View Full Version : Help with my slang words collection

seanshow
26-09-2017, 10:42 PM
I'm looking for some help completing a slang A-Z alphabet for words used specific to Edinburgh/East coast that start with the letters A,E,I,M,O,Q,U,V,Y,Z.

Ive got loads for the other letters, but stuck with these.

26-09-2017, 11:03 PM
Ayeways = always
Abin = above
Ablow = below
Embra = Edinburgh
Mennon/menon? = minnow/stickleback
Yam = :jamboclow
Zoomer = zoomer

27-09-2017, 05:57 AM
Ays/Ehs - his/me (see any Irvine Welsh book for clarification).

Mantovani - F*nny (don't know if it's exclusively east coast though)

Alfiembra
27-09-2017, 10:29 AM
Yoos/Yooz - Yous gonnae no dae that

seanshow
27-09-2017, 02:06 PM
Cheers guys, I can't believe i mssed out Yam, zoomer I like also,

I'll take any others, and If someone can run their eye over the spelling of these or clear out any you feel are more west coast or English etc.

Baffies
Bairn
Bam
Barry
Biscuit ersed
Boak
Bunker
Burd
Chored
Chum
Deek
Dinnae
Doss
Fae
Feart
Foostie
Gadgey
Gantin
Gash
Hing oot
Jenn Up
Ken
Lavy
Nash
Nippy
Pagger
Radge
Reekin
Scoobie
Scran
Shan
Swedgin
Tan
Teapot
Wifey

27-09-2017, 02:14 PM
Where did the word swedgin come from? Never heard it before trainspotting and still never heard anybody say it.

27-09-2017, 02:32 PM
weegie = Glaswegian (that must be a Embra word :wink:)
on the skite = on the bevvy
braemar = first class/great
hoochin'/heavin' = the place was full
dreep = get down from a wall by hanging from the top & letting go
cairrycod = piggyback
guider = soapcart
clipshear = earwig
slater = woodlouse
keep shot = keep lookout
stooshie = a wee bit of a disturbance

27-09-2017, 03:09 PM
These are mostly scots not slang. I'd be downloading this for words https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ssd.sld

27-09-2017, 03:13 PM
Cheers guys, I can't believe i mssed out Yam, zoomer I like also,

I'll take any others, and If someone can run their eye over the spelling of these or clear out any you feel are more west coast or English etc.

Jenn Up

As far as I'm aware the phrase is "Gen up".

27-09-2017, 03:49 PM
weegie = Glaswegian (that must be a Embra word :wink:)
on the skite = on the bevvy
braemar = first class/great
hoochin'/heavin' = the place was full
dreep = get down from a wall by hanging from the top & letting go
cairrycod = piggyback
guider = soapcart
clipshear = earwig
slater = woodlouse
keep shot = keep lookout
stooshie = a wee bit of a disturbance

A guider is known as a bogey north of the bridge.

Neebor (friend) and braw (good) are two others.

07-10-2017, 09:42 AM
Dovering = being half asleep in bed or on a chair.

beensaidbefore
07-10-2017, 11:03 AM
Mochit - very dirty, ie caked in mud.

Erchie (sp) - your bum

07-10-2017, 05:16 PM
Cludgie = bog

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

07-10-2017, 05:21 PM
Cludgie = bog

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk