View Full Version : Kyle Lafferty gambling addiction (merged threads)

26-09-2017, 10:52 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/41239996

Good luck to the guy sorting this out, and don't worry Kyle, we've plenty of other things to slag you and your team for without resorting to this. :wink:

Hibs4185
26-09-2017, 10:54 AM
I know a gambling addiction or any addiction shouldn't be laughed at but just found this.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/my-names-kyle-lafferty-im-11237699.amp

Can't believe we signed stokes instead of Laugherty. Those lucky big stand window lickers beat us to him....what a shame!

26-09-2017, 10:55 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/41239996

Good luck to the guy sorting this out, and don't worry Kyle, we've plenty of other things to slag you and your team for without resorting to this. :wink:

Was just about to post this too!

Hope he can get rid of the demons.

26-09-2017, 10:56 AM
Fair play to him for speaking out about it. It can't be easy and you're naive if you think we haven't had players with the same addiciton. I remember Brebner having issues.

Certainly not something I'd take the piss out of him for.

Hibs4185
26-09-2017, 11:01 AM
Fair play to him for speaking out about it. It can't be easy and you're naive if you think we haven't had players with the same addiciton. I remember Brebner having issues.

Certainly not something I'd take the piss out of him for.

thats why I started the post with I know it shouldn't be laughed at. After all the noise our neighbours made about beating us to lafferty, I was merely trying make the point that we dodged a bullet by not pursuing him. thankfully we ended up with stokesy!

Off the bar
26-09-2017, 11:02 AM
I know a gambling addiction or any addiction shouldn't be laughed at but just found this.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/my-names-kyle-lafferty-im-11237699.amp

Can't believe we signed stokes instead of Laugherty. Those lucky big stand window lickers beat us to him....what a shame!

You know Stokesy has had his problems with gambling right?

Regardless of the team he plays for or what a massive fud he is laughing at his addiction is pretty low. I hope he sorts himself out and can stay out the bookies, gambling can be a brutal and unforgiving addiction.

Full interview with Tom English on the BBC is an honest, open good read http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/41239996 although surely the photo editor could have found a better picture of him and his mrs?

Lendo
26-09-2017, 11:05 AM
Hate the man with a passion. BUT fair play to him for speaking so candidly about something which is really a massive problem (not just for footballers)

26-09-2017, 11:06 AM
Good luck to him (off the field)

26-09-2017, 11:06 AM
You know Stokesy has had his problems with gambling right?

Regardless of the team he plays for or what a massive fud he is laughing at his addiction is pretty low. I hope he sorts himself out and can stay out the bookies, gambling can be a brutal and unforgiving addiction.

Full interview with Tom English on the BBC is an honest, open good read http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/41239996 although surely the photo editor could have found a better picture of him and his mrs?

Staying out the bookies is probably quite easy.

Staying off gambling apps on your phone can be an altogether more difficult thing.

26-09-2017, 11:12 AM
Seems to be a common theme with footballers, and there's probably a lot who keep it to themselves.

Apart from Stokes which has been documented previously and is hopefully now out of it I understand there are one or more who are currently in the first team squad suffer from the same ailment.

Hopefully I have been given duff information and before anyone asks I wouldn't even contemplate divulging names.

26-09-2017, 11:16 AM
Good luck to the guy.

Did he just admit to having an affair with Austin McPhee in there though? :wink:

26-09-2017, 11:35 AM
Seems to be a common theme with footballers, and there's probably a lot who keep it to themselves.

Apart from Stokes which has been documented previously and is hopefully now out of it I understand there are one or more who are currently in the first team squad suffer from the same ailment.

Hopefully I have been given duff information and before anyone asks I wouldn't even contemplate divulging names.

I think a lot of free time and a fair amount of cash in the pocket for young guys probably plays a part. There's increasing evidence that gambling addiction is more prevalent in people who have had a big win or 2 early in their gambling 'careers' and they are constantly chasing that high.

Anyway good luck to Kyle Lafferty and good on him for speaking out.

26-09-2017, 11:41 AM
I'm lost as to why this was reported today and why he is being interviewed for it? He announced his problems years ago....i assume they are just trying to hide some other bad news.

26-09-2017, 11:50 AM
It appears that gambling, especially online, is becoming an increasingly big problem, so well done to him for speaking out about this.

Hopefully it helps spark a bigger debate.

I've seen the results of people addicted to drink and gambling and it really aint pretty.

26-09-2017, 11:52 AM
I'm lost as to why this was reported today and why he is being interviewed for it? He announced his problems years ago....i assume they are just trying to hide some other bad news.

EVERYONE LOOK AT KYLE LAFFERTY, HE HAS PROBLEMS, DISCUSS

p.s. our new stand won't be ready for another 4 months......

26-09-2017, 11:54 AM
If he wasn't a football player he'd just be another victim of the scourge of gambling and nobody would care. I don't see that him going public adds anything to the debate.

26-09-2017, 11:54 AM
Any addiction isn't to be laughed at. Guy is a grade A welt but hope he the help he needs.

JIm
26-09-2017, 12:02 PM
If he wasn't a football player he'd just be another victim of the scourge of gambling and nobody would care. I don't see that him going public adds anything to the debate.

What a load of drivel. Anyone who is in the public eye and has the courage to come forward and discuss their illness whether gambling, mental health etc should be commended. The more open debate the better and the more that young men feel that they can speak about these types of issues the better.

26-09-2017, 12:14 PM
No sympathy for him at all. Billy big time who got caught.

Where's the Ian Black love in? I don't remember him getting any sympathy after all his bets.

How about a big well done to the hundreds of players who manage to avoid going to the bookies each day?

26-09-2017, 12:14 PM
thats why I started the post with I know it shouldn't be laughed at. After all the noise our neighbours made about beating us to lafferty, I was merely trying make the point that we dodged a bullet by not pursuing him. thankfully we ended up with stokesy!

You do realise Stokesy had a bad gambling habit as well.

26-09-2017, 12:16 PM
I know two people who have suffered from gambling addictions and in both cases it wrecked their lives and ruined marriages. Grim stuff.

26-09-2017, 12:25 PM
What a load of drivel. Anyone who is in the public eye and has the courage to come forward and discuss their illness whether gambling, mental health etc should be commended. The more open debate the better and the more that young men feel that they can speak about these types of issues the better.

Aye, cause it worked when Jimmy Greaves, Stan Bowles and George Best openly discussed their problems didn't it.

26-09-2017, 12:30 PM
Aye, cause it worked when Jimmy Greaves, Stan Bowles and George Best openly discussed their problems didn't it.How do you know that their experiences didn't help someone out there?

This is about awareness-raising, and providing role models for people in similar circumstances. If KL's experience leads one person to get help, that's a win.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

26-09-2017, 12:31 PM

Am I just cynical that he has heard similar stories to us and decided to come out with this now?

26-09-2017, 12:33 PM
Aye, cause it worked when Jimmy Greaves, Stan Bowles and George Best openly discussed their problems didn't it.

I don't think anybody's claiming that one person's experience is going to change everything, but the more people that put the issue out in the open, the better.

26-09-2017, 12:35 PM
Fair play to Lafferty for speaking about this publicly. I don't see that he has anything to gain but, in doing so he may help others who have problems with addiction.

I'm guessing those criticising him are fortunate enough not to have been affected by addiction in their lives or the lives of those they care about.

26-09-2017, 12:37 PM
Am I just cynical that he has heard similar stories to us and decided to come out with this now?

Dunno mate, as Underscore stated earlier there is no obvious reason why this has come out now.

Unless he's got knowledge of something else that may be about to hit the fan.

26-09-2017, 12:39 PM
How do you know that their experiences didn't help someone out there?

This is about awareness-raising, and providing role models for people in similar circumstances. If KL's experience leads one person to get help, that's a win.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

Their openness about their experiences of drink, drugs and gambling (mental health is different) may have stopped some youngsters going down that road but once the addiction has a grip it's unlikely they'll listen to some vastly overpaid "celebrity" saying "Look what I had, and I f...cked the lot." in the press.

26-09-2017, 12:40 PM
Hope he beats the demons of gambling then he can concentrate on trying to control himself from leaving jobbies in other players baths. :faf::faf:

26-09-2017, 01:10 PM
Hope he beats the demons of gambling then he can concentrate on trying to control himself from leaving jobbies in other players baths. :faf::faf:

Did he have a wager on whether he'd do that or not though? That's the question.

Delboy4
26-09-2017, 01:20 PM
I'm not keen on him but I really do hope he gets through his gambling problem. Not going into details but I've had to deal with this with family and believe me "it's hard" seeing someone you love
trying to sort their demons!

The Government should be cracking down with the bookies but most probably they receive money from them on the QT. You go to countries like Dubai or Spain and you can't bet on line and the high streets are not
littered with bookmakers shops, which in my opinion is brilliant. We should take a leaf out their book.

This is a paragraph from Kevin Twaddle's Interview by the EEN back in 2013 - I would imagine the figures are a lot worse!

Recently details emerged of the staggering sums of money pumped into bookies’ fixed odds gaming machines – £129 million a year in Leith and north Edinburgh alone – hinting that many may be in the grip of a new wave of gambling fever.
The figures aren’t much better for the constituency area of Edinburgh East – which covers Craigmillar, Duddingston, Meadowbank and Portobello. Punters there spend around £98m a year, according to the Campaign for Fairer Gambling.

Some read...

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/ex-hearts-player-kevin-twaddle-tells-of-gambling-addiction-1-2820656

26-09-2017, 01:40 PM

26-09-2017, 01:48 PM
Sometimes Hibs Net does restore your faith in humanity. Well done to the great majority of sympathetic posters on here. I can't imagine the same standard prevailing in a city 40 galaxies away! Anyway, not to make light of it but thank goodness he has a perfect role model in his manager!!

26-09-2017, 01:58 PM
Good luck to him but having a boss who's an addict too is a terrible idea when it comes to managing his problems.

26-09-2017, 02:06 PM
Good luck to him but having a boss who's an addict too is a terrible idea when it comes to managing his problems.

If he keeps him straight, Potter will be able to tap him when he's short.

26-09-2017, 02:08 PM
I had maybe still do have it. Been to GA. Not interested in Horses/Dogs only football.

No matter what you win its never enough and Im glad to say not bet on a football match in now 19 months.

Juice-Terry
26-09-2017, 02:15 PM
"I used to hate playing at Tynecastle when I was with Rangers. The fans were on top of you and there was so many of them." Aye, very good Kyle.

26-09-2017, 02:36 PM
I had maybe still do have it. Been to GA. Not interested in Horses/Dogs only football.

No matter what you win its never enough and Im glad to say not bet on a football match in now 19 months.

:aok: well done, keep it up mate.

26-09-2017, 03:54 PM
Good luck to him and sounds like McPhee is a decent guy.

Probably best to not get advice from Craig Levein on this on Kyle....

26-09-2017, 03:59 PM
I also wish him well with his problem. It must be a very difficult thing to live with, not least for his family.

26-09-2017, 04:10 PM
I have every sympathy with Lafferty, having seen the misery it inflicted on a close family member, who, fortunately, after confronting his demons and attending G.A., has found another less damaging-on-his-pockets addiction.

26-09-2017, 04:26 PM
Gambling has to be one of the worst addictions around. It's so easy nowadays and simple to keep hiding until you've lost everything.

Not his biggest fan but fair play for him speaking out.

In terms of the timing it's all just speculation.

26-09-2017, 05:23 PM
has he admitted to gambling on football? could there be punishment like Barton?

26-09-2017, 06:00 PM

Hope he sorts himself out.

He joined Hearts, does that count as a football gamble?

26-09-2017, 06:10 PM

He's already been fined £23k.

26-09-2017, 07:54 PM

I hope you have too and can't understand why, with your understanding, you would feel the need to put that wee snippet on here. Takes the In The Know **** to whole new levels this doesn't it?

26-09-2017, 08:13 PM
Credit to him on confronting his demons and even more so speaking about it. No it probably won't make any difference to those already on a similar path, but if it stops others getting quite so far then it's well worth doing.

With gambling apps, virtual betting in the bookies and the like it's scary how easy it is to fall in to these things. I must admit that I sometimes get a bit giddy, especially the the 'bet £25 in a week and get a £5 free bet' kind of thing, but thankfully I'm far too careful about my money that I keep an exact track of my profit/loss on that front. Had to delete a good few accounts beforehand though and blocked myself from the online casinos etc.

26-09-2017, 08:20 PM
I do a 5 quid football acca on a saturday and thats my lot gambling wise.

26-09-2017, 08:49 PM
Thank god that alcohol, cocaine and sex are my personal life-wrecking addictions and that I had zero interest in gambling.

I would have to have nothing to show for all those years of screwing things up.

26-09-2017, 10:08 PM
I'd like to see whopping great taxes imposed on betting. Get these bloodsuckers to pay for some of the damage they cause.

26-09-2017, 11:28 PM
Gambling addiction is a big problem in this country and the worst part is that a lot of people don't realise that it is a big problem.

Personally, I feel as though Hibs could be doing without association with a horrible betting company. Yes, they appear to do a lot of good. Gambling companies want to appear to be your mate, with the Morton away day, Santa hats etc. They want to seem to be down with the boys, see Paddy Power on Twitter. But at the end of the day they target vulnerable people to get their money. If we want to build a successful community club, get Marathon Bet to ****.

JOD
27-09-2017, 02:15 AM
All I can say to this thread as a retired Bookie

Is **** the Hearts

27-09-2017, 03:49 AM
Gambling addiction is a big problem in this country and the worst part is that a lot of people don't realise that it is a big problem.

