View Full Version : Semi final draw - Hibs v Celtic

21-09-2017, 04:37 PM
Apologies if already posted. Just wondering if the draw for the semi finals is tonight right after the Motherwell-Aberdeen game?

21-09-2017, 04:38 PM

21-09-2017, 04:46 PM
Avoid Celtc and we have a strong chance of yet another final. I'd fancy us against any of the other three at Hampden.

Hib3rian
21-09-2017, 05:06 PM
Fancy Motherwell to progress this evening. Would be the preferred draw

21-09-2017, 05:09 PM
The draw has been made.

Aberdeen/Motherwell v Rangers

Celtic v Hibs

Of course, I'm talking about the mock draw that I like to do sometimes because I'm a bit sad.

21-09-2017, 05:13 PM
We'll undoubtedly be dealt the Dandy Dons.

21-09-2017, 06:11 PM
Is tonight's game on the Liza Minelli?

21-09-2017, 06:12 PM
On BT

21-09-2017, 06:12 PM
On BT

21-09-2017, 06:25 PM
Hibs, Aberdeen, Celtic and Rangers is what you would expect for semis. Scotland's big 4 really.

21-09-2017, 06:39 PM
I have no idea if Stephen Craigen is a massive welt of a man away from the cameras. But he always does a great impression of one.

21-09-2017, 06:42 PM
I have no idea if Stephen Craigen is a massive welt of a man away from the cameras. But he always does a great impression of one.

He shouts everything he says. Why so loud?

21-09-2017, 06:50 PM
The two warmed up balls with the knobbly bits on them will be put in the bag about 30 seconds before the draw is made.

My smack will be gobbed and my gabber will be flasted if the bigots are pulled against each other. That said, I will be happy to be proved wrong for the sake of integrity:blah::blah::blah:

MichaelTheCelt
21-09-2017, 06:51 PM
Who would yous prefer in the semis then?

I've been giving it a bit of thought on who I want and I think I want The Rangers, reason being is I think if Hibs or Aberdeen/Motherwell were to get them then you can guarantee the ref will be playing against them too. Without sounding arrogant but I think we have enough to nullify the refs influence having much of an impact.

Would like Hibs in the final if we make it, atmosphere would be cracking.

21-09-2017, 06:54 PM
He shouts everything he says. Why so loud?

:agree: He's just an Irish Liam Mcleod.

Callum7
21-09-2017, 06:58 PM
Motherwell score

I want The Rangers in the semi. Most exciting prospect but also the easiest game.

Moult scores for Motherwell

Helped by the Aberdeen keeper!

21-09-2017, 06:59 PM
Moult scores for Motherwell

Helped by the Aberdeen keeper!

Some goal. Did he mean it?

21-09-2017, 07:02 PM
I want The Rangers in the semi. Most exciting prospect but also the easiest game.

Surely Motherwell, if they win tonight, would be an easier game on paper?

21-09-2017, 07:02 PM
Craigan has attempted the word 'mirror', always tricky for an ulsterman.

21-09-2017, 07:04 PM
2-0 Motherwell

Again the Aberdeen keeper should be doing better there

MichaelTheCelt
21-09-2017, 07:04 PM
Craigan has attempted the word 'mirror', always tricky for an ulsterman.
Laughed more than I should have.

21-09-2017, 07:05 PM
Aberdeen finding out what it's like to gift 2 goals in the first half hour ...

Motherwell in the semis please :greengrin

MichaelTheCelt
Nae doubt they will be heating up the Motherwell baw when doing the draw so The Rangers get an easier semi final

Best goalie in Scotland. Never makes a mistake. FAF. 🤣🤣🤣

21-09-2017, 07:06 PM
Makalambyesque. 2-0.

Motherwell at Tynecastle would be excellent.

2 - 0 Murderwell.

Starting to make our performance against them on Saturday look not too shabby.

And NL tore our players a new one after it. Interesting..........

Callum7
Motherwell seem to have a lot of luck with goalkeeper mistakes.

21-09-2017, 07:07 PM
Aberdeen finding out what it's like to gift 2 goals in the first half hour ...

It takes away the fear of gifting two early goals. Very clever from Aberdeen :agree:

21-09-2017, 07:08 PM
Motherwell at Tynecastle would be excellent.

You know it won't be ready right?

21-09-2017, 07:08 PM
I think it will be a Glasgow affair in one semi and us v well/sheep in other.

The powers that be will want to guarantee at an old firm game and this is their chance to do it

21-09-2017, 07:09 PM
I think it will be a Glasgow affair in one semi and us v well/sheep in other.

The powers that be will want to guarantee at an old firm game and this is their chance to do it

21-09-2017, 07:11 PM
Put a few quid on Motherwell at 16/5 thinking that I was probably throwing my money away. But hey,ho c'mon the 'Well. :thumbsup:

21-09-2017, 07:14 PM
I hope the servers over at Kickback are prepared for total seethe carnage when we draw Motherwell.

21-09-2017, 07:18 PM
Moult really does know where the back of the net is!! If Motherwell win, I think they get The Rangers in the semi. If Aberdeen win, then I think it's a Celtic vs The Rangers semi. The powers that be want a Glasgow Derby so it's too dangerous for The Rangers to be drawn against Aberdeen or Hibs.

21-09-2017, 07:19 PM
The group stage format was a joke but I'm enjoying these midweek League Cup games. Good to be involved too. :flag:

21-09-2017, 07:20 PM
I'm going to hide from this place for a week when we lose to Motherwell in the semi final.

21-09-2017, 07:20 PM
Moult really does know where the back of the net is!! If Motherwell win, I think they get The Rangers in the semi. If Aberdeen win, then I think it's a Celtic vs The Rangers semi. The powers that be want a Glasgow Derby so it's too dangerous for The Rangers to be drawn against Aberdeen or Hibs.Or it is purely random because that is how draws work.

21-09-2017, 07:21 PM
Only seing stills but are Aberdeen playing in light blue?

Their fans surely won't like them looking like Rangers.

21-09-2017, 07:25 PM
It's more of a shiny St Johnstone-y shade of blue.

Darker than Coventry but lighter than, ach, you get the idea.

21-09-2017, 07:26 PM
Only seing stills but are Aberdeen playing in light blue?

Their fans surely won't like them looking like Rangers.

It's more Man City sky blue. Hideous :wink:

21-09-2017, 07:31 PM
Or it is purely random because that is how draws work.

You seem to be implying that I am a tad cynical about the draw.

21-09-2017, 07:35 PM
It's more of a shiny St Johnstone-y shade of blue.

Darker than Coventry but lighter than, ach, you get the idea.

Terms of signing Stacie May?

RossScott1991
21-09-2017, 07:38 PM
motherwell of course would be the better draw on paper for the semi, however they don't look a bad side at all and would be a very tough game.

21-09-2017, 07:42 PM
motherwell of course would be the better draw on paper for the semi, however they don't look a bad side at all and would be a very tough game.

I thought Motherwell were excellent against us and have been really good tonight.

That said though, I think they are a team in good form playing with confidence and have a lot of momentum just now rather than actually being a great side. By the time the semis come around I think there's a fair chance their form will have dipped.

dont know much about the Motherwell squad but I suspect a couple of injuries and suspensions could cause them a lot of bother.

21-09-2017, 07:46 PM
I thought Motherwell were excellent against us and have been really good tonight.

That said though, I think they are a team in good form playing with confidence and have a lot of momentum just now rather than actually being a great side. By the time the semis come around I think there's a fair chance their form will have dipped.

dont know much about the Motherwell squad but I suspect a couple of injuries and suspensions could cause them a lot of bother.

I agree bingo. I think we'll see the benefit of our bigger squad against most clubs after the first round of games are completed

21-09-2017, 07:48 PM
It's more Man City sky blue. Hideous :wink:

No way that's full on Rangers.

Bunch of tories up there anyway.😆

21-09-2017, 07:49 PM
No way that's full on Rangers.

Bunch of tories up there anyway.😆

Oi!

21-09-2017, 07:50 PM
Moult is razor sharp, it’s a pity we didn’t get him on the window
Works so hard as well

21-09-2017, 07:51 PM
Oi!

Sorry😁

21-09-2017, 07:52 PM

I agree about them over the course of the season. However, there is only 3 games between now and the semi final so they should still be in decent shape for that.

lugz
21-09-2017, 07:53 PM
Works so hard as well

I doubt we were even close and he'll be going on to bigger and better things after this season if he continues this form.

21-09-2017, 07:53 PM
I agree about them over the course of the season. However, there is only 3 games between now and the semi final so they should still be in decent shape for that.

Good point.
Bring on the blue bigots in that case.

21-09-2017, 07:55 PM
Works so hard as well

Bugs me we never got him Billy. No chance now!

21-09-2017, 07:56 PM

Motherwell are quite an annoying side.

Fair play to their fans who choose to support them rather than the old firm however they've punched above their weight nearly my whole life. Is it not about time they were ***** for a while?!

Not sure I wish relegation on them as they are the sort of club that could struggle to recover but a spell battling relegation wouldn't go amiss.

21-09-2017, 08:08 PM
Aberdeen have looked average at best tonight, Motherwell have been really impressive.

21-09-2017, 08:10 PM
Dom would have scored there [emoji6]

Firestarter
21-09-2017, 08:11 PM
We're getting Celtic.

21-09-2017, 08:13 PM
We're getting Celtic.

Only if the ball picker wears gloves.

Firestarter
21-09-2017, 08:15 PM
Only if the ball picker wears gloves.

