View Full Version : Most overused football related phrases?

04-10-2017, 09:46 AM
After seeing yet another game being proposed as a 'must win'... game 9 in a 38 game league no less... it got me thinking about phrases/expressions that are so overly, and wrongly, used they've come to be almost meaningless.

So, is almost everything being described as a 'must win' the worst or do you have another football phrase that makes you want to say "Seriously?" or just generally makes you roll your eyes?

KSA Hibee
04-10-2017, 09:49 AM
Big Team 🙄

04-10-2017, 09:51 AM
'If it wasn't for the keeper we'd have won/lost that.'

Well, yes. That's why the keeper is there, he's part of the team and is paid to help win his team games. No one ever seems to say 'if it wasn't for the left back...'

chinaman
04-10-2017, 10:12 AM
The huns are still the same huns

What_the_deuce
04-10-2017, 10:43 AM
Start quote " (Insert any Chick Young comment) " end quote.

Sweet Left Peg
04-10-2017, 10:45 AM
"Get a result"

Even if you get pumped 0-7 you still get a result. Just not a very favorable one.

Sweet Left Peg
04-10-2017, 10:47 AM

Well, yes. That's why the keeper is there, he's part of the team and is paid to help win his team games. No one ever seems to say 'if it wasn't for the left back...'

Sounds like a Cathroism

Newcastlehibby
04-10-2017, 10:51 AM
There was contact.

04-10-2017, 11:11 AM
Theres a buzz about the place.

04-10-2017, 11:13 AM
Players having lockers that contain a variety of different footballing attributes.

04-10-2017, 11:19 AM
A recent one I was thinking about, not necessarily over used, and I know exactly what they mean when they say it but still can't help thinking it's not really the correct phrase..

"low centre of gravity"

04-10-2017, 11:21 AM
All this talk about "he's playing as a number 10" or 8 or 9. I don't know why, but over the last 5 years it's become all the sky sports pundits talk about.

04-10-2017, 11:27 AM
I don’t know if it fits perfectly or not but I cringe a bit when I hear folk trying to analyse a game they watched on telly like they’re Gary Neville. “Aye they were playing the high press” etc etc

Jim Herriot
04-10-2017, 11:28 AM
"He made no mistake from the spot."
I've never heard the phrase "He made a mistake from the spot."

04-10-2017, 11:38 AM
A game of two halves - aren't they all?
We'll take each game as it comes - do you have a choice?

PercyHibs
04-10-2017, 11:41 AM
"Due a win" rubbish

04-10-2017, 11:45 AM
Not a fan of "kick on" which I think is overused and I don't think I've heard it used other than in a football context.

04-10-2017, 11:47 AM
needs to “change it up”

04-10-2017, 11:51 AM
'The best we've had since Andersson'.

A description for any goalkeeper who shows even a tiny glimpse of abiliy.

04-10-2017, 11:53 AM
'Top top'

Man Down Under
04-10-2017, 11:54 AM
I've noticed pretty much every squad member says the word 'obviously' about 5 times a minute in the post match interviews.

Sent from my SM-J320ZN using Tapatalk

04-10-2017, 11:55 AM
"He's hit that too well" when a shot is blootered right at the goalie or narrowly over.

Well no................................................ .

04-10-2017, 11:57 AM
"He would 100% improve our squad, is a class above what we have"

This usually applies to long term injured, mid 30's players who some folk haven't seen kick a ball for years, are unsure whether they will actually recover fully from injury but because they have actually played for us before or at a higher level years ago it must be true.

04-10-2017, 11:58 AM
‘He’s got to hit the target’. Repeated ad nauseum by Sutton and Craigan who were never known to put a shot wide in their entire careers.

’It’s a difficult place to go to.’ Used by every manager for every away game. Have these guys never heard of sat nav?

04-10-2017, 11:59 AM
'He' ALMOST' kept that in' or 'he's ALMOST got it away'.

Always said when someone most definitely has done either of the above.

mixumatosis
04-10-2017, 12:00 PM
I've noticed pretty much every squad member says the word 'obviously' about 5 times a minute in the post match interviews.

Sent from my SM-J320ZN using Tapatalk

This. If something is that obvious then I probably don't need you to point it out to me thanks Wayne.

