View Full Version : Match Updates Ross County 0 v Hibernian 1 (Hanlon) FT

23-09-2017, 01:02 PM
Match day is back in league action up at Dingwall.

Can we get a win today?

Match updates here :flag:

23-09-2017, 01:03 PM
Dylan in for Slivka
Murray in for Swanson

23-09-2017, 01:09 PM
Looking thin on the bench.

Barker’s out

23-09-2017, 01:11 PM
thought swanson would have started today

23-09-2017, 01:12 PM
Laidlaw keeps his place. C'mon Hibs 3 points please.

23-09-2017, 01:14 PM
Exactly the team I would have picked so if it all goes wrong I can't moan about the gaffer today:greengrin

23-09-2017, 01:17 PM
Teamsheet?

Scottiedog007
23-09-2017, 01:22 PM

23-09-2017, 01:24 PM
HIIIIIIBEEEEEES!:flag::flag::flag:

23-09-2017, 01:25 PM
As mentioned, a bit thin on the ground on the bench. Happy to see LS16 back in as it allows Whittaker to move to the right where he's definitely more comfortable.

3 points please, especially vital before an away trip to Septic Park where, realistically, coming away with anything would be a bit of a Brucie Bonus

23-09-2017, 01:28 PM
HIIIIIIBEEEEEES!:flag::flag::flag:

I concur.

yonder1875
23-09-2017, 01:29 PM
'Mon the Hibs!

23-09-2017, 01:31 PM
Not sure how some think we are weak on the bench. 3 internationals, Swanson and 3 very talented youngsters

23-09-2017, 01:32 PM

Cheers.

We've got some good kids on the bench if we need them.

23-09-2017, 01:33 PM
Exactly the team I would have picked so if it all goes wrong I can't moan about the gaffer today:greengrin

4-3-3?

Looks tidy to me.

23-09-2017, 01:34 PM

Stokes left and Boyle right with Murray poaching? Or will it be Stokes and Murray as two up top and McGinn or McGeough pushed wide?

23-09-2017, 01:35 PM
Positively Mediterranean in Dingwall. 3 points in the sun please

Big90inOz
23-09-2017, 01:37 PM
Looks a good side, just a pity Ross County do not show their games on line.

23-09-2017, 01:39 PM
We will win.

skyehibee
23-09-2017, 01:41 PM
In sunny Mykonos will be listening on hibs tv shortly with beer in hand by the pool

23-09-2017, 01:43 PM
Team looks good today, we have a good chance of picking up the points. Glad to see Lewis and Dylan back in the side.

23-09-2017, 01:50 PM
Stokes left and Boyle right with Murray poaching? Or will it be Stokes and Murray as two up top and McGinn or McGeough pushed wide?

I hope so. As long as it isn't the weird shape we had midweek with Boyle as the only winger.

23-09-2017, 01:58 PM
Think Slivka would do well playing where Bartley usually does? Seems to have a bit of bite about him.

23-09-2017, 02:00 PM
Green and White strips today

23-09-2017, 02:02 PM
We scored yet?

HNA7
23-09-2017, 02:03 PM
Remember you can use i-spy for updates too.

http://www.hibs.net/vaispy.php

23-09-2017, 02:05 PM
killie pies 0 Dundee 1

23-09-2017, 02:10 PM
Boyle shot just over the bar.

hibs tv commentary approx 1 min behind open all mics :confused:

All Hibs so we know what's coming

Getting Dylan back in is the main change I'd have wanted.

I thought Laidlaw did fine on Tuesday and deserves to keep his place.

I'd have dropped Ambrose but I fully understand why Lennon wouldn't drop an experienced Internationalist for a relatively untried youngster.

23-09-2017, 02:13 PM
goal hibs :thumbsup: hanlon

TheReg!
23-09-2017, 02:13 PM
Boom 1-0 Hibs

23-09-2017, 02:14 PM
Green and White strips today

For a moment I thought that read green & white stripes :worried:

Hanlon scores! Get in!!

Hanlon 1-0 from a corner :thumbsup:

DarrenSQH
Yes! Well done Paul.

Yaaassss

oldbiker
23-09-2017, 02:15 PM
Paul Hanlon ya dancer :greengrin

For a moment I thought that read green & white stripes :worried:

i did consider editing to home strips today :greengrin

Great start. Push on and win this Hibs.

23-09-2017, 02:16 PM
From a corner? ..... cannae be right :greengrin

Yes, nice and early, let get on and hammer a few more in:thumbsup:

Borderlands
hibs tv commentary approx 1 min behind open all mics :confused:

Do you have a link please

23-09-2017, 02:17 PM
Do you have a link please

for hibs tv ?

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/dashboard

or BBC ?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/scotland/41322378

Get in !

Going by the BBC updates it looks like an Alamo style assault by Hibs at the minute.

Borderlands
23-09-2017, 02:18 PM
for hibs tv ?

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/dashboard

or BBC ?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/scotland/41322378:wink:

23-09-2017, 02:20 PM
Cmon Hibs

23-09-2017, 02:22 PM
cliff "draper all over Bartley like a cheap suit" :hilarious

I read somewhere that only 4%of corners result in a goal directly. Which makes you wonder why fans always applaud like mad when we win one.

Paul beats the odds:flag:

vercol36
BBC live text is p*sh these days.

23-09-2017, 02:23 PM
BBC live text is p*sh these days.

Aye but its better than the updates here?

23-09-2017, 02:25 PM
Hibs twitter is where to go for updates.

st.johnstone 0 Hamilton 1

vercol36
Aye but its better than the updates here?

Haha very true! I'm trying to fuse both to build a picture in my mind...

Oh Paul Hanlon you beautiful man! :greengrin:greengrin

vercol36
23-09-2017, 02:26 PM
Hibs twitter is where to go for updates.

:aok: Obliged

Walter
I refuse to acknowledge this goal because it is a Hibs.net fact that we are rubbish at corners

cheers, hibs twitter it is.

23-09-2017, 02:27 PM
1-0 Real madrid

23-09-2017, 02:28 PM
cliff "draper all over Bartley like a cheap suit" :hilarious

That's one of his staple clichés.

23-09-2017, 02:32 PM
1-0 Real madrid

who've they got? Hamilton?

Bizarrely despite the talk of crisis on here this week, we currently sit third.

18Hibee75
What's the hibs crowd like?

23-09-2017, 02:34 PM
According to bbc guy it's all Ross County since the goal

23-09-2017, 02:34 PM

Men , women , children......mostly wearing green

23-09-2017, 02:35 PM

Wearing green, mostly from Edinburgh, has a notable dislike of the Hearts.

vercol36
23-09-2017, 02:37 PM

I heard there's a few smart ***** among them as well :greengrin

23-09-2017, 02:38 PM

:agree: superb start to season if things stay the same.

23-09-2017, 02:38 PM
I heard there's a few smart ***** among them as well :greengrin

The term is "In the know" :greengrin

23-09-2017, 02:39 PM
All Ross County since we scored according to open all mikes tame Yam ...... anybody at the game able to pinpoint why we have surrendered the initiative?

who've they got? Hamilton?

Alaves

Its going to be a scrap for every point, no crisis of course, but if we lose, other scores stay the same, and Hearts win, we are 8th.

23-09-2017, 02:41 PM
Not bad going for the newly promoted team

23-09-2017, 02:46 PM
Ht 0-1

23-09-2017, 02:46 PM
All Ross County since we scored according to open all mikes tame Yam ...... anybody at the game able to pinpoint why we have surrendered the initiative?

BBC Live Text paints a different story, both teams pushing, Hibs looking more likely to score

23-09-2017, 02:47 PM
Are ST Johnstone starting to lose their halo?

23-09-2017, 02:48 PM

Ruining my coupon at the moment

23-09-2017, 02:48 PM
Its going to be a scrap for every point, no crisis of course, but if we lose, other scores stay the same, and Hearts win, we are 8th.u

Let me guess,,,,,, you're not a motivational speaker are you?:greengrin

23-09-2017, 02:49 PM
Liam Henderson watching the game on periscope apparently!

Periscope feed and Hibs twitter saying the opposite.

All going well at the game. Guy behind me hasn't noticed it's Laidlaw in goals and is screaming at Marciano to come for crosses that are miles away. Poor guys on the bench. You do get some ********s.

23-09-2017, 02:51 PM
u

Let me guess,,,,,, you're not a motivational speaker are you?:greengrin

Not by day... :wink:

23-09-2017, 02:51 PM
Bright start. Faded a little but playing well and had by far more chances. Front 3 doing well. Lots of good running, with Boyle in particular doing well and going close a couple of times. Defence still looks a little shaky at times but holding out so far. Makes a big difference having Dylan there too. Retain possession better and look a better shape in general

Ozymandias
23-09-2017, 02:52 PM

Simply not true. Watching on Persicope and its all Hibs - no real chances but most of the posession. Genuinely cant recall Laidlaw touching the ball in the last 15 minutes of the half. Hibs by far the faster and sharper onto the ball, but lacking a killer touch

23-09-2017, 02:53 PM
NL has been losing the rag at the lack of quality in our crossing/passing in the final 3rd...BBC gadgey

Borderlands
23-09-2017, 02:54 PM
Simply not true. Watching on Persicope and its all Hibs - no real chances but most of the posession. Genuinely cant recall Laidlaw touching the ball in the last 15 minutes of the half. Hibs by far the faster and sharper onto the ball, but lacking a killer touch

do you have the periscope link please

23-09-2017, 02:54 PM
NL has been losing the rag at the lack of quality in our crossing/passing in the final 3rd...BBC gadgey

NL loses the rag. Now thats a new one!! BBC radgy gadgys are utter plums.

23-09-2017, 02:55 PM
Very good start and end to the half with the Staggies the better team in the middle. Stokes looking decent again and Whittaker who was poor for the first 30 finished the half well and could have scored. Worth our lead but I feel the same as at half time v Motherwell. At least another goal needed to win

23-09-2017, 02:55 PM

I'd rather Rangers lost their "halo halo".

23-09-2017, 02:56 PM

Just goes to show you cant believe everything you hear on open all mikes, I stand corrected about 'tame Jambos though' turns out it isn't Preston at Dingwall.

Got a link to the periscope feed? :greengrin

23-09-2017, 02:56 PM
Alaves 1 Real 1, cracking header for equaliser.

23-09-2017, 02:57 PM
At the game. We sat back once we scored but they don't really look like creating a clear cut chance. Too much tippy tappy in the final
Third or we would be 3 or 4 up.

23-09-2017, 02:58 PM

Stats on FlashScores backs this up although RC edging possession.

23-09-2017, 02:59 PM
Alaves 1 Real 1, cracking header for equaliser.

23-09-2017, 03:01 PM
bored at work
HT1-2

23-09-2017, 03:02 PM

Lying hertz ba****ds

23-09-2017, 03:05 PM
Liam Henderson watching the game on periscope apparently!

Sub again then?

23-09-2017, 03:07 PM
st.johnstone 1 Hamilton 1

23-09-2017, 03:10 PM
Sub again then?

That's funny

Blackfordhibby
23-09-2017, 03:10 PM
Sub again then?

Didnae even make the bench.

23-09-2017, 03:12 PM
draper puts the head in on bartley...yellow card, should be a red shirley ?

23-09-2017, 03:12 PM
draper puts the head in on bartley...yellow card, should be a red shirley ? You would think so

23-09-2017, 03:13 PM
Another goalie in form against us jeezo

23-09-2017, 03:13 PM
Keeper seems to be keeping county in it .

Barnton Hibs
23-09-2017, 03:14 PM
Periscope link anyone?

Big90inOz
23-09-2017, 03:15 PM
Periscope first half but now disappeared

23-09-2017, 03:16 PM
You would think so

bartley yellow card a min after,not sure if it's because of same incident

23-09-2017, 03:17 PM
great save from Laidlaw

23-09-2017, 03:18 PM
Great save from Laidlaw apparently

23-09-2017, 03:19 PM
Brilliant save from Laidlaw according to the guys on Sportscene.

Justifying Lennons decision maybe.

23-09-2017, 03:19 PM
Laidlaw tips a point-blank header against the post and gathers the rebound. We need a second.

23-09-2017, 03:20 PM
cliffs dropped his mic :rolleyes:

harry wraggs score v hertz :wink:

23-09-2017, 03:21 PM
Brilliant save from Laidlaw according to the guys on Sportscene.

Justifying Lennons decision maybe.

Not sure there was much of a decision to make really. If Rocky is out of the Celtic game then Laidlaw needed game time.

23-09-2017, 03:21 PM
At the game. We sat back once we scored but they don't really look like creating a clear cut chance. Too much tippy tappy in the final
Third or we would be 3 or 4 up.

Just what is it with Hibs and this 'Tippy-Tappy' guff - it's infuriating and has been for some time now ??!!. It's like the players mind-set is 'every goal must be Barcelonaesque' !. JUST GET IT IN THE XXXXXXXX NET !! I don't care if it's a cracker of a goal or if it went in off a deflection from someone's aXXe - a goal's a goal, ffs !! Please pack it in, Hibs !!

23-09-2017, 03:22 PM
Not sure there was much of a decision to make really. If Rocky is out of the Celtic game then Laidlaw needed game time.

You're probably right.

I'm a big fan of Laidlaw, really like him and glad he seems to be doing well again today.

23-09-2017, 03:23 PM
Thistle 1 Yams 0 .............. goalkeeping howler :greengrin

23-09-2017, 03:25 PM
Just went mad at us scoring on Periscope before realising it was a replay of the first half.

23-09-2017, 03:25 PM
Just went mad at us scoring on Periscope before realising it was a replay of the first half.

😂😂

23-09-2017, 03:26 PM

23-09-2017, 03:29 PM
Just what is it with Hibs and this 'Tippy-Tappy' guff - it's infuriating and has been for some time now ??!!. It's like the players mind-set is 'every goal must be Barcelonaesque' !. JUST GET IT IN THE XXXXXXXX NET !! I don't care if it's a cracker of a goal or if it went in off a deflection from someone's aXXe - a goal's a goal, ffs !! Please pack it in, Hibs !!Maybe they think that is the best way to put the ball in the net. Barcelona being one of the best teams in the world probably backs that up. Shooting from anywhere might work on FIFA, not in real life.

23-09-2017, 03:30 PM
Maybe they think that is the best way to put the ball in the net. Barcelona being one of the best teams in the world probably backs that up. Shooting from anywhere might work on FIFA, not in real life.

Alas, we ain't no Barcelona.

23-09-2017, 03:30 PM
the team need a back massage. A little cool in front of goal and we'd be out of sight.... :worried:

23-09-2017, 03:31 PM
Maybe they think that is the best way to put the ball in the net. Barcelona being one of the best teams in the world probably backs that up. Shooting from anywhere might work on FIFA, not in real life.

Sadly we don’t have the players like Barca do. I agree that we sometimes should just get it forward quicker and just hit it.

23-09-2017, 03:32 PM
great save by fox again from stokesy

Great save from a Stokes shot

Need to take these chances [emoji85]

yonder1875
the team need a back massage. A little cool in front of goal and we'd be out of sight.... :worried:

Same old story this season on the road! Come on hibbies, let's get another.

23-09-2017, 03:33 PM
Sadly we don’t have the players like Barca do. I agree that we sometimes should just get it forward quicker and just hit it.

Just like the Griffiths goal.One pass and a shot without an extra touch.

Keepers never seem to have a howler against us do they.

Need a 2nd because I'd put a mortgage on that Gardyne getting a goal against us.

23-09-2017, 03:34 PM
Sadly we don’t have the players like Barca do. I agree that we sometimes should just get it forward quicker and just hit it.Being unable to execute as often as Barca doesn't mean the idea is wrong, though.

23-09-2017, 03:34 PM
mon Hibs.

23-09-2017, 03:35 PM
Another big save from Laidlaw from Schalk.

Its time we kept a clean sheet No better time than now

good save by laidlaw again

Another good save by Laidlaw

23-09-2017, 03:36 PM
Its time we kept a clean sheet No better time than now Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Indeed Ronnie Indeed

23-09-2017, 03:36 PM
ah see them scorin the noo

23-09-2017, 03:37 PM
ah see them scorin the noo

Seems inevitable

23-09-2017, 03:37 PM
Keepers never seem to have a howler against us do they.

Jack Hamilton :greengrin

23-09-2017, 03:38 PM
935 hibs fans

Borderlands
Another good save by Laidlaw

Shame they getting so many chances in the first place

18Hibee75
Laughed at this a bit too much.:greengrin

23-09-2017, 03:39 PM
Bloody hell Droopy has nothing on some of you guys. ;-)

23-09-2017, 03:40 PM

Tbf both the radio and TV really stressed the 2 saves were pretty much all Laidlaw has had to do all day. That's what he's there for, it's very few teams win a game without the other side having 1 or 2 chances.

23-09-2017, 03:41 PM
fingernails down to the quick..again

Mon Hibs!

St Jihnstone ahead now, bad result for us.

Borderlands
Tbf both the radio and TV really stressed the 2 saves were pretty much all Laidlaw has had to do all day. That's what he's there for, it's very few teams win a game without the other side having 1 or 2 chances.

Agree ,Laidlaw having a blinder when called upon

Shots - County 6 Hibs 13
On Target - County 3 Hibs 7

Not that bad.

23-09-2017, 03:43 PM
stokesy hits outside of post with FK

23-09-2017, 03:43 PM
Stokes off the outside of the post from a free kick

23-09-2017, 03:44 PM
Agree ,Laidlaw having a blinder when called upon

Makes a change from the other keeper.. although despite the one conceded sounds likes he's had a belter too.

Shots - County 6 Hibs 13
On Target - County 3 Hibs 7

Not that bad.

Exactly, they are finishing strongly, with 1 goal in it, you'd expect them to push hard.

2 mins +

18Hibee75

And at least a couple are p***** :greengrin

23-09-2017, 03:45 PM
How come the BBC have the resources to bring us scores and scorers from the National Leagues North and South but not the Scottish Cup?

23-09-2017, 03:46 PM
How come the BBC have the resources to bring us scores and scorers from the National Leagues North and South but not the Scottish Cup?

Said much the same on the other games thread. :agree:

C'mon Hibs, just see this one out.

3 points today is huge. Big couple of minutes needed.

23-09-2017, 03:47 PM

:pray:

2 minutes added on.

fox named as man of the match

23-09-2017, 03:48 PM
Any particular reason the yam game is still in the first half... Other than the fact that they kicked off later :rolleyes:

County keeper named MOM

FT good 3 points :agree:

23-09-2017, 03:49 PM
3 points away from home for Hibs is decent enough

FT 0-1

Excellent -I'll take any away win in this league

gaz1875
Yes great result :flag:

Get in :flag:

Thatll do. TF

Well done Hibs. A clean sheet.:flag:

Booooom. That’s a huge result for us.

23-09-2017, 03:50 PM

Mcpakeisgod
Cracking result

A fantastic start to the season.

Made heavy weather of it but three points. Rubbish like Ross County shouldn't be allowed on the same pitch as us.

Good old Hibs.

Steviethebear
That will do nicely

Well done Hibs. A clean sheet.:flag:

Important, that. From the periscope, we looked ok at the back.

Great result.

Well done.

Roll on Celtic Park next week

sweeeet! Good to get back to winning ways, keeps in the right half of the table as well.

Well done all (Next time in front of goal, just relaaaaaax)

23-09-2017, 03:51 PM
Well done Hibees!

With the difficulties we've had in the Highlands over the years that will do very nicely.

FT 0-1

Excellent -I'll take any away win in this league

I'll take it even more with a 1st clean sheet of the season thrown in. Away at places like Dingwall is games you just need to do what needs done, performances are secondary (although by all accounts performance was decent today).

Benny Brazil
Massive result and a clean sheet - get in there! !

Good result. Seems like a good performance.

A very welcome win and a clean sheet too :thumbsup:

23-09-2017, 03:52 PM
Well done the cabbage 💚💚💚

23-09-2017, 03:53 PM
Superb result, 3 points and a clean sheet. Hibs up to 4th as things stand.

Just need the Jags to do the business and it's a Carlsberg weekend.

23-09-2017, 03:53 PM
Any 3 points away is a good result. 1 defeat in 13 is excellent. Lennon in!

23-09-2017, 03:54 PM
Superb result, 3 points and a clean sheet. Hibs up to 4th as things stand.

Just need the Jags to do the business and it's a Carlsberg weekend.

3rd I think.

Tornadoes70
23-09-2017, 03:54 PM
Win and a clean sheet. Result :aok:.

23-09-2017, 03:55 PM
Great result and clean sheet. Maybe some can calm down a bit now.

3rd I think.

4th st Johnstone above us too.
Still 4th and a semi final is a cracking start.

1 defeat in what now? 13?

Booooom. That’s a huge result for us.Indeed it is...well done Hibees [emoji172][emoji172][emoji172]

23-09-2017, 03:56 PM
Great result, get in there. :flag:

23-09-2017, 03:56 PM
3rd I think.

Na, Celtic, St J, A'deen, Hibs.

23-09-2017, 03:57 PM
Seems inevitable

Ach well.

;-)

4th st Johnstone above us too.
Still 4th and a semi final is a cracking start.

1 defeat in what now? 13?

It's hard to believe the knives were bein sharpened last week!

Good solid start to the season and takes the pressure off next week.

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/480/cpsprodpb/16A6A/production/_97987729_hanlongoal.jpg

23-09-2017, 03:59 PM
BBC "riveting" game at Dingwall :) men of steel

NZ Green
23-09-2017, 04:02 PM
Some difficult games in the next few weeks - a well earned cushion.

23-09-2017, 04:02 PM
I refuse to acknowledge this goal because it is a Hibs.net fact that we are rubbish at corners

Yep, before today we hadn't scored from one since, em Tuesday!

23-09-2017, 04:03 PM
Great to get the win and a clean sheet too. Glad that Laidlaw seems to have had a good game. Same again next week would go down well.

23-09-2017, 04:04 PM
Great win and a much needed clean sheet!

23-09-2017, 04:07 PM
Think folk need to remember we have zero entitlement to expect to win matches and trust the players and coaching staff they've got things under control. Brilliant result today and happy for the players, coaching staff and supporters involved

23-09-2017, 04:09 PM
I'll take it even more with a 1st clean sheet of the season thrown in. Away at places like Dingwall is games you just need to do what needs done, performances are secondary (although by all accounts performance was decent today).

Perfect result on a long distance away trip.

23-09-2017, 04:09 PM
2 wins in a row since Lennon went ape

23-09-2017, 04:14 PM
We will will always.

23-09-2017, 04:16 PM
We will will always.
Where there's a will will there's a way.

23-09-2017, 04:17 PM
Good result and keeps us right in the mix ........ seven games, four away from home and only one defeat isn't a bad start at all, but it could have been even better if we could turn our possession into goals.

Apart from Stokes our return from the forwards is pretty woeful., considering the amount of possession we have in most games.

Forwards:

Stokes ...................... 4 goals, one of which might not have been but for a deflection and one a penalty
Murray ...................... 2 goals
Boyle ........................ 1 goal
Matulevicius ............... 0 goals
Barker ....................... 0 goals

Midfield:

Slivka ........................... 1 goal
The rest of the midfield ... 0 goals

Defence:

Whittaker ...... 1 goal
Hanlon .......... 1 goal

OGs ........ 2

I doubt that makes for great reading for Neil Lennon .... take out the own goals and a penalty and we have scored 9 goals from open play, 2 of which have come from defenders. I know I'm being a bit over critical after a good away win, but if we want to make the top 4 we really need to be doing better than this.

23-09-2017, 04:18 PM
Great win. Yet another keeper MOTM against us. Have to accept these are huge games for teams against Hibs.

23-09-2017, 04:19 PM
Great 3pts . First coupon up of the season and the pink Orcs are losing after a keeper howler . Could be a carlsberg Sat .:)

23-09-2017, 04:21 PM
Good result and keeps us right in the mix ........ seven games, four away from home and only one defeat isn't a bad start at all, but it could have been even better if we could turn our possession into goals.

Apart from Stokes our return from the forwards is pretty woeful., considering the amount of possession we have in most games.

Forwards:

Stokes ...................... 4 goals, one of which might not have been but for a deflection and one a penalty

Midfield:

Defence:

Whittaker ...... 1 goal
Hanlon .......... 1 goal

OGs ........ 2

I doubt that makes for great reading for Neil Lennon .... take out the own goals and a penalty and we have scored 9 goals from open play, 2 of which have come from defenders. I know I'm being a bit over critical after a good away win, but if we want to make the top 4 we really need to be doing better than this.Very negative all things considered...i prefer to look on it as 1 defeat all season, 4th top and in a cup semi final myself

23-09-2017, 04:26 PM
Very negative all things considered...i prefer to look on it as 1 defeat all season, 4th top and in a cup semi final myself

Which it is!

Sure we could have done more but overall I'd prefer to be where we are and thinking we should and could do better than wondering how we've achieved that when we are clearly rather poor.

Very solid start to the season and looking forward to us pushing on a bit more [emoji106]

23-09-2017, 04:34 PM
Which it is!

Sure we could have done more but overall I'd prefer to be where we are and thinking we should and could do better than wondering how we've achieved that when we are clearly rather poor.

Very solid start to the season and looking forward to us pushing on a bit more [emoji106]

Solid if unspectacular start, sitting in 4th place which is more or less where I think we are likely to finish if we play to potential, which would be a decent 1st season back, with a cup semi to look forward to as well.

23-09-2017, 04:35 PM
Hibs win win.

23-09-2017, 04:36 PM
Very negative all things considered...i prefer to look on it as 1 defeat all season, 4th top and in a cup semi final myself

I think it's possible to look at all aspects of the season.

Obviously 4th place and a semi final is a very good place to be, very few would argue with that. There are clearly areas for improvement as well though and I don't think it does any harm to acknowledge and discuss them.

We seem obsessed with whether something is 'positive' or 'negative' on here these days (not a dig at you, just an observation generally). There are obviously extremes either way but, as an example, mentioning our lack of goals from midfield isn't being unduly negative; it's simply acknowledging and discussing an issue that has been apparent for a few seasons now. There would be about 3 active threads on any football forum if everything was simply judged on the end result and not the various ways we get there.

23-09-2017, 04:36 PM
Jack Hamilton :greengrin

That's what I was thinking..

23-09-2017, 04:44 PM

I don't think I'm being that negative to be honest, overall I'm pleased with our start to the season, but how can anybody deny that we should be scoring more goals than we have done? I don't think mentioning an obvious failing is such a bad thing. The other thing is yet again a lack of goals from midfield with one scored in 7 games, in fact if you count the League cup its 3 goals from midfield in 13 games and one of them was from Fraser Murray ...... that's pretty poor in anybody's language if you ask me.

Anyway, is this not exactly what the 'new Hibs' are supposed to be about, being pleased that overall we are doing ok, but at the same time never being satisfied with just ok, especially when we can identify obvious shortcomings and improve on them to make things better than just ok? In which case a well below goals to chances ratio up front and what has been nothing short of a goal drought from midfield that has been evident since well before Neil Lennon became the manager are surely are things we should look to improve upon?

23-09-2017, 04:45 PM
Delighted with the three points today.

Both goalkeepers made some big saves and it really could have ended up about 4-3 to either side.

Really glad we managed to keep a clean sheet and hopefully we can kick on now although it's obviously going to be a big ask next week.

23-09-2017, 04:46 PM
I think it's possible to look at all aspects of the season.

Obviously 4th place and a semi final is a very good place to be, very few would argue with that. There are clearly areas for improvement as well though and I don't think it does any harm to acknowledge and discuss them.

We seem obsessed with whether something is 'positive' or 'negative' on here these days (not a dig at you, just an observation generally). There are obviously extremes either way but, as an example, mentioning our lack of goals from midfield isn't being unduly negative; it's simply acknowledging and discussing an issue that has been apparent for a few seasons now. There would be about 3 active threads on any football forum if everything was simply judged on the end result and not the various ways we get there.

Not copying you PB, you just type faster than me :greengrin

hibs#1
23-09-2017, 04:50 PM
3 points and a clean sheet away from home well done lads 👍 safe journey home for all the travelling fans as well.

23-09-2017, 04:59 PM
Made heavy weather of it but three points. Rubbish like Ross County shouldn't be allowed on the same pitch as us.

Tad harsh, even a bit Jamboesque !

23-09-2017, 05:03 PM
Good 3 points and a clean sheet.

23-09-2017, 05:04 PM
Tad harsh, even a bit Jamboesque !

I'm willing to bet he was being tongue in cheek mate :wink:

23-09-2017, 05:06 PM
A win is a win and as we are finding out every week you've got to battle for 90 minutes to get anything in this division. Take Celtic out of it and every side could beat each other. Obviously losing at home to Hamilton was the low point of the season but the reality is we are in a semi final and sit 4th in the table. For me so far this season we are 6/10 with plenty of room to improve

23-09-2017, 05:12 PM

A draw tomorrow with Motherwell/Aberdeen would be preferred!

23-09-2017, 05:18 PM
I'm willing to bet he was being tongue in cheek mate :wink:

23-09-2017, 05:21 PM
Rangers with 11 points. Title-winning form if ever I saw it.

23-09-2017, 05:23 PM
Great result today, bring on the tic, funy feeling if anyone is gonna beat them then it could be us-they have to lose sometime.:greengrin

23-09-2017, 05:26 PM
I don't think I'm being that negative to be honest, overall I'm pleased with our start to the season, but how can anybody deny that we should be scoring more goals than we have done? I don't think mentioning an obvious failing is such a bad thing. The other thing is yet again a lack of goals from midfield with one scored in 7 games, in fact if you count the League cup its 3 goals from midfield in 13 games and one of them was from Fraser Murray ...... that's pretty poor in anybody's language if you ask me.

Anyway, is this not exactly what the 'new Hibs' are supposed to be about, being pleased that overall we are doing ok, but at the same time never being satisfied with just ok, especially when we can identify obvious shortcomings and improve on them to make things better than just ok? In which case a well below goals to chances ratio up front and what has been nothing short of a goal drought from midfield that has been evident since well before Neil Lennon became the manager are surely are things we should look to improve upon?

I think you're being harsh.

3 against Thistle, 3 at Ibrox, 1 against Accies (not good enough), 1 apiece away to Saints and Dundee, 2 at home to Motherwell, 1 away to Ross County today and shedloads in the cup.

This is a good return whichever way you look at it.

We've lost too many goals, and that has cost us a good few points so far, so any criticism should be spared for the defensive departments of our team.

I'm delighted with the win today and especially happy about the shut out. Whilst it is entertaining to have high scoring games and a cavalier style, no team has ever managed to get where they wanted to be shipping the type of goals we have earlier this season.

We didn't today, that's a cracking result and hopefully we can go on to build on it.

23-09-2017, 05:39 PM
Great result today. Well done hibs.

Good turnout from the fans. Well done to all that made the trip.

Assuming Efe strolled the game as not a single comment about him post match? A cigar and slippers day

23-09-2017, 05:50 PM
Rangers with 11 points. Title-winning form if ever I saw it.

It's fine, Celtic should drop plenty of points by the end of the season.

...WentToMowAnSPL
23-09-2017, 06:23 PM
well done to everyone who went to the game today :) Great to win at Dingwall - the last time we lost there I emigrated a few months later and I'm running out of countries at that rate :)

23-09-2017, 06:54 PM

Forwards:

Midfield:

Defence:

Whittaker ...... 1 goal
Hanlon .......... 1 goal

OGs ........ 2

I doubt that makes for great reading for Neil Lennon .... take out the own goals and a penalty and we have scored 9 goals from open play, 2 of which have come from defenders. I know I'm being a bit over critical after a good away win, but if we want to make the top 4 we really need to be doing better than this.

Cant argue with the Stats Midfield is hugely disappointing and if Swanson can't be found a position that allows him to replicate his goals tally at St Johnstone then our tally from midfield will be meagre
Stokes will replace Cummings as our top scorer and will be around the 20 mark
Boyle is capable of getting around 10 and his injury came at the wrong time
Murray i didn't expect to be a first pick week in week out and he now needs a goal to kick on again
Big Dave to date looks out of place and if that doesn't change soon thats going to be a dilemma for Lennon
Barker is a young laddie with no first team experience so we cant expect too much from him this early on
The defence will chip in with their usual quota
But all the more reason to work on those clean sheets as they may be key to increasing our win ratio

But today was all about getting three points Job done

23-09-2017, 07:02 PM
Paul Hanlon scores with his right foot following a corner, must be a first surely! 😀

tartanhibee
23-09-2017, 08:44 PM
Just back from the game and a great result too boot. I was disappointed that there was no match day programme as my son is collecting one from every new ground he visits. He now has a a4 piece of paper with the team and s few words from the RC manager.
This spoiling anyone else's collection.

23-09-2017, 08:52 PM
Just back from the game and a great result too boot. I was disappointed that there was no match day programme as my son is collecting one from every new ground he visits. He now has a a4 piece of paper with the team and s few words from the RC manager.
This spoiling anyone else's collection.

Make sure he keeps the sheet as it will count as the only programme available years from now. Hopefully folk will still be bothered years from now!
Is he interested in collecting Hibs programmes? I have a wee starter bundle of spares of some 60s, 70s, 80s for him if he wants them. Might make up for his disappointment. Although he will be in for years of toil later :greengrin

23-09-2017, 08:55 PM
Cant argue with the Stats Midfield is hugely disappointing and if Swanson can't be found a position that allows him to replicate his goals tally at St Johnstone then our tally from midfield will be meagre
Stokes will replace Cummings as our top scorer and will be around the 20 mark
Boyle is capable of getting around 10 and his injury came at the wrong time
Murray i didn't expect to be a first pick week in week out and he now needs a goal to kick on again
Big Dave to date looks out of place and if that doesn't change soon thats going to be a dilemma for Lennon
Barker is a young laddie with no first team experience so we cant expect too much from him this early on
The defence will chip in with their usual quota
But all the more reason to work on those clean sheets as they may be key to increasing our win ratio

But today was all about getting three points Job done
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkTwo things I have to pick you up on here. Big Dave did well when he came on today and won a free kick that Stokes hit the post from. Secondly, Barker has had a first team season at NAC Breda at a higher level than Hibs.

23-09-2017, 08:58 PM
Two things I have to pick you up on here. Big Dave did well when he came on today and won a free kick that Stokes hit the post from. Secondly, Barker has had a first team season at NAC Breda at a higher level than Hibs.

Were NAC Breda not in the 2nd Division?

23-09-2017, 09:03 PM
Two things I have to pick you up on here. Big Dave did well when he came on today and won a free kick that Stokes hit the post from. Secondly, Barker has had a first team season at NAC Breda at a higher level than Hibs.

Dutch football isn't great. All their better players play abroad. Edwin De Graaf was a top flight regular in Holland.

23-09-2017, 09:07 PM

Wasnt at the game so good to hear re Big Dave
Forgot Barker had been at Breda but my recollection was he hadn't scored many goals and the post i was replying to was about where goals are going to come from

23-09-2017, 09:07 PM
He came here in his thirties. Whittaker was a top flight regular in England in his heyday.

We could go back and forth on this one, but my main point was that Barker has had first team experience.

JIm
23-09-2017, 11:19 PM
Dutch football isn't great. All their better players play abroad. Edwin De Graaf was a top flight regular in Holland.

Dutch teams weigh out perform Scottish teams in Europe. Basing the competitiveness of the league based on Edwin doesn't really stack up.

23-09-2017, 11:30 PM

Were NAC Breda not in the 2nd Division?

While we are on the subject of NAC Breda, there was a squad of Breda fans in attendance today kitted out in yellow & black.

24-09-2017, 09:18 AM
While we are on the subject of NAC Breda, there was a squad of Breda fans in attendance today kitted out in yellow & black.

Spoke to a few in a bar, they were there to see one of their players, who is on loan at County.....