That will be slippery Ally then.

21-09-2017, 08:15 PM
Very nearly 3-0 there, ball came back off the post

21-09-2017, 08:16 PM
We're getting Celtic.

Think we'll get Motherwell.

Easy(ish) draws for the hibs again. Cue the rage from over the road.

Callum7
21-09-2017, 08:16 PM
Very nearly 3-0 there, ball came back off the post

Both posts!

21-09-2017, 08:17 PM
Ryan Christie is such a good player, would love to see him at Easter Road.

21-09-2017, 08:20 PM
Well not such a bad team, the recent result does not look so duff .

21-09-2017, 08:21 PM
Ryan Christie is such a good player, would love to see him at Easter Road.

Come along to ER on 14th October and if he's not injured or suspended you probably will.:wink:

21-09-2017, 08:23 PM
Craigan congratulates Dundee, Partick and Motherwell for excellent condition of pitches during quarter finals.

What a dick!!!!

21-09-2017, 08:24 PM
Craigan congratulates Dundee, Partick and Motherwell for excellent condition of pitches during quarter finals.

What a dick!!!!

Because those 3 are the games that were on tv and were the games he's attended

21-09-2017, 08:27 PM
What a goal.

Get Moult signed in January.

Callum7
3-0

3-0

Great goal from Moult

I doubt we were even close and he'll be going on to bigger and better things after this season if he continues this form.

Don’t know, but he’s a striker that’s been round the block, played mostly at lower league in England/Wales

CathroMustStay
21-09-2017, 08:28 PM
Bring on Sevco please!

MichaelTheCelt
Moult isnae bad is he

Motherwell aren't half a big, physical, robust team. They love getting stuck in all over the pitch, and with Moult up top are a threat. 2-2 doesn't look so bad now!

Keeper again. Brutal getting beaten from there.

Because those 3 are the games that were on tv and were the games he's attended

He's still a dick.🤣

Moult is prolific. I fear we may have missed our chance on that one. No way they keep him in January if he keeps up this form.

Dunno how they can say the keeper isn't at fault though. Should never be getting beaten at the near post like that.

21-09-2017, 08:29 PM
What a goal.

Get Moult signed in January.

The Huns are already slobbering all over him.

Very impressive score for Motherwell. They've really improved this season.

Hibs v Motherwell at the sooper dooper new mega stadium in West Edinburgh?

21-09-2017, 08:30 PM
Very impressive score for Motherwell. They've really improved this season.

All about recruitment
Get the players into play the system

21-09-2017, 08:30 PM

It won't be ready in time.

21-09-2017, 08:31 PM
Put a few quid on Motherwell at 16/5 thinking that I was probably throwing my money away. But hey,ho c'mon the 'Well. :thumbsup:

I chickened out and cashed in at half time. Still, at 9/4 my cash, I can't complain.

What do you think?

It won't be ready in time.

Or big enough......

21-09-2017, 08:32 PM
Motherwell look very decent. So much energy all over the pitch and a consistent goalscorer in Moult up front. We’ll face a tough challenge no matter who we get.

21-09-2017, 08:33 PM
What a performance from Louis Moult.

21-09-2017, 08:34 PM
What a cracking game, the Mothers look superb.

21-09-2017, 08:34 PM
I can't wait for us to get Motherwell in the semis and all the McGlashan Jambos to go mental :faf: 'why do Hibs always get easy draws :grr: Hearts vs Brazil, Argentina, Italy, West Germany, Uruguay, Brazil, and now Hibs, drawn against Lapland and me and my mum!!! :grr:

(withapologies to the makers of Absolutely)

... Although if the match was this weekend I'd rather draw the rangers than Motherwell. Moult is the best striker we've faced.

norhfc
21-09-2017, 08:35 PM
Anybody reading Keir Murray on BBC live updates of the Well game. What a writer, great entertainment, a joy to read.

21-09-2017, 08:35 PM
In all honesty the keeper is at fault for all 3 goals. Moult done superb but keeper should have that angle at his near post covered.

21-09-2017, 08:36 PM
I can't wait for us to get Motherwell in the semis and all the McGlashan Jambos to go mental :faf: 'why do Hibs always get easy draws :grr: Hearts vs Brazil, Argentina, Italy, West Germany, Uruguay, Brazil, and now Hibs, drawn against Lapland and me and my mum!!! :grr:

(withapologies to the makers of Absolutely)

Lol

21-09-2017, 08:36 PM

I wouldn't mind that actually. My first ever match was at ER v Motherwell, 65/66 season, 7-30 KO, 2-2. That night, this, then 13 year old boy, fell in love with Hibs that night. My love for them has lasted longer than two marriages, two houses, two pensions and two lots of life savings.:crazy:

21-09-2017, 08:37 PM
Best goalie in Scotland. Never makes a mistake. FAF. 🤣🤣🤣

He is the best keeper in Scotland, night to forget for him though.

