awful.

Nothing else to say.

Really? Not what I’m watching.

cjward2
14-10-2017, 02:58 PM
watching the game on Hibs TV, and don't feel as negative as some folk do here. Pretty even game I think. We had a shot off the post, they got a goal, but have not been too threatening apart from the goal. Plenty of time to win this game.:flag::flag:

14-10-2017, 02:58 PM
Not half as bad as the usual drama queens making out. Well in this, just need a bit of luck.

14-10-2017, 02:59 PM
On this very forum this week Mclean was the best referee in the country?

What's changed?

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?325192-Saturdays-Ref

Someone's had a word in his ear 😉

Steven McLean is far from a cheat. Not saying he doesn't make a mistake now and again but he's the best in Scotland imo.

Defo one of the best, not today he’s having an absolute nightmare.

0-1.

Stevenson either never saw Mackay Steven or it's an awful error. He knows it as well.

They have targetted that pass and side of the park ..Stevenson ball watching ..poor defending but.if.he had hit mackay-steven hard early in the game he wouldn't be taking the P###the. Way he has been ..!ref has let them.away with murder mclean, mackay steven all should on yellows.
We are showing.them.too much respect at times standing.off.them ...unlucky to be behind though !!

Hibs showing them to much respect. Needs Murray on to work the channels Stokes looks lost up there alone.Agreed and Boyler far too ineffectual

14-10-2017, 03:00 PM
I dont think there's any doubt Aberdeen are edging it and Mackay-Steven is giving us a hard time down the left hand side but we're still in it. We need to get some decent service up to Stokes

thebausburst
1 up front not working, width with Boyle
And Whittaker not working, needs tactical
Change, 2 up front for me, knowing Lennon.
He'll give it 15m then make the switch to
2 in front

Hibs showing them to much respect. Needs Murray on to work the channels Stokes looks lost up there alone.

Did think that was an odd choice to play Stokes as a lone Striker, we've seen that he works well with Murray, so why not?

They have targetted that pass and side of the park ..Stevenson ball watching ..poor defending but.if.he had hit mackay-steven hard early in the game he wouldn't be taking the P###the. Way he has been ..!ref has let them.away with murder mclean, mackay steven all should on yellows.
We are showing.them.too much respect at times standing.off.them ...unlucky to be behind though !!

Didn’t Stevenson get booked for a late challenge on Mackay Steven

14-10-2017, 03:02 PM
1 up front not working, width with Boyle
And Whittaker not working, needs tactical
Change, 2 up front for me, knowing Lennon.
He'll give it 15m then make the switch to
2 in front

No subs at half time. We might be out of this in 15 minutes, why not try to get an early goal

14-10-2017, 03:03 PM

Yip - the boy only just landed.

I'd get Murray on for Boyle.

14-10-2017, 03:05 PM
Logan with a cynical foul on Boyle 25 yards out. No booking of course.

14-10-2017, 03:05 PM
Good save Lewis from the free kick. Bright start.

14-10-2017, 03:07 PM
What a shambles of a corner. They send 3 out to cover it and we still try a short one?

No way were the Aberdeen players 10 yards though. There's a line on the pitch to help the ref ffs and he still can't see it.

14-10-2017, 03:12 PM
2 strikers at home, taking games to teams af ER.

Either 442 or 352.

14-10-2017, 03:15 PM
Rooney just wide for them. Hanlon somehow allowing a cross in from the goal line.

14-10-2017, 03:18 PM
Absolutely no urgency in the final third

WillowbraeHibby
14-10-2017, 03:20 PM
Absolutely no urgency in the final third

Need a change now...

14-10-2017, 03:20 PM
Christie took McGinn out twice in 3 minutes. No booking.

Mr Grieves
14-10-2017, 03:21 PM
Everytime we break forward we're fouled

14-10-2017, 03:21 PM
Barker called in by Lennon.

14-10-2017, 03:22 PM
Boyle bullied by Logan again. Not his finest hour.

14-10-2017, 03:22 PM
Barker called in by Lennon.

Wrong player for me IMO, need a second striker, Si Murray for me

14-10-2017, 03:24 PM
Bartley replaced by Barker.

Boyle moved to the right.

Mr Grieves
He's taken the wrong player off

14-10-2017, 03:25 PM
Pictures required to validate your excuse, please ?????

(of the Ferrari preferably !!)Still watching the game from the Cosmo. Wife is slow. Got my go faster shoes on.

Come on the Hibs

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171014/4fc8682eb236d3d420b7b1525d6eaab1.jpg

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

14-10-2017, 03:28 PM
Can't believe he's not brought on Simon Murray yet.

thebausburst
14-10-2017, 03:28 PM
Almost a pen for dons, their keeper has his hammock out!

hibs#1
14-10-2017, 03:29 PM
Still watching the game from the Cosmo. Wife is slow. Got my go faster shoes on.

Come on the Hibs

Those trainers are honking mate 😉

thebausburst
14-10-2017, 03:29 PM
Dire from Hibs no threat at all

14-10-2017, 03:31 PM
Boyle half a yard away from Stokes dink.

just a bit pedestrian up top imo.

14-10-2017, 03:32 PM
Murray and Swanson both called in by Lennon but both just sit down. We really need to change something here.

14-10-2017, 03:35 PM
Swanson on for Slivka

14-10-2017, 03:36 PM
Swanson on but Murray still on the bench. Why not both?

14-10-2017, 03:36 PM
May should walk there. Almost knee high on Boyle, awful challenge.

Mr Grieves
14-10-2017, 03:37 PM
That was an absolute shocker, Aberdeen player should have been off

Immediately subbed. Dirty smelly looking bellend.

thebausburst
Still not a save from dons keeper!

