View Full Version : SPL Boring Compared To Championship

28-09-2017, 11:20 AM
Missing the championship already - though I know we can never go back.

28-09-2017, 11:24 AM
How I yearn for the atmosphere of the sometimes 1 sided stadia, plastic pitches that were of the same surface as the stuff in a fishmongers windae and fan bases of 5 ten year olds singing "who are ya". Halcyon days indeed Bob, I'm with you on this one.

Coults1875
28-09-2017, 11:30 AM
I don't miss the Championship for it's terrible away stadiums. Poor away attendances at ER and always knowing we don't belong there. However, i do miss the competitive nature of the league. The cups speak for themselves and will always be our main goal apart from staying up of course but you'll never get that feeling back of dominating a league and having a chasing pack meaning each game is like a cup final.

28-09-2017, 11:37 AM
Who can possibly resist the lure of the away end at Somerset Park, with it's space age toilet facilities and charming local fan base.

Not forgetting the Central Park Tyres and the refreshment stall kettle, on the terrace behind the goals.

28-09-2017, 11:42 AM
I miss the underlying yet ever present hint of a pagger amongst us at Dumbarton.

28-09-2017, 11:43 AM
I got a pie on a roll at Alloa. I've not seen that offered at any Premiership grounds over the years.

Championship wins.

28-09-2017, 11:46 AM
How I yearn for the atmosphere of the sometimes 1 sided stadia, plastic pitches that were of the same surface as the stuff in a fishmongers windae and fan bases of 5 ten year olds singing "who are ya". Halcyon days indeed Bob, I'm with you on this one.

The Killie pitch is as bad as anything else I've seen. It's horrendous and it shouldn't be allowed at SPL level.

28-09-2017, 12:56 PM
Yes a wonderful experience full of footballers who twenty years ago might have reached the dizzy heights of Linlithgow Rose thirds.Aleague so good that the eventual best of the rest could almost give a decent game to the second worst of the Premier League.

28-09-2017, 01:13 PM
I'll miss visiting such cultural hubs as Alloa. I'll miss every team sitting in and defending for 90 minutes. Makes for quite a spectacle.

28-09-2017, 01:36 PM
Hated everything about that league. So, so boring aside from the play-offs.

Firestarter
28-09-2017, 01:54 PM
I think the cup runs gloss over the fact the league was pish. I won't miss Peter Houston or Armerilo that's for sure.

28-09-2017, 02:03 PM
I miss the underlying yet ever present hint of a pagger amongst us at Dumbarton.

Lol!

Only managed to get to one away game during our three year stint in the lower league. (Bonnyrigg Rose was a Cup game).

A 2-1 defeat against Raith Rovers. Was my lads first Hibs game.

Highlights were
- it was his first game
- the curry for lunch at that pub/restaurant by the station
- Hibs scored
-erm?

28-09-2017, 02:28 PM
Some great reasons for missing the championship. I endorse every one of them.

I'd also add: winning the Scottish Cup.

28-09-2017, 02:35 PM
Will always remember the pissing rain and cold of Cowdenbeath when I think of the Championship years. A dreich day in a dreich 3 seasons of league football for the club.

28-09-2017, 02:40 PM
Give me standing in the pishing rain at Alloa or Cowdenbeath over the cesspits that are Ibrox or Celtc Park any day of the week.

28-09-2017, 02:55 PM
For me the fact we were away for 3 years and nothing has changed is the big anticlimax!

28-09-2017, 03:02 PM
Will always remember the pissing rain and cold of Cowdenbeath when I think of the Championship years. A dreich day in a dreich 3 seasons of league football for the club.

That was truly miserable.

Getting a few beers in Cowdenbeath was a highlight though.

Wee Jimmies was the best away pub I've been to for a few years.

28-09-2017, 03:51 PM

True. I left at HT and went to pub. Literally a fair weather supporter.

28-09-2017, 04:16 PM
I think I prefer the SPL. Sure,it's boring but so was the Championship. Only the cup win alleviated the torpor.

28-09-2017, 04:20 PM

Also did this myself.

28-09-2017, 04:21 PM
Much preferred the away trips in the championship If I'm honest, at least the stadium's had character and we're fun to see. Give me raith or QoS away ahead of St j or killie any day

28-09-2017, 04:30 PM
Miss the scalding hot bovril at Palmerston. Lasts the whole of the second half.

28-09-2017, 06:42 PM
Who can possibly resist the lure of the away end at Somerset Park

One of my favourite stadiums anywhere on the planet, love the place.

28-09-2017, 06:54 PM
Parkhead on Saturday, in front of sixty thousand, in one of the great fixtures in Scottish football. Two thousand at Dumbarton, played in front of one stand, Alloa and Cowdenbeath will not be missed. I'm not bored at all; I'm loving being back where we belong.

28-09-2017, 06:57 PM

I was there that night. Utterly miserable and soaked to the skin in a stadium that could have been mistaken for the local rubbish dump. Horrendous.

28-09-2017, 07:11 PM
Alloa Akbar

28-09-2017, 09:48 PM

I only got there just before half time and folk were already leaving and telling me not to bother!

28-09-2017, 09:59 PM
I only got there just before half time and folk were already leaving and telling me not to bother!

Worst soaking I've ever experienced. Rain running down my back, claithes stuck to me. Not good. Didn't go back the following season!

28-09-2017, 10:17 PM
I got a pie on a roll at Alloa. I've not seen that offered at any Premiership grounds over the years.

Championship wins.

Incredible. Hard to put a price on such memories.

How much was it?

28-09-2017, 10:29 PM

We said we’d leave if Hibs got another goal. It finished 1-0.

28-09-2017, 11:39 PM
Also remember leaving at half time when we played Alloa in our first season in the championship due to the rain. :duck:

28-09-2017, 11:44 PM
Maybe it's a big swoosh moment for me, but the opening poster can't be serious....

29-09-2017, 12:44 AM
Maybe it's a big swoosh moment for me, but the opening poster can't be serious....

Deadly serious. I can't see what good it would be for us to be back in that league.

29-09-2017, 02:15 AM
Thoroughly enjoying this thread...folk looking at me as if I'm daft in the doctor's waiting room when I LOL.

Hang on.......

29-09-2017, 06:08 AM
Think they miss us more than we miss the Championship. Just ask Falkirk and the unemployed Obsessive, Mr Houston.

29-09-2017, 07:15 AM
We said we’d leave if Hibs got another goal. It finished 1-0.It was actually 2 1 to Hibs...we were 2 nil up and lost a goal with about 10 mins to go and it was panic stations. I remember them having a few corners as I dragged my soaked self the mile long walk behind the goal towards the end....a dreich day indeed

29-09-2017, 08:01 AM
Think they miss us more than we miss the Championship. Just ask Falkirk and the unemployed Obsessive, Mr Houston.

You're right there, the season with Hibs, Hearts and Rangers in it as not only very competitive but also some weeks carrying bigger crowds than the Premiership!!!

The money taken in around our time in the Championship, will have to last them for a long time, as you can see Dundee Utd and Inverness Caley are not exactly box office!!!

29-09-2017, 08:17 AM
Honestly, how could you NOT miss this view. One of the wonders of the modern world

https://davesfootballtravels.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/imag1687.jpg

29-09-2017, 08:40 AM

Wee Jimmies is the boozer of choice for my Fife outlaws - or at least the young team - around Christmas and New Year. I married into a huge clan of them.

29-09-2017, 08:42 AM
Much preferred the away trips in the championship If I'm honest, at least the stadium's had character and we're fun to see. Give me raith or QoS away ahead of St j or killie any day

I agree to some extent - but you've had a bit of an apostrophe holocaust there too.

29-09-2017, 08:44 AM
I agree to some extent - but you've had a bit of an apostrophe holocaust there too.

:hnetinq:

29-09-2017, 09:02 AM
Alloa Akbar

29-09-2017, 09:04 AM
:hnetinq:

In fact, those who do expect...