JimboHibs
21-09-2017, 08:37 PM
In all honesty the keeper is at fault for all 3 goals. Moult done superb but keeper should have that angle at his near post covered.

Homestead 😁 lol

21-09-2017, 08:39 PM

Lewis is a cracking keeper but he's had a mare there.

Only one I'd make and excuse for him for is the 2nd one. He should save it but a ball right down at your feet from that range can be difficult to deal with.

gaz1875
21-09-2017, 08:39 PM
Superb energy upfront for Motherwell, not so sure about their defence, although the sheep struggled to do anything. You certainly can't play a high defensive line up against them.

21-09-2017, 08:42 PM
Aberdeen had a two minute spell where they looked after the ball in the second half and got Motherwell dropping deep. Other than that they simply lost the battles and deserved to lose.

21-09-2017, 08:43 PM
Superb energy upfront for Motherwell, not so sure about their defence, although the sheep struggled to do anything. You certainly can't play a high defensive line up against them. I'd be happy with anyone bar Celtic! (Which means we will or ably get them)

Still think OF semi

21-09-2017, 08:44 PM
Definitely want Motherwell.

Velma Dinkley
21-09-2017, 08:44 PM
What times the draw at?

21-09-2017, 08:45 PM

They want us

21-09-2017, 08:46 PM
What times the draw at?

Shouldn't be long tbh. After the game.

21-09-2017, 08:46 PM
What times the draw at?

Now

21-09-2017, 08:47 PM
They want us

You can understand why. I'd be happy to have them

It's celtic

Rangers v Motherwell
Hibs v Celtic

Motherwell best team I've seen Hibs play this season. Was impressed on Saturday with them.

Hibs v Celtic

Oot.

Ah well.

Good run.

Ah well.

SJNB Hibby
21-09-2017, 08:48 PM

I want sellick---lets do them when they least expect it and are concentrating on ECL

Homestead 😁 lol

I hate autocorrect and my chubby fingers 😂

Aw naw!! Miracle needed.

Nothing to lose

steelendhibs
Bit defeatest folks?!?!?

Oot.

You never know!

Another semi final though.

Hopefully Motherwell don't peak and give that mob a game!

Celtic it is. Bring it on, pressure is off to an extent.

21-09-2017, 08:49 PM
Hibs Motherwell final NAP.

Firestarter
We're getting Celtic.

Predictable

Celtic...

Straight after they have been to Germany to play Bayern Munich...

I think they play Bayern away midweek, so hopefully they are knackered after that.

Septic it is then !!

speedy_gonzales
21-09-2017, 08:50 PM
Although we were drawn first and the "home" team it goes without saying Celtic will get "their" end at the neutral venue,,,,I can't remember us ever winning when we're in the West at Hampden!?!

Nothing to lose

Exactly. We're not out of it without a fight. Celtic have everything to lose.

lugz
Bring them on, They're going to lose at some point. We're yet to test ourselves against them.

Celtic...

Bet we're the Sunday then....

hibsmum
Somebody has to beat them at some point why not us

I wonder which end of the ground we'll get.

Firestarter
Hibs final on pens while I'm on a itk role.

Best to get them in the semi.

Celtic...

Could go one of 2 ways. Either a backlash after a big defeat or we catch them with a touch of fatigue.

I'm certainly not planning on going to Hampden believing we are beat before we are on the park. It's 90 minutes of football and anything can happen.

Ah well.

Good run.

Mind when we won it in '91 and were drawn against league champions Rangers in the semi...........................................:cb

Have faith in the lads to perform on the day :aok:

murray26
21-09-2017, 08:51 PM
Presume it will be Saturday with us having the derby Tuesday night

Another final then 🤞🤞

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
I think they play Bayern away midweek, so hopefully they are knackered after that.

Or.... they get a pasting amd are hungry to make their next opponent suffer like they did to Ross County.

Research shows that clubs do suffer after a European midweek fixture. Hopefully Bayern run them ragged :greengrin

Underdogs but rather them in semi than a final which they don't lose many of.

We'll have a better idea after we've pumped them in the league :cb

Have to beat them at some stage to win the cup, the Semi final it is.

My 13 year old some has just told me that he is very confident about beating them. That'll do for me!

Will be strange being in the other end at Hampden.

Full Hoose.. :agree:

I wonder which end of the ground we'll get.

The West obviously. Nothing must displace Celtic from 'their' end.

Lewis is a cracking keeper but he's had a mare there.

Only one I'd make and excuse for him for is the 2nd one. He should save it but a ball right down at your feet from that range can be difficult to deal with.

Agree, out the 3 the 2nd was the difficult one. But one he should still get. Still a brilliant keeper though and I’m sure he’ll bounce back.

21-09-2017, 08:52 PM

We are due to play the Gorgie losers on the Tuesday so I think it will be Saturday.

Although we were drawn first and the "home" team it goes without saying Celtic will get "their" end at the neutral venue,,,,I can't remember us ever winning when we're in the West at Hampden!?!

Semi final v Livi ?

guthrie01
Celtic...

Need to hope that Leigh "forgets" to leave Germany...

CathroMustStay
Exciting draw!

Absolutely no pressure on us either.

Doubt it, we play Hearts the following Tuesday night.

It was always going to be unlikely we would win the cup without having to beat Celtic so we've probably got a better chance of beating them in the semi than in the final. Hopefully they'll be jaded after playing away to Bayern on the Wednesday.

We'll need every player to play close to their best and also hope for a wee bit of luck. It's a big ask, but we can only give our best.

21-09-2017, 08:53 PM
Doubt it, we play Hearts the following Tuesday night.

Celtic play Bayern on the Wednesday before. We’ll be the Sunday.

My 13 year old some has just told me that he is very confident about beating them. That'll do for me!

My Grandad has said for ages that we'll be the first team to beat Celtic, I'd take that in the semi :thumbsup:

We are due to play the Gorgie losers on the Tuesday so I think it will be Saturday.

Forgot about that!!

21-09-2017, 08:54 PM

Teams play Wed, Sat all the time. They won't move the Derby again after it being moved already

Roxyhibee
I expect us to give them a real game - we've got good experienced that haven't hit form yet. Our squad will be really looking forward to this. And Lennon will have them seriously up for this.

Pressure all on them for another treble. Let's pack our end and enjoy it.

We won't be.

Wednesday to Saturday is fine

Sunday to Tuesday isn't.

Na it'll be the Saturday with us playing the Tuesday after

21-09-2017, 08:55 PM
Teams play Wed, Sat all the time. They won't move the Derby again after it being moved already

I'll be raging if they do, I've already booked flights Tuesday afternoon- Wednesday morning!

21-09-2017, 08:56 PM
Probably less pressure on us with that draw. We won't be expected to win so we can just go for it.
Their unbeaten run's going to end sometime, would be nice if it's us that does it.

Probably less pressure on us with that draw. We won't be expected to win so we can just go for it.
Their unbeaten run's going to end sometime, would be nice if it's us that does it.

We will already have done it before this game

hibeeron

1972 I was there

21-09-2017, 08:57 PM
Both Sevco and Well are due to play the Wednesday after the semi so no disruption for them if game if Sunday.

99.9% certain Hibs v Celtic will be Saturday.

HFCdeb
Bring
It
On.

We have to beat Celtic to win the competition, let’s do it at the semi final stage
Bring it on

21-09-2017, 08:59 PM
We have to beat Celtic to win the competition, let’s do it at the semi final stage
Bring it on

Yep.....more likely to beat them in semi than final

MichaelTheCelt
21-09-2017, 09:00 PM
The West obviously. Nothing must displace Celtic from 'their' end.
Damn. I want 'your' end.

Naw that isn't innuendo :wink:

21-09-2017, 09:01 PM
Given it’s our second home, we must be given the David Gray end.

21-09-2017, 09:02 PM
Bring it on! Give it our best shot and I'll be happy. They have to lose sometime.

lugz
21-09-2017, 09:03 PM

I take it us being the home team has absolutely no influence on this? Would be great to annoy them before we even kick off.

21-09-2017, 09:03 PM
Pressure well and trully off

21-09-2017, 09:04 PM
Nothing to lose, bring it on [emoji106][emoji106][emoji471][emoji471]

21-09-2017, 09:05 PM
Lets ****ing do it. Nothing to lose, everything to gain. Get right behind the team for 90 minutes.

Celtic have lost semi finals to some poorer teams than us in the last 5 years. Hope our lads are right fired up

Johnny Clash
Cool.

Hibs v The Rangers final!

Fat chance. Even the SFA have referred to it as their "preferred" end.

****ing stinks.

21-09-2017, 09:06 PM
Cool.

Hibs v Well

21-09-2017, 09:06 PM
Cool.

No way.

The huns won't beat 'Well :greengrin

TheGreenMan
21-09-2017, 09:10 PM
Cant wait. St Johnstone just drew at Parkhead after a euro game. Not impossible.

Imagine we beat them and get the Huns in the final! Bananas

18Hibee75
21-09-2017, 09:10 PM
Hope we get a good turnout for this and I really hope the fair weather fans decide to turn up. Think we will beat them this season as the next three times we play them they are playing in Europe the game before.

21-09-2017, 09:11 PM
Boo. Didn't want them. Lady luck wasn't on our side tonight.

21-09-2017, 09:12 PM

Ach well.

We got a better draw than hearts I suppose.

21-09-2017, 09:14 PM
Or it is purely random because that is how draws work.

Seems I got it right..(though even a stopped clock is right twice per day)..😂

Minor question....

Why were we ball number 4?

RossScott1991
We play Hearts the tuesday after the semi final, and with that game already being moved from wednesday to tuesday am i right to assume our semi v celtic will be saturday ? just so i know not to waste a holiday day by taking the monday off!

21-09-2017, 09:15 PM
Minor question....

Probably based on seedings

21-09-2017, 09:16 PM
Minor question....

Possibly league positions from last year - just a guess, does seem odd as previous draws were alphabetical i recall.

21-09-2017, 09:17 PM
Minor question....

Because it was Sauzees number :agree:

21-09-2017, 09:17 PM

I am sure she apologises [emoji6]

21-09-2017, 09:18 PM

Do certain English teams have their own end at Wembley? You could add it’s an unfair advantage Celtic always having fans at the same part of the hampden . I get it’s down to geography when it’s the ugly sisters but that goes out the window when they play a team from the east

Foritza
21-09-2017, 09:18 PM
OK lets see how the SPFL allocate Hampden. Celtic from Glasgow should be the west. Hibs from Edinburgh should be the east. Let's see how they explain the allocation and why. This will tell us a lot of how the SPFL view teams outside the OF. and how we should react .lets not accept the crap they come up with should they make us go to the west.

21-09-2017, 09:20 PM
OK lets see how the SPFL allocate Hampden. Celtic from Glasgow should be the west. Hibs from Edinburgh should be the east. Let's see how they explain the allocation and why. This will tell us a lot of how the SPFL view teams outside the OF. and how we should react .lets not accept the crap they come up with should they make us go to the west.

We need to get our reps on the case :agree:

21-09-2017, 09:20 PM
Is the West end of the stadium not bigger [emoji51]

21-09-2017, 09:21 PM
I take it us being the home team has absolutely no influence on this? Would be great to annoy them before we even kick off.

Unlikely, but I really wish that Hibs would stand firm on this issue and point out that given most of our fans will be travelling from the East, it would be most sensible to have us in the Eastern end of the ground, but the SFA and SPFL never do anything sensible and don't like to mess with the traditions of the ugly sisters at Hampden, so we'll be in the Western end

21-09-2017, 09:22 PM

Hibs in the traditional rangers end with all the rangers bars close by should make for an interesting match day experience.

21-09-2017, 09:23 PM
Hibs in the traditional rangers end with all the rangers bars close by should make for an interesting match day experience.
Rangers end is certainly much better for pubs.

21-09-2017, 09:23 PM

Totally agree. It may seem petty on the face of it, but to me it sums up Scottish football and the bias towards Celtic and Rangers when they each have their own end at what is supposed to be a neutral stadium.

21-09-2017, 09:26 PM
It's a good draw for several reasons:

Win or lose we will make a decent amount of money from the tie
There's no pressure on us
It's the tournament Celtic will be least focused on so there's an outside chance we can spring a shock
Better to face Celtic in a semi than in a final
There's every chance Motherwell can beat The Rangers in the other tie (not sure I wouldn't rather face the huns in the final mind you!)

21-09-2017, 09:30 PM

The pubs around there aren't necessarily 'Rangers bars' just because they're close to the so-called 'Rangers end'. There are plenty of pubs and hotel bars near Hampden with no obvious allegiance.

21-09-2017, 09:30 PM
This is a disastrous draw, I can't see either of these clubs issuing a statement after the game.

21-09-2017, 09:36 PM
Definitely be the saturday half 12

21-09-2017, 09:37 PM

Source

21-09-2017, 09:38 PM
Source

Quite enjoy broon

HFCdeb
21-09-2017, 09:42 PM
It's a good draw for several reasons:

Win or lose we will make a decent amount of money from the tie
There's no pressure on us
It's the tournament Celtic will be least focused on so there's an outside chance we can spring a shock
Better to face Celtic in a semi than in a final
There's every chance Motherwell can beat The Rangers in the other tie (not sure I wouldn't rather face the huns in the final mind you!)

My thoughts exactly 👍

21-09-2017, 09:44 PM
As we came out of the pot before Celtic I assume we will wear our home kit.

21-09-2017, 09:45 PM

Thought it would be 12.15 to ensure any extra time and penalties would definitely be finished by 3pm

Garymcl
21-09-2017, 09:46 PM
Canny wait another trip to our second home let's make sure we sell our allocation out get right behind our boys nothing to lose in this one not expect to win but we can surprise them :flag::flag:

21-09-2017, 09:46 PM
Can’t wait

NGP
21-09-2017, 09:51 PM
Hope we get 'our' end of the ground.

21-09-2017, 09:52 PM
5 weeks to find our strong defensive shape, and also the right midfield formula... Oh and who is best to
Play with Stokesy
And when we get into the game i want us to get into the dirty arrogant b---d Scott Brown .....he is the player who dictates there game and gets away with murder in games ! if we get in about and disrupt him, he is volatile and will take the bait ..
If we can get it all right we can beat them.....let's be quietly confident ..