14-10-2017, 03:38 PM
McGinn passes the free kick back to Lewis. Terrible effort.

14-10-2017, 03:38 PM
Every hammer thrower who gets booked is immediately subbed off. Truly dismal stuff.

14-10-2017, 03:39 PM
Still not a save from dons keeper!

He had a save from a free kick early this half. I take your point though, he's had an easy day.

14-10-2017, 03:42 PM
Great wee spell. Good save Lewis from Swanson.

14-10-2017, 03:43 PM
Murray on fot Stokes. He's ran himself into the ground today.

14-10-2017, 03:43 PM
Swanson needs to play from the start. Offers so much. One upfront at home and done nothing to test the goalie

14-10-2017, 03:45 PM
Aberdeen absolutely ripping the piss out of the ref here. He's had a day to forget.

14-10-2017, 03:46 PM
Lumping a 60 yard ball at Danny Swanson. I think we have run out of ideas.

14-10-2017, 03:48 PM
19,033 attendance, 2216 away fans.

5 minutes added time

5 minuted injury time.

14-10-2017, 03:53 PM
Full time.

I think toothless covers it. Plenty of the ball, no creativity zero cutting edge, no real clear cut chances.

14-10-2017, 03:53 PM
Still watching the game from the Cosmo. Wife is slow. Got my go faster shoes on.

Come on the Hibs

Ha-ha-ha - that's a brilliant pic - excuse validated ! Cheers !!

(as for those shoes - well ................)

NZ Green
14-10-2017, 03:56 PM
This is probably controversial but I think Barker should get more game time, he's good at skipping past players and getting into the danger zone.

thebausburst
14-10-2017, 03:57 PM
That was honking

14-10-2017, 03:58 PM
This is probably controversial but I think Barker should get more game time, he's good at skipping past players and getting into the danger zone.

He's like most of our players though, all show no go. The final ball and decision making in the final third is dismal.

14-10-2017, 03:59 PM
Poor

14-10-2017, 04:01 PM
Lots of effort again in the 2nd half, but very poor in terms of decision making and creativity - we need to play more as a team going forward instead of relying on individual actions ... very frustrating day overall - Aberdeen are a good TEAM, they were more clever on the day, and they will be happy with the 3 points.

Never been a fan of Paul Hanlon, but he is having a great season and was superb today ... deserved his MoM award!

14-10-2017, 04:01 PM
They're a negative, big, physical team. Done what they needed to win - fouled, timewasted the lot.

Must be disappointing for them given all the quality attacking players they have.

14-10-2017, 04:02 PM
Following from up in the Highlands. A match thread struggling to get to 5 pages says it all. No good at breaking teams down at home.

thebausburst
14-10-2017, 04:03 PM
We're all fart and nae jobby

14-10-2017, 04:04 PM
They're a negative, big, physical team. Done what they needed to win - fouled, timewasted the lot.

Must be disappointing for them given all the quality attacking players they have.

I'd think given they will be neck and neck with Celtic heading into November they will be anything but disappointed.

I'd be delighted to swap both points and performances with them.

14-10-2017, 04:08 PM
I'd think given they will be neck and neck with Celtic heading into November they will be anything but disappointed.

I'd be delighted to swap both points and performances with them.

I know what you're saying. Results first, performances second.

All I mean is if you have May, Rooney, Christie, Stewart in your side you'd expect a bit of flair?

norhfc
14-10-2017, 04:11 PM
Have to say they're right back was solid the day, Logan. Boyle got nothing from him, changed it around a wee bit late for me. Disappointed

14-10-2017, 04:12 PM

I don't think that any team leaving Easter Road this season will be disappointed if they take all three points home with them.

We're all fart and nae jobby

At least we have class...

Did anyone see Lennon arguing with fans in west lower near end of match?? I caught it from where I sit opp in the East. He really needs to stop getting involved

cjward2
14-10-2017, 04:13 PM
Lennon saying he needs more from his forward players and that otherwise, th team is playing very well.

14-10-2017, 04:13 PM

Come on the Hibs

Is she slow mentally or physically?

14-10-2017, 04:15 PM
No lack of effort but as has been said, the final ball today was poor. They were dirty though and the ref could easily have sent O’Connor and/or May off for terrible challenges. Neither keeper had much to do and a draw would have been s fairer result.

I thought both teams played some cracking stuff in the first half, we dominated the second but they were resolute and we couldn't get an spare inch in the box. Most days the ball breaks a bit more kindly once or twice from those situations where the ball was pinging about in the box, and we get a clear shot, but it wasn't happening. Not our day, but highly entertaining ninety minutes.

RamYer1902
Just listened to Lennon's interview and had to disagree with a lot of it. We were poor today, created barely any chances and thought Aberdeen looked pretty comfortable after they got their goal. We were definitely not 'excellent'.

Kavinho
14-10-2017, 04:18 PM
They were professional, cynical and clinical, And in one sense lucky to win.

In another sense, we just didn't create enough - ppartly due to being halved alot and the ref unwilling to be a ref

14-10-2017, 04:19 PM
Just listened to Lennon's interview and had to disagree with a lot of it. We were poor today, created barely any chances and thought Aberdeen looked pretty comfortable after they got their goal. We were definitely not 'excellent'.

Totally agree. Hibs created no chances that I can remember. Moderately better in the first half but the Dons managed the game excellently.

Hibs didn’t do anything of merit.

I hope Lennon is saying that for effect.