Similarly, my blood boils every time I hear Mark Lawrenson say "there's no doubt about it". Erse.

04-10-2017, 12:04 PM

This. Also similar is when people say "the keeper didn't hav a save to make" even though he conceded two goals

04-10-2017, 12:05 PM
There's nothing in that, it's 50/50 (as the defender near rips off the attackers shirt as he throws him to the ground defending a corner)

04-10-2017, 12:05 PM
'He' ALMOST' kept that in' or 'he's ALMOST got it away'.

Always said when someone most definitely has done either of the above.

Yep - I think it's more prevalent with "Just about" doing things though...

04-10-2017, 12:07 PM
If you look at the possession stats we should have won that easily, err no................................................ ......it's the goal stats that count.

mcohibs
04-10-2017, 12:30 PM
Pluralising players names for absolutely no reason. 'The Lampards, the Gerrards of this world' etc.

That and 'to a man'. 'His performance today was outstanding to a man.'

04-10-2017, 12:32 PM
In and around.......... the box, team, top of the table or whatever.

In the mix.

As an aside. You have to love the attempts of Radio Scotland former players turned pundit to avoid grammatical error when offering their views. Superb molication of the language by the likes of Biscuits and Bazza / Derek Ferguson to avoid saying done instead of did. So you get Baz saying things like " he's did well to clear that one" or "Hibs huv did well do take the game to Celtic". He's went and did the business" .

MKHIBEE
04-10-2017, 12:33 PM
“The best league in the world”

04-10-2017, 12:33 PM
Stubbs' famous "at this moment in time"

04-10-2017, 12:34 PM
Saw this in a paper once, seems apt:

"You couldn't write a script like this"

If people can write scripts about dystopian futures in which life as we know it is in fact a simulation made by sentient machines to harness humans' heat and electricity as an energy source, they can probably write ones about Gary Taylor-Fletcher scoring a last minute equaliser against Stoke.

04-10-2017, 12:35 PM
Or Charlie Nicholas' "and yer sitting there thinking"

04-10-2017, 12:38 PM
'The lads......'

'The gaffer........'

'The banter.........'

'Gave me a bit of stick'........

'Delighted or disappointed'......seemingly footballers are only capable of feeling two emotions.

'Obviously'.......every sentence MUST contain the word obviously.

Stonewall penalty....

'Playing in the hole'.....I still have no idea what that means.

The use of the rhetorical question when analysing a player.......'And who's there at the back post'?........'And who is there to make the challenge'?

'It will come down to who wants it more'.....

'There's no reason why we can't win it'......Aye there is, you aren't good enough.

04-10-2017, 12:54 PM
Managers making 'audacious bids' and 'swooping' for 'key men' before the transfer window 'slams shut at midnight.'

Players giving 110%

'If that tackle had been made in the 70s......'

04-10-2017, 12:55 PM
“We go again next week”

Well of course you ****ing do. That’s how it works.

04-10-2017, 01:31 PM
The new stand should be ready in.......(fill in date).

04-10-2017, 01:43 PM
"These things even themselves out over the course of a season".

The offer of crumbs of comfort in that if you thought this week's pitiful refereeing was bad, next week's will probably be every bit as bad, only next week it might be in your favour.

04-10-2017, 01:53 PM
Hearts are now self sufficient.

Alright it never lasted long but it wasn't half said a lot at the time.

Greendreamer
04-10-2017, 02:06 PM
the over used," he knows where the goal is " ...err...yes...where they always have been

Codheed
04-10-2017, 02:26 PM
" I've seen 'em given "

What_the_deuce
04-10-2017, 02:29 PM
"We set out our stall"

In other words we played 11 men behind the ball and booted the ball out of the park whenever we had any possession.

04-10-2017, 02:29 PM
If you're going to use the word"relish" then at least use it in the context of burgers.

04-10-2017, 02:30 PM
"He's entitled to go down."

In other words...he has a decent opportunity to cheat the referee.

04-10-2017, 02:40 PM
When pundits are taking about two teams near the bottom of the league and still come out with the line that “they like to get the ball down and play”.

Any manager that adds ‘football club’ to the end of their club’s name. Seriously?!

04-10-2017, 02:44 PM
When pundits are taking about two teams near the bottom of the league and still come out with the line that “they like to get the ball down and play”.

Any manager that adds ‘football club’ to the end of their club’s name. Seriously?!

Tommy Burns was the worst for that. 'Celtic Football Club'.

04-10-2017, 02:47 PM

I really hate the unnecessary overuse of words.

It's bad in golf - players talking about "hitting the golf ball well".

Of course it's a bloody golf ball. It's not a medicine ball, is it?

Simple use of the word "ball" would have been sufficient.

04-10-2017, 02:51 PM

I think you'll find he used to say 'Sellickfootballclub', all in one word.

SonOfDavidFrancey
04-10-2017, 02:58 PM

Think Mr Stubbs had a weakness for this: 'the football club' rather than the club.

What_the_deuce
04-10-2017, 03:07 PM
I really hate the unnecessary overuse of words.

It's bad in golf - players talking about "hitting the golf ball well".

Of course it's a bloody golf ball. It's not a medicine ball, is it?

Simple use of the word "ball" would have been sufficient.

Maybe they hit other types of spherical ball regularly in their spare time so feel the need to be specific.

04-10-2017, 03:51 PM
Hearts passed the ball

04-10-2017, 03:59 PM
"He just about kept the ball in" when the player clearly did keep it in. Why do commentators use that phrase? How did it start? It's just bizarre.

04-10-2017, 04:06 PM
"Over the moon" - the obvious most over used phrase.
"At the end of the day" - we should all go to bed.
"He had too much time" - he hasn't the skill to hit the ball properly first time, or second time, or third time, or ...
"Shuffle the pack" - tactics not working, let's try putting even crappier players on.
"This is always a tough place to come and get 3 points" - this should be a dawdle.
"When Ingerlund won the world cup in 1966" - on a loop on all international football commentaries.
"The best outside the OF" - stuff the OF, lets BE the best.

04-10-2017, 04:19 PM
"No disrespect to ..." just prior to saying something disrespectful.

04-10-2017, 04:28 PM
A BBC Radio hack described Hearts performance at East Fife in the LC this season as "sumptuous"
He only said it the once but I reckon that's over use. So I put my foot through the radio.

04-10-2017, 04:31 PM
A BBC Radio hack described Hearts performance at East Fife in the LC this season as "sumptuous"
He only said it the once but I reckon that's over use. So I put my foot through the radio.

I don't think it counts if they don't know what the word actually means though:wink:

04-10-2017, 04:31 PM
Not a phrase as such, but if I hear Tam Cowan stretch out the word 'but' to b-u-u-t one more time I'm having him.

04-10-2017, 04:33 PM
Not a phrase as such, but if I hear Tam Cowan stretch out the word 'but' to b-u-u-t one more time I'm having him.

I hope you don't mean that in the biblical sense.

04-10-2017, 04:34 PM

He likes a big but does Tam.

DavidDavidGray
04-10-2017, 04:35 PM
He likes a big but does Tam.

And he cannot lie

Stokesy's on fire
04-10-2017, 04:36 PM
When the sheep say "we have the best away fans" that makes me roll my eyes! And they are generally a really boring bunch.

04-10-2017, 04:38 PM
I hope you don't mean that in the biblical sense.

If it gets biblical he'll be meeting my cast iron strap-on.

04-10-2017, 04:39 PM
If it gets biblical he'll be meeting my cast iron strap-on.

:faint:

Sweet Left Peg
04-10-2017, 04:41 PM
"No disrespect to ..." just prior to saying something disrespectful.

"No disrespect, Lynn, but"

"Oh, none taken"

"But you don't even know what I was about to say! I could have said "technically, Lynn, your life is not worth insuring"

04-10-2017, 04:55 PM
It's a team that tries to play football (presumably rather than badminton)

They try to play football the proper way (usually said in the context of a long losing run)

The manager can take us to the next level

04-10-2017, 05:20 PM
'Top top'

:agree: I really don't like top top player saying along with the Ronaldo's Messi's etc there is only one on the pitch

04-10-2017, 05:23 PM
Pluralising players names for absolutely no reason. 'The Lampards, the Gerrards of this world' etc.

That and 'to a man'. 'His performance today was outstanding to a man.'

Yeah, that one annoys me too. Should only be allowed if referring to Andy Goram.

04-10-2017, 05:23 PM
"I felt a wee touch so I went down"--must be a bundle of laughs walking along Princes Street

"He's a great gaffer" pick me for the team please

"A world class performance" slightly better than average

"We've got plenty of good players to pick from and they can all do a turn for me". I'm desperate.Anyone know where I can get a cheap left back.

04-10-2017, 05:58 PM
One that some commentator/analyst came out with two or three seasons back, which subsequently spread like wildfire:

"He's given the referee a decision to make"

often followed up with the rebuke:

"...and he didn't need to do that"

04-10-2017, 05:59 PM
It's a team that tries to play football (presumably rather than badminton)

They try to play football the proper way (usually said in the context of a long losing run)

The manager can take us to the next level

Overused perhaps but we all know what it means.

All apart from Hearts that is.

04-10-2017, 06:17 PM
"IT MUST BE A GOAL": Chick Young, a few times a week on Open All Mics, immediately before not a goal.

04-10-2017, 06:21 PM
Saved by the 'woodwork' how long is it since there was any wood used:greengrin

04-10-2017, 06:21 PM
"He just about keeps it in" No he never, he kept it in!!

04-10-2017, 06:25 PM
He knows where the goal is.

Basildon Hibs
04-10-2017, 06:28 PM
'World class'

Thegreenside
04-10-2017, 06:40 PM
'World class'

That one does my head in!!! Used all the time, which means the players can’t all be world class!!!!!

04-10-2017, 09:40 PM
Up top. Strikers now apparently play up top. Does that mean defenders play down bottom. NO IT DOESNAE. They play at the back just as forwards play up front. Like they've always done

04-10-2017, 09:54 PM
'We got the three points and that's the main thing'.

seanshow
04-10-2017, 10:18 PM
If any one uses the phrase worldy in my presence..I will be obliged to punch them in the face. :greengrin

.....and in reference to the OP, Given their form over the last 2 seasons if we fall 10 points behind the sheepies after 9 games it's unlikely we finish ahead of them in the league.
Therefore "Could do with at least a draw and maybe a win" is not quite so catchy.

04-10-2017, 10:30 PM
'They came and parked the bus.' Who did? And why is it on the pitch?

05-10-2017, 12:03 AM
A more recent phenomenon but "we go again" is very cringeworthy

05-10-2017, 12:06 AM
"All credit to the boys..."

05-10-2017, 12:10 AM
"On another day, we could have won that game"

Ehh... what day will that be and how do you know that you would have won that game if it was played on another day?

"It's not over till the fat lady sings"

Since when does the referees full time whistle sound like a fat lady? The game is over when the referee blows the final whistle, not when Susan Boyle sings!

andybev1
05-10-2017, 04:46 AM

At least you did not put your laces through the radio like I seem to hear every other week at the moment, 'He put his laces through the ball'

I can't remember what world cup it was, maybe '94, but one of the commentators mentioned that a player had 'made a rod for his own back' and after he said that it must have been repeated by various other commentators at least a dozen times throughout that world cup. Very annoying.

AltheHibby
05-10-2017, 08:24 AM
Any phrase criticising the ref from a former player who hasn't got the first idea what the laws of the game actually are makes me want to reach through the screen and throttle them like they did in the old cartoons.

And people who use overlong sentences. 😜

05-10-2017, 08:34 AM
We worked our socks off

RamblingJack
05-10-2017, 09:20 AM
It was a wicked deflection.

05-10-2017, 12:31 PM
Improper use of the word 'Literally',

...as in "he literally cut him in two".

Naw, that would be the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, ya hawfwit.

Maybe if you'd used the word 'nearly', or at a push 'practically', it might make sense

05-10-2017, 04:56 PM
"Early doors". I believe Ron Atkinson was the culprit here. Totally meaningless.

Of course, it's less offensive than when he referred to a certain French international defender as "a f*****g lazy thick n****r" - which is why he isn't on Sky any longer.

05-10-2017, 06:01 PM
" Keeping his Powder Dry "..