21-09-2017, 09:57 PM
This must happen

21-09-2017, 10:04 PM

We should do. Usually SF draws have a designated home team to determine who wears home kit (if there's a clash) and also to decide which dressing room each team has. That's my understanding.

Hope they don’t reschedule the postponed Killie v hibs game, to the Wednesday before

21-09-2017, 10:08 PM
We should do. Usually SF draws have a designated home team to determine who wears home kit (if there's a clash) and also to decide which dressing room each team has. That's my understanding.

Isnt which strip we wear and which end we have dictacted by what Celtic want us to wear/have? :wink:

21-09-2017, 10:13 PM

Absolutely.

It's an absolute scandal that the national stadium has designated ends for two clubs.

If they both want those ends whenever they play each other at Hampden then crack on but I don't see why other clubs have to accept it whenever they play one of them.

We should be discussing this with Celtic and the SPFL and if we want the east end of Hampden then we should fight for it.

21-09-2017, 10:19 PM
Absolutely.

It's an absolute scandal that the national stadium has designated ends for two clubs.

If they both want those ends whenever they play each other at Hampden then crack on but I don't see why other clubs have to accept it whenever they play one of them.

We should be discussing this with Celtic and the SPFL and if we want the east end of Hampden then we should fight for it.

I couldn't really give a toss, there is no advantage to be gained from what end we are in.

I think it would be hilarious if the club was prepared to put up a fight on this, when they weren't willing to do so over the old Huns cheating.

21-09-2017, 10:19 PM

Why the Saturday?

I'd have thought Celtic's game in Munich the previous Wednesday would dictate that our semi would be on the Sunday.

21-09-2017, 10:20 PM
I couldn't really give a toss, there is no advantage to be gained from what end we are in.

I think it would be hilarious if the club was prepared to put up a fight on this, when they weren't willing to do so over the old Huns cheating.

It would be more convenient for Hibs fans, no?

21-09-2017, 10:21 PM
Absolutely.

Does it really matter though?

21-09-2017, 10:22 PM
It would be more convenient for Hibs fans, no?

Not really, when we are in the East people moan about less pubs at that end.

21-09-2017, 10:34 PM
Today 06:09 PM
The draw has been made.
Aberdeen/Motherwell v Rangers
Celtic v Hibs
Of course, I'm talking about the mock draw that I like to do sometimes because I'm a bit sad.

Great premonition, Pete. :top marks

Now pray tell us the result of the semi (and hopefully the final -if we're in it)

Nailsea Hibby
21-09-2017, 10:39 PM
https://ibb.co/cevXg5

https://spfl.co.uk/league-cup/

21-09-2017, 10:41 PM
63,000 Season Ticket holders between both clubs and 52,000 seats available.

21-09-2017, 10:49 PM
63,000 Season Ticket holders between both clubs and 52,000 seats available.

Looks like some Celtic ST holders will be missing out. How sad.:greengrin
Every single Hibs ST holder will get a ticket.

MichaelTheCelt
21-09-2017, 10:56 PM
Absolutely.

What is this issue with who get what end? Do not get this at all, do you want the other end? Has this ever been an issue before? Or are you trying to make this a bigger deal than it is? Why do you think everything is designed to suit one club over another? Undoubtedly the EBT scandal has highlighted bias from the very top of our game but what advantage does anyone get from which end they get at the national stadium :confused: Are you just looking for a bogey man?

davym7062
21-09-2017, 10:56 PM
Better pubs at the Rangers end so quite happy to take that

21-09-2017, 11:04 PM
Cant say as Im bothered which end we're at, just glad to be there. Cant wait.

21-09-2017, 11:23 PM
Does it really matter though?

Of course it matters, there's a new motorway been built with tax payers money that takes thousands from Edinburgh right to the East end of Hampden. It is an utter scandal to make these thousands travel all the way through Glasgow and back into the West end just to give Celtic their traditional end!

21-09-2017, 11:52 PM
Is it guaranteed to kick off around 12 regardless of whether it's Saturday/Sunday? Bit of a ******* when it's that early, especially when wanting to get a couple of pints in.

Nutmegged
22-09-2017, 12:03 AM
Is it guaranteed to kick off around 12 regardless of whether it's Saturday/Sunday? Bit of a ******* when it's that early, especially when wanting to get a couple of pints in.

I'm sure last seasons Old Firm semi was at 3pm on the Sunday

22-09-2017, 12:15 AM
What is this issue with who get what end? Do not get this at all, do you want the other end? Has this ever been an issue before? Or are you trying to make this a bigger deal than it is? Why do you think everything is designed to suit one club over another? Undoubtedly the EBT scandal has highlighted bias from the very top of our game but what advantage does anyone get from which end they get at the national stadium :confused: Are you just looking for a bogey man?

The east end of Hampden is easier to get to for fans travelling from Edinburgh than the west end. You can get out for a fag at half time in the east stand, you cant in the west for some bizarre reason .... there's two reasons for you.

The east end of Hampden is almost always the end Hibs are given, unless we are playing Celtic, that suggests that that end of Hampden is reserved for Celtic and in the opinion of a lot of fans, myself included, its indicative to us of the game being too ready to cow tow to the old firm ...... no its not a big deal, but giving Hibs the east end for this game would be symbolic of a change in that attitude. Its supposed to be a neutral venue and in that case Hibs should be entitled to make a case for getting the end which is most convenient for our fans, Celtic have no automatic 'right' to it.

Maybe it hasn't been an issue before, but perhaps its time it was along with anything else in the game that the 'old firm' think they have an automatic right to ...... here's another example. Celtic play Bayern Munich on the Wednesday night which would give them two days to prepare for this game if its played on the Saturday ..... Hibs play Hearts on the Tuesday night following the semi and if its played on the Sunday to suit Celtic giving them three days to prepare, that gives us one day to prepare for a derby match .... I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if we find ourselves at Hampden on the Sunday.

22-09-2017, 12:46 AM
I don't see why we should be moved from our traditional Hibs end at Hampden. Especially as we were first out the hat.

22-09-2017, 03:32 AM

Not sure

2001 Scottish cup final- Celtc were the "home" team but we both wore away kits

hibbymark
22-09-2017, 04:38 AM
The east end of Hampden is easier to get to for fans travelling from Edinburgh than the west end. You can get out for a fag at half time in the east stand, you cant in the west for some bizarre reason .... there's two reasons for you.

The east end of Hampden is almost always the end Hibs are given, unless we are playing Celtic, that suggests that that end of Hampden is reserved for Celtic and in the opinion of a lot of fans, myself included, its indicative to us of the game being too ready to cow tow to the old firm ...... no its not a big deal, but giving Hibs the east end for this game would be symbolic of a change in that attitude. Its supposed to be a neutral venue and in that case Hibs should be entitled to make a case for getting the end which is most convenient for our fans, Celtic have no automatic 'right' to it.

Maybe it hasn't been an issue before, but perhaps its time it was along with anything else in the game that the 'old firm' think they have an automatic right to ...... here's another example. Celtic play Bayern Munich on the Wednesday night which would give them two days to prepare for this game if its played on the Saturday ..... Hibs play Hearts on the Tuesday night following the semi and if its played on the Sunday to suit Celtic giving them three days to prepare, that gives us one day to prepare for a derby match .... I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if we find ourselves at Hampden on the Sunday.

Mixu62
22-09-2017, 04:44 AM
I've seen Hibs v Celtic games in the past where we've just changed to green shorts. Their colours are predominantly white so it hasn't been an issue.

ArmadaleHibs
22-09-2017, 05:53 AM
What weekend are the semis scheduled for

Canon Hannan
22-09-2017, 06:00 AM

It matters not a jot.

We have been in both ends on a number of occasions, filled one end ended up and ended up in both ends! 😀

Sevco end is better in my view and Hampden is only 1 hour away with easy access whatever end.

Been to many matches versus Celtic and the fans mix anyway.

Just hope we improve on the park to give us a chance. Looking forward to a good day our and booking a good restaurant for the 10 of us in the West side of Hampden- perfect in my view for the Hibees 😎

22-09-2017, 06:04 AM
What weekend are the semis scheduled for

21/22 October

22-09-2017, 06:07 AM
Is the West end of the stadium not bigger [emoji51]

Certainly better for pubs.

22-09-2017, 06:08 AM

You're right it doesn't matter.

Can we agree we'll take the David Gray End and you guys have the Rangers End then?

22-09-2017, 06:14 AM
Not sure

2001 Scottish cup final- Celtc were the "home" team but we both wore away kits

Also remembering all 3 Celtic kits are varieties of green so no doubt we will be forced to wear our black change strip.

22-09-2017, 06:18 AM
I'm sure last seasons Old Firm semi was at 3pm on the Sunday

Saturday game won't be as cant be played at 3 and be on the tv different for Sunday.

celtic1888
22-09-2017, 06:41 AM
So it looks like a Celtic v Motherwell final then. I was hoping you'd get the huns and we'd meet you in the final

22-09-2017, 06:43 AM
So it looks like a Celtic v Motherwell final then :) I was hoping you'd get the huns and we'd meet you in the final

Ok

22-09-2017, 06:46 AM
So it looks like a Celtic v Motherwell final then. I was hoping you'd get the huns and we'd meet you in the final

I was hoping we'd meet you in the semis, so I wouldn't have to wait as long to give you a right royal (excuse the expression) pumping :aok: