View Full Version : Latest cash raising exercise at Tynie - good or bad idea?

29-09-2017, 08:47 AM
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5877

So here it is folks. Don't think this has been picked up on before on here?

"Wash my mouth out with soap" but I actually quite like the principle of this latest little venture.

Forget about the financial reasoning behind it but having a 'personalised' scarf doesn't sound like a bad thing. Lots if us buy strips and have our names on the back, so why not on a scarf?

Thoughts?

Firestarter
29-09-2017, 08:53 AM
Why would you be fannying about on the Hearts website? Budge and Hertz are gimmick central. It would nice to have one I suppose if you are under 10.

hibstag
29-09-2017, 08:54 AM
ordered mine already
'spare bogroll'

29-09-2017, 08:55 AM
Cringeworthy

29-09-2017, 08:55 AM
Standard money-making ploy. Good idea. As said, folk get their name on the back of the shirt so this is an extension of that.

29-09-2017, 09:00 AM
Should have priced them at £18.75. They'd have made more money.

29-09-2017, 09:03 AM
At least it means people will have the satisfaction of knowing that they'll go straight in the bin when they get lost, rather than someone else using them.

29-09-2017, 09:06 AM
They're not flogging this as some unique Yam idea are they ?

peronalised football scarfs.

29-09-2017, 09:07 AM
I would buy a personalised Hibs scarf.

29-09-2017, 09:08 AM
They're not flogging this as some unique Yam idea are they ?

peronalised football scarfs.

https://www.giftsonline4u.com/personalised-arsenal-scarf-with-any-name.html?gclid=CjwKCAjw3rfOBRBJEiwAam-GsMbohiC4xFM6X2ypS9dvjYZo388HnGaqU5ceJVegv6rFDDoC1-pcLBoCYfgQAvD_BwE

29-09-2017, 09:13 AM
I actually feel a little sorry for them! Stuck between a rock and a hard place re the stand, costs spiralling, deadlines failing, deliveries stalling, funding diminishing and debt on the rise again! It really is desperate times for them.

29-09-2017, 09:14 AM
Panders to the oneupmanship of the typical yam. "I'm more committed than you."

29-09-2017, 09:15 AM
"Piazza"

wpj
29-09-2017, 09:15 AM
They could get one with "roaster yam tw@t" on it, one size fits all

29-09-2017, 09:18 AM
I'm happy with my Persevered scarf thanks very much - that has everything I need on a scarf.

Freaks will be trying to out do each other with their shan 5-1 and big team patter

jakedance
It’s a good idea. Classless and cringeworthy, but a good idea because people will buy it. Why would anyone want to wear a scarf with their own name on it? Weird.

NZ Green
I wouldn't buy it myself, but it's better than buying a brick.

29-09-2017, 09:20 AM
How sad are these people?

Someone at the club has set a deadline for online orders of these scarves of 5pm on Sunday 1st October. It is in bold at the end of the piece. Now that's quite a random deadline for a delivery date of early November.

That's not done by a whacko supporter, but by the club itself. It's truly a wee team mentality they have.

29-09-2017, 09:23 AM
I go to Easter Road to support hibs and to be part of the hibernian family

Football stands bring people together from all walks of life - no place for individualism

My scarf has the green and white and Hibernian - not my name but the name of the team I love

29-09-2017, 09:23 AM
This bit....

Scarves will be made available for delivery or collection at the beginning of November.

Uh-huh?

29-09-2017, 09:31 AM
What would be quite funny though is a mass of Hibs fans at the next derby holding up personalised Yam Fud scarves all with the same lettering: 'Poppy Thieves'.

Pity it would require shoveling money to them to do it. Raises an intriguing question though. Are they sufficiently strapped for cash and lacking in civic morality that if say 1000 of us placed exactly that order they would actually print a 1000 scarves with 'Poppy Thieves' to take the money?

29-09-2017, 09:31 AM
I'm happy with my Persevered scarf thanks very much - that has everything I need on a scarf.

Freaks will be trying to out do each other with their shan 5-1 and big team patter

You can bet your life that hundreds will order them so they can use it to obsess about Hibs: 5-1 will be top seller guaranteed. At least they can't use Since 1902.

29-09-2017, 09:37 AM
When I buy a scarf I want it to say Hibernian, no my name. Might be, like strips with names, a good idea for bairns, but not for adults shirley?

Edit, they look like they are printed scarfs and not knitted too, which means the name would not last a number of washes (not that thats a problem for most jambos :wink:)

29-09-2017, 09:40 AM
When I buy a scarf I want it to say Hibernian, no my name. Might be, like strips with names, a good idea for bairns, but not for adults shirley?

Yep, a grown man with his personalised football scarf. That isn't right. I'll stick to my Hibs duvet cover and pyjamas and keep it dignified :agree:

29-09-2017, 09:44 AM
She'll be selling them seats next.....

29-09-2017, 09:46 AM
It’s a good idea. Classless and cringeworthy, but a good idea because people will buy it. Why would anyone want to wear a scarf with their own name on it? Weird.

This is my view. If they know it will sell then fair enough, but the name on a scarf is who I support. Having my own name on it seems bizarre.

Wonder how many they'll sell with Skacel 5-1 on it :rolleyes:

29-09-2017, 09:51 AM
How about doing our own Hibs.net version, with our profile names on them?

That could be...um... interesting. :greengrin

29-09-2017, 09:52 AM
How about doing our own Hibs.net version, with our profile names on them?

That could be...um... interesting. :greengrin

Naked Man On Crack :tee hee:

29-09-2017, 09:55 AM
That scarf picture is primed for some photoshopping.

stonewaller1875
29-09-2017, 10:01 AM

"Wash my mouth out with soap" but I actually quite like the principle of this latest little venture.

Forget about the financial reasoning behind it but having a 'personalised' scarf doesn't sound like a bad thing. Lots if us buy strips and have our names on the back, so why not on a scarf?

Thoughts?Waste of time

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

stonewaller1875
29-09-2017, 10:02 AM
ordered mine already
'spare bogroll'[emoji23][emoji106]

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

29-09-2017, 10:04 AM
35 character limit?

That rules out an order from Brian Eno, then.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Eno

29-09-2017, 10:05 AM
£18 for a scarf!! Holy ***** they must be skint!

29-09-2017, 10:13 AM
This is just another example of Big Brother state. They will now be able to track down who is chucking their scarves on the pitch after repeated dismal displays and results under potter.

29-09-2017, 12:13 PM
Can't see the point when their mammy's already sew name labels onto all their clothes.

29-09-2017, 12:20 PM
Yep, a grown man with his personalised football scarf. That isn't right. I'll stick to my Hibs duvet cover and pyjamas and keep it dignified :agree:

29-09-2017, 12:31 PM
This bit....

Scarves will be made available for delivery or collection at the beginning of November.

Uh-huh?

I'd be paying with my credit card or PayPal.

You know, just in case.

29-09-2017, 01:58 PM
Naked Man On Crack :tee hee:

29-09-2017, 02:02 PM
Might see if they'll knock me up a 30ft long one with all their very own creditors names on it.

snedzuk
29-09-2017, 03:03 PM
35 character limit?

That rules out an order from Brian Eno, then.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Eno

Shame - once (if) the glass dome is open they could have run out to 'In Every Dream Home A Heartache'

29-09-2017, 04:11 PM
£18 for a scarf!! Holy ***** they must be skint!

Cringeworthy yes but price isn't the issue. Pretty sure we have similarly priced scarves and the tartan scarf is £25.

29-09-2017, 04:12 PM
Shame - once (if) the glass dome is open they could have run out to 'In Every Dream Home A Heartache'

SuperAllyMcleod
29-09-2017, 04:54 PM
At least they will know exactly who throws their scarf on the pitch when we pump them in the next derby at the PBS.

I wonder if they will publish a list of the names [emoji4]

29-09-2017, 05:03 PM
Might see if they'll knock me up a 30ft long one with all their very own creditors names on it.

35 character maximum. About 1 for every million :greengrin

29-09-2017, 05:14 PM
Why would you want a scarf with your own name on it unless you are 10 years old ..... bloody daft.

Policeman ..... Right you, I heard that sectarian song, you're nicked what's your name?
Yam ............. John Smith officer
Policemen ..... Not according to your scarf ya daft Yam.

£18.74 for a printed scarf ...... taking the piss.

29-09-2017, 05:15 PM
They must be totally pissed off about May 2016. If it hadn't been for that day at Hampden they would have been charging another 28p per scarf. Enough extra revenue to buy an additional chip pan.

£18.74 for a crappy twirly thing. They're having a laugh. Saying that the imbeciles will be queuing around the block to land one. Christmas on the way as well.

29-09-2017, 05:49 PM
"Piazza"

Indeed with the even more ridiculous fantasy of there being a piazza there this season to have a photo taken.

They are the club that just keeps on giving just now.

29-09-2017, 05:53 PM
Why would you want a scarf with your own name on it unless you are 10 years old ..... bloody daft.

Policeman ..... Right you, I heard that sectarian song, you're nicked what's your name?
Yam ............. John Smith officer
Policemen ..... Not according to your scarf ya daft Yam.

£18.74 for a printed scarf ...... taking the piss.

Arrested for being in possession of a stolen scarf. :agree:

29-09-2017, 05:59 PM
"Proud to pledge"

29-09-2017, 06:09 PM
Anyone heading to the Piazza Tynecastle mind and turn into Le Gorgie Rue. Clownshoes.

29-09-2017, 08:26 PM
35 character maximum. About 1 for every million :greengrinMaybe just limit it to a few of their "creditors" who were in actuality benefactors given how much money they never bothered pursuing and for how long they ignored the accrued debt.

First thing that springs to mind is one of those awful special relationship style half and half scarves. Edinburgh City Council and Heriot Watt limited edition effort should sell well.

29-09-2017, 10:05 PM

Thoughts?

Scraping the barrel. They dont actually have that many fans and they have even fewer gullible diehards so they are having to be increasingly inventive in finding new ways to exploit them. Its actually quite shameless.