Personally, I feel as though Hibs could be doing without association with a horrible betting company. Yes, they appear to do a lot of good. Gambling companies want to appear to be your mate, with the Morton away day, Santa hats etc. They want to seem to be down with the boys, see Paddy Power on Twitter. But at the end of the day they target vulnerable people to get their money. If we want to build a successful community club, get Marathon Bet to ****.

To be fair, it's not just gambling companies after your hard earned cash. I wouldn't say marathon bet are any worse in targeting potential revenue than any other company, and are less so on the 'pally pally' marketing techniques of their competitors.

Out of interest, I wonder if anyone has switched their bookie of preference to MB due to their Hibs links, I haven't.

27-09-2017, 05:22 AM

you could say the same for almost every business in the world though, granted not all these companies give the opportunity to win money but they all try to manipulate their customers and get them to spend their money with them rather than someone else

MacGruber
27-09-2017, 05:55 AM
I can't wait until he pitches up at Easter

I'll be giving him it tight and ripping the utter piss out of him.

He's given us great ammo, and I'll be using it to shout...

Lafferty... you're crap at football

27-09-2017, 05:57 AM
Advertising for other harmful products has been banned or heavily restricted. Gambling advertising is everywhere.

TheHarpy76
27-09-2017, 07:15 AM

Am I just being cynical or would you share the same view if the player in question wasn't a Hearts player?
If it was one of our own would your opinion be the same?

I think it's a good thing when people in high profile jobs come out public with these addictions as it usually spurs people in the general public to seek help if they have the same problem.

27-09-2017, 07:45 AM
To be fair, it's not just gambling companies after your hard earned cash. I wouldn't say marathon bet are any worse in targeting potential revenue than any other company, and are less so on the 'pally pally' marketing techniques of their competitors.

Out of interest, I wonder if anyone has switched their bookie of preference to MB due to their Hibs links, I haven't.

No not me, as posted earlier the sum total of my gambling is a fiver acca on the football, which I pop into the local bookies to place here or Willie Hills on Leith Walk if Im in Edinburgh. Havent got any online accounts.

27-09-2017, 10:16 AM
I hope you have too and can't understand why, with your understanding, you would feel the need to put that wee snippet on here. Takes the In The Know **** to whole new levels this doesn't it?

Nah, you've missed the point entirely.

Nothing to do with ITK at all which I've never claimed to be.

It was more to do with anybody looking to gloat about Lafferty then they have to consider that there could well be these problems at any club including our own.

27-09-2017, 10:19 AM
I only gamble once a year and that's on Cheltenham gold cup day, where me and a few mates spend the afternoon doon the boozer betting on the races, a wee tradition that's been going for years now. That one day every year reinforces to me why gambling is a mugs game :greengrin

Back in the 80s I had a period where I was addicted to the bandit in the pub ..... I was paid weekly in those days and one Friday I lost nearly half my pay in a few hours and had to go home and tell my wife a lie about how I was so short of money. That was a shameful thing to do and in the 30 odd years from that day until this I doubt if my total input into 'bandits' comes to £100.

IMO the reason I was able to lose so much money in such a short period of time that day was that I was able to chase my losses so easily .... and that to me is why gambling addiction is now becoming such a problem ... with a hand held electronic device anybody can place a bet on practically anything 24 hours a day 7 days a week .... housewives who used to bet once a year on the Grand National, or spend a few quid down the bingo once a week are now being specifically targeted with things like mobile bingo apps.

Back in the day there was as much chance of seeing a woman in a bookies shop on her own as it was to see a female drinking in the pub on her own .... now that cultural taboo has been circumvented by home betting and I'm willing to bet ( no pun intended ) that the percentage of women with a gambling problem has risen markedly in the last 10 years as a result.

IMO this isn't a case of advertising being the problem so much as availability and ease of access ......... That's the issue which needs to be addressed, how that is done would have to be tackled by smarter folk than me.

Mr_F
27-09-2017, 10:24 AM
I can't wait until he pitches up at Easter

I'll be giving him it tight and ripping the utter piss out of him.

He's given us great ammo, and I'll be using it to shout...

Lafferty... you're crap at football

Better be a massive amount of betting slips available that night....

hibee316
27-09-2017, 10:44 AM

Better be a massive amount of betting slips available that night....

Think you missed the point of the post you quoted.. .

27-09-2017, 10:55 AM
Am I just being cynical or would you share the same view if the player in question wasn't a Hearts player?
If it was one of our own would your opinion be the same?

I think it's a good thing when people in high profile jobs come out public with these addictions as it usually spurs people in the general public to seek help if they have the same problem.

I think you have missed my point mate. I totally agree that this is a good thing and hope he gets the help and support he needs. And I also hope it helps other people talk about it too

My cynicism related to the timing