14-10-2017, 04:21 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWe weren't poor by any stretch which is why most fans applauded the team off at the end. Poor decision making in final 3rd but can't believe u think we were poor

cabbage_88
14-10-2017, 04:27 PM
Lennon should know that Boyle hasn't got a left foot and should never in a millions years be playing left wing. So ineffective. Was better when he moved to the right but should have been there from the start. Frustrating day all in but were a bit unlucky. Overplayed it too many times

RamYer1902
14-10-2017, 04:27 PM
We weren't poor by any stretch which is why most fans applauded the team off at the end. Poor decision making in final 3rd but can't believe u think we were poor

At Easter Road in front of a packed out crowd and have 3 shots on target. Hit outside of post in first half with a snap shot but besides that we didn't look like scoring. It's all fine and well turning the screw with 10-15 minutes to go. Another unacceptable home performance in my opinion and I thought we were poor today. Nothing better, nothing worse - just poor.

14-10-2017, 04:28 PM
Totally agree. Hibs created no chances that I can remember. Moderately better in the first half but the Dons managed the game excellently.

Hibs didn’t do anything of merit.

I hope Lennon is saying that for effect.

Apart from when Stevenson left GMS to run in clear on goal I do t remember much that Aberdeen created either? Did either goalie have any saves to make?

14-10-2017, 04:31 PM
Apart from when Stevenson left GMS to run in clear on goal I do t remember much that Aberdeen created either? Did either goalie have any saves to make?

Not really, once they scored they set up shop and scythed us down any time we looked like having a decent break.

14-10-2017, 04:32 PM
I wasn't there, but this from the BBC implies it was a pretty decent performance:

"What a brilliant game this has been. A terrific advert for Scottish football. Two top sides."

I know its early, but anyone got a link?

Two good sides cancelled each other mate. They took their chance, we hit the post and that was about it chances wise 👍

14-10-2017, 04:33 PM
I'm starting to see what I thought would happen this season, we can play teams off the park, but if you don't score goals your vulnerable to 0-1!!!!

Need to score more and stop giving chances to the opposition to hurt us!!!!

Still a good side but we need to toughen up?

14-10-2017, 04:34 PM
At Easter Road in front of a packed out crowd and have 3 shots on target. Hit outside of post in first half with a snap shot but besides that we didn't look like scoring. It's all fine and well turning the screw with 10-15 minutes to go. Another unacceptable home performance in my opinion and I thought we were poor today. Nothing better, nothing worse - just poor.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWe were poor up front I agree but we more than matched by far the 2nd best team in country...some fans on here are just way too critical imo

We are struggling to get results at home.

Not a poor performance at all, one lapse cost us against a bunch of cynical hammer throwers

cjward2

I too listened to it after I watched the game on Hibs TV, and I agree with Lenny. We did create chances, we had a shot come off the post! It's a loss, but we did not play too badly.

14-10-2017, 04:36 PM
We were ok but no better than that.

Losing to Aberdeen is no disgrace but Lennon talks about us being the second best in the SPL. We're currently heading for a mid table finish.

Things aren't clicking going forward, Stokes looked totally isolated today.

Slivka isn't a right midfielder and I don't get putting McGeough further forward than McGinn. SJM showed a couple of weeks ago how dangerous he is but he was largely wasted today, mostly picking the ball up in the centre circle.

14-10-2017, 04:36 PM
Think I'll wait for JB's post match analysis before anyone else's but it sounded as through the dons were content to defend their lead in the second half and a couple of players who can make things happen (mcgeouch as Boyle) had a bit of an off day.

14-10-2017, 04:38 PM
We deserved something out the game but you don't always get what you deserve. Good game overall spoiled for me by the ref reffing us not them. GMS should have been booked and Christie off. Their wee niggly fouls went unpunished and if we looked at them the wrong way they got the decision. We lack an attacking edge though and that's a worry.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

14-10-2017, 04:40 PM

Yes ..a stupid one ....with no contact should have made the booking worthwhile

14-10-2017, 04:42 PM
We were poor up front I agree but we more than matched by far the 2nd best team in country...some fans on here are just way too critical imo

Whether we matched them for performance today is kinda irrelevant - we lost and they are 10 points ahead of us.

We're sitting in 6th place, by no means a disaster but look at crowd today. We have the resources to be doing far better.

14-10-2017, 04:43 PM
Goals win games. So why did we start by playing one up front at home in front of a huge crowd?

14-10-2017, 04:44 PM
Yes ..a stupid one ....with no contact should have made the booking worthwhileHe caught him alright. Stick on booking. Didn't stop him tackling though. Some great challenges after.

14-10-2017, 04:44 PM
Whether we matched them for performance today is kinda irrelevant - we lost and they are 10 points ahead of us.

We're sitting in 6th place, by no means a disaster but look at crowd today. We have the resources to be doing far better.We've just came up after 3 years in 2nd tier mate in case u forgot...some fans expectations for this season are wildly unrealistic

14-10-2017, 04:46 PM
Goals win games. So why did we start by playing one up front at home in front of a huge crowd?We didn't. Stokes and Boyle played front.

14-10-2017, 04:47 PM
We were ok but no better than that.

Losing to Aberdeen is no disgrace but Lennon talks about us being the second best in the SPL. We're currently heading for a mid table finish.

Things aren't clicking going forward, Stokes looked totally isolated today.

Slivka isn't a right midfielder and I don't get putting McGeough further forward than McGinn. SJM showed a couple of weeks ago how dangerous he is but he was largely wasted today, mostly picking the ball up in the centre circle.

Mid table is our level. Lennon said 2nd best in the country in the heat of the moment after the Scottish Cup semi last season but don’t recall him saying it this season. Top six and i’d be happy. Slivka plays right midfield regularly for his country. I agree with your point about us going forward though, just not scoring enough goals.

GreenOnions
14-10-2017, 04:48 PM
Some quality play from both sides in the first half in particular. Hibs gradually got on top in the second half and Aberdeen opted to sit back and defend their lead. They did that very well - but only just. They finished the match with seven recognised defenders on the pitch (if you include O'Connor). That tells you something. I agree though that our final ball was lacking. I thought Barker and Swanson made a difference when they came on.

14-10-2017, 04:52 PM
First half very even I thought Dons slightly sharper for me. Second we had all the ball but sadly nothing in real chances. But remember either did they bar the goal. Hibs weren’t bad at all I do think we should have had Murray on early in the second half though.

Over all thought a draw would be a fair result!

14-10-2017, 04:52 PM
Well, the better team won, even tho they did get of wi murder.

How they finished th game wth 11 players s anybody's guess.

14-10-2017, 04:58 PM
6th and underachieving again, i'm glad we dont have the other ginger bloke in charge, or some folk would be flying right off the handle.

euro Hibby
14-10-2017, 04:58 PM
I think I draw would have been the right result. We should have changed a couple of players earlier as Swanson looked as if he had more guile to worry the Aberdeen defence.

14-10-2017, 05:00 PM
Mid table is our level. Lennon said 2nd best in the country in the heat of the moment after the Scottish Cup semi last season but don’t recall him saying it this season. Top six and i’d be happy. Slivka plays right midfield regularly for his country. I agree with your point about us going forward though, just not scoring enough goals.

Your probably right, a little bit of post game frustration. I do think we should be doing better than 6th, we've had a laugh at Hearts this year but they are only 1 point behind us.

I'm not sure just being promoted is a massive factor. We played against plenty of SPL teams in the cup in the last few seasons and had games against Rangers, Hearts and Dundee United in the league.

I certainly don't think our manager would settle for us being an average team in this league.

14-10-2017, 05:03 PM
Couldn’t go because of work but listening to it, we were anything but “poor” and I’m sure the experts said the same. A draw probably would have been about right but that’s football. Aberdeen are streetwise, sitting at the top of the table and losing to them by the odd goal in a tight match is no disgrace.

Bring on the next game.

14-10-2017, 05:04 PM
Dont understand waiting until the 84th minute to change the forward line and then not until 90 mins to actually play two up top - even then it was Paul Hanlon!

How many shots did we actually have on target today? We have plenty of the ball but as usual our midfield appear scared to have a dig when we have the chance.

I think we showed Aberdeen far too much respect.

Bobo
14-10-2017, 05:05 PM
We didn't. Stokes and Boyle played front.

Lennon's love affair with Boyle cost us today and will continue to do so as long as he persists in giving Boyle a starting place. No way should Boyle start up front before Murray.

Boyle offers very little other than his pace and should be used occasionally, as a sub, for the last 20 minutes in games when teams are tiring.

Aberdeen may be rated as 2nd best at the moment but played no better than a Championship team today, they are nothing special and we should be beating them comfortably at home if we have any aspirations of our own.

14-10-2017, 05:05 PM
Aberdeen played like a Scottish Championship team. Got a goal ahead and then went to literally 6 at the back. There is certainly nothing special about them. A couple of skillful players and then just fill their team with "hitmen". Case and point, they brought Dominic Ball on (barely a footballer). Rooney leads with elbow constantly or uses his arm to prevent the defender jumping. Shinnie should've been off for his tug on McGinn in extra time (he was already booked and clear professional foul). Scottish football fails because we have teams that play anti-football as soon as they get a goal in-front (no real excitement). That's also why our "product" is garbage.

Time-wasting needs to be punished (Logan and Lewis were both taking the p***). Christie running to the opposite side of the pitch and then walking off clapping should've been a booking as well. Referee standards can help improve our "product" as well but unfortunately some of the decisions (for both teams, I might add) you could see in junior/amateur football.

All that said, we had 2-3 players well off the pace. Stokes should be dropped (can't play upfront on his own and was mince today). Boyle should be dropped. Stevenson should be dropped (went tight and pressed twice at wrong times and we got punished once (the goal) and could have been punished a second time.

Hanlon was easily our best player (by a clear distance).

14-10-2017, 05:07 PM
Lennon's love affair with Boyle cost us today and will continue to do so as long as he persists in giving Boyle a starting place. No way should Boyle start up front before Murray.

Boyle offers very little other than his pace and should be used occasionally, as a sub, for the last 20 minutes in games when teams are tiring.

Aberdeen may be rated as 2nd best at the moment but played no better than a Championship team today, they are nothing special and we should be beating them comfortably at home if we have any aspirations of our own.I like the Squirrel and his pace is important. Playing on the left was the error not being in the team.

14-10-2017, 05:07 PM
Aberdeen played like a Scottish Championship team. Got a goal ahead and then went to literally 6 at the back. There is certainly nothing special about them. A couple of skillful players and then just fill their team with "hitmen". Case and point, they brought Dominic Ball on (barely a footballer). Rooney leads with elbow constantly or uses his arm to prevent the defender jumping. Shinnie should've been off for his tug on McGinn in extra time (he was already booked and clear professional foul). Scottish football fails because we have teams that play anti-football as soon as they get a goal in-front (no real excitement). That's also why our "product" is garbage.

Time-wasting needs to be punished (Logan and Lewis were both taking the p***). Christie running to the opposite side of the pitch and then walking off clapping should've been a booking as well. Referee standards can help improve our "product" as well but unfortunately some of the decisions (for both teams, I might add) you could see in junior/amateur football.

All that said, we had 2-3 players well off the pace. Stokes should be dropped (can't play upfront on his own and was mince today). Boyle should be dropped. Stevenson should be dropped (went tight and pressed twice at wrong times and we got punished once (the goal) and could have been punished a second time.

I'd swap every player they have for ours, it's a team game and they win more than most as a team.

14-10-2017, 05:08 PM

Boyle played on the left wing for the majority of the game.

14-10-2017, 05:09 PM
There are some real plums in our support and most of them have posted in this thread.

14-10-2017, 05:10 PM

Boyle played as a left winger until the last part of the game when he moved to the right. No way he was playing as a striker.

In fact, if he was, he was even worse than what I thought today

14-10-2017, 05:13 PM
Boyle played as a left winger until the last part of the game when he moved to the right. No way he was playing as a striker.

In fact, if he was, he was even worse than what I thought todayOK. I'm beginning to see the problem. I believe wingers are forwards and so play up front which was the.comment I was replying to. He's awful on the left and should be played on the right.

14-10-2017, 05:13 PM
There are some real plums in our support and most of them have posted in this thread.

Yep...usual suspects

14-10-2017, 05:17 PM
6th and underachieving again, i'm glad we dont have the other ginger bloke in charge, or some folk would be flying right off the handle.

“6th and underachieving again” Calm the **** down. We aren’t as good as some folk like to think and believe we are. Our performances in the Championship last season should be enough for folk to realise that we simply aren’t good enough to be getting promoted and sitting 2nd/3rd in the league.

14-10-2017, 05:18 PM
Just home. Thought we were the better team and unlucky not to get anything. It was like playing against one of the championship teams over the last few years - all the ball lots of effort across the pitch but an inability to break down a team who sat for the best part of the game with 7/8 men back at all times. Fair play to Aberdeen for their goal - well worked and we were sleeping.

14-10-2017, 05:18 PM
Lennon should know that Boyle hasn't got a left foot and should never in a millions years be playing left wing. So ineffective. Was better when he moved to the right but should have been there from the start. Frustrating day all in but were a bit unlucky. Overplayed it too many times

That's how I saw it. Disappointing afternoon,really thought we would have created more.

14-10-2017, 05:19 PM
Did anyone see Lennon arguing with fans in west lower near end of match?? I caught it from where I sit opp in the East. He really needs to stop getting involved

He was telling a fan to f*** off (overheard that much). Have no idea what it was about though.

“6th and underachieving again” Calm the **** down. We aren’t as good as some folk like to think and believe we are. Our performances in the Championship last season should be enough for folk to realise that we simply aren’t good enough to be getting promoted and sitting 2nd/3rd in the league.

Nah, I think we're as good as Aberdeen and could easily be better on a good day.

I wasn't expecting to be sitting second or third.

Considering the cash invested in this squad I expect the team to perform better than they currently are. Especially at home.

hibbycraig
14-10-2017, 05:20 PM
Whittaker and slivka don't work attacking wise. Not enough pace.

14-10-2017, 05:20 PM

Stokes?? He hardly got any service and when he did , rarely put a foot wrong....whilst he wasn't on fire, no way he was "mince" today.

14-10-2017, 05:22 PM
Those trainers are honking mate [emoji6]Lol. The get a few remarks for sure.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171014/d52b311ab537e50d15a67545b57d6460.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171014/c0126ef703d644c2d8eb853f250cb2f1.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171014/b5b9d6657810577542bccb0832e4cf74.jpg

He was telling a fan to f*** off (overheard that much). Have no idea what it was about though.

If the boy he was arguing with is anything like some of the roasters that post on here he's probably got every right to tell them to **** off.

Stokes was fine today. All he got was high balls.

What are folk watching

14-10-2017, 05:24 PM
I wasn't expecting to be sitting second or third.

Considering the cash invested in this squad I expect the team to perform better than they currently are. Especially at home.

We draw too many games. That was the case last season as well. Just don’t have enough quality going forward.

supermcginn
14-10-2017, 05:24 PM

Stokes should be dropped? Hahaha ran his heart out up front on his own but he was mince? The managers tactics were mince to leave him with no support the whole game! Gave them far too much respect they aren't as great as folk think they are!

14-10-2017, 05:28 PM

One of them said Hibs are playing crap and he shouted “**** off what game you watching” wasn’t an argument at all though Lennon was smiling after it along with the boys he was saying it at.

14-10-2017, 05:29 PM
Aberdeen were robust and professional today and had a wee bit quality when needed. They had a game plan and adapted it when we pushed men on. I think they both out fought and out thought us but there wasn't a huge amount in it. I thought Lennon got most things wrong today, McGeogh as a sort of deep no 10. Boyle on the left where he was completely neutralised by possibly the only player who could outpace him. McGinn after a couple of goals playing quite deep. A single forward Stokes who, although he worked really hard today, prefers to drop off and did countless times without anyone filling the space. I thought we looked like 11 individuals today without any sort of meaningful plan. That was forgivable for the first half but I thought Lennon waited too long to change it and I'm not convinced the changes were that well thought out.

There were some positives though Hanlon was excellent, Whittaker was very good in the first half but faded a wee bit. Ambrose had a very good game too. Lewis did really well after the goal which was his fault but some of the blame must go to Boyle who got Stevenson booked with a terrible pass. The crowd was pretty flat throughout and the singing section was very quiet. The ref, who is usually excellent, was terrible and let them away with at least a handful of bookings. How Christie never got booked is completely beyond me.

Lennon's interview was way off the mark for me unless he is protecting his players. One thing for sure was it wouldn't be his fault but to describe today as an excellent performance must mean he will be happy with bottom six. We were a mile away from excellent. I would stretch to ok but I think I am being generous. He was concerned by the lack of goals from forward players but he only played one up top and then when he brought our number 9 on, eventually, he took the other striker off. I'm pretty concerned with our home league form. That is 1 win, a draw and 2 defeats at home which won't be enough to keep the big crowds going for too long.

All in all another bitterly disappointing home game where we looked like we set up for a draw and although there wasn't much in it after Aberdeen scored they never looked like they would lose. Huge couple of games coming up which if they go the right way will see us rightly regarding the start of the season a success but if we get beat we may be out of the top six, out of the cup and behind Hearts and a few others who we should be ahead of.

With the investment we have made and the support we are getting, we are under achieving in the league so far. One win in four at home is really poor.

We were crap today but Aberdeen are a decent team. Not pretty to watch but they know what they're doing so I can excuse that. We have dropped too many points already to teams who have significantly less resources and aren't particularly good though.

Team still adapting to top league.

NL still learning about how good his players are at a higher level.

Martin Boyle is exciting at times but can't cut it in the big games, no disgrace in that but not where we want to be long term. Handy against the bottom half teams but a waste of space against better teams when starting.

Rome wasn't built in a day.

14-10-2017, 05:30 PM
Stokes?? He hardly got any service and when he did , rarely put a foot wrong....whilst he wasn't on fire, no way he was "mince" today.

We have different opinions. I just don't think Stokes upfront on his own works. He has zero work rate and regularly moves out wide (leaving no-one in the middle). Upfront on his own has to be Murray, he at least challenges for headers and either makes something or wins freekicks. If you think Stokes upfront on his own instead of Murray is better then we'll never agree on anything football related!

We were decent up to the final third so I just can't see how Boyle, Slivka, Swanson, Barker, Murray or Stokes could be given pass marks. Apart from falling asleep once, we were quite solid in defence and midfield generally won their battles. Upfront there was nothing. We countered a few times in the first half and Stokes, McGeouch, Boyle and McGinn wasted the opportunities due to poor passes and decision making.

As I said, Hanlon was a class act today and stood out. The rest were ok(ish) and the front players were the worst of the lot (including Stokes).

14-10-2017, 05:31 PM
Team still adapting to top league.

NL still learning about how good his players are at a higher level.

Martin Boyle is exciting at times but can't cut it in the big games, no disgrace in that but not where we want to be long term. Handy against the bottom half teams but a waste of space against better teams when starting.

Rome wasn't built in a day.

Agree with all of that.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-10-2017, 05:32 PM

Aberdeen may be rated as 2nd best at the moment but played no better than a Championship team today, they are nothing special and we should be beating them comfortably at home if we have any aspirations of our own.

I canot quite believe that what tou say is serious. You are clearly at it.

Or you dont have a clue about fitba.

14-10-2017, 05:33 PM
One of them said Hibs are playing crap and he shouted “**** off what game you watching” wasn’t an argument at all though Lennon was smiling after it along with the boys he was saying it at.

That's good. I wasn't even facing it initially but overheard Lennon shouting that. I'm further up in the West Stand and that was going on quite a few rows in front of me. Glad it wasn't a big deal.

14-10-2017, 05:33 PM
View from south-east corner (if it works)

14-10-2017, 05:34 PM
Competed well enough and probably deserved a draw but I don't remember their goalkeeper having a real save to make at any point. We were not effective enough at the top end of the pitch and our chances to goals ratio is awful.

We're not far away but we need to improve up front.

14-10-2017, 05:35 PM
I thought it was a rip roaring game that felt like a cup tie. We were unlucky to come of second best, but overall I really enjoyed the game. I wouldn’t be too critical of the team, or get too hung up on our league position. What the last 2 games have shown is that we’re right up there with the top 2 teams in this league. I find some of the negative comments quite surprising tbh.

14-10-2017, 05:36 PM
That's good. I wasn't even facing it initially but overheard Lennon shouting that. I'm further up in the West Stand and that was going on quite a few rows in front of me. Glad it wasn't a big deal.

Yeah Parker was laughing away as well. I’m right behind the dugout so could hear and see what was going on. Thankfully not a Malpas moment 😂

We have different opinions. I just don't think Stokes upfront on his own works. He has zero work rate and regularly moves out wide (leaving no-one in the middle). Upfront on his own has to be Murray, he at least challenges for headers and either makes something or wins freekicks. If you think Stokes upfront on his own instead of Murray is better then we'll never agree on anything football related!

We were decent up to the final third so I just can't see how Boyle, Slivka, Swanson, Barker, Murray or Stokes could be given pass marks. Apart from falling asleep once, we were quite solid in defence and midfield generally won their battles. Upfront there was nothing. We countered a few times in the first half and Stokes, McGeouch, Boyle and McGinn wasted the opportunities due to poor passes and decision making.

As I said, Hanlon was a class act today and stood out. The rest were ok(ish) and the front players were the worst of the lot (including Stokes).

Stokes worked hard today ...shuttling from side to side to stop the Dons defence getting free passes. Showing for most things even though it was often just a head here, or a flick on there ...

I think you had blinkers on.

There's a reason Stokes starts before Murray - his hold up and lay off play are far superior. I'm delighted to have a different opinion from you ....

I'll take the defeat as long as the players learn from it and use it to our advantage in future games - I still feel we've yet to 'hit our stride' in this league !

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
Aberdeen were robust and professional today and had a wee bit quality when needed. They had a game plan and adapted it when we pushed men on. I think they both out fought and out thought us but there wasn't a huge amount in it. I thought Lennon got most things wrong today, McGeogh as a sort of deep no 10. Boyle on the left where he was completely neutralised by possibly the only player who could outpace him. McGinn after a couple of goals playing quite deep. A single forward Stokes who, although he worked really hard today, prefers to drop off and did countless times without anyone filling the space. I thought we looked like 11 individuals today without any sort of meaningful plan. That was forgivable for the first half but I thought Lennon waited too long to change it and I'm not convinced the changes were that well thought out.

There were some positives though Hanlon was excellent, Whittaker was very good in the first half but faded a wee bit. Ambrose had a very good game too. Lewis did really well after the goal which was his fault but some of the blame must go to Boyle who got Stevenson booked with a terrible pass. The crowd was pretty flat throughout and the singing section was very quiet. The ref, who is usually excellent, was terrible and let them away with at least a handful of bookings. How Christie never got booked is completely beyond me.

Lennon's interview was way off the mark for me unless he is protecting his players. One thing for sure was it wouldn't be his fault but to describe today as an excellent performance must mean he will be happy with bottom six. We were a mile away from excellent. I would stretch to ok but I think I am being generous. He was concerned by the lack of goals from forward players but he only played one up top and then when he brought our number 9 on, eventually, he took the other striker off. I'm pretty concerned with our home league form. That is 1 win, a draw and 2 defeats at home which won't be enough to keep the big crowds going for too long.

All in all another bitterly disappointing home game where we looked like we set up for a draw and although there wasn't much in it after Aberdeen scored they never looked like they would lose. Huge couple of games coming up which if they go the right way will see us rightly regarding the start of the season a success but if we get beat we may be out of the top six, out of the cup and behind Hearts and a few others who we should be ahead of.

I dont understand peopke saying things like 'he played only one up top' as if it is defensive. Have they not been watching fitba for the last fifteen years?

Players run and move, and having one cental strike is not defensive in itself.

And i agree that Hibs played well today, really well. We were just beaten by a team who are bettwr than us. Not by much, but by enough.

Some people really dont have a clue.

Thegreenside
14-10-2017, 05:37 PM
Playing Boyle against Logan was a mistake.

14-10-2017, 05:37 PM
Stokes worked hard today ...shuttling from side to side to stop the Dons defence getting free passes. Showing for most things even though it was often just a head here, or a flick on there ...

There's a reason Stokes starts before Murray - his hold up and lay off play are far superior. I'm delighted to have a different opinion from you ....

Stokes ran himself onto the ground today and was very frustrated on multiple occasions when he turned round to see every other Hibs player 30+ yards away from him. Poor guy was absolutely shattered after 70 minutes. He also done what he could most of the time in possession.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-10-2017, 05:38 PM

Zero work rate.

Im calling it, you dont actually go to the games.
I dont belive anyone coyld say that afyer today.

14-10-2017, 05:38 PM

Stokes did very little today....but he's never been a lone striker in his puff.

14-10-2017, 05:39 PM
With the investment we have made and the support we are getting, we are under achieving in the league so far. One win in four at home is really poor.

We were crap today but Aberdeen are a decent team. Not pretty to watch but they know what they're doing so I can excuse that. We have dropped too many points already to teams who have significantly less resources and aren't particularly good though.
It’s far far too early to say we’re underachieving. Chill brother.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
I thought it was a rip roaring game that felt like a cup tie. We were unlucky to come of second best, but overall I really enjoyed the game. I wouldn’t be too critical of the team, or get too hung up on our league position. What the last 2 games have shown is that we’re right up there with the top 2 teams in this league. I find some of the negative comments quite surprising tbh.

Totally agree with this, good post.

Folk who thought Stokes was poor he was left alone with no support a lot of the game. The gap between him and the midfield at times meant he had to turn back when he had the ball and play it back or face losing it against a back 4 who knew how to handle a loan striker. Boyle offered him very little and at one point Stokes shouted to Lennon saying I can’t do it alone and he was right.

Agreed

Aberdeen must have had 8 or 9 recognised defensive players on the pitch by the end. Their celebrations showed they knew they had a battle and got away with 3 points

We'll play far worse this year and get the win

14-10-2017, 05:40 PM
Boyle played on the left wing for the majority of the game.

Exactly. He's much better on the right as we saw late on when he swapped over. And back to my original point, the solution to our goals problem does not involve playing one up front. I'm beginning to think we're doing that because we only have one decent striker.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-10-2017, 05:40 PM

I thought stokes had another really good game today.

He needs more support, but he did his bit.

houstonhibbee
14-10-2017, 05:42 PM
I like the Squirrel and his pace is important. Playing on the left was the error not being in the team.

He doesn't want to be called squirrel anymore

14-10-2017, 05:43 PM

Agree with some of that but not all of it.

The league doesn't settle down until November usually and we are still adjusting to a division we haven't been in for a few seasons.

IMO we seem to be better suited to playing away from home than at Easter Road which I must admit I find a bit worrying as most teams rely on home results to stack up points. Is four games at home enough to judge?

Aberdeen have been solid for a few seasons and I'm not sure that's who we should be comparing ourselves to.

St.Johnstone or Motherwell are maybe more likely rivals for where we should be.

14-10-2017, 05:44 PM

Really not sure why you are taking a seemingly aggressive stance? I have nothing against Stokes. If you think he can play upfront on his own, fill your boots...I don't particularly care :confused:

We started the league and Murray was in great form, his hold-up play was good and he showed that he had more to his game than we thought. Not sure why people think 1 up (Stokes) is the answer...

14-10-2017, 05:44 PM
Wish referees would do something about deliberate time wasting which Aberdeen were guilty of.At least twice when they were given the ball they deliberately let it go.

14-10-2017, 05:45 PM
The Stevie May challenge on Boyle was disgraceful. As clear a red card as you'll see. Thought Ref was brutal all day but that was particularly shocking.

14-10-2017, 05:45 PM

Did little ? No chance. He ran himself into the ground against their two centre halfs with almost no support

Boyle was terrible until moved to the right , gave no service ...and whilst Slivka and Whittaker had a bit more activity down the right , didn't get any meaningful balls to him ..

He had almost nothing to work with..but worked hard..he is the best striker we have by some distance , and until we sign someone else - is the best we have for that role

14-10-2017, 05:46 PM
He doesn't want to be called squirrel anymore

The only thing he should be called is on from the bench.

14-10-2017, 05:47 PM
Hibs old failing was there once again - unable to convert lots of possession and domination into goals.

14-10-2017, 05:48 PM
Really not sure why you are taking a seemingly aggressive stance? I have nothing against Stokes. If you think he can play upfront on his own, fill your boots...I don't particularly care :confused:

We started the league and Murray was in great form, his hold-up play was good and he showed that he had more to his game than we thought. Not sure why people think 1 up (Stokes) is the answer...

Mate. I have no aggression in my content. Just chatting about football...Surely you have seen enough of Murray to realise he can't play as a lone striker in this league ?

14-10-2017, 05:49 PM
Zero work rate.

Im calling it, you dont actually go to the games.
I dont belive anyone coyld say that afyer today.

Pity you didn't put money on that - season ticket holder for the past 4 years. Been to every home game for the past 5-6 years.

Running to close down defenders is fine but I can guarantee Murray does it with greater pace and effort. Stokes tends to jog to close defenders (I agree though that he shouldn't have had to do this on his own). I don't disagree with other people - Stokes was isolated. However, Stokes is not a player that can be an isolated striker. He doesn't have blistering pace. He isn't tall, he isn't particularly physical so I think playing upfront with him on his own is a wee bit stupid.

14-10-2017, 05:50 PM
Hibs old failing was there once again - unable to convert lots of possession and domination into goals.

I would go even further, can't create chances from all the possession.

We don't miss sitters or work their goalie, ie not creating enough.

14-10-2017, 05:52 PM
I dont understand peopke saying things like 'he played only one up top' as if it is defensive. Have they not been watching fitba for the last fifteen years?

Players run and move, and having one cental strike is not defensive in itself.

And i agree that Hibs played well today, really well. We were just beaten by a team who are bettwr than us. Not by much, but by enough.

Some people really dont have a clue.

For one up top to work you need runners. Boyle was the only one likely to support and he was played up against Aberdeen's possibly fastest player.

You are right about players moving, Stokes loves a run wide left, what was the plan when he did that. One up top can work and can be offensive but you need runners and midfield players who score goals. Not exactly a strong point for us.

If we play this well every week I doubt we will be in the top six which is pass marks for our budget.

14-10-2017, 05:52 PM
Mate. I have no aggression in my content. Just chatting about football...Surely you have seen enough of Murray to realise he can't play as a lone striker in this league ?

I agree. The only striker that we have up to speed who I think is most able to play upfront on his own is Murray. Even he isn't great at it. We should be playing 2 upfront (even playing Stokes slightly behind Murray). We desperately need Matulevicius up to speed as soon as possible because the pitches are going to start getting poor and we need another option.

14-10-2017, 05:55 PM
Wish referees would do something about deliberate time wasting which Aberdeen were guilty of.At least twice when they were given the ball they deliberately let it go.

It was embarrassing, you'd think they were a lower league team looking for a shock result rather than the second best in Scotland

14-10-2017, 05:57 PM
I agree. The only striker that we have up to speed who I think is most able to play upfront on his own is Murray. Even he isn't great at it. We should be playing 2 upfront (even playing Stokes slightly behind Murray). We desperately need Matulevicius up to speed as soon as possible because the pitches are going to start getting poor and we need another option.

We can only play two up front if we play with a three at the back. And with two centre halfs out injured that is difficult for us just now - or else I think we would be doing it more

4 4 2 doesn't work for us because we get outnumbered 3v2 in the middle of the park.

Murray has a fantastic workrate. Top top notch. Doesn't have the ability (in my view) to play on his own up front - the ball wouldn't stick up there ..

14-10-2017, 05:58 PM
Agree with some of that but not all of it.

The league doesn't settle down until November usually and we are still adjusting to a division we haven't been in for a few seasons.

IMO we seem to be better suited to playing away from home than at Easter Road which I must admit I find a bit worrying as most teams rely on home results to stack up points. Is four games at home enough to judge?

Aberdeen have been solid for a few seasons and I'm not sure that's who we should be comparing ourselves to.

St.Johnstone or Motherwell are maybe more likely rivals for where we should be.

I wouldn't judge it just on the four home games, although that is what I mentioned. I thought the points dropped at Dundee and Perth told a story. Although on the face of it you could argue a point away from home (particularly at Perth) is decent, I think the way those games went summed us up - lacking in the final third.

When I say I think we are under achieving, that isn't to say we will underachie. But I think we should have at least 4 or 5 extra points on the board which make a big difference in terms of how things look.

14-10-2017, 05:58 PM
I would go even further, can't create chances from all the possession.

We don't miss sitters or work their goalie, ie not creating enough.

I wouldn't disagree with that, based on what I saw this afternoon.

That said, Aberdeen didn't create much either. I felt a draw would have been a fair result today. Aberdeen were no great shakes and got away with a lot of cynical stuff due to a terrible refereeing performance.

houstonhibbee
14-10-2017, 06:00 PM
I thought we were too narrow. We never got behind the defense in wide areas and seemed too ponderous In possession. We seemed to play into blind alleys all the time. We were too obvious.
Also i thought our movement off the ball wasn't good enough to create any really good opening which meant we didn't created any real clearcut chances

14-10-2017, 06:01 PM
Aberdeens ability to manage the game when they went one up was pretty impressive ..they tightened it up and whilst not pretty , was very effective. If we can learn to do that we would see out more wins and clean sheets than we currently do. It was the performance of an experienced top four side ...